Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carl Zipf Lock Shop, Inc.

Phone: (614) 299-7303 Fax: (614) 299-0872 View Additional Phone Numbers 161 E 5th Ave, Columbus, OH 43201 http://www.carlzipflockshop.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers WC Locksmithing, Locks Retail/Wholesaler/Distributor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carl Zipf Lock Shop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carl Zipf Lock Shop, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carl Zipf Lock Shop, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1965 Business started: 01/01/1911 Business incorporated 07/20/1976 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carl Zipf III, President Mr. Tom Zipf, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carl Zipf III, President
Business Category

Locks & Locksmiths Weatherization Wholesalers & Distributors Door Closers & Checks Hardware - Retail Key Holders

Alternate Business Names
House of Security

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have been here twice to fix door. The door doesn't work. If you push on the door it opens.

Desired Settlement: Fix door or refund money

Business Response: In response to the complaint from the client


Our technician has been back out to location to evaluate the complaint.   Upon arrival our tech realized that the home owner had installed additional weather stripping to the door which was causing it to not close properly.   We have readjusted the strike plate on the door to insure that it does secure properly.   We cannot control what has been done to the door after we leave.  We have corrected the problem at no charge even though we felt it was nothing that we did to  caused this issue.

So we feel that we have taken care of the problem and closed the issue.

Sincerely

Carl Zipf Lock Shop Inc.



9/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took in residential cylinders to be re-keyed around 5:25pm and was told by phone and in person (Todd) that this would take a couple of hours. I agreed that I would pick the locks up the next day since the business closes at 5:30pm and was told it would take a couple of hours to change the locks. I called the next morning (today) approximately 9:00am spoke to Todd, and was told the locks would be ready around 11:00am or so. I gave Todd my phone no.to call when the locks were ready. Todd never called. I called back about 2:40pm and was told Todd was at lunch. I called at 3:15pm and was told he was gone for the day but would be in at 8:30am the next morning. The person I spoke to did not know and could not tell if the work had been done and could not return my locks because he doesn't know which ones are mine. I am very upset locks are crucial to the security of any home. I am highly disappointed and only went to this business because Zipfs has been established in the Columbus community for a very long time. I thought they were an establishment that I could trust and receive an excellent quality of service. I was wrong and will never use this business again or recommend this business to anyone.

Desired Settlement: I want my locks immediately with the requested work done or return of my locks.

Business Response:

AUGUST 22, 2014

BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU OF COLS

ATTN: COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

WE HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS COMPLAINT.  WE HAVE SPOKEN TO VANESSA  B******** CONCERING THE PROBLEM.  WE ARE NOT SURE WHAT THE PROBLEM HERE WAS ON OUR END, BUT WE HAVE FIXED IT.  ON 8/14/14 AT 8:00 AM  WE CONTACTED HERE AND TOLD HER THE LOCKS WERE NOW DONE SHE CAN PICK THEM UP.  WE DID NOT CHARGE HER FOR THE WORK THAT WAS PERFORMED. 

 

WE WERE EMBARASSED BECAUSE THAT IS NOT HOW WE RUN OUR BUSINESS.   OUR CUSTOMERS ARE OUR LIFE LINE AND WE DO WHAT WE CAN TO TAKE CARE OF THEM.

 

WHEN VANESSA CAME IN TO PICK UP THE CYLINDERS SHE INFORMED US THAT THE PERSON WHO WAS GOING TO RE-INSTALL THEM, COULD NOT DO IT THAT DAY.  WE WENT OUT TO HER HOME AFTER SHE GOT OFF WORK AND INSTALLED THEM BACK ON HER DOOR FOR HER AT NO CHARGE.

HOPEFULLY WE HAVE KEPT A CUSTOMER FOR LIFE, BY DOING THE RIGHT THING TO FIX HER COMPLAINT.

 

 

 

Business Response:

AUGUST 22, 2014

BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU OF COLS

ATTN: COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

WE HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS COMPLAINT.  WE HAVE SPOKEN TO VANESSA  B******** CONCERING THE PROBLEM.  WE ARE NOT SURE WHAT THE PROBLEM HERE WAS ON OUR END, BUT WE HAVE FIXED IT.  ON 8/14/14 AT 8:00 AM  WE CONTACTED HERE AND TOLD HER THE LOCKS WERE NOW DONE SHE CAN PICK THEM UP.  WE DID NOT CHARGE HER FOR THE WORK THAT WAS PERFORMED. 

 

WE WERE EMBARASSED BECAUSE THAT IS NOT HOW WE RUN OUR BUSINESS.   OUR CUSTOMERS ARE OUR LIFE LINE AND WE DO WHAT WE CAN TO TAKE CARE OF THEM.

 

WHEN VANESSA CAME IN TO PICK UP THE CYLINDERS SHE INFORMED US THAT THE PERSON WHO WAS GOING TO RE-INSTALL THEM, COULD NOT DO IT THAT DAY.  WE WENT OUT TO HER HOME AFTER SHE GOT OFF WORK AND INSTALLED THEM BACK ON HER DOOR FOR HER AT NO CHARGE.

HOPEFULLY WE HAVE KEPT A CUSTOMER FOR LIFE, BY DOING THE RIGHT THING TO FIX HER COMPLAINT.

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carl Zipf Lock Shop, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)