Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Moving Ahead Services, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Moving Ahead Services, LLC

Phone: (614) 352-6444 View Additional Phone Numbers 6534 Singletree Dr, Columbus, OH 43229 http://www.movingaheadservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a local and long distance moving company with offices in Columbus, Cleveland and Cincinnati, OH. We specialize in all aspects of relocation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moving Ahead Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moving Ahead Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

16 Customer Reviews on Moving Ahead Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 14
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 16

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2005 in OH Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated: 04/11/2007 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

S-Corp

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Collins, President & Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Collins, President & Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Safe & Vault Movers Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Travel & Moving Services

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Cash
Check
Debit Card
Money Order
Pay Pal
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Moving Ahead Services, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6534 Singletree Dr

    Columbus, OH 43229 (614) 352-6444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving Ahead provided moving services on 11/23. I paid for three moving professionals. I received one moving professional and two young adults (age 19 and 24) that appeared to not be trained. Several pieces of furniture that were professionally wrapped by Moving Ahead Services were dinged and scratched due to the young movers bumping into doorways and the elevator. The doorway to the condo complex had a chunk of wood out of it where it appeared someone hit the doorway with something hard, my new condo garage floor had many chips on the edge of the garage from the hand truck hitting the edge so hard it tore it up (too many places to count), there were plastic light coverings sitting in the garage floor of the condo complex and apparently one of the young movers caught the edge of them when moving something out of garage and broke the plastic covers into pieces. I had to sweep that mess up the next day. In addition, several other items were broken that were in boxes (two vases). What disappointed me the most is how they sat around talking and texting when they should have been moving boxes thus causing the move to be 5 hours. I've moved 6 times in the last 9 years and this by far took the longest and had the most damage of any other move. I contacted Moving Ahead within 2 days and left a voicemail with my concerns. I then sent several emails to **** ******* and asked he setup a time to meet with me to view the damage. He never responded.

Desired Settlement: Since the damage cannot be fixed without replacement and/or repair, which is not likely to occur, I would like to have Moving Ahead acknowledge the issue and discuss refunding me for one hour of service due to the two young men sitting around and texting an unreasonable amount of time.

Business Response: We would like to look into this further, but need a name for the move.  Please provide your first and last name. Thanks,


Consumer Response:

Per the mail I received from Moving Ahead, please provide my name (**** *****) and date of service (11/23).  The Moving Ahead Service was in Columbus (not Cleveland) and the address is:

 

































Business Response: I remember the move and have all of the information. First, I'm sorry you are not satisfied with the overall quality of our services. I think somewhere along the way some email correspondents must have been lost. I looked through ****'s email and company emails and it looks like we have replied to you every step of the way.  I can see 17 emails total between us. If we missed something I am very sorry. I will gladly refund you for 1hr of service. Please let me know what address and who to make the $135 check payable.

Just a few things I would like to mention;

First, You mentioned the movers ages a few times. In our industry (moving labor) we primarily use younger men. The work is hard and we do it daily.  Of the 35 employees we currently have 5 are slightly older then 30. In fact, the crew leader was 24yrs old (****). You also mentioned that it took our guys 5hrs to do the move and last time it took 3.5-4hrs.  Overall, I don't think this is unusual. Several variables/logistics, that I won't mention, could have changed since you moved last. Also, some movers work at different speeds then others.

I did speak to **** in great detail about the move. He did state that one of his crew members used his phone a few times. This is against company policy. The issue has been addressed and we will work hard to make sure this does not happen in the future.

Again, I hope you can accept my sincere apology. We take moving very serious and we also work very hard to have a great reputation locally. Please let me know how you would like to proceed.


    

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Moving Ahead Services has requested my address to send me a $135.00 refund.  Can you please forward them my address:  1151 ****** **** Place, Lewis Center,OH  43035.

I appreciate the help in resolving this matter.