Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

RevLocal

Additional Locations

Phone: (740) 281-5016 View Additional Phone Numbers 4009 Columbus Rd SW  Ste 222, Granville, OH 43023 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.revlocal.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RevLocal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RevLocal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on RevLocal
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 07, 2012 Business started: 10/01/1994 in OH Business incorporated 12/22/1997 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc Hawk, President Mr. Aaron Boggs, Executive Vice President Mr. Ben Dean, Internet Marketing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ben Dean, Internet Marketing Director
Principal: Mr. Marc Hawk, President
Business Category

Search Engine Optimization Services Internet Marketing Services Web Design Digital Marketing Internet Services

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 PM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 PM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 PM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 PM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Master Card, Visa, American Express, Discover, Check, ACH
Refund and Exchange Policy
No contract required, services provided on a month to month basis.  Monthly subscription for services and setup fees are non-refundable.
Alternate Business Names
ECR Internet Services, Inc.
Business Management

Two principals of this business, Marc Hawk and Aaron Boggs, are also principals of ECR Voice, LLC and Copper.net, Inc upon which BBB maintains separate Business Reviews. 


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

RevLocal has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4009 Columbus Rd SW
    Ste 222

    Granville, OH 43023 (740) 281-5016

  • P. O. Box 511

    Mount Vernon, OH 43050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2015 a sales representative from RevLocal, Alex E., reached out to our newly opened business in Austin, TX and asked for a meeting so he can present to us the local search optimization services his company is offering in our area. Having knowledge and experience in search engine optimization ourselves, we were extremely reluctant in agreeing to take a meeting, but had been told that their services are different from what most of their competitors are offering. The meeting had been agreed upon, and Alex showed up at our business with a computer presentation which he narrated. He explained that Revlocal will be creating a brand new landing page and website for our tattoo shop that, with their optimization and search engine submissions will gin us substantial presence in all local searches for our targeted keywords. Again, we were extremely`skeptical and weren't about to get into any contract with Revlocal, knowing well that sales people have no idea about our very specific business and will not be able to produce a quality content for the website, which makes the purpose of creating a website absolutely useless. Seeing our reluctancy`and reservations, Alex was fast to explain that they work with tattoo professionals who would be writing the content for our new website and that they are extremely competent. Both I and my business partner heard him saying that. This sounded like something we might want to go with after all, because with the lack of time to do internet optimization ourselves, we needed someone competent in our field to help us with that. The next step Alex took was to introduce company's fees, which consisted of one-time setup fee and a monthly service fee. We told Alex that we could not possibly afford their high fees, and he was, again, fast to tell us that this is their usual fees, but for businesses like ours, brand new and starting out, they offer a smaller plan that would include the new website with optimization, personal coordinator, - or manager who would conduct monthly phone calls with us to discuss the progress, and the discounted setup fees (half of regular costs). After getting so much promised to us, and seeing an option to get a discounted setup fees, we have decided to sign with Revlocal and give them a try. Alex immediately signed us up and explained that the first monthly charge will also include the setup fees in the amount of $149. The personal coordinator assigned to our business was Danielle M., who contacted us soon after to discuss our goals, ask about our business and get a list of targeted search terms we would like to have. After that they were supposed to take over the optimization from us, including already created by us Yelp and Google plus accounts. As it turned out, they went into our Yelp account and completely changed the business description without our permission! When presented with the website created by our dedicated "team", we did not know whether to laugh or cry. It contained absolutely irrelevant to our business description, our most important search keywords were either used incorrectly, or in a wrong content, which immediately told us that no one at Revlocal has experience writing for tattoo related businesses (in absolute discrepancy with Alex's promise that our content will be written by tattoo professionals). Having constant conversations with Danielle on the phone and through emails I tried to explain that the level of service provided does not match what was promised to us, and that we are EXTREMELY dissatisfied with their services in general. Danielle always told me they will do better, but these promises had not been fulfilled. We ended up providing our own written content for the website and business directories, because Revlocal could not come up with ANY decent content at all. On top of all these problems, I had discovered later, after the second billing email, that we were charged twice for the setup fees, in both our first and second month of service! That was not matching the service plan sold to us by Alex. After I discovered these extra fees, and being very upset with Revlocal for not providing us with the services they have promised, I cancelled our services, and later called Danielle and asked for full refund that includes 3 months of service and the setup fees charged twice. Danielle responded to my email and said that they are NOT 100% satisfaction guarantee company (good to know!!!), and that she cannot fulfill my request, offering me one month service return instead. She provided me with her manager Todd U.'s phone number, whom I called with no results. He refused to refund our payments in full. When I told him that we are dealing with the case of false advertising, false claims made by the sales person in order to get us to sign up for the company's services, the overcharge, etc. he told me that they setup fees were split over the course of 2 months payment, - completely opposite from what Alex Escobar signed us up for, all while never producing the contract with the terms he offered for us to sign and uknowledge. I also confronted Mr. Ufferman with the fact that were were never a tattoo professional on our team who was writing the website content as it was promised, and that it was the sheer case of false advertising. To all that Mr. Ufferman answered that he could not know what Alex had promised us, he is not responsible for that, and that there never were tattoo professionals on their team, only tattoo shops who were Revlocal clients... So, the sales person Mr. Alex E. used false promises, false advertising and not UNKNOWLEDGED by us set of fees we have never agreed for to sell us Revlocal's services, with Revlocal refusing to take full responsibility for all that, plus the extremely low level of service provided by them.

Desired Settlement: We request full refund of all fees paid to Revlocal, in the amount of $1,196.00 due to false claims, unautorized charges and poor service quality.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

We would like to apologize to ******* for the misunderstanding that arose during the sales process. We can definitely understand why she would be frustrated. While we have some talented digital marketing strategists that have worked with other Tattoo artists and shops and helped them develop a strong digital presence, we do not currently have any that have been tattooists themselves.

In her complaint ******* referenced a website several times. It might be helpful to note here that ******* did not purchase a website design package from us but rather a local search optimization service. As part of this service we provide a mobile optimized micro-site that is specifically designed to drive customers to the business but is not intended to provide all the functionality of a full website. Although we do have some clients that do use this site as their main website.

Additionally, while we always try to produce the highest quality content that represents our business clients and incorporates effective SEO strategies, it is clear that were not able to satisfy *******'s expectations. In other cases when a client has had some specific concerns about written content, we have worked with the client to develop content that meets their expectations. Some of them have even provided their own written business descriptions which we then have incorporated into their micro-site and business listings across the web. None of these clients felt like they were not getting the service they paid for because they understood that Local SEO is far more involved than just writing a business description.  In point of fact, the written content for the micro-site and the business description represent less than 1/10th of the optimization and Local SEO that we do for our local search optimization clients.

It is clear from the complaint that what ******* thought she was buying and the service we actually provide with the package she selected are two very different things. This unfortunate miscommunication influenced the whole relationship and kept us from establishing the mutual trust and respect we hope to have in each partnership.

******* can rest assured that we will be following up with Alex E. to address this situation and ensure that he has been properly trained to accurately represent our products and services in his sales presentations.

In light of this, while we are unable to refund the full amount requested, we have already refunded $299 for the last month charged as a gesture of good faith and out of consideration for the miscommunication and frustration experienced.

Ben D.
Director of Operations
RevLocal — You're In The Right Place
O: (**** ********

M* ***** ********
******************


 

Consumer Response: I disagree with the proposed resolution for our complaint. We do know what optimization process is, as we used to do it ourselves for a long time for some of our e-commerce businesses, and that is why we feel so put down by the false promises that were never delivered, nor were intended to be delivered. The second part of my complaint, the overcharge, had been left out of the business's response. We must insist on the full refund.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

We do not doubt *******’s familiarity or understanding of SEO for an e-commerce website. Experience is usually the best teacher. However, our process of local search marketing (which includes some local SEO) that we go through is very different from the processes that are used on a website. When you do SEO for a website you’re attempting to influence the rank of that site in the search results. There are a variety of on page and off page techniques that are used.

Our service is not focused on influencing the rank of a website in the search results as much as influencing the rank of the business in local searches. This involves a different set of ranking criteria and methods for impacting this criteria.

This once again leads us to believe that what ******* thought she was getting from us is actually very different from the service we offer with the package she purchased. Such confusion must have arisen during the sales process and for this failure of articulation and clarification we apologize. We will work with Alex to help him get better.

Regarding the split setup fee, in the interest of addressing this concern and resolving this dispute, we are happy to refund the disputed amount of $149.50 back to the client.

This brings the total amount refunded to $448.50.

Ben D. 
Director of Operations
RevLocal — You're In The Right Place
O: ***** ********
M: ***** ********
******************

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because we can safely conclude, from Mr. D.'s own explanations, that the services they are trying to sell and the services they are in fact providing are completely different. Why otherwise would anyone be confused about the services they are purchasing? Isn't the sales person's responsibility to accurately present and explain the services offered to a potential customer? Apparently, Mr. E. had failed to do that, according to Mr. D.'s explanation. Not only that, but Mr. E. also mislead us into thinking that we will have tattoo professionals on our team, when in fact, that had never been the case. Using such sales techniques is unacceptable, and we request the rest of our payment to Revlocal to be refunded IN FULL.Regards,

Business Response:

We can definitely understand and appreciate *******’s concerns and frustrations. It is clear that the sales person she interacted with failed to represent our services accurately. We agree completely with her that any sales technique that involves intentionally misleading or misrepresenting the services offered is unacceptable. Such techniques and practices are a violation of our policies and procedures and who we strive to be as a company.

Again, we apologize that ******* experienced this and rest assured this does not arise out of our business practices. We will hold the salesperson accountable for this.

Considering her experience during the sales process and her frustrations with not seeing the progress she expected, we fully understand why she has asked for a full refund.

In the course of providing service to this client though, we have incurred significant cost in both labor and direct expenses (cost of goods sold). So, with the refunds already provided we have already lost money on her account. However, in consideration of her very real concerns and frustrations and in the interest of resolving this complaint, we are prepared to absorb all of the labor cost involved as well, so that if ******* is willing to accept this as a resolution of her complaint we are prepared to offer her an additional refund of $299.

This refund will be posted to her account upon notice of her acceptance of this as a resolution of her complaint.

*** ****
Director of Operations
RevLocal — You're In The Right Place
O:
***** ********
M:
***** ********
******************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

2/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RevLocal is claiming to have a location in ********** ******** at the address *** **** **** ******. As the manager of the virtual office company (Your *********** ********) that provides mail services to businesses for a fee at that address, I can state that RevLocal is not authorized to use the address *** **** **** ******, ********** ********. There is no ***** ******* at this address, and there is also no RevLocal with an account at this address. Because we license the use of our address for a fee and RevLocal is not paying this fee, this company is stealing a service we provide and misrepresenting itself to its clientele. The page posting the address *** **** **** ******, ********** ** ***** can be found here: ********************************************/

Desired Settlement: Your *********** ******** requests that RevLocal remove our address from the website or purchase a license agreement for its use.

Business Response: We apologize for the error. We have purchased a license agreement for the use of that address.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on RevLocal
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart