Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arpin Preferred Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arpin Preferred Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Arpin Preferred Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 2002 Business started: 07/01/2001 in OH Business incorporated 07/01/2001 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/puco/
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ira F "Buddy" Morgan, President Ms. Cindy Morgan, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cindy Morgan, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Ira F "Buddy" Morgan, President
Business Category

Movers Packing & Crating Service Moving & Storage Company

Method(s) of Payment
Major Credit Cards, Debit Card, Cash, Checks, Money Order
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3516 Wrightway rD

    Dayton, OH 45424

  • Central Ohio Service Area

    Columbus, OH 43215 (614) 308-9820

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Arpin Preferred Movers to help me with my move from Ohio to Kansas. I was told that they could pack my property for me in addition to loading it on their truck and transporting it. I was also assured in writing that any and all damage would be covered at "replacement cost." Upon arriving at the destination, I found quite a few items damaged. It has been a struggle to get an adjuster to respond to me. At this point, the adjuster has all the information I could provide about the damaged items.

Desired Settlement: I want all the damaged items to be replaced as agreed. I was told by Cindy that anything damaged would be replaced at "replacement cost." She has argued with me about a few of the items, but her arguments were without merit. They caused the damage and need to honor their obligations.

Business Response: We have sent his claim to Arpin Van Lines Home office in Rhode Island Mr. ******* is aware of this. Arpins has been in contact with him regarding his claim. We understand his frustration,but there is a process when filing claims. As far as his claim regarding the issues with "replacement cost" if an item can not be repaired that's when replacement comes into play. Once the claim was sent to Arpin Van Lines Home office back in October 2014 we are no longer handling  the claim , they have assigned an adjudicator to handle this. Again we have apologized to Mr. ******* for any inconvenience this has caused him. If needed we have emails to and from  Mr.******* and Arpins stating what has been said in regards to this claim  Our goal is customer satisfaction 

6/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I knew I was going to move from Ohio to Texas, I started getting quotes from multiple moving companies for moving and storage. I decided to work with Arpin because their quote was competitive, and their representative ***** was initially responsive and easy to work with. I had a conversation with ***** in mid-January 2014 detailing my moving situation and that I would need to store my things at their facility until April 2014 when I would need them delivered on or before April 24th. Unfortunately, the planning and forethought that ***** promised me would go into making my move a smooth one did not end up happening. Not only did she reach out to me for my new Texas address later in the process than she should have, but she had a miscommunication with "dispatch" or their drivers and my things were put on a truck headed for North Carolina. That driver didn't make it to Houston until the morning of May 1st, which meant a full week of being stuck in an empty apartment. Furthermore, because of the delay, I had to take a day off of work to accommodate their late delivery. I have tried to keep a good working relationship with ***** since everything started going wrong with their process. However, ***** has become completely unresponsive. The last I heard from her was on my delivery day, May 1st, when she told me "she was getting a hold of the agent who picked up my shipment to figure out what can be done." I checked back in with her on May 6th via email and still haven't heard anything since (it is now May 20th).

Desired Settlement: When I called Arpin's headquarters and spoke with *** ********, I made it clear that I felt I deserved some sort of refund for their mistake. He kept going on and on about the regulations that his industry faces and that he couldn't just offer a discount or give me a new, lower quote for my troubles. He said that the only way he could help me is if I had hotel room bills and he could give me vouchers. However, since I had an empty apartment, going to a hotel wasn't necessary so he wasn't offering me anything of value. The only thing left to do was to go back to Arpin in Ohio and ask for a full refund on what they charged me for storing my things for 3 months. This amounted to a charge of between $500 and $600. However, with a transportation cost of over $1,700, I would hope that the company would try to do better than just a $500 refund... especially since they have shown little to no concern about the extreme inconvenience their miscommunications and poor processes have caused me. I'm really shocked that a business would try to get away with being so "night and day" different before you sign a contract to after you've signed a contract. They present a quote and say all the right things to get your business up front, and then ignore you when it's clear they've over-promised and under-performed.

Business Response: We apologized several times to the customer for his inconvenience , we fulfilled our end of the agreement. Once his shipment was picked by ********** moving & storage on 4/21/2014 it was out of our hands. Several emails and phone calls were exchanged with him and dispatch on this matter stating he would LIKE delivery on 4/24/14, but the agreed period was 5/01/14,but we never promised him something we had no control over. He signed a contract with us for delivery of 5/01/14 which was fulfilled on 5/01/14. Our goal is to make our customers happy. We fill we did the best we could with trying to get his house hold items there for his convenience.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: this entire matter has been dealt with unprofessionally, I am not a happy customer, and the company did NOT do their best to get my items in a convenient manner. It makes no sense as to why my initial conversation with Arpin has shifted from "delivery by the 24th of April" to "delivery by the 1st of May". I never said anything to *****  about a May delivery date--in fact, I was quite specific about how I would have a lease in place by the middle of April to accommodate delivery prior to arriving in Houston. In actuality, what has happened is that this company doesn't have the necessary processes in place for contacting their customers within a time frame that allows for proper delivery. Arpin knew on or around January 15th that my things needed to be in Houston, TX by April 24th. When they reached out to me on March 31st regarding the exact address in Houston to deliver to, this was not enough time to deliver by the date I was expecting. If they had better internal processes in place (and actually listened to their customers needs), they would have reached out in plenty of time to have my things here on time. Furthermore, I don't know why they think it's acceptable to just say "as soon as his shipment was picked up on 4/21 it was out of our hands." Instead of putting my things on a truck headed straight to Houston, my things were given to a truck driver who admitted to me over the phone that he thought a mistake was being made. His route was to North Carolina and then to Texas. Plus, he told me it was given to him at the very last minute. If Arpin's goal is to make customer happy, why would they assume I'd be a happy customer when on my end I tried to stay in regular contact and establish a clear and reasonable timeline but on their end I got nothing but delayed communications, miscommunications with dispatch, and last minute shipments??  And, as if the delay wasn't bad enough, each of the four "feet" of one of my dressers were damaged during the moving process. The movers made a note of it on the paperwork/inventory that day, but do you think Arpin has called at all regarding this damage? I haven't received a single call regarding that paperwork and it has now been 3 solid weeks.  I guess what annoys me the most about this situation is that I really should have been the ideal customer for a company like Arpin. I was well-organized, communicated my expectations and timeline up-front, and tried to keep in touch with them throughout the process. Arpin can rest assured that I will never use their company again for a move, and they can also expect that I will go out of my way to refer family, friends and business contacts to any other moving company but them.





























Business Response: We believe we handled things accordingly, the signed contract states delivery by 5/1/14. We thrive on customer satisfaction and would have corrected the problem had there been any wrong doing on our part. Attached are documents supporting our claim , dates are circled thank you .

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: *****  knows I never said anything about a May 1st delivery date as our in-person conversations were always about April. The company can hide behind a technicality all it wants. I will NEVER refer business to them, and will actively discourage anyone from using their services. I'm sure they see no fault in addressing my damaged furniture either. I need to know what steps I can take to make sure my negative experience with this company stays visible to the public so that others can see how little disregard Arpin shows for its customers.




























Business Response: We stand behind our decision, he signed a contract for delivery by may 1st and it was fulfilled, also attached are documents for the day we picked up his house hold goods and his mother forgot to mention to the crew about the storage locker with 2 tubs and we sent a guy to pick it up at no charge to him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Arpin Preferred Movers, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)