Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (614) 275-2997 Fax: (614) 275-2985 845 Harrisburg Pike, Columbus, OH 43223

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company is an Atlas Van Lines agent providing packing, moving and storage services for local, long distance and international moves for homes, businesses & libraries.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1950 in OH Business incorporated 03/29/1963 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David M. Lewis, President Ms. Kathy Batts, Sales Manager Mr. William E. Lewis, Vice President Noah Osborne, Quality Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David M. Lewis, President
Customer Contact: Mr. William E. Lewis, Vice President
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial Transportation Services

Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO Renting a Self-Storage Unit - BBB Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 845 Harrisburg Pike

    Columbus, OH 43223 (614) 275-2997


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Complaint is for Lewis and Michael of Dayton an agent for ***** *** *****. Complaint covers. Poor sales process, salesman estimation & planning, move execution, customer service, and follow up on overcharge claims.

We are seeking $800 in compensation for overcharge for a full service move which did not end up being full service, because we had to contribute labor to packing and loading the goods. We had to do this because Lewis and Michael saved money by understaffing the move for an estimated 14,000 lbs in one day, jeopardizing and causing a delay to our family’s move schedule.

We ended up packing 6x Dish packs, 6x book cartons and 3x 4.5 cu ft boxes (although their paper work does not accurately reflect this effort by “packed by owner”). On top of packing we lifted and loaded over 100 boxes. For a total of 40 hrs between my wife and I for 2 days. Even with our help the move still barely got finished in the 2nd day, which they had slated to be done in 1 day without our help.

1) Misleading/False Sales Info: Lewis and Michael sales did a quote 30 days out of move date for a full service pack and load. We told the sales rep we will pack a lot of items but we don’t know how far we will get. He said he quote us based on what he saw on that day 30 days before move, as if there was no packing on our end. And he would adjust the quote accordingly after another site visit. A Day before the move we asked him to come out as we had packed 2,000-3,000 pounds of goods (800 sq ft basement). There was no adjustment to price and/or box details. The salesman also quoted our 14,000 estimate pack and load to be a one day pack and load. (By the time the load was done our weight was 12,000 pounds)

2) Unprofessional Movers: Three movers (driver + 2 helpers) arrive at 11am. They took 30min breaks every 2hours, and packed slow. It was obvious this move was not going to be completed in 1 day because movers were understaffed, arrived late and packed slow, so we needed to help pack and load so as to not incur another delay day in the move. Driver was fairly un-professional making sexually derogatory comments. Although the packers did not knock anything on walls or damage goods.

3) Poorly Estimation and Planning: Day 2 (1+ day delay). Movers arrive at 10am, again arriving late and only with 3 guys. My wife and I continue to help pack and load with the movers because again, it was obvious this was not going to get done and were supposed to be driving the next day and had cleaner appointments already schedule on this day (that ended up getting canceled which also incurred us cost). Salesman said he would follow up the day before, he made himself disappear. I had to call the owner and express this move was not going to even get done even in the 2nd day if he didn’t throw more guys on this job. He sent 2 guys over, however one broke his ankle within 10minutes. My wife and continued to help pack and load. Collectively 10hrs, per person, each day for two days. (40hrs of working hours)

4) Poor Execution: On top of the poor estimation of mover resources, the driver did not packed the truck appropriately as he then had to call for another truck for an overflow shipment. (We did not end up getting this shipment for over 30 days)

5) Missed Delivery: Two days later the main household goods shipment was supposed to arrive. Was told 8am arrival. It was 10am I had not heard anything, I had to call again to find out what was going on… our goods were still in our out of state origin 600miles away. They did cover delay costs due to hotel, food and immediate supply needs.

6) Poor Management and Customer Service: When I tried calling Lewis and Michael looking for answers the gal just laughed and said I don’t know what’s going on. I expressed they needed to start expressing an interest in knowing what’s going on and to assign me a single point of contact to communicate with. We had to hunt someone down in their Dayton office to come to plate and start managing this. Our goods ended up being delayed an additional 3 days. Evidently the driver just disappeared and the company knew he was missing but didn’t bother letting us know until we hunted them down on what was going on and where our stuff was.

7) We did have a good delivery experience since it was a new driver and a local mover crew (not Atlas). However again this was just the main shipment, not the overflow. We did receive mostly everything, in better than expected condition. Only a draw face, fertilizer spreader and a plastic tote was damaged. They did cover delays costs for the exact amount claimed.

8) Bad Overcharge Claims process and Customer Satisfaction: In regards to #2 and #3 yes we did not have to help pack or load, however if we DID NOT HELP by adding in0 20 man hours we would have been delayed another day, going into a 3rd day. So we saved ***** another delay day claim in food and hotels ($300). We filed a claim for overcharge since we did have to contribute those 20 hours of labor, faced with cleaner appointment cancelations, putting children in child care ($50) in addition to the inconvenience and overall performance of the move. This process was not satisfactorily addressed, Atlas offered half what it would have cost them to add 2 more movers to have a successfully completed the move in 1 day. Atlas claims they are not obligated to compensate us and are only doing so as a good faith reimbursement, however this falls short of a full service move, poor customer service and unfairly compensation for client’s time.

Desired Settlement:

We are seeking $800 in compensation for overcharge for a full service move which did not end up being full service, because we had to contribute labor to packing and loading the goods.

We had to do this because Lewis and Michael saved money by understaffing the move for an estimated 14,000 lbs in one day, jeopardizing and causing a delay to our family’s move schedule. We ended up packing 6x Dish packs, 6x book cartons and 3x 4.5 cu ft boxes (although their paper work does not accurately reflect this effort by “packed by owner”). On top of packing we lifted and loaded over 100 boxes. For a total of 40 hrs between my wife and I for 2 days. Even with our help the move still barely got finished in the 2nd day, which they had slated to be done in 1 day without our help.

Business Response: We value the feedback from every customer. It is unfortunate that there was an issue with this shipment, and Lewis & Michael Inc. As well as ***** *** ***** have attempted to rectify this situation with Mr ********. 

On the day that this shipment was to be loaded there was a traffic jam from Cincinnati to Mr ******** residence.  This did delay the start of the move. Once the loading began Mr ******** stated that he wanted to assist with the loading. Our driver instructed that he appreciated the help but  it was unnecessary. Mr ******** insisted upon helping and began to bring boxes out and setting them at the end of the ramp. This unfortunately slowed down the process as we have a system for loading. 
Mr ******** was alarmed that it was taking more time than expected and called into our main office and spoke with our president personally. Our president then sent out two additional movers to assist This brought the total to 5. One of the movers who was sent out broke his ankle on the job and had to be sent for medical care.  Bringing the total to 4 movers. Given the weight of the shipment and due to the fact that we were supposed to do very little packing we should have had ample time. Ultimately our driver had to do additional packing. 

Although things could have gone better, we attempted to rectify this situation with Mr ********.  To that end, ***** acting on our behalf has paid Mr ******** for a righteous Damage claim of 184.02. Atlas has paid a delay claim in the amount of 981.73. Mr ******** sent in an over payment so when accounting caught this , Mr ******** was issued an overage payment of 551.83. 

Mr ******** asked to be compensated for the labor that he provided of his own volition to our crew and although this was not necessary, as a sign of goodwill and purely as a function of customer service Atlas offered Mr ******** 200.00 dollars. This is the maximum amount that Atlas can offer in goodwill.  He rejected this offer. When Lewis & Michael was made aware I authorized Atlas to offer him an additional 200.00 as a goodwill gesture from Lewis & Michael. Mr ******** rejected this offer. Unfortunately this is the final offer tendered. We have attempted to rectify this situation with Mr. ********. At this time we must respectfully deny any further compensation beyond the monies already paid and offered to Mr ********. 

I have included a portion of the federal law that covers the rebating of charges.

 Federal law requires all carriers to have a tariff in place for the transportation of household goods and bill in accordance with their tariff (49 U.S.C. § 13702).  These tariffs are subject to the approval of the federal government and carriers are required to follow them accordingly.

It is illegal for a carrier to give a rebate for services provided (49 U.S. C. § 14903).  In fact, it is illegal for a shipper to even request such a rebate (49 U.S.C. § 14904(b)(2)).  Federal law requires a carrier to collect all amounts due for the services provided (49 U.S.C. § 13702(a)(2)).  If carriers did not do this, they would be providing an illegal rebate.

We wish Mr ******** the best, and hope that we may conclude this unfortunate circumstance with settlement offer, and response through the BBB.

Noah O******
Lewis & Michael Inc.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********:

Our position is that the $400 goodwill gesture is final resolution for inconveniences incurred. This is 200 from ***** and 200 from Lewis & Michael. It is against the ***** tariff for carriers to reduce the transportation linelaul on services provided. The $400 offered as a goodwill gesture, is just exactly that. A fair and reasonable goodwill gesture offered on the agents behalf for inconveniences incurred as amiable resolution.
There have been absolutely no falsified paperwork and you were given copies of everything we have. We would in no way seek to deceive our customers . All paperwork is signed by you in agreement to terms. 

 Our records indicate that your shipment was released under the Assured Price Protection (APP) Program.

Under the Assured Price Protection (APP) Program, the APP binding charges are compared to the tariff charges for the actual weight and services and the lower of the two amounts will be the charges due. This estimate is based on the articles and services listed. The APP binding charges shown for this shipment will apply and will be binding on ***** unless additional charges (based on the tariff rates in effect on the date of this estimate) will be added to the APP total. In addition to all other charges due at the time of deliver, all charges for additional services not included in this estimate requested after the bill of lading is executed will be due, as will charges for additional services required due to impracticable operations, as defined in *****’ tariff (which include destination shuttle service or unanticipated destination SIT), subject to a maximum of 15% of all other charges due at delivery. You will be billed for any balance in excess of the 15% after delivery and you will be obligated to pay the balance.

Being that your shipment was released under the APP Program our records indicate that you were issued a refund of $551.83 based on the lower weight of the shipment. You've received a refund on the lower estimate of $551.83, as well as $981.73 for delay compensation, and $184.02 on your Loss and Damage Claim. The $400 offered as a good will gesture is final resolution, contingent upon the return of the signed release. This is the final correspondence in this matter. Lewis & Michael wish you well and consider this matter closed.

Noah O******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: 10850638

I am rejecting this response because:

Lewis and Michael falsified papers, plain and simple. Ask the many witnesses of that move. There were 3-5 ***** employees of Lewis and Michael or ********** ********, **** ********, ******* ********, pick one or many.

All the other responses about weight adjustments, delay claims have ZERO application to this response, and is merely sympathy attempt on behalf of Lewis and Michael. 
The focus is on the fact the shipper did less than they said they did, period. Has Lewis and Michael gathered written statements from their employees to reflect the story? Noah O******* sits behind a desk at an office, he was not on site, didn't conduct an interview of their employees, didn't even talk to the driver (stated himself on the phone). How in the world does Noah O****** know what happened?!
Yes this is my final response as well. I ask BBB to work with the Ohio Attorney General's office in a follow up on the complaint I sent to them.

9/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a 14 year military veteran, I have moved to 5 different locations encompassing to far away countries in Japan, Koream and Germany without any issues. The move from Ohio to Guam has been by far the worst move of my military career due to one company: L**** and Michael. Let me first say that I have reached out to Bill L**** and David L**** (President) and both have not answered my request for communication, specifically apologies for the way Chris N (team lead and driver) handled our move. Our grivances are many: 1. We received damage to our bedroom dresser as they were moving from our house to the truck. 2. They damaged our floor lamp because as they were moving it they hit the spinning ceiling fan. Chris one of the workers (no relation to Chris N.) then tried to minimize the situation stating the scratches could be washed out. Really! After I get upset he gets defensive and then sarcastically answers "yessir" and mimics a black slave answering to his master. I then requested he be moved off the job the next day. 3. We found numbered green and white stickers all over the house that were not properly affixed to boxes after they left our house. 4. Chris N. (lead, driver) stated he wanted to leave without placing our boxes into the crates so that he can get his guys off the clock and finish the packing at the warehouse. He reassures us that our belongings would be properly packed into the crates. This did not happen. The rules of engagement are that high value items are to be packed in crate #1. They did not do this and complicated our move to Guam. Here is why: my firearm which I packed into my safe had to be removed by Guam Customs and inspected before our household goods were to be delivered to our residence in Guam. The problem was that no documenteation given to me nor filed at the Lewis and Michael warehouse indicated where the firearm was packed. That meant we had to pick through 14 possible crates to locate the firearm. It took 2 trips to the local moving company and 3 warehouse workers to unpack and then repack the crates, toiling in the humid Guam weather until my firearm was found. 5. My office (progear) was not properly taped and contents fell out as we were looking for the firearm. The warehouse workers commented the packing job was one of the worst they have ever seen. I will be placing a claim for the award plaques that were damaged as they fell on the floor. 6. They loaded and packed our treadmill on its side, not flat, causing damage. We will be placing a claim for this as well. 7. Crates did not have security labels properly affixed, no security wire placed on crate, and crate #'s not adequately place on outside.

Desired Settlement: Personal apology from David L****, time and expense for making multiple trips from Andersen AFB to moving company in Guam.

Business Response:

We regret that **** *** has filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  L**** & Michael & Michael has always strived to prove excellent service to our customers and work with them it there are any problems before, during, and after the move is completed.

Some major quality control changes were made after reviewing **** ***’s complaint and his suggestions to improve our operations.

The first part of **** ***’s Desired Settlement is a personal apology from David L****.  We feel that has been accomplished through 2 emails (dated 9/2 and 9/5) from David L**** to **** ***.

The other part of **** ***’s Desired Settlement is time and expense for multiple trips to the moving company.  Since **** ***’s shipment was handled through the Military system, any claim for damages or any type of expenses should be submitted through the Military using the ******* ******** ****** *****.

Again, please accept our apology for the problems you have encountered during your move. 

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I will report back and file another complaint if the Louis and Michael counter claim will be below full market value.

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The above company was contracted to move our furnishings from a (illegible word) house to above address. Kitchen products, xmas decorations were missing. A desk worth 400-500 was totally broken and an end table 2 weeks old worth 200 was broken. They want to give us a total of 178 & stated there is no proof they transported any of the missing items. At first they were going to replace the desk & table. 2 wks ago gave me the above settlement price.

Desired Settlement: They need to pay the fair worth of the products. Among the Xmas decorations were 35 -40 hand blown Xmas tree ornaments 15-$40 value p/piece

Business Response:

To Whom It may concern:

My name is Michael ********.  I am the Quality Manager for Lewis & Michael Moving and Storage.  My General Manager of our Columbus location is the individual handling this claim.  Because of the holiday season I have now had a chance to speak with him regarding this complaint. 

The relocation in question was covered under the state minimum coverage of $.60 per pound, per article.  Customers are given the opportunity to purchase additional valuation during the meeting with the sales representative prior to the relocation taking place.  I am unsure of the circumstances of the pre-move meetings between the customer and the sales representative however, the over all decision was to go with the minimum coverage.  Customers concerned about full value protection normally purchase the additional valuation to cover their items with full protection. 

To address the missing items on the complaint.  During the relocation the customer asked our crew to remove some items out of her residence and place them by the curb.  We can only come to the conclusion that the missing items were taken out to the curb.  The offer that was made to the customer was for nearly 300lbs based on the state minimum coverage.

Thank you very much for your time.  If you need anything further please do not hesitate in contacting me.


Consumer Response: In response to Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage I don't recall any conversation
with ***** our sales rep or any other member of their company regarding
additional coverage. In view of our families experience with moving companies I
am sure I would remember that type of conversation. Our son and daughter both
moved and things were lost and broken. Our daughters lost was over $2500
dollars. No mention of additional coverage was involved in either claim. Our last
move 15 years ago a 85 year old Seth Thomas mantal clock was lost and again no
mention of additional coverage. So in view of the above I would defiantly consider
additional coverage if the company I was hiring was not going to be responsible
for our items.
We moved the last week of August 2014 and the broken desk and casual table
were discovered immediately. Throughout Sep. Oct. and part of Nov, all the
conversation with L&M was they were trying to find a 60" replacement desk
(either new of used) and they found the current cost of the table. Nothing was
said about poundage until I asked for some type of monetary reimbursement I
asked for some type of monetary payment in late Dec.
As for the missing Xmas items and kitchen producats it was definitely L&M fault.
We had a woman helping us pack and I called her after I noticed the 35-40 hand
blown ornaments were missing. She confirmed, with no coaching, that they were
in a group by themselves at the bottom of the basement steps. I remember
telling the movers they were Xmas ornaments and the whole group were to go.
Now there were 2 guys taking boxes out of the basement/so what happened I
don't know.
L&M wants to reimburse us $183.00 for a $500 desk, $199 table not a month old
and $1200 in classic ornaments. That is not acceptable as far as I am concerned,
especially when L&M is a major player I would expect better from a mom and pop

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart