This business is not BBB accredited.

New Albany's Hometown Painter

Phone: (614) 935-3783 10109 Appleton Rd, Johnstown, OH 43031

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 9/22/2015 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for New Albany's Hometown Painter include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for New Albany's Hometown Painter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on New Albany's Hometown Painter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2012 Business started: 04/01/2011 Business started locally: 04/01/2011
Business Management
Mr. James G. Miller, II, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James G. Miller, II, Owner
Business Category

Painters - Commercial or Residential Carpenters Drywall Contractors Paint Removing Painting Contractors Commercial Painting Contractor

Alternate Business Names
New Albany Eagles Painting New Albany Painting & Service Management

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

New Albany's Hometown Painter has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    10109 Appleton Rd

    Johnstown, OH 43031 (614) 935-3783


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Jimmy M*****, owner of New Albany Painters has completely failed to deliver adequate service/completion of an interior painting job. He has already been paid for said job and has been unreachable over the past 3 weeks whenever I try to call/text him in search of a completion date.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have the company finish the cleanup/touch-up work promised at my residence, in a timely manner.

9/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Towards the end of last July we hired this company to paint our front door, windows, pillars, and balcony. In December we noticed that the paint bubbled on the door and waited till the weather was warm. In March we called them to do warranty work. We were told ***** ****** the owner and the individual who painted the door would stop by in a week to look at the door. It took him 2 months and me calling him multiple times to come and look at the door. When he finally came he said this is covered under warranty and that he would fix it. Also he poked the paint bubbles and pulled the paint off . Now my door has big white spots that you can see from the street. In April he told us that in two weeks he would take the door down and paint it. This is August and he still has not done any work. He does not answer my calls or reply to my voice messages. I have to call him using others phones just so that I can talk to him. Every time he answers the phone he gives me excuses/lies as to why the door is not fixed, he always tells me that he will fix it next week but its been six and half months . I just want my door painted.

Desired Settlement: ***** ****** can at least call me with a date and time to paint my door.

10/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Job was started scrapping only. Saw no material. Left job unfinished and said he would drop off material. Haven't heard from him. Tried to contact with no luck

Desired Settlement: Return of down payment or material for job. He wasn't finishing job.

Business Response:

Sent from NEW ALBANY EAGLES PAINTING we got things worked out, he told me he called & retracted the compliant