Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Potts RVS

Phone: (740) 967-2500 5669 Johnstown Utica Rd, Johnstown, OH 43031 http://www.ronpottsrvs.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Potts RVS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Potts RVS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Ron Potts RVS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 2010 Business started: 12/01/2007 in OH Business incorporated 08/02/2006 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dealer Licensing Section, Ohio BMV (Bureau of Motor Vehicles)
PO Box 16521, Columbus OH 43216
https://ext.dps.state.oh.us/BMVOnlineServices.Public/DealerSearch.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 752-7636

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ron Potts, Owner Ms. Carol S Potts, Secretary/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Potts, Owner
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Rent & Lease Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Ron Potts RVS LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ron Potts RVS has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5669 Johnstown Utica Rd

    Johnstown, OH 43031 (740) 967-2500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: September 8, 2014 - I called Potts and spoke to ******. I asked for a ball park figure on what it would cost to have a coating of sealer applied to the motor home roof. ****** quoted $99 an hour for labor and without looking at it he said it would probably be about $375 – 400 plus parts. I told him I’d bring it in. September 9, 2014 - I took the RV to *** ****s RV the next day. ****** looked at it and said he could apply the sealer for me but also needs some caulking. He said it would cost about $375 – 400 and I said okay, that’s what I want. I told ****** that I didn't want to spend more than $400. A second guy came out, he went up to look at the roof and he says that it does not need sealed, that is not the problem. He said it needs caulked because there are a lot of cracks in the old caulking down the seams. I told them I can do the caulking myself. I just need the sealer put on. ****** went in to do the paperwork on what I wanted but came right back out with a third guy named ****. He said it doesn’t need sealer it just need caulking. I told all three of them that ****** and I had already discussed what I wanted. I told them if they didn't want to do what I wanted done, I would leave. ****** and I discussed applying the sealer and some caulking again, I said okay, we agreed that’s what I wanted done so he wrote up the work order, I signed it and we left it at that. That evening when I got home, I was so upset from all the chaos and harassment from them telling me what to do without knowing my intentions or without any regards to what I had already told ****** in person and on the phone, I called *** ****s RV and left a message telling them not to do any work to my RV. I said I would be in to pick it up the next morning. September 10 - The next day, I called to speak to *** *****. I explained what happened and how I left the RV there to have the sealer only applied and that ****** had quoted me $375-400 for the sealer and some caulking. He said he would check into it and call back. He called back and said you need caulking but you don’t need the sealer. He started explaining the roof and also said that there was a leak around the f***t bunk bed windshield. R** ***** said he would have to take the windshield out, remove the old caulking and re-caulk the windshield. He said it will take more time and me a price of $400-475 plus materials. I felt frustrated. Even though I told him I just wanted it sealed, he made this leak sound bad so I said ok and do it. Then *** ****s kept calling back what seemed like several more times adding to the price because they kept finding something else w***g. It got out of hand. The whole time, during these telephone conversations, *** wouldn't even let me talk. He wasn't listening to me and he kept over powering the conversation. They called that evening, said it was done and my wife and I went in to pick it up the next morning. As we were checking out, ****** said he had more labor in it than they were charging us for. When I got the RV home and I was able to look at the work they did, I could see where the caulking was piled on in globs in areas. I was upset because I feel the caulking was applied sloppy and the work was of poor quality. The windshield *** said was leaking was not even touched. And they didn’t apply the sealer. The main reason I took the RV to them was to have sealer applied to the entire roof which didn’t even get done. I told them over and over I just wanted it sealed. I told them I could do caulking myself. I feel I was harassed and coerced into paying them to do something entirely different from what I asked them to do. Caulking is something I am very capable of doing myself. The price *** gave over the phone during one of the several times he called was to include removing the windshield, remove old caulk and re-caulk the windshield to seal it up too. They didn't even do any work to the windshield like they said they would. I still need the sealer applied *** wouldn't even acknowledge me the next day when I went in to pick up the RV. My bill is as follows: Parts $82.11 Shop supplies $25.75 Labor $495.00 Sub Total $602.86. Plus Tax $43.71 Grand Total $646.57. I feel the amount I was charged was excessive to the work performed and it was not what I had intended to have done in the first place. I feel I was carefully coerced into letting them do the caulking and spending more money than necessary and I still did not get the roof sealed like I originally intended.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the total amount $646.57.

Business Response: Customer brought in RV for service. The estimated labor the service writer gave the customer was 3 to
4 hours for painting his roof. Technician advised customer to caulk the unit and not paint the roof.
Customer signed the work order approving *** ****s RVS to do the work.

Customer called in complaining how our service department handled the service write up. *** ****
checked with the service department and followed up with the customer and told him that the service
department advised him correctly. *** advised him that the roof needed caulked to prevent further
water damage and that painting the roof was just cosmetic and did not fix the roof. *** said the
estimated work would take three to four hours labor plus material but not sure it could be less or more.
Once the tech gets in the job we could better tell and then keep the customer posted.

Once the labor got to four hours the customer was called to get approval for another hour in labor to
finish the job. The customer gave approval for another hour of labor.

Customer picked up RV and signed and paid for the work that was agreed upon.

Customer filed with the BBB and *** told customer that he reviewed the phone conversations and
invited the customer to come to the dealership to hear the evidence that he approved the work
The labor was 8 hours but the customer was only charged 5 hours as customer agreed upon. *** told
customer that if there was any caulking messed up that we would correct at no cost. The customer did
not state that there was a problem in our work but just he did not want to pay for it. *** offered to
paint his roof at no cost using his roof sealant. The customer did not want to do that either. The
customer even stated that even if he was refunded money he wanted to report us so we would look
bad.

*** **** RVS does take pride in servicing RVS correctly and giving the customer the right advice to
maintain their RV. *** **** reviewed all records and concluded that no refund was merited and
that we gave the customer the right advice, communicated as the work was getting done and got the
approval to do the work. Also, *** ****s RVS offered to paint his roof with his paint but the customer
did not take advantage of the offer either.

Consumer Response: I would like to clarify a few things after reviewing *** ***** reply to our complaint against him.

We took our motor home to Mr. Potts Service Dept. to have the roof sealed.  This order was written up to seal and do some caulking as needed.  3 to 4 hrs. we signed and agreed to this.

Next day *** calls our home said we did not need sealer.  But need caulked.  Stated our window over bunk bed was leaking.  Needed to remove window, seal and recaulk it.  Also stated he smelled mildew.  This was a serious problem.

*** called our home several times changing and adding more hours after he had told us this would still only take 3 to 4 hrs.  He threatened us when it go to 5 hrs that he wouldn't finish the job.

Once we were called we picked our Motor Home up and had to pay 646.57.  Once home we inspected the work the Service Dept. had done.  Found the window over the bunk bed had never been touched and the caulking was very sloppy job.

At this time I called my credit card to dispute what we were charged.

Also wrote my complaint to you the B.B.B.  

Please note: 
"*** ***** stated in his reply"
"Customer even stated that even was refunded"
"Money he wanted to report us so we would look bad"

There was never a conversation where ** ***** offered us a refund.  Completely false statement.  We do not trust Mr. Potts and will never take our Motor Home to him for service.

To resolve this matter I would be willing to accept $323.00 which is half of the 646.57 we were charged.  I will notify my credit card co. and B.B.B.

If *** ***** does not agree. Then I want my complaint filled as not resolved.  I'm asking any reply he has to send i too you the B.B.B.   Mr. ***** is very difficult to try to solve this complaint.  Please arbitrate for us.

Business Response: 10.8  Talked with Mr *** ****s.  He reiterated his September 24th written response.  To recap......Mr. ****** signed the work order approving the caulking of the roof...and not the painting.  Mr ***** advised the roof needed caulked to prevent further water damage and painting the roof was just cosmetic and did not fix it.  Mr. ****** approved additional hour of labor.  Mr. ****** picked up RV and paid for agreed upon work.  Mr. **** offered Mr.  ****** that if there was any caulking that needed addressed, he would correct at no cost. Mr. ***** also offered to paint the roof at no cost using Mr. ****** sealant.  Mr. ***** stated no refund is merited and that all work was approved and paid for by Mr. ***.  Mr. ***** has not taken advantage of either offer made by Mr. ****.  Mr. ***** stated the company has met its obligation.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 15, 2014 we purchased a 2004 Fleetwood Discovery from Ron Potts RV. This vehicle was being offered for sale as a consignment unit. During the initial inspection of the unit, we mentioned that the info center was showing a low voltage output. We were told that the unit would be gone thru from front to back and per the previous owners would be made “trip ready” for the new owners. We made a deposit on the unit and continued the purchase process. During the signing of the purchase contract, again we were told that the previous owners left instructions to make sure that the unit was “trip ready” and was shown a list of items repaired / replaced on the unit such as: oil change, fluids in generator changed, refrigerator checked, new house batteries, and new alternator. Due to weather conditions we were unable to drive unit home until mid-March. Unit was driven 45 miles home. We were planning a trip in mid-April. Unit was packed for a trip on April 8 and we were leaving on April 9. Morning of April 9, we could not get the unit started. We replaced the coach batteries with new ones that were checked before installation and the unit started. Voltage reading was 11.4. We called Ron Potts RV and talked to mechanic. He told us to rev engine to 1500rpm and see if voltage climbed. It did not. He stated that we needed to bring unit in to have it checked and would need to drive it with the generator running to keep voltage up. We took unit to Ron Potts RV. After the unit was checked by Ron Potts’ mechanic, it was determined that the alternator was bad. Per report from mechanic, alternator was removed and company where alternator was purchased was contacted. First story was that alternator would not be replaced by company because the original invoice from when it was bought could not be found. Then story was that company would not replace because they did not have one. Mechanic took alternator back to shop and opened it up and found that brushes were stuck. He corrected the brushed and reinstalled the alternator. When we picked up the vehicle *** ***** also stated that he had talked to the company where the alternator was purchased and could not figure out why they would not stand behind it. We picked up unit and drove unit 670 miles. Cost to us $334.62. Approximately 3 days after we returned from our trip, we started unit and again noticed that voltage was dropping on unit. *** ***** was contacted several times and he suggested several things to do of which none worked. *** ***** did mention several times that the alternator was purchased by the previous owners and wondered how I know about the new alternator. He also stated that if I had purchased the extended warranty, they would pay for it. I reminded him he had showed us the list of things done at point of sale and that we were also told by his mechanic that the alternator was replaced. We elected to take alternator off and have it checked by a company in Columbus. Alternator tested at 130 amps and completely dead. We have replaced the alternator with a higher amp alternator at our expense. Fleetwood put out a bulletin advising owners/dealers to increase their alternators to the 160 size minimum!! I have left messages for *** ***** requesting a call back to see if we could talk about the alternator and what can we work out but unfortunately no call back has been received.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the refund of the $334.62 that we paid to have the alternator rebuilt by Ron Potts RV when it was truly defective from the start. I do understand that a consignment vehicle is sold without a warranty, but considering that seller was so adamant about using the installation of a new alternator as a selling point and the fact that said new alternator failed after 45 miles, I feel that alternator should have been repaired / replaced by dealership without cost to me.

Consumer Response:

The above complaint has been settled to my satisfaction.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Ron Potts RVS
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart