Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Personal Insurance: Automobile Umbrella Homeowners Identity Theft Condo Owners Recreational Vehicle Renters Life, Health & Retirement Commercial Insurance: Business Owners Employment Practices Contractors Employment e-Source Property Risk Management Program


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Motorists Mutual Insurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Motorists Mutual Insurance Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Motorists Mutual Insurance Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1952 Business started: 01/01/1928 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1928
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town St. Third Floor - Suite 300, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.insurance.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (614) 644-2658

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Kaufman, President & CEO Ms. Cathy Braemer, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cathy Braemer, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. David Kaufman, President & CEO
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Property Insurance Services

Service Area
The company is headquartered in Columbus, Ohio, and the company writes business in the following states: Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio Pennsylvania and West Virginia.
Alternate Business Names
MICO Insurance Company Motorists Commercial Mutual Insurance Company Motorists Insurance Group, The Motorists Life Insurance Company Phenix Mutual Fire Insurance Company
Additional Information

Motorists Insurance Group offers personal and commerical insurance.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Motorists Mutual Insurance Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11250 Reed Hartman Highway

    Cincinnati, OH 45241

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2674 Monroeville Blvd.

    Monroeville, PA 15146

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    28111 Lorain Rd

    North Olmsted, OH 44070

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3532 Massillon Rd

    Uniontown, OH 44685

  • 471 E Broad St

    Columbus, OH 43215

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8255 Yankee St

    Dayton, OH 45458

  • PO Box 182476

    Columbus, OH 43218

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

My premium was due 1-16-15 and my policy was supposed to be active through that date as it has been for a long time. For some reason they were denied funds when they attempted to take money out of my account even though I had the money in there. My statements even state that premiums would be taken out on the 16the of every month through March 2015. I canceled the policy on 1-20-15. They sent me a bill for $46.01 with no explanation other than past dues, but never said for what or when. When I called for an explanation, the local agent said my premium was covered and paid up until 1-16 and since I canceled on 1-20 they had to charge me $36 for the 4 days of coverage plus a $10 which they did not assess until March.

When I called the company itself in Columbus, they explained that my premium and coverage were both up on 1-8-15 which makes NO sense to me since the premiums were always taken out on the 16th of every month and my statements even state this. So, it appears to me that one of them gave me wrong information and it seems to me that they may perhaps be trying to charge me wrongfully perhaps on the basis that I canceled my policy on the 20th? If my premium was due on the 8th as the person in Columbus told me, then why did they continuously take my premiums out on the 16th every month prior to that? Did it change for some reason that month and if so, why did they not inform me? Second, if my premium was up on the 16th as it had been for months and they could not access funds on that day, then how can they charge me $36 for only 4 days of coverage?

That's $9 per day which would add up to $270 for a 30 day monthly period! That's insane! Either way I feel that they are ripping me off and possibly lying about the entire thing and would like the charges erased.

Desired Settlement: My entire "charges" erased.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding **********'s complaint about his policy. 

 

On January 16, 2015 the Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) payment was rejected due to no account could be located.  A letter was emailed to *** ******* letting him know that his payment was rejected. We entered the bank information incorrectly from the EFT enrollment form that was signed by *** ******* in his agent's office.  *** ******* also signed for his withdraw payments to be setup the effective date of his policy which was on the 16th and to withdrawal payments monthly.

 

The policy was lapsed for non-payment effective February 3, 2015.  We then received a cancellation per insured's request to cancel the auto policy effective January 20, 2015.  As of result of cancelling the policy effective January 20, 2015 a remaining balance of $46.01 was due. 

 

We received a call in our Customer Service Department on April 6, 2015 from *** ******* regarding the $46.01 being due.  The Customer Service Representative (CSR) he spoke to provided *** ******* with the information that was on the account.  It showed $46.01 was due.  There was a $36.01 earned premium due from January 8, 2015 to the cancellation date effective January 20, 2015.  There was also a $10.00 late fee due.  The CSR who *** ******* spoke to on April 6, 2015 waived the $10.00 late fee. This left a remaining premium of $36.01 due on *** *******'s account.  There was a change requested by *** ******* effective September 3, 2014 to add a 2000 Lexus.  As of a result of the change the equity paid to date was January 8, 2015 not January 16, 2015.     

 

Therefore, premium is due from January 8, 2015 to January 20, 2015 for the coverage provided. 

 

As a courtesy we have decided to waive the $36.01 for *** *******. 

              

If you have any questions, please let me know.  Thank you.    

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a water damage claim that was denied and I had issue with the reason it was denied and still dispute it. The supervisor who I spoke to was very unprofessional and actually laughed that my claim was turned down. He made fun of me and giggled about my issue.. Then also I asked for a copy of my insurance they said they couldn't email it they would have to scan, print and mail it and will take 5 days.. very unacceptable as I needed it to see the validity of why they denied my claim.. terrible company to do buisness with. The Mans name in question is **** *****

Desired Settlement: I want him fired for laughing at my situation!

Business Response:

*** ***********

Thank you for your email dated February 25,2015 regarding the above captioned claim. I have
reviewed this file in its entirety as well as *** *****' complaint. I certainly understand *** *****'
frustration regarding the water loss and the subsequent interaction with *** ****** We did deny
*** *****' water loss based upon information received at that time. *** ***** was attempting to
discuss the reason for the denial and was having difficulty in communicating the denial in a way *** *****

 understood. He admits that he chuckled, but not out of laughter at *** *****: situation, merely
at his inability to explain the situation in a way that made sense to *** *****. He regrets the hard
feelings this caused.

The coverage investigation has been reopened in this matter. *** ***** called *** ******#, the adjuster
in this matter, to discuss further developments after hiring a plumber to address the leak. We reopened
the investigation, and hope to investigate the home soon to gain further insight as to the cause of the
leak, as the initial cause of loss may have been inaccurate. *** *****' tenant is incarcerated at the
moment, which caused some confusion regarding the occupancy of the home initially as well as the
cause of loss. We are hopeful his incarceration will not cause difficulty in investigating this loss, but are
in contact with *** ***** and are making efforts to move this matter forward.
We appreciate your assistance in this matter, and welcome any questions you may have.

Sincerely,
****** *******
****** *******
###-###-####
************

10/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Motorist Mutual Insurance Company carged me additional premiums on my insurance during renewal for an accident that was not my fault. The owner of another car backed into me while I was with another carrier and this was explained completely to the previous carrier (*****) and they never billed me for the accident but Motorists's chose to increase my premium for this accident by a large amount when it was not my fault. They also stated they would remove the accident if I presented proof that it was not my fault. This accident happended in 2012 so there is no verification that I know of that I can provide to support my position other than the statement made to the adjuster when it happened. The adjuster explained that it would be written up as a no fault accident, so I am not sure why I am being charged now.

Desired Settlement: I would like the additional premium I was required to pay refunded and not to be billed for this in the future either.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding **** *******’s complaint about her policy.  When her policy renewed in 2014, her driving record reflected an accident on May 21, 2012, and a moving violation on March 13, 2014.  Her premium correctly reflects the rate for these two incidents.   

The May 21, 2012 accident was paid under Collision coverage.  According to policy language, collision means, “the upset of your covered auto or non-owned auto or their impact with another vehicle or object.”  Motorists charges for claims of this nature that pay more than $1,550 in damages.

If **** ******* is able to provide a police report or statement from her prior carrier indicating she was not at fault in this accident, we will re-evaluate whether the accident is chargeable.

If you have additional questions, please let me know.  Thank you. 

Consumer Response: The previous insurance company ***** recorded in my file that this accident was not my fault since someone rear ended me. I should not have to provide anything to Motorists. It is their responsibility to thoroughly investigate the accidents before charging for them so they can contact *****. There is no police report to provide for this accident as it was a "fender bender."

 
This company is just into ripping off consumers any opportunity they receive and I will place negative ratings about them on every website I can find for this reason.  The police officer orovided me with a legal citation verifying this company is illegally charging consumers for moving violations. The insurance companies are permitted to charge according to points received and I only have two points on my record but motorists has jacked my premium up to an astronomical rate for an accident that was not my fault . 
 
Motorists even admitted the notes stated that I was not at fault in the accident so why am I being charged ?
Regards,
***** *******

Business Response: We have reviewed *** ********'s policy, found it is correctly rated and the premium charged is accurate.  We regret that we are not able to offer any adjustments or correction to her policy.

Consumer Response:

This email is reference to complaint number ########  I do not wish for this Complaint to be marked closed as resolved as it is not resolved at all.  The company has not refunded the $200 they overcharged me for insurance.  They never charged the added fee in the previous year but charged me this year so the charge is not legitimate and I would like for it to be credited back to my account or refunded to me in check form. 
Sincerely
  ***** *******

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 11, 2014, my wife and I were on Interstate ***** in *******. At mile marker ***, a large dump truck entered the freeway cutting me short. We were then bombarded with what can only be described as sounding like a hailstorm. I tried to get into the left lane in order to get away from the truck, but two large rocks hit my vehicle. We copied the name and phone number from the truck. My wife called the company making a complaint. They said that they would turn it in to their insurance company. We were later given a claim number (#####). Upon reaching our destination, we found that in addition to the windshield being broken on the right side, the right side facia was also damaged. It is important to note that although frightened, neither my wife nor myself were injured. The insurance adjuster came out to our second home in ******** on July 15, 2014. She took pictures and a report. She stated that "it looks like we were hit by a bullet". Back home in ******* *********, on July 25, 2014, we received a letter from The Motorists Insurance Group that the insured was not liable. I believe that the driver of the *** *********** dump truck did not intentionally damage our vehicle, but the fact is that it was done by him. I also believe that the insurance company knows that in order to pursue this matter in court, that I would have to drive hundreds of miles from ******* ********* to ********* ****, where they are located.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my vehicle repaired. I do not wish for the driver to lose his job.

Business Response: *** ********* ********* ********* **** *** **** ****** ******* ******* ** ********** *********** ************ **** *******      ***** ********* ********** **** ****** ** ******** ** ****** **** *** *** * ************ **** 
We received a complaint from your office on July 28, 2014. Our investigation revealed
a disputed liability involving rocks damaging the ******* auto. Statements were taken
from both drivers which verified the *** *********** dump truck merged onto **** in
front of the ******* auto.

We verified ***'s dump truck had made a delivery of stone chips to a customer. The
truck was empty upon entering the interstate. The truck did not carry the golf ball size
stone that allegedly fell from our truck damaging the ******'s auto. The damages we
inspected on the ******* auto are not consistent with the size of stone chips that had been
delivered by ***.

Our investigation was guided by all information available to us. The disputed facts do not verify
our insured is liable for the auto damage. For this reason, we denied liability.

Upon review, please contact me if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Motorists Insurance Group
***** ********* *** ****** *******
Phone ###-###-#### ###-###-#### ext: ####
Biscomfax ###-###-####
Email *********************************

Consumer Response:  The damage to my vehicle was, in fact, done by the dump truck which entered the freeway in front of me. The hailstorm of rocks started immediately upon the truck entering the freeway ahead of me and stopped immediately upon the truck leaving the freeway at the next exit. I do not know if the larger cock damage came from the last delivered load or if they came from a previous load, but I do know that the damage came from the dump truck. Regards, **** ******* 

Business Response: *** ********* ********* ***** **** ****** ******* ******* ** **********    ************    ************ ****** ** **** ***** ********* ********** **** ****** ** ******** ** ********** *** *** * ************ **** ******* ***** 
We received additional comments from ******* and your office on July 31, 2014. Our
investigation shows disputed statements and disputed liability. We would like any
documented evidence or proof showing we caused the damage involving the *******
auto. Our driver is denying the stones came from our truck, because he had emptied his
load.. If the stones flipped up from the road, as a road hazard, we are not liable. For this
reason, we denied liability and continue to maintain our same position.
Upon review, please contact me if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Motorists Insurance Group
***** ********* *** ****** *******
Phone ###-###-####  ###-###-#### ext: ####
Biscomfax ###-###-####
Email *********************************

Consumer Response: I am so angry about the response that I am now seeking legal advice. Regards,
**** *******

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were involved in accident in ******** ** on November 24th. Motorist Mutual's insured ******* ***** was determined to be At Fault for this accident and ***** ******* the adjuster has admitted responsibility for Motorist Mutual. We are going on 1 and a half months and no one at motorist mutual will return my calls regarding my claim. The claim number is##### My insurance company **** has paid for the repairs to my vehicle, but we have incurred out of pocket expenses and lost time from work due to an injury that my insurance company will not cover. Also, we met the our of pocket max of 900.00 on the rental and incurred an extra 367.00 in charges in rental expenses that had to be paid out of pocket, as well as the costs to travel from ******** to ** to pick up the vehicle once it was repaired. I cannot get anyone to return my calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I would like a call from the adjuster and or her supervisor to please tell me when we can expect the out of pocket expenses to be paid and how to continue to file the remainder of the claim we have for diminished value and loss time of work.

Business Response: *** ********* ********* ***** **** *********** ****** ************ ** **********  ******* ** ****

*** ******* * ******* *** ******** ***** ******** * ******* *** ******** ******* **** ** ****** * ******* **** ** **** * ********** *** ***** ****** * *******
Please allow this correspondence to address teh above referenced complaint filed on
01/02/2013 by ******** *******. 

On 11/24/2013 our policyholder's daughter ******* ***** was driving the insured 2009
Nissan Roque when she was involved in an at-fault accident. Motorists Insurance Group
has accepted liability for the accident. After receipt of the claim we contacted the
claimant ******* ******* and confirmed that he contacted his carrier **** and reported
a claim for damages to his vehicle. He also confirmed that he was uninjured as a result of
the accident, but that his spouse ******** struck her head after the airbag deployment.

To confirm and docunent liability we requested a copy of the ** state police report. On 
12/11/2013 we received a copy of the police report. We contacted ******** and
informed her about our liability decision and we verified that her carrier **** waived
their deductible. We confirmed that we would reimburse her for any documented related
out-of-pocket expenses associated with the accident.

On 12/17/13 we recejved an e-mail with out-of-pocket rental expense documentation.  On
12/30/13 we received documentation on additional out-of pocket expenses associated
with their travel back to ** to pick-up their repaired vehicle. These total expenses
amount to $1016.26 including the rental fee. This payment will be issued to ********
and her husband *******.

As previously mentioned, ******** was injured in the accident. Any and all out-of-pocket
expenses relating to this injury including but not limited to wage loss and medical copays
will be addressed under this portion of the claim at such time the ******** has
completed treatment or feels that she is in a position to settle this portion of their claim.
All of the above information was reviewed with ********. She informed us that she
understood and had no further questions.

As always, Motorists Mutual Insurance Group wishes to be fair to all insured's and
claimants alike. Please contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this
response.

Motorists Insurance Group
**** ******* ****
********** ****** ******
###-###-####

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ######, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******** *******




















Consumer Response:

***** ******** ******* ***********************************  ***** ******* *** *** **** **** ** *** ************************************* ******** ******** ****** ********* * ******* ******

I am not sure If I need to open a new complaint. When I first submitted the complaint to the BBB regarding this matter I was immediately called back from Motorist Mutual and they did take care of the immediate things regarding the accident. ******* spoke with me and told me that after I was treated and released from my doctor regarding my injuries, to contact them for lost wages and payment of medical bills. I have since had no resolve in contacting ***** ******* or her manager **** ******. I would like to reopen this complaint of possible. If not please let me know so I can file a new complaint. I cannot get even a returned phone call or email. From the immediate action taken once the complaint was filed, I thought I would go this route before contacting an attoorney. 

Thanks
******** *******

Business Response: *** *** **** *** ** ******* **** **** ****** **** ********* ** ********** *** ******* * ******* *** ******** ***** ******** * ******* *** ******** ******* **** ** ****** * ******* **** ** **** * ********** *** ***** ****** * *******

Please allow this correspondence to address the second above referenced complaint filed
on 05/19/2014 by ******** *******.

Pursuant to our past response to ******** ******'s initial complaint filed in January
2014, on 11/24/2013 our policyholder's daughter ******* ***** was driving the insured
2009 Nissan Roque when she was involved in an at-fault accident.  Motorists Insurance
Group has accepted liability for the accident.  After receipt of the claim we contacted the
claimant ******* ******* and confirmed that he contacted his carrier **** and reported
a claim for damages to his vehicle.  He also confirmed that he was uninjured as a result of
the accident, but that his spouse ******** struck her head after the airbag deployment.

******** was injured m the accident. Any and all out-of pocket expenses relating to this
injury including but not limited to wage loss and medical co-pays are currently being 
documented. Since our last response we have contacted her carrier **** and requested
the required medical documentation to support and document her injury claim. We
experienced some technical issues with a disc that **** sent us with supporting reports,
but have since addressed directly with them.  We hope to be a position to settle her claim
shortly.

All of the above information was reviewed with ******** on May 22nd. She informed us
that she understood and had no further questions. 

As always, Motorists Mutual Insurance Group wishes to be fair to all insured's and
claimants alike. Please contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this
response.

Motorists Insurance Group
**** ******* ****
****** **********
Pittsburgh Branch Office
###-###-#### 

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Motorist Mutual is not supplementing initial repair cost in their quote.This includes mechanical repairs to suspension equaling $225.00.Motorist Mutual labor costs were paid at rate of $46 and labor at shop is $75 per hour. My car will not be fixed till Monday afternoon or Tuesday Morning the week of January 20th, and they are not providing me transportation until car is done. Motorist Mutual has no preferred shops therefore I chose the shop as instructed. They can not complete the repairs in the time a preferred shop with multiple employees could - plain and simple.

Motorist Mutual is the liable insurance for at-fault party. Not all specifics are listed as today has been consumed by this irresponsible behaviors by Motorist Mutual and legal representation consultations with collision specialist and painter (two people) who are doing the work.I will provide Motorist Mutual Estimate and please contact me for ***** **** (my liability insurer) preferred shop estimate and the location I was recommended to go to by Motorist Mutual Appraiser for independent estimate.

Motorist Mutual has been lying to me and pointing every little excuse they can and I am caught in the middle of my insurance, the shop, medical issues, threat of no transportation, etc which I CAN NOT HANDLE MENTALLY DUE TO MY MENTAL DISABILITIES. You will see the discrepancies between the estimates and also my collision specialist told the second adjuster the suspension needs repaired yet Motorist refuses.

Desired Settlement: Please call as so unsure of what to write and so mentally stressed of this. Motorist Mutual is not repairing my car to that of the condition prior to the accident and pointing every little finger at everyone else but themselves. Not providing transportation during the time of loss with them being liable is absurd. I NEED FAIR AND HONEST HELP for the right thing to be done and have also put this into God's Hands.

Business Response:

Motorists Insurance is involved with handling a liability claim with the complainant.   The loss occurred on 12/31/2013 and we inspect the auto and completed our estimate on 1/3/2014.   The estimate was for $1,165.52.   Due to the shop that the complainant chose, there have been repair delays.  We have placed the complainant in a rental vehicle when repairs were supposed to be started and authorized the rental for normal repair time.   In an effort to work with the complainant, we have extended the rental two additional days.   Based on our repair estimate, the repairs time should take 3 days.   We are paying the prevailing labor rate for this repair.  The complaint has made a claim for front end suspension damage.   Our inspection did not reveal any suspension damage related to this loss.  In fact, the complainant’s auto is 10 years old with over 100,000 miles and it appears the stabilizer links are in need of replacement from normal wear and tear.  We have made it clear to the complainant that we will reinspect and consider any additional damage that is accident related.   We believe we have been more than fair in the handling of this claim.  -- ****** ******** ***** ****** ******

Consumer Response: Uncontrollable circumstances has delayed the repair of the car. Without going into great details as there as faults of many including that of the body shop, my choice in body shop, used part locating issues, the repair is now taking a minimum of 4 business days and maximum of 5 business days (Mon-Fri) after second inspection completed on 1/15/2014. Wile I admit to a few errors due to proven and sustained mental disabilities impacting my better judgments at times, admitting to the fact my car is old but ALWAYS MAINTAINED, Motorist Mutual can not prove the bushings in the stabilizer links did not fail as a result of the front impact. Rest assured, if my car rattled like that prior to the accident I would of done something about it cause it is ANNOYING. Motorist Mutual in the estimate paid $46 per hour for labor and actual was $75. I verified NO SUPPLIMENTAL DAMAGE COSTS FOR LABOR DIFFERENCE per The Pit Crew. I will cut my losses with the following: 1) Until car is in my possession and State Farm can inspect vehicle, I will leave the suspension aspect of this complaint pending outside of the BBB Complaint and seek supplement when I have a MY INSURANCE TELL ME IT IS OR IS NOT ACCIDENT RELATED by THEIR APPRAISER/MECHANIC. 2) I got gouged by the shop I chose as spoke to an appraiser today and not the fault of Motorist Mutual or really my fault either as got blindsided. 3) I WILL CLOSE THIS COMPLAINT AS LONG AS THEY PAY FOR RENTAL TO THE DAY I RECIEVE MY CAR BACK and GARUNTEE NO LATER THAN 1/21/2014 or I GO WITHOUT a vehicle. I have cut my loss on the labor, I ask Motorist to just accept a loss of a few more days rental at $25 a day in fairness to me cutting my loss on the labor (equals no more that $100 plus tax). The extension of two days does not cover my loss of having a vehicle during repairs.

Regards,
******** *******






























Business Response:

I understand the complainant and Motorists are in disagreement over the stabilizer link and bushings.     We could not identify any accident related damages past the bumper area.  Our adjuster also spoke to the mechanic and they agreed the suspension problems are not related to this accident.    If there is any other evidence, we will be happy to review.    Regarding the labor rate, our estimate is written for body work which we paid the prevailing rate.   Since there were no mechanical damages that relate to this loss, any reference to mechanical labor rates was not considered by Motorists.    The actual estimate prepared by the complainant’s shop was written at $46.00 labor rate, matching our estimate.    Motorists Insurance has been more than fair in the handling of this matter.    We do not feel the additional rental is warranted based on the circumstances of how the shop operates and do not agree to extend the rental cost past today, 1/17/2014. -- ***** *** ********

   

Consumer Response: I have compromised, accepted fault in choice of shop, but not having a vehicle during the time of my repairs @ an additional $100 is not asking to much or unfair when I did not create the damage to the vehicle. My ***** **** Preferred Shops Estimate is over $2000. Motorist Mutual Paid $1165 and glad I did not believe anyone regarding supplemental costs being covered as they are fighting me for $100 in rental. Keep in mind, I found a shop who did the work for the estimate price saving Motorist Close to a $1000. I HAVE OFFERRED FAIR NEGOTIATIONS and STAND MY GROUND AT THIS POINT.

Regards,
******** *******

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a disabled veteran. I had auto insurance with Motorists Mutual. I paid my insurance quarterly. Never late nor had I missed a payment. Somehow, I ended up making only a partial payment for March 2013, because I had dropped one insured car and replaced it with another. The insurance agent ***** ****** told me to go ahead and make the partial payment and when the new policy came out I would then continue my quarterly payments as usual. This did not happened as she promised. Motorists Mutual sent me a policy for six months instead three. This meant I would have to pay the entire balance, which was $190.00 by 06/03/2013. I told the agent **** ****** I did not have the entire amount but could make a partial payment, she told to go ahead and make the payment and she would try an get Motorists Mutual to allow me the time from cancellation, 06/21/2013 until 07/03/2013 to make up the difference. She said Motorists Mutual refused to go along with this reasonable request. All I was asking for was to allow the policy to not lapse, but to remain active until 07/03/2013.

Desired Settlement: Allow the policy to not lapse. Give me until 07/03/2013.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. This policyholder has had a policy with us since 2008 and has had a good pay history. Revisions were made to his policy on 2/18/13 and 3/3/13. The invoice sent prior to these changes was for the correct amount. Our policyholder made a partial payment, rather than the full invoice amount. Due to the length of time he has been insured with us, and his previous payment history, we have revised his current invoice due date to 7/4/13.

We apologize for any confusion that may have resulted due to the policyholder’s conversation with his agent regarding payments.

 

The Motorists Insurance Group

Personal Lines Division

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. It doesn't matter anyway, I have since the date of filing this complaint acquired other insurance. ***** ******* my agent, claimed she spoke with Motorist mutual about granting me the needed extra time, but she said they refused to consider it, in spite of nearly three to five years with this insurance company. I have no idea if what she told me was the truth, but who cares.... Thanks for clearing this up for me. 

Regards,

****** *******




















3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently canceled my car insurance policy for a better quote elsewhere. And was due some moneys for paid days left on policy till exp. date. Only to find out 3 months later when I called that I owed them moneys. That outraged me because I was never told that there would ever be a cancellation fee if I canceled my policy mid-term. I've had 36 renewals in 18 years with my agent, and I frequently asked about all costs under common scenarios. Now that I'm leaving the company there is supposedly a cancellation fee of $76.00 if canceled mid-term. Not only is it not fair or common practice among insurance company's but I asked about all fees and was not told about it.

Desired Settlement: Refund of days left on policy . Cancellation date was Dec. 28 2012. And my ins. coverage was due to cancel Jan. 18 2013. And if there was a cancellation fee I'd like it waived for poor business practices by your agent. 18 years of business done with your company should count for some credibility in this matter. I would've waited till end of term if I had known. He said when asked, that my new agent should've told me there was going to be a fee. Very unprofessional.

Business Response:

Thanks for relaying our policyholder's questions about a cancellation fee.

In his note to the BBB, our policyholder indicates he believes that we charged a $75.00 cancellation fee.  Motorists never charges a fee for cancelling a policy.  We invoiced this policyholder $76.15 for the balance owed to the company after cancellation.   In this instance, the term premium was $1,223.90.  We cancelled the policy on 12-28-12 per the policyholder's request.  The pro-rated term premium after the cancellation was $1083.14.  The policyholder paid us $1019.15 for the term,  leaving a premium balance of $63.19.  Additionally, the invoice includes a  $4.00 sevice fee, and a $8.96 late fee accrued from a previous late payment.  The total amount due is $76.15.

We apologize for any unclear or inadequate communication from our agent regarding this billing issue. In this situation, due to the longevity of the account, we will waive the balance due to the company. 

Please contact me with any other questions.

Sincerely

******** ***** **** ***

Personal Lines Staff Underwriter

Motorists Insurance Group

********************************

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******




















1/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 7, 2013 a cancellation notice was received from this insurance company citing "claims frequency within the household." I have been a customer of this insurance company since 2001. On 1/2/11 a claim was made due to a minor garage fire. On 1/5/11 a claim was made due to wind damage to the roof that resulted in a leak within the house. An adjuster came out. A roofer came out. The damage assessment did not add up and we reopened the previous claim on 4/30/2012 regarding the wind damage assessment. The second insurance claims specialist agreed the first assessment was inadequate; the company provided the funds, minus our deductible, to have the roof repaired. Now I have received a cancellation notice. Two claims and the reopening of a claim they made an error on in twelve years of being a customer- and now I have to find a new home insurance provider - while having the designation of "claims frequency within the household." As my service provider - how can they legally and ethically penalize the customer when I ask them to do the service I pay them to provide?

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reinstated with home owners insurance. I would like the designation of "claims frequency within the household" removed so that I can shop for a new insurance provider and be afforded such service without the discrimination of a false notation of frequently filing claims. Two claims (both natural events) in twelve years is frequent? Please provide proof that is frequent.

Business Response:

We received a duplicate complaint regarding this policy from the Ohio Department of Insurance.  Below is a copy of our response to the deparment. 

Please let me know if you need anything else.

We are responding to your notification of complaint concerning the above referenced
policy dated January 8, 201 3. The original inception date for this policy is March 10,
2004. While the 1/5/11 and 4/30/12 claims were both related to damage to the roof, we
were unable to determine if the damage on 4/30/12 was new or as a result of
incomplete repairs from the 1/5/11 claim. As such, we agreed to categorize the 4130112
claim as a modified version of the 1/5/11 claim. We will revise our files to reflect only
one claim. 

Regardless of whether the 1/5/11 and 4/30/12 roof claims are categorized as one or
separate claims, the policy is still ineligible based on our current underwriting guidelines
which provide for only one loss in a 36 month period to remain eligible. As indicated in
the cancellation notice mailed on 1/04/13, this policy will be non-renewed based on the
frequency of claims incurred on the policy.

A copy of the cancellation notice is attached for your reference.
Please let us know if you need additional information.


 

12/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I naively signed up to use Motorists Mutual Insurance Company for auto and renters insurance when I moved back to Columbus from 7/2009 to 3/2012 while immersing myself back into college. This year my mom casually mentioned that I should shop around for other insurance companies, because I may find cheaper policies. Somehow or another she signed me up with them in the first place and she felt tied to them since. I quickly realized I was paying them an exorbitant amount of payments monthly soon after calling other companies. In contrast to the $122.14 per month, I am now paying about $45 per month for the same coverage, thanks to ***** and ********.I paid all my payments on time every month for about 3 years.They are telling me I am the problem.It is my fault they charged me after I cancelled my policy.Now after cancelling my policy, I am still dealing with over charges, inaccurate refunds, and poor customer service. I have been blamed for the withdrawals from my account after my March cancellation because they stated I did not send them 1 of 2 signed forms. Somehow the one signature was not received. The last refund was in the wrong amount, made to the wrong last name, and the wrong address (yet mailed to the correct name and address) - which they assured me they changed in their system in March.It is evident there is poor communication throughout the company.They will not admit they made any mistakes, even in an email addressed to my husband and I-that I never received because they used the wrong email address-more proof to their lack of detail.

Desired Settlement: They owe me a refund of $137.57, for charges of $106.71 on 5/15, $15.43 on 8/15 & 9/17 that was taken out of my account automatically while no longer on their policy. This is what my records show, which I told them a month ago, and they only responded with a check in a different amount, no summary of charges/mistakes. It's not a lot of money, that is not my main concern. What I really would appreciate is an apology and some ownership of their mistakes.

Business Response: I have reviewed your accounts, including prior payment histroy based on the concerns outlined in your letter to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). I apologize for the confusion related to your policy cancellations and the refund amount. From my review, it appeasrs the problem was a result of several factors including a communicaiton breakdown between our offices and the ************* Insurance Agency which led to a significant delay in the cancellation of your policies.

While both of your policies have been cancelled at the date of your request, the last refund issued in the amoutn of $89.34 was issued in your maiden name by mistake. I have cancelled that check and will be issuing a new refund in the amount of $137.57 to be mailed to you at the address and name provided in your BBB correspondence.

Once again, I apologize for the problems related to your account cancellations. If I can be of further assistance, plezase let me know.

11/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We filed a claim for wind damage on 10/12/2012 for our roof, The Motorists Insurance Group sent an appraiser out to our building. The appraiser denied our claim with a letter which includes deceitful and unreasonable explanations. We have since had three independent contractors who have inspected the roof and found that there is indeed wind damage to the shingles and roof. We have paid a premium to The Motorists Insurance Group since February 2009, and have not once filed a claim. 

We feel it is unacceptable and inexcusable that they deny this claim after being loyal and honest customers for nearly four years. Furthermore we feel that we should be given our right to have a fair assessment with legitimate evidence as to why we are being denied. It is not reasonable or acceptable for the insurance company to not honor our legitimate loss claim. We would encourage your agency to investigate Motorist Insurance Group for fraudulent & deceitful business practices towards its premium paying customers. Please allow this letter to serve as official notice of complaint against the Motorist Insurance Group.

Desired Settlement: We feel that we should be given our right to have a fair assessment with legitimate evidence as to why we are being denied, if the evidence is not supported we would like our roof to be replaced by The Motorists Insurance Group.

Business Response:

The complainant has a commercial property policy with Motorist Mutual Insurance.   A claim was presented for wind damage to the entire roof on the structure located at 4060 ******* St. NW.,  ***** ******, OH.   Our adjuster inspected the property on October 25, 2012.   The adjuster that inspected this property is a **** Certificated Commercial Building Inspector.   He is as experienced qualified adjuster that did a thorough job inspecting all aspects of this building. 

 

The inspection revealed the entire roof was in very poor condition.  The shingles were three tab organic shingles with an appliqué print. The shingles problems included:             

 

·        Craze cracks

·        Expansion cracks in the shingles

·        Perforation lines in the shingles which begin in the cut out of the shingle and expand along the tab

·        Drying mat of the tab

·        Flaking of the shingle due to the drying

·        Clawing of the shingle due to drying

·        Cupping to the shingle due to drying

·        Shingles are sliding off due to perforation breaks

·        Appliqué cracks.  It was noted that the appliqué may be well bonded to the shingle since there are expansion cracks that run vertical along the sides of the appliqué.   The appliqué cracks begin in the shingle itself.

·        Appears that poor ventilation may be adding to the shingle problems.

 

Our conclusion from this evaluation is the wind is not the cause of damage to this roof.  The proximate cause of loss is the deterioration damages to all the shingles causing them to not function properly.  This is specifically excluded from coverage in this policy.   Please refer to the following language on page 3 of 10 (CP 1030) which reads in part:

 

                               Causes of Loss- Special Form

B Exclusions:

2. We will not pay for loss or damage caused by or resulting from any of the following:

 

d.   (1) Wear and Tear;

 (2) Rust, corrosion, fungus, decay deterioration, hidden or latent defect or any quality in property that    causes it to damage or destroy itself.

We denied any payment on this claim as the loss is clearly excluded.   If you have questions or need more information, please contact the undersigned.  I till try and include some pictures for your review.   They were placed in the attached browser. 

 

 

 

 

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON OCTOBER 19,2012 BETWEEN 10:00-10:30 PM WHILE DRIVING TO WORK I TURNED ON ********* **. IN***** WHICH IS OFF OF ******** **. ON******* WESTSIDE. I INADVERTANTLY HIT A LARGE POTHOLE IN THE ROAD CAUSING ME TO BOTTOM OUT MY VEHICLE AND TEMPORARILY LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR. WHEN I REGAINED CONTROL I PULLED OVER AND GOT OUT TO SEE ABOUT AND DAMAGES QUICKLY TO AVOID BEING LATE TO WORK . I GOT BACK IN THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC AND NOTICED THAT THE FIRST TURN I MADE AFTER HITTING THE POTHOLE I NOTICED A CLUNK IN MY FRONT END OF MY CAR . THE FOLLOWING MONDAY I MADE AND INSURANCE CLAIM ON MY VEHICLE THROUGH MY INSURANCE COMPANY ONLY TO FIND OUT AFTER TAKING MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION TO FIND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS,THAT MY INSURANCE COMPANY REFUSED TO PAY FOR MY DAMAGES.I SPOKE TO THE APPRAISER AND HIS BOSS ,THE ADJUSTER AND HER BOSS AND ALL THEY COULD SAY TO ME WAS"THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF IMPACT TO TO THE DAMAGED AREA ON MY VEHICLE AND THAT THE DAMAGE WAS A MECHANICAL FAILURE.OW CAN IT BE A MECHANICAL FAILURE IF MY VEHICLE WAS IN PERFECT DRIVING CONDITION BEFORE THE ROAD INCIDENT?I PLEADED WITH THEM FOR TWO DAYS TO NO AVAIL. THE EXAMPLE I GAVE THEM WAS IF A FRONT END COLLISION HAPPENS TO A VEHICLE THAT ANOTHER PART OF THE VEHICLE SUCH AS THE DOOR COULD BE DAMAGED ,BUT THEY DIDN'T COMPLY.THE MECHANIC AT THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT MY VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE ,BUT ITS MY TRANSPORTATION TO AND FROM WORK .I TOLD ** ******* OR*******-HEAD ADJUSTER THAT IF SOMETHING HAPPENS TO ME OR MY FAMILY BECAUSE OF THEIR INEXPERIENCE AND REFUSAL TO COMPENSATE ME FOR MY VEHICLE THAT THEY WOULD BE SUED.

Desired Settlement: FOR THE INSURANCE COMPANY TO COMPENSATE ME FOR THE REPAIRS TO MY VEHICLE.SO THAT MY VEHICLE IS AGAIN SAFE FOR MY FAMILY AND MYSELF TO RIDE IN AGAIN AS IT WAS BEFORE THE ROAD INCIDENT.

Business Response:

Our file number is*******.  This loss was reported as the insured hit a pothole.   The complainant’s 1999 Olds Aurora is insured for collision coverage on an automobile insurance policy through Motorists Mutual Insurance Company.  We inspected this auto at a repair facility.  Our inspection revealed a severely rusted front end engine cradle around the bushings that attach to the auto’s frame.  As a result of the rust, the cradle became detached from the bushings allowing the engine to move up and down freely.  Our inspection also revealed no collision damage with another object.  We find the damage to this auto to be a mechanical breakdown which, unfortunately, is excluded from coverage on our policy.   –***** ********* ****** ******** ***** ****** Office 11/02/2012 

 

6/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the hail storm we encountered a month or so ago we had numerous people stop. Two checked the roof out and determined we had hail damage. We had one take lead on this and we made the claim. Pictures were taken and the company was here with the adjuster. He denied the claim saying there was hail damage but the roof was too worn. In the meantime, there have been a dozen house or more in the neighborhood that have all had tear offs. We asked for a second adjuster came out and were advised that that would not happen. If we wanted to hire an engineer to determine the roof needed replaced we could. I feel it is their job to prove why they cannot perform the repair than my job to prove why they should. We pay our monthly payments for this service.

Desired Settlement: we are looking to have the roof replaced, gutters if need be, ventilation covered as they are dented both on the house and garage.

Business Response:
We are in receipt of the complaint filed by our insured, ****** ******. **** ****** submitted a claim for weather damage to her home on the above referenced date of loss. We inspected the home and found that two shingles were damaged by wind and two box vents were damaged by small hail. We did not find any hail damage to the roof nor to any other part of the property. We wrote an estimate for the damages which fell under the insured's deductible. A copy of the estimate was provided to the insured.

The insured disputes the amount of damages. Our policy is very clear concerning such disputes. We have sent our insured a copy of our policy language and outlined the next steps she needs to take to pursue her claim.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

Motorists Insurance Group

******* ****** *** ****

Consumer Response: There is no possible way that we are the only house with no damage when as of right now we have counted over 20 houses in the next few streets that have have roof replacements or they are in the process of at this moment. If you would like I will personally get pictures and talk to the residents there. Last week alone I have seen 6 roofs being replaced and 2 more today. Three separate companies have been on the roof and seen the hail damage, I would be glad to bring them back for another estimate and have them talk with an adjuster.