Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Donatos Pizza

Find a Location

Fax: (614) 575-4466 View Additional Phone Numbers 935 Taylor Station Rd, Columbus, OH 43230 http://www.donatos.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Donatos Pizza is headquartered in Columbus, Ohio and operates stores throughout several states.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Donatos Pizza meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Donatos Pizza include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 26 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 26

Additional Complaint Information

The scope of customer experience in this report beginning July 24, 2014, will include marketplace interactions involving all Donatos stores nationwide.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Donatos Pizza
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1963 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated 11/26/2003 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Krouse, President & CEO Expansion Brands Ms. Jane Abeu, President Ms. Ricki DiPietro, Customer Service Rep. Mr. James Grote, Founder Ms. Jane Grote-Abell, President & Chairwoman Ms. Lianne McGlade, Director of Guest Services and Catering Mr. Maurice Moore, no longer w/ co. per phone call 4.13.12 Mr. Tom Pendrey, COO Mr. Todd Young, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Krouse, President & CEO Expansion Brands
Customer Contact: Ms. Lianne McGlade, Director of Guest Services and Catering
Business Category

Pizza Restaurants Sandwiches Online Retailer Caterers Foods - Carry Out

Alternate Business Names
Donatos Pizzeria, LLC Jane's Dough Foods

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Donatos Pizza has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Thurman Ave

    Columbus, OH 43206 (614) 444-6823

  • 101 W Cherry St

    Sunbury, OH 43074 (740) 965-1114

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10160 Fairfax Blvd Ste 100

    Fairfax, VA 22030 (703) 273-6333

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10372 E Us Highway 36

    Avon, IN 46123 (317) 273-4400

  • 1059 N 21st St

    Newark, OH 43055 (740) 366-0777

  • 107 N Bridge St

    Chillicothe, OH 45601 (740) 775-1199

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10919 E Washington St

    Indianapolis, IN 46229 (317) 890-4000

  • 1095 S Hamilton Rd

    Columbus, OH 43227 (614) 231-1665

  • 11048 Hebron Rd

    Buckeye Lake, OH 43008 (740) 928-7174

  • 111 Emmaus Rd

    Marysville, OH 43040 (937) 642-7000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    111 Seaboard Ave Ste 122

    Raleigh, NC 27604 (919) 828-5111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11760 Olio Rd Ste 600

    Fishers, IN 46037 (317) 572-1339

  • 1181 Mount Vernon Ave

    Marion, OH 43302 (740) 389-3009

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1210 W Ohio Pike

    Amelia, OH 45102 (513) 752-0100

  • 1211 Columbus Ave

    Wshngtn Ct Hs, OH 43160 (740) 335-8000 (740) 335-8000

  • 1214 Hill Rd N

    Pickerington, OH 43147 (614) 759-8000

  • 122 S Sandusky St

    Delaware, OH 43015 (740) 362-0682

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    125 Fields St

    Mooresville, IN 46158 (317) 834-6060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12515 Jefferson Ave

    Newport News, VA 23602 (757) 525-4944

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    126 Branch Rd SE

    Vienna, VA 22180 (703) 281-2800

  • 1366 Oakland Park Ave

    Columbus, OH 43224 (614) 262-0840

  • 1391 E Johnstown Rd

    Columbus, OH 43230 (614) 855-5400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    142 Xenia Towne Sq

    Xenia, OH 45385 (937) 374-3355

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1465 W 86th St

    Indianapolis, IN 46260 (317) 334-9100

  • 1508 N Cassady Ave

    Columbus, OH 43219 (614) 418-4000

  • 1612 Northwest Blvd

    Columbus, OH 43212 (614) 486-5363

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1645 E Main St

    Plainfield, IN 46168 (317) 838-5335

  • 166 Lancaster Pike

    Circleville, OH 43113 (740) 477-2559

  • 1710 State Rd

    Cuyahoga Fls, OH 44223 (330) 923-5900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1712 N Limestone St

    Springfield, OH 45503 (937) 390-8090

  • 1730 Hilliard Rome Rd

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 529-7200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1790 Tiffin Ave

    Findlay, OH 45840 (419) 422-1100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1805 N Main St

    Dayton, OH 45405 (937) 278-2100

  • 1815 Brice Rd

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 861-0211

  • 1878 Hard Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235 (614) 792-7779

  • 1891 Tamarack Cir N

    Columbus, OH 43229 (614) 846-8411

  • 2084 N High St

    Columbus, OH 43201 (614) 294-5371

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    21 N Broad St

    Fairborn, OH 45324 (937) 879-7000

  • 2115 Eakin Rd

    Columbus, OH 43223 (614) 275-4400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2205 Conner St

    Noblesville, IN 46060 (317) 776-7080

  • 221 W High St

    Mount Vernon, OH 43050 (740) 397-3336

  • 2233 Stringtown Rd

    Grove City, OH 43123 (614) 871-5000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2260 Us Highway 31 S

    Greenwood, IN 46143 (317) 884-3220

  • 229 Lafayette St

    London, OH 43140 (740) 852-2424

  • 2522 Bethel Rd

    Columbus, OH 43220 (614) 442-8666

  • 2769 Northland Plaza Dr

    Columbus, OH 43231 (614) 895-0111

  • 280 E Main St

    Columbus, OH 43215 (614) 235-4477

  • 280 S Grant Ave

    Columbus, OH 43215 (614) 464-2500

  • 2835 S High St

    Columbus, OH 43207 (614) 491-1112

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2914 Vine St

    Cincinnati, OH 45219 (513) 373-4304

  • 2922 Noe Bixby Rd

    Columbus, OH 43232 (614) 759-8888

  • 3000 Northwest Blvd

    Upper Arlngtn, OH 43221 (614) 340-0905

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3070 Lakecrest Cir Ste 100

    Lexington, KY 40513 (859) 224-7772

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    316 Beall Ave

    Wooster, OH 44691 (330) 263-4724

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3375 Dayton Xenia Rd

    Beavercreek, OH 45432 (937) 427-5880

  • 3389 Sullivant Ave

    Columbus, OH 43204 (614) 276-7788

  • 3390 Maple Ave

    Zanesville, OH 43701 (740) 452-7900

  • 3415 Broadway

    Grove City, OH 43123 (614) 539-6222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3464 Wales Ave NW

    Massillon, OH 44646 (330) 833-3700

  • 3489 N High St

    Columbus, OH 43214 (614) 268-9559

  • 350 Norton Rd

    Columbus, OH 43228 (614) 878-8500

  • 3542 Gender Rd

    Canal Wnchstr, OH 43110 (614) 920-9100

  • 363 S State St

    Westerville, OH 43081 (614) 882-5211

  • 3703 Fishinger Blvd

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 921-1800

  • 377 Granville St

    Gahanna, OH 43230 (614) 471-4111

  • 3817 Main St

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 876-4444

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3890 Medina Rd

    Akron, OH 44333 (330) 668-2133

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3959 Far Hills Ave

    Dayton, OH 45429 (937) 293-3223

  • 4055 Morse Xing

    Columbus, OH 43219

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4100 W 106th St

    Carmel, IN 46032 (317) 873-8708

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4200 Aero Dr

    Mason, OH 45040 (513) 770-4222

  • 4238 Morse Rd

    Columbus, OH 43230 (614) 471-7474

  • 4405 Alum Creek Dr

    Columbus, OH 43207 (614) 492-2800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4461 Feedwire Rd

    Dayton, OH 45440 (937) 439-4222

  • 4515 Kenny Rd

    Columbus, OH 43220 (614) 459-9523

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4600 International Gtwy

    Columbus, OH 43219

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    50 S Dorset Rd

    Troy, OH 45373 (937) 335-4800

  • 527 Hebron Rd

    Heath, OH 43056 (740) 522-7980

  • 5388 N High St

    Columbus, OH 43214 (614) 846-3373

  • 5525 New Albany Rd E

    New Albany, OH 43054 (614) 855-7060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5600 Airway Rd

    Dayton, OH 45431 (937) 259-9559

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5620 Crawfordsville Rd Ste Aa

    Speedway, IN 46224 (317) 487-2880

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5650 S Franklin Rd Ste 100

    Indianapolis, IN 46239 (317) 862-3651

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5789 Darrow Rd

    Hudson, OH 44236 (330) 528-3030

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5805 Sunnyside Rd

    Indianapolis, IN 46235 (317) 823-3025

  • 6 S High St

    Dublin, OH 43017 (614) 793-1100

  • 610 E Broad St

    Pataskala, OH 43062 (740) 927-3791

  • 6310 Prentiss School Pl

    Canal Wnchstr, OH 43110 (614) 340-9000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6555 Morrison Blvd

    Charlotte, NC 28211 (704) 644-4644

  • 6810 Perimeter Loop Rd

    Dublin, OH 43017 (614) 659-0797

  • 688 E State St

    Athens, OH 45701 (740) 592-5049

  • 6965 E Broad St

    Columbus, OH 43213 (614) 751-7929

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    713 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd

    Ashland, KY 41101 (606) 324-1000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    732 S Burnett Rd

    Springfield, OH 45505 (937) 237-7200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7460 N Shadeland Ave

    Indianapolis, IN 46250 (317) 578-8722

  • 7568 Worthington Galena Rd

    Worthington, OH 43085 (614) 431-1115

  • 7580 E Main St

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 861-8558

  • 765 E Main St

    Lancaster, OH 43130 (740) 653-7772

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    765 Gardner Rd

    Springboro, OH 45066 (937) 748-8686

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7813 Us 31 S

    Indianapolis, IN 46227 (317) 885-2900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7912 Paragon Rd

    Dayton, OH 45459 (937) 291-5599

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    813 E Main St

    Brownsburg, IN 46112 (317) 858-2680

  • 815 S Main St

    Bellefontaine, OH 43311 (937) 592-1100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    825 W 10th St

    Indianapolis, IN 46202 (317) 231-9700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    855 Lexington Ave

    Mansfield, OH 44907 (419) 756-5885

  • 861 N State St

    Westerville, OH 43082 (614) 891-6333

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8880 E 96th St

    Fishers, IN 46037 (317) 595-8844

  • 8961 Polaris Pkwy

    Lewis Center, OH 43035 (614) 825-2900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    92 S Highway 27

    Somerset, KY 42501 (606) 677-1700

  • 920 W Fair Ave

    Lancaster, OH 43130 (740) 654-6444

  • 935 Taylor Station Rd

    Columbus, OH 43230 (614) 864-2444

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9764 Sawmill Pkwy

    Powell, OH 43065 (614) 761-5400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6011 Navarre Rd SW

    Canton, OH 44706

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2617 21st St SW

    Canton, OH 44706

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    814 N Main St

    North Canton, OH 44720

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1013 High St

    Hamilton, OH 45011 (513) 869-0100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1097 State Route 28

    Milford, OH 45150 (513) 248-7777

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11309 Montgomery Rd Ste A

    Cincinnati, OH 45249 (513) 489-4500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1201 Columbus Ave

    Lebanon, OH 45036 (513) 934-3228

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1232 W Ohio Pike

    Amelia, OH 45102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15 Donnermeyer Dr

    Bellevue, KY 41073 (859) 261-5700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1800 Patrick Dr

    Burlington, KY 41005 (859) 689-7500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2692 Madison Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45208 (513) 731-0080

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3044 Dixie Hwy

    Edgewood, KY 41018 (859) 331-0889

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4303 Roosevelt Blvd Ste 5

    Middletown, OH 45044 (513) 727-0999

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6407 Glenway Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45211 (513) 598-4200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    721 Main St

    Cincinnati, OH 45202 (513) 665-4600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    770 Nilles Rd

    Fairfield, OH 45014 (513) 829-6999

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8087 Beckett Center Dr

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 346-3150

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    810 Kemper Commons Cir

    Cincinnati, OH 45246

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8142 Beechmont Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45255 (513) 474-4600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8484 Winton Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45231 (513) 728-7300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    860 Rombach Ave

    Wilmington, OH 45177 (937) 382-1600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8850 Us Highway 42

    Florence, KY 41042 (859) 384-8796

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9405 Kenwood Rd

    Blue Ash, OH 45242 (513) 792-4040

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18100 Detroit Ave

    Lakewood, OH 44107 (216) 227-7200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20307 Van Aken Blvd

    Shaker Hts, OH 44122 (216) 283-3333

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    26170 Lorain Rd

    North Olmsted, OH 44070 (440) 686-0000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5465 Ridge Rd

    Parma, OH 44129 (440) 843-6861

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6141 Kruse Dr

    Solon, OH 44139 (440) 914-1900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18100 Detroit Ave

    Lakewood, OH 44107 (216) 227-7200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1913 S Alex Rd

    Dayton, OH 45449 (937) 859-3535

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2215 Arbor Blvd

    Moraine, OH 45439

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2800 Wayne Ave

    Dayton, OH 45420 (937) 254-8800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5120 N Main St

    Dayton, OH 45415

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    811 Union Blvd

    Englewood, OH 45322 (937) 832-9999

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5501 Old Troy Pike

    Huber Heights, OH 45424 (937) 236-0009

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1250 E Stop 11 Rd

    Indianapolis, IN 46227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1311 S Rangeline Rd

    Carmel, IN 46032 (317) 582-0422

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2357 E 62nd St

    Indianapolis, IN 46220 (317) 722-8100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5688 Georgetown Rd

    Indianapolis, IN 46254 (317) 387-3100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5835 Madison Ave

    Indianapolis, IN 46227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3120 Mapleleaf Dr

    Lexington, KY 40509 (856) 543-1818

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    265 W New Circle Rd

    Lexington, KY 40505 (859) 299-5000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3851 Kenesaw Dr

    Lexington, KY 40515 (859) 271-6666

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    728 E Main St

    Lexington, KY 40502 (859) 269-5700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2419 Elida Rd

    Lima, OH 45805 (567) 712-6265

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    629 Montgomery Hwy

    Vestavia, AL 35216 (205) 824-1112

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2112 Park Rd

    Charlotte, NC 28203

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1183 University Dr Ste 101

    Burlington, NC 27215

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7500 Memorial Pkwy SW

    Huntsville, AL 35802

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8000 Madison Blvd

    Madison, AL 35758

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a salad and they failed to let me know about changes that were made to that item, it was the harvest chicken salad and they had changed the bowls and the size of them to, also had changed one of the ingredients in the salad they took out some of the lettuce and added spinach I can't eat spinach due to health reasons I have a history of blood clots and that would put me at a higher risk of clotting. And when I called to complain they told me they could only replace my hot food and not the salad when the salad was the issue. So I called the corporate office to let them know what happened and they told me there was nothing else they could do, except replace my food and I let her know they had already done that. So I told her that they didn't make me aware of the changes that were made to that item, and asked if they should have made me aware of that, her response they don't know if the customer knows about the changes or not so I said that is why they should tell them so she said I understand that but there is nothing else I can do so I said if I knew it had spinach in it I wouldn't have ordered because I can't have spinach because I have a history of blood clots and she continued to say I understand that but there is nothing else I can do so if I said your telling that my health doesn't matter and if I would ate that I would be in the hospital and she still said there was nothing else she could do so I said if I would have known that I wouldn't have ordered it. And she just kept repeating the same thing so I concluded that I wasn't going to get any where with her so I ended the conversation and left it as that.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and an apology for the way it was handled. and that they show that they care about their customers health. instead just replacing their food and thinking that it is okay or that they solved the problem I was very disappointed about the whole thing and felt like my health wasn't important to them as me being a customer. And what I was trying to tell her or explain didn't matter at all she just wanted to replace my food which was easier instead of dealing with the problem.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****, I am very sorry that you were unaware that we changed our salads. We do the best that we can to communicate changes to consumers on TV, on printed pieces mailed to the home, e-mail blasts and information in the locations. We changed the salads on 4/28/2015. We care very much about our guests and that is why we communicate "new" news in so many different ways. I am sorry that you did not see any of them. For the first month we alert guests of changes. I see that you called on 6/30/2015 - 2 months after the change. I have reviewed the notes on both calls that you made to us and what was notated in the system. The Manager and the Guest Service Representative both apologized and logged that you were upset about the salad and that your sub was sloppy. At this time, they gave you a credit for $20.98 to replace both items. You used the $20.98 credit that we gave you for the errors on July 3, 2015. You mention that your total bill on 6/13/2015 was $32.00. We see that your order totaled 28.47 and the date of the order was 6/30/2015. The only thing you ended up paying for was the pizza. We feel that we made it right especially because you accepted and used your credit of $20.98 on 7/3/2015. I hope you know that by giving you the credit that we do care very much about your health.

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purposed two pizzas and ordered specific products on the pizza. The pizza was not made to specifications which had added costs to make. The pizza itself was overcooked (burned) and soggy. I picked up the pizza from the drive through window late evening, which was dark and assumed all was of quality. Once home, my family was sad to see the output of our purchase for dinner. I called Donatos immediately and all they said was call their 800 number and make a complaint when I asked for a refund. I am making a formal complaint, since this issue happened in the past and I took no action with hopes that it would not happen again. This time, I must take action to ensure other consumers do not experience this poor product outcome when we work hard for the money we make. Thanks,

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of my purchase of $34.00 for two pizzas mailed to my home address.

Business Response: Hello *******, I fully researched this complaint and spoke to associate at the location that talked to you Friday evening. I am sorry that you got pizzas that were not satisfactory and we want to stand by our product. However because you did not have the location remake the food for you we cannot refund your money. However, I can do one of 2 things - I can add a credit for $33.17 under your phone number for your next visit or I can mail 2 pizza certificates to you to use at another location. I did notice that you ordered both pizzas with extra sauce. I noticed that you picked up the pizzas 25 minutes past the time we said they would be ready. This is probably why they were soggy. May I suggest that next time you order extra sauce in a sauce cup so that the pizza does not get soggy. However this does not discount that the pizzas were burnt. We should not have given you burnt pizzas. Please let me know which option you would like and I will take good care of it for you. And in the future, you are welcome to contact Donatos Guest Services when you have an issue at 1-800-DONATOS.

3/9/2015 Delivery Issues
2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the fire roasted pizza from Donato's and did not like the taste of the sauce at all. We wanted to try something new and did not realize that the sauce tasted as bad as it really did I guess. We don't order from Donato's very much but we love pizza and order it from other competitors all the time. We didn't have the stomach to even eat all of it we disliked it so much. However that is not my issue at all. My fault I know for ordering a pizza we didn't like. My issue comes when I tried to contact customer service online the next few days after ordering the pizza letting them know about my dislike of the pizza. I didn't get a response at all with my review. Well, I forgot about the issue since I have said that I don't order from Donato's very often at all until the promotion at Christmas when I wanted to get a bonus card to try another pizza. I have always liked previous pizzas from there so I wanted to give it another go. Well, the promotion had ended before I had a chance to purchase them but I remembered the review and the lack of response from my previous order so I made a comment on your Facebook page. At first I received a response asking when it happened. I guess since it had been months prior that they didn't want to help me with the issue but for whatever reason they deleted my post from their page. I then tried to contact them again hoping that it may have been an oversight on their part however I didn't receive a response again. The lack of customer support is appalling. I'm not sure how you stay in business with this kind of customer service.

Desired Settlement: All I needed was a sympathetic person apologizing for the oversight and for the pizza. A business should never ignore their customers.

Business Response:

We are very sorry that you did not like our Fire Roasted Pizza that we were promoting last Fall and I am sorry that you had to write to the BBB.  I researched the issues that you addressed in your claim.  I am very sorry that we never received your feedback from our web-site.  Did you receive a confirmation e-mail from us?  There are times when guests forget to click on the "submit" button and we do not get the feedback. You also stated that you posted something on our Face Book. You mention that we deleted your message. I looked on our Face Book page today and see the Post.  I also see that we communicated with you frequently about your issue and the Bonus Card so I am sorry that you felt that we did not care.  
I researched your issue and found your order on 9/6/14.  I reached out to the Franchise Partner of that location and they would be happy to add a credit under your phone # for your next visit.  They will add $17.68 for your next visit for the inconvenience.  We hope you will give us a chance to make it right for you!
Thank you!

Consumer Response:

I very much appreciate the credit you have provided for my next visit.  We will give you guys another try and hopefully (keeping my fingers crossed) it will work out much better this time (with the pizza and especially with customer service).  I did try to find my post on your facebook page and still cannot locate it so I am not sure what happened to it.  There was only one contact post made from customer service regarding the issue after my initial post and I have still not received another reply.  If there was more to the conversation please forward to me since I did not get it or see a reply to my post (or even find my post).

Thank-you very much again for the credit.  It will be put to good use.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


1/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I regularly order from the Kettering location and the past 2 out of 3 orders were made incorrect. We had contacted the store and were told we would have a $26 credit for our next order. We called the store to use the credit and the manager on duty, ******, told my boyfriend there was only an $8 credit on file. She then told him she couldn't do anything about it being wrong and hung up on him. I called back to get the corporate number to file a complaint and she told me she didn't know the number and I could look it up online. I told her that I felt she had poor management skills and she said, "people trying to get free food are ridiculous!" and proceeded to hang up on me as well. I feel very offended by that statement seeing as I initially paid for a service and food that they did not make properly and are now unwilling to fix. I have never received such poor service before.

Desired Settlement: I would like a credit to a different to reimburse the amount of the order that was wrong and that was supposed to have been on file. I would also like ****** to be written up for her poor management skills.

Business Response:

Dear ********,

I am so glad that we spoke today about the issue that you had with our Manager at the Far Hills Donatos location.  We are very sorry that this happened and I hope you will give us a chance to make this right.

We will absolutely add your credit under the phone # that we discussed for future orders.  We will also be working with the manager about how she handled this situation.

Please keep my contact information if you need help in the future.

Thank you!

 

1/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to Donatos and saw a specialty pizza called double bacon pizza. I am a bacon lover, so I ordered two bacon pizzas. When I got home, started eating the pizza, I realized that not only could I not see any bacon, I could not taste any bacon. I feel cheated. I feel that Donatos misrepresented the double bacon pizza. On top of that it cost $1.00 more than the other pizzas. It is nothing more than imitation pizza chips that one would get on a salad. I want my money back. My purchase was on 1/4/15 the serial number is **** **** **** **** Order ** in amount spent is $23.78

Desired Settlement: I want my money back

Business Response:

Hello Ms.*********,
 
I am sorry that you were not happy with the quality of our bacon pizzas.  A representative from the Dayton area will be contacting you about a refund.  Please feel free to contact Donatos Guest Services in the future if you have comments or issues.  We are here to help you!
 
 Thank you!

7/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email stating that I could receive a free large pizza from a local Donatos Pizzeria. I was turned away very rudely by the cashier at the Maxton Road location. I didn't receive my free pizzas as advertised and I wasted my time and money. Donatos has made a name for themselves in the local community and beyond. I have been a patron for Donatos for years, back when Donatos was the best pizza on the block. But in 2014 Donatos isn't the only pizza restaurant on the block any more and if my request for my pizza isny honored ill make sure that I will take my money and go to the NEXT pizza shop on the block. The problem with not honoring my reqest isn't my problem, and shouldn't be taking put on the patrons

Desired Settlement: I want Order 3 large one topping pizzas

Business Response:

I am so sorry that this happened to you.  The coupon you received by e-mail was invalid and incorrectly sent to you by our e-mail marketing firm.  The coupon went viral and caused chaos at every Donatos location.  We had not planned for this coupon to go viral so our staff was under great stress that evening. However it does not give them the right to be rude to our guests.  I hope you got our follow-up e-mails that explained the situation.

I would like to honor the coupon for you.  On the coupon it states "One coupon per customer".  I would be happy to mail a free pizza certificate to you for the inconvenience.

I invite you to review the information on our web-site and Face Book page about the invalid coupon that was sent to you.

Thank you and I hope that you will forgive us for the rudeness.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Guest Services

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I just want to know how to redeem the offer

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the manager has a very bad temper with customers on the phone, very rude to anyone also yelling at the employees and yelling at customers threw the service window. this not the first time that I have been to this store and the manager was still going off on employees and customers as well. have filed a complaint with donatos corporate office also have not heard anything back from them.

Desired Settlement: get this ***** out of this store he is running it into the ground, it has had better managers in the past.

Business Response:

We appreciate your feedback however you did not mention which location that this happened at nor did you give us the date and time that you witnessed this action by one of our Managers.  We would really appreciate more information from you in order for us to research this claim.

I researched your name, phone # and e-mail address and could not find order history in order to tell which location that you were referring to in your complaint.  I also checked our Guest Service Mailbox and did not see any issues reported by you since 2010 when you complimented the team at our Nora location that has since been closed.

Please respond so that we can look into your claim about a manager in our system.  We do apprecaite your feedback.

Thank you!

 

5/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Donatos pizza online through my account at 4:21est. My confirmation email said my pizza would be delivered in 44 minutes. I called at 5:44 to check on my order and the gentleman took my name and responded that he had just clocked in and the computer was showing deliveries would take one hour so just wait. Of course he wasn't helpful or professional in helping me. Ten minutes later a manager calls and ask me to describe the driver who delivered my pizza and I told him no one had delivered my pizza yet. He apologize and said my pizza would be delivered in 20 minutes and it would be free. It is presently 6:45pm and my pizza hasn't arrived, a two hour delivery of a pizza is a travesty for a pizza business. Why has no one called me again or better yet where is my pizza! Bad customer service, no follow-up, bad business, the clock is still ticking!

Desired Settlement: I would like a courtesy coupon or credit on my next purchase or credit to my account when I order again.

Business Response:

I am so sorry that this happened to you.  I see that you ordered from our Englewood location and that the delivery was extremely late.  I spoke to the Franchise Partner of this location and he is very sorry too.  We have a new manager in this location and he is in the process of training a few new associates.  There is no excuse for a 2 hour delivery and we would be happy to add a $30.00 credit under your phone # ###-###-#### for the inconveniecne that we caused you.  It will be active by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, May 5th. Thank you for giving us another chance to make it right.

In the future, you are welcome to call Donatos Guest Services to resport issues with a location.  I promise to take very good care of your needs.

THANK YOU!

 

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had food delivered from this Donatos location multiple times, and it seems that I have an issue with the food over half of the time. Attempting to contact the store through online support seems to go ignored.This store is stealing from me. If I order extra cheese on one pizza and regular on another I will see the same amount of cheese on each. Today I ordered a meatball sub with double meatballs. I payed the extra cost and received a sub with the regular amount of meatballs.I wouldn't be upset if this were a one time occurrence. I am constantly paying for things that I am not receiving.

Desired Settlement: I'd be more than happy to take a replacement meal for my family to make up for months of theft.

Business Response: I am so sorry you have had issues with the Buckeye Lake location.  We would be happy to make this right for you.  I am concerned that you stated you tried to reach us online.  I researched your e-mail address and did not see your note to us.  I am very sorry about this.  Can you tell me exactly what date you sent your on-line feedback?  I want our IT Department to research this for me.  I also want to know if you contacted the location when you received your food.  I would like to know how they handled the situation if you did.   I do not want you to feel like our associates are thieves and that they have stolen from you.  Our associates make mistakes and if you let us know about it when it happens we can take care of you.  This gives us a chance to train and coach the associates involved.   I would be happy to add a credit for $35 for your next visit.  Credits are listed under your phone # and cannot be redeemed online.  What phone # do you use when you place orders?   In the future, you are always welcome to call our Guest Services Department for assistance.  The phone # is 1-800-DONATOS (366-2867) and we are here Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.   We are very sorry about the recent issues with your orders.     

Consumer Response:

First, I would encourage the BBB to emphasize that those submitting complaints are made to select their preferred honorific. This is a small issue, but, as a man named Shannon, it can be a bit frustrating to be referred to as"Ms. ******".
 
Second, I appreciate this speedy response. Perhaps I was a bit hasty in using the word "theft", but this has happened multiple times when ordering from this location. With regards as to when I submitted online feedback to Donatos, I know that I submitted a complaint on March 25, the day of the delivery, and on several occasions in the past that I can't recall. I did not contact the location responsible because I've felt like I've been ignored. Even sending tweets to your customer service Twitter account went unnoticed. There should be a report indexed by the order number used in this complaint and several from my e-mail address.
The phone number that I use to place orders is ###-###-####. I typically place my orders online though, so some sort of gift code would be more preferred.
 
My only real hope is that you really drill employees on fully reading the details of the online orders. Because we're not actually chatting back and forth, I put as much detail into my online orders as possible in order to prevent any sort of confusion. Your website offers so many ways to customize an order and I'd like to think that using them will actually guarantee that I receive the meal that I want. Things like adding red pepper packets, low-baking sandwiches, and doubling ingredients go unnoticed. It's incredibly frustrating when you open that pizza box and stare in disappointment.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thank you again,

2/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I ordered pizza on their website and have ordered from them before. After nearly an hour we receive a call from the manager "****" claiming that we apparently live in a "restricted" area and that they are unable to deliver. Keep in mind, we've had these guys deliver before, and they are less then 10 minutes away! The manager refused to let me speak when I called him on the phone and claimed that it "wasn't his problem." He offered to do absolutely nothing to resolve the issue and hung up on my wife when she called. If this is the kind of customer service that Donatos Pizza represents, then we don't have to worry about ever patronizing their business or giving our money to them ever again. We will be happily letting those we work with know about our poor experience and are happily spreading this across social media.

Desired Settlement: If a person's area is "restricted" they should be notified on the website before submitting their order. Also the owner of this store should call back to apologize for the poor experience. It's unlikely we will patronize the establishment again, but it might help. We also believe that "****" should be sent to remedial customer service training because he was yelling at me on the phone and refused to let me speak. This is an example of absolutely TERRIBLE customer service!

Business Response: I heard that you have already spoken to our General Manager ******* ******.  I want to personally apologize for the series of mistakes that we made when you placed an online order with us.  I totally understand how frustrating it must have been to hear after an hour that we could not deliver to you.  Our Manager **** made the situation worse by offending both you and your wife.  Please know that we did not take this lightly and will be talking with him about this situation.  I have reported this to the District Supervisor. I hope that you will accept our apology. Thank you for letting us know!

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a web order for a pizza deal on 10/27/13. During the placement of my order, I experienced issues on the web. The coupon for 1 large pizza, cinna sticks & 2 liter for $15.99 would not apply appropriately. I proceeded with the order believing I could contact the store once placed, to assist in resolving the issue. Instead, I was advised there was nothing that could be done without a coupon code that was not available on the web. I wasn't satisfied, however chose to live with that. The pizza arrived around 5 pm, which was late especially considering the location is 5 min from my home. I called again explaining what happend and was passed to a manager named ***** who immediately became rude stating she doesn't understand how my pizza was late when it went out the door as soon as it came out the oven & that I had already received a $2 discount on my order for no reason. I advised her the rude comments was unacceptable & I disconnected the call. I contacted the corporate office on 10/29/13 & spoke to **** in guest services who was also rude & sarcastic stating they were open on 10/28/13, questioning my timing & advised she would contact the story after I explained what happend. **** called me back and offered a $8 credit from a different manager that she spoke to. I advised her I paid a total of $14 and this was not acceptable. I wassn't satisfied initially being I didn't get my web order issued resolved to get the offered deal, I've called Donato's twice, wasting my time and receiving bad product and service. Then, I waste my time again talking to **** at the corporate office who talked more than she did listen & made the comment after placing me on a long hold time that the manager was nice enough to give me the $8 credit and she state questioning that my pizza was cold?! Seriously???! The nerve! I'm so dissatisfied with Donato's and the people it has chosen to represent, that they can take their bad product and insulting $8 credit offer and keep it!! You have lost a loyal customer

Desired Settlement: This is my final attempt to give Donato's pizza an opportunity to resolve a rather silly issue that has gone entirely too far. I've spoke to two individuals that both carried themselves in a unacceptable manner with handling a customer issue. You NEVER tell a customer they're wrong even if you think so. There was more accusations and rude comments made than there was listening. As I'm typing, I'm at work wasting more time. This is absolutely absurd. What do you suggest for resolution Donato?

Business Response: In reading your complaint, I am very confused with your comments.  Your initial complaint was about your online order.  You placed an order for a large pizza on 10/27.  After the order was delivered, you called and said we had forgotten your cinnamon sticks and 2 liter.  In researching your on-line order, we only saw a large pizza on the order.  I also read the confirmation that we e-mailed to you after you placed your order and it did not show the cinnamon sticks and 2 liter.  In speaking to ***** after she confirmed that with you, she said you said that the pizza was late.  In researching the on-line order that you placed at 3:58 p.m., I see that we promised to deliver it by 4:47 p.m. The driver checked it out at 4:25 p.m. so it arrived in a timely manner.   I am sorry you felt that we were rude.  We were simply trying to tell you what we saw in the system.  I know that it is frustrating because you feel it was our fault that we did not get everything that you thought you ordered on-line so we did not know to bring it to you.  In the future, please review your e-mail confirmation just in case there is a mistake.  In good faith, I will add the full credit but please be sure that you check your e-mail confirmation so that the restaurant can deliver everything that you need. 

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear friends Not in tune with customer No edge pizza No X sauce No X cheese No napkins avialable No pepper flakes in jars, all put away No napkins. No fork, knives all put away, had to ask even for salt & pepper Ordered 3 cheese garlic bread with sausage on top. Joke. No sausage & get charged us for that, asked for X Marina sauce... Joke.. Had to ask again, when it was sadly all done Someone came up and tried to give us some one else salad which means someone did not get their salad probably drive through. This manager was way out of tune...like careless. Sad! What few folks sat there nothing was right, I only hope they complaint also in the & the sad part it's only early friday. Thank you p.s. as you see on the receipt it shows nothing as the order as in what we placed like the x cheese, olive etc.Lg. thin, the works with black olives extra sauce, extra cheese 3 cheese garlic bread with sausage & xtra Marina sauce on side. Also to say pizza was cool, hardly warm. This is not the first bad pizza we had got here. we thought we would try again.

Desired Settlement: Consumer did not specify desired settlement

Business Response:

We appreciate you taking the time to contact the Better Business Bureau with your feedback about the service you received at the Donatos location in Erlanger. Please accept our apologies for failure to provide you with service that was to your complete satisfaction. Your feedback has been addressed with the District Supervisor and Franchise Partner. Please be assured we will make every effort to resolve this issue and make this right for you. Our Promise is to serve you the best pizza, and make your day a little better. Our reputation is built on consistently serving a great product with friendly, honest service. Your feedback is vital to helping us. Again, please accept our sincere apology for the service your received. We hope your next visit exceeds your expectations. We appreciate your business and value you as a Guest. If you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to contact Donatos Guest Services at 1-888-DONATOS (366-2867) or if it is more comfortable to report an issue online - Please visit us at www.donatos.com and click on FEEDBACK.  Thank you.

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We love donato's pizza!!!! However this location has issues.....This the third time I've ordered pizza when I get there they tell me they have no record...Seriously????????????????You take a phone number and no name then when I get there you ordered who ? u ordered what? What's your phone number?UNBELIEVEABLE.......................Are these young people smoking weed before work?If we want donatos we have to drive to Westerville.............

Desired Settlement: Seriously do drug testing .....I feel like customer service has been blown out the window....

Business Response:

I am so sorry for the inconvenience.  I would like to research this issue for you. Which location did you call and what phone # do you use when placing orders.  This will help me rectify this problem.  I would also like to see your order history. We care very much about this concern.

In the future, you are welcome to contact Donatos Guest Services at (800) DONATOS (366-2867).  I would appreciate the opportunity to take care of your issue before you contact the Better Business Bureau.

We hire young associates and this is their first real job at times.  Sometimes they make mistakes and I understand that it can be frustrating from a guest's perspective especially when it happens for the third time.  We will try very hard to do a better job of training our associates on how to resolve issues in the future.

Please let me know which store you called and the phone # that you use to place orders.  I will research this matter and get right back to you.

Thank you,

Lianne McGlade

Donatos Guest Services

4/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw a commercial for Donatos Pizza on TV on Tuesday April 2nd.I placed my order over the phone , went to pick it up, and found that the pizza hadn't been cooked at all. A manager offered to go ahead and cook the pizza and the cost would be on him. While this was very nice of him, I didn't want to waite another 20 minutes, and just got my money back. I really wanted this pizza, but wound up at *****'s.I was very disappointed.

Desired Settlement: A coupon sent to me for a free pizza

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****,

I am very sorry that you were not happy with the pizza that you picked up on 4/3/2013. I researched the issue that you reported to the Better Business Bureau.  The Manager notated that you felt your pizza was undercooked and that he had offered to remake it for you.  I totally understand that you did not want to wait for another pizza.  I also see that he refunded your money. 

We are very sorry about the incident and would be happy to send you a $5.00 Gift Card for the inconvenience.  I was very happy to see that our Manager offered to remake the pizza and that he refunded your money.

Thank you,

****** *******

Director of Guest Services

Donatos Pizza

 

 

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing you to express my concern over a very serious incident that occurred on Wednesday, November 14,2012, at one of your Donatos locations. This occurred at the Donatos in Pataskala around 5:00 P.M. My elderly parents ordered a pizza and two Big Don subs from the Pataskala location. Because of some health needs, I went to pick up their meal for them. Upon returning, we all sat down to have an evening meal together. As my dad took a bite into his Big Don, he bit into a staple. He pulled it out of his mouth. The staple was partially bent, and there was ham surrounding the staple itself. (We have kept the uneaten sandwich and staple as evidence.) I immediately called the Pataskala Donatos and asked to speak with the manager, whom I believe he said his name was *****. I told him what had happened, and his first words were to ask me if I wanted another sandwich made. Really? A consumer just bit into your food and found a staple, and you are asking me if we want a new sandwich. He then informed me that the stapler at his location is kept in the office away from the food. At that point, I really did not care where the stapler was. I was more concerned for my father and the fact he had metal in his food. I did not say much in response to his statements because I stood there in disbelief at what he was telling me. I guess he sensed I was not happy, so he reiterated what he had just said. Then he offered a half-hearted apology before saying that my parents could have a free meal up to the purchase price if they return in the next 30 days. Unbelievable and unacceptable. The offer of a free sandwich and then a free meal should be given if the service was lousy, the food was terrible, or there was a mistake in the order made by the workers. This was serious business. What if my dad had swallowed that staple? He could have cut up his alimentary canal with those sharp edges. Thank God he was not hurt too much other than a minor cut inside the mouth. This manager just does not get the seriousness of the situation. He could have at least lied to me and told me that he would investigate how a staple got into the food. If he did not know how to handle the situation, he could have said that he would contact his manager or the corporation to find out the best way to handle this and then promise to get back with me the following day. He did not do any of that. What really upset me was the lack of concern for finding a staple in the food. If the staple did not come from his store, then it must have come from the vendor and packing plant that sold the meat to him. There could have been other staples in more sandwiches. Others could have and may have had staples in their food. I hope that did not happen, but he should have had a greater concern for his customers. He should have contacted the vendor and packing plant right then, if they were still open for business at that time. If not, then he should have told me he would call them first thing in the morning. He could also have assured me that he would have his employees look through their food supplies, especially the meat, to make sure no other staples were in the food. Clearly, this is not the kind of place that I wish to patronize. Though I do understand odd things like that happen on occasion, his handling of the situation was dismal at best. He should have to go back and be retrained to be able to handle crises better the next time they arise. If this is the kind of management team that Donatos is producing, it is clearly subpar to the other restaurant chains out there. As a result of this, you are losing my business. How many more accidents are waiting to occur? Will it take an injury and lawsuit before someone sees the seriousness of this situation? There are plenty of other pizza places in and around Pataskala that will get my business instead of Donatos. In addition, I am contacting the Better Business Bureau and the Health Department to let them know what happened. I will also be telling family members, church members, and friends to avoid Donatos, especially the one in Pataskala. Why should they risk injury from staples if they can eat at other establishments more safely? Though the likelihood of other staples being in the meat may be minimal, why take that risk? I am also going to be contacting my attorney through Pre-Paid Legal to make sure that I am following the correct procedures for cases like this. If legal action is necessary, they will be contacting you. Thank you for your time and consideration. 

Desired Settlement: Consumer did not specify but appears to want assurance that things are safe in their food preparation and reassurance that management will be trained to handle such situations more effectively.

Business Response: I just read your complaint and I am terribly sorry about this situation. You are absolutely correct…our Manager should have been VERY concerned about how a staple got into your father’s sub. I want to assure you that we will be researching this issue to see how this could have happened. We do not use staples on our sub tables. We use tape to close our bags for that particular reason. The thing that I am most concerned about is how our Manager reacted to the situation. We have processes in our locations that a Manager must follow when we have situation like this. Unfortunately he did not follow them and it caused you further disappointment with our company. We will make sure that this manager is trained again on the proper procedures if this ever occurs again. I have reported your complaint to the Director of Operations of the Columbus Market, ****** ********. She has decided that we cannot take a chance that this happens again and will be discussing safety procedures in every location in this market beginning with the management team and all Associates at the Pataskala store. In addition the topic of food preparation and handling Guests concerns will be reinforced to the entire company at our December meeting. Going forward, these training procedures will remain a very high priority.

We both want to assure you that we care very much about our guests. We have also forwarded this situation to our Purchasing Department to reach out to our meat supplier. ****** stated that the bags that our meat comes in are sealed and not stapled so further research needs to be done to identify what happened to your sub.

I am concerned about your father’s minor cut and hope that he is feeling better. I am also concerned about you because I know your expectations were not met. You stated in your note that you will not patronize our restaurants again. Therefore I would like to offer you a refund for the food that you did not get to enjoy. I hope that sometime in the future that you will trust us again.

****** *******

Director of Guest Services

****** ********

Director of Operations

12/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Earlier this evening we ordered pizza from Donato's my husband placed the order the guy took the order read it back to my husband. When my husband got home I open the box and our pizza was wrong. My husband called back to the location and the manager told on us that we could keep the wrong pizza and she would give us a $10 credit for our next order. We told her the problem was the pizza that we had we would not eat we would like them to correct the pizza and we would drive back to the location to pick another pizza up.When my husband got back to the location he spoke with the manager thinking because we had to make two trips because they made the pizza wrong they would give us some kind of credit for another time.But the manager well GM her name is ***** said she cannot give us credit she corrected our pizza. We spent $32.35 at this location and it's very disappointing that their customer service lacks we should not of had to drive there two times because they messed our pizza up.What makes this very disappointing as we really like Donato's pizza but their customer service really need some help we value their product but we also value customer service when choosing a place to eat.As a consumer I feel if you spend that kind of money for a pizza you should get what you pay for and you should not have to make two trips to the location to get what you order. Thank you

Desired Settlement: The GM ***** didn't even apologize for making our pizza wrong.

Business Response:

I am so sorry that ***** did not apologize for the mishap with your pizza.  That is the FIRST thing that she should have done.  I know how frustrating it is when you expect a good pizza and we have let you down.  ***** should have offered to remake the pizza AND give you a credit for your next visit because you had to drive back to our location to pick up a pizza that should have been correct in the first place.

I have already alerted her supervisor about her lack of concern for you.  She is very concerned about her lack of customer service regarding this incident.  We would be happy to make it right for you!

I need a bit more information from you.  Based on when you notified the BBB, I cannot tell which day this happened.  I researched the telphone # that is listed and the last order shown under that phone # was 3/12.  Could you send me the telephone # that you used when you placed your order on the date that this happened?  Once I have that number, I will be able to find the order.  What was wrong with the first pizza that you picked up?  This will help us review the issue with the restaurant associates.

I would be happy to add a credit once I find the order or I can mail a free certificate to you in case you would rather visit another location.

Again, we are terribly sorry for the error and lack of concern for you and your husband.  You are always welcome to call Donatos Guest Services if you ever need us in the future at 1-800-DONATOS (366-2867).

Thank you!


 

12/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I love Donato's pizza and I regret that I have to make this complaint; however, this Donato's has the worst service. Three out of 4 times the wait to be serviced is at least 30 min. My most recent visit my son and I waited 15 min. and I finally went to the window and asked if they were open for business. They apologized and said they would be with us in a minute. There were 3 other groups waiting also. We decided not to wait know that it would be another 30 min. before we could actually be able to sit down and eat. This isn't the first time we have had to wait. One time the manager was there and I asked him exactly what the problem was and he said in this area (Upper Arlington) it was hard to get help that was serious about working.We also go to the ******** store on ********* Blvd. and never, never have to wait longer than 15 min. to eat. I think the difference is they don't have people wait on your table, you just order at the counter and they bring it to you. At the Upper Arlington branch they have it set up so that servers wait on your table. To me this is unproductive and they should just have us order at the counter.Thank you for listening.

Desired Settlement: None

Business Response:

I wanted to thank you for writing this comment.  This gives us the opportunity to look into the staffing and service issues at our UA location.  I am so sorry that we have inconvenienced you so many times at this location. It is not acceptable and I promise that I will report this issue to the General Manager and District Supervisor.  You are correct...counter service is more efficient for us.  However at the UA location, we should always have an associate taking care of our dining room because we do not have counter service.

I would love to send you a few free pizza certificates for your next family meal.  We have truly inconvenienced you and we want to have the chance to show you that we can give you good service.

Thank you again for your help in this matter.  Please let me know if you would like a credit in the system at either location or a few free pizza certificates to use at any location in Columbus.

I personally live near ******* Middle School and I frequent the UA location.  I will be discussing these issues with them immediatley.

Thank you!

****** *******

Director of Guest Relations / Donatos Pizza

 

11/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered delivery from donatos off of Cassady Ave. in Columbus Ohio. Not only did it take an 1 hour and 40 minutes when I was told it would take only 39 minutes, but the pizza was cold and they never brought my soda or 2 sides of ranch but still charged me for them. When I called in I got the manager and she told me they could not refund me for what i didn't receive but they could only give me a credit towards my next purchase. She became rude when i asked why it took it so long, why the food was cold and why i couldn't get my money back for the food i didn't get. she told me i ordered online and that they would have rather i called in, and when i told her the only reason i ordered online was because of a mailer i got promoting online ordering, she said all well. I asked if there was anything she could do for this bad service and she said just a credit towards your next order, I'm sorry and she hung up! I will not order from here again so what good does a credit do? and why cant i get my money for something i never received?! and why do i have to pay for food that was delivered cold and never ended up eating because it was so nasty! I love donatos but am so upset over this incident, how it was handled and how i was treated, I will never eat here again.

Desired Settlement: 25.19 is what i was charged and I still have the receipt

Business Response:

I researched your complaint and wanted to apologize for many things that went wrong on November 10th.  I do see that they checked out the delivery late.  I also see that they gave you a $12.00 credit for your next visit.  I totally understand that you do not want to order from this location again. Did you pay for the order with a credit card?  If you did, then I can refund your money.  It normally takes 3-5 business days for the amount to appear back into your account.  I would need the last 4 digits of your credit card # to refund your money if you accept this resolution.  In the future, we want you to know that Donatos has a Guest Services Department that you can call for assistance rather than going directly to the Better Business Bureau.  If you accept this resolution, you can call us at 1-800-DONATOS (366-2867).  Please ask for ****** *******.  I promise to take very good care of you! Again, I hope you will accept our apology.  I promise to forward this complaint to the District Supervisor for more review on the conduct of our Manager at this location.  Please call me with your credit card #'s.

****** *******

Director of Guest Services / Donatos Pizza

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I placed an order for our family. The order was not fulfilled by the restaurant correctly. There was missing items. I called to restaurant to inform them about the missing items, and they told me we did not need them to eat our food. I informed the manager (Mr. ***) that my children would not eat the food without the items, and he told me I was being petty. It does not matter. The order was not correct, and he did nothing to correct the order. He failed to call his supervisor or district manager as I requested. In addition, I tried to call corporate, and they were closed. Issue is not resolved, and I have cold food and children that are hungry.

Desired Settlement: I want either a refund or order replacement, and the manager needs to be relocated to another location if he is to be employed.

Business Response:

I want to apologize for the incident at our Marysville location.  Our Franchise Partner stated that he has already contacted you about this and has given you a credit for the inconvenience.  Thank you for understanding and I appreciate that you let us know that this happened.

Donatos Pizza Guest Services

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I was just getting ready to call you guys about the situation being resolved. I did not see a link on how to email to you. Thanks for your speedy response to me.






















10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/19/2012 I placed an online order with the mentioned donatos pizza on ******** ******. I placed the order at 3:43 pm and had a promised time of 4:17p. I never received my order so I called the donatos pizza location and spoke with the "manager" which he was foreign and spoke poor English, he stated they never received my order and stated he had no idea why and implied I never placed it even though I had the confirmation email in front of me. He never once offered to take my order or even apologize. Then at 4:40 pm my order arrived. Amazing how they went from not having my order to be arriving. Though my lunch break was already over and was unable to eat! They still charged me and still never apologized. I called corporate headquarters in Columbus to make a complaint. The receptionist transferred me to a voicemail. I left a message and never received a call back, I work for a large healthcare facility and I assure you I will prompt fellow employees against ordering from this store. I do not appreciate the attitude I received from the manager and the never receiving a response from corporate to address my complaint!

Desired Settlement: I would like a personal apologize from the manager using proper English!

Business Response:

I am so sorry about what happened on 10/19.  I am the Director of Guest Services and cannot understand why we did not get your Voice Mail.  I want you to know that we would have called you back had we gotten the Voice Mail.  We are here Monday - Friday from 8-5:00 p.m. I researched your order on 10/19 and found that your order was overlooked and the Manager on duty should have delivered this order for free.  We have on-line glitches at times and our managers are instructed to take good care of our guests.  I would like to apologize to you for the rudeness of our manager.  I would like to either refund your money or put a credit in our system under your phone # for your next visit.  We should have done this to begin with and you might have forgiven us.  I hope you will give us a chance to make it right for you.

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I accept the refund option!