Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Berger Columbus

Phone: (614) 347-5970 Fax: (614) 347-5998 View Additional Phone Numbers 1111 Milepost Dr, Columbus, OH 43228 http://www.bergerallied.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states they offer local, long distance and international transportation and storage services to individual customers, corporations and government agencies. Berger is headquartered in St. Paul, MN, and operates 17 company-owned locations nationwide. The scope of this report issued by BBB serving Central Ohio concerns the Berger Columbus location.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berger Columbus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berger Columbus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berger Columbus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 31, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1910 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1910 Business incorporated 02/11/1977 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill M Musser, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill M Musser, Manager
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Cash
Business & Cashiers Check
Debit Card
Money Order
Alternate Business Names
Berger Ohio, Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Additional Locations

  • 1111 Milepost Dr

    Columbus, OH 43228 (614) 870-1100 (800) 848-6576 (614) 347-5970

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract for moving the contents of my home with estimated delivery date June 30-July 3. It is now July 7th, the items have not been delivered and the company can neither tell me when they will be delivered nor why there has been such a delay. I have contacted *** ** as well as the national customer service line without any result.

Desired Settlement: I would like my items delivered!! My credit card has already been billed, so a financial compensation would be nice but honestly, I just want my things!

Business Response:

Yes this shipment is late.  It was picked up yesterday and delivrered to the destination agent in ******* this morning.  They will deliver it to her, at the latest, Saturday July 12th.  I have processed invoices for reimbursement for 187.00 for expenses the customer incurred due to the delay.  This is abouve an beyond our normal claim process which will reimburse a per diem for lodging and meals.  Her frustration is certainly understandable.  Since it is summer when a shipment is late it can be difficult to locate anoter truck due to the increased summer volume.  I dee[ply regret the trouble this has caused her but do feel we did what we could to get the shipment there and cover the additional expenses.

 

 

Business Response:

Yes this shipment is late.  It was picked up yesterday and delivrered to the destination agent in ******* this morning.  They will deliver it to her, at the latest, Saturday July 12th.  I have processed invoices for reimbursement for 187.00 for expenses the customer incurred due to the delay.  This is abouve an beyond our normal claim process which will reimburse a per diem for lodging and meals.  Her frustration is certainly understandable.  Since it is summer when a shipment is late it can be difficult to locate anoter truck due to the increased summer volume.  I dee[ply regret the trouble this has caused her but do feel we did what we could to get the shipment there and cover the additional expenses.

 

 

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Berger/Allied moved my household good in the fall of 2013 and stored them for over 3 months. Upon delivery the end of December 2013 they did not open any boxes and we identified a couple of items that were damaged at that time. I was told I had time to review other items and open boxes before filling a claim for anything. Once we started looking at the items pick upped, transported to storage, stored, then delivered to a new residence, we found 4 items that were damaged. These items were damaged clearly due to carelessness on the part of the handlers. There was a total of 2 lamps and one shelving unit that were damaged in which all three had the bases or legs broken. In one case the legs were simply broken off when they they should have been unscrewed. Another with a concrete base support was smashed to pieces. The third had legs so twisted they will not stay together to make a sturdy lamp.All of these items were itemized and sent to the company, but at no time did anyone call to check on the claim or to let us know that we only had 60 days to file - 2 items were noted at the time of delivery. We filed the claim 12 days late and company refused to pay anything the claim because it was past 60 days. The bottom line - Berger Transfer and Storage did a poor job of moving items, especially the standing items, and then used the 60 day cut off to avoid any liability.

Desired Settlement: This filing is just submitted to warn other potential users of Berger-Allied company that they are likely to have problems with the service. At this time I know that Berger-Allied will not stand behind their service.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint.  It is true that moves within the state of Ohio, according to PUCO regulations, have a 60 claim filing limit.  This is mentioned on our bill of lading and in our move planning materials.  Like any transfer of risk there is a time limit to the period of time a claim can be filed.  I would be glad to look at the goods damaged in order to use the information to improve future occurances if In fact we did do the damage.  But our claims department will not extend the time period for honoring a claim.

 

 

Business Response:  Berger has fulfilled all of its obligations regarding this claiim.  Public Utilities Commission of Ohio sets the time limit for filing a claim which is 60 days.  It is printed n the bill of lading and we advise custmers of that rule.  In over 30 years of experience in this business I have never heard of legs being ripped off of a table.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and find that this resolution is not totally satisfactory to me. I am not rejecting the response BUT THE LEGS WHERE RIPPED OFF -  TOTALLY BROKEN OFF AT THE JOINT WHERE THE LEG GOES INTO THE SECTION!!!! Just because you have not seen this in over 30 years does not mean it did not happen. IT DID. At this point I do not expect anything from Berger on any of the damaged items, but telling me I am fabricating/lying about what happen is infuriating and unprofessional. The bottom line is you had people that were totally irresponsible in handling several of my items.





















Business Response:

I have reviewed the inventories and saw no mention of damage.  Can *** ***** provide me with an invnetory number or can I visit his home to view the item.

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Since the company made it very clear they do not intend to do anything further with my claim, I have disposed of the items as any normal person would who cannot use the items that were damaged. Items with legs broken off and completed dismembered are of no value.




















10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company moved our household possessions across the country. The delivery was late by 3 days, and only a portion of our things arrived. Important things, including our clothes, parts of my son's crib, phones, etc were not part of the first shipment. We had been in constant contact with the company, but it was not until the last minute that they told me that the shipment was not complete. The truck driver that delivered the shipment called me at 4am on the day of the delivery, wanting me to drive to the California border to resolve some sort of paperwork issue. I spent the entire day on the phone with him and different staff and offices, trying to get him to drive the last 20 miles to our house. My husband had to take off work. They finally delivered things in the dark, and a number of things were broken. The second shipment took over a month to deliver. In order to deliver the goods, they insisted that we pay them again via cashier's check. We did this. We finally convinced them to return the original sum we paid them by credit card, but for over a month they had more than $15,000 of our money, instead of the $7,700 we had agreed upon. The second shipment did not contain all of our belongings. Many boxes were never delivered. We have filed a claim, but have yet to be reimbursed. They have given up looking for our things. They reimbursed us $479 for costs we incurred because the first shipment was 3 days late (a portion of our food costs, lodging, a crockpot I bought to cook my son's food because he has allergies and cannot eat in restaurants). We believe we should be reimbursed the full cost of replacing the goods that they lost, as well as additional money for the stress on our family. My 2 year old son was without a bed for a month, favorite toys didn't arrive for a month, my 4 year old lost many books and a wall hanging we used to measure her growth since she was born.

Desired Settlement: We moved on June 3rd, and as of September 15th, we have not been reimbursed. We would like the company to recognize these as significant complaints, as not the level of service that was promised for the fee we agreed to pay. We claimed $2,286.90 in lost and broken items. We had a $500 deductible in our contract. We would like the company to reimburse for the goods, and either waive the deductible or refund $500 for poor service.

Business Response:

Since this was an interstate shipment all claim issues are handled by our headquarters office.  My understanding is the claim settlement letter was written on September 16th.  Her shipment was late and there were items missing.  I am waiting to see the letter also. THanks.

 

Business Response:

Sorry, I was traveling.  The letter went out Sep 16, and the check was cut Sept 19th. Thanks.

 

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Berger Allied was hired to move large furniture items from one house to another. Their professional estimator stated the move would be allotted for a total of 5 hours. He also stated that given the number of items being moved, the move could be done in less than four hours. On 9/12/2013, two men arrived at 9:00am to begin moving the furniture. Upon arrival, one man came into the home to take a quick visual assessment of the items to be moved, then proceeded back to the truck to eat breakfast with the other mover. After finishing their breakfast, they began to wrap and move the furniture at an excessively slow rate. After 2 hours they were questioned if they would be done in the allotted time frame. They stated that they would be and that we would not be charged extra if they did run over time. After packing the furniture into the truck, they took an hour lunch break. Upon arrival at the new house, the movers damaged the walls of the house when moving in the furniture, reassembled the furniture incorrectly, and broke and lost hardware to the furniture. The move was completed at 3:30 pm. During the time of the move, the movers were talking on their cell phones and taking numerous cigarette breaks. The movers made comments such as "We're getting paid today!" and made remarks about how slow they were moving. The driver of the truck stated 3 times that there would be no additional charge for the extra time they were taking. Later that day, a voice message was received from ***** ********* of Berger and he stated there would be an additional cost of close to $200 for the additional time needed for the move. Phone calls to Berger and to the parent company of Allied Van Lines have not yet been returned to the customer.

Desired Settlement: BBB information and for reference against Berger Moving and Storage in our ongoing dispute. All additional charges from Berger Moving and Storage shall be waived.

Business Response:

This was a communication issue on our part.  The crew was misinformaed as to what type of an estimate was given.  The customer will not be charged any additional charges beyond the estimated amount.  We will notify them of this.

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.






















8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving contract not fulfilled. Shipment not delivered within guaranteed date range and delayed by 7 days. Poor customer service, including a lack of notification of delay of shipment by personal moving coordinator. Failure to inform final delivery company of any and all details for residential shipment. Lack of accountability by shipper. Shipment delay caused significant emotional, physical, and financial hardship.

Desired Settlement: Reasonable and appropriate refund/reimbursement for shipper's breach of contract and resulting emotional, physical, and financial hardship.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** is correct.  Her shipment was not delivered in time.  My records indicate that she was contacted on July 22nd and notified of the delay.  Her last delivery day per the agreement between ****** Van Lines and her was July 24th.  On the 22nd she was also forwarded a copy of the form necessary to file a delay claim.  This form specifies the types of expenses that will be reimbursed and what documentation is necessary to qualify for reimbursement.    Like all transportation companies recovery for any type of delay, damage, or adverse conditions of any type is strictly regulated by the federal government.  In order to qualify for any reimbursement this form must be filed in writing.  Regarding the communication lapses it does appear that there could have been more frequesnt communication.  However, it was not non-existant.  Besides the formal notification of delay I had a number of conversations with the *****'s prior to the delivery of the shipment.  When it did arrive in Moscow I worked closedly with the destination agaent to ensure they could make delivery ASAP.  Needless to say I regret when any shipment is late.  Of the thousands of families that ****** moves annually a very minor percentage are late. 

 

Thank you,

 

William Musser