BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mr. Mover of Ohio Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Mover of Ohio Inc.

Phone: (614) 985-6683 Fax: (614) 985-6450 View Additional Phone Numbers 6767 Huntley Rd, Columbus, OH 43229 http://www.moverscolumbusohio.net/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Mr. Mover of Ohio Inc., is a full service moving company offering services to residential and commercial customers.  They also offer piano and organ moving services in the Central Ohio Area and can accommodate interstate or relocation services. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Mover of Ohio Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Mover of Ohio Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mr. Mover of Ohio Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 20, 1999 Business started: 05/01/1992 Business started locally: 05/01/1992 Business incorporated: 12/28/2004 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Terry R. Judd, President Ms. Judy Debolt, Operations Manager Ms. Pam Jones, Accounting Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Pam Jones, Accounting Manager
Principal: Mr. Terry R. Judd, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Travel & Moving Services Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 785-9097(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are a number of issues from the promises during the sales pitch, the damages of items, the service level of personnel, and attempted theft of personal items. There is still an attempt to settle things however it is not going in a desired direction nor at a desired pace.When meeting with Mr. Mover, I was told about some industry practices that they do not use such as the use of personnel that do not work for them. In my case, of the five people that showed up to move me, 4 worked for Mr. Mover and 1 was extra help for the weekend. His attitude was horrible and he was very vocal about how he doesn't work for Mr. Mover and how he had numerous other "real" jobs. This person was rude throughout the entire move including the way he handled my belongings. He damaged some trim in the property and spilled items numerous times, each time, if he was not caught doing so, he would walk away and leave the mess for others to clean up. This caused tension between the other workers and myself.During the sales pitch, I was also sold on the application of full replacement insurance for damaged items at no additional cost. It seemed to be a point of pride for the company as they offer it to everyone. Now that I have several items damaged, the insurance is not being utilized and Mr. Mover is attempting to fix/repair damaged items including ones that I have repeatedly stated that I want replaced. One of which, even their repair person stated that it needed to be accounted for replacement.Throughout the move, the tension between the movers was building as well as with me to where at the end there was some very short and rude interactions.At the very end, when it came time to settle, the crew leader brought it to my attention that there was a bag on his truck. He stated that the other person(whom was the extra help), had planned on keeping the items since we had them marked for donations. At this point I was upset. Additionally, he demanded a payment amount that was MORE than the contract.

Desired Settlement: I would like to settle this entire transaction. Given the manner in which things have been going and the wrong amount being demanded before they would leave, I had to write a check. I then immediately cancelled that check.I have numerous damaged items as well as had to clean carpets as they did not protect them as they promised they would.I feel they should reduce the original contract amount significantly so we can settle and I can be done with this company, for good.

Business Response: The following response is being sent for ID *******.This move took place on Saturday 12/28/2013. We sent 4 full time employeesand 1 part time employee who was full time but became part time due to theseasonal nature of our business.The customer contacted us and described horrific wall damage to his old houseas well as terribly soiled carpet on the stairs caused by our movers. Ourrepresentative met him on Sunday, 12/29/2013. What she observed was a verysmall superficial mark on a wall (the size of a pencil eraser). The carpet on thesteps looked no different than the rest of the house which showed normal wear.(pictures are on file at the BBB).He also said he had several furniture items that needed to be repaired. We setan appointment on the day of his choice, Friday, 1/3/2014. A representative anda repairman met the customer and agreed to repair or replace any item thatcould not be repaired. All of the damage was very minor and could easily berepaired. This is exactly what we promise to do prior to any move.His "bait and switch" claim has no merit nor does his claim that he is not happywith the pace of the repairs. Our representative met with him less than 24 hoursafter his initial call. We had a repairman meet with him on the following Friday,the day of his choosing, and contacted him on that same day after the meeting toinform him that we had ordered two small parts and let him know that when theycome in the following week we would be out to finish the repairs.Finally, the claim that our men stole a bag containing articles that were to bedonated is totally false. The items in question were lying in a hallway whichmade it difficult to carry furniture and one of our men asked him to remove it. Hesaid it was just stuff to be donated. One of our men sald he could use it and infront of the supervisor (12 years with my company) the customer said he couldhave it. When the job is completed we requested the customer to look inside ofthe trucks to be sure everything had been unloaded. He looked in the first truckand the supervisor pointed out the bag on the 2nd truck which contained the itemshe had given to the other man. At that point the customer said he wanted theitems back and claimed he never gave them to our movers. The supervisorhanded the bag to the customer.According to the customer he stopped payment on his check while the truck wasin the driveway. He offered to make a partial payment and wanted $275.00 forcleaning the steps. The cost for steps from a top company in Columbus is$40.99. He also wanted the 3 damaged items with minor damage ($89.00)replaced with new items ($1,000). All of the damaged items were made ofpressed wood which is expressly excluded from damage coverage because ittends to pull apart or break at connection points after you try to move it. Thisinformation was provided to our customer in our general policy form which wasemailed a week before the move. We agreed to repair it anyway because thedamages were so minor. This is in addition to the extreme exaggeration of thewall damage, makes us skeptical of this customer's motivation for making thiscomplaint.Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this claim. We are continuing toattempt to resolve and wanted the BBB to have on file the completecorrespondence as well as photos.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response and would like to address the manners one at a time. First there is the matter of the damages to the property. I am uploading a zip file with photos of the damages to the property and the furniture. There was never an exaggeration of damages. I never claimed giant holes in walls. I specifically stated that the walls were gouged and that the trim is broken. Further, there was the promise made by Mr. **** himself that they protect everything, all carpets, floors, ect. This did not happen leading to dirty and muddy carpets. The issues with the above is that first off, there was the promise that they didn't do business that way, which we can see they didn't live up to. Further, it was the consistant attitude and downplaying from the staff which can even be seen in the response by Mr, **** which shows it is an atmosphere from the top. Behaviors are either taught or accepted, in this case they appear to be taught as they all continues to say how it isn't a big deal. It is a big deal when the employees try to deny it happening and the new owners are moving in two days after the move. Given that they were moving in so fast, that left me with cleaning up the mess and no carpet cleaner will come out on a Sunday on a moments notice for $50 like Mr. **** suggests. It was me renting a machine, buying chemical and spending hours doing which was claimed to be "considered" by **** the operations manager but nothing has ever been replied to in writing on what that may be worth. Next there is the damages to the furniture. There are split beds rails and supports to bunk beds which are solid wood, there is an armoiur, a bookcase the desk as well as the broke light fixture at the new place. No one ever made mention that there would be furniture that they would move that they wouldn't fix if broken. Why would I hire a person that would say that. Him trying to downplay my furniture is disrespectful. They might as well say that a persons stuff is to cheap for them to move. More so, when they did come out - not at a day of my choice like he says but theirs as I had to re-schedule work for it, the repairman that they brought with them actually recommended that all the pieces be replaced. It was in fact me that offered part numbers, receipts, manufactures and model numbers and encouraged items be repaired as they match other pieces in the house. (I have emails where I provided the numbers I could) Furthermore, it is not only all the above damages but their attitude from the start, throughout and even now of treating people so poorly that try to hold them accountable. The fact that I had to watch the movers like a hawk. There is accidents and then there is carelessness, this move quickly went from accidents happening to carelessness for whatever the reason may have been. To address the employees. Mr. **** stated that the 5th person was a part time employee based on as business dictates, that is a nice way of putting it. He is a guy that used to work there and they overbooked the weekend so they called him and asked him to help for extra money. I know so because he spent way to much time talking about it. It quickly became a point of contention between him and the other movers as they got real sick of him stating how he had two other "real jobs." My problem with this, other than the obvious, was that Mr. **** himself, sat in my house and told be that he doesn't work like that. It appears that his personel do and that he is not aware of how they conduct business on his behalf. This brings me to the point of the part timers attitude in general which no one will discuss with me. He blatantly disregarded my and his managers directions throughout the move. The other movers consistently blamed him for the broken items and at then end, it was the crew leader that came to me about items still on his truck. OH yes, the theft did happen! Mr. ****'s nerve to attempt to downplay what the items were or what my intentions with were is irresponsible and none of his business. If I donated a pair of shoes or a car, gives no one the right to say, well, I'll just take those. I never offered them to anyone. I would have not even known they were missing unless the crew member hadn't pointed it out in the first place. This is how uncomfortable they were around this employee and how you know his intentions were to take them without my knowledge. Furthermore, I was never able to nor could I inspect the trucks. I was offered only after the confrontation of the missing items and at that point, one had already left. Additionally there are the matters of the paperwork and overcharge. I had a "not to exceed" estimate of $1701. 8.25 hrs, 5 people at 202 per hours plus a fuel charge. At the end I was handed a bill for $1752 - 8.5 hrs, 5 persons @ 202 per hours. This was wrong. The crew leader claimed he did not have the estimate and that he had to collect. I then attempted to address the damages and they acted like nothing happened. There was a huge resistance to document any damages and they still didn't right them all down. It was extremely threatening to have 5 persons not willing to leave until they got what they wanted. I made Mr. Mover very aware immediately in voice mail and email that I cancelled that check given all the issues as well as it was not the right amount. Given all this, the continued issues is not the time frame but the attitude and lack of communication on any time frame. If had been told that they would be out in two weeks, at least I would have known. I have continued to get this entire matter resolved and my emails have consistently been ignored as far as coming to an agreed price/outcome. Finally, this is only further worsened by the continued attitude even in the BBB response from Mr. ****. He is the one that came out to my house and this response is the first I have heard from him since and it is only because the BBB hs forced his hand. Now to find that this is his response only makes it almost personal from my point of view. I would further more like his paperwork issues addressed. I was forced to sign a Uniform Household Goods Bill of Lading and Freight Bill. I argued signing it as it had blanks on it and my items were not received by me in the matter they were received by them in. If you can not open the zip file, please feel free to contact Thank you

Business Response: Email from consumer to business:  Given the response to the BBB file I just read, I don't think soThis is getting way out of control.  I have tried and tried to request someone to talk to about coming to some agreement.  It just shows me that the general attitude seems to come all the way from the top.I didn't know your movers, didn't care who they were and don't have time to make crap up but for some reason that is exactly what you (or *****) seem to think is going on here.  My intentions of my belongings is not relevant as to where they go.  You were hired to move them, end of story.  I would have never known those items had even gone missing unless the crew leader hadn't pointed it out in the first place.  That whole crew constantly threw the so called part time guy under the bus all day long, so when this stuff came up to ironically still be on the truck, they couldn't wait to tell me that he was taking them.   I wonder why that is?!I donated an old vehicle once to Goodwill, should that mean your employees could just take that to?!  Do you get the point?  I never offered nor gave permission for anyone to "have" any of my things, bottom line.You promised carpet protection, you didn't provide it, they got dirty.  Bottom line.  Normal wear and tare my foot.No one comes out on a day's notice, on a Sunday, to clean them and no company even shows up for $50 like he stated.Wall and trim damages is damage.  Downplaying it's severity doesn't help you at all.  I never claimed there were huge holes or anything like that.  Furthermore, the new owners claim you are not responding to them to fix.  As where I do not know this for fact, I thought I would let you know that they expect the things to be addressed as promised.My displeasure from the start has always been the employees and their attitudes which in turn lead to all the damaged items because they just have no respect for people or their items which again, I am starting to think comes all the way from the top around there.  The timeline isn't relevant as is the fact that I am consistently not made aware of it or if there even is one.I went as far as to find matching paint for you to make it easier to fix the walls.  I have repeatedly gone an extra step where I don't need to so as to try to make your job easier to fix this mess that these guys created in the first place, yet there is still this, "we don't owe you anything" attitude type perception here from my point of view.Also, your furniture guy recommended replacement of all items, it was me that offered make and model numbers and encouraged fixing the armoire.  So continuing to try to paint me to the BBB as the one that is not making attempts to settle this is ridiculous. So, moving forward.  So you are aware.  I have saved all email communication and photos and have forwarded them to the BBB.  No one will set foot near my belongings until there is some sort of final agreement on what is fixed, what is accepted and what the final payment will be.  No more see as we go.  There will be an action plan with some sort of end and it is on you to provide a first attempt.  I will then accept or request any changes.   Lastly, this needs to happen in writing, no more he said she said.  Everything documented for everyone's protection.  I'm sure you can appreciate that concept.These requests are not unreasonable however inconvenient it may feel.  Given all that has happened, I also feel extremely inconvenienced.Looking forward to a change of attitude in this matter,***** ** *********From: Mister Mover of Ohio <mister_mover@msn.com>To: "***********@yahoo.com" <a.gausepohl@yahoo.com> Sent: Monday, January 13, 2014 2:02 PMSubject: DamageAs you can see from the Fed Ex notice (attached), the desk parts were delayed but we received them this afternoon.Is it possible to schedule the installation tomorrow? or what day works best for you.?Mr. Mover###-###-####

Consumer Response: All that is here is a forwarded copy of one of the numerous email exchanges. No response. This matter is still unresolved. In the end, Mr. **** himself was the salesperson for this job. I made no special requests for this move, only that they move me. He went into his sales pitch offering numerous stories and examples of how he does business vs things that other movers may or may not do. In the end, many of his promises, as simple as they were in nature, were impressive that they were hired. Then the move came and a number of them did not come true. I have yet to be apologized to now told how they would address this concept at all. Furthermore, the attack on my character seems childish. He has failed to mention that the very next day, I returned a good value in his business contents as his people were so careful with even his stuff that they left 3 large moving blankets, 1 set of movers gloves and 2 sets of tools behind. I'm sure that was worth something. I even said to **** at the time when I gladly made her aware of it that here is my wiliness to show good faith and immediately give these back and that I hope things would get worked out. I have less and less faith in that daily now

Business Response: The following response is being sent for ID *******.This move took place on Saturday 12/28/201 3. We sent 4 full time employeesand 1 part time employee who was full time but became part time due to theseasonal nature of our business.The customer contacted us and described horrific wall damage to his old houseas well as terribly soiled carpet on the stairs caused by our movers. Ourrepresentative met him on Sunday, 12/29/2013. What she observed was a verysmall superficial mark on a wall (the size of a pencil eraser). The carpet on thesteps looked no different than the rest of the house which showed normal wear.(pictures are on file at the BBB).He also said he had several furniture items that needed to be repaired. We setan appointment on the day of his choice, Friday, 1/3/2014. A representative anda repairman met the customer and agreed to repair or replace any item thatcould not be repaired. All of the damage was very minor and could easily berepaired. This is exactly what we promise to do prior to any move.His "bait and switch" claim has no merit nor does his claim that he is not happywith the pace of the repairs. Our representative met with him less than 24 hoursafter his initial call. We had a repairman meet with him on the following Friday,the day of his choosing, and contacted him on that same day after the meeting toinform him that we had ordered two small parts and let him know that when theycome in the following week we would be out to finish the repairs.Finally, the claim that our men stole a bag containing articles that were to bedonated is totally false. The items in question were lying in a hallway whichmade it difficult to carry furniture and one of our men asked him to remove it. Hesaid it was just stuff to be donated. One of our men said he could use it and infront of the supervisor (12 years with my company) the customer said he couldhave it. When the job is completed we requested the customer to look inside ofthe trucks to be sure everything had been unloaded. He looked in the first truckand the supervisor pointed out the bag on the 2nd truck which contained the itemshe had given to the other man. At that point the customer said he wanted theitems back and claimed he never gave them to our movers. The supervisorhanded the bag to the customer.According to the customer he stopped payment on his check while the truck wasin the driveway. He offered to make a partial payment and wanted $275.00 forcleaning the steps. The cost for steps from a top company in Columbus is$40.99. He also wanted the 3 damaged items with minor damage ($89.00)replaced with new items ($1,000). All of the damaged items were made ofpressed wood which is expressly excluded from damage coverage because ittends to pull apart or break at connection points after you try to move it. Thisinformation was provided to our customer in our general policy form which wasemailed a week before the move. We agreed to repair it anyway because thedamages were so minor. This, is in addition to the extreme exaggeration of thewall damage, makes us skeptical of this customer's motivation for making thiscomplaint.Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this claim. We are continuing toattempt to resolve and wanted the BBB to have on file the completecorrespondence as well as photos.***** ****President

Consumer Response: This is merely a copy of his first response which was not satisfactory and accusatory in nature. It was not satisfactory then or is it now. This matter is still not resolved as they continue to not produce any new options for settlement. The facts still remain that there were damages to the dwelling including dirty carpets from them not doing what was promised which was lay carpet protection. Gouged walls and broken trim. There was broken/damaged furniture and there is still the matter of the horrendous customer service issues from the attitude of the employees, attempted theft, to their continued contempt for the entire situation.

Business Response: Mr. Mover would like to proceed with option 3 - legally binding arbitration.  Please advise the next step.Thank you  

Business Response:   Mr. ********* was completed with repairs on January 28 and check was accepted as follows:         $1752     (30) - Bookcase    (179) - Bunkbeds   (51) - Overcharge   (7.50) - light           BALANCE PAID IN FULL - $1484.50  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1