Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

SP Payroll and Tax Services, LLC

Phone: (614) 203-5134 Fax: (614) 358-8322 13 N Westmoor Ave, Columbus, OH 43204 http://www.sptaxes.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers payroll service to small and large businesses.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SP Payroll and Tax Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SP Payroll and Tax Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on SP Payroll and Tax Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2007 Business started: 06/13/2007 in OH Business started locally: 06/13/2007 Business incorporated 03/21/2008 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Accountancy Board of Ohio
77 S High St Fl 18, Columbus OH 43215
http://acc.ohio.gov/Resources/LicenseLookup.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 466-4135

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Stacey Poole, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stacey Poole, Owner
Business Category

Payroll Service Tax Return Preparation Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Business Services - General Business Plan Preparation Accountants Accounting Services Bookkeeping Service Business Consultants

Service Area
All 50 States
Alternate Business Names
SP Payroll and Tax Services
Additional Information

Financial, payroll, business development and planning services for business owners and independent professionals. Tax consulting for individuals.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

SP Payroll and Tax Services, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 15, 2014 my husband and I paid $50.00 to Stacey P***** of SP Payroll and Tax Services filed Joint taxes for me and my husband ****** ********. We were told that we were going to owe the IRS approximately $2400.00. After our taxes were filed electronically we discovered there was a dependent child on our taxes that we did not know. It was discovered that the wrong child was filed on our 2014 income taxes. We brought this to Miss P.*****s attention. and question how or who was this kid. Miss ***** did not know and we ask for the issue to be corrected. Miss P***** did the corrections on another 1040. I called the IRS to make sure everything was done correctly because with owing I did not want to delay it any longer. I discovered through the IRS that the corrections should have been done on a 1040X. I e-mailed Miss P**** and told her that the corrections needed to be done on a different form, a 1040X. At this time Miss P****'s tone in her e-mails indicated that she was agitated. Not sure why. My husband and I did not make the error. Miss P**** said we should have caught the mistake. Miss P**** then later e-mailed my husband and told him she would make the corrections but we needed to pay her an extra $80.00. We did not think that was fair. The error was made on her end and we should not have had to pay extra to have it properly corrected. After my husband questioned as to why we should pay her more, she needed to hang up and told my husband to call her back. My husband did so the next day and Miss P**** did not answer. My husband called back everyday for about two weeks and never got a reply from Miss P****. We then took our taxes to H&R Block to try and have everything taken care of and resubmitted. We then discovered with H & R Block that we in turn did not owe $2400.00 but had a refund. There were tons of miscalculations on top of the error that was originally done. We ended up paying H & R Block $149.00 for the proper filing of our taxes.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that Miss P***** refund our fee of $50.00 she charged to complete our taxes and also for her to pay the fees that we were charged by H & R Block of $149.00. We asking for a total of $199.00 be refunded back to us.

Business Response:

On April 15, 2014 my husband and I paid $50.00 to Stacey P**** of SP Payroll and Tax Services filed Joint taxes for me and my husband ****** ********. We were told that we were going to owe the IRS approximately $2400.00.----****** ******** paid SP Payrolll and Tax Services $55 for their tax preparation and their actual balance was $80 but I let go just because I wanted to get them out of my office because this was their 2nd appt set to complete their 2014 tax return due to being unorganized and lack of communication amongst ****** and ******** ********.

 

After our taxes were filed electronically we discovered there was a dependent child on our taxes that we did not know. It was discovered that the wrong child was filed on our 2014 income taxes. We brought this to Miss *****'s attention. and question how or who was this kid. Miss ***** did not know and we ask for the issue to be corrected. Miss ***** did the corrections on another 1040.------Be advised that ****** and ******** ******** taxes were not filed electronically because they owed so they had to mail them in on their own, SP Payroll and Tax Services "CANNOT" electronically files taxes when a taxpayer has a tax liability.

May 12, 2015 Email from ******** ******** below:

From: "******** ********" <mwill99801@sbcglobal.net>
> > > To: "sptaxes@wowway.com" <sptaxes@wowway.com>
> > > Cc: "jw33rd@sbcglobal.net" <jw33rd@sbcglobal.net>
> > > Subject: Tax Error and Questions
> > > Date: Tue, May 12, 2015 11:41 AM
> > >
> > > Hi *****,
> > > As we reviewed our taxes to began the payment plan with the IRS, We noticed that you did not file for tax credit for our daughter *****. Also, ***** is not on our taxes at all.  ***** is our 16 year old daughter.  We have three kids - *****r (20), ***** (16), and ****** (10).  We were able to file the tax credit for ***** and ****** last year.  We do not understand why we were not able to file for both ***** and ****** this year.  I thought maybe it is because we have the wrong child on our taxes.  We have a "*****" on our taxes with a ss# that is not the name and social for *****.  We would like to get this corrected so we can make sure the amount owed is what we owe or if we owe anything.
> > > Please give me a call at your earliest at 614-270-1276.  Thank you. ******** ********

SP Payroll and Tax Services corrected this without any questions even though I felt ****** and ******** had came not organized again on the 2nd attempt to finish their 2014 tax preparation. They were bickering amongst one another as though I was not their so that is why information was incorrect. I also asked ****** if ***** was the daughter and he said "Yes".

On this day I let ******** ******** know that I will not do their taxes next year also.

  I called the IRS to make sure everything was done correctly because with owing I did not want to delay it any longer. I discovered through the IRS that the corrections should have been done on a 1040X. I e-mailed Miss P**** and told her that the corrections needed to be done on a different form, a 1040X. At this time Miss P****'s tone in her e-mails indicated that she was agitated. Not sure why. My husband and I did not make the error. Miss P**** said we should have caught the mistake. Miss P**** then later e-mailed my husband and told him she would make the corrections but we needed to pay her an extra $80.00. We did not think that was fair. The error was made on her end and we should not have had to pay extra to have it properly corrected.----SP Payroll and Tax Services time is valuable and I felt I have already gotten cheated on the first transaction and ****** and ******** was a waist of my time.

 After my husband questioned as to why we should pay her more, she needed to hang up and told my husband to call her back. My husband did so the next day and Miss P**** did not answer. My husband called back everyday for about two weeks and never got a reply from Miss P****. We then took our taxes to H&R Block to try and have everything taken care of and resubmitted. We then discovered with H & R Block that we in turn did not owe $2400.00 but had a refund.---Going from owing in your situation to getting a refund "Smells" like fraud to me because I know how high your tax liability was and ****** or ******** withholdings are "VERY" low

There were tons of miscalculations on top of the error that was originally done.----Information put on ****** and ******** ******** 2014 tax returns was based on the information given to SP Payroll and Tax Services.

  We ended up paying H & R Block $149.00 for the proper filing of our taxes.---I feel ****** and ******** owes me $250 for the two 1 1/2hr interviews I had with them to prepare their 2014 tax return.

 Bottom line ****** and ******** does not communicate amongst one another and SP Payroll and Tax Services has been put in the middle of it.  She did not know how much her husband wrote the check out for.  I also see alot of things that do not make any sense in this complaint.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on SP Payroll and Tax Services, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart