Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Columbus TWO MEN AND A TRUCK® franchise was founded in 1993. Two Men and a Truck is a woman owned, full service Commercial and Residential moving company.  Our experienced staff completed over 8000 moves last year.  We also offer Interstate & Intrastate moving services.

Core Competencies:
-Interstate/Intrastate moves
-Experienced commercial & residential movers
-Pre-move Consulting
-Corporate Relocation
-Full Service Movers with a complete line of boxes, supplies and packing services

Differentiators
-We use only our own employees, no day labor or
temps
-Our employees are fully trained professionals
-We are insured and bonded
-We do complete background checks and drug screens on all our employees
-We move 7 days a week
-Professional organizing services are available
-Guaranteed delivery date, no delivery windows


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 06, 1993 Business started: 07/01/1993 in OH Business incorporated 07/24/1998 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/puco/
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Ms. Gail C. Kelley, President Kurt Baker Mr. Steve Barton, General Manager Mr. John Kelley, Vice President Ms. Carly Turcu, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Barton, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Gail C. Kelley, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Safes & Vaults Travel & Moving Services Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
Nest Tenders, Ltd. Two Men & A Truck/Central Ohio, Inc. Two Men and a Truck/Central Ohio, Inc. Two Men and a Truck Moving & Storage
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5083 Westerville Rd

    Columbus, OH 43231 (614) 423-4842 (614) 224-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We did an interstate move in July/Aug. 2015. The guys were great, although we did have damage to a doorway of our OH home, a chest of drawers, our grill lid, and a couch; I honestly don't recall if the doorway damage was repaired, but I do not care because we sold the home after we moved out. The damage to the dresser was repaired and looks fantastic, and the grill lid was replaced. However, the damage to our couch has never been fixed. Manager Dan R*** and I were in contact many times by telephone and email, and he set up the repairs for the chest of drawers without issue. However, the person he contacted to fix our couch has been a repeated no-call, no-show, and when I contacted Dan to let him know, I had to leave a voicemail. I let him know that the guy is not showing up and won't return my calls, and is obviously not a professional. I have not heard from Dan since. I have left multiple voicemails and emailed many times over the past EIGHT months requesting resolution since the repairman is MIA and unreliable, with no replies. This has been very disappointing because we have used Two Men & a Truck twice and had great experiences. Our other repair from this move (the chest of drawers) was handled swiftly and easily; I don't know why this is such an issue to get resolved. :( I really, really want this tear on my couch repaired.

Desired Settlement: I just want my couch fixed! It's been 363 days since the damage occurred, and it stinks that every time I have guests over, someone inevitably observes, "Did you know you've got a rip in your couch here?" I want a professional to do the job so that it's done well: The repairman who fixed the chest of drawers took a look at it and said it could be tricky because it will need patched with material harvested from a hidden area of the couch.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon ******,

 Thank you for your quick response.  I can certainly appreciate your frustration in dealing with an unreliable vendor and still not having your couch repaired and I apologize this process is not wrapped up.

 I do see in our notes we tried to reach out to you last year regarding this process and I wish we were contacted at the main office to try and expedite the process for you once Dan was no longer employed with us.  According to our notes, I’m fairly confident that we made several attempts to contact you and check the status but did not receive a response so I’m not sure I feel we are responsible to re-open your claim.  That being said, as our customer, I would like to assist you with fixing your couch.  To fix a damage similar to your couch, using one of our local vendors, our cost would be approximately $150.00.  I would like to send you a reimbursement check that would allow you to repair your couch at your convenience and with no expense. 

Please confirm via email what address you would like me to mail you a settlement check for $200.

 Thank you for your patience as we work to resolve your claim,

 Justin

8/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My chair & sofa both have slits, holes in the front of sofa. My mirror frame torn away from backing & it appears it was dragged on ground. I'm a single disabled lady & I don't have hardly any guests they were in new condition. Sale paper copies sent along with pictures.

Desired Settlement: I want my $420.00 back. Which is not even enough to have it reupholstered.

Business Response:

According to our records on the day of the move our movers pointed out prior damage to the mirror and address this with the customer. The customer has a copy of a release of liability where it states there was an agreement to prior damage to the mirror.

Regarding the couch and chair neither of these damage claims were brought to our attention the day of the move nor was a damage report completed. In the state of Ohio customers have up to 60 days to file a damage claim according to the PUCO. This customers move is dated August 22nd, 2015.

Business Response: We reached out to this customer on 11/25/15 and discussed a refund of $270.00, the customer was on a pre-pay phone and was rushed to get off of the phone. We have reached out two other times since then as a follow up and have not been able to connect? We have stipulations based on number of days you have to file a claim and the time limit was overdue. We still decided to reach out and offer a settlement and still have not heard back?

Consumer Response:

I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

Ms. ***** called the BBB to inform us she is accepting the offer of $270.  She states she contacted the business by phone and left a message on voicemail. 

10/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used their moving services from Athens, Oh to Coppell Texas. We were told that our things are insured if they are broken during the move. We have a broken bed box. Their operation manager put us in touch with the claim manager on 08/21. I submitted the pictures of the damaged items on 08/22. Unfortunately they completely ignored my e-mails. never any acknowledgement of my e-mails. I sent reminder e-mails too.

Desired Settlement: We need to complete the claim process and secure our money.

Business Response: We have been in contact with this customer and did receive pictures and replacement price. We have submitted a refund request to send a check as settlement for the damage claim.

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck ruined three sets of mattresses during a recent move. All mattresses were relatively (last three years) new and all looked brand new. Now, the mattresses and box springs are covered in mud. They are so filthy they will need to be replaced. The part that is really infuriating is we had covers for the mattresses, but ran out of time to get them all on prior to their arrival. The movers informed my father, who was assisting with the move, that they would handle getting the covers on the mattresses. They did not put a single cover on. One mattress we covered prior to the movers getting there. That cover was torn and there is mud all over the cover. Luckily this mattress is clean enough to salvage, but the box springs will need to be replaced. When we called to discuss the issue with the management team, they claimed no fault because we do not have photos of the mattresses prior to that day. Maybe not; however, I do have a receipt for the cover that was on the one mattress. The same cover that was torn and covered in mud by the movers. This could ONLY have happened by their carless team. Not only were the mattresses ruined, but my perfect condition white furniture also has black scuffs all over it. Some which a magic eraser could remove, others which are permanent. I have no idea how this unprofessional organization is still in business. This was a simple move. Something that if we had had more time, we would have done ourselves. I would give anything to go back and change my choice of movers to have my possessions back in the good condition I kept them in.

Desired Settlement: The bill for the moving was over $800 with tip. Had we realized the mess prior to tipping, we would have held on to our cash, but we realized the mess after their departure. I want a full refund for the move and a reimbursement for new, same quality mattresses which we will have to purchase to replace the ones they ruined.

Business Response:

Our claims manager has reached out to this customer and left a voicemail. We are requesting photos of the mattresses that were damaged and would like to work out an opportunity to process this claim accordingly.

 

Business Response:
I copied a previous BBB concern from back in October. I don't believe I ever really put this one to rest with a correspondents. Not sure what this does after the fact but we did settle with this customer for $540 reimbursement as a settlement. Like I said, not sure where it stands overall, just wanted to let the BBB know.
 
 
 
 
 
 
MESSAGE From Consumer:

From: Debbie Tschofen [mailto:debbie.tschofen@gmail.com] 
Sent: Sunday, October 18, 2015 11:30 PM
To: Vickie Evans
Subject: Fwd: Two men and a truck
 
Hello,
This is a follow up to complaint #10806560.
We have contacted Steve, leaving him voicemails frequently. I will forward a separate email showing their response. A canned response after which there has been no follow up.
This was Labor Day weekend and they have done nothing to remedy or follow up with us. 
Please let me know what additional information you need or if close up photos would be better.
Thank you,
Debbie

__________________________________________________
From: Debbie Tschofen [mailto:debbie.tschofen@gmail.com] 
Sent: Sunday, October 18, 2015 11:34 PM
To: Vickie Evans
Subject: Fwd: Rood - Mattress Damage - 35532
 
#10806560 - additional information.
Continued information in reference to dispute #10806560
Bryan (my husband) has not received any additional follow up, despite multiple follow up calls.
Thank you,
Debbie

8/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our family completed an inner city move using the business on 6/19/2015. After the move we found that there were damages to our new hour in the stairwell, in the form of several nicks in the wall, as well as a damaged handrail in our previous house where the rail was jammed into the wall as the movers were handling furniture down the stairs. I called the business on 7/1/2015 and 7/2/2015 and on both occasions I was referred to the voice mail of the Claims department, and left messages both times. I did not receive a call back from the business until 7/15/2015, where I was offered a settlement of $125 for the damages, which I accepted. It has now been three weeks since that phone call and to date, no settlement check has been received by us in the mail.

Desired Settlement: We wish to receive the agreed upon settlement of $125 to be mailed to the address listed on the complaint.

Business Response: We did agree and confirm to reimburse for a damage claim and settle for $125.00. The customers address was not confirmed when sending the settlement check and it was never forwarded to the correct address. The customer has been contacted as of 08/11/15 and the address was confirmed and the check will be sent to the correct address.

8/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired them to move us from scio ohio to Blacklick, ohio. When they arrived the cost was 500.00 more than original quote. After we figured that out the movers moved us. After unpacking and looking at our belongings it became clear that everything the movers had moved as damaged in some way, including items they boxed. We also purchased insurance to cover any damage. The mover waiting until they were paid and then refused to any claims for damages, even though I have at least 20 pictures of damaged furniture and art. emails are bing ignored.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their contract and repair correctly all damaged items.

Business Response: We have reached out to Mr and Mrs ********* and had an appointment on 08/5/15 and reviewed the damage claims accordingly. Our claims manager is in the process of assigning a vender to complete the repairs.

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers damaged part of our basement wall on the day of the move - May 8, 2015. The claims department gave us an option of receiving $75 from Two Men and a Truck and then we would make the repairs ourselves. We agreed to that option in mid May. As of June 10, 2015, we have not received the $75. I have left messages for ***** in the Claims Department on 6/6, 6/8, & 6/9 asking him to call with information on the reimbursement. I personally spoke to *****, with whom we booked the move, on June 9. ***** stated that he would send an email to ***** in the Claims Dept. and ***** assured me that ***** would call me. As of 5pm on June 10, I have not heard from anyone in the Claims Department, nor from *****.

Desired Settlement: A check for $75 needs to be mailed to the address on this complaint ASAP.

Business Response:

We apologize for such poor response time, we do not conduct our business in this manner. We had an employee who was in charge of the processing of this refund for $75 and they are currently no longer with the company. As we sifted through open customer refunds this one in particular was not discovered. As soon as it was brought to our attention we filed a refund request for $75 and mailed the check on 6/12/15.

Sincerely,

***** ****** - General Manager

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

10/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted $540 for the move from my 2 bedroom APT to my 2 bedroom Condo. I was charged $850. One worker was very ill. The other worker was inexperienced. They had a lot or problems getting my sofa from my old apartment - took 35 minutes before they call the supervisor on-call. When the supervisor he took the time he spent trying to the get the sofa out the door off the clock - about 1 hour. When they arrived at my Condo (I do have a witness) they took a long time to get the furniture off the truck and they damaged one of my doors. I sent in a survey. I received a phone call. I tried to speak to the manager but I had a tooth extracted so I asked him to call me back. I never received a phone call. I call and left several messages. Nothing. This is my 4th time using 2 men and a truck and never had a problem until now. Except for the tread climber, I had the same amount of furniture as the last move. I do not understand why the total was $1041 to move a 2 bedroom apartment.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded at least $300.00 to pay for my door which will need to be replaced.

Business Response: Two men and a truck has agreed to to requested settlement of $300.00 for this customer. 

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $100 for insurance before my move. The $100 meant that if my property was damaged during the move it would be fixed. A damage report was filled out that day. I even have a voice mail from ****** calling me about the damage report to set up a time to get everything fixed. I left a voice mail on his line 3 times and never received a response back. I thought maybe he no longer worked there anymore. I tried calling the regular line as well, trying to find a time I could wait 20 minutes, to get through. I was never able to get through with the main line to even leave a voice mail. The time I called it was after office hours so I planned on leaving a voice mail. A message even said something about office hours or we are currently closed. So, I was going to leave a voice mail but ended up on hold somehow and wasn't able to leave a message. Finally, my husband decided to try. He was able to leave a voice mail requesting to speak to a supervisor. I'm not sure on which prompt he choose to leave this voice mail. Shortly after ****** called back in. He said he didn't have a damage report (before he said he did have one) but would look into it and get back with us. That was about a week ago and we still haven't had anything resolved. I'm done dealing with this. All I want is our $100 back that we paid for the insurance but have been unable to get Two Men and A Truck to fix as part of the deal.

Desired Settlement: $100 refund. Plus, they may want to check to make sure ****** is actually following through with damage reports. I'm sure we weren't the only ones to have this issue.

Business Response: Our **** ** ********** has contacted this customer and discussed concerns. Customer agreed to $150.00 reimbursement for the damage that occurred. We certainly appreciate the feedback concerning overall communication and will dig deeper to resolve such concerns occurring in the future.

 
 

Business Response: Our **** ** ********** has contacted this customer and discussed concerns. Customer agreed to $150.00 reimbursement for the damage that occurred. We certainly appreciate the feedback concerning overall communication and will dig deeper to resolve such concerns occurring in the future.

 
 

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had this company move me and in the process broke several of my things.Of these items includes the leg of my antique desk, broke the glass on my breakfront and broke several items of my porcelain collection. I told that them that the boxes were fragile. One item belong to my great grand mother that cannot be replaced. I feel that they were not caring about my items and were unprofessional .

Desired Settlement: I want a settlement for all the items destroyed or damaged.

Business Response: I believe this to be a communication concern and breakdown. The move took place on 8/2/14 when the poor experience occurred.  When our claims manager tried calling back the phone number we had on file was disconnected. We received the comment card and letter from this customer and our claims manager reached out by email on 8/21/14. We had yet to hear back from the email that was sent on 8/21/14 due to no phone communication. Nonetheless we are willing to set an appointment to discuss concerns at the customers residence and resolve these concerns. I would request either and email, or phone call to our claims manager with the information provided. *** **** ###-###-#### Ext***, or email is dan.rask@twomen.com. We will look forward to your response and help to resolve your concerns.

Consumer Response: I do not trust them. They lied to me on the day of the move and do not handle anything correctly. I send them a letter with the damages and I would not let them back in home. I just the amount of money I indicated in my letter for all the damages to my furniture and my collections. It will cost me a lot more since there were antiques involved.

Business Response: We have every intention of refunding this customer $150 for the broken glass reported the day of the move, and an additional 10% of the bill ($84.90) totaling $234.90. The additional items that were listed as a claim from the recent letter from the customer are to be reviewed and appraised. We will not be able to proceed with the other additional items until we are contacted to open the claims process. An email and letter was sent out on 8/21/14 in place of a phone call because the contact information we had on file was disconnected. No response was made when we sent out an email and letter?

 
We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and wish to discuss further opportunity to resolve further concerns. Please contact us either by phone or email. Thank you.

Consumer Response: I am will take their offer, but I will not use them again or will any of my family and friends. I come from a large family of 65 first cousins, twenty aunts and uncles. 

8/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son moved on a Saturday, July 12 and engaged Two Men and a Truck.I was paying for this move. We were not told that the rate on a weekend ismore then during the week. Also, we were told there would be three men and that the move time would be cut by one third. This did not happen.We were not give the correct information before this move which cost 562.00 to move a very small one bdr apartment, very few pieces of furniture. It took about 3 hrs. time.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund because of being given false information.

Business Response: I have attached the estimate contract that was agreed upon prior to move day. This was emailed as confirmation, as well as discussed and covered the day of the move. We estimated this job to take 2 hours with 3 movers. We did complete the move in 2 hours, and we did send 3 movers the day of the move. The price agreed upon was $562.50 and this is the price we charged?

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern; My complaint is the value of the services delivered. The amount I paid (over $2,300) greatly exceeds the services I received. I paid top dollar for what I thought was a professional moving company and got a team of inexperienced temporary workers. My complaint calls have been unreturned and I have deputed what I believe to be the amount I overpaid which is $1,200.00. I have used TWO MEN AND A TRUCK for two moved. I first used TWO MEN AND A TRUCK when I moved into my condo 9 years ago. In 2004, I was impressed by the crew's professionalism, ingenuity, and efficiency. I was so impressed by my first experience that I opted to pay for packing in addition to moving. The crew that came to the very same condo Saturday, June 14, 2014 was anything but experienced. With the exception of the driver, *****, it was painfully obvious that 2 out of the 3 crew members were extremely inexperienced. One mover (********) was almost comically slow in all is actions (he even arrived over two hours late!). He repeatedly refused to listen to instructions from the driver. His failure to heed *****'s instructions resulted in a picture frame being damaged (this was promptly reimbursed, thankfully). At one point, I found all our bed linens in a heap on the floor of the public elevator lobby of our building instead of being packed in a wardrobe as instructed. There were dozens of items that were not packed in boxes and transported "as-is" despite having paid for the packing service. After complaining repeatedly about the lack of progress on the day of the move (I had to leave voicemails and my calls were not returned), TWO MEN AND A TRUCK eventually sent another truck and 4 more men. That crew seemed a lot more experienced and professional. This second crew arrived about five and a half hours after the first crew. The overall move took over 11 hours to complete, even with the additional movers. We found various gouges in the walls where the movers did not know how to handle the couches and other large items. We had to tell them to take the feet off the couch (a basic bit of knowledge that anyone who has ever moved a couch should already know). I also had to instruct them how to handle a box spring. They actually tried to turn around in a narrow hallway instead of backing out and backing into the stair well. This was in stark contrast to the crew the moved me into that 3 story, downtown condo nine years ago. The tricks of the trade, such as how to efficiently stage, load, and unload an elevator, seem to have been lost in less than a decade. The care for one's personal belongings was also sorely lacking in this most recent move. This is evidence that the level of service from TWO MEN AND A TRUCK has dropped considerably in the intervening nine years. Of the original crew, I believed ***** was a consummate professional that was saddled with under-qualified staff. The junior members of the crew admitted that they have been working for the company only for a few weeks and it showed. ***** shared with me that due to this inexperienced crew, the job was going to take a lot longer. I still tipped ***** even though I was profoundly disappointed with the service overall. I actually felt sorry for him to be working for such a poorly managed company. While performing the pre-move estimation on Tuesday, June 10th, I went into very explicit detail with ******* **** as to the inventory of all the rooms that would need to be packed. It became obvious that the resource requirements was greatly under estimated and that TWO MEN AN A TRUCK sent a skeleton crew of temporary, unexperienced labor while charging outlandish and greatly inflated professional service fees. I will have to move again in about 20 days and I am reluctant to use or recommend TWO MEN AND A TRUCK unless this matter is resolved. It is unacceptable to not return customer calls and it is unacceptable to overcharge for diminished levels of service. 

Desired Settlement: I have contacted TWO MEN AND A TRUCK, Westerville, OH directly via phone as well as through their online customer satisfaction surveys. I requested to be contacted three times and have not heard back. My complaint is the price I was charged for the services delivered. The amount I paid (over $2,300) greatly exceeds the value of services I received. I paid top dollar for what I thought was a professional moving company and got a team of inexperienced temporary workers. My complaint calls have been unreturned and I have disputed what I believe to be the amount I overpaid which is $1,200.00.

Business Response: Mr.*****, Thank you again for the feedback you provided in regards to your most recent service. We never set out to provide customers with a poor experience, yet when it does occur we do intend to make every effort to correct the concerns. As discussed on the phone today you have used our services and were pleased in the past. I assure you this is not a common practice with our company and would like another opportunity to prove we still have what it takes to duplicate what you received in 2004. Please contact me directly if you still feel you would like to utilize our services and I will personally assign the crew. My refund offer still stands for $500 that I can have refunded back to the card you paid with the day of your last move in June. Please follow up with me once you have a had a chance to discuss with your wife over the weekend. I completely understand that you must feel you have received your moneys worth. Have a great weekend.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

1/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Two Men and A Truck to move me approximately 6 miles. I had a two bedroom apt although one bedroom was used as an office. Approximately 5 years ago they moved me 5 miles, practically from the same location, into the apartment for $200. The man on the phone quoted me $978 or close to it, to move me, indicating it would take 5 hours. I told him it should not take 5 hours, as it only took them 2 hours to move me into the apartment and I only had two additional pieces of furniture from back then. He said it was $142 per hour. When he quoted me the price of $978 I had told him there would be a bed and dresser in the garage which was not attached and that there would be patio furniture and 26 boxed in addition to all of my furniture. However, **** and I moved the patio furniture, we took care of the items in the garage and we moved all the furniture except for the heavy stuff and all of the boxes, except 8, 9 if you count the ****** box they moved too. The movers arrived and looked around, they asked about the items in the garage and I told them we took care of that, the patio furniture, all of the smaller furniture and the patio furniture. He told me it would save me some money, but that they wrapped stuff now to protect it. They wound up charging my $857!! Highway robbery. I will NEVER recommend them again. It seems to me they took their time and milked it to charge more money...also, how can we move most every thing for you and you only take off $100?

Desired Settlement: I think some of our money should be refunded.

Business Response: I have left this customer a voicemail, as well as sent a follow up email. I would like to investigate these concerns with the customer before I proceed.

Consumer Response: All they did was call me and left me a voice mail message and sent me an email telling me has called me and let a message. I called him back and left him a voice mail and have not heard anything since. He wanted to know when they moved me the first time to check their older records as if moving someone from a one bedroom with office, i 6 miles for $857 is reasonable regardless. I'm g out to try to locate the cashed check from the original move.
































Business Response: I understand you have some concerns with your move that took place on December 20th. Here is where I have concern in regards to what took place. We provided you with an estimate to move on December 4th when you spoke with our CSR. Our estimate to move you was based on what was discussed. I understand you quoted some items that you took care of yourself. When we provided you with a quote that was higher than what you expected I'm not sure why this was accepted at all? The estimate was for $928.00, below is how this broke down.   5 Hours X $142 = $710.00 Service Fee =        $140.00 Full Coverage =     $78.00 -------------------------------- Total Estimate =     $928.00   We quoted this price to you over the phone, we sent an email as confirmation of our estimate, we did a confirmation call prior to move day, and we presented the contract the day of the move stating the estimate that was given to you. You stated we moved you in 2008 for a little over $200? The only price we would have given for a little over $200 would have been a 3 piece flat fee back in 2008 and this would not have covered a 2 bedroom apartment from a 2nd floor. I believe we had given several opportunities to discuss this estimate prior to your payment and yet we still did not receive your dissatisfaction until the moving process is complete.    We take several steps to confirm our moving process from start to finish and I feel we had done our part to describe what to expect. With that being said we find this concern to be closed.                           

Business Response: I wanted to follow up from a recent dispute with a customer we recently did a service for. Her name is ******* ***. I have contacted her and actually have an appointment tonight at 6 pm to meet at her house to discuss her concerns. The actual log in on the website would not let me respond to her rejection. She accepted my invite, I would like to see first hand the service that was completed. Thanks.
 
 

Business Response: Hope your trying to stay warm, I know I'm over it.  I wanted to respond to you and let you know what came of ******* ***, she was a customer complaint. I understand she rejected my last posted response on the website. Since then I have already met with her at her residence to review her concerns. I wanted to see first hand how bad she felt the situation and service really was. I will have to say I could not find her in our system from 2008 when she sates she used our services before and it was much cheaper to move the same items. When I met with her she was not even 100% confident that she used our company before. After speaking with her and reviewing the items moved we were not far of in my opinion. I believe she compared our pricing to another company and yes were are more expensive. She felt 100% of the move was poor. After my investigation I believe we were responsible for about 25% of her concern. Just for good measure I agreed to refund her $200 of her original payment as a good will gesture in hopes she will use and recommend our services in the future. I have copied and attached a few emails back in response after we met with her. Thanks. (Emails in complaint file)  

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Two Men and a Truck to move me from one home to another about 10 miles apart & to pack my kitchen and garage.Packing is $175/hr and was originally told it should take approximately 4 hours. I was billed for 6 and most of the packing the materials that were used were my personal items although I was told they would come with everything they needed. When I went to unpack my garage items looked as if they had been tossed into the box with no surrounding packing on glass or breakables and my large framed prints were simply in large boxes with no packing so they were unsecure in their boxes. One of the prints had to be reframed due to damage and some of the items from the garage were broken and had to be replaced. Total packing was $1050 with $350 refunded.Original estimate for move: $1070 Move out cost: $2138.50Move back in cost: $1979On the move out they had to go and get a 2nd truck as everything would not fit into the original truck. I was billed for this extra time. There was a delay of 1 week in the move so my items were stored by Two Men and a Truck for a fee. Once my items were returned and I began to unpack, I realized there were several items missing (slats to bed, legs to tables, feet to shelves, lids to kitchen items but no bottoms, etc) and that there was a large scratch next to the mirror on my dresser. This was repaired and the company sent out supervisors to meet with me in person on 2 separate occasions-the first man left the company so I spent several weeks trying to figure out why he was not contacting me back. The second meeting was 2 people of which one of them assured me that they would not have unloaded my items and then reloaded them that was not standard but I was billed for the hours of unloading and reloading trucks (he agreed that was true once he saw my invoice). The final solution was a refund of $500 to cover my lost and damaged items and a sincere apology from the new supervisor that this was not a good experience.

Desired Settlement: I asked for an additional refund of $2000 for the lost and damaged items, the packing which was completely substandard and the overall discrepancies between the original quotes and actual charges. As above, I was given $500 and a sincere apology and assurance that the issue would be discussed further with a manager/owner. I emailed and phoned the corporate office only to be told they were discussing with Columbus office and someone should be contacting me. No additional refunds given.

Business Response:

This email is in response to **** ******** moving experience with TWO MEN AND A TRUCK between July 24th and August 1st 2013. We addressed several concerns in regards to the packing service and the damage claims. We have refunded $350 for the packing service and we have settled on $500 for the damage claims. We did move all items from point A to Point B, understanding the experience was not up to the expectations that we promote. We are willing to offer a $1000.00 refund as a good will gesture for good customer relations. We feel if we can meet 110% of our original estimate we have succeeded. If the above offer is accepted I will refund this credit to the credit card used the day of the move. Thank you, have a great day.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I understand that a $1000 credit will be applied to my discover card. I appreciate the good faith gesture. Thank you.   

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired two men and a truck to pack us and move us.They allowed 5 hours @ 264.00 per hour for packing,it took them thirteen hours.they packed things like grocery sacks, One light bulb in a large box they packed over 300 boxes a lot of the boxes were under packed cost $2000.00 This was done on 6/18/13.The movers came on 6/20/13 there estimate was 8 hours turned out to be eleven hours @ $264.00 per hour plus a service charge of $256.00 and extra charges $240.00 for a total of $3400.00.Total cost of move $5000.00 plus $400.00 in tips.The original estimate was $3500.00.The packers over packed to create more time for packing and extra time for the movers.No one should do business with this company unless they have a guaranteed fixed price.If no resolution in this matter is made,I will inform all realtors and friends of how they do business.

Desired Settlement: I think two men and a truck should refund at least $1000.00

Business Response: This particular customer met with an onsite estimator at their residents to review the items we would be moving. Anytime we send out an estimator to visually inspect the customers residents we feel if we are 110% of the original estimate then this is acceptable. In this case we did not attain an addendum signed by the customer for the overage on estimate. If we were to cap the original estimate at 110% of the quote this would be a refund of $899.00. If the customer accepts our refund offer in full of $899.00 I will make sure the credit card used the day of the service is refunded. Thank you, have a great day.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.






















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on Two Men and A Truck/Columbus Ohio
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart