BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is an Atlas Van Lines agent providing packing, moving and storage services for local, long distance and international moves for homes, businesses & libraries.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lewis & Michael Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated: 03/29/1963 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David M. Lewis, President Ms. Kathy Batts, Sales Manager Mr. William E. Lewis, Vice President Mr. Michael Monteith, Quality Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David M. Lewis, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Monteith, Quality Manager
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial Transportation Services

Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO Renting a Self-Storage Unit - BBB Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1827 Woodman Dr

    Dayton, OH 45420

  • 845 Harrisburg Pike

    Columbus, OH 43223 (614) 275-2997

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 26, we moved from Oakwood, OH; our boxes were unloaded at Libertyville, IL on August 1. In the course of the move, our DVDs were stolen from our armoire; and my saxophone was stolen. Lewis & Michael is a local rep of Atlas Vans. We have been in contact both with Lewis & Michael and Atlas Vans, and it appears that the best we can do is to get 60 cents per pound. We filed a police report in Libertyville, and unless the Libertyville police bring about a criminal conviction, the thieves will go unpunished. What this means is that Lewis & Michael / Atlas Vans has no incentive not to hire thieves. They brazenly stole $3000 worth of items from us, and it is quite clear that Lewis & Michael / Atlas Vans do not care.

Desired Settlement: We can't imagine getting our money back from a company like this one. We simply want other people to know what our experience of Lewis & Michael and Atlas Vans has been. In a nutshell, they hired people who stole $3000 worth of our belongings, and they have made no effort to show that they care or to get to the bottom of the case. One of the movers actually claimed that he put our DVDs in a box (moving them from a drawer in the armoire). If Lewis & Michael or Atlas Vans had cared at all...

Business Response:

Lewis & Michael has continued to track down the crew and interview each one of them.  Our dispatcher advised me that the crew did not take any boxes out to the origin location except for mattress boxes.  *** ******** has made a claim with Atlas Van Lines and that claim for ******* and *** ******** is still open and we have not given up on a positive outcome.  There is still an ongoing investigation of this shipment and would be happy to speak to ******* or *** at any time if they would like to voice their concerns.  I have spoken with the Oakwood Police department regarding this matter and am awaiting a return phone call back from their lead detective. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To start this off mildly this companys employees make me sick, and are horrible excuses for human beings!!! They we hired by the US Army to move my familys belongs from Columbus OH to Charlotte NC. My wife and I are veterans and recently have been relocated to NC. I allowed these putrid POSs in my house thinking I was being well taken care of. I shared enjoyable conversations with them, and it turns out I served with one of their brothers for many years in the Ohio National Guard. I purchased their lunches while they moved, and gave them 100s of dollars in old baby & misc stuff I was going to donate to good will. Upon arrival to NC we were unpacking and noticed that our childrens game systems and a laptop were stolen. This included one Xbox 360 with Kinect, multiple controllers/accessories, an Xbox game, two Nintendo Wiis, with multiple controller/accessories, 50 Wii games, and a pink dell inspiron laptop. I priced this out to replace them via google/gamestop and the values of these items were around $4,400. They stole from children right before Christmas. Bravo fellas I hope rotting in hell was worth it!!! I will be filing a huge complaint thru Wright Patterson Air Force Base, Channel 6 news (Six on your side), and I filed a police report. I will be in uniform, and my children will be in front of the camera asking why someone would do such a horrible thing to them. I will depict how terrible this company is in front of live television so that this does not happen to anyone else. To warn everyone if you used this company and they assign ****** ***** crew call the police. You will be robbed blind. This company deserves a big F and should be followed with a capital U!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want every cent to be replaced. The Army nor the insurance company should be responsible for your employee's despicable actions. Shame on them and shame on the employer for not doing a more thorough back ground check.

Business Response:

Sorry for the delay in responding to this complaint.  Due to the holidays and half of the staff out sick, everything is behind schedule.

It took a little time to finally find the move file for this complaint.  It was under ****** ***** and not ******* *******.

Since this was a Military move, all claims and complaints must be filed and processed under the Military Claims System and not through the Better Business Bureau.  The Military has a very elaborate claims and complaint system to deal with problems as stated in this complaint.

We have receivied a notification that a claim has been filed by ****** ***** for this move and will be providing all the information requested to process the calim.

Consumer Response:

I would like for this to be posted under the customer reviews so that future customers will be warned of your shady business. I also contact channel six news to get them involved. Wright Patterson Air Force Base was also notified of this situation.  If I have to post signs or picket outside your building to deter customers I will. 

I love how there was no apology, no remorse for your companies actions. You are a prime example of the declining customer service experience in this country.  Your company stole from a military family right before Christmas, from children.  I was overly nice to your employees and they robbed us.  I want everyone to know how poor our experience was with your company.






























Business Response: *** ******, ****** *******, called BBB to respond to the consumer's rejection of the business' original response. He said that this matter is out of their hands because the military has to handle the claim. There is nothing further he can do about this complaint.

Consumer Response:

No attempt to take responsibility has been made and these indivuals are still entering people's homes.  I'm going to be stuck with a fraction of what was stolen and these people couldn't care less about thier customers.































BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved in June 2011. I still have not received the minimal compensation that was offered for the damage of my items and my property. I used the Lewis and Michael Movers for a move last year. I received an estimate that was grossly underestimated and ended up having to pay several hundred dollars more the day if my move. My sofa was jammed so hard in my front door it took the leather off in numerous places when all they had to do was take the door off to get the sofa in safely. I moved into a house that was newly remodled, the newly dry walled and painted walls were damaged. After the movers left I found one of my dressers was damaged but they said I could not claim it because it was not on the "movers report" . I didn't have time to look at everything while the movers were here. They were asking me where things went every 2 seconds. No one came out to look at my damage they sent me out of form to estimate the weight of my couch and gave my couch. I have no idea how much the couch ways. I sent them the original invoice for the couch. They offered my $60 for the couch based on my estimate of the weight and $75 for the damage for the walls. I tote of glass items were also broken b/c the movers carried them on his head and the tote was upside down and came open.

Desired Settlement: They have offered me $135 and I have not received it yet. My move was 11 months ago. Soon they will say they won't give my anything b/c of time limitations. I have made so many calls to to their claims rep. ******. I feel that their services have been so poor and sloppy. Their estimate was unfair. I only want a fair settlement from them.

Business Response: Ms. ****** was mailed her settlement release on September 28, 2011. At the bottom of the release states"This offer will only remain outstanding for thirty (30) from issue date. L&M is under no obligation to honor any offer that is not returned timely or that is altered". Her claim folder was closed out after 60 days for non-receipt of the release form. Ms. ****** signed her release form on February 10, 2012 and we received it on February 13th. Although we normally go by the set 30 days policy, but as a customer service gesture, her claim has been reopened and a request for payment will be sent to our account office. She should receive a check in about 2 weeks.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "On 9/22/11, I hired the above movers to move me from (****) less than 2 miles . During the move they lost or misplaced a laundry basket, containing 3 bottles of detergents, 1 box of Bounce, a bottle of Shout, 2 cloth covers for an electric steam mop ($23.95 to replace) and a covered 9/x13 cake pan. There may have been other items, but I know for sure the items I have listed. I called 3 times and talked to someone in the office and "backroom." I then wrote a 4-page letter - no reply whatsoever. About a month ago I called the (****) who said the "boss" would be there tomorrow and would call me. On Monday, November 14th I called again and told the person (male) that the total amount to cover those lost items would be $70. It is now December 1st and I have not heard or received a check. In 2007,(****) moved me to (****) and in September 2010 they moved me back. Not an item lost or broken. I feel that they owe me for the items they cannot seem to find."

Desired Settlement: BBB Summary: Consumer states: "I feel that they owe me for the itmes they cannot seem to find."

Business Response: Talked to (****) today and apologize for the problems she has encountered for this claim. Our office did not follow procedures for this type of problem and notify the (****) office to handle the matter. Will be sending her a check for $ 70.00 out next week.

Consumer Response: BBB received phone call from consumer stating complaint resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service