Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kyees Construction , LLC

Phone: (614) 895-2227 7300 Lee Rd, Westerville, OH 43081 http://kyeesconstruction.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kyees Construction , LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Kyees Construction , LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kyees Construction , LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 10, 2013 Business started: 11/17/2011 in OH Business incorporated 11/17/2011 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Kyees, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Kyees, Owner
Business Category

Painters - Commercial or Residential Patio & Deck Builders Basement - Remodeling Contractor - Interior Trim Basement - Finishing Drywall Contractors Painting Contractors

Products & Services

Kyees Construction , LLC offers the following product(s): Paint, power washing, drywall, and deck services

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
We do not require any payment until the job is completed to the customer's satisfaction.

Additional Locations

  • 7300 Lee Rd

    Westerville, OH 43081 (614) 895-2227

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Kyees Construction to paint the inside of my home which included all walls, ceilings, new wainscoting, new baseboards, new door trim, and all new doors. The job started in the middle of September and completed that same month. I was very dissatisfied after they left and notified the owner both verbally and in several emails. What I was left with was a horrible job with no resolution from the owner even to this day almost 7 months later. He will not answer my questions or come and see the job which I have asked several times. The contract was to paint and prime all ceilings, walls, wainscoting, baseboards, and doors. I am still without a finished home months later with blue tape everywhere marking the problems. Their lack of prepping the walls, baseboards, and so on has made my home look absolutely horrid. The following are some of the issues I have repeatedly pointed out to the owner with no response from him. Paint on hardwood floors in almost every room and new door hardware Paint splatter on all the light fixtures, furniture, framed pictures, antique piano Electrical outlets and shower tile were painted Some walls did not receive a second coat Particles were stuck in the rollers – Very evident on all the ceilings and walls throughout the house Baseboards, walls, nothing was primed prior to painting Wainscoting was not painted Paint drips on the walls No patching of holes were done I have some pictures, all documentation of calls, voice mails, and so on. I am beyond disgusted hiring a "professional" contractor expecting to have a beautiful home afterwards especially during the holidays but I am left with a horrible job where I could have painted it better myself. I have been waiting for the owner to come and look at the job. I have purposefully left the walls bare, paint on the fixtures, floors, and so on so that he could see. What was supposed to be a stress free experience hiring someone has turned out to be very distressing and just emotionally upsetting. Their Refund and Exchange Policy is absurd. They have not tried to make the customer happy. "We do not require any payment until the job is completed to the customer's satisfaction" This past Saturday, their painter came back to "fix" the issues. The following was my email to the John Kyees. As usual no response from him: "Jeff and his helper were just here and when I asked them what their plans were, all I got was all they were going to do was to fill holes, wait 20 minutes for that to dry, paint those spots, and paint the doors. I heard him give his helper instructions to take the paint thinner and a scouring pad to remove the paint off the wood floors. I am not comfortable with what paint thinner and a scouring pad would do to my original hardwood floors. It is very simple, if you run your hands over the wall in the living room, that they prepped at my instruction when I pointed it out, you do not feel or see all the little bumps and debris under the paint. Which exists on every wall in this house. If all my walls looked as good as that wall, I would be a satisfied customer. Jeff stated that living room wall has three coats. It does not matter that the wall has three coats, what matters is that the wall was prepped and the others were not. This goes back to the question I have asked you repeatedly, was prepping part of your responsibility or not? Jeff stated that prepping was part of project, hence him prepping the wall in front me that I pointed out. I have told them, even last year several times, the lighting in my home is not good in which they agreed. They used the lighting from the other contractors when they painted the basement. I would think, if they knew they could not view their own work without proper lighting ,they would have brought lighting in to do the job correctly. Additionally, I kept pointing out that the wainscoting was not painted. Jeff stated today that he most definitely painted the wainscoting, although I do not like calling someone a liar, he is definitely mistaken. There are still nail holes completely visible that you can tell the wainscoting was never painted, there are chalk marks from installation, the wainscoting is not the same white as the trim beside it. You can tell because there are drip marks on the wainscoting from when they did the trim and it is definitely not the same color of white. Jeff did admit the doors needed another coat, but until we resolve all of the issues I have listed several times, we cannot resolve this. I have waited for a resolution for seven months now and still I am disappointed. The paint is worse than if I had done the job myself and I am not a professional. At this point, I will get the other contractor to write up a report of the issues and an estimate to correct everything. I am beyond disappointed that I have asked several times for you or your brother to come and look at my home with no response. As you should know, you cannot capture painting mistakes with a picture or video as a lot of the errors have to do with the lighting of the day and feeling the walls." I have many more emails to John Kyees with very little response from him if any.

Desired Settlement: At this point with this many months later and their lack of resolving the issues. Based upon this past Saturday, they have no desire. I need to hire another contractor and pay them to do the job right which will cost me more money. They will need to sand the baseboards, trim, walls, ceilings, and so on. I am requesting that the resolution be that we just cut ties so that I can move on with my life and finish my home properly. I do not want to go another 7 months with my home looking like this and I do not want them back, especially after this past Saturday's experience. I am done with Kyees Construction. They will not be paid as they did not uphold to their contract and policies.

Business Response: The company was not notified of Ms. ********'s quality concnerns until months after the job was completed.   It seems to have become a problem when I contacted her regarding the delinquent payment.  We set many appointments with her and several were cancelled.  In the most recent appointment she was asking the painter to repaint the entire interior of the house.  I then sent her an email on 3/12/16 asking her to select a time so I could inspect the work along with the painter.  Her response to that request was to file a complaint with the BBB claiming that I had refused to come to the house.  Her statement that I refused to answer emails is totally false.  I have answered every one of her emails and have left her numerous voice mails.  In most cases I asked the independent contractor to follow up with her and as I stated earlier, she cancelled several appointments with him.   It appears to me that Ms. ******** is trying to avoid paying for the work done and doesn't want the company to have any visual evidence regarding her complaints.  This matter will probably have to resolved via legal channels if Ms. ******** continues to refuse to let me see the work.

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because Kyees Construction has not upheld their responsibility as a contractor in even remotely attempting to resolve the issues. He just keeps wanting payment for a job that was NOT performed to the customer's satisfaction as so it states as one of his policies. He has yet to offer any kind of resolution for me to respond to.

The owner's response to my complaint is utterly and completely false. I have just sent to the BBB a detailed project timeline along with communications regarding the work. I have responded to John Kyees, which is provided in the supporting documentation, allowing him to come and view my home in hopes of resolving the issues as soon as possible. Once he views my home and sees the damage, I wish for us to cut ties and I move on with another contractor. Hopefully, I will no longer have to have any communication with him.

1. The company was not notified of Ms. ********'s quality concnerns until months after the job was completed.   It seems to have become a problem when I contacted her regarding the delinquent payment.

        Complainant Response: I notified John Kyees of the quality concerns initially via a phone call on 10/12/2015 than again via email on 12/15/2015 and so on. During the time between 10/12 and 12/15, I waited for Jeff to contact me and also get our schedules together so he could come and resolve. During that waiting time, I never imagined the response I would receive from the company and when Jeff came to look at the problems in January when Terry did not show up. Now since I have complained, I am being accused of not wanting to pay. When my supporting documentation is read, all will clearly see I have tried many times to get resolution and my home finished.

2.    We set many appointments with her and several were cancelled.  In the most recent appointment she was asking the painter to repaint the entire interior of the house.

        Complainant Response: I had only cancelled two appointment due to illness and being out of town. The two recent appointments were on 1/25/2016 when Jeff finally came to look and Terry (John's brother) was supposed to be present. Terry did not show up. Jeff admitted that the whole house needed to be sanded and repainted "probably due to his helper at the time" Jeff also stated "He had to go back and fix a bunch of jobs because of his helper at the time". I never said once nor did I expect my whole house to be repainted. I have requested throughout this process that I wanted items fixed, paint splatter cleaned off my hardwood floors, light fixtures, and new door hardware.

3.     I then sent her an email on 3/12/16 asking her to select a time so I could inspect the work along with the painter.

        Complainant Response: John did NOT send me an email on 3/12/2016.

4.  Response to that request was to file a complaint with the BBB claiming that I had refused to come to the house.

        Complainant Response: I filed the complain with the BBB the MORNING of Monday, March 14, 2016. I received the email request from John in the afternoon at 12:58 PM on Monday, March 14, 2016. It seems that it is HIS retaliation for me filing a complaint. Especially since I have asked him or his brother to come and view my home so we can come to a resolution on several occasions.

5.     Statement that I refused to answer emails is totally false.  I have answered every one of her emails and have left her numerous voice mails.

        Complainant
Response: As stated in communications already sent to BBB, I let all contractor calls go to voice mail for documentation. John has only left two voicemails. One prior to me hiring their company in August of 2015 and the second on 2/4/2016 when I was with Laryngitis. I emailed him write back. As far as John answering my emails, as you will see in the supporting documentation I have provided BBB, he never responds to specific questions in my emails to him. He has never apologized or offered to come look at the work himself after all these months. He has not offered any resolution to the issues even when almost begging him to please resolve the problems.

6.     Most cases I asked the independent contractor to follow up with her and as I stated earlier, she cancelled several appointments with him.

        Complainant Response:  I was unaware that **** ***** was an independent contractor. I was told he was an employee. As stated in my supporting documentation to BBB, I have cancelled two times due to illness and company travel. Their lack of providing enough notice on when they want to come needs to be more than two days. Weeks/Months would go by with communication from their company or Jeff.

7.    Appears to me that Ms. ******** is trying to avoid paying for the work done and doesn't want the company to have any visual evidence regarding her complaints.

        Complainant Response:  I have asked repeatedely and waited over 7 months for an owner to come look at my home and resolve. Neither John  nor Terry have come to my home. Money for the job has been in my Line of Credit for months. **** ***** their "contractor" has been here twice in the past few months. Nothing has been resolved. I do not appreciate being called a liar or a thief. John Kyees received prompt payment when they completed the painting of my newly finished basement. In  face they received a check that same day after me looking at the work and finding it acceptable work.

8.    This matter will probably have to resolved via legal channels if Ms. ******** continues to refuse to let me see the work
        Complainant Response:  Again, I have asked several times for him or his brother to come see the work. I received no response from John and a no-show from his brother Terry. Still over 7 months later, how much longer do I have to wait. I have responded to him stating that he can come and view the issues; however, I am hiring another contractor to correct the issues.

All I wanted was what was promised and to have a nice painted interior prior to the Thanksgiving holiday in 2015. I had requested several times for him to come and look at the job and he nor his brother ever came.  He has called me a liar and a thief for wanting the issues corrected before payment while waiting for over 7 months trying to get a resolution. It had to resort to a BBB complaint filing for the company to respond the way they should have in October.

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: In almost any painting project the painters return after the completion to complete a punch out list of issues the home owner has identified.  I visited the home with Jeff on Mar. 17, 2016 and told her we would resolve the problems related to our bid.  I sent her a follow up email indicating the dates jeff would come to address the issues.  Ms. ******** refused to allow Jeff to complete the punch out, which is standard with any painnting job.   Since the work on the house is over 90% complete, we have requested payment for the contract minus a 10% retainage for punch out (also standard in any painting project).  Ms. ******** admitted to us that she has not contracted for a project such as this one in the past and apparently doesn't understand the process.  Since there is a signifcant gap in understanding the process, this will probably proceed to legal action so we will be unable to respond to further comments until the legal action is complete.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kyees Construction , LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)