BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Berger Columbus?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states they offer local, long distance and international transportation and storage services to individual customers, corporations and government agencies. Berger is headquartered in St. Paul, MN, and operates 17 company-owned locations nationwide. The scope of this report issued by BBB serving Central Ohio concerns the Berger Columbus location.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berger Columbus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berger Columbus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berger Columbus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 31, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1910 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1910 Business incorporated: 02/11/1977 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Musser, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Musser, Manager
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Cash
Business & Cashiers Check
Debit Card
Money Order
Alternate Business Names
Berger Ohio, Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Additional Locations

  • 1111 Milepost Dr

    Columbus, OH 43228 (614) 870-1100 (614) 347-5970 (800) 848-6576

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 870-1100(Phone)
  • (800) 848-6576(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract for moving the contents of my home with estimated delivery date June 30-July 3. It is now July 7th, the items have not been delivered and the company can neither tell me when they will be delivered nor why there has been such a delay. I have contacted *** ** as well as the national customer service line without any result.

Desired Settlement: I would like my items delivered!! My credit card has already been billed, so a financial compensation would be nice but honestly, I just want my things!

Business Response:

Yes this shipment is late.  It was picked up yesterday and delivrered to the destination agent in ******* this morning.  They will deliver it to her, at the latest, Saturday July 12th.  I have processed invoices for reimbursement for 187.00 for expenses the customer incurred due to the delay.  This is abouve an beyond our normal claim process which will reimburse a per diem for lodging and meals.  Her frustration is certainly understandable.  Since it is summer when a shipment is late it can be difficult to locate anoter truck due to the increased summer volume.  I dee[ply regret the trouble this has caused her but do feel we did what we could to get the shipment there and cover the additional expenses.

 

 

Business Response:

Yes this shipment is late.  It was picked up yesterday and delivrered to the destination agent in ******* this morning.  They will deliver it to her, at the latest, Saturday July 12th.  I have processed invoices for reimbursement for 187.00 for expenses the customer incurred due to the delay.  This is abouve an beyond our normal claim process which will reimburse a per diem for lodging and meals.  Her frustration is certainly understandable.  Since it is summer when a shipment is late it can be difficult to locate anoter truck due to the increased summer volume.  I dee[ply regret the trouble this has caused her but do feel we did what we could to get the shipment there and cover the additional expenses.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Berger/Allied moved my household good in the fall of 2013 and stored them for over 3 months. Upon delivery the end of December 2013 they did not open any boxes and we identified a couple of items that were damaged at that time. I was told I had time to review other items and open boxes before filling a claim for anything. Once we started looking at the items pick upped, transported to storage, stored, then delivered to a new residence, we found 4 items that were damaged. These items were damaged clearly due to carelessness on the part of the handlers. There was a total of 2 lamps and one shelving unit that were damaged in which all three had the bases or legs broken. In one case the legs were simply broken off when they they should have been unscrewed. Another with a concrete base support was smashed to pieces. The third had legs so twisted they will not stay together to make a sturdy lamp.All of these items were itemized and sent to the company, but at no time did anyone call to check on the claim or to let us know that we only had 60 days to file - 2 items were noted at the time of delivery. We filed the claim 12 days late and company refused to pay anything the claim because it was past 60 days. The bottom line - Berger Transfer and Storage did a poor job of moving items, especially the standing items, and then used the 60 day cut off to avoid any liability.

Desired Settlement: This filing is just submitted to warn other potential users of Berger-Allied company that they are likely to have problems with the service. At this time I know that Berger-Allied will not stand behind their service.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint.  It is true that moves within the state of Ohio, according to PUCO regulations, have a 60 claim filing limit.  This is mentioned on our bill of lading and in our move planning materials.  Like any transfer of risk there is a time limit to the period of time a claim can be filed.  I would be glad to look at the goods damaged in order to use the information to improve future occurances if In fact we did do the damage.  But our claims department will not extend the time period for honoring a claim.

 

 

Business Response:  Berger has fulfilled all of its obligations regarding this claiim.  Public Utilities Commission of Ohio sets the time limit for filing a claim which is 60 days.  It is printed n the bill of lading and we advise custmers of that rule.  In over 30 years of experience in this business I have never heard of legs being ripped off of a table.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and find that this resolution is not totally satisfactory to me. I am not rejecting the response BUT THE LEGS WHERE RIPPED OFF -  TOTALLY BROKEN OFF AT THE JOINT WHERE THE LEG GOES INTO THE SECTION!!!! Just because you have not seen this in over 30 years does not mean it did not happen. IT DID. At this point I do not expect anything from Berger on any of the damaged items, but telling me I am fabricating/lying about what happen is infuriating and unprofessional. The bottom line is you had people that were totally irresponsible in handling several of my items.





















Business Response:

I have reviewed the inventories and saw no mention of damage.  Can *** ***** provide me with an invnetory number or can I visit his home to view the item.

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Since the company made it very clear they do not intend to do anything further with my claim, I have disposed of the items as any normal person would who cannot use the items that were damaged. Items with legs broken off and completed dismembered are of no value.




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company moved our household possessions across the country. The delivery was late by 3 days, and only a portion of our things arrived. Important things, including our clothes, parts of my son's crib, phones, etc were not part of the first shipment. We had been in constant contact with the company, but it was not until the last minute that they told me that the shipment was not complete. The truck driver that delivered the shipment called me at 4am on the day of the delivery, wanting me to drive to the California border to resolve some sort of paperwork issue. I spent the entire day on the phone with him and different staff and offices, trying to get him to drive the last 20 miles to our house. My husband had to take off work. They finally delivered things in the dark, and a number of things were broken. The second shipment took over a month to deliver. In order to deliver the goods, they insisted that we pay them again via cashier's check. We did this. We finally convinced them to return the original sum we paid them by credit card, but for over a month they had more than $15,000 of our money, instead of the $7,700 we had agreed upon. The second shipment did not contain all of our belongings. Many boxes were never delivered. We have filed a claim, but have yet to be reimbursed. They have given up looking for our things. They reimbursed us $479 for costs we incurred because the first shipment was 3 days late (a portion of our food costs, lodging, a crockpot I bought to cook my son's food because he has allergies and cannot eat in restaurants). We believe we should be reimbursed the full cost of replacing the goods that they lost, as well as additional money for the stress on our family. My 2 year old son was without a bed for a month, favorite toys didn't arrive for a month, my 4 year old lost many books and a wall hanging we used to measure her growth since she was born.

Desired Settlement: We moved on June 3rd, and as of September 15th, we have not been reimbursed. We would like the company to recognize these as significant complaints, as not the level of service that was promised for the fee we agreed to pay. We claimed $2,286.90 in lost and broken items. We had a $500 deductible in our contract. We would like the company to reimburse for the goods, and either waive the deductible or refund $500 for poor service.

Business Response:

Since this was an interstate shipment all claim issues are handled by our headquarters office.  My understanding is the claim settlement letter was written on September 16th.  Her shipment was late and there were items missing.  I am waiting to see the letter also. THanks.

 

Business Response:

Sorry, I was traveling.  The letter went out Sep 16, and the check was cut Sept 19th. Thanks.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Berger Allied was hired to move large furniture items from one house to another. Their professional estimator stated the move would be allotted for a total of 5 hours. He also stated that given the number of items being moved, the move could be done in less than four hours. On 9/12/2013, two men arrived at 9:00am to begin moving the furniture. Upon arrival, one man came into the home to take a quick visual assessment of the items to be moved, then proceeded back to the truck to eat breakfast with the other mover. After finishing their breakfast, they began to wrap and move the furniture at an excessively slow rate. After 2 hours they were questioned if they would be done in the allotted time frame. They stated that they would be and that we would not be charged extra if they did run over time. After packing the furniture into the truck, they took an hour lunch break. Upon arrival at the new house, the movers damaged the walls of the house when moving in the furniture, reassembled the furniture incorrectly, and broke and lost hardware to the furniture. The move was completed at 3:30 pm. During the time of the move, the movers were talking on their cell phones and taking numerous cigarette breaks. The movers made comments such as "We're getting paid today!" and made remarks about how slow they were moving. The driver of the truck stated 3 times that there would be no additional charge for the extra time they were taking. Later that day, a voice message was received from ***** ********* of Berger and he stated there would be an additional cost of close to $200 for the additional time needed for the move. Phone calls to Berger and to the parent company of Allied Van Lines have not yet been returned to the customer.

Desired Settlement: BBB information and for reference against Berger Moving and Storage in our ongoing dispute. All additional charges from Berger Moving and Storage shall be waived.

Business Response:

This was a communication issue on our part.  The crew was misinformaed as to what type of an estimate was given.  The customer will not be charged any additional charges beyond the estimated amount.  We will notify them of this.

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.






















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving contract not fulfilled. Shipment not delivered within guaranteed date range and delayed by 7 days. Poor customer service, including a lack of notification of delay of shipment by personal moving coordinator. Failure to inform final delivery company of any and all details for residential shipment. Lack of accountability by shipper. Shipment delay caused significant emotional, physical, and financial hardship.

Desired Settlement: Reasonable and appropriate refund/reimbursement for shipper's breach of contract and resulting emotional, physical, and financial hardship.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** is correct.  Her shipment was not delivered in time.  My records indicate that she was contacted on July 22nd and notified of the delay.  Her last delivery day per the agreement between ****** Van Lines and her was July 24th.  On the 22nd she was also forwarded a copy of the form necessary to file a delay claim.  This form specifies the types of expenses that will be reimbursed and what documentation is necessary to qualify for reimbursement.    Like all transportation companies recovery for any type of delay, damage, or adverse conditions of any type is strictly regulated by the federal government.  In order to qualify for any reimbursement this form must be filed in writing.  Regarding the communication lapses it does appear that there could have been more frequesnt communication.  However, it was not non-existant.  Besides the formal notification of delay I had a number of conversations with the *****'s prior to the delivery of the shipment.  When it did arrive in Moscow I worked closedly with the destination agaent to ensure they could make delivery ASAP.  Needless to say I regret when any shipment is late.  Of the thousands of families that ****** moves annually a very minor percentage are late. 

 

Thank you,

 

William Musser

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allied Berger sent ************ (National Account Executive) to give me an estimate on my move to Australia. He saw exactly what had to be moved and gave me a quote for $6100.I even reduced the ammount taken, just to be sure we came in on budget. When the movers came, they couldn't believe the quote and assured me that there was considerably more than the initial estimate. As of this morning, the initial quote of 2000lbs is now at 4700lbs...over twice the amount quoted.I now have no option but to have them move my stuff, so now I'm going to be hit with twice the ammount quoted. Accourding to the movers, this is a common practice (to quote low, then when they have your belongings and have signed their contract, you have to use their services). I even asked Mr ****** to "Over Quote" so I could be sure to have enough funds available for the move. I believe I was baited into use their services and have no options as I'm leaving for Australia next week. This is very dishonest and is a scam that needs to be stopped. A little over, I could understand, but to be off by over 110% is beyond suspicious.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their Quote. I can't be held responsible for their poor judgement. I accepted their quote in good faith believing that they were honest and reputable.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint. I have reviewed this situation and my findings are as follows: We are not in the practice of "quoting low" as indicated by Mr. ****** in his complaint. This would only create problems, disputes and customer dissatisfaction. ****** ****** provided a quote based on what he was shown. The original quote was based on an estimated weight of 2000 lbs, 51 cartons, and a total of 70 items. The actual weight of Mr. ******'s shipment is 3720 lbs,there are 87 cartons and 110 items. This is 40 more items than what was on the original estimate. We do not know why there is such a discrepancy in the number of items. ****** sent an email to Mr. ****** on March 27th at 9:24 p.m. advising him of the carton count as well as the item count. In that email, ****** indicated the weight of the shipment to be 4620 lbs., which is incorrect, the actual weight is 3720 lbs. (which ****** communicated to Mr. ****** in a separate email). In ******'s email dated 3/27/12 he said the following: "Hi Mr. ******, I'll forward the paperwork from the move and the original inventory we did at the time of the survey appointment. The original survey we both did at your residence included 51 boxes and a total of 70 items for an estimated weight of 2000 lbs. The actual number of boxes packed was 87 boxes and 110 items for a weight of 4620 lbs. The crew packed and loaded what you requested them to move. We have not received a final price from ******************** yet, so you do have some options. If you want to try and keep this closer to the original estimate we did, you can come in and let us know what items you might not want to ship. The other option is we can see what the price is based on what we have loaded at this point. We will work with you on whatever option you want to work with. I'll forward the paperwork from the driver. ******". We have not heard from Mr. ****** since ****** sent him the above email. ****** sent another email to Mr. ****** on March 28, 2012 which stated the folowing: "Hi Mr. ******, I have the final price for your move to Brisbane. It should be noted that the estimate of 2000 lbs/2 lift vans was an estimate. On an international move, the price is based on weight and volume, and is adjusted based on actual numbers. The total household goods shipping weight is 3720 lbs. The transportation is $8700, and the mandatory quarantine is $444, for a total of $9144 ($3048/lift van). The original estimate was 2000 lbs/2 lift vans for $6435 ($3217.50/lift van). Please let me know if you have any questions. Once payment is made, we can start the shipping process. Thank you. ******" Unfortunately, we cannot lower the price of Mr. ******'s shipment based on the items we have picked up for him, however, if Mr. ****** wishes to come to our facility and remove items from his shipment, he may do so in order to reduce the cost of shipping his items internationally. We look forward to hearing from Mr. ****** on how he would like to proceed. Regards, ****** ****** Director of Claims Berger Transfer and Storage Phone) XXX-XXX-XXXX Toll free) XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 5 *****@bergerallied.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1