BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Universal Radio, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers shortwave and ham radio communications equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Universal Radio, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Universal Radio, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Universal Radio, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 18, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1942 Business started locally: 01/01/1942
Business Management
Frederic J Osterman, President Ms. Barbara J Osterman, V President
Contact Information
Principal: Frederic J Osterman, President
Business Category

Radio Communication Equipment & Systems Industrial Products Wholesalers & Distributors Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor


Additional Locations

  • 6830 Americana Pkwy

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 431-3939(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase Information: Problem Area: Failure to Deliver Product or Service Purchase Date: 6/29/2013 Total Price: $336.90 Disputed Amount: $0.00 Amount Paid So Far: $0.00 Description: I have placed two orders (Tecsun Satellit 750 and Kaito KA 33) through company website and provided my VISA Credit Card information. As long as received no confirmation, I contacted Universal by e-mail and by phone to explain the situation. The sales officer and its CEO claim that Universal does not ship abroad, although this is not clear when processing the order.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution: According to company terms and conditions Foreign orders may require verification by phone or fax, in contrast with CEO allegation that they sale only to USA and CANADA. As a consumer, I feel disrespected and misguided. All I want is to have my orders fulfilled and delivered. I have been trading with companies within USA and abroad for quite a long time and never had any of my orders left unattended.

Business Response:

07/11/13
RE: ****** ***** ********

Dear *** ********

Thank you for sending the fax letter regarding *** ******* complaint from Brazil,
He was disappointed that Universal Radio is not currently processing export orders.
He also felt this policy should be made more clear on the Universal Radio website.

This policy is on our website under Company Policies
http://www.universaI-radio.com/catalog/intro. html

It is also at the bottom of the Catalog Contents page
http://www.universal-radio,com/catalog/index2.html

Today I have also added this notation to the bottom of our home page
http://www.universal-radio.com/index.html

I hope this additional measure will prevent any further confusion or inconvenience.

Thank you.
Best Regards,
**** *********
Universal Radio Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

*** ******** response only confirms Universal has a discriminatory commercial policy towards some countries, which is quite unacceptable. I buy regularly from Amazon.com, Tecsun dealers (Hong Kong) and AOR (Japan) and I don`t see the point why Universal is such  a narrow minded company.

Regards,

****** ********

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with this company in April of 2012. For some reason I never received my products. I saw a refund on my credit card and assumed the the products were out of stock and placed my order somewhere else. Since April I have tried to place 3 more orders on their website http://www.universal-radio.com/. Every single order I place, I never receive my product. When I would call, they would tell me that my order number didn't exist. After persistence, I came to find out that the manager/owner ******* was deleting my orders from their system. I was told that I was not allowed to order from them anymore because my shipment in April was refused by UPS. I had never refused any packages. I told ******* that I had never refused any packages and she persisted that I was no longer allowed to order from their website. I tried to reason with her about the situation. There was obviously a misunderstanding. The manager would not listen to me and persisted that they would never ship my orders. I don't believe this business deserves to be a part of the Better Business Bureau when they treat their customers like this. I have a long history of previous orders with this business before April 2012 and am very frustrated that they would be willing to lose a good customer for such an issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the BBB to speak with ******* about this issue and ask if there could be a reasonable resolution.

Business Response: RE: ***** ******* ********
Dear *** *******,

Thank you for sending the fax letter regarding *** ******** complaint.
He (or someone at his establishment) had refused two UPS orders from us in April without
explanation. We were reluctant to ship further orders to this address as such refusals are very
expensive to handle.
Nonetheless, we will accept future web orders as *** ******* requests.
Hopefully they will not be refused again.
*** ******* may contact me directly if he has any questions or concerns.
Thank you.

Best Regards,
**** ********
Universal Radio Inc.

Consumer Response:

I appreciate the resolution in this case. As a customer, I was unable to obtain such a respectful response like your organization was able to obtain from this business.

-*****




















8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased from Universal Radio power supply ********** made by *** Enterprises Inc. It did not work. I sent the power supply to *** for repair. *** returned me this power supply still in non-operational condition. I requested *** for refund. *** refused to refund this power supply and readdressed me to Universal Radio with motivation that *** does not have my money. Then I requested Universal Radio for refund. Universal Radio refused to refund this power supply because this item is their 30 day replacement/return policy. I lost more then 30 days in attempt to repair this power supply by manufacturer. It still does not work. I insist that Universal Radio should return me the money.

Desired Settlement: Universal Radio should refund me $144.90 for defective power supply.

Business Response: I have recently learned that your ********** power supply is still not operating correctly for your needs.
You may return this item to Universal Radio for a full refund of $144.90.
Please kindly double box this item and send it to my attention.
Please mark the outer box: ************.
Thank you.