This business is not BBB accredited.

Rochell Landscape & Lawn Care, LLC

Additional Locations

34 Front St., Pataskala, OH 43062 ! There is an alert on Rochell Landscape & Lawn Care, LLC !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Provide Commercial & Residential Landscape & Hardscape Services in Central Ohio. Specializing in Paver/Brick and Stamped Concrete Patios, Walkways, & Drives. Also, offering Landscape maintenance, Custom Design Build, Drainage, Excavation, Mowing, & Lawn Treatment.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rochell Landscape & Lawn Care, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 2006 Business started: 02/01/2002 Business started locally: 02/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/24/2004 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Rochell, Vice President Mr. Alan Rochell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Rochell, Vice President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Contractors - Commercial Lawn Maintenance Hardscapes Patio Builder Concrete - Stamped & Decorative

Alternate Business Names
Rochell Landscape Rochell Landscape & Lawn Care
Additional Information

Professional Commercial & Residential Landscape and Hardscape Services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    34 Front St.

    Pataskala, OH 43062

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1396

    Pataskala, OH 43062

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rochell Landscaping completed a paver patio for me in November 2013. This project has torn up my backyard and as part of the signed contract they were to repair the grass to it's original state by reseeding the lawn. I had expressed concerns that due to it being almost winter time that I didn't think the grass was going to grow back. **** ******* assured me that the grass would come up in the spring and if it didn't they would come back and reseed the destroyed area. Well the Spring came and I kept watering the lawn. The grass never grew back. It's now a bunch of Weeds and dirt and looks horrible. We have also lost one of the plants that they had planted as part of the contract which have a 1 year gaurantee. I have tried to contact the business multiple times since March both via phone and e-mail and haven't received any response.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Rochell to follow through on their contract and come re-seed my lawn for the area that they destroyed.

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I manage ********* **** **********, we paid Rochelle Landscaping for a seasonal contract that included a fall clean up. Rochelle Landscaping charged our company for a fall cleanup but failed to honor there contact and did not preform the fall cleanup as stated in our agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a partial refund of the paid contract.

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rochelle landscape installed a patio for us in the summer of 2012. It carried a one year warranty. Some of the pavers were damaged and after numerous phone calls, they had them replaced in 2013, but did not sand them in, which is a necessary part of the install. I made numerous phone calls and emails about completing the repair. They assured me they would complete the repair when they were less busy, then they said the weather was too cold/wet. It is now 2014, the weather is good and it is before their busy season and I cannot get them to return a phone call to set up a time for them to complete the repair job.

Desired Settlement: I want them to come out and sand in the replaced pavers.

Consumer Response:

I have heard nothing and the answering machine on their phone just indicates that the mailbox is full.  Thank you, **** *******

 

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A crew member from Rochell lawn care damaged trim and siding on my property in August of 2012 but didnt bother to tell me that they damaged the trim or siding even though I greeted him in my driveway on the day that he mowed my lawn and accepted a services rendered card from him. Instead on the same day, I walked around the property after the service was completed and discovered the damage on my own (a gouged/cracked corner trim piece and scuffed siding). I called the company the next day to address the damage and a week later **** ******l came out to my home to take pictures of the damage and tell me that they will send an employee out to my home that used to work for a siding company but now mows grass for the company. I asked if this employee was licensed to do this type of work and the question was never answered nor was a certificate of insurance or current declarations page offered to ease my concern about their employee removing/repairing siding and trim on MY home! Instead I was told that Rochell is a licensed and bonded company and that they could schedule and perform the repair with their in house employee within a week or so free of charge? Not feeling comfortable with their answer, I cancelled their employees repair and opted to get an estimate from a professional siding company. As a licensed insurance agent I can say with certainly that NO company purchases a bond unless they are required to do so and bonds expire just like insurance policies! That being said their bonded status is irrelevant to me. Im more concerned with the licensure of the company and employee performing the repairs on my home (which they have failed to provide after verbal request on multiple times). As the owner of the damaged property I feel more comfortable with the repair being completed by a professional siding company as opposed to their inside lawn crew staff who also does trim and siding work as a side job. I dont doubt that Rochells siding repairman could perform the necessary work but this isnt just about the repair, this is about freedom of choice and business integrity! I am the property owner and I have the sole right to choose who works on my home after their employees work product has caused damage to it! If their company employee didn't have the moral character nor integrity to notify me that he damaged my property in the first place, is it logical or even wise to think that I should trust their ex siding guy turned lawn mower to perform an equitable repair on my investment? I think not! That's the functional equivalent of me rear ending one of Rochells company vehicles and telling them not to worry about getting an estimate because my ***** *** used to work at a body shop and can repair the damaged bumper free of charge? I have emailed a copy of the estimate to **** ******* and Im awaiting their resolution of this two and a half month long ordeal. At last contact on 10/25/12 at 10:20 a: m *** ******* hung up on me?

Desired Settlement: I have forwarded a copy of the repair estimate in the amount of $105.00 to **** ******* and I want the full cost of the repair remitted to me via check or cash so that I can schedule the repairs to my siding/trim.

Business Response:

Customer service is of utmost importance at Rochell Landscape.  We pride ourselves on trying to do what we can for the customer, no matter how big or small the problem may be. 

We received a call from *** ****** on Monday, August 27th, 2012 about damage that one of our technicians may have caused.  On August 29th, our office manager, **** ****** visited the property and took the attached photos.  On one corner of the house, there appeared to be a chip out of the bottom on the corner siding piece.  On the other “damaged” piece, there appeared to be a black mark, most likely from the mower’s tire.  *** ****** explained that he had spoken with one of our technicians that day and he was upset the technician did not tell him about the damage.  *** ****** and             *** ****** came to the agreement that the technician that may have caused the damage may not have been the same technician he spoke with; there were two men on that crew on that particular service day.  *** ****** offered to fix the siding for *** ****** (no charge of course) stating that “we do have a gentleman who is employed with us who has seven years of previous experience with a siding company, and we can have this fixed for you by Saturday, September 1st 2012.”  *** ****** had concerns with whether our employee was insured or licensed to perform this type of work.  It was explained to *** ****** that any employee working for us is insured, and replacing a corner piece of siding does not require a license in the State of Ohio.  After the initial visit at the site on August 27th, 2012, we did not hear from *** ****** for another 57 days until October 25th, 2012, at which time *** ****** called to inform us he was able to get an estimate for the repair.  That being said, we have offered what we believe was a reasonable solution and could have had the repair taken care of the first week it had happened.  Nonetheless, there is still siding that we are willing to repair.  We are highly willing and qualified to perform the repair at our cost.  

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: Regardless of how long it took for me to provide the estimate to you, the estimate was submitted because **** ******* told me to forward it for review by **** ******* upon my  receipt of the estimate.

 

The estimate took 57 days to submit because the siding siding company came out and inspected/appraised the propery damage but the estimator that performed the inspection had a unexpected family emergency and took off work for a while so the estimate litterally sat on his desk until I followed up and pressed for it to be sent to me.

 Nevertheless. I do realize that Ohio does not require a license to install siding but a license is required to perform the other services that you offer ie ( paver patios,retaining walls etc)  As the HOME OWNER and person that pays the mortgage on the property every month as i've stated previously , I want and prefer to have the repair completed by someone that CURRENTLY works as a siding installation specialist with a siding company and not your inside lawn technician who may or may not have several years of siding experience.

I cannot verify Your lawn technician/siding repairman's credentials  just like I cannot verify your insurance status because you have yet to produce any certificate of insurance nor declarations page documents. The repair of a few divots of grass chopped out of the lawn accidentally is totally different than a siding repair; Furthurmore i'm not going to stand for YOUR technician damaging MY property and then YOUR COMPANY DICTATING the terms of the MY HOME repair! 

 Would you allow me to rear end one of your company vehicles,you submit a repair estimate to me and I then refuse to submit a claim to my insurance company nor provide my insurance information to you to cover the repair of your vehicle?  We both know the answer to that question.

 The estimate that I provided of $115.00 was very cost effective so if CUSTOMER SERVICE is truly what Rochell Prides itself on then write the check so that I can schedule MY HOME repair with a reputable siding company! This is not a viable solution, instead it's an attempt to dicate, cost and avoid  an insurance claim!

Again .Your technician damaged my property, looked me square in the eye on the morning of the service call and didn't SAY A SINGLE WORD ABOUT THE DAMAGE!  Why would I trust ANY furthur work product originating from your company? 

A companies employees are a DIRECT reflection of the leadership. That's why were discussing a $ 115.00 repair bill instead of you doing What's Right for the Customer and giving the choice of who conducts the repair.

 A customer service oriented company would write the check and the close the books on the complaint!  As an Insurance agent if I treated my policy holder's the way the I've been treated by Rochell over something so MINOR I would be expalining my actions to a disciplinary review hearing officer with the Department of Insurance. This whole situation disgust me with your company and believe me when I say that I'm telling EVERYONE that I know about this!  Word of mouth goes a very long way.


Business Response:

Once again:

Customer service is our number one goal. 

However, we cannot write a check to *** ****** for repairs that have not been completed.  
Once repairs have been completed, we are more than willing to compensate directly to the company whom completed the repair.  (Using *** ******** analogy, if he were to take said vehicle to a repair man, the insurance company will not pay for the repairs until the repairs are completed, at which time a check is written to the auto body shop.)

We have always been willing to resolve this situation.  However, we will always consider an in-house resolution to any problematic situation first, and then develop other necessary solutions if needed.  This is common practice with any company, and there have never been intentions to not let *** ****** choose how the repairs are complete.  


Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: It is CLEAR THAT Rochell is not knowledgeable about the protocols of insurance claims.

 As a former automobile adjuster with over 7 years of experience with Ohio's largest insurance company and now as a first year insurance agent with the nations third largest insurance provider, I can say with certainty that insurance companies issue repair estimate checks for work not completed Every Day! They are called two party checks and the sole purpose of this type of this check payment is to ensure that the repairs are fully completed and the claimant does not take the money and spend it on something other than the intended repairs!

This is precisely why the repair estimate from the prospective repair company was suggested by me as the property owner and is Exactly why I provided you with a copy of the SAME estimate sent directly from the repair vendor so that YOU would know that the charges were valid. 

I summize that this is also why you requested that I send you said copy of estimate, so that could also be assured that the charges were accurate. The two party check protects both me as the claimant and ******** as the payee by ensuring that the funds cannot be cashed until the repair services have been completed.  As the company directly responsible for the damage to my property I have provided Rochell via a repair estimate directly from the vendor with ALL of the documentation that they need to execute payment to me and the repair company and thereby eliminate the potential of a double payment to the repair company. 

 The suggested proposal that you are making would require that I pay the repair vendor out of MY pocket,submit ANOTHER paid invoice to you for payment remittance of $ 115.00  to ******** and then I would  have to wait for ******** to refund me the fully paid balance of $115.00 for the work that has already been completed and paid for by Rochell for their damage to my property. 

 The two party check eliminates this potential for double payment to the repair vendor by me as the claimant and by Rochell via their property damage remittance refund thus protecting all parties involved by ensuring that they don't receive any funding until the work is completed by guaranteeing a single payment!

 Again, if Rochell is sincerely interested in Customer Service and doing the right thing for the customer at the right time ,then all of their concerns can be Eliminated by issuing a two party check to Me as the property owner and to ******** as the repair vendor for the lump sum of $115.00.  You already have the repair estimate that was sent  to you directly from ********.  I will be more than happy to send you my copy as well if you've mis-placed yours as I've prepared several copies for my personal and legal files. Thank you in advance for your prompt remittance of a two party check.

 


Business Response: We are not going to issue payment for repairs that have not been completed.  We have always been willing to resolve this situation, whether it has been in-house or otherwise.

Once repairs have been completed, we will be more than willing to compensate.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: 9278576

I am rejecting this response because: As I've stated previously Rochell has Never intended to remedy this situation regardless of what they may have written in their replies to the BBB!

Instead they have  attempted to force me into a ill advised repair using their internal employee who's siding repair experience as of this date still has not been verified. Not once did Rochell Ever provide a repair option for me other than their own inside employee.

 In fact **** ******* appeared quite upset that I would even want to go outside of Rochell for the repairs citing and I quote " We could have had your repair scheduled and completed within a week and you wouldn't have had to get an estimate or file a complaint with the BBB if you had just allowed us to do the repair".

**** ******* agreed to and advised me to forward a copy of my repair estimate for review by business manager **** ******* for damage to my home that was mutually agreed upon to be caused by their employee.

 The fact that I have done Everything that they have asked of me other than allowing their internal employee to conduct the repairs clearly indicates that they Never intended to compensate nor agree to the repair unless I fully complied with their suggested repair option of letting their internal employee complete the repair at a cost apparently much lower than the $ 115.00 estimate that they asked for and received from my preferred repair company of choice! 

Any company that attempts to stonewall a patron and not provide any means of repair for damages that they have caused to their customers property other than their own internal repair solutions is not an ethical company in my opinion.  In fact most reputable companies upon the clear establishment of liability will more than glady and immediately compensate the aggrieved party because they realize that it's good for business and in most cases avoids litigation.

I've clearly stated that I don't want Rochell conducting any repairs on my home, I've provided legal documents from the repairer outlining cost and materials necessary to properly conduct the repairs, and I've submitted them for review by Rochell at the request of Rochell.  I am not paying anything out of my pocket for damages that I DID NOT CAUSE to my home! This is not a viable option because once I've paid for the repairs out of my own pocket, I have no recourse to collect compensation other than the verbal word of mouth from Rochell. Again, their employee didn't even bother to advise me that he damaged my property and looked me square in the eye on the day that he damaged it so why would or should I trust the word of any representative of this company?

As stated in my last message to Rochell, insurance companies and the adjusters assigned to mitigate damages routinely issue two party checks upon the establishment of clear liability for damages. Liability based upon your first repsonse to the BBB has clearly been established as being caused by YOUR  employee so Nothing less than a two party check will suffice.