2/9/2016 I switched my auto policy from ***** to Nationwide in the begining of 2013 because my insurance rates kept on increasing. At first, when I called Nationwide I was given a price quote of $134, however when I called back Nationwide to switch my policy I was told the price is now $160 based on the fact that I moved to a different state and I had a new state drivers liscense for less than a year. I was told that my pass driving record from a different state did not count towards me getting lower insurance rate. Also, the agent stated that North Carolina's law states that your driving record starts when you recieve your North Carolina's state drivers license. Eventually, I covinced the sales agent that I will go else where if I wasnt given the rate at $134, evenso, a year later my rate increased to $160. I reached out to nationwide and asked how could my insurance rate increase to if the value of my car is depreciating plus my driving record is pretty clean. The representative told me it was due to inflation. I am not sure what inflation rate was use to give a $30 increase in my rate. Few weeks ago my new rate was $174 and at this point I decided that Nationwide has overcharged me enough and I sought out other insurance companies. My new rate from a new insurance company is $81 and I was told that my prior driving record from another state along with no accidents or speeding tickets was taken into consideration to determine my rate. Not sure how what factors Nationwide use to keep on increasing insurance rate on a depreciating car who's owner has never been in an accident or ever recieved a speeding ticket. I would like Nationwide to refund what they have have overcharged me.
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by L on 2/9/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
5/15/2015 I received an email from Nationwide on April 21, 2015 at 4:25 pm stating that in order to maintain my coverage they needed me to advise if ***** ***** & ****** ***** were members of my house hold. I called the same day and I spoke to a male, do not remember his name but he told me to email back stating if they do not live there, I did as asked.(I have the email in response where they have 'noted' my reply.) The last week of April or the first week of May i received a letter in the mail stating that my insurance would be canceled on May 12 if I did not send proof of their current address'. I faxed over a copy of an envelope for both of them with their names and addresses. I have the fax confirmation! I then called in and talked to another male, I think his name was ***** but i cannot be positive. I asked if my paper had been received and if there was anything further they would need from me, he said no that it was in my file and taken care of. They received the information they needed and my policy would be unaffected. Well, i got online to look over my statements today and my policy has been canceled. I was NOT notified of this. I called and spoke with ****** today and she told me they received what they needed. (they received this on MAY 4!!! 8 days before my cancellation) SO WHY HAS IT BEEN CANCELED? And why was i not notified, I have a daughter and a job. I cannot afford to loose my license ESPECIALLY at the expense of someone else. I am beyond livid. I am disgusted with how disorganized this company is and the lack of communication is unprofessional. I will never, ever recommend them to anyone. This is ridiculous. Also, if I had lost my license. We would be solving this in front of a judge.
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Autum B. on 5/15/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
11/26/2014 I had motorcycle insurance with Nationwide up until my motorcycle got stolen. Since I had liability insurance I canceled it about 2 weeks after the motorcycle being stolen (February 2014). I receive a call a month later informing me that I owe one months payment to Nationwide which I paid. I asked the agent if my insurance had been cancelled since I requested it to be cancelled and I was told that it was. A month after I paid this, I get another call from Nationwide telling me that I owe them another months payment. At this point I questioned why they did not cancel my insurance when I had requested (2 months prior) and why they were charging me for insurance on something I had no possesion over and have not had possesion of since it got stolen. I did report the bike stolen to Nationwide and the police. I provided Nationwide a police report on the date the bike got stolen and they did their own internal investigation. They made mention that they had no record of a claim ever being filed and that they would need a police report fufill my cancelation request. I brought up to the agent that the reason I canceled my policy (or attempted to twice) was because I no longer had the motorcycle and Nationwide contacted me after if got stolen notifying me that since it was only liability insurance I would not be covered for theft. I understand I was at a loss and I settled for that and requested to cancel the policy. They have had the police report from the moment I filed a claim. The agent became aggressive over the phone and still denied there was ever any action taken to file a claim and turned into an argument (which is unprofessional from a company trying to achieve good customer relations). Fast forward to November 2014 I get a call from a collections company and I find out that Nationwide sent my file to collection for the "unpaid amount". I didn't want the black mark on my credit to stay there longer so I had to pay it. I will be disputing this through the credit reporting agencies. I will no longer attempt to dispute this through Nationwide due to their incompetence in handling simple tasks that they are responsible for as an insurance company. I also do not desire to deal with agents/customer service representatives that become hostile and discourage (or attempt to) customers from claiming what they are entitled to. For those looking for insurance please avoid this comapny like the plague. They will sweet talk you into buying insurance thorugh them but heaven forbid you file a claim with them. It will be a bumpy road.
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Victor G. on 11/26/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4/26/2014 Nationwide charges me $8.00 a month because I mail my payment.i have never been late.i have been with them over 5years.i find it hard to believe that they are aloud to charge outrages processing charges for regular mail.
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
by deborah f. on 4/26/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We have received notification of your consumer review on the Better Business Bureau website. Nationwide has the appropriate parties involved to address your concerns. by on 4/28/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful and 5 people did not find this review helpful.