Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bob Evans Farms, Inc.

Phone: (614) 939-4518 Fax: (614) 492-4949 View Additional Phone Numbers 8111 Smiths Mill Rd, New Albany, OH 43054 http://www.bobevans.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Evans Farms, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Evans Farms, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Bob Evans Farms, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 03, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1963 Business started locally: 06/01/1963
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Hood, Intrim Chairman of the Board & CEO Ms. LeeAnn Barga, Manager Customer Relations Mr. John Fisher, VP of Operations Jackie L Gloyd, Executive Administrative Assistant Mr. Steve Shafer, Restaurant Operations Manager Mr. Mike Townsley, Pres., Bob Evans Farms, Inc Food Products Division
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. LeeAnn Barga, Manager Customer Relations
Principal: Mr. Mark Hood, Intrim Chairman of the Board & CEO
Business Category

Restaurants Caterers

Alternate Business Names
Bob Evans Restaurant
Business Management

Bob Evans Farms Inc corporate headquarters are located at 3776 S High St in Columbus, Ohio, and the company owns and operates full-service, family restaurants in 18 states, located primarily in the East North Central, mid-Atlantic and Southern United States. The scope of this report covers the corporate headquarters and locations in the Central Ohio service area. Separate BBB reports on other locations are available at www.bbb.org.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bob Evans Farms, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8111 Smiths Mill Rd

    New Albany, OH 43054

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: However, though- I visited the store- me & my daughter had brunch & it was the most awful service I've ever had!!! My coffee had food in it, not one the 1st cup- but also the next cup she brought out- as I informed the waitress- "Katie"- not only that- my food was set up to be brought out 17 minutes before my daughters food was made & then brought to us- with my food being cold! My daughter already knowing that I was upset with the service- ask me "please mom"- so I mentioned to Katie that my food was cold- she then took my daughters food & had it cooked longer because it was not done!! Katie didn't even offer to warm my food or replace it or nothing!!! I left a note for the manger to call me & it's been a week & 2 days- I suppose they don't know what to say about their incomplete- unnecessary- rude service! I feel that bob Evans has looked at me as I'm only 1 person & my opinion don't matter to them!!! On the local news today they explained apologies- should be sincere & that you should know what you done wrong before you say "I'm sorry"- Katie denied all the bad service & even lied to me saying she came to our table several times- (she was only at our table when I called for her to come)- I feel totally disrespected & really curious if why the manger couldn't return my call!! I have a copy of the note I left there!!!!

Desired Settlement: I just want better service- when I pay $30 for two people to go eat- my food should be hot & my coffee should be free of other customers food!! Money offered back or a discount should of been offered- but I got offered nothing but "I'm sorry" and didn't even know why they were saying sorry because they were saying they done nothing wrong!! I'll take that waitresses job if that is an offer & show them how to do it right!!!

Business Response:

Our Guest Relations team has received this guests complaint also via email from our website.  We have forwarded this concern to the area coach and general manager of this location so that this may be addressed operationally; additionally, we will be following back up with the guest via postal mail with $30 in gift certificates.

 

Thank you,

LeAnn B****

Supervisor, Guest and Consumer Relations

Bob Evans Farms, Inc.

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wow what A NIGHTMARE of a restaurant this location has so many problems I do not know where to begin. 1 . The service was horrible never saw the waiter after he brought our orders. 2. never got refills until we flagged the waiter down and he never offered to get any for the other people at our table. 3.ordered bacon with one of the meals and got sausage instead. 4. waited for ten minutes after he finally came and took away the dirty dishes before we decided he was not going to bring the bill. 5. got up to leave and as we walked to the cashiers stand the entire staff disappeared behind the kitchen doors and left us waiting at the register for several minutes before a women came out and asked (Ryan) to come over and ring us out ( by the way the women was obviously a manger, why did she not ring us out instead of making us now wait for Ryan to come do it). 6.We never received a receipt itemizing our meal so were not even sure if we paid for our table or someone else's 7.We also were told when we paid that we could not use the 5 dollar gift card we had as well as the buy one get one half price coupon. 8. upon getting home I checked my credit card and was billed twice for this meal. This store is nothing but bad news we eat at Bob Evans alot and every time we eat at this location it has been horrible. This store needs a complete reboot or needs to be shuttered I had to call my Bank to get the charge reversed to my card there will never be a next time with me at this location I want a someone in the company headquarters to call me regarding this NIGHTMARE.

Desired Settlement: I believe under the circumstances I should be refunded my entire purchase price not only was the service horrible but being charged twice and having to call my bank to get my money back was way over the limit.

Consumer Response: This problem has been addressed and I am happy with the outcome I talked to the store manager and district manager is aware of my problems and they are taking steps to fix the issues. so no further contact is needed on this.

Bruce ************

Business Response:

I received this guests email also in regards to his visit.  His concerns have been documented and forwarded to the area coach and general manager in charge of this location.  Our reference number is *******.

Additionally, I have also personally followed up with the guest by postal mail with $40 in gift certificates to come back to our restaurant.  This letter and gift certificates were mailed on 2/24/2016. - see below for our letter.

As the guest is still unhappy, we will have the area coach, Patrick Sullivan contact him personally.

February 24, 2016

*** ***** ************ **** ******* ***** *********** ** *****
Dear Mr. ************:

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to e-mail regarding our Bob Evans Restaurants.

I would like to apologize that the service you received was not as efficient as our guests have come to know and expect.  The area coach in charge of our Louisville location is concerned about your experience and will use this as a learning tool for our staff.  Only through feedback from our guests can we improve.  It is our goal to provide high-quality food and service.  Again, thank you so much for assisting us in meeting our goal.

On behalf of Bob Evans Restaurants, please accept the enclosed as an invitation to dine with us again.  We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

LeAnn B****

Supervisor, Guest and Consumer Relations

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When visiting the restaurant with my son who has a severe food allergy, I informed the staff of his specific allergy and asked if they would be able to accomodate for this. They informed us that they could prepary his food separately so that it would not come into contact with the specific allergen. After dining here, my son experienced a severe reaction requiring medical attention. After contacting the restaraunt in person, by contact form on the website and by phone, I still have not recieved any contact back from any representative of the restaurant.

Desired Settlement: Please contact me for details regarding resolution of this complaint

Business Response:

In regards to Mr. ***** *******’s concern that was reported, I have checked our records and see that this guest emailed us on 5/28/2015 in regards to an incident that occurred on 3/15/2015.  The Area Coach in charge of this location *** ****** did attempt to call the guest at the phone number provided; however, he was unable to leave a message.  We have re-sent the request to *** ****** to email and call this guest for resolution.

Our Reference number is *******.

Thank you,

Business Response: Thank you for taking the time to contact our Corporate Office regarding your visit to Bob Evans Restaurant #343 (Pickerington, OH) on March 15th, 2015.  I apologize for the time it has taken for this issue to be addressed.  Risk Mgmt. became aware of the incident on July 29th, 2015; when we were forwarded the letter Consumer Relations received from the Better Business Bureau.  Upon receipt, I contacted the location and requested an online report be submitted for your son’s incident; the requested report was received August 3rd, 2015.

I understand from the report Risk Mgmt. received, your son suffered a severe allergic reaction after eating Grilled Chicken; which required the use of an Epi-pen, followed by a trip to the hospital for additional medical treatment.  The report also states the Server was made aware of your son’s allergy prior to the order being taken.  Unfortunately, it appears that information was not relayed to the kitchen staff.  We at Bob Evans, are very concerned with the well-being of our customers and take this type of incident very seriously.  The management team at the Pickerington, OH restaurant understands the importance of customer safety and have agreed to address this incident with their employees; in hopes this will prevent similar customer incidents in the future.

I will need copies of all related medical treatment notes and out-of-pocket expenses (e.g.: co-pays, deductibles, prescription costs, etc.), for compensation evaluation.  I will review your claim once all requested information is received and will contact you to discuss an agreeable resolution.

Please accept my sincere apology for this unfortunate incident.

Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions or concerns you may have.  

Thank you,


 

Consumer Response: Thank you for your assistance in this matter.  I am in the process of gathering all necessary documentation of treatment and billing statements.  I will be sending those along to you some time next week. thank you,

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,
Claimant, ***** *******, is being compensated for all related expenses from the incident involving his minor son.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My kids and husband decided to surprise me with a Mothers Day dinner. Slow-Roasted Turkey Breast & Dressing (Served with 2 sides and bread) $34.98 Cranberry Relish Chicken Gravy Glazed Baby Carrots Special Recipe Macaroni & Cheese Freshly Baked Rolls (6 rolls) Bread & Celery Dressing $5.00 Half-Dozen Chocolate Chunk Cookies $4.99 Whole Double Crust Apple Pie $10.99 Total price was $48.07. Well, we went to pick it up at 4pm. On 5/10/2015. The server was trying to give us a fried chicken meal. We said no it's a turkey family meal. She said you ordered a chicken meal correct? My husband showed her the confirmation recipe. She then put everything into bags. We get home and say prayer the noticed. No dinner rolls. My husband quickly call the Michigan City restaurant in Indiana. Which the server on the phone said that they have our rolls and we can come and get them. My husband said it's Mother's Day and we live in La Porte which is 30 minutes away. She said oh so, you won't be picking them up? They instead George down my husband s name and gave us a single side soup. We sit back down and no cranberry relish. Really? Opened the Turkey meal and the meat is only enough for two people barely three. There is more stuffing than Turkey! We decided to cut the Apple pie since it was a disaster of dinner. The pie when we cut it wasn't done, it was gooey and white. Next we noticed the wrong cookies! They gave us m&m cookies. My husband redial the restaurant and asked to speak to the manager. The server put my husband on hold for 5 minutes came back and said the manager is busy.Seriously? 40 minutes ago we were there and the restaurant was dead and no one was in the restaurant. So, we called the next day.Finally, got a manger and he said sorry and apologize said there isn't anything he can do on his end but call corporate. That we should be receive a free family meal, grocery coupons and other coupons. Well it's been over a week. And no phone call, no letter or anything. Then we find out that the restaurant is being closed down. I want my mother's day dinner fixed with a new dinner or my money back!

Desired Settlement: I would like our $48.07 back and a family dinner meal with deserts.

Business Response:

Upon review, I have found that the manager of this location did send a request to our corporate office to replace the cost of a family meal $20.00.  Our Guest Relations team did mail out these gift certificates with an apology from the restaurant on 5/20/2015.  As the guest is requesting a full refund of the family meal we will be mailing an additional $30 in gift certificates that can be used at any of our restaurants.  We will also call the guest personally to let them know of our resolution.

Our reference number is *******

Thank you,

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This morning I had placed an order that ended up costing $56.00. I had called it in. When I went to pick up the food I didn't check the order. I paid and left. The girl asked me if I needed the receipt and I told her no and left. When I got home as soon as I opened the order I saw that it was completely wrong. I live pretty close to the location so I went back. By the time I got back there it was someone else doing the carry out orders. They asked what my issue was and I told them the order was completely wrong. They asked me if I had a receipt and I told them the situation about how I told the girl I didnt need the receipt. I asked them if they could look up the order since it was just placed about 90 minutes previously. They said that they couldnt look it up. So I asked to speak to a manager and the manager on duty was very unhelpful and almost made it seem like I was lying. We were at a stalemate where they were refusing to make the order correctly. I was so frustrated I just left the order that was completely wrong on the counter and left. I have never had such bad customer service. It wasnt like I way lying. I mean I had the order that was wrong in my hand to show them that it was wrong. The location was 1650 N Dupont Highway Dover DE 19901 and the phone number is 302-678-5042

Desired Settlement: I would like a gift card for the $56 and honestly I feel like I should be given something extra just because of the hassle of all of this and being made to feel like a liar by the staff.

Business Response:

The information provided has been forwarded to the Area Coach and General Manager in charge of this location as well as our operations team.    We have attempted to contact Mr. ***** by phone; however, his voicemail is not set up.  We will be emailing the guest the response below, and following up additionally by mail as promised.  Also, we will be mailing a gift card in the amount of $56 and also enclosing $20 in Be Our Guest certificates which can be used at any of our Bob Evans locations.

Email that was sent to guest 5/11/2015:

Dear Mr. *****:

I am so sorry to hear that you did not receive the correct carryout order from our Dover location.  I also apologize that our manager was not more accommodating and did not ensure that your order was re-made correctly.  Your comments will be forwarded to the area coach responsible for this restaurant so that any necessary action can be taken.  

Also, as requested, we will be mailing you a gift card to refund your order of $56 and gift certificates to use at any of our Bob Evans locations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

***** *****
Representative, Guest and Consumer Relations

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/18/2015 at 11:23am store# 0162, order #******. Wife sick, left in hurry. Paid by debit card. I had coupon for $4.00 off or free breafast with one. Called about 2pm, spoke manager. "Cannot do anything" ticket beyond 1/2 hour limit frame. Would like $4.00 or free breakfast next visit. Store in Cincinnati, Ohio Eastgate area.

Desired Settlement: $4.00 or breakfast entree

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

Our Representative ***** ***** has spoken with Mr. ***** on 3/23/2015 and apologized that our manager was not more accommodating.  He really likes our restaurant and she let him know that we would be sending him some gift certificates out to him for his poor experience.  ***** sent $15 in gift certificates.  She has also provided her direct phone number if he should need it in the future.

Thank you. 

 

Consumer Response: My complaint against Bob Evans Farms, Inc has been resolved to my satisfaction. Thank you for your assistance.

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called payroll and left multiple voicemails towards the beginning of Jan, I could no get a hold of anyone at that time. I was calling to change my W2 address, I finally reached someone around end of Jan beginning of Feb. She stated to leave a voicemail with payroll and that I would not receive a call back. So once again I left a voicemail, my fiancé called the same number not even 5min later and left a voicemail as well to change his address to the same exact one I was changing it too. My fiancé received his W2 but I did not, so I called back again a few times and finally received a call back stating that my account was notated that they got my voicemail an changed my address. But they had not, the address was still my previous address, and my W2 was sent there. I asked for it to be recent to me, and they stated that I would have to wait until it was returned to sender, or they would send a new one Feb 15th. I even filled out the change of address form almost two weeks ago, and still have not received my W2.

Desired Settlement: I would like my W2 emailed to me or sent to me immediately.

Business Response:

Hello-

I have worked with our payroll department to get a new W2 sent out to Ms. ******.  A new W2 was sent to *** ****** ***. Reynoldsburg, Oh  43068 on March 2, 2015.  Additionally, the payroll manager called the phone number listed and received a message stating that the voicemail was full.  My hope is that Ms. ****** has received her W2 at this time.  She can also contact the payroll manager, ******* *******, directly at ###-###-####.

Thanks,

**** ******

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: im not to sure on how to do this but i feel like i am not getting paid as i was told and feel like money that i make in tips is being taken from me. first of all in my understanding my pay was to be at 8.50 hr. but some of my hours are at 7.95 . i had talked to my gm about it and she i will get reimbursed but it has been almost 3 weeks and nothing. i also have asked her how come i dont see our tips being made through credit cards on my checks stubs but she doesnt seem to have an answer.i have asked around because im thought maybe i just am not looking in right place but im not the only one having the problem.im just the only one that finally is doing something. please i would like to stay anonymous because i am still working there as of right now because i am putting in my 2 weeks notice in a couple of days

Desired Settlement: i would like my money and right away.i believe that if i work for it that i should get paid for it.im not the only one and some of us depends on our checks

Consumer Response: Yes I do want it to go forth. They still owe me money that has been taken from me that I have earned in tips. The sad part about it is that I didn't keep up with tips from my first day of employment . But I do know that it's not right. And I do believe something should be done. I have quit there because of this and you may use my name.  I just don't want it to happen to someone else although I still have some of there employees coming to me and telling me it is even though I'm no longer employed there.

Business Response: Thanks *** - I am working with our HR team and Payroll department to get this resolved.  I will send an update once I have all the information.  The plan is for someone to reach out to Ms. ***** and disuss.  Thanks, **** 

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 weeks ago I filled out a form to have a duplicate copy of my W-2 sent to my new address. I have called and left 3 messages with the payroll department and have not received a response. I also spoke with Bob Evans IT department to gain access to my pay stubs and that did not work either. As of today I have not received my W-2 or any help from their corporate office.

Desired Settlement: I want a return phone call!!!

Business Response: ****** ******** called ******* and received her voicemail.  She left a message stating that she would be sending her a copy, today, of her W2 along with paycheck stubs.   She mailed the information to the address listed below: 836 ********** Dr. Reynoldsburg, OH 43068   Let me know if you need any additional information.   Thanks  

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the past month or so I have called the corporate office a numerous amount of times, ive left about 8-9 messages possibly more begging for somebody to call me back so I can give them my updated address so my W-2s can be mailed to the proper address, I have pressed every button on their automated system, and each and every time I get a hold of an actual person they tell me there's nothing they can do, they can't give me anybody's extension, or they give me a new number to call which takes me back to the direct automated service again, I have left messages on payrolls voicemails as well as the w2s voicemail and not one person has returned my phone calls. 3 weeks I have left messages..and you mean to tell me out of all the employees bob evans hires not one person can call me back? Especially when w2s were supposed to be postmarked by January 431st and its now February 4th.

Desired Settlement: I would like a return phone call and my w2s sent to my email or faxed to me.

Consumer Response: I just would like you to know that on 02/04/2014 at 6:30pm central standard time ******* ******* from Bob Evans Corp payroll department called me then emailed my W2s to me. Thank you for all your help

Business Response: This issue has been resolved and ****** ****** commented at the bottom of the complaint. On 2/4.2014, ******* from our payroll department reached out to ****** and reissued her W-2 to her the same day. Please let me know if you need anything else. Thanks,

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I sent you an email last week letting you know they had resolved the issue.





















2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/21/13 I placed an online order for Curbside pickup at Bob Evans on West Broad St, Columbus, OH. After I returned home, we noticed part of the order was missing and part was incorrect. We had ordered two full family meals. We called the store and the new mgr of 2 days told us we could either come back and pick up a family meal at no charge or wait for a coupon in the mail from corporate. It was raining so we choice the coupon. It never arrived. I called the W Broad St store again 12/31/13 and this was a different manager and she said to give it 3 weeks. I said what is corporates number. She gave me a number that turned out to be a fax! I called back and she said that is the only number she had! She did not try to help me. I then looked up corporate online and called an 800 number, this lady took my info and seemed like she was listening, but still nothing arrived! So I then filled out a complaint form online under the Bob Evans corporate sight, finally I received an email response back stating the coupon was sent to the wrong address 1/2/14 and they were not going to do anything to correct their error!!!! ***** ***** accused me of giving the wrong address! I know my address as I have owned this house for a very long time. In addition it is present from ordering online several times, plus I gave it to the Broad St store and to the New Albany location. I think they may have made a typo with the zip code because it is 43204. They entered 820 but my address is 803! I am absolutely appalled that my full name was given to the wrong address and somebody else received my refund. If this is true...and she is not just telling me this because they do not want to correct this issue...that is a rental house of which the police recently visited and I do not appreciate that they sent my mail there! They could have verified this before hand. Or sent an email coupon!!! At this point I want a cash refund because my confidence in Bob Evans is now shot. Absolutely shamefull. Order total $34.98 (Please see EM)

Desired Settlement: This is a copy of the email sent to me "mocking me as you can see she says my name as "cheery" and my name is Cherie. Which is clearly written in my email address!) 820 was the address provided when you contacted us by phone. They were mailed on 01/02/2014. Confirmation number on online order is ********.

Consumer Response: Thank you, I would like to add an email attachment to the complaint. I explained it in my correspondence but thought it would best if I actually attached the order confirmation and the response email from corporate as it shows the dis-respect and mocking of my name. How can I add this now?

Consumer Response: Consumer submitted a copy of her order confirmation.

Business Response: We are happy to provide this guest with a refund in the form of check as requested.  Our representative ***** ***** has been in correspondence with this guest, and a refund will be processed. .    

Consumer Response: I thank the BBB for acting upon this as quickly as they did. But I can not answer at this time as I must wait to see if I really do receive a refund.  The even bigger issue now is why ***** or somebody corrected my name in the response email sent to the BBB! This is fraudulent and further reflects upon this corporate office!  I do not appreciate them changing my first name in the email and acting as though it never happened. Why did they not acknowledge this? Are they trying to make me look like the crazy? This is how it comes across...  I have the original email in my inbox as proof! And I will forward it to you next.  I am sure the corporate office has the original one in their sent file and an IT professional can tell whether or not it has been changed. This is wrong...why is this not addressed in my complaint?      

Consumer Response: I understand your message and truly appreciate your response. I thank you for your assistance and promptness as well! Plus professionalism and transparency. Which is why I have to respond again. It could have been a typo or a slip...however it is Bob Evans that should be acknowledging this by saying, "sorry that we mis-spelled your name-it was not our rep's attention to mock you"  I can not help but to still be angered by this because I believe it was intentional. Or else she would done the right thing to begin with! It is not the responsibility of the BBB to make excuses on their behalf and to apologize for them!  In addition, what a frustrating ordeal this has been for something that should have been simple. And this rep saying that I gave her a wrong address so my hard earned money would go to another address....seriously does this make any sense...? No apology for sending my "business" to another address...if of course, it was actually ever sent. Plus she should not have changed the email correspondence. How do you know this rep has not done this to other emails as well???  I want this acknowledged in addition to the refund. This needs to be brought to the attention of her management, or else it will not be corrected. Plus it doesn't state what the refund actually is...?  So how do we adjust this claim to acknowledge that the email was changed in the correspondence to be BBB? At this point, it is not just about the refund, it is about ethics. Had the email not been changed, and she replied, "sorry for the typo", we would not be having this additional correspondence and the case would now be closed!

Business Response: I apologize for the confusion with this complaint.  The goal of my department is to be the voice of Bob Evans guests and resolve their issue in a timely manner.   I want to apologize to Ms. ****** on behalf of myself and my team that we did not handle her concern appropriately.  I have updated her address to reflect the correct one.  I am sorry that we somehow inputted the wrong address into our system.  Secondly, a check for $35 has been mailed to Ms. ****** to her corrected address to cover the cost of her carryout order as she requested.  Finally, under no circumstances would I tolerate anyone from my team to mock a guest.  I have spoken with my team members to ensure they are inputting a guest’s name and address correctly.  I apologize that Ms. ******’s name was mis-spelled in our correspondence to her. If there is anything else needed, please do not hesitate to reach out to me. Thanks,

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.




















7/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received my last paycheck from Bob Evans on 4/12/2013. At this time I requested a final disbursement of my 401k benefits. I was told by corporate that in order to start the process my status with the company had to change from active to inactive, and that my store manager was the one to make the change. It is now July and my status is still currently active. I have called everyone I could get a number for and never received one return phone call. When I called the restaurant that I worked for I was told by ******* ****** ( store manager ) that he changed my status and took me out of his system. I then called corporate and was told I was still in his system and an active employee. Corporate instructed me to call the restaurant I worked for. And the restaurant instructed me to call corporate, several times. I don't know if its a matter of incompetency or a simple glitch in the system. Either way, I feel that it Is not my job to solve their issue about my money. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: I simply just want my money

Business Response: This concern has been forwarded to our Retirement Benefits Manager.  Corrections have been made in our system to reflect employees termination status.  Our 401K vendor should have her status updated by end of day Tuesday so that she can request distribution of her 401k plan. Distribution requests can be made by contacting our BEing My Best Resource Center at ###-###-####. Thank you, **** ****** Guest and Consumer Relations Manager

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have enclosed a copy of a letter that I sent, over a month ago, to ******* ** *****, President of Bob Evans Restaurants. I have yet to receive a reply. Would you mind looking into the situation for me? Thank you. Sincerely, ****** ** ******   May 21,2013 ******* ** ***** President of Bob Evans Restaurants **** ** **** ** ********* ** ***** Dear Mr. *****: Last night I attended the ******** ******** High School graduation at the ************* ****** at **** *****; my friend's son graduated. Afterwards, a group of us went to ** ******* on ********* Drive to have dinner and a celebration of the evening. It was raining and I knew it would be dark when we left (we arrived there about 9:1O), so I parked in the end space of the row of spaces in front of Bob Evans, since it was the closest available space to ** *******'s front door. At about 10:15 p.m., my friend, her son, her two other younger children and I walked out of ** ******* toward my car. We were met by a young man in a Bob Evans jacket, who asked, "Is this your car?" I replied that yes, it was, and he proceeded to berate me for parking in that space, and to announce that the tow truck was on the way. When I asked him why, he told me that I could not park there to go to ** *******. I told him that there was no signage anywhere to indicate that to be the case; he informed me that the sign was around "the back of the restaurant". Just at that moment, two ******** Towing trucks arrived, one from each driveway. Before I drove away, I asked the young man his name and he told me it was ******. I called your restaurant this morning and spoke to the manager on duty, **** ******. Mr. ****** was very pleasant, but told me that I would not have been the first car towed from the lot due to being a customer of ** *******. I told Mr. ****** that there are no signs indicating that parking there is exclusive to Bob Evans. He acknowledged this fact, but certainly didn't indicate any regrets about the towing incident. After giving this event more thought and inquiries, I would like you to consider the following: *My interaction with ****** (****) was confrontational and unprofessional. Mr. ****** said that yes, ****** can be abrupt. I pointed out to Mr. ****** that ****** was disrespectful to me and my friends, which was not a nice way to end an evening of celebration and recognition. Further, my car is all-wheel drive and had it been towed (in lieu of a flatbed), it would have been seriously damaged. And, taking it one step further, if we had walked out ten minutes later and my car was gone, my first instinct would have been to call the police and report it stolen. *I spoke at length to an officer in the ***** ********* Police Department this morning. While towing from private property is not typically a police matter, he said that there should be signage at all entry points to the lot indicating that Bob Evans considers that lot to be exclusively for Bob Evans' customers, under penalty of towing. And, since the two lots share a common drive between them, it is, in his words, a "raw deal" for Bob Evans to tow the ** ******* customers who park on one side vs. the other side. He also noted that in his thirteen years on the force, it's become quite apparent that Bob Evans "hates" the ** ******* customers.. .not a point in your favor in terms of public relations. *Coincidentally, at lunch today I saw ******** *******, one of the owner/managers of the ********* Drive ** *******. I relayed my story to Mr. *******, who was shocked and disappointed that Bob Evans would choose to tow his customers, especially, since on Sunday, when the Bob Evans side of the lot is full and Bob Evans' customers park in the ** ******* lot, he would never consider having their cars towed. He feels it is just an issue of being good neighbors. This may be a long letter, Mr. *****, but as a consumer, citizen, and supporter of local businesses, I believe that Bob Evans Restaurants should amend its parking policy. I've told this story at least five times this morning (not counting **** ****** or the **PD officer) and each time, the listener has expressed dismay and stated how angry that they would be if their car would be towed under these same circumstances. Truly, do you think it would be acceptable if you parked at ****'s, went shopping at *****, and then discovered that ****'s towed your car in your absence? I doubt it, and I also doubt if you'd return to ****'s and give them your business. Sincerely, ****** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I believe that Bob Evans Restaurants should amend its parking policy.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

We reviewed our procedures concerning the parking with the management team and the manager who was perceived as being unprofessional has been counselled. Currently we still have the towing signs in the locations that we have always had them but the decision was made to not confront any guests about where they parked or to have anyone towed.  Please do not hesitate to follow up with me directly with any further questions or concerns regarding this matter.

Thank you,

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Bob Evans Farms, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart