Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Moving Ahead Services, LLC

Phone: (614) 352-6444 3883 Business Park Dr, Columbus, OH 43204 http://www.movingaheadservices.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Moving Ahead Services is a local and long distance moving company with offices in Columbus, Cleveland and Cincinnati, OH. We specialize in all aspects of relocation for home and office/business moves. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moving Ahead Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moving Ahead Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

18 Customer Reviews on Moving Ahead Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 16
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 18

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2005 in OH Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated 04/11/2007 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Collins, President & Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Collins, President & Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Safe & Vault Movers Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Travel & Moving Services

Products & Services

Moving Ahead Services, LLC offers the following product(s): Moving Boxes, Moving Supplies

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Cash
Check
Debit Card
Money Order
Pay Pal
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Moving Ahead Services, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3883 Business Park Dr

    Columbus, OH 43204

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 27th 2015 Moving Ahead Services moved my belongings from ***** **** *** *** *** ********** **** ***** to **** **** ***** ****** ****** ********** **** ****** I noticed how very detailed and professional the crew was in protecting my furniture by wrapping in cloth then plastic wrap. I was impressed with level of care. I was charged $165.00 travel along with $165.00 per hour (4 man crew) for a total of 4.25 hours… The total came to $866.25. I anticipated paying less because a friend referred me…that moved into the same house but downstairs and moved from the same area. He had a great deal more furniture along with having your packing services for boxing up his personal items and a 3 man crew. So I withdrew $800.00 in cash to pay upon completion of the move. The last item brought into my new place was my new 62in Samsung LED HD Smart TV. The TV was placed onto the TV stand and it tilted badly on its own when it should stand straight up at a 45 degree angle. I was truly upset. I asked ****** what happened and can it be fixed. I was told that it can be taken back to the office for repair. At that point, I was asked for payment of $866.25. I had $800.00 in cash only. I explained that I can pay the balance upon repair of my TV. At that point I was instructed to initial the paperwork stating, “Mover’s caused no visible damage to household goods or property during the moving process”. I initialed the document along with my own writing stating the damage done to my TV. I wanted to make it clear that there was visible damage to my TV in the event that I would need to file a claim. My TV was returned Friday May 29th 2015… 2 days later. When placed back onto the entertainment center it was still not fixed, although it was slightly better it still slanted forward. I explained to ****** that I will still file a claim and asked that he put himself in my shoes. I asked him how he would feel if he had spent a great deal of money on a Smart TV and returned in this condition after a move. He said nothing. All I am asking is for my TV to be professionally repaired or replaced and in the event that it needs to be removed again from my home I want compensated with either a temporary replacement or a new one…

Desired Settlement: I spent a great deal of money on this TV and I really just want things to be the way they were. It is a 62in Samsung LED Smart TV HDTV. Please replace it... I worry its going to fall forward... thank you

Business Response:

Hi *****

I tried calling the number listed ************ it is saying the line is disconnected.

We will need to replace the TV with a comparable model. In order to do this I need a photo of the sticker on the back of the TV listing the model and Serial Numbers. Once we have that info I will have a new TV delivered. We will need to take the old TV in its current condition.

Is that acceptable?

I'm sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We did try hard to repair the TV. The other day before it was delivered to you it seemed fine. I did notice there was a slight forward lean. We thought that maybe this is how the TV sat. Again, I apologies.

We are eager to settle this. Please send the photo over as quickly as possible. I can likely get the TV to you today. I will also have guys take the TV out of the box and set up.

If it makes it easier send the image to my cell phone 440-339-3276

Best regards,

**** ******* * *************
Moving Ahead Services

OH License: #157491HG
Cleveland: (440) 256-2224
Columbus: (614) 352-6444
Cincinnati: (513) 284-3031
www.movingaheadservices.com
AngiesList | Facebook | Google +

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving Ahead provided moving services on 11/23. I paid for three moving professionals. I received one moving professional and two young adults (age 19 and 24) that appeared to not be trained. Several pieces of furniture that were professionally wrapped by Moving Ahead Services were dinged and scratched due to the young movers bumping into doorways and the elevator. The doorway to the condo complex had a chunk of wood out of it where it appeared someone hit the doorway with something hard, my new condo garage floor had many chips on the edge of the garage from the hand truck hitting the edge so hard it tore it up (too many places to count), there were plastic light coverings sitting in the garage floor of the condo complex and apparently one of the young movers caught the edge of them when moving something out of garage and broke the plastic covers into pieces. I had to sweep that mess up the next day. In addition, several other items were broken that were in boxes (two vases). What disappointed me the most is how they sat around talking and texting when they should have been moving boxes thus causing the move to be 5 hours. I've moved 6 times in the last 9 years and this by far took the longest and had the most damage of any other move. I contacted Moving Ahead within 2 days and left a voicemail with my concerns. I then sent several emails to **** ******* and asked he setup a time to meet with me to view the damage. He never responded.

Desired Settlement: Since the damage cannot be fixed without replacement and/or repair, which is not likely to occur, I would like to have Moving Ahead acknowledge the issue and discuss refunding me for one hour of service due to the two young men sitting around and texting an unreasonable amount of time.

Business Response: We would like to look into this further, but need a name for the move.  Please provide your first and last name. Thanks,


Consumer Response:

Per the mail I received from Moving Ahead, please provide my name (**** *****) and date of service (11/23).  The Moving Ahead Service was in Columbus (not Cleveland) and the address is:

 

































Business Response: I remember the move and have all of the information. First, I'm sorry you are not satisfied with the overall quality of our services. I think somewhere along the way some email correspondents must have been lost. I looked through ****'s email and company emails and it looks like we have replied to you every step of the way.  I can see 17 emails total between us. If we missed something I am very sorry. I will gladly refund you for 1hr of service. Please let me know what address and who to make the $135 check payable.

Just a few things I would like to mention;

First, You mentioned the movers ages a few times. In our industry (moving labor) we primarily use younger men. The work is hard and we do it daily.  Of the 35 employees we currently have 5 are slightly older then 30. In fact, the crew leader was 24yrs old (****). You also mentioned that it took our guys 5hrs to do the move and last time it took 3.5-4hrs.  Overall, I don't think this is unusual. Several variables/logistics, that I won't mention, could have changed since you moved last. Also, some movers work at different speeds then others.

I did speak to **** in great detail about the move. He did state that one of his crew members used his phone a few times. This is against company policy. The issue has been addressed and we will work hard to make sure this does not happen in the future.

Again, I hope you can accept my sincere apology. We take moving very serious and we also work very hard to have a great reputation locally. Please let me know how you would like to proceed.


    

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Moving Ahead Services has requested my address to send me a $135.00 refund.  Can you please forward them my address:  1151 ****** **** Place, Lewis Center,OH  43035.

I appreciate the help in resolving this matter.