Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.

Phone: (614) 847-9787 Fax: (614) 847-0119 6333 Busch Blvd, Columbus, OH 43229 http://www.rainbowhottubs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hot tubs, spas, saunas, gazebos and retractable awnings.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 1988 Business started: 06/01/1976 in OH Business incorporated 06/01/1986 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Wertz, President Mr. Rick Wertz, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Wertz, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Rick Wertz, Vice President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Sauna Equipment & Supplies Gazebos Awnings & Canopies

Hours of Operation
M: 10:30 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 10:30 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 10:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 10:30 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 10:30 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Rainbow Specialty Products
Additional Information

BBB General Statement on Contracts: With any business transaction, you should obtain in writing, read and thoroughly understand all terms and conditions of the purchase before placing an order, paying any money or signing an agreement. Be sure to have any verbal promises included in the written agreement before you sign. And, always keep a copy of what you sign for your personal records.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6333 Busch Blvd

    Columbus, OH 43229 (614) 847-9787

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Rainbow in reference to a replacement pump on my hot tub and was quoted a price of $399.99; however, after the unit was replaced I was told the price of the pump was $499.99. Additionally, Rainbow also replaced the heater unit. In checking Rainbow's pricing for both the Waterway Executive 56 4-hp pump and the Balboa heating unit - I found that the RETAIL price of these units was $346 (shipping and tax included); however, Rainbow charged me $728 for these replacement parts, or approximately 110% of the RETAIL/CONSUMER cost of these parts. Additionally, I was charged a total of $280 for labor and trip charges; again, a price which way exceeds the customary industry standard. These charges are extraordinary and unconscionable.

Desired Settlement: I would like Rainbow to reconsider its pricing of both the replacement parts and their service/trip charges and refund the difference to my credit card.

Business Response: Mr. ******** called in with a service request on August 9th a Saturday. ***** ***** took the service call and explained our service rates to the customer.  Mr. ******** stated that he had a bad pump.  ***** would never have quoted a price for a pump without knowing exactly what the customer had.  Mr. ******** has even stated that we gave him a price range of  $299 - $799.

 
***** ****, our service technician with over 29 years experience, went out to Mr. ********'s residence on August 12. He tried to get the pump to operate and found that the motor was dead.  He did have a complete pump and motor that would match up.   ***** gave Mr. ******** a price on the unit of $499.99.  Mr ******** agreed to have him install the pump. If he is stating that the pump was installed and he did not agree to the price he could have had ***** take out the pump and send him away.  ***** installed the new pump and at that time found that there were leaks at a couple of jets and also corrosion at his heater.  ***** gave him the price at that time for the heater, at $229.99 and Mr ******** agreed to have him come back and repair the leaking jets and replace the heater.  Mr ******** had to drain his spa in order for those repairs to be done.  The charges for the service performed  and parts installed totaled $709.49 which were run on 7-13-14.  The initial service call to come to the house is $80 and $80 per hour billing.  ***** was there for one hour, with the service call and labor of $160.00. Our service rates are competitive compared to other spa dealers in the area.
 
***** contacted Mr ******** about returning to do the repairs and Mr ******** agreed to leave the door open for *****. ***** returned on 7-14-14.  ***** rang the doorbell, Mrs ******** was home and agreed to have ***** come in to install the new heater and repair the leaking jets.  The final charges of $357.10 were run at that time.  This billing included  a return trip charge of $40 and one hour labor totalling $120.00 plus the parts.  Mrs. ******** signed the work order when  ***** was finished.  
 
We received a letter from Mr ******** this week.  No one working here recalls having spoken with Mr ******** about his dissatisfaction with our service and pricing prior to receiving the letter and the BBB complaint.  It is funny that he personally okayed to have all the work done knowing the prices and only after all the work done decides to investigate our pricing.  First of all we had the parts in stock.  Sometimes the internet sites are selling reconditioned motors and new pumps allowing prices to be lower.  We also are providing the labor with costs for travel and other overhead involved. Our labor to install a pump, heater, and fix two leaking jets was $280 including the service call and a return trip.  I challenge him to find any other service tech to do such efficient work.  The spa sits on his property and he had all the time to investigate prices before we were involved.  We could charge more for labor and other companies do, and less for parts.  That is our discretion.  The prices on the internet are not necessarily retail prices.  Some of those places are just warehouses making a bare minimum on parts based just on selling numbers. They have minimal overhead and rarely even have to deal with collecting sales tax.  We also have many customers coming in with incorrect parts ordered online.  He had his chance to buy from them, chose to work with our company and now once all the work is complete is claiming that we are in the wrong. 
 
 We were up front with him at every step of his repairs. He was the one who agreed to have the work done at the prices that we gave him. He could have questioned pricing before the work was done-not after. We were timely and efficient and feel no need to adjust the billing.  We would much rather have had the customer talk with us directly instead of receiving certified letters(today) and BBB notifications which take additional time to address at costs to all of our personnel since we have to review what took place.  We have been in business for over 30 years, which does require good customer service.  We do wish he would call us directly to discuss the issue.
 
Thank-you,
**** ****** **
Rainbow Hot Tubs and Spas, Inc.

Consumer Response: When I spoke to the individual on the phone regarding the replacement unit - he had me go out and personally observe the pump - so that he could identify the exact unit.  The price he quoted was $399.99. In reviewing this company's other responses - it seems that they have explanations for every issue presented.  The online prices are for new units - not rebuilt units - and their 110% markup over retail price - is unconcionable and nothing more than gouging.  Had I checked tne internet prices first I would have challenged their pricing; however, generally I expect business to engage in fair dealing with regard to their pricing. 110% markup over retail pricing is shameful; which, is unfortunate because their service was indeed - exceptional.  Consumers have an obligation to object to unfair business practices. I have never filed a BBB complaint before.  

Business Response:

We have been swamped and have quizzed ***** (the tech) on the above complaint and would like to make a final statement/response.  How can that be done?

The customer was quoted prices and even had 2 days before we returned to finish the work.  His idea of retail is also not accurate.  The pump we sold for $499.99 is sold by two major Spa company's that we work for, for $600.00.  I am sure there are other spa company's concerned with quality that do the same. There are some pumps sold, that cost less complete, verses a quality motor ONLY.  We do not sacrifice quality.

Thank you,

 

 

Consumer Response: This back and forth discourse is juvenile and pointless - so - anyone thinking about using Rainbow Hot Tubs would be wise to FIRST check the Internet for the RETAIL price of the parts that need to be replaced.  All you need to do is examine your hot tub pump, heater, etc. and take down the information on the metal plate and then check any one of the MANY Internet sites.  You can even follow it up with a call to the vendor.  The components are identical and in my case a "Waterway Executive 56 4-HP pump" is just that - same manufacturer - brand new - same horsepower - same connections - same everything.  In closing, just check the Internet price yourself for a WATERWAY EXECUTIVE 56 4-HP PUMP - and compare it to this business' last response - just compare the prices and then you decide!  Good luck!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart