BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of All American Moving & Storage?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All American Moving & Storage

Phone: (614) 224-0077 Fax: (614) 224-9157 3890 Twin Creeks Dr, Columbus, OH 43204 http://www.all-americanmoving.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential moving, storage, and packing material services.  They service both local moving needs, as well and interstate and international moving needs.  They also provide home delivery service for large commercial furniture sellers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All American Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All American Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on All American Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 07, 2003 Business started: 04/25/2003 in OH Business started locally: 04/25/2003 Business incorporated: 04/25/2003 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Dragin, Managing Member Mr. Robert Case, Member Mr. William Case, Member Mr. Roland Cook, Warehouse Manager Ms. Jeri Havice, Administrator Mr. Ed McGee, Relocation Consultant Mr. Walter Townsend, Senior Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Dragin, Managing Member
Business Category

Movers Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Delivery Service

Products & Services

All American Moving & Storage sells the following brand(s): We are an agent for Arpin Van Lines for all of our interstate moving services.

All American Moving & Storage offers the following product(s): Boxes, Packing Material

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, Visa, Mastercard
Service Area
All of Ohio & USA
Alternate Business Names
American Moving & Storage, Ltd. Columbus Ohio Movers: All American Moving Prime Agent for Arpin Van Lines
Business Management

Dan Dragin previously operated All Star Moving and Storage, with a business start date of 1995 and a member of our BBB since January 2002. He started American Moving and Storage with new partners.

Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO Renting a Self-Storage Unit - BBB Tips

Additional Locations

  • 3890 Twin Creeks Dr

    Columbus, OH 43204 (614) 224-0077

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them for my move a couple of weeks ago. They showed up 6 1/2 hours late. They sent people from a temp agency that took 7 hours to move my two bedroom apartment. I had my wedding band stolen, as well as gift cards and a check book from my dresser. They ripped my new mattress. They have refused to do anything about the problem, and then they charged my credit card for $300 over the amount they were supposed to. They said they would not charge me anything until after they took care of the damages to my items and my stolen wedding ring.

Desired Settlement: I would like a settlement for my stolen wedding band, damage to the mattress, and lost time for dealing with this problem over two weeks. We also have scrapes in the wall of our new house, our mattress was ripped, we had two damaged bookshelves, two bedroom lamps were ripped, and the back of our washing machine was damaged.

Business Response: I am sorry that things did not go as planned with respect to your relocation.  There are numerous issues surrounding your complaint, so I will attempt to address each of them one by one, in some chronological manner…   ·         Yes we did show up 6.5 hours late.  There was a major gas leak in our multi-tenant warehouse, resulting in a complete evacuation of the building early in the morning.  Since all of our information regarding all of our jobs, keys to our trucks, etc. was inside, we had a late start.  There was a job scheduled before yours, with the itinerary of moving one college student from his fraternity house to his apartment.  That job turned in to moving 3 college students from a very difficult origin location.  Our supervisor should have alerted us early on, and we could have refused moving the other two, but we were not alerted in time.  We did end up locking all of their items in the truck for delivery the next day, and retrieving an empty truck so we could get to your job a little bit sooner.  Our second crew member was unable to work past 6pm, so we were down to one mover (all of our other staff were still working, or had left for the day).  Our only options at this point were to either cancel on you, or retrieve temporary worker(s).  We thought the better option was to not cancel on you and stick by our commitment.  We also opted to retrieve 2 temporary workers as opposed to 1 (since your job only called for 2 movers) due to the late start time. ·         You mention that we are charging you more than our estimate, but you seem to have forgotten that you called in and asked to add 30-40 boxes to your move that you did not include in your online inventory which generated your estimate.  This was documented on our Bill of Lading which was signed by you on the day of the move.  Also please keep in mind that we credited you in its entirety the charge for the third mover (temporary worker) we opted to add to the manpower that evening as a courtesy for the delay. With regards to the alleged theft you are claiming, we have been fully responsive to this issue.  The day after your move I sent an email out to you and our insurance agent informing him of the alleged theft, so that he could notify the bond company.  We also instructed you to file a police report, and that we would cooperate fully with respect to this alleged incident.  The police officer has contacted us and we have given him all of the requested information.  The email we received yesterday from our insurance agent is as follows…”I have forward the below email to **** Insurance regarding the Employee Dishonesty Third Party issue.  **** has advised  the following:  “In order for Mr. ******* to get paid for the loss of his wedding band and gift cards, he must file a criminal complaint and prove that these items were stolen by one of All American Moving & Storages’ employees (the person must be convicted).”  Please forward the police report when received.  Your help is appreciated.” We intend to be no less than fully cooperative with respect to this situation, so please let us know if there is anything else we can do moving forward. With regards to your attempts to get a hold of ***** for the last several days, your email was sent on Labor Day – a day we give off to all of our employees, and ***** did not work over the weekend.  Hopefully this explains the lack of responsiveness. I did receive your pictures of the damaged items, but some of them are hard to discern what they are. Would you please provide a description of each item and the damage incurred so we can address them. Lastly, I am sorry that you were given the impression that we would not be charging you until after the stolen items and your mattress were taken care of.  An allowance for your mattress was credited off of your invoice, so that was taken care of at the time of charge.  With regards to the theft issue, this is now out of our hands outside of cooperating with everyone involved.  As with any crime there is due process involved, and it has not been proven that our company had anything to do with the alleged theft.  This does not discount the fact that we did indeed complete your move.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All American Moving and Storage was hired to move my home from a storage locker into our new home on February 8, 2013. Due the the three employees that were sent to execute the move, not ffollowing the Policies and Procedures which ***** at All American stated exist to avoid damage, three mattresses and furniture, lamps and other items were damaged beyond repair. I have made over 100 calls to ***** to no avail. Here it is almost 5 months later and I still have no redolutiin or return calls from *****. As a consumer one would think that its emoyees would follow the measures layed out to avoid damage, that was not the case here. I have not received any resolution from this company at all, and now have damaged items sitting, unused as a result of pure negligence. Per ***** own admission " I have no doubt that these emoyees damaged your mattresses. Two of them were not dressed for the weather and are no longer working here." I received a call today 06/ 13/13 from the company that was billed to repair some damage, informing me that they have yet to be paid by All American Moving for their work.

Desired Settlement: I either want reimbursement for the replacement of the items or go to Arbitration with this company.

Business Response: I apologize for not responding to this complaint as of yet.  I was on vacation from 6/11 through 6/18 and am playing "catch up". It is our understanding that all damage issues have been resolved except for the damage to a mattress.  We provided two options to Ms. ******* with regards to this mattress:  Since Ms. ******* released her goods in to our control at the state minimum liability protection of $0.60/lb, we offered her $60 reimbursement based on 100lb mattress as option 1.  Option 2 was that we have a very nice king mattress in our warehouse that we offered to deliver to her as a full replacement.  Ms. ******* seemed very pleased with the second offer, but wanted us to check it again to make sure it would be an acceptable replacement.  Our Operations Manager ***** **** went out to check on the mattress and confirmed it was in almost new condition, and left a message for Ms. ******* to arrange for delivery.  ***** never heard back from Ms. *******. Both offers are still open to Ms. *******, but based on the communication difficulties we have had with her, we prefer her to come to our warehouse to inspect and approve the mattress prior to delivering out to her.

Consumer Response: I have made over 75 phone call attempts to Mr. ***** ***** to no avail. The statement implicating that All American Moving and Storage has had issues with reaching me is not only false it borders on slanderous as I have made all communication attempts to resolve this issue with *****. . All American Moving is inaccurate in stating all issues have been resolved less the mattress, as there was damage to lamps x2 which they never addressed. This issue is a result of pure negligence and lack of their staff following their own own policies and procedures set forth by their company to avoid damaging customers property.  The move took place on 2/8/13, if All American were diligent in attempting to resolve this issue it would not be almost 5 months after the fact. I can assure you that as the customer that has been wronged by All American Moving, I am not going to wait 5 months without due diligence in attempting to contact the company on a a consistent and regular basis. It appears as though All American does not respect its customers nor the companies in which they contract to repair damaged items, as I received a call from the company they contracted to repair my furniture the week of 6/10/13, informing me that there is an outstanding balance due from All American Moving for my furniture repair and they too have have failed to received any return calls from . All American Moving has also failed to pay another company in which they hired to provide cleaning services to their office and warehouse. Not only do they treat their customers poorly they treat other companies in which they contract for services poorly as well. I informed ***** that as a Registered Nurse I had extreme concerns about using a mattress that was previously used by strangers. With Bed Bugs of epidemic proportions in Central Ohio as well as rodent feces and other health related issues associated with storing a fabric mattress in a warehouse that, it would be very unsanitary at minimum. I am in this situation not because of an accident or due to some unforseen circumstances  beyond the control of All American, I am in this situation due to nothing less than 100% negligence on the part of All American Moving and Storage's employee's negating to follow their own company's policies and procedures that are set forth to avoid damage to their customers' personal property. I do not accept that I should be financially penalized because their staff made the choice to drag  my mattresses across the ground instead of using appropriate equipment or even each other to carry the items. All American Moving and Storage has an obligation to use due diligence in taking care of the property that has been entrusted to them, and that they did not do. I am not the company, I am the paying customer and consumer it is not my responsibility to go to their warehouse and take time away from my employer who pays me to work for them and NOT TO WORK for All American Moving and Storage to look at an unsanitary, unhealthy used mattress. At this point, I am not accepting either option posed to me by All American Moving and Storage, either they replace the damaged items or I elect to go to Arbitration. 
































Business Response: At this point we will be handling the remainder of this claim (mattress and lamp) as per the attached Bill of Lading.  You will see at the top right corner the customer initialed that they "...accepts reimbursement for the property to be no more than $0.60/ per pound per article...".  You will also see that they signed at the bottom of the document at the start and end of the job, agreeing to all terms and conditions.

We have paid well over our legal liability for repairs to this customers' damaged furniture, and were attempting to go over and above with a replacement mattress, which the customer seemed to be very happy with at the time of the offer.  We made a call to set up delivery and never heard back from this customer, up until this complaint.

We believe this customer to be unreasonable and irreconcilable, and will no longer attempt to provide anything other than what was agreed upon by them, in writing, as per the attached document.  So at this point we will compensate the customer at our legal liability only.  It appears based on their rebuttal that they will not be satisfied with this final offer.  As per our membership guidelines we will attend a mediation/arbitration if that is where this goes.

Consumer Response: I have made multiple attempts to contact Mr. ***** ***** to resolve this issue persistently for almost 5 months. For All American Moving and Storage to state in writing, that I am being not only unreasonable but have been unreachable is not only an outright lie, it is testimonial to the lengths at which All American Moving and Storage will go to avoid accepting any accountability for the actions of their employees, but also speaks volumes as to what they think and how they view their clients and the lack of professionalism with which they conduct their business. I made a final attempt to contact Mr. ***** on the day I submitted my concern to the Better Business Bureau. I spoke with a female named *****, she stated Mr. ***** was out in the Warehouse, I left a message with ***** including my name and work contact information again, requesting Mr. ***** returns my call that day, he did not. It is not unreasonable for a consumer and paying customer to presume the company we hired would use reasonable care and due diligence in handling and moving our personal property once it was in their possession. As a consumer, one presumes that the employees are going to follow company policy and procedures to avoid unnecessary damage to a customer's personal property. Again, this is not an issue of an unavoidable act of nature, an accident or unforseen event, this is the result of pure disregard for a customer's property and failure of a company's employees to follow company protocol. Mr. ***** knows in his heart his lack for returning my calls, as well as what he has stated to me when I was able to communicate with him. I am totally disheartened not only the blatant lies that All American Moving and Storage has manufactured to avoid accepting accountability and responsibility for its own employees, but also for the total lack of respect they have for their customers. I am quite sure that the owner of All American Moving and Storage or Mr. ***** would not be willing to sleep on a total stranger's used mattress that has been stored in a warehouse with rodents. I am more than willing to go to arbitration at this point for a resolution to an issue which has not been resolved in almost 5 months, not due to my unreasonable behavior or lack of availability to receive communications from All American Moving and Storage, but due to All American Moving and Storage disregarding, ignoring and avoiding my phone calls to Mr. Woods.
































Business Response: We are happy to reimburse this customer for the two remaining items at our legal liability of $0.60/lb per article.  We plan to stick by the agreement this customer signed with our company - at this point and during arbitration.  We have done all we can in our attempts at pleasing this customer.  I will wait to hear back when arbitration is scheduled.

Consumer Response: Per the response that I have submitted to the Better Business Bureau on Tuesday June 25, 2013, rejecting the response from All American Moving and Storage, I respectfully request additional time to obtain documents pertinent to my claim that All American Moving and Storage has not made attempts to contact me. Since All American Moving and Storage has operating business hours the same as my employer, calls by me were made from my employer's phone. As a result I have requested from my Supervisor a phone log associated with my work phone. My employer has confirmed that they will pull the phone log, but it must come from our Corporate office, resulting in the need for additional time beyond July 1, 2013. I respectfully request the Better Business Bureau to allow additional time to obtain the documents needed to attach to this claim.

































Consumer Response:

I am still in the process of waiting for my emoyer, ****** of Ohio to pull phone records. They have not sent them from corporate to date. All American Moving and Storage has not met their contractual obligations as they have not provided eitber the miney for the damage nor replacement. To date and even prior to this filing they provided no physical resolution. I am off work today due to surgery, but will check with my Supervisor tomorrow to see if she received the phone log. I do need extra tima as I must wait on my company.

Consumer Response:

I have had energency surgery on Monday and have not been back to work. I will submit the calks I have from my phine and pictures. I am going to be on FMKA for 8 weeks. If you need to close the case, do what you must do. I know what the company did, how the neglected to care for our belongings and then lied to put the bkame on me. I am not one to complain just for the saje of it. I feel wronged, but can not help my current situation. Please let ne know if you would like the data I possess.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to move my apartment belongings to my new dwelling (4-27-13) and had a good overall satisfaction with the actual move. However, after several failed attempts by email and phone messages I still haven't received the procedure for how to get my chair that was damaged either repaired or replaced. I even paid extra for additional insurance coverage to insure that any items damaged would be covered. At the end of the move Mr. *********** said I would be receiving a call regarding getting the chair assessed for repair. In all of my inquiries I've been redirected to voicemail repetitively. The only response I have received was an e-mail to call. As previously stated, I called and again was sent to voicemail. The correspondence has been poor right from the beginning and truly that should have been a red flag for me to hire another company. At this point i just want my chair fixed and cleaned or the replacement value if repair can not be satisfactorily done.

Desired Settlement: Chair to be fixed and cleaned (shrink wrap or material used discolored fabric), or value to replaced reimbursed. Thank you.

Business Response: After speaking with our Operations Manager (who handles all damage claims), he is not aware of any issues with this customer.  We have recently let go of our estimator who handled ***** *******'s job, and we also transitioned to a new Administrator at about the same time we performed ***** *******'s job.  It is possible that the messages were never forwarded on to ***** to handle, as I do believe him that he is not aware of the situation.  Although it is with good intention, unfortunately our movers do not always communicate with management with respect to certain things they may promise our customers.  I'm not sure exactly where the issue lies within our company with respect to this lack of communication, but I would nonetheless like to move forward and handle this damage claim as soon as possible.

We are in ***** *******'s neighborhood on Monday's, Thursday's, Friday's, and Saturday's between the hours of 8:30am and 12:30pm.  We will need at least 2 days notice to schedule a pickup so that we may perform the repair.  We ask that ***** ******* either respond through this medium with the most convenient day, or call ***** ****, Operations Manager, at ###-###-#### to set this up.

Again, I sincerely apologize for the lack of communication on our part, and the frustration we have caused to this customer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was hired to help me move. The movers showed up 2 hours late (I was told they would be there between 8-9am and they showed up at 1045am), and the move took twice the time I was quoted (4 hrs vs 2 hrs). I have a large custom built curio cabinet that I specifically told the movers was very important to me and I asked that they take special care when moving it. They took it apart even though I asked them not to, and loaded it in the truck. When we got to the new location, they opened the back of the truck and the curio cabinet hadn't been properly secured and had fallen over in the truck. The guys moved the cabinet into the house and we looked it over and didn't immediately see any damage. After the movers finished and left, I noticed that there is damage to the top of the curio cabinet. I immediately called All American and left a message explaining the situation and asking someone to call me back. After getting no response, I called again on Monday and left a message with the woman who answered the phone after she told me the person I needed to speak with was on lunch. After not hearing back, I called again and spoke with the Operations Manager who said he wanted to have his warehouse manager come out and assess the damage. I agreed and he said he would call me back within two days. Again, he did not call me back, and after leaving another message for him, I still have not heard back several days later.

Desired Settlement: After receiving a quote from the cabinet maker who built the cabinet of $200 to fix the damage, I would like All American to reimburse me this amount.

Business Response: Dear *** *********

I am sorry that we did not promptly call you back with regards to your damaged curio cabinet.  It was not our intention to ignore you or this issue.  We have a professional furniture repair and restoration technician on staff, and would like to send him to your residence to evaluate and repair your damaged cabinet.

As per the Public Utilities Commission, the body that governs our industry, invoices for service rendered must be paid in full prior to processing any claims.  We see that you have disputed your charges with the credit card company you used to pay for your move.  If you would please mail us a cashiers check for the balance of $297.55, we will be happy to schedule our restoration technician to repair your cabinet.

Thank you,

****** * ******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I do not see anything in PUCO's documentation online outlining that the moving company has a right to fully collect fees before addressing a customer's complaint regarding damage done to personal property.  I will not pay for the moving charges until we have resolved the issue regarding the damage that was done.  

Regards,

****** ********






























Business Response: Please see our attached Bill of Lading, signed by *** ********.  The third bullet point down from the Valuation Protection portion (top right) states “Invoices for service rendered must be paid in full before any claims can be processed”.  At this point we are enforcing this provision in our contract, and are requesting to be paid in full with a cashiers check.  Once payment is remitted, we will be happy to address *** *********s damage issue.

Thank you,

****** * ******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will contact ******** and remove the dispute from the transaction.  I expect to hear from All American Moving & Storage as soon as they receive payment.

Regards,

****** ********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised a refund that has never been received. (I have email from the company confirming my refund). On 12/30/11, I hired this company for a move. On 1/3/12, I made an initial complaint that I was overcharged. I was offered a refund for 15 minutes time and $10 for a broken item. On 1/23/12, I followed up by email to let them know I had never received this refund. I received a reply that promised I'd have the refund last week. As of 1/30/12, it has been 30 days and I have still not received a refund.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I believe their initial refund is unsatisfactory. Had it actually been paid within a reasonable amount of time, this matter would've been settled. However, at this point, I believe a 'late fee' should apply. (as it would with any customer's bill)

Business Response: I did indeed email Ms. **** that we would be processing her refund. I came to find out, though, that she was never overcharged. We deducted the 15 minutes off of her original invoice. Our movers clocked in 4 hours of working time, which Ms. **** signed off on, and we only billed her for 3.75 working hours. Also, Ms. **** stated to me by email that she did not want the $10 refund for the broken knob - that she had told the movers "not to worry about it". We therefore dont believe that there is a refund due.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1