BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.

Phone: (614) 847-9787 Fax: (614) 847-0119 6333 Busch Blvd, Columbus, OH 43229 http://www.rainbowhottubs.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hot tubs, spas, saunas, gazebos and retractable awnings.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rainbow Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 19, 1988 Business started: 06/01/1976 Business started locally: 06/01/1976 Business incorporated: 06/01/1986 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Wertz, President Mr. Rick Wertz, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Wertz, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Rick Wertz, Vice President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Awnings & Canopies

Alternate Business Names
Rainbow Specialty Products
Additional Information

BBB General Statement on Contracts: With any business transaction, you should obtain in writing, read and thoroughly understand all terms and conditions of the purchase before placing an order, paying any money or signing an agreement. Be sure to have any verbal promises included in the written agreement before you sign. And, always keep a copy of what you sign for your personal records.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6333 Busch Blvd

    Columbus, OH 43229

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Rainbow to replace our motor on our hot tub. They came out and put a new motor in the hot tub. Since they have put the motor in the hot tub it has a load vibration in it that they are saying is a manufacture issue. I disagree with this since the sound was never there before. I had them come back out to check it which I had to pay another service call. On that visit they put foam under the motor witch helped for two days. I have since called them back and have left four messages for them to call me to come and fix it but they haven't returned my calls. At this point I have to turn the tub off at night because of the sound.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to fix the sound in the hot tub, if they are not able to correct there work. I would like a complete refund so that I can have another company fix it correctly.

Business Response:

The customer was having a problem where his pump was making a very loud noise, which means the pump is going out.  We replaced the pump  November 14, 2012.  We have a two week time frame to contact us if there is any problem with the service or there is a full service charge to return.  The customer did not call us until January 18, 2013, to let us know he was not happy with the noise that the new pump was making.   We did not charge him the full service call, we discounted that as well as the labor charges 50%.  We went out January 18th and tried to dampen the noise by putting some foam under the pump base. Many manufacturers use this, but this tub was found to not have any.  We add it on the 2nd trip.  The customer did sign off on the service on that visit, but felt that it solved the issue for only a few days. 

We believe the pump itself is not what is making the noise.  We think the noise is do to the way the pump is connecting to the base of the spa which cannot be changed.   All the plumbing to the pump is rigid, and there is no additional room to try to dampen the noise.  If we tried to move the plumbing too much it could cause a leak.   We mounted the pump back onto the base the same as original (plus foam). We feel that it is a problem with the age of his base structure, or even the deck, which may now be allowing more vibration under the base.  This can create harmonics that take the vibration and exaggerates the noice.  The spa may have to be lifted and addressed from the underside to try to dampen the sound.  Or at least have to tear out the structure mounting area and build it shorter to allow even more padding.  All of this can be tried for the cost of time and materials.

We are willing to put in a different pump but do not believe that will solve his problem.  We will swap it out when we are in the area, but if that doesn't change the noise it is the spa structure that is of issue.  We will contact Mr ******, if he wishes,  when the pumps come in.  We have had his model pump on order for over 3 weeks.

After the pump is swapped, if the sound is still there it is the framework of the deck or spa.


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me if this will fix the sound issue that we are having?




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company to inspect my hot tub in late October. The tech was at my home for less than 30 minutes. He did a visual inspection and placed a fuse in the motor, started it and discovered major leaks. He told me that this type of work would need to be done in their shop. I told him I would need to check with my insurance before I commit to any repairs. At that point he left my home. I was not given any work order to sign to show that he did his inspection. I figured that a bill would be sent to me for a service call. I was never told how much a service call costs both in the initial call to their office or at the time the tech came to my home. I did receive a bill recently. It was for $120.00!! I was shocked at that high price. If were told upfront the cost of this service, I would not have had them come to my home. My wife called the company today to discuss this bill. The person on their phone was very rude and said they always are upfront with their prices. We dispute that claim and question the lack of documentation at the end of the service call. It seems to me to be an underhanded way to bilk customers out of more money. I hpe the BBB can help me to resolve this problem and help other consumers out there to be wary of companies like these.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a partial refund on the service call. I am reasonable, I expected it would cost something. But $120 for 20-30 minutes of time? I am in the wrong line of work! Again, I was not informed on the price of the service call initially nor provided any documentation at the conclusion of the service. So, a partial refund would be acceptable to me. Say, $60, for my time and trouble and for the way they treated my wife when she called just to ask a few questions about it. Thank You

Business Response:

**** **** called us on 10/9/12 a Tuesday and talked to *****.  He asked if it would work for us to come out on the coming Friday the 12th.  He wanted to be home to meet us at his house.  At the time of the call he was told that we have a service call of $75.00 and we bill on top of that at $75.00 per hour.  We are one of the cheapest in the area. We all take the time to explain the cost so to avoid any confusion. He mentioned to ***** that he may try to get coverage from an insurance policy since he was a new homeowner.

We did make it out on the 12th and did do the inspection.  ***** mentioned on the site that it had many issues that would end up being too costly to repair versus the cost of replacing with either a new or used spa.  I, **** *****, even got on the phone with Mr. **** and told him we offer used spas that would most likely be much less than to follow through with any repairs of his old spa.  I also, told him that insurance would most likely not cover any of his problems.  Even if they would have covered the service call, he would have had to pay the deductable which usually is going to be $100.00, with the balance paid by the insurance company.  I asked him what kind of insurance he had and asked him if he had contacted the insurance company before we came out.  I told him to call them and ask that we be the ones to come out, if he wanted them to cover any of the charges.  But, I told him that I would extremely doubt that they would cover any of his plumbing issues. Usually the homeowners policies cover equipment failures not leaks.   I mentioned to get back to me with the insurance company's answer. 

We normally run the service charges at the time of the visit. but ***** did not have the workorder with him.  We were going to run it when he returned, but after talking to Mr. **** about insurance, we waited.  After waiting for 6 more days we decided to run the charges, that were originaly explained to him on the call on the 9th.  The charges were run on the 18th.  The total was for a service call of $75 plus 37.50 for a minimum of of 1/2 hours labor.  While at the customer's house ***** had to open up the spa, taking off two panels. and he found that he had no power to the spa .  ***** put in a new fuse and the spa turned on.  He immediately saw a cracked heater tailpiece and within the spa a number of other leaks.  It was apparent that the spa had gone through a freeze. 

Our service rates have been the same for over three years.  It is not our fault that the customer is not happy with the results that we found at their house.  We did peform a service for this customer.  We would have processed the charge that day, but waited to hear back from the customer.  He gave us his credit card number after being told our fees. 

We alway go over the rates of our service calls to our customers.  I did make a mistake by not emailing his copy of the invoice at the time, but did send him a copy of the bill on his request.

 

**** *****

Rainbow Hot Tubs and Spas, INC.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just paid to have a $500 cover put on and not only is the cover faulty but the tech either caused or neglected to see the leak that has now emptied my tub. I am very very upset. And for employees to say they can't hear me isn't funny or professional.

Desired Settlement: New cover and leak fixed

Business Response:

This customer called us on September 22nd, a Saturday, which is a busy day for us.  **** ***** answered the phone and could not hear this customer because the call kept cutting in and out.  He then asked me to take the call and I could not fully hear her as well.  She accused **** of not wanting to help her.  I  told her I would call back and see if the line connection was any better.  I had some customers come into the store that I had to help and before I had a chance to return the call, (less than 10 minutes) *** called back angry that we hadn't called yet.  It is our policy to help people coming in first, ahead of phone calls.  She was mad and explained the issue with the cover.  She also was very angry about the service issue.  I pulled the service invoice so that I could see what was done.  

The date of service was 8/13/12.  We delivered the new cover and cut up the old one.  We also cleaned and waxed the spa and got the spa ready to fill.  ***** ****** (the husband) was there when our technician was starting to fill the spa, and had him leave.  This is not uncommon because at that point he would be paying us to watch the spa fill with water.  I told *** that I would talk to the technician who was there and we would call back on Monday. (Our techs do not work on weekends.)  The technician called her back on Monday September 24th and left a voice mail message on phone # ***-****.  He also called the other #***-**** and could not leave a message.  He noted the calls on the new service order I had written up.  We never heard back from the customer.

Please note that the customer did not call us for over a month after our service regarding a problem.  We did try to call back to arrange coming out again and never heard back.   We will be happy to address the issues, but the customer does need to contact us.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1