BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Columbus TWO MEN AND A TRUCK® franchise was founded in 1993. Two Men and a Truck is a woman owned, full service Commercial and Residential moving company.  Our experienced staff completed over 8000 moves last year.  We also offer Interstate & Intrastate moving services.

Core Competencies:
-Interstate/Intrastate moves
-Experienced commercial & residential movers
-Pre-move Consulting
-Corporate Relocation
-Full Service Movers with a complete line of boxes, supplies and packing services

Differentiators
-We use only our own employees, no day labor or
temps
-Our employees are fully trained professionals
-We are insured and bonded
-We do complete background checks and drug screens on all our employees
-We move 7 days a week
-Professional organizing services are available
-Guaranteed delivery date, no delivery windows

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 06, 1993 Business started: 07/01/1993 in OH Business started locally: 07/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Ms. Gail C. Kelley, President Kurt Baker Mr. Steve Barton, General Manager Mr. John Kelley, Vice President Ms. Carly Turcu, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Barton, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Gail C. Kelley, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Safes & Vaults Travel & Moving Services Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
Nest Tenders, Ltd. Two Men & A Truck/Central Ohio, Inc. Two Men and a Truck/Central Ohio, Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Additional Locations

  • 5083 Westerville Rd

    Columbus, OH 43231 (614) 224-6683 (614) 423-4842

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 423-4842(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son moved on a Saturday, July 12 and engaged Two Men and a Truck.I was paying for this move. We were not told that the rate on a weekend ismore then during the week. Also, we were told there would be three men and that the move time would be cut by one third. This did not happen.We were not give the correct information before this move which cost 562.00 to move a very small one bdr apartment, very few pieces of furniture. It took about 3 hrs. time.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund because of being given false information.

Business Response: I have attached the estimate contract that was agreed upon prior to move day. This was emailed as confirmation, as well as discussed and covered the day of the move. We estimated this job to take 2 hours with 3 movers. We did complete the move in 2 hours, and we did send 3 movers the day of the move. The price agreed upon was $562.50 and this is the price we charged?

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern; My complaint is the value of the services delivered. The amount I paid (over $2,300) greatly exceeds the services I received. I paid top dollar for what I thought was a professional moving company and got a team of inexperienced temporary workers. My complaint calls have been unreturned and I have deputed what I believe to be the amount I overpaid which is $1,200.00. I have used TWO MEN AND A TRUCK for two moved. I first used TWO MEN AND A TRUCK when I moved into my condo 9 years ago. In 2004, I was impressed by the crew's professionalism, ingenuity, and efficiency. I was so impressed by my first experience that I opted to pay for packing in addition to moving. The crew that came to the very same condo Saturday, June 14, 2014 was anything but experienced. With the exception of the driver, *****, it was painfully obvious that 2 out of the 3 crew members were extremely inexperienced. One mover (********) was almost comically slow in all is actions (he even arrived over two hours late!). He repeatedly refused to listen to instructions from the driver. His failure to heed *****'s instructions resulted in a picture frame being damaged (this was promptly reimbursed, thankfully). At one point, I found all our bed linens in a heap on the floor of the public elevator lobby of our building instead of being packed in a wardrobe as instructed. There were dozens of items that were not packed in boxes and transported "as-is" despite having paid for the packing service. After complaining repeatedly about the lack of progress on the day of the move (I had to leave voicemails and my calls were not returned), TWO MEN AND A TRUCK eventually sent another truck and 4 more men. That crew seemed a lot more experienced and professional. This second crew arrived about five and a half hours after the first crew. The overall move took over 11 hours to complete, even with the additional movers. We found various gouges in the walls where the movers did not know how to handle the couches and other large items. We had to tell them to take the feet off the couch (a basic bit of knowledge that anyone who has ever moved a couch should already know). I also had to instruct them how to handle a box spring. They actually tried to turn around in a narrow hallway instead of backing out and backing into the stair well. This was in stark contrast to the crew the moved me into that 3 story, downtown condo nine years ago. The tricks of the trade, such as how to efficiently stage, load, and unload an elevator, seem to have been lost in less than a decade. The care for one's personal belongings was also sorely lacking in this most recent move. This is evidence that the level of service from TWO MEN AND A TRUCK has dropped considerably in the intervening nine years. Of the original crew, I believed ***** was a consummate professional that was saddled with under-qualified staff. The junior members of the crew admitted that they have been working for the company only for a few weeks and it showed. ***** shared with me that due to this inexperienced crew, the job was going to take a lot longer. I still tipped ***** even though I was profoundly disappointed with the service overall. I actually felt sorry for him to be working for such a poorly managed company. While performing the pre-move estimation on Tuesday, June 10th, I went into very explicit detail with ******* **** as to the inventory of all the rooms that would need to be packed. It became obvious that the resource requirements was greatly under estimated and that TWO MEN AN A TRUCK sent a skeleton crew of temporary, unexperienced labor while charging outlandish and greatly inflated professional service fees. I will have to move again in about 20 days and I am reluctant to use or recommend TWO MEN AND A TRUCK unless this matter is resolved. It is unacceptable to not return customer calls and it is unacceptable to overcharge for diminished levels of service. 

Desired Settlement: I have contacted TWO MEN AND A TRUCK, Westerville, OH directly via phone as well as through their online customer satisfaction surveys. I requested to be contacted three times and have not heard back. My complaint is the price I was charged for the services delivered. The amount I paid (over $2,300) greatly exceeds the value of services I received. I paid top dollar for what I thought was a professional moving company and got a team of inexperienced temporary workers. My complaint calls have been unreturned and I have disputed what I believe to be the amount I overpaid which is $1,200.00.

Business Response: Mr.*****, Thank you again for the feedback you provided in regards to your most recent service. We never set out to provide customers with a poor experience, yet when it does occur we do intend to make every effort to correct the concerns. As discussed on the phone today you have used our services and were pleased in the past. I assure you this is not a common practice with our company and would like another opportunity to prove we still have what it takes to duplicate what you received in 2004. Please contact me directly if you still feel you would like to utilize our services and I will personally assign the crew. My refund offer still stands for $500 that I can have refunded back to the card you paid with the day of your last move in June. Please follow up with me once you have a had a chance to discuss with your wife over the weekend. I completely understand that you must feel you have received your moneys worth. Have a great weekend.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Two Men and A Truck to move me approximately 6 miles. I had a two bedroom apt although one bedroom was used as an office. Approximately 5 years ago they moved me 5 miles, practically from the same location, into the apartment for $200. The man on the phone quoted me $978 or close to it, to move me, indicating it would take 5 hours. I told him it should not take 5 hours, as it only took them 2 hours to move me into the apartment and I only had two additional pieces of furniture from back then. He said it was $142 per hour. When he quoted me the price of $978 I had told him there would be a bed and dresser in the garage which was not attached and that there would be patio furniture and 26 boxed in addition to all of my furniture. However, **** and I moved the patio furniture, we took care of the items in the garage and we moved all the furniture except for the heavy stuff and all of the boxes, except 8, 9 if you count the ****** box they moved too. The movers arrived and looked around, they asked about the items in the garage and I told them we took care of that, the patio furniture, all of the smaller furniture and the patio furniture. He told me it would save me some money, but that they wrapped stuff now to protect it. They wound up charging my $857!! Highway robbery. I will NEVER recommend them again. It seems to me they took their time and milked it to charge more money...also, how can we move most every thing for you and you only take off $100?

Desired Settlement: I think some of our money should be refunded.

Business Response: I have left this customer a voicemail, as well as sent a follow up email. I would like to investigate these concerns with the customer before I proceed.

Consumer Response: All they did was call me and left me a voice mail message and sent me an email telling me has called me and let a message. I called him back and left him a voice mail and have not heard anything since. He wanted to know when they moved me the first time to check their older records as if moving someone from a one bedroom with office, i 6 miles for $857 is reasonable regardless. I'm g out to try to locate the cashed check from the original move.
































Business Response: I understand you have some concerns with your move that took place on December 20th. Here is where I have concern in regards to what took place. We provided you with an estimate to move on December 4th when you spoke with our CSR. Our estimate to move you was based on what was discussed. I understand you quoted some items that you took care of yourself. When we provided you with a quote that was higher than what you expected I'm not sure why this was accepted at all? The estimate was for $928.00, below is how this broke down.   5 Hours X $142 = $710.00 Service Fee =        $140.00 Full Coverage =     $78.00 -------------------------------- Total Estimate =     $928.00   We quoted this price to you over the phone, we sent an email as confirmation of our estimate, we did a confirmation call prior to move day, and we presented the contract the day of the move stating the estimate that was given to you. You stated we moved you in 2008 for a little over $200? The only price we would have given for a little over $200 would have been a 3 piece flat fee back in 2008 and this would not have covered a 2 bedroom apartment from a 2nd floor. I believe we had given several opportunities to discuss this estimate prior to your payment and yet we still did not receive your dissatisfaction until the moving process is complete.    We take several steps to confirm our moving process from start to finish and I feel we had done our part to describe what to expect. With that being said we find this concern to be closed.                           

Business Response: I wanted to follow up from a recent dispute with a customer we recently did a service for. Her name is ******* ***. I have contacted her and actually have an appointment tonight at 6 pm to meet at her house to discuss her concerns. The actual log in on the website would not let me respond to her rejection. She accepted my invite, I would like to see first hand the service that was completed. Thanks.
 
 

Business Response: Hope your trying to stay warm, I know I'm over it.  I wanted to respond to you and let you know what came of ******* ***, she was a customer complaint. I understand she rejected my last posted response on the website. Since then I have already met with her at her residence to review her concerns. I wanted to see first hand how bad she felt the situation and service really was. I will have to say I could not find her in our system from 2008 when she sates she used our services before and it was much cheaper to move the same items. When I met with her she was not even 100% confident that she used our company before. After speaking with her and reviewing the items moved we were not far of in my opinion. I believe she compared our pricing to another company and yes were are more expensive. She felt 100% of the move was poor. After my investigation I believe we were responsible for about 25% of her concern. Just for good measure I agreed to refund her $200 of her original payment as a good will gesture in hopes she will use and recommend our services in the future. I have copied and attached a few emails back in response after we met with her. Thanks. (Emails in complaint file)  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Two Men and a Truck to move me from one home to another about 10 miles apart & to pack my kitchen and garage.Packing is $175/hr and was originally told it should take approximately 4 hours. I was billed for 6 and most of the packing the materials that were used were my personal items although I was told they would come with everything they needed. When I went to unpack my garage items looked as if they had been tossed into the box with no surrounding packing on glass or breakables and my large framed prints were simply in large boxes with no packing so they were unsecure in their boxes. One of the prints had to be reframed due to damage and some of the items from the garage were broken and had to be replaced. Total packing was $1050 with $350 refunded.Original estimate for move: $1070 Move out cost: $2138.50Move back in cost: $1979On the move out they had to go and get a 2nd truck as everything would not fit into the original truck. I was billed for this extra time. There was a delay of 1 week in the move so my items were stored by Two Men and a Truck for a fee. Once my items were returned and I began to unpack, I realized there were several items missing (slats to bed, legs to tables, feet to shelves, lids to kitchen items but no bottoms, etc) and that there was a large scratch next to the mirror on my dresser. This was repaired and the company sent out supervisors to meet with me in person on 2 separate occasions-the first man left the company so I spent several weeks trying to figure out why he was not contacting me back. The second meeting was 2 people of which one of them assured me that they would not have unloaded my items and then reloaded them that was not standard but I was billed for the hours of unloading and reloading trucks (he agreed that was true once he saw my invoice). The final solution was a refund of $500 to cover my lost and damaged items and a sincere apology from the new supervisor that this was not a good experience.

Desired Settlement: I asked for an additional refund of $2000 for the lost and damaged items, the packing which was completely substandard and the overall discrepancies between the original quotes and actual charges. As above, I was given $500 and a sincere apology and assurance that the issue would be discussed further with a manager/owner. I emailed and phoned the corporate office only to be told they were discussing with Columbus office and someone should be contacting me. No additional refunds given.

Business Response:

This email is in response to **** ******** moving experience with TWO MEN AND A TRUCK between July 24th and August 1st 2013. We addressed several concerns in regards to the packing service and the damage claims. We have refunded $350 for the packing service and we have settled on $500 for the damage claims. We did move all items from point A to Point B, understanding the experience was not up to the expectations that we promote. We are willing to offer a $1000.00 refund as a good will gesture for good customer relations. We feel if we can meet 110% of our original estimate we have succeeded. If the above offer is accepted I will refund this credit to the credit card used the day of the move. Thank you, have a great day.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I understand that a $1000 credit will be applied to my discover card. I appreciate the good faith gesture. Thank you.   

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 31st 2013 this company moved me into my new house. On top of moving fees we also purchased their full replacement insurance policy. After the move the next day we discovered that they damaged my walls, scratched my hardwood floor and damaged our dining room table. We contacted the company the next day and reported the damage. The service manager ****** did come out to inspect the damage and said that the company will take care of it. Since that time the communication has bee terrible. I have to follow up constantly with them to get anywhere. After numerous phone calls they finally took care of the walls and the table but not the floor. I leave messages with ****** and do not get calls back. It has been over 6 weeks now and my floor is still not fixed all I get is a runaround that another company will call me but no one does.

Desired Settlement: I request that my floor be fixed within next 2 weeks or I request a refund of $1500 to redo my floors and any other expense that might be involved with doing it.

Business Response:

I reviewed the concern attached to this complaint from the BBB. I have found that our wood floor vender had several concerns trying to locate the wood that was used when this floor was installed. We patiently waited and trusted that our vender would be able to locate the wood floors from many resources. This has become unsuccessful up to this point. We are in communication with this customer and agree to give this customer two options. We can either have our vender set an appointment to have the floors refinished, which I cannot guarantee this will take place in two weeks based on venders schedule. Or we can have our wood floor vender provide us with a written quote for the refinish and we will be willing to reimburse based on the written quote provided to TWO MEN AND A TRUCK. Once again we apologize for any concerns and we intend to work with this customer to the fullest.

Consumer Response: I have provided two men and a truck with a written quote from THEIR  vendor, yet they refuse to cover the amount on the quote.  I am attaching the quote.  I request that they reimburse me in the amount of $4647 which is what it would take to fix the damage on the floors.  I will also have to be compensated to move out of my house for at least a week and to move all the furniture out and back into the house.































Business Response:

We have informed this customer that we will be filing this claim with our insurance company based on the large claim amount. The insurance company will take all measures from here to resolve this claim.

Consumer Response: The company in their previous response said that they will take care of the costs of fixing the floors.  They are now changing their story.  I also purchased an insurance policy from Two men and a truck for a full replacement of any damage done so they are the ones who should take care of my damages and not pass this to their insurance company.  If they sell insurance and they are not covering the damages that is insurance fraud and I will address that with attorney general. 





























Business Response:

We do offer coverage options to our customers prior to the move taking place. The coverage options cover the items that we physically move. If the home is damaged then we review the claim and make a decision on how to best approach the damage claim and we do communicate this to our customers. We are not denying the claim, but we are having a claims adjuster review the claim and make a decision based on the adjusters review.

Consumer Response: I have not heard from the insurance company.  As I have said before it is the responsibility of two men and the truck to reimburse me.



























Business Response:

Since the last response the concerned customer has spoken to our insurance company and has all contact information needed to proceed with the floor claim.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Two men and a truck failed to refund the cost of the damaged floor as per their first response to BBB.





























Consumer Response: Mr. ***** called BBB to report that he has not been able to communicate with Two Men & A Truck's insurance company. He needs the business to contact their insurance company so that his claim can be processed.

Business Response: Mr. ***** has been provided the contact information for Two Men and A Trucks insurance company. The claims adjuster was investigating the claim and was communicating with Mr. *****.

Business Response: I spoke to our insurance representitive and she has spoken to the claims adjuster and the appraisser in regards to this claim. As a request from the customer he will have his preferred vender evaluate the the damaged floor and will sand, buff, and reseal the area of the floor that was damaged. This was a decision that the customer, as well as the appraiser discussed.

Consumer Response: The company is lying.  I have never requested this.  The flooring company already tried to repair the floor over 2 months ago and was unsuccessful.  Flooring company said that in order to be able to fix and match the floor the entire flooring in the house would have to be redone.  They left a quote of $4647 to do this plus we would have to leave and stay out of the house for at least a week while this will be done.  That means there would be an expense of hotel, moving and storing the furniture and boarding our pets.  As I requested in my previous response at this point I want an arbitration to take place and get this matter resolved.





























Business Response: From: Steve
Barton <Steve.Barton@twomen.com>

Date: Mon, Oct 14, 2013 at 1:43 PM

Subject: ID 9627111 - ****** *****

To: "disputeresolution@columbus-ohbbb.org"
<disputeresolution@columbus-ohbbb.org>
I have been working through a claim with ****** ***** the last several months and he
has now requested arbitration through the BBB. I accept this request and would
like to know how to proceed on behalf of TWO MEN AND A TRUCK. Please respond
back to me when you get a moment and I would like to discuss the details.

Thanks for your assistance in this matter.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


















Business Response: Attached you will find a check cut for ****** *****. We settled before it made it to arbitration and was informed by *** that we would need to provide proof that we settled. ****** came to our office today and picked up the settlement check and signed the release form. 
 
Customer Concern Closed.
 
If you have further questions please feel free to contact me. Thanks, have a great day.
 
 

Consumer Response: Consumer called BBB and advised that he and the business have reached a settlement and the matter is resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired two men and a truck to pack us and move us.They allowed 5 hours @ 264.00 per hour for packing,it took them thirteen hours.they packed things like grocery sacks, One light bulb in a large box they packed over 300 boxes a lot of the boxes were under packed cost $2000.00 This was done on 6/18/13.The movers came on 6/20/13 there estimate was 8 hours turned out to be eleven hours @ $264.00 per hour plus a service charge of $256.00 and extra charges $240.00 for a total of $3400.00.Total cost of move $5000.00 plus $400.00 in tips.The original estimate was $3500.00.The packers over packed to create more time for packing and extra time for the movers.No one should do business with this company unless they have a guaranteed fixed price.If no resolution in this matter is made,I will inform all realtors and friends of how they do business.

Desired Settlement: I think two men and a truck should refund at least $1000.00

Business Response: This particular customer met with an onsite estimator at their residents to review the items we would be moving. Anytime we send out an estimator to visually inspect the customers residents we feel if we are 110% of the original estimate then this is acceptable. In this case we did not attain an addendum signed by the customer for the overage on estimate. If we were to cap the original estimate at 110% of the quote this would be a refund of $899.00. If the customer accepts our refund offer in full of $899.00 I will make sure the credit card used the day of the service is refunded. Thank you, have a great day.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged wood floors. Damaged door handle.Quote estimators are sandbagging (underestimating) estimates and then requiring you to agree to additional charges while they are 3/4 of the way through the move.

Desired Settlement: cost to repair damaged wood floors and cost to replace door handle.

Business Response: We have spoken to this customer and agreed with these concerns. We have agreed to refund the customer accordingly and set up an appointment for the damage claims discussed in the previous email. Closed Concern.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company engages is fraudulent business practices. The reservation people did not inform the movers of what my moving job was. The movers were probably the slowest moving people I have ever seen. There were charges I was not aware of and the way they bill is shady at best. There was a pack fee of 175 dollars, a trip fee, and then after the initial hour you went to the moving fee. My job should have been very simple as it was a two bedroom/one bath house. I wanted them to pack my goods and transfer them to a storage facility. They did not wrap many things, they did not have the correct materials (wrapping paper) to pack some things, they were sloppy in the way they treated my things, and they took an excessively long time. The managers do not answer their phones. You leave a message and they call you back. I will never ever use this company again. They are a ripoff and engage in questionable things with time to move and how they pack and arrange things. Do not use them.

Desired Settlement: I think they should refund me two hours.

Consumer Response: The dispute has been resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called to get a quote I very clearly explained to **** the size and scope of the job. Movers were to pack and move the entire contents of our one bedroom apartment including a small office, a living room, a kitchen, and the contents of the attic. I was given a quote based on that description of a total of 5-6 hours of labor, lasting roughly fm 9am to 2 or 3pm.When the movers arrived at 9:30, they were surprised to learn than they were moving the entire apartment and not just two or three rooms. The packing process lasted until around 5pm--more than double the original quote--but the movers left so many items at our apartment unpacked that I have made two trips back and forth between it and our new house and I still haven't gotten it all.The job was not complete until after 8pm and the total bill was almost $1800. This was well in excess of the original quote and well over the amount of money that I had budgeted for the move--one that hasn't even been completed yet, four days later. I was irritated at the bill, but I was absolutely livid when one of the movers told me that this is a regular occurrence at this company.I am left wondering--is this a scam? Does this company make money by giving competitive quotes to their potential customers only to charge 30% more once the business is secured? We were planning on using that money to furnish our new house but instead we had to dump it into a moving job that neither of us are satisfied with. Needless to say it has left a very bad taste in our mouths and we are actively advising our friends and our real estate agent not to use or recommend this company in the future.

Desired Settlement: Anything less than a partial refund of our bill will simply be a hollow gesture from a company with a history of questionable business practices.

Business Response: This email is in regards to a letter we received from the BBB for a ******** ***** concern. My name is ***** ******, General Manager for TWO MEN AND A TRUCK. ***** ***** was the previous GM and he is no longer with the company. In the future can you please put me down as the point of contact going forward. This is why this concern has not been dealt with up into this point.
 
Do you mind if I contact this customer and resolve on our own and just email you back with my response and resolution. I can already see where the concern comes from and believe I can take it from here. Please advise on what you recommend I do. Thank you, have a great day.
 
 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. It is acceptable that the business contact me directly.

Regards,





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scheduled to move August 30th between 3-5pm. They had told me that they were going to send me 3 guys instead of 2 because I only had big, bulky, heavy items that needed moved, I had moved all boxes myself. The crew did not show up until 6:45pm, so an hour and 45 min late. Upon arrival I see that they also sent two females and one male to move my heavy items. I had to call them to ask for guys to come out because when I showed the females my bedroom furniture they made the comment that they wouldn't be able to move it. On top of being late and sending me packers instead of movers (I found this out later in the night) the crew did not have tools to take apart my bedroom furniture. They finally started moving me at 7pm and another crew, 2 males, showed up at 7:40pm. While waiting for the second crew to show up, one of the females and the male attempted to get a piece of my sectional leather couch on the elevator. I explained to them that they would need to take the legs off because that is how we got it up there. They refused to listen and scratched off the leather on all 4 corners of the piece and almost snapped the piece in half because they set off the fire alarm on the elevator two times. When the 2nd crew got there, they were frendly and polite and apologized for the packers being sent out when the invoice said moving only. I appreciated the apology. Even though they were nice, they damaged my fitted sheet (not sure how), my dining room table (because they were too lazy to take the legs off, so it got scartched all up, my bed frame, 2 of my dressers, and my bar piece. I have been trying to get in contact with *****, the claims manager and he has not had enough respect to even call me back. I have left 5 voicemails and a few emails, and not even a call or email back. The email that he did send me explained that if I was planning on keeping any items, I would not get any money back for them. I just want my stuff fixed and probably a new couch since its ruined

Desired Settlement: I want ***** and a claims person out at my house to look at the damages that his people did. His tone in the email he sent was not nice and I do not appreciate it. It almost feels like since I went with the insurance that they offer for free, it was not a big deal to the movers to bang everything that I own up. If I wanted my stuff ruined, I would have moved it myself, not hired a professional moving company to do so.

Business Response:

I did receive your voicemail this morning regarding your damages. I was also given a copy of your email to Jake that you sent on Friday. I am off on Friday and Saturday, that's why I am just now getting back to you. I am out of the office on another damage inspection but at least wanted to touch base with you about your concerns.

I have written down that your couch was damaged, the leather was scratched and ripped all around. Your dining room table legs are scratched up and your bedroom furniture is scratched.

I understand you had other frustrations the day of your move as well. Packers were sent out instead of movers as well as the crew not having tools. I see here that your move went 4.75 hours but it was capped at 2 hours plus a 10% discount. So that takes care of the service issue.

As far as the damages go, I can give you an additional reimbursement of $300.00. That could be put towards the repairs if you that's what you wanted to do. That brings the total to $105.80 down from $890.25.

Let me know if you have any questions or concerns and I'll get back to you as soon as possible.

Thanks,

***** ********

Claims Manager

2nd response to ******:

******,

 I would be glad to come out and assess the damage. We can set up a time that is convenient for you.

The amount of reimbursement or repair is based on your coverage. We offer Full Replacement Coverage and Depreciated Value Coverage to customers who want protection over our Minimum Coverage which is included free with every move. With your minimum coverage, the value of reimbursement is 60 cents per pound per item. So if you would like, I can weigh the furniture and calculate it that way. And then you can repairs done as you see fit. If an item is not completely damaged, then that reimbursement amount is lowered for repairs. We would not be paying the whole reimbursement amount to do a repair on an item that you would be keeping. All of this is explained in our Pre Move letter that was sent to you or given to you the day of the move.

If you have any questions please let me know.

Thanks,

***** ********

Claims Manager

 

We are attempting to work ****** in the manner that is needed to resolve this complaint.  Please advise how we can proceed, as He has already offered to come and assess the damages in person.

 

 

Consumer Response: That last email was sent to me a week ago and I have called and left voicemails almost daily with ***** which he has not returned.  He is claiming that he can set up a day and time to come out and assess damages, yet does not have the decency to call me to set it up, or respond to my latest email I sent him a week ago today.  


Had he responded or called me like I asked him to, this would have been resolved and I wouldn't have filed a complaint with you guys.  I suggested coming out last Friday, September 7th and it is now September 13th and I haven't heard two words from ***** since last Wednesday September 5th.  I have called him daily and left a voicemail with him daily, I have the phone calls saved to prove this.


Regards,






























Business Response:

I have spoken with Andrea and will be visiting her myself on Tuesday afternoon. 

***** *****

General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was referred to these movers from my fianc mother who had used them before and had great service. Scheduling the move was very easy and they showed up on time and made it to the new place on time, however the men seemed rushed to get out. The one guy was putting together the bed frame as the other one was going over paperwork. The guy was very rushed going over the paperwork and stated that everything was in fine shape and told me to sign, he didn't give me the opportunity to look at anything that was moved. The guy putting the bed frame together rushed out the door and I was forced to sign the paper without getting a chance to see if anything was damaged. I called the next day because everything single item that was moved had a chunk of wood out of it and scratches all over. Everything was basicly new, only a year old and barely used. I called 2 times the day after our move and was told that someone would call me back and I never received a call. I have since then called 10 times and also called their corporate number and still no return phone call!!!! I just want a phone call and a appology. Very bad business treating customers like this. My soon to be mother in law has called them 5 times and no response either.

Desired Settlement: I'm not looking for a full refund just something. I now have to have someone come fix the mess that was left behind.

Business Response: This complaint has been resolved to the consumer's satisfaction.  Please verify with the consumer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Me and my husband used two men and a truck to move to our new house. They did a very good job, and we tipped them very well. They charged us $ 578. 00 for their services and I wrote the check for that amount to them on July 5th of 2012. On July 9th, the check was processed by my bank( ***). On July 31st, I was checking my bank statement online and noticed that I have been charged again by two men and a truck for the amount of $ 578.00.This time they processed the same check using my electronic information, which I believe is highly illegal !I went to my bank and filed a dispute, and also contacted Two Men and a Truck. I spoke to ****, who would not let me speak to the manager, saying that he would not be able to help me and I need to speak to the secretary. Her name was ******. She told me that she could not help me that night and that she would call me back next morning without even asking my name or a phone number. Still waiting for her phone call.....That charge of $ 578.00 caused me an overdraft and I have a $0.00 balance on my savings account for over a week.

Desired Settlement: Get my money back.

Business Response: We have worked through the banks and communicated with our customer and the issue has been resolved.  There was an error with our check scanner when scanning that day's deposit.  The matter has been closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Acquired Two Men and a Truck to move me from 6020 **** **** Court to current location of 2878 ****** Drive. They did move me but in the process damaged my TV stand Glass shelve, as well as losing parts of the TV stand. The also scuffed up the hall way walls leading to the upstairs bedrooms. The job that was done had taken an hour longer than it should have, due to the Lead worker started to take excessive time to load and unload the truck. After talking to several personnel at Two men and a Truck and lots of lies as well as 2 weeks going on the third week; the issue has not been resolved. I would now like intervention to get the company to do as it said it would.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund and replacement of my TV stand; due to being totally dissatisfied with their service and the damage to my property.

Business Response: This claim has been resolved.  The glass has been replaced and the other damages closed as well.  It seems there was some miscommunication between our office and the customer, but all was resolved within 30 days of the move date.  We will not be refunding the customer, as the claims have been resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Attached are images of a damaged coffee table and a photo of a similar replacement table. My coffee table was damaged during a move on April 10th. As noted in a comment section of a survey completed on this move, the movers did not wrap or pack the furniture with enough care to prevent the possibility of damage. The damage to the coffee table foot was not noted in this move as furniture defects were noted in my previous two moves with Two Men and a Truck. Being that the original coffee table is an heirloom, I do not have a receipt for this item. As for the replacement value of the coffee table, the attached image of the replacement table is from the ************** in ******. The replacement table with less trim detail recently sold for $1495.00. To date, Two Men and a Truck have not been very thorough or helpful in repairing or replacing this table. I shouldn't have to do all the footwork or take most of the photos for damage done by your movers. Your claims agent should have sources other than "**********" for fine furniture replacement. It is a shame considering how helpful your office was in accomidating my move dates and the quality of care and professionalism of your first two crews, that your image is being tarnished by the last crew and your claims agent.

Desired Settlement: Consumer did not specify desired settlement.

Business Response: We have contacted Mr. ****** last week and have obtained some information and are awaiting the information regarding the numbers on the bottom of the table. He stated he would send them to me asap. He has ****** ******'s (GM) contact information.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Non-delivery of an 28 foot aluminum extension ladder. Also over charging for their service. Date of move was Tues. July 19, Job (****) . We contracted for 2 men and 3 showed up. Original estimate was for 4 hours @ $109/hr with a service charge of $116. Half way through loading the truck they revised the estimate to add an additional 60 boxes and to add an additional 1 hr. When the truck was nearly full, they asked what specific items we wanted on. We told them the 28 ft extension ladder as well as other items. When the truck was completely full, there were at least 40 boxes left in the basement and garage. That required us to rent a truck ourselves and make 2 trips across town to load and unload the items left by the movers. No 28 ft extension ladder was unloaded from the movers truck. All in all the move took 7 and 3/4 hours and was incomplete due to the amount of boxes and items left at the house. Numerous calls to the movers didnt get a satisfactory solution to the issues. I then escallated the problem up to (****)After trading several voice messages he stopped returning my calls.

Desired Settlement: A full replacement of the 28 foot aluminum extension ladder lost and a partial refund for the overage charged for an over-estimated time and incomplete move.

Business Response: We have been attempting to work with Mr. (****)for quite some time including the phone tag he is referring to in his complaint. In the interest of settling this concern, we would like to offer the following settlement. The 28' ladder is rated as a 65.5 lbs. shipping weight by (****). Mr. (****) elected Minimal coverage prior to the move, meaning $0.60 per pound. This equates to $39.30 as reimbursement for lost goods. Although we do not assume that this ladder came into our possesion, we would like to offer this in the interest of customer satisfaction. As for the overage of the estimate, we have a revision for 6 hours of service and we charged for 7 hours of service. We will refund the difference of $109 to Mr. (****) in the interest of customer satisfaction. The total amount to Mr.(****)for service refund/damages would be $148.30. Please let us know if that is to be accepted.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I feel that 2 Men have only made a half-hearted effort to resolve my complaint. Its been 5 months to get to this point and I am just tired of continuing on. So I am accepting their offer. Damaged goods are one thing but a 28 foot ladder that just comes up missing is another. Their paperwork indicated a ladder was on the manifest and I have a witness that it was loaded onto their truck. $39.30 doesnt even come close to the replacement cost of the ladder. Even though I have accepted their offer, I am very dissatisfied with their service and handling of this matter and will never use or recommend them again.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

10/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service