Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial paving, seal coating, and striping and offers snow plowing and install holiday lighting services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart




Additional Locations

  • 7510 Montgomery Rd

    Plain City, OH 43064 (877) 732-5872 (614) 335-1000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/24/15 employees slopped sealant on my garage door, my siding, and my wooden fence. Jonathon and Rod came out to clean it but only smeared it. Stains remain on the siding and door. I left a total of 8 messages in addition to a couple of conversations. Last week, two employees promised to call and resolve. One didn't call at all, the other left 2 voicemails with a promise to call the next day. That didn't happen.

Desired Settlement: Replace the affected siding and paint the garage door with appropriate paint. I expect a quality repair in the next week

Business Response:

AmeriCoat apologizes to the customer for the frustrations encountered from our services.  We will be happy to paint the garage door with the color of the customer’s choosing.  Please let us know the color and we will coordinate a date for the painting of the door.  The siding can be cleaned as well.  We will have a supervisor out by next week to clean the siding.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  there was no remedy to my complaint.  A representative came to "repair" on 11/24 but nothing was done.  This is the third representative to look at the damage caused by AmeriCoat employees.  All three have recommended replacing the siding and painting the garage.  AmeriCoat has failed to contact me or repair my house on the dates they stated.  I have no faith that they will complete the "repair" since they have not met ANY of their deadlines.  At this point I suppose we will have to go to court.

Regards,

**** *********

Business Response:

An appointment was scheduled with the complainant for December 11, 2015.  On that date, two managers were at the complainant’s property and performed the repairs necessary to remove the sealer splatter from the affected areas.  Upon completion of the repair, AmeriCoat verified with the complainant that he was satisfied with the results.  The balance of the complainant's account has been reduced to zero as well.

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *********

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1 - On April, of 2014 I have a contract with AmeriCoat to remove my entire driveway, repair foundation, and replace with new asphalt with total cost of $1,438.00. And it was done in April. 2- On September, of 2014 I was scheduled by the same company ( AmeriCoat ) to have my driveway sealed with a total cost of $120.00. They had to come three time to do it, because the first two times, it did not look right. And I really appreciate them come in ever time to make sure it is done correctly. 3 - The problem started on August 2015, when I start to notice that there are different cracks in my driveway. I was calling AmeriCot once or twice a week, and every time, I explain my problem, and I need these cracks in my driveway to be fix before it gets worse in winter. The only one positive respond I got was on Oct, 15 from Kristin, she said the only day is available is tomorrow. I was glad to hear that, and she said ( they will have to put extra extra extra some kind of martial to fix the cracks ) . No body show up on Friday, the 16th but on Monday the 19th I came back from work and my driveway was sealed, with no any especial treatment done to fix the cracks. And in my mail box an invoice with $89.00 I called Kristin and she ask me to send her some pictures, I did, then she said she will look at them then will call me back, but she never did. I call no good answer. I received an email with the invoice for the second time to pay $89.00 before Nov, the 3rd. I called them to let them know that their crew came to my address with the wrong work order. Because, I never ask to come to seal my driveway. I need the cracks in my driveway to get fix. I called them for the last time on Nov the 6th and I was not happy and I let them know, if I will not get a good respond with in a week, I will have to fill a complaint.

Business Response:

On 3/6/14 the complainant requested an estimate for driveway repairs.  AmeriCoat sent an estimate for removing and replacing the driveway per the complainant’s measurements.  On 3/19/14 she confirmed that she wanted to proceed with the service.  On 4/3/14 AmeriCoat received a credit card down payment for $479.33 and on 4/9/15 received a copy of the signed contract.  The driveway was removed and replaced on 4/23/14.  On 9/11/15, almost 5 months past the warranty period of one year, the complainant called AmeriCoat to request that someone take a look at her driveway because it was cracking.  The driveway was immediately put in queue to be looked at and assessed.  Our sales manager, called the complainant to let her know that it would be a couple of weeks before we were out to look at the driveway and that the driveway was out of warranty.  Even though it was out of warranty, the sales manager informed the complainant he would advise her on what, if anything, should be done.  The driveway was assessed and there were a few small hairline surface cracks in the driveway that pose no threat to the structural integrity of the driveway. The complainant was told that the driveway just needed to be scheduled for sealcoating, a service that should be performed regularly to maintain the driveway. This was conveyed to the complainant and the driveway was scheduled to be sealed. The majority of the areas of concern are adjacent to a severely deteriorated concrete sidewalk that is breaking away and allowing unnecessary stresses to the bottom of the asphalt when driven over.

AmeriCoat is requesting that the complainant pay for the sealcoating service she received.

Consumer Response: Thanks for responding, but I am not happy with it. where it said( Our sales manager, called the complainant to let her know that it would be a couple of weeks before we were out to look at the driveway and that the driveway was out of warranty). NO BODY NEVER EVER SAID THAT MY DRIVEWAY WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. Around mid September Mike left me a massage and he said ( He knows that I called couple times and he said we will see what we can do. He left his cell phone number if I need to call him, and he said he will get back to me with the next couple of days ). Never said a word about the Warranty. After few days I called him back to check, he said that he is in a meeting and he will call me, but he never call me back. Among my calls, I was able to get a hold of Den ( who I was told many times, Den will give you a call because he is out of the office now ). Anyway, the one time I was able to get a hold of Den, he said that he did stop by and took a look of my driveway, and someone will be out there to take care of it, but he could not give a date or time, and I told him it is October, as long as it will get done before winter. Never said anything about the warranty, and nobody came. Finally, I got a massage from Kristian. I called her, she knows my story very well as I told everybody about it each time a called for weeks. She said, we will schedule somebody to come out to put extra extra extra coat of a certain martial. ( I can not remember the name of it ), to fix the cracks. I was glad to hear that. Monday the 19th, after work I came back home my driveway was sealed, ( do not know why ), I still can see the cracks. I thought I was suppose to get ( extra extra extra coat of a certain martial for the cracks only), as Kristian told me. I called her and I said they sealed my driveway and the cracks still there. She said send me pictures on my cell phone. I did, then I call again to make sure she got them. She said( it is getting late I will have to leave the office to pick up my daughter, and I will look at them and will call you later ). She never call again. I do not have any documents to support my situation, because it was all by phone. Your response ended the story. I will just have to say LORD HAVE MERCY.

12/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is about Americoat Asphalt Co. They send out cards advertising driveway paving. From $70 some to $100. + some dollars. Which is nowhere near true. They sent me an Arial view estimate of $1,250.0 for overlay & asphalt replacement for $1,305.00. They said they had to get an on site estimate, which they never did. The Tax Department says it is supposed to be 30' X 10' which is what they went by. But it is only 26' X 10' when I measured it. That is $174.00 more than they should have charged. I made a down payment on Sept. 20 of $435.00 Finally in Oct 26 I got a call through to them about when they were going to do it after many tries. They said they would do it Dec. 4 which is to cold to put Asphalt down, so I cancelled the job and ask for a refund for the $435.00. They said they had a certin policy they go by. After 3 more calls when they were going to send it & after one hangup. They still didn't send it. So I went up there on the 13th of Nov. & they said they had already sent it on the 12th & I should get i the 13th or 15th. Well I haven't seen it yet. When I was there they showed me a copy of some kind of check paper but it was square & wasn't a check. They just keep lying & putting me off. So can you check with them & find out why. Thank you,

Desired Settlement: Refund of $435.00.

Business Response:

The complainant requested an estimate for a driveway replacement on 9/10/15.  AmeriCoat sent the estimate to the complainant in the mail on 9/14/15.  The overlay option was for $1250.00 and the Remove and Replacement was $1305.00.  Both of which are the minimum cost for each respective category.  The complainant agreed to the Remove and Replacement pricing and signed the contract to proceed with the work.  AmeriCoat received the contract and deposit in the amount of $435.00 on 9/29/15.  The complainant was then given her paving date of 12/4/15.  AmeriCoat received a call on 11/11/15 at 4:05 pm from the complainant stating that she did not want to spend the money anymore and would like to wait until next year to decide.  She requested a refund of her deposit in the amount of $435.00.  The request was processed immediately and a check was cut, made out to the complainant in the amount of $435.00 at 4:22 pm on 11/11/15 and put in the mail on 11/12/15.  The complainant showed up at AmeriCoat’s office on 11/13/15 to inquire about the refund check.  Our Project coordinator showed the complainant the refund request paperwork and check stub that was attached and let her know that the check was detached from the stub and mailed the day before on 11/12/15.  

AmeriCoat cut and mailed the check immediately at the complainant’s request.  If the complainant would like another check cut so she can pick it up in person, then AmeriCoat would be happy to do so; however, we will have to subtract the stop payment fee of $35.00 that AmeriCoat would be charged by our bank to stop payment on the previous check.

12/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat sealed our driveway several weeks ago. During the work, the crew splashed the blacktop sealant on our garage door, our home's wood trim, and our home's foundation blocks. After contacting them about the matter, I was promised these areas would be cleaned. Despite being patient and after multiple follow up calls, the blacktop sealant remains on our home.

Desired Settlement: Return our home's wood trim, foundation blocks and garage door back to its original state prior to the Americoat job either by cleaning and/or repainting the areas which were splashed with blacktop sealant.

Business Response: AmeriCoat will be happy to repaint the customer’s wood garage trim, foundation blocks that have sealer splatter and the garage door.  We ask that the customer provide us with the color they wish these items to be painted.  We will then call the customer to schedule a time for this service to be performed.

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat was scheduled to seal our driveway on Sep.17 and never showed. We received an email saying the service was rescheduled for Sep.22. On Sep.22, they arrived in the morning, trimmed all along the edges of our driveway, left the debris all over our driveway and disappeared. No call, no explanation. When I called Americoat to ask what was going on, they assured me they would be back to seal our driveway that day. They never showed. After two calls and 3 days, the debris is still all over our driveway. I have told Americoat that I no longer wish to do business with their company, but that their crew needs to come back out and remove the debris from our driveway. I have been told twice that someone would be out and still no one has showed.

Desired Settlement: At this point, we just want them to come back out and remove the debris from our driveway. It looks awful.

Business Response:

A crew has been out to remove the debris from the customer’s driveway.  AmeriCoat does guarantee the quality of our materials and workmanship.  We are very sorry we did not meet the excellent customer service our organization strives to provide.   If the customer allows, we would like to opportunity to make things right and perform the services originally requested by the customer at a discounted rate.

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********

9/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had AmeriCoat replace an asphalt driveway and it is rippled. it has noticeable waves in the driveway, it is not flat. my granddaughter dripped and fell on the driveway. I have asked AmeriCoat in writing to come and fix the driveway, to make it flat and they said that it was 'normal' for asphalt driveways to have waves in them. I sent them another email asking that it be repaired and they did not respond.

Desired Settlement: all i want is a flat driveway that i paid for in full when they put it in. i paid over $2400 to have this done and if they cannot correct the waves, they need to refund the money so that i can get someone else to fix it.

Business Response:

AmeriCoat replaced the complainant’s driveway with a new asphalt driveway on September 22, 2014.  On May 14, 2015, the complainant contacted AmeriCoat with concerns about rippling on the driveway.  On May 13, 2015, a sales manager assessed the property.  The complainant was told that there were no signs of cracking or upheaval on the driveway and the structural integrity was still very good.  The complainant was told to monitor the driveway.  If she had further concerns, we asked that she call us.

On August 27, 2015, AmeriCoat received an e-mail from the complainant informing us that the driveway has an uneven surface and she had concerns that someone may trip on parts of the asphalt.  The sales manager in charge of the account re-assessed the property on August 31, 2015.  On September 1, 2015, it was determined that an infrared repair needed to be performed on the areas of concern at no additional charge to the complainant.  A message was left for the complainant to discuss the repair procedure and schedule the repair.  We received notification from the BBB that the complainant filed this complaint on September 1, 2015.  We will continue to try to speak with the complainant to schedule a repair for the driveway.

9/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the beginning of May 2015 we received an advertisement stating that Americoat would be working on driveways in our neighborhood on May 26, 2015. We called, described our cracked driveway in need of crack filler and sealing, and the customer service representative recommended the Premium Service, which according to their ad includes 3 applications of crack filler and 2 applications of sealer, which would smooth out and protect our driveway. We agreed with the recommendation and scheduled the service for May 26, 2015 along with others in our neighborhood. After being rescheduled multiple times, including several times allegedly due to rain on days when there was no rain, a representative from Americoat applied one coat of sealer to our driveway on July 30, 2015. The representative did not prepare the driveway as stated in the advertisement (no trimming the edges, no protection of the concrete near the blacktop areas, etc.) The representative was here for approximately half an hour. When there was no note explaining when they would return to finish the job, we called and were told that they did not have enough materials on their truck that day and they would come back to finish. A representative returned on August 13, 2015, and applied one coat of sealer to our driveway. This time the representative was here for less than half an hour and the only preparation was using a leaf blower (no trimming, no protection of areas not to be sealed). The actual sealing took approximately 10 minutes and no crack filler was applied. In addition, the sealer was smeared on the concrete leading into our garage and all along the stone landscaping lining one side of the driveway. A quick application of painter's tape could have prevented this damage to our property. After this second visit on August 13, 2015, the representative left a bill for 2 applications of sealer and 1 application of crack filler. What we actually ordered was 2 applications of sealer and 3 applications of crack filler. Our driveway did not receive any applications of crack filler. At this point it is 3 months past the originally scheduled service date, the service we ordered has not been performed, our property is in worse condition than it was before due to their sloppy application, and we are being billed for services that were not performed. We are requesting the help of the Better Business Bureau to resolve this dispute and to get the charges waived as the service has not been completed and we now have to spend additional time and money repairing the damage to our property.

Desired Settlement: As we do not believe this company is capable of completing the job in a timely manner and without further damage to our property, we are requesting a billing adjustment. We would have been willing to pay for the two coats of sealer; however, we now have to spend time and money repairing the damage that was caused and therefore our entire bill should be waived.

Business Response:

AmeriCoat was not aware that this customer had any issues with the service until we were contacted by the Better Business Bureau.  AmeriCoat offers to apply two applications of crack sealer and one coat of sealer at no additional charge to the customer, or AmeriCoat can waive the fee for the 2 Coat application already applied to the driveway.

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and accept the offer to waive the charges.

Regards,

**** *****

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scheduled an appointment a month in advance. On Monday, the day before the appointment americoat called at 1:30pm and told me that they would be out on Tuesday as scheduled. On Tuesday at 1130am, they called back stating they were one week behind schedule and would need to reschedule next week. The rep told me that they dont make the work orders for the crews until the day of so they did not know they were behind when they called on Monday. I then spoke with a manager because I could not understand how in less than 12 hours a business get behind by one week. He apologized and rescheduled my appointment for Wednesday the very next day. No one showed up on Wednesday so I called and left a message. No one returned my call. Thursday I called and requested to speak with a manager. They told me a manager would call me in an hour. No one called, I called back and spoke with the manager. She listened and told me she needed an hour to figure something out. No one called. I called again and spoke to another manager, who told me that it was now too late to help me and that they would reschedule yet again on a different date. I told that would not work and the latest I would wait was the very next day. The would not comply even after all the horrible customer service I had already endured. Americoat claims that they have excellent customer service and the guarantee 100% satisfaction. But nothing about the service I was receiving backs that up. I was a repeat customer and was not treated fairly. Americoat lied to me several times, which no business should ever do.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with the owner or ceo of the company in regards to their customer service and lack of respect from their managers. A company who claims excellent customer service and 100% satisfaction on their website should not be lying to their customers.

Business Response:

AmeriCoat sincerely apologizes for the miscommunications between our representatives and this customer.  We do strive to accommodate any special service date requests and unfortunately, were not able to meet this customer’s needs.  If the complainant wishes, we will be happy to provide one application of asphalt driveway sealant at no charge this season on a date that is convenient for the complainant. 

Consumer Response: I dont need a free coat. I need to know how and why they treated their customers this way.  I would like an explanation on how they think it is okay to lie to their customers and why they did not want to resolve the issue when they had the chance. I would like to speak with someone who is above the managers such as a director or owner.  Their website claims 100% satisfaction guaranteed but they dont fulfill that. Everyone of my complaints I have requested to speak with someone higher than a manager and yet I still have not. I also did not receive the email stating that they had replied the first time.  

Consumer Response:

This was the first notification that I have received. I did not receive a phone call that I requested nor an email. The only email I received was that you were closing the complaint. This is unacceptable and needs to be addressed immediately.  The business did not address any of my concerns and is merely giving me a unapologetic apology.  I expect this to be re-opened and handled more professionally.  I would like to speak with someone higher than the managers such as a director or owner. 
******** ******

Consumer Response: So if I understand this right, the BBB  does not care the americoat lied to their customer multiple times and has refused to contact the customer as requested?  Seems like the complaint has not been addressed but you as a company are content with that! 

I never wanted a free quote! In my complaint I addressed that I would like to speak with someone above the managers such as a director, ceo, or owner. No one in that type of position has contacted me! I want them to explain to me why and how they would treat their customers this way, no one answered that, but the BBB believes that it has been resolved? How so? 

I expect an answer and resolution.  

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my driveway seal coated on 5/19/15. About 2 days afterwards I noticed that there was seal coat on the side border of my garage door and spritz marks on the sidewalk. I called them 5/21/15 and told them to have it cleaned up. I went on vacation and returned 5/28/15 and noticed it was not cleaned up. I immediately called and spoke with a representative and she told me its scheduled for Friday 5/29/15. I mowed my yard that same Friday evening and noticed it was not cleaned as well as they broke the very bottom of the vinyl framing around the garage, the exact place where the seal coat is located. I was highly upset. Of course, its now after 5pm, no one in the office. I left a message for them to call me today 6/1/15 but I never received a call nor did they come to my home to clean the up the seal coat. I want it cleaned as well as a new piece of vinyl that borders my garage door.

Desired Settlement: Clean all seal coat off sidewalk and replace broken vinyl of the border of my garage (right hand side)

Business Response:

One of our managers will be at the customer’s property this Thursday June 18, 2015 to clean the concrete.  We will assess the trim of the garage to determine what needs to be done to remove the sealer from that area.  We will also look at the bottom of the vinyl framing.  Our crews use a broom to apply the sealer to the driveway.  We do not use equipment that could break the vinyl framing; however, if we determine that damage was caused by one of our employees, we will take the steps necessary to repair the damage.  We will contact the customer this Friday, June 19, 2015 after the property has been assessed with a resolution plan for the areas of concern.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  It's now 5:50PM 6/19/15 and according to their message, they were going to contact me on how they are going to proceed with fixing my damaged vinyl.  They failed to do that! This seems to be a huge problem with this company, considering I called them several times since 5/19/15 regarding this issue and they refuse to return calls!
I would like a call Monday 6/22/15. 

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

AmeriCoat does stand behind its work.  If we cause any damage to a customer’s property, we take full responsibility for the repairs.  AmeriCoat has since spoken with this customer and made arrangements to replace the damaged piece of garage trim.

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.   ****** came to my residence and replaced the broken garage trim with Americoat paying for the damages.

Regards,

******* ******

7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contracted with the company to seal my driveway on July 9, 2015. They never showed up or contacted me to state an alternate date. They arrived on July 16 without warning and completed the job. Because they did not contact me in advance, my roommate was not able to drive his car to work. The drive was recently completed and we are not allowed to use for 48 hours. Additionally, the work completed was very bad. The driveway had not been prepped in advance and leaves and sticks that should have been removed prior to the work being done were simply black topped over. The worker did not cover the area thoroughly either as indicated by the three coat brochure.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the work should be completed as advertised and a refund should be given. My roommate was put at a hardship due to the companies failure to communicate properly.

Business Response:

The complainant did schedule for our 3 step Premium Crack Service for July 9, 2015.  On July 8, 2015 at 3:52 PM, an e-mail was sent to the e-mail address provided by the customer reminding them of their scheduled service date of July 9, weather permitting.  On July 9, 2015 at 3:05 PM, an e-mail was sent to the customer informing them that service needed to be rescheduled due to inclement weather.  The new service date provided was July 16, 2015.  On July 15, 2015 at 2:09 PM, the following e-mail was sent to the customer reminding them of their scheduled service date of July 16:

AmeriCoat Asphalt and Concrete would like to remind you that we will be out tomorrow, Thursday, July 16, 2015, weather permitting to service your driveway.  It is not necessary for you to be home for the service to be performed.  If tomorrow is not a convenient date for you, please call us at ###-###-#######-###-#### to reschedule. 

Due to material shrinkage, the sealant and crack sealant will not make cracks disappear or level off with the driveway.  Cracks will re-open in time based on the general quality of the pavement and its foundation.  If your driveway has severe oil or rust stains, you should consider our optional Premium Primer Treatment.  It is not necessary for you to be home for the service to be performed.  Also, invisible fences, sprinklers and other underground devices must be clearly marked before service begins to prevent possible damage.  AmeriCoat is not responsible for damage to such devices.

The customer spoke with a manager on July 16, 2015 at 4:35 pm to inform them of his dissatisfaction with the work performed.  The customer was scheduled for Monday, August 3, 2015 for a supervisor to assess the quality of the application and perform any repairs necessary. 

AmeriCoat did notify the customer multiple times of the scheduled service date.  The customer is receiving a 10% discount.  No additional discounts will be provided. 

AmeriCoat does guarantee the quality of our work, and as we informed the customer on July 16, if the application does not meet our standards, a repair service will be performed. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The information provided was not correct. I informed them on july 16 that the email they had been using was Incorrect and they did not ask for a new one..and the supervisor, ******, informed me a supervisor would be out the folliwing day. On july 17, again no one came. A phone call was made that afternoon and I was informed an appountment had been made for August 3. I offered my correct email at that time. I had never been informed that all contact would be done through email prior to that conversation. In years past..phone contact had been made to inform me of changes. The work provided by the cimpany was inferior. Sealant had been applied over numorous sticks and leaves. I have never seen such a poor job. I do not believe they advertize sealing leaves and sticks to your driveway. Also cracks were not sealed and is evident by dirt in those cracks even after sealant was to have been applied.

Regards,

*** ******

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had scheduled service for my driveway to be repaved. Original date was for Wed May 20th they called me day before to reschedule be of weather. There was no chance of rain or storms in the forecas for the day of service but I agreed. We changed to sat may 30, I waited around all day called the office but they are closed on the weekends no customer service representative was available. It did not rain all day and got no notification of a cancelled appointment. I received an email the next day for the reschedule for missing my appointment on sat the 30. I spoke with a lady named Lyndi who told me I would receive additional discounts for the inconvenience, I spoke with Matt today to confirm the appointment for Monday June 22 and he told me that they actually can not add in any discounts for the previous cancelled appointments.

Desired Settlement: I would like for other users to read this complaint online to see the type of customer service or lack there of this company has for their clients

Business Response: Unfortunately, we were not in the office Friday due to the holiday.  I was unable to access this complaint online.  I included my response below.  Please let me know if you need any additional information.

AmeriCoat’s Response:

Our sealcoating services can be seriously compromised by inclement weather.  Unfortunately, there are days that we are unable to seal due to a combination of risk factors even if it doesn’t rain that day.  We look at cloud cover, humidity, temperatures, and any forecasted rain expected in the next 24-48 hours.  Asphalt sealer cures at different speeds depending on these conditions.  If we feel there is a chance for potential rain damage, we will not perform the sealcoating service that day.  The complainant was provided a 15% discount.  We do not provide additional discounts for rescheduling services due to weather risks. 

Best regards,

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had this company seal my driveway on 8/29/2012. They got the black sealer all over my house and driveway skirt. I contacted the company and they did come clean up the mess. However, the solution they used caused the concrete to turn brown and make the concrete flake. I contacted the company againI had to send the company several emails and photos to get them to come look at the issue. They told me they would come patch the concrete that was flaking and recolor the areas that were tinted. It was not until 11/4/2013 that they actually did this work. The very next day I sent an email and photos to the company showing how terrible the work was and how bad the concrete looked. They assured me it would just take some time to "blend in" and they would follow up in March. I did not hear from the company so in May I contacted them again. I then had to email them 10 more times before they would come back out to fix the problem. Finally on October 9th they came to my house and did the same terrible discolored mismatched patch job they did a year earlier. I have followed up several times and keep getting the same empty promises I have for years. They state they will contact me when the weather is nice and never do. When they do schedule an appointment they never show. My next step is to contact the Ohio Attorney General and seek legal council. I have several photos and over 2 years of email communication as proof of this ordeal.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to come replace the entire driveway skirt and sidewalk. In addition I do not want to have to deal with getting any sealing done for blacktop again after this experience. Due to the amount of time and effort involved in seeking resolution the company needs to replace my blacktop driveway with a concrete driveway.

Business Response:

The complainant’s concrete apron and sidewalk is very new.  Several pits and voids exist in areas of the concrete that were not powerwashed by AmeriCoat.  This is a very strong indicator that the concrete was not poured or finished properly when installed.  New concrete is extremely strong and should be able to withstand being powerwashed.  To properly maintain concrete, it should be sealed every few years.  The first step of sealing concrete is to thoroughly powerwash it to remove any embedded dirt and fines.  The complainant’s concrete was powerwashed as a courtesy to remove the sealer.  AmeriCoat did not perform any service that would warrant a replacement of the concrete.

 

AmeriCoat agrees to remove the $125.10 charge for the asphalt sealcoating.  AmeriCoat also agrees to seal the concrete apron and the four sidewalk blocks in front of the driveway at no charge to the complainant.  If requested, we will provide a quote to the complainant for replacing the asphalt driveway with concrete.

Consumer Response:

The proposal the company is giving is what they have already agreed to do.  They continue to say they will fix the problem and continue to not show up.  I would like them to pay another company to come fix the problem.  I would also like them to pay a company to replace the entire driveway with concrete.  Due to the amount of time I have spent to fix problems created from sealing the asphalt I do not want to have to continue to do this every 2 years when the asphalt will need sealed.  I have years of emails and pictures to prove the stress this process has created for me.
Thanks
***** ****

Business Response:

AmeriCoat again agrees to remove the $125.10 charge for the asphalt sealcoating.  AmeriCoat also agrees to seal the concrete apron and the four sidewalk blocks in front of the driveway at no charge to the complainant.  When the weather is favorable in the spring, we will schedule a time with the complainant for this work to be completed.  If requested, we will provide a quote to the complainant for replacing the asphalt driveway with concrete.   

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: Thank you for the response.  I have included several photos to clarify some issues in a final attempt to get resolution from this company prior to seeking legal council. 
Just to be clear I have included several photos of the driveway.  The first is after they came to my house and used chemicals to remove the excess blacktop sealer they got on the concrete.  You will see the solution they used discolored the concrete and in one area that they had the bottle of solution or the machine that ate through the concrete.  The other photos show the results of them coming to my house and putting filler in areas and their attempt to "tint" areas to match the rest of the concrete.  I have also included several screen shots of the 3 years of emails trying to get them to come fix the problem and their acknowledgement that they ruined the apron of my driveway.
 
I am truly in shock that they responded to my complaint stating:
 
"AmeriCoat did not perform any service that would warrant a replacement of the concrete The complainant’s concrete apron and sidewalk is very new.  Several pits and voids exist in areas of the concrete that were not powerwashed by AmeriCoat.  This is a very strong indicator that the concrete was not poured or finished properly when installed.  New concrete is extremely strong and should be able to withstand being powerwashed.  To properly maintain concrete, it should be sealed every few years.  The first step of sealing concrete is to thoroughly powerwash it to remove any embedded dirt and fines.  The complainant’s concrete was powerwashed as a courtesy to remove the sealer.  AmeriCoat did not perform any service that would warrant a replacement of the concrete.

AmeriCoat agrees to remove the $125.10 charge for the asphalt sealcoating.  AmeriCoat also agrees to seal the concrete apron and the four sidewalk blocks in front of the driveway at no charge to the complainant.  If requested, we will provide a quote to the complainant for replacing the asphalt driveway with concrete."

Regards,
***** ****

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The application was not done to scarification. We do not believe the work was performed at 100% and warrants the charge. Had another company come out to see the work performed. Also an asphalt company they also agreed it was not double coated or performed at 100%

Desired Settlement: Complete the work at 100% or remove charge so we can have another company finish the job

Business Response:

One of our managers spoke with the complainant’s husband after the service was completed.  AmeriCoat has GPS units in every vehicle.  This data is analyzed every day to ensure all coats have been completed.  The complainant’s husband was satisfied with the work after speaking with the sales manager.  We were not aware of any further issues with the service until the complainant filed a complaint with the BBB.  AmeriCoat guarantees the quality of our materials and workmanship.  We have scheduled a supervisor to assess the application.  Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us.  We stand behind the quality of our work and will take appropriate actions to rectify substandard workmanship or material issues.  After a supervisor has assessed the application, AmeriCoat will contact the complainant to discuss the results and determine a course of action if one is necessary.

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat was hired to do driveway sealcoating on July 16, 2014. In the process sprayed the black tar substance on all three of my white painted garage doors. I had reported the issue to Americoat. A supervisor inspected the damage and agreed they were not able to be cleaned. The supervisor also determined the sealcoating was inadequate and sent a crew to redo the job on Sept. 22. I was supposed to be contacted by Americoat to resolve the issue with the damage. I was not contacted. Instead, when I complained again, another supervisor was sent to inspect the damage in September. Again, they determined they could not clean it. Again, they insisted I would be contacted. Again, no one contacted me about this issue. I have been receiving repeated phone calls from Americoat about the bill for their services. Again, I called and spoke with ***** (the manager) in November about the issue and insisted again that I would not consider paying for any services until the damage was taken care of. We are now 5 months after the Americoat service resulted in damage to 3 garage doors and I have only received a runaround from Americoat managers and representatives.

Desired Settlement: I want a full waiver (in writing) of the Americoat bill for service and I want compensation for the damage that was caused to provide for payment to a professional painting company that will service and paint the garage doors. Due to Americoat's delay in addressing this issue, we are now in winter and the weather is not suitable for painting and thus the painting will not be done until spring. I will not accept anyone from Americoat to do any repairs or perform any further service at my address. Their history and repeated failure to address this issue leaves me with no confidence that they can appropriately and responsibly repair the damage in a quality manner and without causing further damage. Furthermore, the runaround for the last 5 months leaves me in a position that I can no longer expend any more of my time dealing with their management. I will only now deal with a third party to assist in repairing the garage doors.

Business Response:

AmeriCoat has reduced the customer’s bill to zero.  AmeriCoat agrees to paint the customer’s garage doors in the spring of 2015 on a day convenient for the customer.  If the customer does not want AmeriCoat to paint the garage doors, we do ask that the complainant provide us 3 quotes from 3 companies for painting only the garage doors.  If the quote is reasonable, we will select one of the 3 companies to perform the painting of the garage doors in the spring of 2015.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I will contact them in the Spring with the requested quotes.

Regards,

****** ****

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat was contracted to seal the driveways in the ****** ** **** ****** ***** ********y. While sealing the driveways in our community, there was a severe rain storm that caused the sealant to run and also to splatter on the foundation, siding, garages & trim around the garage doors. This clearly was not Americoat's fault and they appeared willing to remedy the situation. Americoat re-did sealant where necessary, but did not do so in compliance with our contract. The contract stated that they would clear debris from driveways and use a leaf blower to get the edges of driveways exposed. Americoat did not clean the driveways before sealing. Therefore there are areas where debris was sealed into the driveways. More importantly, they did not clear the edges before sealing. Once the mulch was pushed off the driveways and the asphalt under was exposed, there are multiple driveways where 2-6 inches were never sealed. As for the splatter caused by the rain shower, Americoat agreed to clean and paint affected areas. We were also informed that Americoat made an insurance claim to complete this work. Americoat did a satisfactory job cleaning sidewalks, curbs & foundations impacted by this issue. They also painted siding and garages in a generally satisfactory manner. However, they painted the trim around garages and did not do a satisfactory job. Our management company & board members met with representatives from Americoat and they agreed the work was not up to par. Therefore Americoat agreed to replace the trim around impacted garages. Since this agreement was reached, nothing has happened.

Desired Settlement: We would like Americoat to replace the trim they agreed to replace (e-mail documentation from company available upon request). We would also like a remedy for the driveways that were not properly sealed and have edges that remain unsealed. Preferably with another reputable company as our confidence in Americoat is nil.

Business Response:

The Director of Operations met with **** ********** and members of the board several times regarding the property of *** ****** ** **** ******.  During each meeting, neither **** ********** nor the members of the board had any complaints with the sealcoating.

 

Per our original repair agreement, AmeriCoat agrees to replace the garage trim for the trim that was painted at no charge to the complainant.  All necessary repairs to the driveways that sustained rain damage have been rectified.  If requested, AmeriCoat will provide a quote for future sealcoating work. 

 

All repairs performed thus far have been made in good faith with the understanding that AmeriCoat would receive payment for the services rendered.  We have not yet received any payment towards the balance due.  AmeriCoat requests the balance of $1,473.00 be paid in full. 

12/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat has seal coated the driveway I share with my neighbor for the past 3 years. The price has stayed consistent, around $285 total. This year, Americoat quoted $285 to seal coat the driveway. We accepted the quote and they did a great job and we paid the invoice in total. However, about a month after performing the service, we received a follow up invoice for an additional $285. My neighbor and I have called numerous times asking them why the price has stayed the same over 3 years, but this year after an agreed upon quote, the driveway being coated and service paid for, they have decided to double the cost. Numerous calls to Americoat have resulted in different answers, either the job was under estimated or it was $285 per home owner. Americoat continues to send invoices and is now adding in late payment charges. For reference 2013 invoice for $287.10 2014 invoice for $285

Desired Settlement: Stick to our agreed upon estimate which was invoiced and paid, $285. Eliminate the new, after the fact, charges and the late payment fees. We have been pleased with Americoat's quality of work and would like to continue to be their customer.

Business Response:

The complainant owns one half of a drive shared with his neighbor.  AmeriCoat was contracted by the complainant’s neighbor the past few years.  Each time, the technicians sealed both halves of the drive without notifying AmeriCoat.  The neighbor of the complainant was only charged for his half of the driveway.  Last year, the technicians contacted AmeriCoat regarding the shared drive.  The correct measurements were entered into the system and the neighbor was notified that there would be an additional charge if the complainant’s driveway was to be serviced in the future.  We did not have any contact information for the complainant.  AmeriCoat honored the price quoted to the neighbor of the complainant last year.

The neighbor of the complainant contacted AmeriCoat this year to schedule service for him and his neighbor.  The neighbor of the complainant was informed of the charge for each side of the driveway and scheduled service.  Invoices for each address were sent to the neighbor of the complainant per the request of the neighbor.  Payment has only been received for the neighbor’s service.  This information has been provided to the neighbor of the complainant.  The amount originally agreed upon by the neighbor was $285.00 with a 10% discount equaling $256.50.  The neighbor of the complainant contracted service and is the party responsible for payment.  AmeriCoat agrees to waive late fees and add an additional 10% discount for a total discount of 20%.  The balance due for service at the complainant’s property is $228.00.

Consumer Response:

It was not clear to my neighbor his quote was only for half the driveway.  If the pricing for this years service only covered my neighbor's half of the driveway, then I should have received a quote for approval before completion of the full driveway.  My address was known to Americoat as they have been sending after-the-fact invoices to my neighbor with my address as the service location.
I believe Americoat acted in good faith sealing the whole driveway, but any good will has been squandered by their refusal to acknowledge their upfront error in process.
I have paid the remaining amount in full.  If Americoat desires to keep our shared driveway as a customer, even if the price doubles after being properly quoted, they can follow up and propose a compromise.  Otherwise I appreciate their past service, but will seek out another service provider in the future and consider this case unsatisfactorily closed.

Business Response:

The complainant’s neighbor contracted AmeriCoat to seal both **** ******* ** *** **** ******* **.  The complainant’s neighbor has contracted us for both addresses for the past four years.  As previously stated, the correct measurements for the driveways were entered into the system last year.  The complainant’s neighbor was notified that there would be an additional charge if the complainant’s driveway was to be serviced in the future.  When the complainant’s neighbor contracted AmeriCoat this year, we reviewed this information with him again.  If the complainant and his neighbor wish to have their driveway sealed in the future, we will be happy to offer a discount if the drives are sealed on the same day.

11/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our driveway done 10 months ago. Right away we saw there were rocks coming up. It took several calls to get someone from this company to come and inspect it. After 3 weeks of calling they finally came out to inspect it. They assured us the drive way would be fine if we had it sealed. We had it sealed. This March rocks began coming up and the edges of the driveway are cracking and falling apart. I began calling the company again asking them to come look at it. They said they would come take pictures and email them to me and discuss a resolution. I never received the pictures. I began calling them again. ***** said someone from the company would get back with me. They didn't respond, so I began calling again. Finally after calling since March, someone came out on May 19th. He said he would be back later that week to take a core sample, then they would be back May 29th to fix the driveway. It is now June 3rd and no core sample has been taken and the problem is not resolved. We have not heard anything from this company since they came out on May 19th.

Desired Settlement: I want them to deliver a quality product. We paid for a brand new driveway and it is falling apart after 10 months. We would like them to redo the driveway and do it correctly or refund us 100% so we can pay someone else to do it.

Business Response:

The complainant contracted AmeriCoat to remove his existing driveway and replace it with new asphalt on May 6, 2013.  This work was performed on May 13, 2013.  After completion of the project, the complainant informed AmeriCoat he was concerned that the surface of the drive had a rough appearance.  The Director of Operations met the complainant on his property to assess the driveway.  The Director determined that the driveway was installed correctly and meets all industry specifications.

Asphalt is comprised of aggregate of different sizes.  Newly installed asphalt will have a porous texture.  This is one of the reasons we recommend sealing a driveway within one year of the installation.  To properly maintain and extend the life of a drive, AmeriCoat recommends sealing a driveway every one to two years.  Multiple coatings will eventually reduce the porous texture of asphalt.  The complainant complied with the recommended sealing and had two coats of sealer applied to the drive on July 29, 2013.  The Director of Operations also instructed the complainant to backfill the edges of the driveway with topsoil to provide lateral support.  Due to the grade of the property, the surface of the drive is higher than the surrounding ground and needs lateral support. 

The complainant contacted AmeriCoat in the spring of 2014 regarding premature cracking and again expressed his concern with the porosity of the drive.  The Director of Operations met the customer on his property to reassess the condition of the driveway.  The complainant failed to install topsoil along the exposed edges of the driveway.  Without this lateral support, the asphalt is more susceptible to developing cracking along the edges.  Attached to this response is a picture of the bottom right corner of the driveway.  A small circular crack formed in this area of the drive.  This type of cracking is a common imperfection that develops after a winter that has extreme temperature changes, especially in our region of the country.

Asphalt is designed to be flexible so it can expand and contract with changing temperatures and the natural movement of the earth.  Ground water present under the drive can freeze and swell.  This causes the above asphalt to bend, creating a fulcrum on which the asphalt rests.  When weight is applied to that area of the drive, the asphalt will break at the apex of the fulcrum.  This is a natural occurrence that is easily rectified with a small heat repair.  The crack that formed in the complainant’s driveway is a result of this phenomenon.

AmeriCoat offered to perform a heat repair at the corner of the driveway at no charge to the complainant.  The complainant declined this offer and demanded a complete replacement of the drive.  We informed the complainant that the structural integrity of the driveway has not been compromised.  The drive does meet industry standards for the service that was performed.  AmeriCoat again offers to perform a small heat repair to the bottom right corner of the driveway at no charge to the customer.

Consumer Response: When I met with director of operations he expressed concern over the cracking of the driveway because of the multible cracks.
The cracks are at the bottom part on both sides of the driveway where it meets the concrete part of the driveway. The blacktop and the soil are even at that point so no aditional soil is needed ,he did recomened adding it at the back of the driveway but that is notwhere the cracking has occured.

At that time he said he would have a core sample taken to to test the structural intergrity because of his concern,and get back with me asap.
As of  today June 11 2014 I have not heard from neither him nor anyone from americoat nor do I know that a core sample was even taken.
Yes I have rejected their fix and will continue to do so until they can prove to me the intergrity of the drive passes the test. If it passes the integrity test  I will still be unhappy with the driveway but will have to settle for their fix.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat sent one guy out on 8-6-14 to put 2 coats of sealant on our driveway. The guy came late in the afternoon, put one coat on and splashed the sealant on my garage door, garage stripping, house trim, sidewalk and down the driveway. Very sloppy job, he said he was calling in to tell what he had done and was to told to stop working and wait for a return call, he never received a call back and then the weather looked like it was going to rain. Only one coat at this time was done as well as the mess that he left. He told me that the damage would be taken care of the next day that they used to carry the products to remove the sealant, however, they were no longer allowed to carry the products on their trucks. We were supposed to receive a call back as to what time they would be out to repair the damages. I had to keep calling everyday. No one showed up Thursday, 8-7, Friday 8-8, Monday 8-11, Tuesday, 8-12, and finally today a guy came out and attempted to clean the garage but did not get it all off nor did he work on any of the other damages, he said he did not have a clean rag and that he was not told what our damages were and did not have the proper products to complete the work. I called in and was told there was no manager available to speak with as was the same thing I was getting told all of the other times that I have called. I was promised a call back today and as of now ( 8:33 p.m.) no phone call has come. This is absurd and unacceptable. How do you go to a home to repair damages and not have the proper materials to do the job that should have never happened to begin with. We took photos and they have the photos so they knew what the damages were. The have left the bill for us to pay, however, until my damages have been repaired to my satisfaction, I will not pay this bill. The garage door did not even get cleaned off today. I am tired of getting the run around and want the repairs completed asap. This was the most sloppy job I have ever seen.

Desired Settlement: I want the damages repaired, all of the sealant that was splashed everywhere needs to be cleaned up and no more damages while the mess is being cleaned up. It is an insult to want payment for this sloppy job that was done. This should have been done immediately after the damages were done, you don't wait over a week and still we have nothing done.

Business Response: Unfortunately, the crew did make an error and sealer splattered on the garage.  The crew contacted AmeriCoat to inform them of this error.  We were unable to complete the service on the original service date due to rain moving into the area.  The sealcoating and cleaning necessary from the splatter has also been completed.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: First of all we spoke to them regarding the garage stripping being completed by the professionals at the garage door company due to the fact that Americoat obviously is not a professional on installing any type of garage door equipment and the strip is not the correct size and has dirt or some type of stains all over it. All work was due to be completed while we were at home and that was discussed and agreed upon. Many messages were left for return calls about all of these details. I believe it was Lukas, who was here painting the house trim, when by acciden,t our daughter opened the garage door and found him here, he did not knock on the door, or ring the door bell to see if anyone was here.  The garage door strip needs to be re-done with the correct size matching the other side and be installed by the professionals.  The security sign was also damaged with spots of the black sealant on it covering the writing and also needs replaced.  They splattered stain on the siding, however, we were trying to be as polite as possible and not worry about this as long as the other issues were addressed and they have not worked well with us regarding respecting our wishes on having the work done by the professionals.  We would not attempt to do their type of work as we are not professionals in their line of work, therefore, they should not try and do work that is not in their line of work.  The three remaiing stains on the garage door now look lighter than the correct shading of the garage door and this will need to be re-checked. This whole mess as been uncalled for and could have been prevented and until it is completed to our satisfaction, this matter will remain unresolved.  They waited over a week before they sent anyone out to even try and start cleaning up their mess, you cannot wait a week and expect to get black sealant cleaned off, cannot understand why they do not clean up as soon as they spill the sealant the longer it sets and dries it obviously will be more difficult to clean up.  This is common sense.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

On 9/14/14, the complainant informed the BBB that he has not been in contact with anyone from AmeriCoat.  On 9/12/14, I spoke with the complainant multiple times regarding the weather stripping for the garage door.  A replacement piece of weather stripping was ordered from the company who installed the garage door.  On 9/15/14, I contacted the garage door company regarding the weather stripping.  They told me it would arrive Tuesday morning.  I contacted the complainant on 9/15/14 to update him on the status and let him know we would pick up the item on Tuesday morning and replace the section with the new weather stripping.  The weather stripping was replaced on 9/16/14.  The complaint was contacted upon completion of the repair.  We have not received notification from the complainant that there are any further issues.

10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AmeriCoat advertises three different seal coating services. 1 coat service $129. 2 coat service $185. and the premium service for $285. I had ordered the premium service two years ago and was impressed so I ordered it again just this past week. Americoat came out 9/23/14 but did not apply the premium service as advertise. Per advertisement the premium service includes 3 applications of crack sealer and 2 coats of commercial grade driveway sealer. The workers did apply 1 application of crack sealer directly to some of the cracks. They left and came back after an hour and applied 1 coat of driveway sealer over the entire driveway. I informed the workers that I had ordered the premium service and I should be getting two additional crack treatments before the 2 coats of driveway sealer. He informed me that the sealer they were applying was a crack and driveway sealer mixed and that this is how they do it now. After that dried, they applied 1 coat of regular driveway sealer and they were done. I called the business. I explained that the workers only performed the 2 coat service and requested they adjust my bill. They said the workers said they gave me the premium service. I explained to him that I was there the entire time and that they did not. He then said that the 1st driveway sealer was a hybrid sealer and that it takes the place of all the other crack and driveway sealers applications. He said he would send someone out to take a look but never showed. I called today 9/25/14 to see if they were going to adjust my bill but a employee said he could only offer 10% off. This is not acceptable to me. After further examination of my driveway today, I noticed several open cracks that they missed and reopened. They also left a stain on my sidewalk. No comparison to the service I received from them two years ago. I'm very disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I would have preferred that the job was done right the first time but feel at this point, they need to adjust my bill since I did not receive the service I ordered. I would also like for them to apply another coat of sealer to my driveway since they missed serval areas and clean the stain on my sidewalk.

Business Response:

A manager assessed the property today with the customer.  The drive has several wide cracks that are very shallow.  Some of the material has reopened in the cracks.  AmeriCoat will be happy to apply another application of cracks sealer to the cracks and another coat of sealer.  If the customer does not want to the cracks retreated and drive resealed, we will remove the additional charge for the premium service and only charge the customer $166.50 for the 2 coat service.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I will accept resolution from company to have another application of cracks sealer to the cracks and another coat of sealer.

10/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is he second Time these guys we to come out to our house to take care of our driveway and there was no show no call this was a reschedule for Friday 9/19/14 and nothing happened. I finally got home and nothing was done. It's a huge inconvenience trying to make sure my driveway is clear and guessing when this is gong to happen. My wife had also called before from the first scheduled date and the person there seem like doing our driveway was not important to them. We have used them years ago and never had this kind of problems.

Desired Settlement: I would like my driveway done at my earliest convenience and a percentage taken off for being a disable veteran and working my schedule around their promise date an them not even showing up or even giving me a call so I am not waiting around.

Business Response: Service was originally scheduled for September 10, 2014.  Due to inclement weather that day, the customer was notified that service was rescheduled to September 19, 2014.  On September 19, the crew encountered equipment issues which prevented them from completing their day.  The customer was contacted on September 19 and a message was left at ###-###-#### informing the customer a crew would be out the following day, September 20, to complete the service.  A crew was out on September 20 and the service was completed.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the driver for americoat ran into our mailbox on 8-18. our neighbor witnessed this. we called on 8-18 and they said they would probably be out that night to take pictures. no response. we called again on 8-22. no response. the mail box needs to be re-cemented, the post needs replaced, and possibly a new mail box. we have had them seal our driveway for 15 years. we have never had a problem with them in all these years. we just thought they would settle this matter, instead of ignoring it.

Business Response: Upon review of the pictures, we did not notice any damage to the mailbox.  A manager is scheduled to go to the property next week to assess the condition of the mailbox.  If any damage was caused by our vehicle, we will perform the necessary repairs.  We will contact the customer by the end of next week after the property inspection has been performed.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had our driveway sealed by AmeriCoat for many years. In 2012, it was sealed in the fall. We called them because of concerns about the cracks not being repaired and sealed, plus they left a gas can, over sprayed our new 40 gallon ********** trash can and stone wall. I spoke with several people including ******, ****** and **** and sent pictures via text, with no response. This past fall we received phone solicitation from **** ******,as well as a mailed flyer. I thought I would make one last attempt to contact them. I spoke with ***** and gave her the details, emailed her the photos and sent several follow up emails trying to get some closure. Out of frustration, I finally emailed that I would contact the BBB and still no reply. We were hoping to get this resolved amicably, and are very frustrated that after years of doing business with them, they would be so unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: We would like to get our driveway cracks repaired and sealed, our garbage can replaced and our stone professionally cleaned.

Business Response: AmeriCoat does warrant the workmanship and quality of all sealcoating services.  It has been over 1 year since the sealcoating service was performed for this customer.  This customer ordered the basic 1 coat service.  This service is recommended for driveways that have very few cracks and surface imperfections.  As part of the service, the technicians treated cracks that were at least ¼” wide and ½’ deep or larger.  If cracks do not reach this size requirement, they are not deep enough for the industrial crack sealant to be applied.  One coat of commercial grade driveway sealer was then applied.  Due to material shrinkage, the industrial crack sealant will not make the cracks disappear or level off with the surface of the driveway.  This service is performed to help maintain the driveway in its current state.  It will not rejuvenate the driveway to look as it did when it was new.  Every crack will still be visible; however, they will be sealed.  The driveway sealer is the consistency of latex paint and will conform to every dip, crack and surface imperfection already existing on the drive.  AmeriCoat was not informed of any damage to the customer's trashcan or stone wall until the end of October 2013.  AmeriCoat will have a manager assess the damage to the trash can and stone wall and will determine the appropriate action.  We will be in contact with the customer after an assessment has been performed.

Consumer Response: I sent pictures last fall and spoke with **** regarding our dissatisfaction with the sealing done, as well as the overspray on a stone wall and trash can - with no reply.spoke with **** regarding our dissatisfaction with the sealing done, as well as the overspray on a stone wall and trash can - with no reply. I have left several messages for various people and emailed pictures twice to ***** over the past 6 weeks regarding our concerns and trying to get them resolved along with our driveway sealed, and still no reply. I am very disappointed with the lack of response and feel we have been very patient and have made every attempt to resolve this. If we don't get a reply by Monday, November 11th, with a resolution, we intend to file a complaint with the BBB.

Consumer Response: *****, here are pictures of the over sprayed trash can, stone wall and driveway cracks we have concerns about. I sent this to **** last year, but never heard back. We would like to get this resolved ASAP and get our driveway sealed this year still. Please advise. Thanks, ###-###-####.

Business Response: I wanted to sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with our service. We pride ourselves on our high quality
and excellent customer service and are disheartened that you did not receive the attention you deserved.
AmeriCoat would like to offer you one free coat of driveway sealer to be applied during the 2014 season. We will
be happy to replace the damaged ********** trash can as well. Please let me know the size of the trash can, and
we will have one delivered to your property. AmeriCoat will also provide a free estimate for repair options for the
driveway at **** **** ***** ***** ********** *****.
We would like to remind you that due to material shrinkage, the sealant and crack sealant will not make cracks
disappear or level off with the driveway. Cracks will re-open in time based on the general quality of the pavement
and its foundation. It is not necessary for you to be home for the service to be performed. Also, invisible fences,
sprinklers and other underground devices must be clearly marked before service begins to prevent possible
damage. AmeriCoat is not responsible for damage to such devices.
Again, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience with our company. Should you have any questions or
additional concerns, you may reach me any time at (***) ********, or you may e-mail me at
******************** Please contact me to schedule your free coat of driveway sealer and provide the
specifications of the trash can. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

Business Response: A manager met with the customer on Thursday, July 10, 2014 per the customer's request.  She informed the manager that she only wants the trash can to be replaced and asked for a quote to have the driveway sealed.  We are in the process of locating an exact match for the customer's trash can.  We will identify a few options for the replacement of the trash can and forward them to the customer.  When the customer selects a satisfactory replacement, we will purchase the trash can and drop it off at the customer's property.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

My husband and I were both present for this meeting.

It appears there is either a miscommunication, or
something lost in translation. 

To clarify, we requested the following:

1) We asked for an estimate to have the driveway patched. 

2) We asked for Americoat to seal the driveway, as they
agreed to in their letter after the patch work was completed.

3) We asked for the trash can to be replaced.

4) We stated we would take
care of the stone to be cleaned, in lieu of the seal.

5) We asked to have the above steps in progress by the end of this week.
(7/18)

Business Response:

The patchwork estimate requested by the customer will be completed by the middle of next week.  Upon completion, the estimate will be e-mailed to the customer at **************************.  AmeriCoat will maintain our offer of one free application of driveway sealer.  This offer is only valid for the sealer to be applied during the 2014 season.

We are still trying to locate a similar match to the customer’s trash can.  We will submit a selection of comparable trash cans from which the customer may choose with the patchwork estimate next week.

Consumer Response:

We received the check for the trashcan on Monday, thank you very much. I did find the attachment, it was at the end of all the correspondence dating back to June. 

A little confused by the quotes. As you said our driveway is in very good shape. We replaced it in 2007, however there are some cracks that need to be filled. 

Your quotes are to: 

(1) replace the driveway-$4785.00

(2) do a complete overlay-$3720.00

(3) to patch and seal-$169.00

Per your letter dated April 3rd 2014, you offered to seal our driveway as a courtesy for the overspray on our stone walls. We asked for a quote to "patch" the driveway -that we intended to pay for - and then have you seal it. It is so frustrating that we took the time to meet with ***** on July 10th and specifically requested a quote to "patch only" and still have not received it. 

We requested a quote to hot patch our driveway from another company and it took 2 days to get it. ($30) 

We were loyal customers and had used your services for many years, and recommended you to others. It's sad that we have now spent two years trying to get a simple resolution, and it is still not resolved.

 

Business Response:

One application of crack sealer will be applied to cracks ¼” wide and ½” deep or larger as part of the one coat service.  Due to material shrinkage, the sealant and crack sealant will not make cracks disappear or level off with the driveway.  Cracks will re-open in time based on the general quality of the pavement and its foundation.  I have scheduled this service for Tuesday, September 30, 2014, weather permitting.  Please let me know if you have any other questions or concerns.

 

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, August 8th a representative of Americoat arrived to provide the service to sealcoat our driveway. Upon arrival ********* ******** greeted the representative and was handed the invoice for services. *** ******** informed the representative that he was leaving and would return shortly and that **** ******** was in the house in the event of any questions he may have. The representative informed *** ******** that he would apply the 1st coat of sealant and return later that same day to apply the 2nd coat. We both left our home and returned to find services performed included apparent blown gravel, asphalt and dirt and no other services were provided. This included seeing the mentioned blown debris being noticed on the driveway concrete skirt attached to the garage. Upon entering the garage noticed the same debris inside the garage. We assumed the representative would return to complete the work as of today Saturday August 9th there was no return by the representative neither was there any telephone contact by Americoat personnel to inform us of their intention.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting an apology and explanation of the conduct and inaction of Americoat to why leaving the debris scattered about as well as lack of providing service

Business Response:

Due to the condition of the driveway, AmeriCoat did not want to perform sealcoating services without speaking with the customer to manage expectations.  We have since been in contact with the customer.  A sales manager is now scheduled to estimate the driveway for a complete replacement. 

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americoat was contacted to repair our blacktop driveway on May 13, 2014 at the time of speaking with customer service I informed them I wanted someone to come and give us an estimate to do the job. The customer service girl informed me that was not needed because they would apply 3 coats of crack sealer and 2 coats of driveway sealer, plus they would neutralize wet oil spots and stains with latex primer. I reaffirmed with her I would like someone to come and give us an estimate to make sure the driveway work was done correctly. She assured me that if the team could not do a proper job that they would not complete and let me know what was needed. The date she gave me for service to be provided was June 26, 2014. The day before the service someone called to confirm the appointment the next day. The day of service it rained and driveway was not completed. Someone contacted me the next day to reset the appointment for 2 weeks later. No show and no Call. I called them to see if they were going to do the job and was told it was because of the weather and the next appointment was middle of August. At that point I told them that was not acceptable so they made the appointment for July 22, 2014. I told the person that if they were not able to do it that day to cancel my appointment as I did not want to wait any longer to get the job done. On July 22, 2014 a crew showed up to do the job and I was at work. When I pulled in the driveway was unfinished. The promise of the services to be provided was not fulfilled. Areas of the driveway received no coating at all. Cracks where not filled and showed all over the driveway. I called them and reported this as soon as I walked in the door the same day. NO return phone call on the matter. I called a week later to speak with a manager since I was out of area for the week and was unable to speak with a manager. Customer service gave me a email and asked me to send pictures I took to them. jonathan@americoat.com. I told them I wanted to speak with a manager about this they said they would have one call me as soon as out of meeting. A woman manager contacted me. Wanting to know what my expectations for the job was.... that they have standards but mine might have been to high. I explained all above information to her and requested a crew or someone come out so they could look at the job that was done on my driveway. She said she was having a crew come out that afternoon. No One Ever Showed. It has been a month. No communication from them, via email, phone, text or someone showing up to discuss the issues. I contacted another company to come and do the driveway correctly. Costing me $270.00. 00 I didn't mind having to pay more money ... I just wanted the job done right! I have pictures of their work (which I sent to them) and the driveway looks and pictures of the driveway after another company came. The issues with this service are: Sales misrepresented services Failure to provide a written estimate for service upon request Improper and inferior service Customer service and management failed to provide assistance

Desired Settlement: Remove cost of "service" since completion of the job was done by another company. The total charge of services for invoices sent $179.00 needs to be removed from their books and they are never to contact us again. The cost of our driveway for proper service and repair of the blacktop was paid in full to another company for a total of $270.00

Business Response:

AmeriCoat will assess a property and provide a written estimate to any customer at no charge.

On June 2, 2014, the complainant ordered our Premium Crack Service for a discounted price of $161.10.  It is a service recommended for driveways that have severe cracking. The cracks present on the drive must also be at least ¼” wide and ½’ deep or larger.  If cracks do not reach this size requirement, they are not deep enough for the industrial crack sealant to be applied.  For the Premium Crack Service, an industrial crack sealer is applied to the cracks meeting the aforementioned size requirements.   The crack sealer is given time to cure and the service technicians return that day to apply another application of the industrial crack sealer to cracks ¼” wide and 1/2'” deep or larger as well as one coat of commercial grade driveway sealer.  The material is again given time to cure.  The service technicians return to the property a third time that day to apply a third application of industrial crack sealer to cracks ¼” wide and 1/2'” deep or larger as well as and a second application of driveway sealer.  Due to material shrinkage, the industrial crack sealant will not make the cracks disappear or level off with the surface of the driveway.  This service is performed to help maintain the driveway in its current state.  It will not rejuvenate the driveway to look as it did when it was new.  Every crack will still be visible; however, they will be sealed.  The driveway sealer is the consistency of latex paint and will conform to every dip, crack and surface imperfection already existing on the drive.

The complainant’s service date was unfortunately rescheduled twice due to inclement weather on the dates of service.  Per the customer’s request, the service was completed on July 22, 2014.  The pictures sent by the customer were reviewed and are attached to this response.  The driveway was sealed and all of the cracks were treated.  A crew also assessed the application.  It was explained to the customer that the cracks would still be visible.  AmeriCoat performed the service requested by the customer and should be paid for services rendered.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company applied driveway sealer to the drive way. While applying the product they sprayed the house with the product in several places. Some is on the window four feet off the ground. In addition they sprayed product on the concert patio and garage apron. The product was applied on a Saturday while we were not present. I called on Monday and asked for service. I was told I would be contacted. No phone call was returned. On Wednesday I called again and spoke to a supervisor who said he would get back to me to address the issue. No return call. On Friday I left a message on answering machine and they did return call and said the crew would be there on Friday to address the issue. No one shoed up and no phone call indicating delay and when they would be coming. I am still waiting for a response to my concern.

Desired Settlement: Fix the issues in timely manner and reduce bill for inconvience

Business Response:

AmeriCoat has not performed service for ***** ***** at **** ********* ****.  AmeriCoat was contracted by ******** ***** to apply one coat of driveway sealer at **** ********* **** on July 12, 2014.  The complainant is the father of AmeriCoat’s customer.  Prior to the notification of this complaint, AmeriCoat has only contacted the complainant’s daughter, as she was the individual who hired our company and she is the owner of the property.  The complainant states that no one went to the property on July 18.  A manager was at the property on Friday, July 18 from 2:04PM to 2:37PM to begin the cleaning process.  The manager spoke with an individual while on the property and let them know what AmeriCoat would be doing for the clean-up.  AmeriCoat has since been in contact with the father of our customer several times and has met him on the property.  A manager is scheduled to be at the property this Sunday for painting and powerwashing.