BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Licking Rural Electrification, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Licking Rural Electrification, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 255-6815 Fax: (740) 344-2054 1500 Granville Rd, Newark, OH 43055 http://www.theenergycoop.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states they offer electric and natural gas utility with a propane division.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Licking Rural Electrification, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Licking Rural Electrification, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that in our last three year reporting period our office has processed customer complaints which were closed as resolved, and two customer complaints which were closed as resolved after a delay in response from the firm. Based on BBB files, this company has a satisfactory record with the BBB. To have a "Satisfactory Record" with the BBB, a company must be in business for at least 12 months, properly and promptly address matters referred to it by the BBB, and be free from an unusual volume or pattern of complaints and law enforcement action involving its marketplace conduct. In addition, the BBB must have a clear understanding of the company's business and no concerns about its industry.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Licking Rural Electrification, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 28, 1988 Business started: 04/07/1936 Business started locally: 04/07/1936 Business incorporated: 04/07/1936 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Baker, Director of Marketing and Public Relations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Gary Baker, Director of Marketing and Public Relations
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Electric Companies

Alternate Business Names
Energy Cooperative, The Licking Rural Electric National Gas & Oil Cooperative NGO Development Corporation NGO Propane Producers Gas Sales, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1500 Granville Rd

    Newark, OH 43055 (800) 255-6815

  • PO Box 4970

    Newark, OH 43058

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase Information: Problem Area: Billing Issues Purchase Date: Total Price: $48.00 Disputed Amount: $27.00 Amount Paid So Far: $0.00 Description: The consumer has a complaint against Energy Cooperative. He took over the lease for his home at the beginning of March. He moved in on 3/27/14. They are trying to make him pay the bill for the past tenants charges. The current bill is for 48 dollars, 27 of it is the past tenant's charges.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution: He wants the 27 dollars erased from his bill.

Business Response:

As a courtesy to Mr. ******, The Energy Cooperative has credited his account for $27.00.  Legally we believe that Mr. ****** is responsible for the bill starting with the meter reading we have for 3/1/14 which was 2746 because the lease began 3/1/2014.  We also have a copy of his lease that shows he moved in on 3/1/14.  In addition we contacted the landlord by phone and he also stated the Mr. Taylor moved in on 3/1/14. Again, we have credited the $27.00 to Mr. ******s acccount as he has requested as a courtesy to the member.

Consumer Response: At 10:13 am I returned a call to Mr. ****** regarding his complaint.  During the phone call, I  read verbatim the business response to his complaint received on April 22, 2014, which Mr. ****** stated that he had not received.  Mr. ****** verbally accepted the response and confirmed that BBB could close his complaint RESOLVED.  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer has a complaint against Energy Cooperative. He has a cabin in Ohio. This electric company is charging him 20 dollars per month although he does not go to the cabin during every month.

Desired Settlement: He wants them to stop charging him for electricity when it is not being used.

Business Response:   The complainant is refering to a $20 monthly facilities charge paid by every member of The Energy Cooperative to cover a portion of the service and maintenance of electric lines, poles, electric meters, transformers, natural gas lines, pumps, gas meters and other items that support the permanent assets within the infrastructure on The Energy Cooperative’s system. Even though the electric or gas is not in use, our line walkers, meter readers, maintenance workers, engineers, etc. are all still working to keep the system running safely and efficiently. It is important that we ensure that the electric and pipeline system is safe and reliable when The Energy Cooperative members use our system, even if the usage is occasional.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer has a complaint against The Energy Cooperative. She has tried to file the complaint with the PUCO, but they will not take the complaint since it is a co-op. She was facing disconnection on November 21, 2012. She gave them an amount in October that was supposed to prevent her from being disconnected. Also, she told them it would be mid-November when she could make the rest of the payment. They disconnected her electric today although the disconnect date was on 11/21. She was going to set up payments for Friday morning. Energy Co-op will not accept HEAP assistance. She has kids at home and has nowhere to go.

Desired Settlement: She wants them to reconnect her electric without a fee and allow her to pay it.

Business Response:

The Energy Cooperative member-owner, or customer, that has noted this complaint is provided electric service on the system.  Since signing up for the electric service in November of 2011, service technicians made calls to the member-owner’s property to disconnect or reconnect the service in February, May and November of 2012.  The member-owner has historically been and is currently in arrears on the electric bill for the property service. On several occasions our member-service representatives have talked with the member-owner regarding payment of the past due bill and made arrangements for delayed and or extended payments.  On October 15th the member-owner talked with one of our member-service representatives and agreed to make a payment of $400 before November 19th, 2012.  Even with a payment of $400, the member-owner would still be delinquent as of 11/20/12.  When the agreed upon payment was not made by the agreed upon date, the service was disconnected.  The member owner did receive the monthly bill stating that the cutoff date was 11/21/2012.  However, it clearly states in the bill that “Due date does NOT APPLY to previous balance due, payment arrangements or reversal of a previous payment”.  After the member-owner placed a scathing message on our Facebook page stating the following message, “The Energy Cooperative shut our power off before our given disconnect date in order to coerce money out of us over the holidays. “ Our member-services quickly responded to her once again.  On Wednesday, November 21st, the member-owner’s power was reconnected based on the agreement that the member-owner would write a postdated check for $400 dated, Monday, November 26th, 2012.  At that time a $50.00 reconnected fee was assessed for the reconnect.  The Energy Cooperative has, on several occasions, extended due dates, set up payment plans and removed fees for this member-owner. Again, the $50.00 reconnect fee mentioned above has been removed and to date the member-owner is delinquent. 

The Energy Cooperative is owned by member-owners.  Those member-owners depend on responsible and practical management practices.  The Energy Cooperative has provided several opportunities for this member owner to delay payments and carry over past due bills for the electric service. 

*** ****** ***********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Energy Co-op promised to send a tech to connect gas and start our service on October 3rd. We waited all day but no one came. We called to initiate service with The Energy Co-op on September 14th when we discovered that the gas tank on our property had been disconnected prior to our taking residence in our home. They took a $400 security deposit and promised to have a tech out on October 3rd, over 2 weeks later. They advised us to wait at home "all day" because they could not guarantee a service time. Finally at ten minutes til 5:00 pm on October 3rd after waiting all day we called the company. They left us on hold for 15 minutes, then came on and said that they were sorry they could not get to us on the 3rd because they were too busy. When my wife complained that we had initiated the service request half a month earlier she was put on hold for another 5 minutes and then told that they didn't even have a work order for us, despite having collected the security deposit. Finally after a second escalation another rep came back on the phone and said that someone would be out "later", but refused to give a time or let us know how long the service call would take. We've sat in a freezing cold house for three days while the temperatures outside have gone to near freezing every night this weekend, then waited all day only to be put on the back burner, so to speak. I would think a new service request, with a prepaid security deposit of $400 that was scheduled over two weeks earlier would be the first service call of the day. Instead we are still waiting for service to be turned on.

Desired Settlement: I would like half of our security deposit returned. They requested a deposit from us because they felt we were unreliable and a risk to their business. I now feel that as a company they are unreliable and we cannot count on THEIR service. A return of at least half of the deposit seems reasonable. I would also like a credit on our first bill equivalent to three days worth of service. One day for the full day of waiting on the day the service was supposed to be activated, and two days as compensation for their rude treatment of my wife.

Business Response: The propane business is a very competitive and we do all we can to offer metered propane at a competitive price. We do not do hook-ups on the weekends to avoid as much overtime as possible. Mr. (****) scheduled the hook-up for October 3rd so the fact that he sat 3 days in the cold is not our fault. Mr. (****) is correct that the hook-up of his service on October 3rd was delayed and to avoid overtime, we asked to do his hook-up the next day. He refused, so we sent a Serviceman to complete the hook-up on the scheduled day. Because we offer metered propane service (pay after use instead of bulk fill and pay prior to usage) we run a credit report through (****). Security deposits are based on those (****) reports and we do not randomly decide who or how much security deposits will be. Because Mr. (****) does not feel we are reliable, we\'ll offer one of the following resolutions: 1. Remove our propane tank and refund his $400 security deposit. He may select another provider. 2. Credit his account one-half the security deposit ($200) He may contact (****) at XXX-XXX-XXXX, extension (****). Again, the hook-up came on his scheduled day, so compensating for that is not and option. For the rude service, we apologize and offer a $25 courtesy adjustment on his first bill.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1