BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mad River Mountain?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they are a snow skiing and boarding resort.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mad River Mountain meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mad River Mountain include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mad River Mountain
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 02, 1994 Business started: 12/01/1962 Business started locally: 12/01/1962 Business incorporated: 11/18/2002 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Boyd, President Mr. Greg Fisher, General Manager Ms. Mary Fisher, Promotions and Sales Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Boyd, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Fisher, Promotions and Sales Director
Business Category

Ski Centers & Resorts Ski Instruction Restaurants Ski Equipment - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Mad River Acquisitions Mad River Mountain, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Snow Valley Rd

    Zanesfield, OH 43360 (800) 231-7669 (937) 599-1015

  • PO Box 22

    Bellefontaine, OH 43311

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 231-7669(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Visit to Mad River Mountain. The rules are only one going down the hill at a time. My nephew went down and he's 6 and another person was allowed to go down because the girl was not paying attention, she was talking and laughing.. she let two people go down the hill and hit my son. Half way down the hill my son flipped off his tube and was stuck on the hill.. She didn't see him flip off his tube, and allowed 2 others to go down the hill which is not allowed b/c the lane was still occupied. After the others crashed into my son, nobody was sent to help or check to see if everyone was OK. We have this on video and a video of the girl that allowed it to happen. I contacted Mad River and they didn't really care too much or offer anything or an apology. What can we do about this? I have a video I can send if needed.

Desired Settlement: Refund and or tickets for the group to go and try to enjoy themselves this time around. After my nephew was hit, he wouldn't ride anything and wanted to go home. Ruined the whole trip b/c one person didn't do their job and wasn't paying attention which resulted in 3 people getting hurt.

Business Response: Mad River Mountain and the Avalanche Tubing Park were hosts to the complainant and her party on the MLK holiday weekend. After their visit, the guest made our management aware of the situation she encountered via email with a date stamp of 1:22am on 1/20. Mad River absolutely takes notice of guest issues and management responded directly with an email less than six hours later at 6:42am on 1/20 which included an apology for any issues her group encountered. In order to properly look into the complaint and situation, we requested additional information through several email exchanges with the guest and escalated the issue to our General Manager for his involvement. After speaking with the manager on duty during the guest's outing, it was determined that the guest had confirmed with the manager that evening that she and the members of her party were ok after the incident and did not require further review from resort Ski Patrol staff. Additionally the manager on duty followed up with a verbal reprimand of the employee in question that may have incorrectly managed the traffic in the tubing chute. After this confirmation we emailed the guest back to ensure her that the parties involved had been spoken to, which was the request presented by the guest. During the conversation with the manager on duty on the date of the incident, the guest did not request any voucher or refund compensation or visit our Guest Services Office to inquire about such. Additionally no mention of a compensation request was given during any of the email exchanges so Mad River had every reason to believe that the situation had been resolved. Through conversations it was concluded that the members of the party whose ticket usage was affected included the guest herself and her son, while other members of the party had been able to continue. Mad River would be happy to issue Snow Guarantee Vouchers for a return tubing visit through the end of the season for the two tickets that were not fully used. To make arrangements for these vouchers to be received, the guest may contact the Director of Sales and Service at Mad River Mountain to confirm the address she would like them mailed to. Sincerely, Mad River Mountain Guest Services

2/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website heading indicates "weekend and holiday prices" with a category for Sunday hours. I was told the price didn't apply on Sunday of MLK weekend. Holiday description included MLK and Christmas.

Desired Settlement: I would either like $ refunded or free passes and lift tickets. I would also like an apology. Thank you.

Business Response:

Mad River Mountain would like to thank the guest for their patronage and apologize for any confusion. During non-holiday Sundays we are happy to offer a special promotion during the "PM" session of 4pm-9:30pm during which a guest can purchase a lift ticket for only $30 and add a rental for an additional $10. Due to peak business levels during holiday periods, this promotion is blacked out on specific dates, all of which are outlined in the same areas referenced by the guest. Following is an excerpt from our website's Lift Tickets & Rentals page showing these stated blackout dates referring to the "Sunday Special" promotion:

 

WEEKEND & HOLIDAY* RATES

Session Times Adult (13-64) Jr (7-12)/Sr (65-74)
All Day 9:00am -9:30pm $45 $35
PM 4:00pm - 9:30pm $36 $25
Xtreme** 4:00pm - 3:00am $40 $30
Midnight Madness*** 10:30pm - 3:00am $30 $20
Without Rentals With Rentals
Sunday Special (Sun Only)**** 4:00pm - 9:30pm $30 $40
* Holiday Dates are: December 26, 2012 - January 1, 2013. January 18-21, 2013, & February 15-18, 2013.
**Xtreme tickets cover both PM and Midnight Madness session hours. There is a one-hour break in lift service from 9:30pm-10:30p.
***Midnight Madness occurs every Friday & Saturday starting December 22nd through March 2, 2013.
Holiday Madness dates are 12/25-12/31/12; 1/18-1/20/13 & 2/15-17/13
****Not valid Holiday dates. December 26, 2012 - January 1, 2013. January 18-21, 2013, & February 15-18, 2013.

The "Sunday Special" is also mentioned on our website's Deals & Promotions page, which features the following text:

 

SUNDAY SPECIAL - $40 PM Lift & Rental or $30 PM Ticket

Starting January 6, 2013, the Sunday Special includes your PM session (4:00pm-9:30pm) lift ticket and either a ski or snowboard rental for only $40. Have your own equipment come on out for just $30! Not offered holidays including December 30, 2012, January 20, 2013 and February 17, 2013. Helmet not included in rental.

This information including blackout dates is also listed in our resort brochure.

During the guest's visit to our resort the complaint was brought to the attention of our Guest Services office and in an effort to appease them we did offer the guest the abiity to purchase their tickets at the group rate. Normally reserved only for groups of 15 or more, the group rate affords a discount of 15-20% off normal pricing depending on the item. The guest chose to accept this appeasement instead of cancelling their purchase, and was able to purchase their desired products at a savings of approximately 17%. Mad River feels that this was a generous and fair appeasement offer since the blackouts on the promotion in question had been made clear in all information sources.

 

Sincerely,

 

Mad River Mountain Guest Services

###-###-####

11/30/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 5 ski lift ticket package last year. This pass itself says its valid from 2011-2012. I did not get to use my lift tickets last season and would like to use them this season. Mad River Refuses to let me use the lift tickets. I paid the money yet recieved no services. Technically the passes say 2011-2012, so I should be able to use the tickets atleast until 2012 is over.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be permitted to use the tickets until 2012 is over... Till January 1, 2013

Business Response:

Mad River Mountain is committed to serving its guests as best as possible and appreciates the customer’s patronage of its facilities. 

 

As Mad River management is directly involved with any customer concerns there were communications with the disputer prior to the inclusion of the BBB in this matter.  Unfortunately the product the customer purchased was a seasonal item, valid only during the 2011/2012 season.  The package product included 5 ski lift tickets, providing the bearer five separate visits to the resort, or the option of redeeming multiple tickets during the same visit.  Because it was a special discount item, the product was only available for purchase until December 15, 2011 and based on the season ending March 10, 2012, there were approximately 85 days available for redemption of the 5 tickets. 

 

Because of the nature of their business, ski/snowboard resorts refer to winter seasons as opposed to calendar years.  For example the winter season of 2011/2012 would encompass the December 2011 opening date through the March 2012 closing date.  The opening date in December 2012 would then begin the 2012/2013 winter season.  As is the norm with most ski areas, the dates listed on Mad River’s products refer to the winter season during which they are valid (2011/2012).  

 

Though the product in question had expired and is not valid for extension, Mad River had hoped to appease the customer and offered to provide two complimentary snow tubing vouchers to be used during the 2012/2013 season, however the customer declined this offer.  Mad River laments that their efforts in this situation were not accepted but will continue to strive for appeasement of customer issues as best as possible in future situations.

 

Consumer Response:

I bought the tickets last year to use during christmas break. The conditions were not good/safe, if they were open at all, I can't remember which it was.  The whole season was not good, we just didn't have much snow and temperatures were high.  I filed this complaint because I already paid for tickets but did not recieve services I paid for.  All I ask is that I am allowed to use the tickets I already paid for this year.  I would be willing to pay and excess charges if lift ticket prices have gone up this year. 

Two tubing tickets are not comparable to the value of 5 lift tickets. 































1/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Will not honor prices on website. Have made plans and booked rooms based on advertised prices on website. Making plans to go skiing at Mad River Mountain Ski Resort. Reviewed Trails/Rentals/Pricing info and booked a room in the area. Called today after again reviewing prices and the (50th Anniversary Learn to Package 10am-4pm* *Includes Lesson and Rental) is apparently not available on Mondays but is not listed that way on their website. It is listed a mid-week package(described as Monday-Thursday) however it is not available on Mondays which means we now have to pay $15 more per person than advertised.

Desired Settlement: I expect to have the price of $50 per person for the ski and learn package to be honored as advertised. I also want the site updated to reflect the restriction for others making plans to visit the resort.

Business Response: Thank you for your patronage of Mad River Mountain. We apologize for the confusion surrounding our 50th Anniversary Learn to Ski/Ride package and for the delay in responding to your inquiry. New this season we are happy to celebrate 50 seasons of skiing and riding, and have unveiled some seasonal promotions to go along with this milestone. Our $50 Learn to Ski/Ride package was originally designed to be offered on Mondays through Thursdays during non-holiday periods between the hours of 10am-4pm. We do however employ a limited staff of Learning Center instructors during the midweek, so at the request of our Ski School Director we lessened the availability of the package to only be offered Tuesday through Thursdays, non-holiday. We updated the information in our brochure however missed updating the information on our website. We have since made sure the website has all the correct information regarding this package, however would be happy to honor the package during your non-holiday visit due to the error. Please note that the limitations expressed online will still be in place, including the package not being valid Dec. 19-22, Dec. 26-29, Jan. 16 or Feb 20, outside the hours of 10:00am-4:00pm, or to guests younger than age 7. We apologize for your issue not to have been resolved with your phone call; our office staff often refers to the information provided in our brochure to field questions that are raised over the phone. If your inquiry would have been escalated to a manager at the time of your call we would have resolved it in the same manner at that time. In order to ensure we have the necessary Learning Center staff available during your visit and our Tickets staff is aware of your arrangements, we will want to acquire all the details regarding your trip. You may email details including your trip date and guest information to (****).com, or call 1-800-(****). We will also plan to follow up with you before December 31st should we not hear from your directly. Thank you for allowing us to address your issue, and we look forward to hosting you at Mad River Mountain. Sincerely, (****) Promotions & Sales Director 800.(****) (****)@skimadriver.com