BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of American Commerce Insurance Co.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Commerce Insurance Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Commerce Insurance Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on American Commerce Insurance Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1964 Business started: 03/19/1947 Business started locally: 03/19/1947 Business incorporated: 01/01/1946 in
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Insurance Department
50 W. Town St. Third Floor - Suite 300, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.insurance.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (614) 644-2658

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Alexander, Senior VP Ms. Juli A Gardner, Personal Lines Underwriter Supervisor Mr. Brian Hobson , Senior Manager, Claim Audit Ms. Betty Murdock, Sr. Counsel & Complaints Contact Mr. Pieter Sluis, Personal Lines Underwriting Sr. Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Alexander, Senior VP
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Hobson , Senior Manager, Claim Audit
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance Services


Additional Locations

  • 3590 Twin Creeks Dr

    Columbus, OH 43204 (800) 848-2945

  • PO Box 182579

    Columbus, OH 43218 (614) 272-6951

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 272-7845(Phone)
  • (800) 562-4517(Phone)
  • (800) 848-2945(Phone)
  • (800) 899-3711(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was hit Sunday Jan 24 2014 and to date driver who caused crash & his Insurance Company have not agreed to a rental car for us to use till my car is fixed.I have heard a lot of excuses but no answers. The Ins claim adjuster said she could not get accident report. I however was able to get the police report in less then 24 hours.I called on Jan 22, 23, 24 2014 on Jan 24 their claim rep gave a fax number in the mourning, by afternoon 2:00 PM after I found a fax machine to send info from. I called her again to get fax number. Her voice mail informed me she had left at 2:30 PM, (note call was at 2:00 PM) and she removed her fax number from voice mail.I am in pain and need to see a Dr, wife has a job and needs a ride, kids walk to school and need a ride in these frigid temps.I feel like ********* ****** of American Commerce Insurance in ********** is giving me the run around and trying to get out of paying bill.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed & a rental car till it is finished and I need it NOW!

Business Response:

******** ** ****   ****** ******** ****** ** ******* **** ******* ********** **** ****** **        ********* **  **********   ***                        *********** * ***** *****   ********                  ******* ******** ****** ***               **** ******          ****** *******         ******************* ***** ***               ******* **** ** *****          ********* **** ***                ***** * ******** ******** ********* *******

 

 

RESPONSE TO BBB CONSUMER COMPLAINT

 

To Whom it may Concern,

 

This letter is written in response to your e-mail received in this office on January 27, 2014 and addresses the complaint the Better Business Bureau received from ***** *****.  In his complaint *** ***** describes the fact that he was in a motor vehicle accident and was not satisfied, at the time of his writing, that he had received adequate communication with the adjuster assigned to his property damage liability claim.  He was looking for a commitment from us to pay for automobile repairs and a rental car.    

The facts are as follows:  *** ***** reported the loss and made his claim with us on January 22, 2014.  A detailed loss statement was obtained and a vehicle damage appraisal was assigned.  Our insured, *** ********, had reported the loss on January 20, and a police report had been requested on January 21.  Late in the day of January 23, *** ***** called to inquire about the process of obtaining a rental car.  It was explained to him that because he was making a liability claim we could not commit to any payments until our liability investigation was concluded.  The adjuster further explained that she was electing to wait for the police report before making a final decision.  At that time he indicated that he understood.  He stated that he would follow-up with us if/when he received a copy of the police report.  

*** ****’s vehicle was appraised on January 23, and by Friday, January 24 we had determined that the vehicle was a total loss.  The police report was received on Tuesday, January 28, and on Wednesday, January 29, a final liability decision was made which placed complete responsibility for the loss on our insured operator.  The PD claim was transferred to an adjuster who specializes in total loss settlements.  The adjuster attempted to contact *** ***** several times between Wednesday, January 29 and Saturday, February 1, without success.  He called the phone number that we had been given (which is a cell phone without the voice mail activated).  A follow-up letter was sent on January 31. 

Earlier today, the adjuster received a voice mail with a request to call a different phone number, and the adjuster spoke to *** *****.  He explained the process in detail and by the end of the conversation, the claim had been settled to the complainant’s satisfaction.  We have arranged to dispose of the salvage, to pay for the tow and storage bill in full, and for the paperwork to be sent to him via overnight mail to expedite the process.  *** ***** has now informed us that he does not need a rental, provided he is paid promptly.  An offer letter and other required documents, including a return envelope, have been mailed to him today.  To the best of our knowledge this meets his expectations. 

We hope that this letter satisfactorily addresses the issues raised and is responsive to the BBB’s request for information.  We deeply regret any perceived miscommunication.  Please contact the undersigned with any questions, concerns or requests for any additional information or clarification at ###-###-####, ext. ####

Sincerely,

      **** *******

******** ****** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Commerce insurance company had cancelled my car insurance, while my insurance agent was stating the opposite that my insurance is active, and took all the information about my checking account, etc. for automatic payments. I kept receiving contradicting letters from the company, one saying it is canceled, another that it is reinstated, then again canceled. These contradicting letters started to come after I spoke over the phone with the agent **** ******** trying to make the payment for me insurance. He requested me to pay more than it was discussed for my monthly payment when I signed up for this car insurance. I refused to pay the amount he requested and paid the amount that was discussed when I signed up for the insurance, and asked to transfer me to the agent with whom I signed up (********* ****). I spoke with the latter agent and she assured me that monthly payments that were discussed are correct and I do not need to pay more, and took also my checking account information for these payments to be made automatically every month.

After that, I received three contradicting letters, all within one week, (November 7, November 13, and November 15) first saying that the policy will be canceled starting November 21, second saying that it is reinstated, third saying that it will be canceled starting November 29. I called back the agent **** (several times) and she assured me that the policy is all right and not canceled, and clearly stated over the phone that the insurance cards I have from the company are active. My last conversation with the agent when she confirmed that was on December 12, 2013. As a result I found out now, while talking with another insurance company, that my insurance was indeed canceled as of Nov 29 and I am without insurance since then. I never asked it to be canceled, and now I am finding myself to be in a unlawful situation having a gap in the insurance policy, for more than 30 days by now, owing to the actions of that company.

Desired Settlement: I need my policy to be reinstated, since there was NO my fault or negligence in what happened.I am happy to provide proofs of all of my conversations with the agents, as well as profs of my contacts and messages left on their phones for the calls that were not picked up. I will be filing a law suite against that Company if that issue is not resolved.

Business Response: In response to the customer complaint regarding the cancellation of her auto insurance, I would like to reassure her that we have reinstated her policy without any lapse in coverage and that it is in force.  When the customer started her policy on 10/7/13, she provided the down payment needed in accordance with the Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) monthly payment plan.  However, because we never received the required EFT Authorization Form, we could not deduct monthly payments from her bank account.  As a result, we removed the policy from the EFT payment plan and mailed her an invoice.  Monthly installments on our Mail Bill payment plan are higher than those on the EFT plan.  The insured refused to pay the higher amount of the invoice and her policy eventually canceled for non-payment.   I cannot speak to any conversations that occurred between the insured and her agent; however, I can see that the insured contacted ACIC directly on 11/13/13.  By that time, the policy had already gone into pending cancellation.  A payment in the amount of $92.37 was needed by 11/21/13 to reinstate the policy before it could be placed on the EFT bill plan.  The insured made a partial payment in the amount of $55.79 over the phone with a Customer Service Representative, at which time an agreement was made to reinstate her policy with this amount as an accommodation.  Unfortunately, the EFT Authorization Form was not supplied to us at that time, so the policy went right back into pending cancellation on 11/15/13 for $51.58, due by 11/29/13.  When the amount due was not received by 11/29/13, the policy canceled for non-payment.  The insured has since supplied an EFT Authorization Form and payment to bring her up-to-date, so we have reinstated the policy and placed it on the EFT monthly bill plan.  We hope this information helps to clear up any confusion.  If you have any questions or need further information, please contact me at ###-###-####, extension *****. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted AAA which I have been with for 17 years about comparison with ***** and changing. They were to review but no one ever got back to me. I then was going to purchase a new vehicle and called on Thursday Dec. 5th to provide the info. At no time did anyone state there would be added billing since I already had full coverage on my vehicle. At 4:45PM that afternoon I cancelled the purchase and immediately contacted AAA (who American Commerce Ins. now writes for) Everything was to be returned as it was. I received a bill on 12/10 and found I had now been assessed charges for the change and when I called to see why it was not removed I was told they hadn't changed the mileage back to my own vehicle which has less miles than the one I was going to purchase. They put me on hold to see why this had not been done. Since this company was sold or whatever happened this year it is horrible! No one ever addresses your issues but bills you and you have to call and call to get things straightened out.

Desired Settlement: I want to know why as a consumer I am not allowed to be provided all the facts on billing, changes etc. in the United States of America? I thought this was still a free society.

Business Response:

** **** ** *** ******** 

We are in receipt of your correspondence our customer’s complaint regarding policy changes and the associated billing of her policy. 

Please note that American Commerce Ins. customers are entitled to all the facts pertaining to their billing and policy changes.  Reviewing our records, I see no calls noted directly from the customer to American Commerce Ins., however, several calls are noted from the agent, AAA Ins.  On December 5, 2013, the AAA Ins. called American Commerce Ins. advising us they processed a change vehicle (from a 2005 Hyundai to a 2008 Hyundai) earlier that day, and they later learned the customer cancelled their purchase and wanted to stop the transaction.  American Commerce Ins. advised AAA Ins. we could not stop the transaction from processing that evening and advised AAA Ins. to process a correcting transaction, which was completed the following day. The change of vehicle resulted in an additional cost of $112.00, and the correction processed by the agent resulted in a policy credit of $41.00.  It appears when the correction was processed, the mileage of the vehicle had not been updated appropriately.  On 12/13/13, a correction transaction was made to the vehicle mileage which provided the customer with an additional credit of $72.00 bringing the policy back to its original status.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the customer’s inconvenience, as we take these complaints very seriously at Commerce West Insurance Company

Sincerely,

AMERICAN COMMERCE INSURANCE COMPANY

  **** ******

Phone | ###-###-#### Ext. ####

*************************************

Consumer Response: i RECEIVED A BILL ON DECEMBER 19TH AND IT STILL IS CHARGING ME ADDITIONAL MONEY FOR THE DELETION. FURTHER, AS IT APPEARS I HAD ABSOLUTELY NO COVERAGE FOR A TWENTY FOUR HOUR PERIOD WHEN I CALLED BACK WITHIN TWO BUSINESS HOURS TO EXPLAIN THE CONTRACT HAD NEVER BEEN SIGNED FOR THE NEWER VEHICLE AND THE VERBAL AGREEMENT WAS CANCELLED DUE TO THE DEALERSHIP NOT LIVING UP TO WHAT THEY WERE OFFERING.  MY COVERAGE ON MY TUSCON WAS CANCELLED THAT AFTERNOON FOR REPLACEMENT AND NOT REINSTATED UNTIL THE FOLLOWING DAY AS EVIDENCED BY THE NEW INSURANCE CARD THEY HAD SENT WITH A NEW EFFECTIVE DATE. I ASKED WHAT CREDIT I HAD AND WAS TOLD TODAY DECEMBER 19TH THEY DID NOT HAVE THAT INFORMATION AND TO CALL BACK AFTER XMAS.  THIS WAS DIRECTLY THROUGH AAA SINCE I DON'T HAVE A PHONE NUMBER FOR THE ACTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY. 

Regards,
** **** ******






























Business Response:

It appears the customer is referring to the invoice dated 12/13/13, which issued after the correction of the vehicle mileage, as noted in our first response.  To illustrate that the insured was not charged additional money, the last invoice that issued prior to these changes was on 11/30/13.  The 11/30/13 invoice indicated a premium of $1,104.00 and a remaining balance of $623.00.  After the transactions in question posted regarding the 2005 Hyundai & the 2008 Hyundai, the 12/13/13 invoice reflected a premium of $1,102.00 & a remaining balance of $622.00.

The customer also indicates they had no coverage on their vehicle for 24 hours.  Please note that the customer had continuous coverage from the effective date of their policy term of 8/17/13 until they terminated their policy with us effective 12/15/13.  Upon further review of the policy details, I do see the AAA Insurance agency made the initial change from a 2005 Hyundai to a 2008 Hyundai effective 12/5/13, and the agent's correcting transaction was effective 12/6/13.  It is important to note that since the customer never had possession of the 2008 Hyundai, if a loss had occurred on their 2005 Hyundai on 12/5/13, their claim would have been covered.

After the 12/13/13 bill issued, the customer cancelled their policy effective 12/15/13.  This cancellation transaction was completed in the nightly cycle on 12/19/13, and a refund issued to the customer on 12/20/13 for $128.00.  Due to this timing, this transaction would not have been visible to the AAA Insurance agency until the following day, on 12/20/13.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ####, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I  received cards from this insurance carrier clearly stating the start of insurance was twenty four hours after I had called to tell them I was not purchasing the vehicle.  I was charged $35.00 for the change.  I am just thankful I did not have to put their would have been covered to the test. I only owed a balance of less than $600 with the last billing.  In any event I cancelled the policy due to the way in which this transaction was handled as well as I had requested to have someone contact me two weeks prior to this incident to review my coverage and possibly go with another carrier.  No one from AAA ever contacted me.  Thank you for your time. 

Regards,
** **** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Commerce insurance is the company that insures the driver of a car (company van) that hit me. I called today after recieveing the claim number and phone number of the person handling the claim. The person handling the claim is ******** ********. She was extremely rude to me. Now, I know im not a customer of commerce insurance. I had been years ago. But, Im a potential customer - I have home insurance and two cars. After this experience, I dont think I would ever consider commerce for my needs. She spoke down to me, rudely interupted, and was just plain mean for most of the call. She was very aggressive with anything I said, and would not give me the oppurtunity to explain anything. A car accident is a unfortunate thing... this happened to be a hit and run - so I was already frustrated with the whole process length to begin with. This incident just added to the frustration ive already experienced.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to contact me about this incident. Its unacceptable to treat client/customers or anyone is this manner.

Business Response:
This letter will acknowledge the receipt on 10/30/13 of your letter dated 10/28/13 which
addresses the complaint received by ****** ******* *******

On 10/28/13 at 3:29pm, MAPFRE/Commerce received a call from *** ******, who
stated that he was filing a Small Claim suit against MAPFRE/Commerce lnsurance
because he had not heard from us. It was explained to *** ****** that we did not have
any of his information and according to our driver there wasn't any communication
between the parties at the scene of the accident. *** ****** then stated that he was
dealing with his insurance company, *****, who advised him that although he had
collision coverage under his own policy, he should be filing a claim directly through
MAPFRE/Commerce Insurance. He also stated that ***** informed him that they had
contacted the MAPFRE/Commerce Insurance. At this point, the file and notes were
reviewed and there was nothing noted that ***** had called under this file. *** ******
was advised of this and he stated that he did not believe our notes and that the
process was taking too long to have his vehicle repaired. It was then explained to *** ******
that there were conflicting stories regarding this incident and the difference
between filing a claim directly through his own carrier, ***** verses filing a third party
claim through MAPFRE/Commerce lnsurance with conflicting stories. *** ******
interrupted and accused MAPFRE/Commerce lnsurance of not wanting to take his
claim. It was explained to *** ****** that was not accurate, that the explanation was in
response to his statement that this process was taking too long and it may be quicker to
file directly through ***** as their payment of his claim would not need to await the
completion of a liability investigation. Again, *** ****** accused MAPFRE/Commerce
lnsurance of not wanting to take his claim. It was explained to him that he could file his
claim through MAPFRE/Commerce lnsurance and an appraisal would be completed. It
was further explained that the appraisal at this time was for informational purposes only
and the appraisal was not an authorization to repair.

*** ****** was informed that MAPFRE/Commerce was sending him a form to complete
to obtain his written statement, a police report was being ordered and an appraisal was
being set up for the Peabody drive in. At this point, *** ****** became argumentative
about the appraisal process and it was again explained that the appraisal is for
informational purposes at this time and the appraisal is not an authorization to repair,
due to the conflicting stories. At this point, *** ****** again accused
MAPFRE/Commerce Insurance of not being helpful. It was explained to him that filing
first party would be in his best interest to ensure no delays. *** ****** then stated that
***** would not pay his deductible so that is why he wanted to file directly through
MAPFRE/Commerce Insurance.
To date, we directed *** ****** to our drive-in claims center and have not received an
appraisal on *** ******'s vehicle nor have we received his written report of the accident.
I hope this letter serves to address all the issues brought up in Steven Michael Orsini's
letter. We are always open and receptive to reviewing any additional information on this
matter presented by ****** ******* ******. Should you have any questions, or if I may
provide you with any additional information or clarification, please feel free to contact
me at ext. ####

Sincerely,
THE COMMERCE lNSURANCE COMPANY
******* *******

Consumer Response: Judging by the response here, I fear that this case will not be handled appropriately.   The response is  not entirely truthful to what occurred in my communication with Ms. dwinnel.   I would like to have someone else handle the claim. 

Regards,
****** ******






























Business Response:

This letter is in regards to a complaint which was file by *** ****** ******* ******. 

The complaint is in regards to an alledged motor vehicle incident occurring between The MAPFRE/ Commerce Insurance policyholder, ******** ******* ************** *********** and *** ****** ******. 

Per *** ****** request, this file which was originally assigned to ******* *******, has been since transferred to  ********* ******** as of November 7, 2013. 

As of November 11, 2013, MAPFRE Commerce is still awaiting *** ******’s appraisal and MAPFRE Commerce continues to investigate this incident.  

Due to the conflicting descriptions of the accident, MAPFRE Commerce recommended to *** ****** that he file a claim directly with his insurance carrier, *****. 

MAPFRE Commerce Insurance is willing to review any new information that is submitted in regards to this incident which will help to resolve the matter.   

If you have any questions, please contact me at ###-###-####, ext. ####. 

Sincerely,
THE COMMERCE INSURANCE COMPANY

********* ********

 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business  and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
****** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in an area hugely affected by hurricane Sandy. I have had problems with this insurance company since last October but my most recent complaint is I was dropped from my full paid auto insurance a month before it was due to expire with only an email warning me a week ago. I was told I still owe $80 on my policy, although my policy was paid in full November 1st 2012. Within the last week American commerce insurance company claims I owe $80 for a AAA discount which was never explained to me or in any of my policy paperwork. I could understand if this was addressed 11 months ago when my policy was written but to have paid in full and then just dropped on a Monday morning a month before my policy is due to expire is extremely unethical. I have since only received email correspondence with the agent, when I attempt to call the number provided my calls go to his direct voicemail but are never returned. I have been forced to get a different auto insurance company and would like a refund of a one months portion of my policy fee.

Desired Settlement: My total policy premium paid in full was $ 1,026, in which a refund for this last month in which I was dropped from coverage would be $85.50.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the client’s complaint and I offer the following history with American Commerce Insurance Company (ACIC).

We received this new business effective November 1, 2012. The agent advised American Commerce Insurance Company that the insured had an active AAA membership and his quote to the client reflected the AAA discount we offer.

When the policy was reviewed at our company there was no AAA membership card provided as required to obtain the AAA discount. Our Revenue Assurance Representative contacted the agent for the AAA card and the agent indicated he would forward it to us.

By November 20, 2012, the AAA card was not provided to ACIC in order to maintain the credit and the discount was removed. The client did not make payment and the paid in full discount was also removed.

Should you require any additional information please contact me.

Best Regards,
******** ***********

Consumer Response: I spoke to *** ******** today. I was told the $80 fee would be waived and I would be refunded my last months payment. 

Regards,

******** *****






























Business Response: I received your request for a status memo regarding this complaint and my October 11, 2013 reply to your office.

Post my October 11, 2013 response to your office, the agent, *** ******** and I discussed this account in great detail.

*** advised me that he spoke to the insured, *** ***** who advised *** that her complaint was with the agency, not American Commerce Insurance Company.

I had agreed to reinstate coverage for the client. *** agreed to pay the amount owed on the insured's behalf as a good will gesture with his client. There is no lapse in coverage.

The insured, *** *****, was very pleased with these results and advised *** ******** that she attempted to remove her complaint against American Commerce Insurance Company via your website but the website would not allow her to.

Attached you will find the reinstatement notice sent to the client. Risk remains active as of this writing.

Sincerely,

******** ***********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** *****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My basic complaint is the HORRIBLE experience I had with ACIC!!I had issues of being ping ponged around between ACIC and my agency...They denied a claim based SOLELY on a little "loop hole" they had discovered...In addition...I was enrolled in auto pay...and had problems with them deducting the incorrect amounts, first, over DOUBLE my monthly premium and then deducting LESS than my monthly premium and THEN attempting to collect the difference the following month!!!!ACIC also cancelled me due to an "unacceptable" driving history...which included 2 accidents for which there was never any $$ paid on the claims!!!In addition, they are billing me for a premium AFTER my policy expires and was cancelled...This is just the "tip of the iceberg" with the horrible experiences I had with them...I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE to insure with them...

Desired Settlement: I definitely feel that I should not be made to may a premium if they have cancelled me!!!

Business Response: We are writing to respond to the above noted complaint.  Over the last several months, we attempted to work with *** ********* to resolve his various issues and made several financial adjustments on his account in consideration of the hardships and inconveniences.  The latest adjustment was the waiving of the $120 disputed amount noted in this complaint.

The billing issues on this policy resulted from his frequent changes in the billing method to and from Electronic Fund Billing Transfers (EFT), and the subsequent special manual adjustments generated.  Since March 2013, *** *********’s policy was personally monitored by a Billing Supervisor on a monthly basis in an effort to avoid future problems.  When the deduction amount was not as expected, we immediately arranged for *** *********’s policy to be adjusted accordingly.  As a result, we agreed to waive subsequent billing discrepancies.

As for the Non-renewal of this account, it was based upon the driving and paid claims history.  This driving experience made this account ineligible for any of our programs.

We take our commitments to our policyholders seriously and sincerely hope that this clarifies the issue and reconciles any discrepancies on the matter.

Sincerely,
*** ********








BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The city of Murray Ky does not have a payroll tax levied on those whom work in the city of Murray. Instead they levy a tax on insurance policies on property and autos for those ehom live in the city of Murray.I live about 8 miles from the city limits. I am almost in the next county of Marshall. The American Commerce Ins Co is trying to charge me this extra tax. I contacted their agent in Murray and he set out to correct this problem and has informed me that they will not correct the error and are threatening to cancel my homeowners and auto insurance because they are not following the law. This should disqualify them from selling insurance in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Their person that has the power to correct this error will not believe maps, guides listing the city address or any other info that my agent has provided them. DECEPTION ISSUE: This company insists that I have to pay this city based tax but will not charge me at the rate charged to those inside the city limits (better fire and police protection). ISSUE OF FRAUD: THEY ARE FRAUDULENTLY TRYING TO COLLECT MONIES THAT THEY WILL KEEP AND NOT FORWARD TO THE CITY, because they simply don't have to and they know it.

Desired Settlement: 1st. Neither policy be canceled or my record show any fault on my behalf.2nd. Refund be made on the auto ins policy for over payment.3rd. Both policies be recalculated and reissued properly.A letter of apology to both myself and their agent should be automatic.An investigation into their other policies sold in Calloway county outside of the city of Murray should be automatic, refund included.

Business Response: We are writing to respond to the above-noted complaint regarding the collection of Kentucky municipal taxes on an insurance policy for property located in the City of Murray. The City of Murray is divided into two jurisdictions: (1) the City of Murray, an incorporated part of the city, a.k.a. “inside the city limits;” which is taxable and (2) the County of Calloway, an unincorporated part of the city, a.k.a. “outside the city limits;” which is non-taxable. Insurance policies are taxable in Kentucky based on the physical location of the property being insured. Property is sourced to jurisdictions based on its latitude and longitude. American Commerce Insurance Company (ACIC) relies on industry software to allocate policies appropriately. The tax rate for billing purposes is determined using the software on the front end during the underwriting process. Upon remittance of tax, all policies are run through another allocation by the Tax Department. Any discrepancies are investigated. In the present case, the policyholder’s policy was identified as taxable by the Underwriting system. The policyholder’s policy is so recent, that the tax is not yet due to be remitted so no variance had yet been identified; however, the Company’s Tax Department confirmed that the policy is in the non-taxable part of Murray. We are investigating why the Underwriting allocation system produced the error. ACIC takes its commitments to its policyholders seriously. Given adequate time to investigate, we have found in favor of the policyholder and have updated his records accordingly. A refund is being made to the policyholder for any taxes collected thus far. ACIC does not retain funds collected in error. We file municipal tax returns in 390 jurisdictions in Kentucky each quarter as we are equally committed to our obligations to the municipalities of Kentucky. I sincerely hope that this clarifies the issue and reconciles any discrepancies on the matter.

Consumer Response: 1.  As of this date I have not received a refund.  Whether or not the insurance company retains the funds they collect it is incumbent upon them to collect fees legally or it is upon them to reimburse said fees to those they illegally collected them from.2.   They have know of this problem for a long time and did nothing to correct it.  Other policy holders are involved.  They were alerted to my policy and refused 3 or 4 times before I went to the BBB.3.  I have not nor has my agent (their agent) received letters of apologies for the error.  Just double talk.  Especially after they received mapquest maps, government surveys, and listings of the streets in the city proper.   The maps I understand had the latitude and longitude that *** refers to in her response. On a side note, and I quote"ACIC takes its commitments to its policyholders seriously."  and then address the letter to,  "TO Whom It May Concern" something is just not right.I will advise you after the refund and letter are received.  Thanks you BBB for your help and dedication to use consumers.

Consumer Response: Sorry that you feel this way but you missed the other 3 reason for my not accepting their song and dance.  I will let you know if and when I feel that the complaint is closed.

Consumer Response: Having received a refund and letter of explanation I now consider my complaint close. Thank you for your prompt attention and helpfulness. PS. Being that Pam did not enclose an email address in her correspondence and there is none on any of their paperwork or web sites, please forward a copy of the email to her. Thanks again.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on the 6/19/2013 my oil tank in my basement had a problem and as a result I had over two hundred gallons of fuel oil in my basement.i imediatley went to ******* and put down over seven bags of cat litter to help absorb the oil.i contacted my local fire company and the DEPcase number being ######,and my insurance agent who gave me the number for claims,which is American commerce *** *** ********** at ###-###-#### after talking to ** ********** he said he did not handle those tye of claims and refered me to a man by the name of ***** ###-###-####.he said and adjuster would be out to look at the situation.on 6/22/2013 a independent claim rep by the name of ***** ****** comes out to the house.since that time no one gives me any answers as to what is going on.i have a oil company ready to start the clean up but the insurance company will not tell him what they want done.my wife can not stay in the house as the odor makes her sick.i can not put the central air on as it will bring the odor up from the basement.it can get pretty bad in a house with no air.i was told that if it were a corrosion issue it would not cover loss of property it is not a corrosion issue.

Desired Settlement: I want the clean up to start immdiatly ,and anything that needs to be replaced be replaced.tell the oil company what is expected and let them get started.the longer they wait the worse the situation becomes.

Business Response:

This letter will acknowledge your correspondence dated June 30, 2013.  We take this opportunity to respond to the BBB Complaint submitted by our insured, **** ******.  

The American Commerce Insurance Company, hereinafter referred to as the Company, provides **** ****** with homeowner’s insurance under policy number *********, which is in effect from November 20, 2012 to November 20, 2013.  The residence premise is located at **** ****** ***** ** ************** ***  The policy consists of the Homeowners 3 – Special Form HO 00 03 (10/00), which is amended by the Special Provisions – New Jersey endorsement, form HO 01 29 (8/07).

The Company first received notice of this loss on June 19, 2013 by way of a telephone call from **** ******.  He reported the heating oil storage tank located in the basement of his home at 1*** ****** ***** ** ************** ** may have rusted out and leaked fuel oil on to the concrete floor.  *** ****** requested a referral to an oil spill clean-up service.  He was advised the company would need some time to review the policy coverages and claim details.  In the interim, he should mitigate the damage to his property and his heating oil supplier may be able to recommend a local, qualified, oil spill containment service.  
    
On June 19, 2013, **** ****** spoke with Property Claim Representative *** *********r who informed *** ****** his claim will be transferred to a Property Claim Specialist and Liability Claim Consultant in our ******* Office for further handling. *** ********** also informed our insured that the company assigned Independent Claims Service and an adjuster from that firm would be in contact with him to inspect the damages.  *** ********** also requested *** ****** call him directly if he had any questions or concerns in the interim. 

On June 19, 2013 **** *****, Environmental Claims Manager of Independent Claims Service, attempted to contact *** ****** and reached his voice mail on which *** ***** left a detailed message.  On the morning of June 20, 2013, *** ***** was able to make contact with *** ******.  During this conversation, they discussed the Non-Waiver Agreement, which was forwarded to our insured as well as loss details.  A site visit was scheduled and took place on June 22, 2013.     

*** ****** initially applied cat litter in an effort to absorb the oil spilled in the basement.  On the morning of June 20, 2013 *** ***** recommended *** ****** contact the local fire department for assistance.  The fire department responded but left the residence without providing any assistance.  In the fire department’s opinion there was no imminent danger.  He was also provided with an available, local environmental company’s contact information that the insured contacted but failed to contract with them due to their request for a credit card from him to assure payment for service.  *** ****** was advised of the urgency to have the contamination remediated and it was suggested he contact the ** DEP for financial assistance.  A local oil company can remove the oil soaked cat litter but they also requested a guaranteed payment from *** ****** before they provide service.  Reportedly, *** ****** does not have the means to initiate a professional clean up.    

On July 3, 2013, *** ***** informed *** ****** that the Company has accepted coverage for the dwelling’s oil spill remediation as the cause of loss was confirmed being related to the oil line being damaged in the area where it exits the holding tank after a box of books fell on the exposed oil line.  However, coverage is not available for damaged contents due to named peril coverage limitations.  

The company continues to work towards an agreed restoration cost with our insured.  On July 11, 2013, we issued an advance claim payment of $5,000.00 in order to facilitate the previously recommended professional oil spill remediation.  It is our understanding that *** ****** has hired a professional oil remediation service, which will initiate clean up starting July 11, 2013.

Concerning third party coverage under the policy, the Company has sent a Reservation of Rights Letter to *** ******, which is dated July 12, 2013 and is enclosed for your review.  This correspondence advises that at this time, there is no evidence that the fuel has migrated through the basement concrete to any third party soil or groundwater.  To date, there has been no identified property damage to any third party.  We have informed *** ****** that personal liability coverage does not apply to property damage to property owned by, used by, or in his care.  The Company has agreed to investigate under a reservation of rights.  The basis of our investigation is to determine if the oil has migrated and contaminated third party property, soil or groundwater.  

We hope this letter serves to address the issues raised in *** ******’s complaint.  At this time, the Company continues to actively manage this claim so that this matter may be brought to conclusion in a timely manner.  If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact ***** ***** at ####### or **** **** at ext. #####.

Sincerely,
American Commerce Insurance Company
***** *****

**** ****
Claim Consultant

Consumer Response: they waited so long to give the oil company the info needed to get started with the clean up.all he asked was something be given him to guarantee that he would get paid .they did not give him any kind of contract or po number so that he could start,it was all by word of mouth,he never heard of anything like that.to this date 7/17/2013 this man has nothing in writing from the insurance company.


Regards,

**** ******






























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: BBB requested information/documentation from the consumer, which was not received.

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my insurance policy with American Commerce and opened a new policy for homeowners insurance and car insurance with ******* Insurance. ******* insurance had me fill out paperwork to start the new policy when my old policy ended on May 28, 2013. I had automatic withdrawal set up with my bank with American Commerce which withdrew my money each month on the 28th. My new agent ******* ***** with ******* Insurance sent paperwork at least 10 days before May 28, 2013 to let them know of the change.

May 28, 2013 came along and I noticed that American Commerce still withdrew the amount of $79.35 (the normal amount that was set up that they would of taken out if I did not cancel) and I gave American Commerce a call and they said that I would be sent back a check for the $79.35 and to not worry about that, but that it could take up to two weeks. I got a check for $12.35, that was postmarked May 30th.

I just called American Commerce today to see if I was going to receive the rest of the money that they owed me and they told that the check for $12.35 that I already received was all I was going to receive. They said that if I had cancelled on the 19th then I would have received the full amount. I can't believe it, why would they tell me that they would refund the full amount of $79.35 and then not do it! Which by them taking they money out of bank in the first place starts up a whole new policy of six more new months of a new policy.

I am very upset especially when they have told me different reasons each time. I don't believe this is right and I want the rest of my money back. It is exactly why I don't like to have automatic withdrawal with some companies, but you kind of have to do it to have a cheaper monthly price. I went through this company with my agent at *** Insurance out of the Meridian office in Idaho, as they highly recommended them to me.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate very much to have the rest of my money that they took out of my bank account in the amount of $79.35 minus the $12.35, which would make $67.00 and if they will not pay this amount I would like you to list this company, for anyone who is inquiring, as one of complete distrust and not a company that others would like to use for their insurance needs, because they don't do good business. Thank You!

Business Response:

I reviewed the insurance policy (***********) for the complainant. We received notification to cancel the policy on 5/24/13, which was the same day the automatic deduction was processed from the insured's bank account. Therefore, we did not receive notification in time to stop the payment from being processed. The auto policy reviewed on 5/19/13 and was canceled effective 5/28/13, for which $67.00 in premium was earned. $67.00 was retained out of the automatic deduction taken on 5/24/13 for $79.95 and the remaining credit balance of $12.35 was refunded to the insured. Had we refunded the entire automatic withdrawal of $79.35, the insured would have received a bill in the amount of $67.00 for the time period covered.

We hope this information helps to clear up any misunderstanding, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our customer has experienced.

If you have any questions or need further information, please contact me at:
###-###-####, extension *****.


www.mapfreinsurqance.com

Consumer Response: For this company to take this extra money still doesn't make any sense.  By still taking this money out of my account, I understand that they couldn't stop the automatic payment but this amount of money that was taken and not returned when it would technically be started a whole new 6 months policy, that legally it should be refunded.  I cancelled before this whole new 6 months started.  I was told on the phone that this particular company is behind, so all the dates are behind and late.  Why is this?  It should be up to date especially when starting a whole new 6 month policy.  This company is saying they are behind during the months that you are covered with this date and that date, so any cancelling during that 6 months period is understandable but shouldn't be at the end of the covered policy.  But when I haven't even started up the new 6 month policy yet, the money should be refunded if there is a cancellation letter in place when it gets to the end of the past 6 month policy, even if a few days crossed over before the company says they should technically have so many days.  Because my new agent sent this letter at two weeks before the 28th, the day they would have automatically took my new payment.  They have their own personal reasons for taking someones money and in my eyes this is not right.  I have never had an insurance company do this to me and therefore I will never have insurance with this company again and I will not recommend this company to anyone who asks.
































Business Response: I reviewed the insurance policy (***********) for the complainant. Attached you will see that the notice from the insured's new agent, which is signed by the insured, requests the effective date of cancellation as May 28,2013. This is the date we canceled the policy, based on the request. The $67.00 that was retained from the automatic deduction on 5/24/13 was premium due for the 9 days we provided coverage, from 5/19/13-5/28/13. The insured was previously paid in full until the renewal date of 5/19/13. In order for the insured to be entitled to a full refund of $79.35, the policy would have had to cancel on the effective date of 5/19/13. We hope this information helps to clear up any misunderstanding, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our customer has experienced. If you have any questions or need further information, please contact me at ###-###-####, extension *****.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in a car accident on December 3,2012 in an non at fault accident. The accident involved my car and two others. My car and the one behind me were stopped at a stop light when another car came from behind the car sitting behind and plowed into their car and that in return made the car behind me rear end my vechicle. All three people involved in the accident have insurance and the one gentlmen who caused the accident was cited. I have called my insurance right away when the accident happened and was told a customer service rep would call by the end of the next business day. Of course this did not happen and I called and emailed my rep but got no answer. Finally I called the insurance company and asked to speak to someone else and they finally got ahold of my rep. I did all the leg work by calling to get the accident police report and the other at fault parties claim # and his representive. I used my AAA to get my car towed to the body shop and was told to wait to hear from a claims adjuster. I had many questions about rental cars and how the process worked and found it hard to get things answered. The repair adjustor did come out and walked around the car with the body shop I had my car towed to. It has been over a week now and I have heard anything about my car, the reapir estimate or even the claim. The only person to keep me in the loop is the body shop. It would be nice to know whats covered and whats not and just kept up to date. This is the first time I have ever had this happen with an insurance company.

Desired Settlement: For someone to at least contact me regarding my claimor call me back and give me updated information on my estimate and if they are at least in the process of contacting the other insurance compnany and the status on that?

Business Response: This letter is written in response to your December 13, 2012 e-mail received in this office on December 20, 2012 and addresses the complaint the Better Business Bureau received from ******** ** ********.  In her complaint Ms. ******** describes the fact that she was in a motor vehicle accident and was not satisfied, at the time of her writing, that she had received adequate communication with her insurance company.  She was looking for someone to contact her to give her “updated information.”  

The facts are as follows: Ms. ******** reported the loss to us on December 3, 2012 at 7:30PM.  The next day, December 4, she had a detailed conversation with the assigned adjuster.  He took a statement and walked her through the process of using her own insurance coverage to make a first party claim.  He also gave her the option of using her rental coverage, which she declined.  An appraisal was assigned.  Subsequent to the assignment we discovered that there was a technical problem between the vendor and our office which resulted in a delay in receiving the appraisal.  In the interim we completed our liability investigation and verified the information we would need to seek a subrogation recovery against the liability carrier for the at fault party.  The technical problem was solved and the customer’s appraisal was received on December 20.  Our records show that we called her at 11:30AM on December 20 and left a message on her voice mail at her given contact number (###-###-####).  The adjuster included in his message that the repair shop was being paid directly in accordance with a signed direction to pay.  The dollar amount was verified as being an agreed repair price less her deductible.  He also included the fact that the matter has been referred for recovery against the liability carrier and the demand will include her deductible.  We do not show that she has called back.  We will follow up on Thursday, December 21 just to be on the safe side.

We hope that this letter satisfactorily addresses the issues raised and is responsive to the BBB’s request for information. We deeply regret any perceived miscommunication.  Please contact the undersigned with any questions, concerns or requests for any additional information or clarification at ###-###-####, ext. *****.





BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received my renewal notice for my car insurance which was due in early February of this year. It stated that my insurance for the year was $578, but that if I paid the entire year at once (which I always do) it would only be $496. This company also gives a discount for being a *** member, so I called my insurance carrier (***************** Insurance) to find out how much my discount would be if I obtained a *** membership. The customer service representative I spoke with said that my discount would be at least 13% of the total policy cost. I then went in and purchased a *** membership and then went to see an ***************** Insurance agent to have my discount applied to my account and to pay the full balance for the year. He told me that with my paid in full discount and the discount for being a *** member, my insurance for the year was $394. I paid him and left the office thinking I was done with worrying about insurance for a year. About a week later I received a letter stating that I still owed $60 for my insurance policy. I called the company to see why I received this letter, and I was told by the lady I talked to that it was probably just a glitch and not to worry about it. Then she called back several days later and said that there was a glitch in the system, but I still owed them $60. She admitted to me that her records indicated that I had paid in full for the year, but she refused to remove the $60 from my bill. We argued for about 10 minutes during which she contradicted herself so many times I lost count. By this point I was extremely frustrated and told her that I would like a refund on my policy for the days remaining (I had only used 10 days of the policy out of a full year) so that I could go to another insurance carrier. She told me that I could, but stated " I don't know how much of your money you'll get back because you didn't pay in full and we'll have to remove your paid in full discount." Product_Or_Service: Vehicle insurance Account_Number: ACPA XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like the $60 removed from my bill or a full refund of what I paid them so I can find another insurance carrier.

Consumer Response: American Commerce Insurance has settled this matter with me to my satisfaction. Thank you for your assistance.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account #: XX-XXXXXXXXX. On March 15, 2011 I sent a declaration page and request to cancel my homeowner's insurance in the mail. My mortgage company had issued payment to ACIC in January 2011. I was under the impression reimbursement would be sent directly to my mortgage company. After a long term relationship I thought they would do what was requested. On January 5, 2012 I received a non-renewal notice from ACIC. The same day I received an updated Escrow statement from my mortgage company indicating a shortage to my account & that my mortgage payment would increase by $177 per month. The shortage is due to the fact that ACIC did not reimburse the mortgage company when I cancelled my homeowner's insurance. I called ACIC on January 6, 2012 and spoke to Lisa. She told me the original cancellation was not received. She told me to resend the Declaration page & the request to terminate, the effective date of termination, and who I would like ACIC to issue the payment to. She told me it would be retroactive to 03/21/2011, the original cancellation date of coverage. She also told me it would be issued directly to my mortgage company. I called today, January 18, 2012, to check the status of the payment to my mortgage company. I was told by ****** they received the declaration page, but payment had not been issued because they can not issue payment directly to the mortgage company & the request did not include my signature. No one attempted to contact me between January 6, 2012 & January 18, 2012. My telephone number was on the request I faxed on January 6, 2012. My new mortgage payment begins February 1st. I started this process early enough in the month so it would be resolved so I would not need to issue the larger mortgage payment (which is almost impossible because of the huge increase). ****** also told me ACIC typically does not retro a cancellation more than 30 days. She did say she would put a rush on the request. It is convenient they have no record of the request I mailed in March 2011. It is convenient they did not bother to contact me when they did not have the information they deem necessary in January 2012. The amount of payment owed to me is $917.39. I am extremely upset by this. As you can imagine the substantial increase to my mortgage payment is a huge strain. Their lack of action or urgency upon the two requests is disappointing. I have been a customer since March of 2002 with no complaints. The reason I decided to leave them in March 2011 is because my car insurance doubled in cost without any incidents added to my record. I needed to do what is best for my budget. There were no claims filed this year with ACIC or my new homeowner's insurance. I received a new notice this week that ACIC will no longer be issuing insurance in the state of ********. This situation and the factors involved lead me to believe there is no reason for urgency on their part regarding this matter. What do they care? They are accruing interest in their bank account and they will no longer cover this territory anyway. What difference does it make to them if a (former) customer in ******** is unhappy? I am not confident at this point they will do what is right & honor the requested cancellation in March 2011. I have sent the requested following up information to ****** this morning. I appreciate your review and assistance with this matter.

Desired Settlement: $917.39. This is the amount they were paid in January 2011 for the year of service.

Business Response: Thank you for your letter, dated January 18, 2012, concerning the complaint from Ms. ******. I am grateful for the opportunity to respond on behalf of American Commerce Insurance Company. Ms. ****** requested that her policy be canceled back to 3/21/11 as she had secured other coverage. Ms ******'s initial request went unprocessed. Her second request made on January 6, 2012 was processed on January 18, 2012. A refund for the entire years premium, $917.39, was refunded back to the insured on January 19, 2012 in the form a check. If you have any further questions or require further information feel free to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX extension XXXXX, or by e-mail *****@acilink.com.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1