Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Woodbury Outfitters?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Woodbury Outfitters

Find a Location

Phone: (740) 623-2227 Fax: (888) 777-2572 793 S 2nd St, Coshocton, OH 43812 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.woodburyoutfitters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a full line retail sporting goods store.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woodbury Outfitters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woodbury Outfitters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Woodbury Outfitters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2010 Business started: 08/16/2002 in OH Business incorporated: 03/06/2003 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Joe Miller, Owner Ms. Brittany Selders, HR Dept.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Miller, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Brittany Selders, HR Dept.
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Retail Clothing - Retail Online Retailer Ammunition Archery Equipment & Supplies Gun Dealers

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Woodbury Outfitters, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Woodbury Outfitters has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1177 McArthur Rd

    Jeffersonville, OH 43128 (740) 426-6559

  • 793 S 2nd St

    Coshocton, OH 43812 (740) 623-2227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    47694 Reservoir Rd

    St Clairsvle, OH 43950

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In trying to place order for product using a tablet, the small print that deposit was not refundable was impossible to read and would not have placed order if I knew there was no refund. When I emailed requesting a refund, I received that it was being processes. After 9 days I sent email requesting status of refund and at that time received response that I could not get refund. Due to the excessively small print I feel that this was deceptive advertising.

Desired Settlement: Refund as they do not have the product.

Business Response:

 I have attached the original order,
refund information, and sales page explaining the voucher with this letter. When we received
the order from the customer on 3/25/2015 it was for a Glock 43 in which was $50 for the
deposit and it does state online that it was non-refundable. Also stated the firearm should be
shipped out on or before June 16?th, 2015. The customer contacted our sales department asking
for a refund and the ?first time was told that we would process the cancellation. Later the
cus?tomer was contacted being told that it was a voucher and non-refundable. I did come to
find out that since the customer was originally told that we would cancel the order we just
processed the refund today 4/10/2015. We do apologize, but refunds can take anywhere from
7- 10 business days to be refunded. The customer should see the refund back to their account
soon.

At Woodbury Outfitters, we continually strive for customer satisfaction in the products we
deliver and the services we provide. We believe that this commitment is realized by employing a
superior workforce with exceptional expertise in the specific markets we serve and by carefully
Listening to our customers as they articulate their mission and the challenges they face.
We believe that a significant component of customer satisfaction lies in our ability to rapidly
respond to urgent requests and immediate needs. Therefore, we are committed to anticipating
customer requirements and positioning resources to meet those needs. We also believe that our
success is firmly tied to the success of our customers. As such, we strive to provide the services
and products that help our customers excel in their own organizations.

2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 27, I received the “bargain blast” sales flyer in my inbox. I’ll paste the email to the end of this for reference. Nowhere on the email did it state that any of the items that were on sale at “amazing” prices were online only. I was extremely interested in the dpms lo pro classic that was listed for $448.99. I took off a ½ day work (working in ********** ***) the following morning because I knew a deal that good wouldn’t last long. I drove 90 miles (past a brand new field and stream store, a ****** ********, and a 175,000 sq foot cabellas on my way to the *** *********** store. I got there shortly after they opened, and to my good fortune found one of the lo pro classics on the shelf. I told the guy behind the counter I would go ahead and take that one. He informed me that the price was $739. I told him that I saw it in the bargain blast for $448.99. he had to talk to his manager, who came out and told me that the $448.99 price was online only. He said that there was a $30 “shipping” charge added to the online price. Why I had to be charged shipping when the rifle was in my hands, I don’t know, but I was willing to pay this amount. He then proceeded tell me that he couldn’t sell it to me for less than $499. Only $21 more dollars, but a full $50 over the advertised price. I thanked him, but could not see myself paying $50 more for a rifle than was advertised. Got back into my jeep and drove 90 miles back empty handed. Got back, and called the number for the main ********* store, and spoke to *********. She took my number and said she would have to call me back. I waited until 3:30 for a call back, and since I was about to go into a meeting, I called back to check in. she stated that they cannot sell the item in the stores for the advertised price that it was "online only". I pointed out that nowhere on the email did it say anything regarding online purchase was required..I was then transferred to someone named *** who told me that since that was such an amazing deal, that they could not ship it to the store where i could purchase it with cash, I mentioned that it would actually be in your best interest to process it this way and have me pay cash at the store, because you wouldn’t be charged the 3% transaction fee from your credit card processor. She then put me on hold, and came back shortly and said that she checked and they can’t make any “exceptions”. I wasn’t asking for anything special, all I wanted to do was purchase the rifle for the price that they sent to me in my inbox. Again, the email said absolutely nothing about online only. emailed that afternoon, haven't received anything from them even acknowledging the email.

Desired Settlement: sell me the item as advertised. and maybe an apology for the 180 miles of wasted driving, and wasted time dealing with this.

Business Response:

I am following up on a complaint that was filed against Woodbury Outfitters on

2/3/2015. 'The complaint ID is 

Woodbury Outfitters' bargain blast emails that are emailed do have amazing deal
prices on them and they are "online only" prices. We can only honor those prices if
they are purchased online. However, we can make this one exception and honor that
price to the customer for $448.99 if he would be able to drive back to our St.
*********** location to pick up the Dpms Lo Pro Classic.

At Woodbury Outfitters, we continually strive for customer satisfaction in the products
we deliver and the services we provide. We believe that this commitment is realized by
employing a superior workforce with exceptional expertise in the specific markets we
serve and by carefilly listening to our customers as they articulate their mission and
the challenges they face.

We believe that a significant component of customer satisfaction lies in our ability to
rapidly respond to urgent requests and immediate needs. Therefore, we are committed
to anticipating customer requirements and positioning resources to meet those needs.
We also believe that our success is firmly tied to the success of our customers. As
such, we strive to provide the services and products that help our customers excel in
their own organizations.

 

12/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered item number*********; RTX; Size LG; BROWNING WASATCH INS RAIN BIB; Order Number*****, PO# ********. It was shipped on 11/06/14 and I received the product in a timely manner but the product was too Small. I called and received RMA # ******** and shipped the product back UPS and have a signature of delivery on the 11/19/14. I gave Woodbury Outfitters what I thought was plenty of time to process my return and I check my credit card and the money hadn't been put back to my account on 12/03/14. I called Woodbury Outfitters on 12/03/14 at 10:27 and spoke to ******, she apologized and said sometimes banks hold the refunds before posting, I explained that the refund should credit to my Visa account that I made the purchase with. She said she would process the refund as soon as we hung up, I asked when I could expect to see the refund in my account and she indicated it would be before the end of the day. I check my account when I got home and NO REFUND. Checked again today 12/4/14 still NO REFUND. I called twice this afternoon and ask to speak to someone in accounts receivable only to be transferred to voice mail.

Desired Settlement: Refund my purchase price immediately to my visa account.

Business Response:

I am following up on a complaint that was filed against Woodbury Outfitters on

12/4/2014. The complaint ID is ********. I have attached the actual sales order
along with this letter to show the order was placed on 11-4-2014 and I also have
attached the receipt detail from our system that shows we did refund the $149.99
back to the customer on 12-3-2014. We do apologize for the refund taking so long to
get processed back to the customers Visa account, but refunds can take anywhere
from 7-10 business days to be refunded. The customer should see the refund back to
their account soon.

At Woodbury Outfitters, we continually strive for customer satisfaction in the products
we deliver and the services we provide. We believe that this commitment is realized by
employing a superior workforce with exceptional expertise in the specific markets we
serve and by carefully listening to our customers as they articulate their mission and
the challenges they face.

We believe that a significant component of customer satisfaction lies in our ability to
rapidly respond to urgent requests and immediate needs. Therefore, we are committed
to anticipating customer requirements and positioning resources to meet those needs.
We also believe that our success is firmly tied to the success of our customers. As
such, we strive to provide the services and products that help our customers excel in
their own organizations.

Consumer Response: I was disappointed that I had to contact the company 14 days after they received my returned item to get my refund, then wait another 6 days for the  refund to actually post to my account. With that said, I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


11/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/16/14 I ordered three tree stands from Woodbury Outfitters. At 9:43pm I got a confirmation email from Woodbury Out fitters that shows the appropriate address I wanted the tree stands sent to - It was not my home address and I have the confirmation email that verified the alternate address. On 09/19/14, I received a delivery tracking email that the 3 tree stands were going to Frisco, Texas not Crockett, Texas as promised. I then contacted Woodbury. I spoke with *** ** ****** and C**** * ******** and **** said he spoke with the delivery company and said he was able to turn around shipment to Crockett, Texas. However, when I got home to Frisco, Texas at 6pm Friday evening, I found the tree stands on my door step in Frisco Texas On 09/22/14 after sending an email with gas receipts totaling $110.98 and 6 hours of driving to Crockett, Texas, I got a call from ***** ******** at Woodbury. She apologized for my experience and said that she got with her IT people and said I changed the shipping address while processing my request (in fact I did, but I made the change before I hit the final submit button) She said although I did get the confirmation email reflecting the address I wanted, their system "has a glitch" and the first address I keyed sent a request to their shipping department. I explained to her that her system fails the customer because the only thing a customer can go by is what they have for a final confirmation email. Why would I question what I thought was correct? In addition, the confirmation email said I would get a clarification call if there was a difference between the billing address and mailing address. I never did. When I brought that fact up to her she was surprised. I asked her what she was going to do and she said there was nothing and apologized again. I thanked her for her time. I suggested in the last email that I sent Woodbury is that I researched the company with the BBB and found 10 complaints with the company and that clearly they have issues and that I would try to resolve my situation with them and prevent this from happening to others.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the expense of fuel only. I put over 400 miles on my vehicle and 6 hours of driving as a result of them not getting the tree stands to the correct address. I agreed to pay $299.97 for the units to be delivered to that exact address. They failed their part of the agreement.

Business Response: I am following up on a complaint that was filed against Woodbury Outfitters on
9/24/2014. The complaint ID is ********* I have attached the actual invoice along
with this Letter to show the invoice date was 9-17-2014 and to show the addresses
that the customer filled out when he placed the order. Both his address and the ship
to address are the exact same. As soon as the customer placed the order, Woodbury
Outfitters processes the order as quickly as possible to get it shipped according to the
requested shipping method by the customer. The customer then must have realized
his error in the "ship to" address after we emailed our shipping confirmation. He then
called us 2 days later, after the merchandise shipped, on 9/19/2014, stating that he
received an email confirmation with the correct address. This was not done on our
Part.

I have also attached the email he sent us on 9/22/2014. As you can see on the 2nd
page, the address at the bottom appears to be the address that he wanted his order
shipped to; however, you will also notice that the telephone number format has been
altered. There are two dashes between the first and second set of numbers. If the
telephone number was entered in that manner by the customer, our shipping system
automatically would have flagged the customer because the telephone number is a
"required field" when filling out an order. This would have stopped the fulfillment
process immediately until it was corrected by the customer. The email by the customer
appears to have been altered to suit the needs of the customers complaint.

At Woodbury Outfitters, we continually strive for customer satisfaction in the products
we deliver and the services we provide. We believe that this commitment is realized by
employing a superior workforce with exceptional expertise in the specific markets we
serve and by carefully listening to our customers as they articulate their mission and
the challenges they face.

We believe that a significant component of customer satisfaction lies in our ability to
rapidly respond to urgent requests and immediate needs. Therefore, we are committed
to anticipating customer requirements and positioning resources to meet those needs.
We also believe that our success is firmly tied to the success of our customers. As
such, we strive to provide the services and products that help our customers excel in
their own organizations.

Consumer Response:

 
The claim that I altered the confirmation email that was sent to me on September 16 is ridiculous and offensive.  My claim could be supported by having this company show from their sent file what was sent to me in an email.  This could be done very easily but I know they will not do it because of the comments made thus far in this matter.  
I contacted them while the packages were in transit and that's when the manager, Cory said he would attempt to turn the shipment around to Crockett Texas ...so that is another lie.
 
BBB, without your support in this matter, nothing will happen to keep this company from conducting business like this going forward.  My only option would be to retain a lawyer to prove what email that they exactly send me on the 16th.  I would win in court but at what cost ?  I am soliciting you to now to assist me in this matter because they are not truthful.
 
With a response such as this, from Woodbury outfitters, I have no doubt that the ethics of this company allows them to do much worse to other customers.  I have done my part here.  I know I will not receive any compensation from this company.  The only thing that I can do now is to protect other customers.  Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Consumer Response: From: Tom Harrington <endeering9@aol.com>
Date: Wed, Oct 1, 2014 at 3:26 PM
Subject: Fwd: Thank You for Your Woodbury Outfitters Order (#221434)
To: BBB <disputeresolution@columbus-ohbbb.org>


Please have Woodbury validate their sent items..I cannot alter this form email.  Thank you for your assistance

Business Response: I am following up on a response to a complaint that was initially filed against
Woodbury Outfitters on 9/24/2014 and the customer responded to our response on
October 1, 2014. The complaint ID is ********. I have attached our first response,
the actual invoice and an email along with this letter. When we received the'order
from the customer on 91/16/2014, both his address and the ship to address were the
exact same. The customer did not contact us until 9/19/2014 regarding the incorrect
address. By this point, his shipment was already gone and shipped from our
warehouse and was on the delivery truck out for delivery. We did our best to redirect
the shipment, but was unable to.

The customer stated that in his email confirmation it had the name of the person and
their address that he wished to ship the package to, but our system only shows the
different name and the customers billing address in the delivery address. We were
easily able to change the information on that same email when it was brought up as a
forwarding message.

We did our best to get the shipment redirected for the customer, but since the bill to
and ship to address were the same, the delivery company sent the package to the
address it said on the .ship to address. 

At Woodbury Outtitters, we continually strive for customer satisfaction in the products
we deliver and the services we provide. We believe that this commitment is realized by
employing a superior workforce with exceptional expertise in the specific markets we
serve and by carefully listening to our customers as they articulate their mission and
the challenges they face.

We believe that a significant component of customer satisfaction lies in our ability to
rapidly respond to urgent requests and immediate needs. Therefore, we are committed
to anticipating customer requirements and positioning resources to meet those needs.
We also believe that our success is firmly tied to the success of our customers. As
such, we strive to provide the services and products .that help our customers excel in
their own organizations.






Consumer Response: [

Woodbury outfitters is saying I altered their email to me.  What remains is for that company to show the "sent box"
They won't.  The reason that the issue happened in the first place, the reason they would consider calling a customer a liar without showing their due diligence, is exactly why they will not resolve it.  Integrity.  I am done with this matter.  
 
BBB, they are re stating... The only thing I have asked for "sent items" you have not solicited from them
 
No further response to my email is necessary .. I understand what this company lacks

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of boots from Country Outfitters. when the boots arrived they were a 1/2 size too big. I followed the return instructions that was provided on an 8x10 flyer, it read RETURN INSTRUCTIONS CALL FOR INSTRUCTIONS 740-*******. I then got instructions verbally from an employee name ***** and she told me to attention the return box to her. I paid 13.49 to ship these boots out on September 16th and I believe they were received by Woodbury Outfitters on September 18th,On September 22nd, I received a call from ***** explaining they had my boots and couldn't find me as a customer. I discussed this over with ***** and told her I got the specific instructions from her in our first conversation. ***** explained these boots were not theirs, they didn't sell them to me, so she would have to speak to another person name whom I assumed was her supervisor, but ***** did explain that the bots I shipped was a product of **** ***** and sometimes the company puts the WRONG instructions in the boot Boxes. I then was instructed to talk with ***. *  ** told me I would have to take the complaint up with ***** **** *******. The ***** **** ******* when I called would not take any responsibility for the mistake of putting the wrong return instructions in the boot box. I called back and explained this to *** she said she couldn't do anything for me and that I would have to Pay them (Woodbury) to get my boots back or to ship them to the correct place. I strongly feel This Flyer was clearly the responsibility of Woodbury Outfitters, it contains their phone number for the return instructions. I then made contact with ******* ********** and explained the situation. I spoke with ****** and she took over the issue. I made contact with them for an entire week. **** had made several calls to Woodbury Outfitters and left messages for *** directly, and she did not return calls and the issued was not resolved. Woodbury still have the $125.00 pair of boots

Desired Settlement: refund of 13.49 from Woodbury Outfitters for my return shipping cost. and the boots should be returned to ******* ********.     ******* ******** made the decision to send me another pair of boots, due to no cooperation from Woodbury.

Business Response: I am folIowing up on a complaint that was filed against Woodbury Outfitters on 10/3/2014.
The complaint ID is ********. I have attached the customers order with this letter to show
that the order was placed with ******* **********, not Woodbury Outfitters. The customer
called Woodbury Outfitters explaining that she needed to return a pair of boots, so we gave her
return instructions, not knowing that she had ordered them from ******* **********. When we
received the boots, they were not ordered from Woodbury Outfitters. We immediately called the
customer and explained the mix up to her. We also told her that she would have to contact
***** ****** for the mistake with the return instructions. The complaint should have been
taken up with another company due to incorrect return instructions from the manufacterer,
not Woodbury Outfitters.

Woodbury Outfitters has been in contact with **** ******* and ******** ********** paid
$6.65 to have the boots returned back to the customer on Wednesday October 8th, 2014, so the
customer could get them returned to ******* ********** as soon as possible and get the correct
boots that she wants. The tracking number for the boots is **************.

At Woodbury Outfitters, we continually strive for customer satisfaction in the products we
deliver and the services we provide. We believe that this commitment is realized by employing a
superior workforce with exceptional expertise in the specific markets we serve and by carefully
listening to our customers as they articulate their mission and the challenges they face.

We believe that a significant component of customer satisfaction lies in our ability to rapidly
respond to urgent requests and immediate needs. Therefore, we are committed to anticipating
customer requirements and positioning resources to meet those needs. We also believe that our
success is firmiy tied to the success of our customers. As such, we strive to provide the services
and products that help our customers excel in their own organizations.

1/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have now spent the better part of the day on phone calls with this organization... I am very frustrated and incredibly worried that something may not be on the up and up with this group. I am forced to call into question their business practices with any and all agencies that over see their operations (state, local, federal, consumer protections, FFL, etc.). I bought a Sig Sauer P238 with laser on the ********* website. I paid with my Amex and received confirmation from *********. I then faxed the necessary FFL to have the fax number provided (twice) and awaited my gun. I heard nothing for several days and then I was contacted by phone and in my conversation with their employee was told that because I used an Amex through ********* my order hadn't been processed. In the course of our conversation it was decided that purchasing the gun through their (Woodbury's) website would be best and the only way to accept my Amex online. I did just that and bought the gun again from them. I subsequently received a phone call saying that I was going to owe $25 restock fee for the ********* site purchase and that they 'didn't have the gun in stock anymore". THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. As you are well aware, you can NOT sell a gun you don't have!!! Requesting credit card info over the phone after I received confirmation from the web purchase i suspect. Still they have not shipped my purchase and refuse to work with me... I HAVE ALL DOCUMENTATION AS PROOF, and I found 108 similar complaints against this organization.

Desired Settlement: Gun purchased shipped to me immediately AND their business investigated and license for firearm sales status put into question and reviewed.

Business Response: **** states that he paid for his purchase on gunbroker with American Express and that he received confirmation of payment. This is not possible since gun broker clearly states that they do accept American Express nor did we ever receive the funds. We are given 100's of credit card numbers over the phone every day and we process the orders. I take offense to being referred to as "Shady".  We have an A+ rating on gun broker and 33874 positive feedbacks. Never has a credit card number been compromised! We merely asked **** to provide a credit card number, send us a copy of the FFL and we would get the firearm shipped out immediately. **** insisted he would not provide a credit card number and actually sent us emails on the hour for about 12 hours straight insisting that the gun had been paid for when in fact it had not.  **** did then attempt to purchase the firearm directly through our web site. We held on to the gun for several days awaiting his FFL which never arrived so we cancelled payment and sold the gun to an individual that paid properly and provided an FFL.. At this point **** is welcome to shop elsewhere.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today, ****, who is my husband, and I drove an hour from our home for a deal that was "an awesome find". WOODBURY OUTFITTERS is a sporting goods store in Coshocton, Ohio that mails flyers to our area and **** has purchased items there in the past. Unfortunately, this week's add appears to be drawing customers to the store under false pretenses; I believe the method of advertising is correctly called "BAIT". According to ****, who owns several guns, there is a shortage in certain kinds of ammunition. This includes the Federal .22LR 325 round 40GR Boxes listed in this advertisement for $19.99 a box with a limit of one per customer. I asked a store clerk if the .22 shells were located behind the counter. He said, "No the shells are on the shelves if there are any left. He made no attempt to direct me to the proper shelf and was extremely vague about the availability of the gun shells. In fact, he stated, "I am not sure if we will get more in". The .22 gun shells are not advertised as a sale or clearance item;therefore, I asked for a rain check. The Clerk told me " We do not handle rain checks back here by the gun showcase; please go up to the front service desk. My Husband and I walked up to the service desk and asked for our rain checks for the advertised price, the man behind the counter stated, " It is our policy not to give rain checks on ANY merchandise and said, " We can't keep gun shells on the shelf forever and laughed. I told him advertising in this manner is illegal, he started to argue and I walked out of the store. The Flyers prices are good through July 28th, 2013. On the last page of the Flyer, it does state NO RAIN CHECKS. This information is not listed on the same page as the .22 shell advertisement stating limit 1 per customer in red ink. I seen several people holding advertisements in there hand while walking around the store. I would like WOODBURRY to make this right and honor their advertised price for the .22 gun shells.

Desired Settlement: Rain checks for a box of .22LR AM22 325Round boxes 40GR for my husband and I at the advertised price of $19.99.

Business Response:

If the customer will provide me with a phone number or email I will contact them immediately when my next shipment of ammo is received and honor the sale price for them.

 

 

3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Woodbury Outfitters TOTALLY ripped me off by selling me defective merchandise and then not honoring their return, refund & exchange policy! I received boots from them as a gift, wore them one time when I discovered they were defective boots: The leather was damaged and stained on one boot, with its embroidery completely mismatching the other. After contacting Woodbury Outfitters, (they told me to return them at my cost) they wouldn't refund OR exchange the boots -- and then told me I could pay to have them shipped back to me. Woodbury Outfitters is deceptive in their sales practices. Woodbury Outfitters advertised these boots as first quality *** **** boots, but in reality, Woodbury Outfitters sells second rate junk.

Desired Settlement: I contacted Woodbury Outfitters to exchange their crappy, defective *** **** boots for a pair of the same model of first quality. I still would like a first quality pair of those boots, but failing that, I'll accept a full refund.

Business Response: *** states that these boots were a gift. He purchased them on Dec.21st and contacted us about returning them on Feb.9th. The boots were obviously worn the entire time as the attached picture will show. The boots are hand stitched so no two boots will ever be stitched alike We had the manufacturers rep actually visit store and inspect the boots. These boots are not defective and we will be glad to ship them back to *** providing he pays the shipping. Our policy on footwear is to honor all manufacturer warranties. Shipping fees are at buyers expense.

Consumer Response: The attached PDF file documents the exchange we had.  These liars can claim I wore the boots more than once, but if you check the transcript, you'll see where they admit the boots are defective!


Even American Express is after them now, owing to their shoddy business practices.  

As for the boots themselves, you'll notice they did NOT supply a side by side photo of the boot tops, which would show how defective the boot is.  Nor did they attach a photo showing the flaws in the leather that are clearly a manufacturing flaw.

Of course, when lying and deception is the mainstay of one's daily business practices, I would not expect Woodbury Outfitters' response to be anything less than pure, self-interested, denial and fantasy.

These guys are pirates.
































Consumer Response:

Ask these pirates to send you real photos of the boots. You've seen the PDF I uploaded of our dialogue where they admit to the boots being defective, right?

Business Response: Like we stated. We had the company rep inspect the boots and state that they are not defective. This issue can be taken up with the manufacturer. As stated earlier we follow manufacturers warranty policies on footwear.

1/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertised a price for a rifle I wanted. Called to confirm there was stock (reportedly 18 at the time) then placed my order online. During this time stock I could have bought elsewhere was bought up, even at higher prices. Within a few days got a notice the order was canceled. Contacted the company, was told them sold out locally the stock that should have been held for online orders. As such the company not only failed to honor the sale they made with me they cost me the time I could have gotten the rifle elsewhere when it was still available. There are none to be found anywhere due to Woodbury Outfitters dishonest dealings giving locals preferred treatment by giving firearms already sold to others. I asked if another similar rifle could be supplied but was told no. I can not believe the level of unprofessionalism and miscounting of a licenses firearms dealer, regardless of the circumstances of the sale. Even during black friday sales stores do not simply double sale firearms.If a resolution can not be found I will be writing reviews to this account on various sites and strongly recommending an BATF review of their FFL log books to make sure firearms are not being sold that are logged under interest sales names.

Desired Settlement: The only acceptable outcome is the replacement of the sale with the exact rifle at the same price or a comparable rifle at the fair market value at the time before the price increase. Anything less is unacceptable.

Business Response: We apologize that during this recent gun rush we had to cancel many firearms.  Our local customer came to the store during that week and bought every ********** we had between our two retail stores as well as magazines and ammunition.  When we went to pull your order the available quantity of ********** guns was zero.  Our website updates the quantities of in-store firearms 24 hours after those in-store purchases occur, it is not an real-time stocking system.  To our defense we are not dealing dishonestly and we didn't lose any firearms.  Our systems just couldn't keep up with our purchases which created a data error in this.  We apologize we could not fulfill this order.  We didn't receive any funds for your order whatsoever, and can't at this time due to higher industry costs to us on **********s and similar rifles and unavailable stock.

1/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Woodbury Outfitters is advertising approximately 6,852 items on Ebay. Many of them are labeled as "free Shipping" during the initial search for products, yet once you click on the item to buy it states a cost from $9.99 to $37.00 for some of teh "free shipping" items. I have made numerous attempts to get them to fix this and to honor the free shipping for one pair of men's bib overalls. They even said that they would honor it if I sent them proof, which I have. They now ignore my contact attempts. They need to fix their postings on Ebay, and honor the free shipping to me since I have found this problem and made a good-faith effort to let them know.

Desired Settlement: Sell me the bib overalls for $27.99 with no additional shipping costs. Also fix their postings on Enay. I see in their recent feedback at least one other customer's complaint about no free shipping even though it was advertised as such.

Business Response: *** is confused and we have tried to explain this to him numerous times. We do NOT offer free shipping. Our shipping rate is $9.99. The attachment that he included is NOT our listing. Our auctions are all listed under the user name "Woodbury Outfitters". We have 30810 positive feedbacks or a 99.7% positve feedback rating. We did not achieve this by misleading customers. I feel bad that *** does not understand this.

12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of "Rocky" brand boots order number **** from their website. The boots were bought as a gift for my father, who lives on the other side of the country, also where I had them sent. The boots that he received were not the correct size I had ordered, and this is confirmed from my Order Confirmation email. In return, my father had to pay the shipping fee for them to be sent back to the address Woodbury Outfitters provided. The boots were received by Woodbury, and I was reimbursed for the amount I had charged on my debit card for them. When I called and asked about being refunded for the return shipping cost, I was told over the phone to send the receipt for the transaction to given email, and the amount would be credited towards my card. After sending this email with the scanned receipt, I received an reply email from Mrs. *** ******** of Woodbury Outfitters stating:"We have contacted Rocky as this order was placed via phone with their Representative and was their error. There is no way we can currently refund more than we have received from you through our system and may ask you for additional information to be able to refund those funds, if Rocky does not directly refund you. Thanks."This is an error in a transaction between myself and Woodbury Outfitters. It is ridiculous for Woodbury Outfitters to pass the blame of this error to anyone other than themselves.

Desired Settlement: The amount I am asking to be refunded is $16.59, the amount of the return shipping fee.

Business Response: Upper management reviewed complaint and approved refund to customer $16.59 - 12-03-2012

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 






















10/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a gun from the company without understanding that it would require me to identify a local dealer with a firearms transfer license, pay them, ship it, pick it up, etc. I asked the company to cancel my order after learning how extensive the process was and they cornered me into an 8% restocking fee. While I understand they have credit card fees to pay, they need to educate the customer as to what is required before taking their credit card and charging them.I feel I was entrapped due to poor expectation setting and education and as a result they should be liable for all expenses. Had they educated me of the necessary steps I would not have made the purchase in the first place.Wouldn't shock me if they are luring customers in with impressive deals so they can make a profit on "restocking" fees.

Desired Settlement: I want the 8% restocking fee waived and if the company wishes to pursue this in the future they need to work on educating customers as to the commitment and process before swiping their credit card. That's only fair.

Business Response: We have return policies which clearly state that cancelled orders incur a re-stocking fee.  This is necessary because of the nature of purchasing a gun requires an educated buyer.  We give customers every opportunity to learn how to purchase a gun and what it in-tales when they are returned.  In the attachment is provided evidence to show how prominently we display our terms and conditions and encourage customer to become acquainted with these policies.  We also require they to agree with these policies prior to every single online purchase.  It is necessary for us to require restocking fees when credit cards have been charged after orders have been placed.  We incur fees for charging cards and additional fees for refunding them in a percentage amount of the entire purchase.  This becomes expensive and we are unable to do business unless we are able to recuperate these costs from buyers who have placed orders with us and then have changed their mind for whatever reason.  It is unfortunate that this buyer chose not to inform themselves of the terms and conditions they agreed to before their purchase.  This is not entrapment - the customer deliberately chose of their own free will to agree with terms and conditions they were unfamiliar with at no fault of our company.

Consumer Response:  It is not an ethical and responsible business pratcice to dismiss an issue like this and say that "our process required an educated customer." A responsible business should educate the customer, not the other way around. In this instance I should have been educated on the requirements prior to making the purchase just as much as the business expects me to be educated on the term and conditions of the sale. "Better Business" is done, won and retained through customer satisfaction and education, neither of which have happened here. I'm emphatically reject this response. This is no different than a company that signs you up for a trial offer and then does not clearly state that there are automatic, recurring subscription payments. At least those companies inform me of my risk. In this case, no information was given to make the risk clear. A prospective customer should be educated on their complete and total end of the bargain. I was not.

Regards,

****** ******






























7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase Information: Problem Area: Refund or Return Policy Purchase Date: 12/27/2011 Total Price: $182.10 Disputed Amount: $182.10 Amount Paid So Far: $182.10 Description: He bought a firearm from them with a one year warranty. It was malfunctioning so he took it there to get fixed towards the end of March. Ever since, they have been giving him excuses why it is not fixed yet and stated that it has been getting worked on. He states that they told him multiple lies about what was going on with the gun. He called multiple agencies and eventually they found the gun at the manufacturers factory marked unrepairable. They are trying to fix it now and rebuild the gun. They state it will be done at the end of May. The gun has been replaced with a brand new gun. I find it deceptive that a brand new gun had issues and took 2 1/2 months for them to decide to replace with a brand new

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution: Consumer would like a full refund $182.10 applid to his credit credit cash and does not want the replacement of the gun.

Business Response: The customer was contacted on June 5, 2012 for their credit card number. An adjustment in the amount of $182.96 was made to the card that day. The transaction typically takes 3-5 business days to complete. A copy of the adjustment receipt was mailed to the customer for their files.