Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial paving, seal coating, and striping and offers snow plowing and install holiday lighting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AmeriCoat meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AmeriCoat include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 28
Total Closed Complaints 33

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on AmeriCoat
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 1998 Business started: 08/01/1999 Business started locally: 08/01/1999 Business incorporated 10/01/1997 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Friedman, President Ms. Maria Bompiani, Director of Customer Care Mr. Michael Bryant, Director of Operations Ms. Erin Friedman, Contact Mr. Dan Wigginton
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Maria Bompiani, Director of Customer Care
Principal: Mr. Dan Friedman, President
Business Category

Paving Contractors Asphalt Snow Removal Service Seal Coating Concrete Removal

Alternate Business Names
American Coatings Corp.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AmeriCoat has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7510 Montgomery Rd

    Plain City, OH 43064 (877) 732-5872 (614) 335-1000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat was hired to do driveway sealcoating on July 16, 2014. In the process sprayed the black tar substance on all three of my white painted garage doors. I had reported the issue to Americoat. A supervisor inspected the damage and agreed they were not able to be cleaned. The supervisor also determined the sealcoating was inadequate and sent a crew to redo the job on Sept. 22. I was supposed to be contacted by Americoat to resolve the issue with the damage. I was not contacted. Instead, when I complained again, another supervisor was sent to inspect the damage in September. Again, they determined they could not clean it. Again, they insisted I would be contacted. Again, no one contacted me about this issue. I have been receiving repeated phone calls from Americoat about the bill for their services. Again, I called and spoke with ***** (the manager) in November about the issue and insisted again that I would not consider paying for any services until the damage was taken care of. We are now 5 months after the Americoat service resulted in damage to 3 garage doors and I have only received a runaround from Americoat managers and representatives.

Desired Settlement: I want a full waiver (in writing) of the Americoat bill for service and I want compensation for the damage that was caused to provide for payment to a professional painting company that will service and paint the garage doors. Due to Americoat's delay in addressing this issue, we are now in winter and the weather is not suitable for painting and thus the painting will not be done until spring. I will not accept anyone from Americoat to do any repairs or perform any further service at my address. Their history and repeated failure to address this issue leaves me with no confidence that they can appropriately and responsibly repair the damage in a quality manner and without causing further damage. Furthermore, the runaround for the last 5 months leaves me in a position that I can no longer expend any more of my time dealing with their management. I will only now deal with a third party to assist in repairing the garage doors.

Business Response:

AmeriCoat has reduced the customer’s bill to zero.  AmeriCoat agrees to paint the customer’s garage doors in the spring of 2015 on a day convenient for the customer.  If the customer does not want AmeriCoat to paint the garage doors, we do ask that the complainant provide us 3 quotes from 3 companies for painting only the garage doors.  If the quote is reasonable, we will select one of the 3 companies to perform the painting of the garage doors in the spring of 2015.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I will contact them in the Spring with the requested quotes.

Regards,

****** ****

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat was contracted to seal the driveways in the ****** ** **** ****** ***** ********y. While sealing the driveways in our community, there was a severe rain storm that caused the sealant to run and also to splatter on the foundation, siding, garages & trim around the garage doors. This clearly was not Americoat's fault and they appeared willing to remedy the situation. Americoat re-did sealant where necessary, but did not do so in compliance with our contract. The contract stated that they would clear debris from driveways and use a leaf blower to get the edges of driveways exposed. Americoat did not clean the driveways before sealing. Therefore there are areas where debris was sealed into the driveways. More importantly, they did not clear the edges before sealing. Once the mulch was pushed off the driveways and the asphalt under was exposed, there are multiple driveways where 2-6 inches were never sealed. As for the splatter caused by the rain shower, Americoat agreed to clean and paint affected areas. We were also informed that Americoat made an insurance claim to complete this work. Americoat did a satisfactory job cleaning sidewalks, curbs & foundations impacted by this issue. They also painted siding and garages in a generally satisfactory manner. However, they painted the trim around garages and did not do a satisfactory job. Our management company & board members met with representatives from Americoat and they agreed the work was not up to par. Therefore Americoat agreed to replace the trim around impacted garages. Since this agreement was reached, nothing has happened.

Desired Settlement: We would like Americoat to replace the trim they agreed to replace (e-mail documentation from company available upon request). We would also like a remedy for the driveways that were not properly sealed and have edges that remain unsealed. Preferably with another reputable company as our confidence in Americoat is nil.

Business Response:

The Director of Operations met with **** ********** and members of the board several times regarding the property of *** ****** ** **** ******.  During each meeting, neither **** ********** nor the members of the board had any complaints with the sealcoating.

 

Per our original repair agreement, AmeriCoat agrees to replace the garage trim for the trim that was painted at no charge to the complainant.  All necessary repairs to the driveways that sustained rain damage have been rectified.  If requested, AmeriCoat will provide a quote for future sealcoating work. 

 

All repairs performed thus far have been made in good faith with the understanding that AmeriCoat would receive payment for the services rendered.  We have not yet received any payment towards the balance due.  AmeriCoat requests the balance of $1,473.00 be paid in full. 

12/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat has seal coated the driveway I share with my neighbor for the past 3 years. The price has stayed consistent, around $285 total. This year, Americoat quoted $285 to seal coat the driveway. We accepted the quote and they did a great job and we paid the invoice in total. However, about a month after performing the service, we received a follow up invoice for an additional $285. My neighbor and I have called numerous times asking them why the price has stayed the same over 3 years, but this year after an agreed upon quote, the driveway being coated and service paid for, they have decided to double the cost. Numerous calls to Americoat have resulted in different answers, either the job was under estimated or it was $285 per home owner. Americoat continues to send invoices and is now adding in late payment charges. For reference 2013 invoice for $287.10 2014 invoice for $285

Desired Settlement: Stick to our agreed upon estimate which was invoiced and paid, $285. Eliminate the new, after the fact, charges and the late payment fees. We have been pleased with Americoat's quality of work and would like to continue to be their customer.

Business Response:

The complainant owns one half of a drive shared with his neighbor.  AmeriCoat was contracted by the complainant’s neighbor the past few years.  Each time, the technicians sealed both halves of the drive without notifying AmeriCoat.  The neighbor of the complainant was only charged for his half of the driveway.  Last year, the technicians contacted AmeriCoat regarding the shared drive.  The correct measurements were entered into the system and the neighbor was notified that there would be an additional charge if the complainant’s driveway was to be serviced in the future.  We did not have any contact information for the complainant.  AmeriCoat honored the price quoted to the neighbor of the complainant last year.

The neighbor of the complainant contacted AmeriCoat this year to schedule service for him and his neighbor.  The neighbor of the complainant was informed of the charge for each side of the driveway and scheduled service.  Invoices for each address were sent to the neighbor of the complainant per the request of the neighbor.  Payment has only been received for the neighbor’s service.  This information has been provided to the neighbor of the complainant.  The amount originally agreed upon by the neighbor was $285.00 with a 10% discount equaling $256.50.  The neighbor of the complainant contracted service and is the party responsible for payment.  AmeriCoat agrees to waive late fees and add an additional 10% discount for a total discount of 20%.  The balance due for service at the complainant’s property is $228.00.

Consumer Response:

It was not clear to my neighbor his quote was only for half the driveway.  If the pricing for this years service only covered my neighbor's half of the driveway, then I should have received a quote for approval before completion of the full driveway.  My address was known to Americoat as they have been sending after-the-fact invoices to my neighbor with my address as the service location.
I believe Americoat acted in good faith sealing the whole driveway, but any good will has been squandered by their refusal to acknowledge their upfront error in process.
I have paid the remaining amount in full.  If Americoat desires to keep our shared driveway as a customer, even if the price doubles after being properly quoted, they can follow up and propose a compromise.  Otherwise I appreciate their past service, but will seek out another service provider in the future and consider this case unsatisfactorily closed.

Business Response:

The complainant’s neighbor contracted AmeriCoat to seal both **** ******* ** *** **** ******* **.  The complainant’s neighbor has contracted us for both addresses for the past four years.  As previously stated, the correct measurements for the driveways were entered into the system last year.  The complainant’s neighbor was notified that there would be an additional charge if the complainant’s driveway was to be serviced in the future.  When the complainant’s neighbor contracted AmeriCoat this year, we reviewed this information with him again.  If the complainant and his neighbor wish to have their driveway sealed in the future, we will be happy to offer a discount if the drives are sealed on the same day.

11/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our driveway done 10 months ago. Right away we saw there were rocks coming up. It took several calls to get someone from this company to come and inspect it. After 3 weeks of calling they finally came out to inspect it. They assured us the drive way would be fine if we had it sealed. We had it sealed. This March rocks began coming up and the edges of the driveway are cracking and falling apart. I began calling the company again asking them to come look at it. They said they would come take pictures and email them to me and discuss a resolution. I never received the pictures. I began calling them again. ***** said someone from the company would get back with me. They didn't respond, so I began calling again. Finally after calling since March, someone came out on May 19th. He said he would be back later that week to take a core sample, then they would be back May 29th to fix the driveway. It is now June 3rd and no core sample has been taken and the problem is not resolved. We have not heard anything from this company since they came out on May 19th.

Desired Settlement: I want them to deliver a quality product. We paid for a brand new driveway and it is falling apart after 10 months. We would like them to redo the driveway and do it correctly or refund us 100% so we can pay someone else to do it.

Business Response:

The complainant contracted AmeriCoat to remove his existing driveway and replace it with new asphalt on May 6, 2013.  This work was performed on May 13, 2013.  After completion of the project, the complainant informed AmeriCoat he was concerned that the surface of the drive had a rough appearance.  The Director of Operations met the complainant on his property to assess the driveway.  The Director determined that the driveway was installed correctly and meets all industry specifications.

Asphalt is comprised of aggregate of different sizes.  Newly installed asphalt will have a porous texture.  This is one of the reasons we recommend sealing a driveway within one year of the installation.  To properly maintain and extend the life of a drive, AmeriCoat recommends sealing a driveway every one to two years.  Multiple coatings will eventually reduce the porous texture of asphalt.  The complainant complied with the recommended sealing and had two coats of sealer applied to the drive on July 29, 2013.  The Director of Operations also instructed the complainant to backfill the edges of the driveway with topsoil to provide lateral support.  Due to the grade of the property, the surface of the drive is higher than the surrounding ground and needs lateral support. 

The complainant contacted AmeriCoat in the spring of 2014 regarding premature cracking and again expressed his concern with the porosity of the drive.  The Director of Operations met the customer on his property to reassess the condition of the driveway.  The complainant failed to install topsoil along the exposed edges of the driveway.  Without this lateral support, the asphalt is more susceptible to developing cracking along the edges.  Attached to this response is a picture of the bottom right corner of the driveway.  A small circular crack formed in this area of the drive.  This type of cracking is a common imperfection that develops after a winter that has extreme temperature changes, especially in our region of the country.

Asphalt is designed to be flexible so it can expand and contract with changing temperatures and the natural movement of the earth.  Ground water present under the drive can freeze and swell.  This causes the above asphalt to bend, creating a fulcrum on which the asphalt rests.  When weight is applied to that area of the drive, the asphalt will break at the apex of the fulcrum.  This is a natural occurrence that is easily rectified with a small heat repair.  The crack that formed in the complainant’s driveway is a result of this phenomenon.

AmeriCoat offered to perform a heat repair at the corner of the driveway at no charge to the complainant.  The complainant declined this offer and demanded a complete replacement of the drive.  We informed the complainant that the structural integrity of the driveway has not been compromised.  The drive does meet industry standards for the service that was performed.  AmeriCoat again offers to perform a small heat repair to the bottom right corner of the driveway at no charge to the customer.

Consumer Response: When I met with director of operations he expressed concern over the cracking of the driveway because of the multible cracks.
The cracks are at the bottom part on both sides of the driveway where it meets the concrete part of the driveway. The blacktop and the soil are even at that point so no aditional soil is needed ,he did recomened adding it at the back of the driveway but that is notwhere the cracking has occured.

At that time he said he would have a core sample taken to to test the structural intergrity because of his concern,and get back with me asap.
As of  today June 11 2014 I have not heard from neither him nor anyone from americoat nor do I know that a core sample was even taken.
Yes I have rejected their fix and will continue to do so until they can prove to me the intergrity of the drive passes the test. If it passes the integrity test  I will still be unhappy with the driveway but will have to settle for their fix.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AmeriCoat advertises three different seal coating services. 1 coat service $129. 2 coat service $185. and the premium service for $285. I had ordered the premium service two years ago and was impressed so I ordered it again just this past week. Americoat came out 9/23/14 but did not apply the premium service as advertise. Per advertisement the premium service includes 3 applications of crack sealer and 2 coats of commercial grade driveway sealer. The workers did apply 1 application of crack sealer directly to some of the cracks. They left and came back after an hour and applied 1 coat of driveway sealer over the entire driveway. I informed the workers that I had ordered the premium service and I should be getting two additional crack treatments before the 2 coats of driveway sealer. He informed me that the sealer they were applying was a crack and driveway sealer mixed and that this is how they do it now. After that dried, they applied 1 coat of regular driveway sealer and they were done. I called the business. I explained that the workers only performed the 2 coat service and requested they adjust my bill. They said the workers said they gave me the premium service. I explained to him that I was there the entire time and that they did not. He then said that the 1st driveway sealer was a hybrid sealer and that it takes the place of all the other crack and driveway sealers applications. He said he would send someone out to take a look but never showed. I called today 9/25/14 to see if they were going to adjust my bill but a employee said he could only offer 10% off. This is not acceptable to me. After further examination of my driveway today, I noticed several open cracks that they missed and reopened. They also left a stain on my sidewalk. No comparison to the service I received from them two years ago. I'm very disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I would have preferred that the job was done right the first time but feel at this point, they need to adjust my bill since I did not receive the service I ordered. I would also like for them to apply another coat of sealer to my driveway since they missed serval areas and clean the stain on my sidewalk.

Business Response:

A manager assessed the property today with the customer.  The drive has several wide cracks that are very shallow.  Some of the material has reopened in the cracks.  AmeriCoat will be happy to apply another application of cracks sealer to the cracks and another coat of sealer.  If the customer does not want to the cracks retreated and drive resealed, we will remove the additional charge for the premium service and only charge the customer $166.50 for the 2 coat service.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I will accept resolution from company to have another application of cracks sealer to the cracks and another coat of sealer.

10/3/2014 Delivery Issues
9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the driver for americoat ran into our mailbox on 8-18. our neighbor witnessed this. we called on 8-18 and they said they would probably be out that night to take pictures. no response. we called again on 8-22. no response. the mail box needs to be re-cemented, the post needs replaced, and possibly a new mail box. we have had them seal our driveway for 15 years. we have never had a problem with them in all these years. we just thought they would settle this matter, instead of ignoring it.

Business Response: Upon review of the pictures, we did not notice any damage to the mailbox.  A manager is scheduled to go to the property next week to assess the condition of the mailbox.  If any damage was caused by our vehicle, we will perform the necessary repairs.  We will contact the customer by the end of next week after the property inspection has been performed.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had our driveway sealed by AmeriCoat for many years. In 2012, it was sealed in the fall. We called them because of concerns about the cracks not being repaired and sealed, plus they left a gas can, over sprayed our new 40 gallon ********** trash can and stone wall. I spoke with several people including ******, ****** and **** and sent pictures via text, with no response. This past fall we received phone solicitation from **** ******,as well as a mailed flyer. I thought I would make one last attempt to contact them. I spoke with ***** and gave her the details, emailed her the photos and sent several follow up emails trying to get some closure. Out of frustration, I finally emailed that I would contact the BBB and still no reply. We were hoping to get this resolved amicably, and are very frustrated that after years of doing business with them, they would be so unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: We would like to get our driveway cracks repaired and sealed, our garbage can replaced and our stone professionally cleaned.

Business Response: AmeriCoat does warrant the workmanship and quality of all sealcoating services.  It has been over 1 year since the sealcoating service was performed for this customer.  This customer ordered the basic 1 coat service.  This service is recommended for driveways that have very few cracks and surface imperfections.  As part of the service, the technicians treated cracks that were at least ¼” wide and ½’ deep or larger.  If cracks do not reach this size requirement, they are not deep enough for the industrial crack sealant to be applied.  One coat of commercial grade driveway sealer was then applied.  Due to material shrinkage, the industrial crack sealant will not make the cracks disappear or level off with the surface of the driveway.  This service is performed to help maintain the driveway in its current state.  It will not rejuvenate the driveway to look as it did when it was new.  Every crack will still be visible; however, they will be sealed.  The driveway sealer is the consistency of latex paint and will conform to every dip, crack and surface imperfection already existing on the drive.  AmeriCoat was not informed of any damage to the customer's trashcan or stone wall until the end of October 2013.  AmeriCoat will have a manager assess the damage to the trash can and stone wall and will determine the appropriate action.  We will be in contact with the customer after an assessment has been performed.

Consumer Response: I sent pictures last fall and spoke with **** regarding our dissatisfaction with the sealing done, as well as the overspray on a stone wall and trash can - with no reply.spoke with **** regarding our dissatisfaction with the sealing done, as well as the overspray on a stone wall and trash can - with no reply. I have left several messages for various people and emailed pictures twice to ***** over the past 6 weeks regarding our concerns and trying to get them resolved along with our driveway sealed, and still no reply. I am very disappointed with the lack of response and feel we have been very patient and have made every attempt to resolve this. If we don't get a reply by Monday, November 11th, with a resolution, we intend to file a complaint with the BBB.

Consumer Response: *****, here are pictures of the over sprayed trash can, stone wall and driveway cracks we have concerns about. I sent this to **** last year, but never heard back. We would like to get this resolved ASAP and get our driveway sealed this year still. Please advise. Thanks, ###-###-####.

Business Response: I wanted to sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with our service. We pride ourselves on our high quality
and excellent customer service and are disheartened that you did not receive the attention you deserved.
AmeriCoat would like to offer you one free coat of driveway sealer to be applied during the 2014 season. We will
be happy to replace the damaged ********** trash can as well. Please let me know the size of the trash can, and
we will have one delivered to your property. AmeriCoat will also provide a free estimate for repair options for the
driveway at **** **** ***** ***** ********** *****.
We would like to remind you that due to material shrinkage, the sealant and crack sealant will not make cracks
disappear or level off with the driveway. Cracks will re-open in time based on the general quality of the pavement
and its foundation. It is not necessary for you to be home for the service to be performed. Also, invisible fences,
sprinklers and other underground devices must be clearly marked before service begins to prevent possible
damage. AmeriCoat is not responsible for damage to such devices.
Again, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience with our company. Should you have any questions or
additional concerns, you may reach me any time at (***) ********, or you may e-mail me at
******************** Please contact me to schedule your free coat of driveway sealer and provide the
specifications of the trash can. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

Business Response: A manager met with the customer on Thursday, July 10, 2014 per the customer's request.  She informed the manager that she only wants the trash can to be replaced and asked for a quote to have the driveway sealed.  We are in the process of locating an exact match for the customer's trash can.  We will identify a few options for the replacement of the trash can and forward them to the customer.  When the customer selects a satisfactory replacement, we will purchase the trash can and drop it off at the customer's property.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

My husband and I were both present for this meeting.

It appears there is either a miscommunication, or
something lost in translation. 

To clarify, we requested the following:

1) We asked for an estimate to have the driveway patched. 

2) We asked for Americoat to seal the driveway, as they
agreed to in their letter after the patch work was completed.

3) We asked for the trash can to be replaced.

4) We stated we would take
care of the stone to be cleaned, in lieu of the seal.

5) We asked to have the above steps in progress by the end of this week.
(7/18)

Business Response:

The patchwork estimate requested by the customer will be completed by the middle of next week.  Upon completion, the estimate will be e-mailed to the customer at **************************.  AmeriCoat will maintain our offer of one free application of driveway sealer.  This offer is only valid for the sealer to be applied during the 2014 season.

We are still trying to locate a similar match to the customer’s trash can.  We will submit a selection of comparable trash cans from which the customer may choose with the patchwork estimate next week.

Consumer Response:

We received the check for the trashcan on Monday, thank you very much. I did find the attachment, it was at the end of all the correspondence dating back to June. 

A little confused by the quotes. As you said our driveway is in very good shape. We replaced it in 2007, however there are some cracks that need to be filled. 

Your quotes are to: 

(1) replace the driveway-$4785.00

(2) do a complete overlay-$3720.00

(3) to patch and seal-$169.00

Per your letter dated April 3rd 2014, you offered to seal our driveway as a courtesy for the overspray on our stone walls. We asked for a quote to "patch" the driveway -that we intended to pay for - and then have you seal it. It is so frustrating that we took the time to meet with ***** on July 10th and specifically requested a quote to "patch only" and still have not received it. 

We requested a quote to hot patch our driveway from another company and it took 2 days to get it. ($30) 

We were loyal customers and had used your services for many years, and recommended you to others. It's sad that we have now spent two years trying to get a simple resolution, and it is still not resolved.

 

Business Response:

One application of crack sealer will be applied to cracks ¼” wide and ½” deep or larger as part of the one coat service.  Due to material shrinkage, the sealant and crack sealant will not make cracks disappear or level off with the driveway.  Cracks will re-open in time based on the general quality of the pavement and its foundation.  I have scheduled this service for Tuesday, September 30, 2014, weather permitting.  Please let me know if you have any other questions or concerns.

 

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, August 8th a representative of Americoat arrived to provide the service to sealcoat our driveway. Upon arrival ********* ******** greeted the representative and was handed the invoice for services. *** ******** informed the representative that he was leaving and would return shortly and that **** ******** was in the house in the event of any questions he may have. The representative informed *** ******** that he would apply the 1st coat of sealant and return later that same day to apply the 2nd coat. We both left our home and returned to find services performed included apparent blown gravel, asphalt and dirt and no other services were provided. This included seeing the mentioned blown debris being noticed on the driveway concrete skirt attached to the garage. Upon entering the garage noticed the same debris inside the garage. We assumed the representative would return to complete the work as of today Saturday August 9th there was no return by the representative neither was there any telephone contact by Americoat personnel to inform us of their intention.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting an apology and explanation of the conduct and inaction of Americoat to why leaving the debris scattered about as well as lack of providing service

Business Response:

Due to the condition of the driveway, AmeriCoat did not want to perform sealcoating services without speaking with the customer to manage expectations.  We have since been in contact with the customer.  A sales manager is now scheduled to estimate the driveway for a complete replacement. 

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat was contacted to repair our blacktop driveway on May 13, 2014 at the time of speaking with customer service I informed them I wanted someone to come and give us an estimate to do the job. The customer service girl informed me that was not needed because they would apply 3 coats of crack sealer and 2 coats of driveway sealer, plus they would neutralize wet oil spots and stains with latex primer. I reaffirmed with her I would like someone to come and give us an estimate to make sure the driveway work was done correctly. She assured me that if the team could not do a proper job that they would not complete and let me know what was needed. The date she gave me for service to be provided was June 26, 2014. The day before the service someone called to confirm the appointment the next day. The day of service it rained and driveway was not completed. Someone contacted me the next day to reset the appointment for 2 weeks later. No show and no Call. I called them to see if they were going to do the job and was told it was because of the weather and the next appointment was middle of August. At that point I told them that was not acceptable so they made the appointment for July 22, 2014. I told the person that if they were not able to do it that day to cancel my appointment as I did not want to wait any longer to get the job done. On July 22, 2014 a crew showed up to do the job and I was at work. When I pulled in the driveway was unfinished. The promise of the services to be provided was not fulfilled. Areas of the driveway received no coating at all. Cracks where not filled and showed all over the driveway. I called them and reported this as soon as I walked in the door the same day. NO return phone call on the matter. I called a week later to speak with a manager since I was out of area for the week and was unable to speak with a manager. Customer service gave me a email and asked me to send pictures I took to them. jonathan@americoat.com. I told them I wanted to speak with a manager about this they said they would have one call me as soon as out of meeting. A woman manager contacted me. Wanting to know what my expectations for the job was.... that they have standards but mine might have been to high. I explained all above information to her and requested a crew or someone come out so they could look at the job that was done on my driveway. She said she was having a crew come out that afternoon. No One Ever Showed. It has been a month. No communication from them, via email, phone, text or someone showing up to discuss the issues. I contacted another company to come and do the driveway correctly. Costing me $270.00. 00 I didn't mind having to pay more money ... I just wanted the job done right! I have pictures of their work (which I sent to them) and the driveway looks and pictures of the driveway after another company came. The issues with this service are: Sales misrepresented services Failure to provide a written estimate for service upon request Improper and inferior service Customer service and management failed to provide assistance

Desired Settlement: Remove cost of "service" since completion of the job was done by another company. The total charge of services for invoices sent $179.00 needs to be removed from their books and they are never to contact us again. The cost of our driveway for proper service and repair of the blacktop was paid in full to another company for a total of $270.00

Business Response:

AmeriCoat will assess a property and provide a written estimate to any customer at no charge.

On June 2, 2014, the complainant ordered our Premium Crack Service for a discounted price of $161.10.  It is a service recommended for driveways that have severe cracking. The cracks present on the drive must also be at least ¼” wide and ½’ deep or larger.  If cracks do not reach this size requirement, they are not deep enough for the industrial crack sealant to be applied.  For the Premium Crack Service, an industrial crack sealer is applied to the cracks meeting the aforementioned size requirements.   The crack sealer is given time to cure and the service technicians return that day to apply another application of the industrial crack sealer to cracks ¼” wide and 1/2'” deep or larger as well as one coat of commercial grade driveway sealer.  The material is again given time to cure.  The service technicians return to the property a third time that day to apply a third application of industrial crack sealer to cracks ¼” wide and 1/2'” deep or larger as well as and a second application of driveway sealer.  Due to material shrinkage, the industrial crack sealant will not make the cracks disappear or level off with the surface of the driveway.  This service is performed to help maintain the driveway in its current state.  It will not rejuvenate the driveway to look as it did when it was new.  Every crack will still be visible; however, they will be sealed.  The driveway sealer is the consistency of latex paint and will conform to every dip, crack and surface imperfection already existing on the drive.

The complainant’s service date was unfortunately rescheduled twice due to inclement weather on the dates of service.  Per the customer’s request, the service was completed on July 22, 2014.  The pictures sent by the customer were reviewed and are attached to this response.  The driveway was sealed and all of the cracks were treated.  A crew also assessed the application.  It was explained to the customer that the cracks would still be visible.  AmeriCoat performed the service requested by the customer and should be paid for services rendered.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company applied driveway sealer to the drive way. While applying the product they sprayed the house with the product in several places. Some is on the window four feet off the ground. In addition they sprayed product on the concert patio and garage apron. The product was applied on a Saturday while we were not present. I called on Monday and asked for service. I was told I would be contacted. No phone call was returned. On Wednesday I called again and spoke to a supervisor who said he would get back to me to address the issue. No return call. On Friday I left a message on answering machine and they did return call and said the crew would be there on Friday to address the issue. No one shoed up and no phone call indicating delay and when they would be coming. I am still waiting for a response to my concern.

Desired Settlement: Fix the issues in timely manner and reduce bill for inconvience

Business Response:

AmeriCoat has not performed service for ***** ***** at **** ********* ****.  AmeriCoat was contracted by ******** ***** to apply one coat of driveway sealer at **** ********* **** on July 12, 2014.  The complainant is the father of AmeriCoat’s customer.  Prior to the notification of this complaint, AmeriCoat has only contacted the complainant’s daughter, as she was the individual who hired our company and she is the owner of the property.  The complainant states that no one went to the property on July 18.  A manager was at the property on Friday, July 18 from 2:04PM to 2:37PM to begin the cleaning process.  The manager spoke with an individual while on the property and let them know what AmeriCoat would be doing for the clean-up.  AmeriCoat has since been in contact with the father of our customer several times and has met him on the property.  A manager is scheduled to be at the property this Sunday for painting and powerwashing.

Consumer Response: company has not completed the repair.  Person did come to start repair but has not completed the process.  Daughter has been in contact again with company.  The company said the person would be back Monday August 4 but did not appear.  Desire to keep this issue open to see if company follows up.  

Regards,
***** *****

Consumer Response: ***** ******* ************************  ***** ******* ****** *** **** ***** ** *** ************************************ ******** *******

The company has addressed the issue as best they can.  Took a long time and property is back to near normal. Thanks for your help.  ***** ***** **** ********* ***

 

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The driveway that was installed keeps falling apart on one side since they installed it. There fix to this is for me to build a wall on that side. They also did not put that section of driveway on a solid foundation for it to work out. I did not park on this section of driveway for 8 months and it still is falling apart.

Desired Settlement: I would like the drive way fully replaced and not in sections.

Business Response:

The customer contracted AmeriCoat in March of 2011 to tear out his existing asphalt driveway, create an expansion along the left side of the drive and install a new asphalt driveway.  AmeriCoat completed this service on May 13, 2011.  In August of 2011, the customer contacted AmeriCoat regarding cracks that formed in the expansion along the left side of the drive.  The Director of Operations spoke in depth with the customer on August 10 regarding the need for lateral support on the edge of the drive.  This lateral support could entail a simple dirt backfill pushing up against the area or could be a retaining wall.  Without this support, the expanded area will continue to incur damage.  The Director also informed the customer he should not park on the expanded area of the drive until he installs the lateral support.  AmeriCoat performed a repair on the cracked area in August 2011 at no charge to the customer.   The customer said he would provide the lateral support needed to prevent future damage.

The customer contacted AmeriCoat in 2012 reporting damage to the expanded area of the drive.  AmeriCoat responded by sending a Sales Manager out to view the damage.  No lateral support was provided for the edge of the drive and the customer’s truck was parked on the edge in question.  The Director of Operations informed the customer again of the need for lateral support.  Even though the driveway was out of warranty, AmeriCoat performed another repair in August 2012 at no charge to the customer.

In February 2014, the customer contacted AmeriCoat regarding additional cracking in the expanded area of the drive.  A manager went to the property to assess the damage.  The customer failed to install lateral support to the edge of the driveway.   It was also clear in photographs that document each visit to the property that the customer did park his truck on the very edge that was the focus of the repairs.  As a result, the area incurred cracking.  AmeriCoat offered to provide an estimate for a repair of the damaged portion of the asphalt driveway.  AmeriCoat also offered to provide an estimate for dirt backfill to provide lateral support for the edge of the drive.  The customer declined both estimate offers.

AmeriCoat performed the services contracted by the customer to a very high quality.  Even though the damage was a direct result of customer negligence, AmeriCoat performed two repairs at no charge to the customer, the second of which was performed out of the warranty period.  AmeriCoat will uphold our offer to provide an estimate to the customer for repair of the driveway.

Consumer Response:

I read what Americoat sent back in response. The issue is that when I had this built they know I was going to park a truck on this portion that is why I wanted it. At that point there was no issues with that and no need for a barrier for the driveway. The new section they call a fix is now separating from the other section. It was not until it started to fall apart that these issues came up. They have never offered to build me a barrier for a certain price and they never put it on a sturdy foundation to begin with. The other problem is that I have not parked on that driveway from June 12th 2013 to January 4th 2014, If I have not parked there from that time frame than why is it still falling apart with no weight on it - the foundation was never good to begin with. I had to live with my mother and away from my home for that time frame. Now they want to charge me for something that should have been set right the first time they put it down on my property.

 

7/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year we made an appointment for AmeriCoat to seal our driveway. They had given us an estimate and then never showed to perform the job. This year we called them again because the quote was great. They came out and said that they would honor the same quote from a year ago. The driveway was scheduled to be sealed on June 12, 2014. They came out when no one was at home. A neighbor said that they saw the employee of AmeriCoat use a leaf blower. This damaged the driveway and made a large hole where we park our cars. The person left without a phone call to us or note on the door. When we called the manager, he said that they are not responsible but he would have someone come out and look at it. No one has showed up and they refuse to answer our calls now.

Desired Settlement: We would like for the damage done to be repaired. The hole needs filled and the driveway should be sealed now for a discounted price.

Business Response:

The customer contracted AmeriCoat to apply 2 applications of commercial grade asphalt sealer on their driveway.  When the crew arrived at the property after 5:00PM, they contacted one of the managers regarding the condition of the drive.  The drive suffered from severe erosion and several pieces of asphalt from the drive were loose and no longer attached to the surface of the driveway.  Sections of the drive had deteriorated to gravel.  Due to the condition of the drive, AmeriCoat did not perform the sealcoating service.  A manager spoke with the customer that evening to discuss the condition of the driveway and schedule an estimate for possible paving work.  A sales manager met with the customer on June 27, 2014.  Attached are pictures of the driveway that display the severe erosion.  AmeriCoat did not cause any damage to the driveway.  AmeriCoat offers to provide the customer an estimate for paving work for the drive. 

6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted and paid for Driveway to be coated and sealed with 2 coats plus premium crack service. Service completed 11/8/13. Sealer did not adhere to driveway and came off in flakes and granules, many large areas are now gray in color and did not accept sealer. April 2014 asked Americoat to perform a service call to examine driveway and determine a corrective action. Americoat never called back to discuss outcome of service call. I have called Americoat to discuss on four (4) separate occasions and each time was told that a service call was performed and a manager would be calling me back. To date (5/16/14)No one from Americoat has contacted me to discuss resolution.

Desired Settlement: At this point and due to Americoat lack of professionalism, would prefer to receive a refund vs. an attempt to fix the problem.Total service cost was $319.00.

Business Response:

AmeriCoat has been in contact with this customer regarding the service performed in 2013.  The customer contacted AmeriCoat on April 21, 2014 regarding the condition of his driveway.  A sales manager assessed the property on May 9, 2014.  After several attempts to contact the customer, we were able to speak with him on May 27, 2014.  The customer agreed to have AmeriCoat reseal two coats on his drive at no additional charge.  The service is scheduled to be performed on Tuesday, June 3, 2014, weather permitting.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase Information: Problem Area: Failure to Deliver Product or Service Purchase Date: 9/13/2013 Total Price: $197.00 Disputed Amount: $197.00 Amount Paid So Far: $0.00 Description: Every year since 2002, Americoat has provided service to coat my blacktopped driveway. Last year I engaged them to repair the surface adjacent to my garage (about 6 inches where it was deteriorating. After the work was done, it was evident that the area was not level, and water was pooling directly in front of my trash recepticals. It was no longer draining. Since I am handicapped, and the city picks up my receptacles, I had to be very cautious about taking taking my items to the containers. This became more acute with the drop in the temperature when ice formed. My son, on my behalf, and I had contacted Americoat. The receptionist told me that it would cost $600 to repair (what they had done) I sent pictures on line to the company. I was not in agreement with having to pay $600 to repair when they had created. They were supposed to send a manager last fall to look at the problem, and explain what needed to be done. He never showed up. I had let them know they would have to make an appointment, so they could explain it to me. I have never heard from them.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution: I don't think it should be my expense to repair a problem which they created, and which did not exist before I paid $197 to repair the crumbling material. I think they should make it right. If I have to pay to have it repaired, I would not be using their company.....ever.

Business Response:

The complainant contracted AmeriCoat to perform a Premium Crack Service on her driveway on August 13, 2013.  It is a service recommended for driveways that have severe cracking. The cracks present on the drive must also be at least ¼” wide and ½’ deep or larger.  If cracks do not reach this size requirement, they are not deep enough for the industrial crack sealant to be applied.  For the Premium Crack Service, an industrial crack sealer is applied to the cracks meeting the aforementioned size requirements.   The crack sealer is given time to cure and the service technicians return that day to apply another application of the industrial crack sealer to cracks ¼” wide and 1/2'” deep or larger as well as one coat of commercial grade driveway sealer.  The material is again given time to cure.  The service technicians return to the property a third time that day to apply a third application of industrial crack sealer to cracks ¼” wide and 1/2'” deep or larger as well as and a second application of driveway sealer.  Due to material shrinkage, the industrial crack sealant will not make the cracks disappear or level off with the surface of the driveway.  This service is performed to help maintain the driveway in its current state.  It will not rejuvenate the driveway to look as it did when it was new.  Every crack will still be visible; however, they will be sealed.  The driveway sealer is the consistency of latex paint and will conform to every dip, crack and surface imperfection already existing on the drive.

On November 4, 2013, the complainant’s son contacted AmeriCoat regarding an area on the right side of the drive by the garage that was withholding water.  The complainant’s son was informed that sealcoating services do not cause depressions or potholes.  We asked for pictures of the area to determine which repair options would be best to fix the depression.  Pictures of the area were received and reviewed on November 11, 2013.  The low lying area is caused by a defect in the base material underneath the asphalt.  These areas frequently occur by garages due to a gradual settlement of the gravel installed prior to the installation of the asphalt.  A supervisor spoke with the complainant on November 11, 2013 to explain the cause of the low lying area by the garage.  The complainant was informed that the asphalt in that area would need to be cut and removed, new gravel would need to be installed, followed by new asphalt to raise the area and drain water away from the garage.  The customer was informed that the minimum cost for this type of service is $600.00.  The complainant informed AmeriCoat that she was satisfied with the explanation.  If she was interested in receiving a formal estimate for the repair, her son would contact us.  We have received no further communication from the complainant or her son.

As AmeriCoat informed the complainant on November 11, 2013, we will be happy to provide an estimate for repair of the low lying area on her driveway.  The damage to the driveway is caused by normal deterioration of the asphalt and the base material underneath the asphalt.  It is not a result of sealer being applied to the driveway.

Driveways will begin to show problems as they age.  Asphalt sealcoating is maintenance performed on the driveway to help slow down the natural deterioration of asphalt.  It is not designed to rejuvenate an older driveway.  As with vehicles, oil changes are performed to help maintain the vehicle.  To make a claim that sealcoating created a depression in the driveway is similar to claiming an oil change caused the brakes in a vehicle to go out.  It is not physically possible for sealcoating to cause structural damage to a driveway.  The complainant contracted AmeriCoat to perform a sealcoating service on the driveway.  We were not hired to perform a paving repair.

The pictures of the problematic area sent by the complainant are attached to this response.  It is evident from the pictures that during installation of the driveway, a valley was intentionally created in front of the garage to drain the water to the right of the driveway, away from the garage floor.  A ramp of asphalt in front of the garage was used to prevent water from entering the garage.  It is feasible that over time, ground swelling from temperature changes and the natural movement of the earth caused the right side of the drive to rise.  This is preventing the drainage from working properly, resulting in water pooling in the low lying area in front of the garage.  The complainant’s concerns are clearly a structural issue and has nothing to do with asphalt sealcoating.

As stated in our previous response, AmeriCoat will be happy to provide the complainant an estimate for repair of the low lying area on her driveway.  If desired, a manager will schedule an appointment to meet the complainant on her driveway to explain the cause of the depression and viable repair options.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:Americoat is replying to my driveway being sealcoated by them.  I had paid $200 to have repair done, NOT sealcoating.  They are skirting the issue.  Because they did not follow through on their promise to set up an appointment to discuss what was necessary last fall, and only responded once the Better Business Bureau became involved, I certainly would not trust them to have any further work done on my driveway. Customer service is extremely important, and it is not, however, important to them.

Business Response:

The complainant contracted AmeriCoat to perform a Premium Crack Sealcoating Service on her driveway on August 13, 2013.  A copy of the invoice listing the service performed, the cost of the service, and the amount paid is attached to this response.  The invoice clearly states AmeriCoat performed the Premium Crack Service which includes two coats of sealer on the driveway.  AmeriCoat has not provided the customer an estimate, nor have we performed a paving repair to this driveway.  Our last communication with the complainant was November 11, 2013.  The complainant informed AmeriCoat that she would have her son contact us if she was interested in receiving a formal estimate for the repair.  We have received no further communication from the complainant or her son prior to the involvement of the Better Business Bureau. 

As stated in our previous response, we will be happy to schedule an appointment to meet the complainant on her driveway to explain the cause of the depression and viable repair options. 

4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a drive way to be removed and replaced in April 2013. I received a quote from Americoat of Plain City Ohio and decided to go with them. It was for the removal of an asphalt drive way and to replace it with concrete. The stated they were going to start the job in June 2013 which was fine with us. The delayed they job until August 31st. Then when they started the job they had a contractor pouring the cement without putting the gravel base as stated in the contract. I have called them and e-mailed them numerous times and they have not returned my phone calls or e-mails other than 1 time. I offered to meet them at the site to show them the pictures I have from that day, showing that the gravel was not put down. But they again have never responded to me. ***** **** responded to me one time via e-mail which I will submit to you, but did not answer my question. Now they are requested the balance due when the job was not performed to contract specifications.

Desired Settlement: I want them to communicate with me. They have not responded to any of my attempts to reach them. I also want this driveway to be replaced as to contract for the durability of the drive is compromised at this point.

Business Response: On April 4, 2014, AmeriCoat responded to the consumer complaint.

***** ****** contracted a removal of his asphalt driveway and installation of a concrete driveway with AmeriCoat on June 26, 2013. We have had several communications with the homeowner since the complaint with the BBB was filed.  He is extremely satisfied with the work performed.  He contacted our company after the complaint was filed to make payment in full.  He informed AmeriCoat that he would contact the BBB to close the complaint.  

4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat applied driveway sealer immediately before a rainstorm. The rain resulted in splatter of sealer onto siding, trim, foundation and garage floor. They attempted to clean the tar but could not and in the process damaged the siding and left a mismatch of the siding coloration. I have painted the trim myself and have tried for four months to get them to resolve this easily and inexpensively. However, they continue to ignore my attempts at resolution and now, I must seek other avenues.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I will accept having the lower portion of the front house elevation powerwashed and a $100 appearance allowance paid for the siding damage. Otherwise, estimates will be secured to have a contractor rectify the damages and pursue repayment per the estiimates.

Business Response: AmeriCoat has been in contact with this customer to reach a resolution.  We will provide an update to the Better Business Bureau when an agreement has been met.

Consumer Response: **** ********Please reinstate this complaint. Americoat has not made any effort to resolve the situation despite more statements that they would do so. I cannot get them to return my calls now and all promises were not met.
 

Business Response: I wanted to sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with our service. We pride ourselves on our high quality and excellent customer service and are disheartened that you did not receive the attention you deserved. AmeriCoat would like to schedule a time to powerwash the siding on the front of the house located at **** *********** *** ********, OH 43221. AmeriCoat will deliver a payment of $100.00 when the powerwashing is performed. Again, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience with our company. Should you have any questions or additional concerns, you may reach me any time at (**** ********, or you may e-mail me at *******************. Please contact me to schedule the powerwashing of your house. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called to cancel service on Monday morning November 4, 2013 at 8:30AM. They said fine. Later, in the afternoon, received call from my wife. They are at house, completed work on driveway. Called to inform them. They would contact their crew. Called back, discussed with them again, said that it should have been canceled. Asked to talk to someone in charge*****-Customer Service/Office Manager. Not in office. Person taking call would call back. Received no call. Called again, around 4:30PM, asked for manager, received run around, they would have to call me back. Received no call back. To date, received no call. They just want to cover-up their mistakes and run.

Desired Settlement: Request Ms. ***** ********, Customer Service/Office Manager or Mr. *** ********, President contact me. Discuss why no call back/resolution.

Business Response: Service was scheduled for Monday, November 4.  A reminder call was made to the customer on Friday, November 1, reminding them that service would be performed on Monday.  The customer contacted AmeriCoat On November 4 at 2:33PM.  After immediately contacting the crew, we informed the customer that the service had already been performed.  The customer did not contact AmeriCoat prior to the service date to inform us of their request for cancellation. 

Business Response: Service was scheduled for Monday, November 4.  A reminder call was made to the customer on Friday, November 1, reminding them that service would be performed on Monday.  The customer contacted AmeriCoat On November 4 at 2:33PM.  After immediately contacting the crew, we informed the customer that the service had already been performed.  The customer did not contact AmeriCoat prior to the service date to inform us of their request for cancellation. 

Consumer Response:

False.  This was discussed with them at 8:30 AM.  The representative said that that the service is cancelled. 

Called multiple times that day.  Requested call back.  Received no call back.  Requested call back from someone in charge.  Received no call back.

Every time I called, received run around.   No call back.  They had no intentions to cancel the order.  They had no intentions to call back.

To date, received no call from them.   Take the order, take the money and run.

Corrupt business.  Scam

Consumer Response:

False.  This was discussed with them at 8:30 AM.  The representative said that that the service is cancelled. 

Called multiple times that day.  Requested call back.  Received no call back.  Requested call back from someone in charge.  Received no call back.

Every time I called, received run around.   No call back.  They had no intentions to cancel the order.  They had no intentions to call back.

To date, received no call from them.   Take the order, take the money and run.

Corrupt business.  Scam

Business Response: I wanted to sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with our service. We pride ourselves on our high quality and excellent customer service and are disheartened that you did not receive the attention you deserved. Per our
agreement, AmeriCoat will seal two coats at **** ****** **** in the fall of 2014 at no charge. We have scheduled service for Tuesday, September 16, 2014, weather permitting. If this is not a convenient date for you,
please let us know and we will be happy to reschedule the service. Due to material shrinkage, the sealant and crack sealant will not make cracks disappear or level off with the driveway. Cracks will re-open in time based on the general quality of the pavement and its foundation. If your driveway has severe oil or rust stains, you should consider our optidnal Premium Primer Treatment. It is not necessary for you to be home for the service to be performed. Also, invisible fences, sprinklers and other underground devices must be clearly marked before service begins to prevent possible damage. AmeriCoat is not responsible for damage to such devices. Again, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience with our company. Should you have any questions or additional concerns, you may reach me any time at (***) ***-****, or you may e-mail me at *******************. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

Business Response: I wanted to sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with our service. We pride ourselves on our high quality and excellent customer service and are disheartened that you did not receive the attention you deserved. Per our
agreement, AmeriCoat will seal two coats at **** ****** **** in the fall of 2014 at no charge. We have scheduled service for Tuesday, September 16, 2014, weather permitting. If this is not a convenient date for you,
please let us know and we will be happy to reschedule the service. Due to material shrinkage, the sealant and crack sealant will not make cracks disappear or level off with the driveway. Cracks will re-open in time based on the general quality of the pavement and its foundation. If your driveway has severe oil or rust stains, you should consider our optidnal Premium Primer Treatment. It is not necessary for you to be home for the service to be performed. Also, invisible fences, sprinklers and other underground devices must be clearly marked before service begins to prevent possible damage. AmeriCoat is not responsible for damage to such devices. Again, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience with our company. Should you have any questions or additional concerns, you may reach me any time at (***) ***-****, or you may e-mail me at *******************. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

1/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat removed and installed a new concrete front porch in Nov 2012. By April 2013 the porch began to crack which after additional inspection and discussion it was determined, BY AMEROCOAT, that they incorrectly installed the porch. Americoat admitted they should have included an expansion joint at the point where the porch is cracking. I was told it would have to be removed and replaced; however, due to the unusually wet summer they were backed up several months. So i was more than accommodating by accepting to wait a few months for the porch to be fixed. Well, that was 5 months ago and I've called 5 times in the past 2 weeks only to get the run around and that someone will call me back with more details. No one has ever called me back. Porch is supposed to be under warranty but at this point they don't seem to want to honor that warranty after the porch they installed started cracking only 5 months after installation.

Desired Settlement: At this point I want a refund of the portion of the overall bill related to the porch installation

Business Response: AmeriCoat will replace the concrete step in the spring of 2014.  If the weather is favorable over the winter, we will contact the customer and schedule the replacement of the step in the off season.  AmeriCoat will stay in contact with the customer regarding the replacement date.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ****** 

###-###-####




















1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a repeat customer of AmeriCoat and I had my driveway sealed on 8/6/13 as I do each year. Previously, I have had no problems with this company and they did a good job. This time, the job was messy, alot of debris was at the end of my driveway and there were some blades of grass or twigs that appeared to be sealed into my driveway and there was a orange rust like spot near the edge of the driveway as if something was spilled. There are still white lines that appear. When I spray water on the driveway it leaves marks. I had my driveway sealed on a Tuesday, and did not remove the sign and drive on it until Saturday.I called the office on Monday, August 11th to tell them about the orange spot and I was told the service manager would call me me within 24-48 hours. I never received a call so I called again on August 16th and stated I never received a call and stated I should never had paid ahead since I feel I am being ignored. The lady on the phone promised me that was not the matter and said she would take my message directly to the service manager and have them call me. To the date of this writing I still have not recieved a call.I find this very unprofessional and feel as a return customer I should get some type of action when calling, I have refered my parents and friends to do business with this company. I will tell them not to use and I don't think I will use them in the future due to how they don't respond to customers concerns. I am quite disappointed in the treatment I have recieved.

Desired Settlement: I just wanted someone to at least call me and come look at my driveway. I want this to be on the site so future customers can know what they might experience. It would be nice for the company to contact me and look at my driveway and either re-do it or refund my money. I would have thought they would have handled repeat customers better than they have treated me.

Business Response: The customer did contact AmeriCoat with her concerns regarding the driveway.  Messages to discuss the customer's concerns were left at the numbers provided.  We were able to speak with the customer on August 27 to schedule a repair for August 30.  The customer's drive is experiencing rust stains.  Rust stains are caused from iron deposits that are mixed in with the aggregate of the driveway during the mining process.  The iron deposits become oxidized and the rust particles rise to the surface of the driveway.  Over time, the iron deposits will work their way to the surface of the drive and pop out of the drive leaving small divots.  This is a common issue with driveways and unfortunately, cannot be prevented.  AmeriCoat does offer a special sealcoating service to help prevent the rust particles from bleeding through.  The rust will not harm the integrity of the sealer nor the structure of the drive.  It is aesthetically unpleasing.  This service was recommended to the customer in the future.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked for two coats of seal on my driveway. While the original date was changed due to rain, the next two dates were changed because the company overbooked themselves. Both times, I agreed to the dates that the company called and asked for in order to expedite the service and both times I received a phone call that date informing me that no one would be coming. Also, the company changed dates on me even without rain, probably because they overbooked themselves. Then when the company finally did come to my house, they did only one coat of seal. They have already cashed my check for the full amount even though three weeks later I have only one coat down. Furthermore, my attempts to call a manager have been ignored and my messages have gone unanswered. At this point I am not sure if a second coat will ever be completed, as there is no communication, and I have already paid for this service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund as it took close to a month for the services to be completed. I asked for a partial refund or a sooner date and was told a manager would be calling me back, but this never occurred. Therefore I decided my only option at this point is to ask for a refund through the BBB.

Business Response: AmeriCoat sealed the first coat of a two coat service on Tuesday, October 22.  Due to the weather conditions, the cure time was extended.  The customer was contacted and informed the second coat could not be applied in the same day.  The customer informed a representative that she wasn't satisfied waiting for the second coat.  Management left messages to discuss the customer's concerns.  AmeriCoat was able to reach the customer on October 28.  The customer did not want a second coat to be applied.  A refund check for the difference in cost for a one coat service was processed and mailed that same day.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never showed up to complete work. They were scheduled to come Sept 4 and never showed up to complete work. When I attempted to call..I was sent directly to voice mail. This was despite calling during office hours. An email was sent on August 23 by ********* confirming they had received my request for blacktop repair and that the service would be completed on September 4. I sent an email back indicating that I wanted two coats of blacktop sealer applied. Since that time, I have not been able to speak to anyone about the service.

Desired Settlement: I would like work completed with large discount. I have used them many times in the past, but wonder if they can now be trusted.

Business Response: The customer left a message on August 22 asking to be scheduled for service.  Messages were left for the customer and an e-mail was sent asking customer which service they would like to have performed.  In the e-mail, September 4 was offered as a possible date for service.  The customer did not contact AmeriCoat to confirm service.  We received a message on September 5 requesting a return call because service wasn't performed on September 4.  Messages were left for the customer letting him know we need confirmation from a customer before we schedule service.  We were able to speak with the customer on September 6 and scheduled service for September 13.  The service was completed on September 13.  The customer filed the complaint with the BBB on September 4 prior to making any contact with AmeriCoat.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE HAD AMERICOAT OUT ON SEPTEMBER 11,2013 TO DO 1 COAT SEAL ON OUR DRIVE WAY. WE HAD A RAIN STORM THAT DAY AND IT GOT ALL OVER THE SIDE OF OUR HOUSE. I CALLED IN AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD COME RESEAL DRIVE WAY ON FRIDAY AND WOULD ALSO CLEAN THE ASPHALT OFF THE SIDE OF OUR HOUSE. I ADVISED WE HAD JUST PAINTED HOUSE LAST YEAR AND IF THEY POWER WASHED IT THE PAINT WOULD COME OFF. SHE(AMERICOAT) SAID NO WORRIES AMERICOAT WOULD FIX IT. TWO GUYS CAME ON FRIDAY AND RE SEALED THE DRIVE WAY AND SAID ANOTHER COMPANY COMES OUT TO FIX THE SIDE OF THE HOUSE. HE SAID THEY WILL HAVE TO PAINT WHERE THE SPLATTER WAS. I TOLD HIM THEY WILL HAVE TO REPAINT EVERYTHING BECAUSE IT WONT MATCH UP. I HEARD NOTHING. CALLED MONDAY AND SHE(LADY AT AMERICOAT) SAID SHE WOULD LAY NOTE ON HER DESK AND RETURN MY CALL THAT DAY. DIDNT HEAR FROM THEM. CALLED TUESDAY WAS SENT TO RECORD A VOICEMAIL LEFT ONE. CALLED WENDS HAD TO LEAVE ANOTHER MESSAGE. CALLED TODAY (THURSDAY) AND GOT HUNG UP ON. I WANT MY HOUSE FIXED. THEY KNEW IT WAS GOING TO STORM AND STILL SEALED IT ANYWAYS. I JUST WANT MY HOUSE FIXED.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY HOUSE CLEANED..IF NEEDS REPAINTED THEN PAINT IT. IF IT DOESNT MATCH UP THEY NEED TO REPAINT MY WHOLE HOUSE..

Business Response: The siding of the customer's house experienced rain damage.  AmeriCoat informed the customer that we would be happy to paint the damaged siding.  The customer informed AmeriCoat that she just had the house painted earlier in the year.  We asked for the paint information and the customer informed us that she no longer had it.  AmeriCoat informed the customer that we will schedule painting of the siding as soon as she provides us a paint color.  Our offer to paint the damaged portion of the siding still stands as long as the customer provides us the paint color.

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the company to seal my driveway. The driveway was sealed August 1, 2013, however, the crew splattered the black sealant material on my garage door. I requested the company repair my garage door (i.e. paint it). They have told me the would, however, they continue to fail to return to repair the damage they caused notwithstanding at least five phone calls and at least seven e-mails. Communication from the company has been difficult. It has been over a month since the damage occurred and the company has yet to repair the garage door.

Desired Settlement: Repair the damage to the garage door free of charge, waive the fee for sealing the driveway, which I have already notified the company I do not intend to pay.

Business Response: AmeriCoat agreed to paint the customer's garage door.  The customer provided a paint code from PPG for the door.  PPG informed us that the formula code was discontinued and they were unable to match the code due to their new systems.  Several messages and e-mails were sent to the customer asking the customer to choose a new paint color so we can schedule painting.  We have yet to hear from the customer.  AmeriCoat zeroed the customer's balance in exchange for painting the garage door.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: 9694032

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not consider their efforts towards repairing the garage acceptable. Their was significant delay in responsiveness towards my request for repair.  I ended up repairing it myself.   As previously noted I expect the account balance to remain waived. 

Regards,

****** ********





























11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My driveway was sealed at the end of June 2013. They got their product on my stone siding around the garage door, the trim around the garage door, and the garage door itself. I have called several times to have them come out and clean the area. Each time, I am given a different excuse on why this is not happening. First the clean up guy was on vacation. Then, I was told that their pressure washer was broke. Last week, their manager called and left me a message saying that it had been cleaned up. When I got home I looked at it and it had not been touched at all. I called and left a message last week and have not heard back as of today (9/3).

Desired Settlement: I would like my stone, trim, garage door, and mess that was left by the street curb cleaned up ASAP.

Business Response: ***** called BBB back in response to a courtesy call and left a message on voice mail. She advised that they have been in contact with the consumer and the repair is in the works. Painting will be done this week.

Consumer Response: I need to have this complaint re-opened.  The last update from the business was from ***** who said they would be out to paint.  She has contacted me several times and has been extremely friendly.  Their painter came out on Tuesday 10/1/2013 and edged both garage doors.  He informed us not to open the door for 4 hours.  We waited until the next day to try.  The large door (2 car garage) is painted shut and will not open.  The smaller door (1 car garage) opened but got stuck and bent the top of the garage door in half.  The aluminum door is now creased on top.  After inspecting the doors, I found he had painted the panels to each other and also painted the weather stripping to the doors, where he should have removed the weather stripping before painting.  I have spoken to ***** and she is supposed to talk to their director and call me back.  That was on 10/2/2013. Thanks.

Business Response: AmeriCoat has been in communication with the customer to reach a resolution.

Consumer Response: Is there anyway to make it so this complain stops closing?  This is twice now, it is NOT resolved.  Yes, it has been 5 months and I am still working on a resolution with them.Thanks,

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested my driveway to be sealed as they were offering a 15% discount, the service was to be rendered on 08/15/13 but I received a call that their truck had broken down and they would come out on seal my driveway on 08/16/13. I called them to confirm that they would be doing the job on 08/16/13 and they said yes. They finally came out, but applied the seal coating to my next door neighbors driveway at **** ******* **. and left the invoice in my neighbors door. Even though the correct address is on the invoice, they did not render the service at the correct address and left the invoice charging $92.65 at the wrong address also.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should apply the seal coating at no cost to my driveway as it was their fault and mix up.

Consumer Response: This email is to inform you that complaint #******* has been resolved, there is no need to continue with it.  Please confirm your receipt of this message.
 

1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hi! i complain about my driveway that the americoat done work.my complain the product that they put on my driveway asphalt is low quality.and all my friend come see this driveway they said that is not right work my people said that all the small rock is start losing and kind a rough they said.now they come here in check ,the're employee who look and work little they told me this is need to be repair ,and they will talk the office that your driveway need to replace ,and i been calling them they dont have no ansewr for me if they want to replace i been calling them a lot i spoke ******** he don't have no answer all the time been trnsfer me to right preson leave messages to this person he is a manager field he dont call me at all.and the guy told that ashalt is not right mix.

Desired Settlement: i want them to replace it that all i want i pay the price they better do it right.as soon as possible before it get worse.

Business Response: The installation of the driveway was completed on September 14, 2011 to industry standard.  The customer contacted us on October 23, 2012, one month out of warranty, regarding two small depressions on the driveway.  Our estimator was at the customer's property the next day on October 24, 2012 to assess the areas of concern.  It was determined that the customer created two small divots in the asphalt from parking heavy items on the drive without using proper weight distribution.  Even though there was no defect in workmanship or material and the warranty was expired, AmeriCoat performed a repair on the drive to fill and blend in the affected areas at no charge to the customer on November 21, 2012.  The customer contacted AmeriCoat on November 21, 2012 after the free repair was completed and demanded a complete removal and replacement of the driveway.  The Director of Operations inspected the driveway.  He determined that the asphalt is within specification with no structural defects.  The Director contacted the customer and recommended sealcoating the asphalt, since it had not yet been sealed.  Sealcoating asphalt driveways should be performed every 1-2 years for preventative maintenance.  All new asphalt driveways should be sealed within 90-120 days of installation.  As there is no cause to replace the driveway, AmeriCoat will not replace this customer's driveway.  As the Director of Operations informed the customer, we will be happy to discuss and resolve this in mediation.

12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 13th 2012 I contracted AmeriCoat Asphalt & Concrete to seal my drive way. I had a good experience with this company the year before, so I decided again to use their service. The issue started when an employee was trimming the grass near the drive way and accidentally shot a rock through the glass storm door. The door shattered and left some scratches and dents on the entry door as well. The employees immediately left after sealing my drive way and left me with the mess to attend to. After calling the company to figure out a resolution to fix my door, **** referred me to his manager ***** because he was on vacation. ***** scheduled her maintenance employee to replace the new storm door furnished by ***** on July 16 2012. The maintenance employee scheduled a time with me to repair the storm door to include the painting of the entry door. He started at noon, and six hours later there was no resolution as he left without telling me he would return. From July 17 through August 1, I would play phone tag with this company where I would jump back and forth between conversations with **** and *****. They both seemed to not have the time or patience to deal with fixing my door. The answer I would always get would be I am sorry, I got tied up. A conversation had with **** on August 1 2012; we agreed that it would be better if ***** were to re-install a new door. He mentioned to me that he would stop by on August 3 2012 to take the door off to return to ***** so that a new door could be purchased with the installation service. **** never showed up on August 3 2012, but I did receive a phone call from him today August 4 2012 where he said again, I am sorry, I got tied up. After talking to **** he mentioned that he would stop by to take a look at the door. He did show up and his attempt to fix the door was unsuccessful. The glass storm door still has gaps and there are still missing parts to include the keys that I need to lock the door. **** mentioned to ** ********** who was present during the time that he would order the parts (because they were lost during the previous installation) to include a weather strip that would be needed to seal the door properly. 23 days later my door has not been fixed and there seems to not be a resolution that can be found any time soon. Americoat who provided this service has caused me more grief than any customer should have to experience. I am extremely dissatisfied and discouraged and by far this is the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

Desired Settlement: The storm glass door currently installed needs to be returned to ***** with a refund. The same door needs to be re-purchased to include the $119 installation fee from *****. The entry door needs another coat of paint since the first coat was not enough to cover the blemishes. A discount of the owed payment of $92.65 is in order for the inconvenience caused by having to clean up the glass on July 13 2012 and for the 4 hours of vacation time that I took to accommodate the maintenance worker on July 16.

Business Response: AmeriCoat will have ***** remove the door installed by AmeriCoat, repurchase the door, and have ***** install the new door.  Another coat of paint will be applied to the entry door as well.  The $87.20 balance for the sealcoating service has been zeroed out.  We will arrange a day and time for the painting of the entry door with the customer.  We will also notify the customer of the installation date provided by *****.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Consumer Response: BBB received a phone call from **** **** stating he has not heard from the company.

*** **** would like to know when he can expect to hear from AmeriCoat.


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 




















7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Americoat to reseal our driveway. They called and scheduled the appointment for Friday June 1, 2012. It rained on that particular Friday so they called and wanted to reschedule for Saturday June 2, 2012 but we were not available that day so we requested that it be done on Tuesday June 5,2012. The customer service person said that would be fine so the appointment was scheduled. I had left Saturday morning to run some errands and when I returned the driveway had been sealed and the Americoat sign hung across the front. I was disappointed that it was done on the wrong day but figured that they must have just gotten their signals crossed. The real problem came when I realized that my garage door was open becuase my mother was stopping by to drop something off. The people who did the driveway had blow all kinds of debri into my garage and covered my new 2012 Harley Davidson Road Glide. My wife immediately called and left a message about what had happened. We received a call back the next day from customer service and they said that they wanted to make it right and requested pictures of the bike and a qoute to have it cleaned. I contacted the local Harley dealership to get an estimate to have it cleaned and they said it would be $250. I then went out to take the pictures that they requested and upon closer investigation found that my saddlebag had been scrathed. I sent an email to Americoat containing the pictures of my bike and told them about the orignal estimate. ******** (Americoat) was handling my case and requested a written qoute. the written qoute was for $350 because of an additional hour labor to buff out the scratch. Americoat was not satisified with my qoute so encouraged them to get some of their own. ******** questioned the validity of my claim more then once and today I spoke with **** ****** (Director of Operations) and he too could not resolve this issue. I am getting the run around and no one there wants to tak eownership of the issue and fix it. 

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to fix what they messed up. My bike was spotless before they blew a bunch of debri onto it. I had just had it at the dealership a week before hand to have black heat shields put on it and there was not a spot on it. The bike has 200 miles. A new saddlebag is over $300,I am not asking them to replace it just fix what they messed up. The qoute went up when the scratch was discovered and they are working to make me look dishonest and I am not happy with how I have been treated

Business Response: The customer is drawing a conclusion without proof.  As stated by the customer, he was in possession of the motorcycle for one week prior to AmeriCoat sealing the drive located at 233 ****** ***** ****.  There is no evidence that the dust settling on the motorcycle nor the scuff in the saddlebag was caused by anything other than normal dust settlement found in a garage or from road travel.  As a show of good faith, AmeriCoat offered to refund the $92.65 paid for the sealcoating service.  AmeriCoat will still honor the original offer of a refund of $92.65.  We will not make any further negotiations and will be happy to meet in arbitration.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Please have Americoat refund the amount of the service as they said they would as resolution. I do not agree with their response and I hope that my complaint will stay on file for future customers to review.