BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Arpin Preferred Movers, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arpin Preferred Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arpin Preferred Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Arpin Preferred Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 09, 2002 Business started: 07/01/2001 Business started locally: 07/01/2001 Business incorporated: 07/01/2001 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Buddy Morgan, President Ms. Cindy Morgan, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Buddy Morgan, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Cindy Morgan, Vice President
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Additional Locations

  • Central Ohio Service Area

    Columbus, OH 43215

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 909-6683(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I knew I was going to move from Ohio to Texas, I started getting quotes from multiple moving companies for moving and storage. I decided to work with Arpin because their quote was competitive, and their representative ***** was initially responsive and easy to work with. I had a conversation with ***** in mid-January 2014 detailing my moving situation and that I would need to store my things at their facility until April 2014 when I would need them delivered on or before April 24th. Unfortunately, the planning and forethought that ***** promised me would go into making my move a smooth one did not end up happening. Not only did she reach out to me for my new Texas address later in the process than she should have, but she had a miscommunication with "dispatch" or their drivers and my things were put on a truck headed for North Carolina. That driver didn't make it to Houston until the morning of May 1st, which meant a full week of being stuck in an empty apartment. Furthermore, because of the delay, I had to take a day off of work to accommodate their late delivery. I have tried to keep a good working relationship with ***** since everything started going wrong with their process. However, ***** has become completely unresponsive. The last I heard from her was on my delivery day, May 1st, when she told me "she was getting a hold of the agent who picked up my shipment to figure out what can be done." I checked back in with her on May 6th via email and still haven't heard anything since (it is now May 20th).

Desired Settlement: When I called Arpin's headquarters and spoke with *** ********, I made it clear that I felt I deserved some sort of refund for their mistake. He kept going on and on about the regulations that his industry faces and that he couldn't just offer a discount or give me a new, lower quote for my troubles. He said that the only way he could help me is if I had hotel room bills and he could give me vouchers. However, since I had an empty apartment, going to a hotel wasn't necessary so he wasn't offering me anything of value. The only thing left to do was to go back to Arpin in Ohio and ask for a full refund on what they charged me for storing my things for 3 months. This amounted to a charge of between $500 and $600. However, with a transportation cost of over $1,700, I would hope that the company would try to do better than just a $500 refund... especially since they have shown little to no concern about the extreme inconvenience their miscommunications and poor processes have caused me. I'm really shocked that a business would try to get away with being so "night and day" different before you sign a contract to after you've signed a contract. They present a quote and say all the right things to get your business up front, and then ignore you when it's clear they've over-promised and under-performed.

Business Response: We apologized several times to the customer for his inconvenience , we fulfilled our end of the agreement. Once his shipment was picked by ********** moving & storage on 4/21/2014 it was out of our hands. Several emails and phone calls were exchanged with him and dispatch on this matter stating he would LIKE delivery on 4/24/14, but the agreed period was 5/01/14,but we never promised him something we had no control over. He signed a contract with us for delivery of 5/01/14 which was fulfilled on 5/01/14. Our goal is to make our customers happy. We fill we did the best we could with trying to get his house hold items there for his convenience.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: this entire matter has been dealt with unprofessionally, I am not a happy customer, and the company did NOT do their best to get my items in a convenient manner. It makes no sense as to why my initial conversation with Arpin has shifted from "delivery by the 24th of April" to "delivery by the 1st of May". I never said anything to *****  about a May delivery date--in fact, I was quite specific about how I would have a lease in place by the middle of April to accommodate delivery prior to arriving in Houston. In actuality, what has happened is that this company doesn't have the necessary processes in place for contacting their customers within a time frame that allows for proper delivery. Arpin knew on or around January 15th that my things needed to be in Houston, TX by April 24th. When they reached out to me on March 31st regarding the exact address in Houston to deliver to, this was not enough time to deliver by the date I was expecting. If they had better internal processes in place (and actually listened to their customers needs), they would have reached out in plenty of time to have my things here on time. Furthermore, I don't know why they think it's acceptable to just say "as soon as his shipment was picked up on 4/21 it was out of our hands." Instead of putting my things on a truck headed straight to Houston, my things were given to a truck driver who admitted to me over the phone that he thought a mistake was being made. His route was to North Carolina and then to Texas. Plus, he told me it was given to him at the very last minute. If Arpin's goal is to make customer happy, why would they assume I'd be a happy customer when on my end I tried to stay in regular contact and establish a clear and reasonable timeline but on their end I got nothing but delayed communications, miscommunications with dispatch, and last minute shipments??  And, as if the delay wasn't bad enough, each of the four "feet" of one of my dressers were damaged during the moving process. The movers made a note of it on the paperwork/inventory that day, but do you think Arpin has called at all regarding this damage? I haven't received a single call regarding that paperwork and it has now been 3 solid weeks.  I guess what annoys me the most about this situation is that I really should have been the ideal customer for a company like Arpin. I was well-organized, communicated my expectations and timeline up-front, and tried to keep in touch with them throughout the process. Arpin can rest assured that I will never use their company again for a move, and they can also expect that I will go out of my way to refer family, friends and business contacts to any other moving company but them.





























Business Response: We believe we handled things accordingly, the signed contract states delivery by 5/1/14. We thrive on customer satisfaction and would have corrected the problem had there been any wrong doing on our part. Attached are documents supporting our claim , dates are circled thank you .

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: *****  knows I never said anything about a May 1st delivery date as our in-person conversations were always about April. The company can hide behind a technicality all it wants. I will NEVER refer business to them, and will actively discourage anyone from using their services. I'm sure they see no fault in addressing my damaged furniture either. I need to know what steps I can take to make sure my negative experience with this company stays visible to the public so that others can see how little disregard Arpin shows for its customers.




























Business Response: We stand behind our decision, he signed a contract for delivery by may 1st and it was fulfilled, also attached are documents for the day we picked up his house hold goods and his mother forgot to mention to the crew about the storage locker with 2 tubs and we sent a guy to pick it up at no charge to him.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1