BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Planes Moving & Storage Co of Cols?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Moving, Storage, Asset Management, Warehousing, Office Moving, Furniture Installation

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Planes Moving & Storage Co of Cols meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Planes Moving & Storage Co of Cols include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Planes Moving & Storage Co of Cols
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 16, 1988 Business started: 04/01/1988 in OH Business started locally: 04/01/1988
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Supinger, General Manager Mr. James Baughman, Director of Residential Services Mr. John Planes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Supinger, General Manager
Business Category

Movers

Products & Services

Planes Moving & Storage Co of Cols sells the following brand(s): United Van Lines

Planes Moving & Storage Co of Cols offers the following product(s): Moving Services

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Card, Certified Check
Alternate Business Names
Planes Commercial Services Planes Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Additional Locations

  • 2000 Dividend Dr

    Columbus, OH 43228 (614) 777-9090

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9823 Cincinnati Dayton Rd

    West Chester, OH 45069 (800) 543-4977

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 233-2320(Phone)
  • (513) 759-3699 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One rare valuable collectible item lost valued at 2500.00 and three other damaged household items. The real concern is the item lost. Second is the broken wedding present 40 years old, large crystal vase, the other items are of less value. No explanation of what happened to the lost item and now the Planes agent wants us to settle for .60 per pound for a total of $69.00. We added additional coverage at the contract time as per the advise of their salesman. He assured us items are rarely lost or broken because of the way they control the move. We paid $271.00 for full-line protection with a $1000 deductible. We wish to at least let consumers realize that if they have any valuable items they should not trust this company or at a minimum move smaller valuable items themselves. We asked if claims of this kind need to be settled in small claims court, the agent replied that their lawyers would make it impossible to win any damages. Thank you in advance for any help you may be able to provide.

Desired Settlement: $2700.00 minus the $1000 deductible and an apology with explanation. Consumer complaint noted and posted online.

Business Response:

On April 23, 2013, Planes received a claim from **** and ******* ***** for their relocation from Columbus, Ohio to Bradenton, Florida.  They claimed damage to three (3) packed items and one (1) missing Jaguar model car.  The *****’s are stating the value of the Jaguar model car is $2,500, and have advised the model was a hand-built Jaguar E-Type 1964 issue which they had purchased from *** ******’s offices in New York, New York.   The claim form includes a note from the *****’s alleging someone at ****** has the model car and they would like this car returned to them.

In July 2012, the *****’s contracted Planes to store their household goods shipment for a planned time frame of sixty (60) days.   The *****’s declined additional insurance coverage, electing $0.60 per lb. coverage for the product coming into and through the time period in storage at Planes’ warehouse in Columbus, Ohio.  Planes’ crew persons, ** ******* and ***** *******, performed packing of this shipment on July 26, 2012, and the goods were loaded for storage on July 27, 2012 by *** *********, ***** ******, and ***** *****.  All crew members are background checked and still work on our jobs to date.  In the 2013 claim that was filed, the *****’s mention they told the packer(s) of the importance of the model Jaguar, however, there is no notation on any document or notification to our offices by the *****’s of any items of extraordinary value until the claim was received in our office in April, 2013. 

On the shipment from storage in Columbus, Ohio to Bradenton, Florida, the *****’s elected full replacement coverage with a $1,000 deductible.  The shipment was delivered to the *****’s residence on November 6, 2012 by van operator **** ******h, who also has a valid background check and still works with us to date.  ******* ***** signed the inventory control form indicating everything was received on the shipment. 

Our first notification of any damages took place on November 6, 2012, the same day as the delivery. Mrs. ***** called our office to report damage to a table; however, this item did not end up being included on the submitted claim.  A claim form was emailed to the *****’s that same day.  Mrs. ***** contacted our office again on March 26, 2013, and spoke with **** *****, Planes Move Coordinator, to report they are missing a model Jaguar car, and damage to a crystal vase, lamp shade and a model airplane.  We received the claim form from the *****’s on April 23, 2013.

Because ******* ***** documented on the Inventory Control Forms on the day of delivery, November 6, 2012 that all items were received, the missing Jaguar was denied on their claim. The damaged items (lamp shade, crystal vase, airplane model) were approved as valid damages, and the claim payment was based on the coverage in place at the time of the packing service for those items, which was 60 cents per pound per article.  Total settlement for the three (3) items is $69.00 based on the weight of the carton in which those items were packed, and based on the Military/Industry Table of Weights and Measurement Guide as required by Ohio regulations.  We respect that the *****’s did have Full Replacement Protection for their interstate shipment, however, the claimed value of the packed articles ($710) totaled less than the elected $1,000 deductible.  Had the packing damage been approved under the interstate order, no cash compensation would be paid to the *****’s on the claim.   

***** *******, Vice President of Claims, contacted ******* ***** to review the settlement of their claim, to explain the coverage differences in the storage and the interstate orders, and to review the settlement position to deny the missing Jaguar.  During this conversation, Mrs. ***** revealed that she had completed renovation of her home recently and that her goods had been locked in a room until the remodeling work was completed.  According to Mrs. ***** it was not until the completion of the renovation that the *****’s began to finalize unpacking of their shipment and discovered they could not find the model Jaguar. 

***** ******* reviewed with Mrs. ***** that she had signed the Inventory Control Form on day of delivery confirming she had received her entire shipment and there were no missing items.  Because there were contractors in her home before it was discovered that the model Jaguar was missing, Ms. ******* suggested the *****’s might consider having a Police investigation in Bradenton, Florida.  Mrs. ***** was also reassured that Planes would fully cooperate with a Police investigation in Columbus, Ohio, should the *****’s wish to file a Police report, and it was reiterated that all personnel on their move are still with Planes and have an approved and up to date background check.  Gary ***** asked if this claim needed to be settled in small claims court.  ***** ******* responded that we have a signed contract and verification that all things were received in Florida and no evidence that anything was missing from the shipment; that being said, we would be supported in small claims court due to those facts.

If there are any further facts needed from Planes we will respond in promptly in detail. 

 

Consumer Response: How predictably and a dissatisfying position Planes Moving and Storage has taken with our complaint. To recap, back in November 2012 at our new home in Bradenton Fl, the Planes ****** Driver asked me to follow him out to his moving trailer at the end of the move-in day. He then asked me to confirm that the trailer was empty. I complied and did so. Inside the trailer, there were moving blankets and assorted equipment of the trade with scraps of cardboard etc. It appeared to be empty but somewhat disheveled looking to me. The driver then asked me to sign the delivery paper work that his job had been completed and delivered. His wife had been checking the unloading of our items against their company supplied list and assured us we had received everything. I then asked the driver how would I confirm if I had received everything? He responded The trailer was empty as I could see, and that if we had any problems just contact the company. He also stated that we had nine months to make any claims. This all seemed logical at the time as this would give us time to unpack in the future at our convenience. I was also convinced we would be covered for any losses or mishaps during our move, minus a $1000.00 deductible with the $271.00 Full-Line Policy the Planes salesman had encouraged us to purchase during a phone conversation on our moving day from our previous Dublin Ohio home. 


One must be aware that there were three men including the driver and his wife unloading the trailer into our new house all at once. As most people are aware this is very hectic and a quick process. Boxes and furnishings were coming in from three entries doors and needing a place for all of it to be placed and stacked. We managed the task effectively. I felt an accomplishment that their quick moving people did not get held up by our lack of efforts. We had what seems to be well over a hundred boxes and furnishings stacked in 6ft high by 8ft to 10ft long by 4 to 6ft deep secured areas. Labels were not always facing out or tagging info showing within the all the various positions the items were stacked. The driver was done, he and his wife were ready to leave on their journey back to Ohio, it had been a long hot day for them. 

With that being stated, how could we ever confirm the receipt of all items without going throughout all areas of furniture and boxes, opening each one confirming and inventorying our received load back to the manifest. This would have been impossible in any rational time frame for myself and the Planes driver. I would assume when I pay $10,000+ to a business they have the liability to deliver all items and not make me accountable for their mistakes or damage. Planes Moving and Storage must also agree to share responsibility and liability as they place their customers in this impossible position of, in the moment accountability. 

Why will we not accept this offer? One: With the packing of our home in Dublin Ohio, I asked their packer in Dublin Ohio to be extremely careful in packing the rare and large valuable Jaguar replica which was in front of us at the time, which he said he would. Two: That was the last time I would ever see it the item, in their possession and assumable professional hands. THREE: This allows Planes to deliver any level of service and have a responsibility of just 69¢ a pound. By the way their claims agent never asked us of the value of our items, she knew already their company would offer a sympathetic ear and a very low offer within their claims process. I found many others claims online pointing out ****** Moving as company in the locations in the US, settling claims within this manner. At the least we want our protest heard and evaluated fairly and noted. I would much rather have my items back intact than any cash settlement offered. After all that's what I hired and paid them for.  
































Business Response: We have received and reviewed Mr. and Mrs. *****'s rejection of our earlier response to their compaint with the Bureau.  In the opening paragraph of their rejection notification, they identify it as a recap.  We concur; it is.  In the absence of any new facts to consider, our position remains unchanged.  To restate our position to the original complaint would be redundant.             

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Planes Moving delivered our goods 13 days after the end of our moving window & is refusing to honor the $100/day delay credit promised to us repeatedly by move coordinator **** *****. Our move loaded Aug 1 in Columbus, OH and was placed in storage. The driver loading it on Aug 6 was only able to fit half of it in his truck, and we were notified just before delivery in Richmond, VA on Aug 8 that he had only a partial shipment and did not have our beds. The last day of our window was Aug 9. **** first told me on the phone Aug 8 that any delay past Aug 9 would result in a credit to us of $100/day beginning at 5 pm. For a week we were told Planes was waiting on a truck with extra room since other people had scheduled full moves. I asked once if it might be cheaper to hire a truck to drive our shipment alone at the rate they were owing us - **** just laughed. After involving the Asst GM *** ****** he promised us our goods were loaded Aug 17 and would be delivered Aug 20, 21st as a worst case. On Aug 20 we were told our shipment was in and would be delivered btw 3-5 pm. At 4:30 **** called to say she was wrong and did not have any idea where our stuff was. We finally received our move on Aug 22 at 5:30 pm, over 13 days late. Since Aug 22 we have been trying to get our $1300 credit as promised, but Planes is now only offering $200 total since our move is technically an overflow. I specifically asked **** about whether our move being an overflow would mean we would not get the credit, and she said that was not the case. Brian also brought up this $100 credit to *** over the phone and he repeatedly assured us not to worry, we'd be taken care of. The general United service line informed us that refund decisions would be made within Planes. If $100/day was not the policy, we should have been told or corrected, and we never were. With every arising issue, **** and *** blamed others in the company, and now they are refusing to be accountable and take further action on this issue.

Desired Settlement: We would simply like Planes to honor their word and refund us the $1300 verbally promised. After failing to notify us of a 2-part shipment, forcing us to call daily to schedule the second delivery, giving us a false delivery day and window, losing track of our shipment, and delivering 13 days late, this is the least Planes could do. We had to eat out, sleep without beds, buy work clothes and take time off work in addition to the time spent on our copious fruitless phone calls to **** and ***.

Business Response:

 We have communicated with a gentleman speaking for our customer.  We have each agreed to an inconvenience reimbursement in the amount of $900.00. 

Consumer Response: In summary, multiple employees of Planes Moving & Storage repeatedly promised a credit of $100/day for our delayed goods (delivered 13 days late, for a total credit of $1,300). Once Planes made the initial settlement offer of $200, we opted to contact the BBB. During a lengthy conversation with the Planes General Manager, we were offered $650 as a settlement, then $900. We requested to escalate the matter to a Vice President, with the understanding that we desired the full promised credit of $1,300. We even offered to accept a reduced credit of $1,200. Planes denied our numerous, detailed, prolonged requests and made a "take it or leave it" offer of $900. The wording of their response to the BBB complaint - that we "agreed upon" an amount of $900 - is misleading. We appreciate the partial settlement of $900, but still wish to resolve the matter completely with the receipt of the remaining $400 owed - and initially promised - to us.


Warmest Regards,





























Business Response:

 

Our settlement offer of $900.00 was verbally accepted by our customer.  Her acceptance of that offer is confirmed by her signature, as the endorser, on our $900.00 check on September 18.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1