Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Certa Pro Painters of Central Ohio Residential?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Certa Pro Painters of Central Ohio Residential

Phone: (614) 799-8016 Fax: (740) 548-4345 7870 Olentangy River Rd Ste 108, Columbus, OH 43235 http://columbus-res.certapro.com/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Certa Pro Painters of Central Ohio Residential meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Certa Pro Painters of Central Ohio Residential include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Certa Pro Painters of Central Ohio Residential
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1994 in OH Business started locally: 10/01/1994 Business incorporated: 10/26/2004 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Goodman, Franchise Owner Joe Hoehn, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Goodman, Franchise Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Commercial Painting Contractor Painters - Commercial or Residential Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors Fence Staining Color Consultants Pressure Washing Deck Cleaning & Sealing

Alternate Business Names
M.E.G. Services Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Certa Pro Painters of Central Ohio Residential has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7870 Olentangy River Rd Ste 108

    Columbus, OH 43235 (614) 799-8016

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Certapro completed interior paint service on March 31st 2014. I contacted them on April 23rd about the issues with the services like paint coming off of the walls, visible cracks on multiple walls, paint bubbles, repair undone on ceiling, damaged ceiling. They******) responded after multiple reminders(May4th, June 10th, July 1st) and came to inspect the issues. He confirmed to fix the issues. There is not reply from them after August 1st.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that they should fix all the issues which they agreed to fix.

Business Response: We completed the job in Late March. At that time the customer was happy with our work. After a few weeks, we understood there were some warranty style issues that came about after the painting was complete. Our sales person, ***** ***** inspected these and created a punch list on July 10th. from there we did assign it to a crew in July to try to repair. The crew reported to us that they were unable to schedule the work by phone. We are ready and able to schedule a time to repair the work. I sent the following email today to the customer: Mr. ****, Your BBB complaint was forwarded to me to resolve for you. I understand that there are some minor issues remaining at your home from the interior we completed in the Spring. Our sales rep ***** made a list of these issues upon his inspection in July. I was hoping I could schedule a time to review these items myself and schedule painters to return to complete the list. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can discuss. Thanks *** ***** VP Operations CertaPro Painters of Central Ohio ******************* ###-###-#### cell

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********,  *** called and emailed also. I am fine as long as they will  fix all the issues.

Regards,

***** ****

8/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not even sure where to begin with this- The fact that it took more than 3 months to paint the exterior of my home, the long list of items still to be done a year later, the unprofessional paint crew that was contracted to paint my home [everything from obvious substance abuse issues, overspray damage to my property, painting done in temperatures too cold to allow the paint to cure correctly, heavy paint that has already cracked, multiple no call/no shows, numerous delays, showing up unprepared (no paint, no tape, no paper), and not cleaning up at the end of the days that they did manage to show up.] In December of last year *** ***** asked if he could list the items that still needed to be completed on a warranty list so that they could close out the year end financials, since it was too cold to complete the work I agreed. Certapro was to come out first thing in the spring to complete the warranty list. I received a call from ****** **** on March 18th, he wanted to come out to complete the work. I explained to him that the temperature was below 35 at night so I wanted to wait until it was warmer. He agreed to call back in April. After not hearing from him I called *** ***** in May and left a voicemail. Today is June 19th and I have still not heard from ****** or ***.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that my job be completed, and the damages done by the paint crew corrected. Also, that this complaint stay on record somewhere for the benefit of future potential customers. Please note that the "dates complained" in the next section are approximate. I did not keep records of each time I called *** *****.

Business Response:   In an attempt to resolve the dispute last fall we agreed complete items, but were unable to complete all items during the fall.     Early this spring we called to come out to start the repairs before we got too busy and the customer told us she didn't think we should paint till later.    We normally paint warranty work in the spring or in the month of July/August.    We are not able to paint them in spring rush of Aprl/May June.      We would have been able to complete the work if she had allowed us to work during the spring when we first called.      The plan now is to paint within the next 30 days.    Perhaps as early as the next 14 days.     

Consumer Response: Please reopen this complaint. Certapro has not been back out to complete the work.

In response to their reply to the complaint- I did not allow them to come out in the early spring because the temperature was still too cold for the paint to cure properly. That is one of the issues I had with them last fall. 

On June 19th I spoke to ***** who was the salesman on my job. He was able to have *** ***** call me a few days later (sorry I did not keep track of the date). *** stated that they were unable to come out that week but would most likely make it out the following week. Today is July 26th and no one has called to schedule my job completion.

Business Response: Lisa and I have an appointment set for Monday aug 4 at 930 to complete her warranty items.   Thanks *** ***** VP Operations CertaPro Painters of Central Ohio ###-###-####  

11/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had wood replaced and the exterior of my home painted in Fall 2009. The warranty on paint and workmanship was 5 years. *** was my site manager. The first concern was the streaked finish on the house. Upon inspection, *** concluded that a bad tip was used in the painting process that caused the streaking and another coat would fix it. It was done. A few weeks later, I noticed that the replacement wood was seeping sap and had knots that was not absorbing the paint. *** explained that it was normal for fresh wood to do that. I learned later that the wood used was not cedar but pine. The area replaced faced the street side of the garage and directly above the garage door in the front of the house. I spoke to *** several times after the project to try to resolve various issues.Early this year, I called once more due to the entry porch paint peeling and chipping (33%), the caulk used between the panels above the garage becoming more visible. *** came to inspect the property and agreed that some issues needed to be addressed. He stated that I would be placed on the work list for the spring. When I asked abouth the original workers, *** informed me that they were a sub-contractor that was no onger being used by Certa Pro due to workmanship. When I did not here back from ***, I called and spoke to Mr. ******* who apologized and stated that it was due to the extended rainy season that they had not gotten to me yet. I empathized and asked for an estimated time that they may get to me. I was told 4-6 weeks. That was in May. I called for the last time in July. I spoke again to Mr. ******* who said that *** would be getting back to me. I told him that *** has failed to get back to me and that I have exercised extreme patience in trying to get this resolved and that I would be contacting the Better Business Bureau. I still have not heard from ***, Mr. ******* nor anyone else from Certa Pro to this day October 16, 2013

Desired Settlement: I have to have my home repainted, caulk removed, wood replaced/repaired.

Business Response: To Whom it may concern,

Inspection Results 2013

Our records show that this customer's home at 286 ********** Dr, Westerville, OH 43081 was painted in 2010.    We returned later in 2010 and repainted some areas that we were was not 100% satisfied wih.    Late in 2012 **** called to request a warranty inspection.    She contacted us too late in the fall to complete any wok in 2012, so we requested that we follow up in 2013.   This spring was so rainy that we did not inspect the work till early summer.     Many of the areas the **** is concerned about are not covered by our warranty.    But in order to resolve her concerns, we offered to repaint several areas at cost.. and would also repaint other areas that are covered.     These areas are listed below.    This list has been mailed to **** for her approval.   The warranty on the job ended in 2012, but we agreed to extend it based on how late we were contacted in 2012.   I am not aware that **** received a 5 year warranty.   Our warranty is only for 2 years.   

Despite the lateness of the year we are ready, willing and able to complete the items listed below that were agreed to earlier this year.     We did fail to communicate this to **** in a timely manner, but hope to do so now.   If **** wants us to complete the items below we are willing to do so.    The entire house does not need to be painted at this time.    Please see below a copy of what was agreed to complete earlier this year.   I want to extend an aplogy to **** for failing to communicate in a timely manner and hope that we can complete this list for her at this time.    I have asked **** to contact me if she wants to move forward before the exterior painting season ends.   

 

The following areas were discussed as requiring remedy during our inspection in Summer 2013.

Woodpecker holes on front peak corners need puttied and touched up.

Sand off the siding on the front garage peak and front side of garage facing the street to remove sap residue on the siding. Spot prime the areas with aerosol primer and recoat these boards

Recoat the siding under the garage coach lights

Remove the caulk and re-do it correctly around 4 boards on front of garage

Scrape and touch up the garage door where peeling

Front right corner gutter on rear side needs touched up

front porch concrete- scrape and recoat with H&C concrete stain

Foundation on left side of house- right of door and corner by AC unit need touched up

Back of downspout boot at left side corner needs painted

Stucco at left corner above AC Unit needs touch up

Rear door threshold needs recoated

Rear vertical fascia board at corner behind tree needs recoated

Right side window sills needs prepped and recoated

Customer has 1.5 gallons of Woodscapes and 1 gal of Stucco paint

Need to purchase 1 gal Woodscapes and 1 gal H&C Stain

Customer has agreed to have work completed for $240 plus cost of paint needed.