Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hilton Columbus Downtown

Phone: (614) 384-8600 Fax: (614) 484-5238   http://www.columbusdowntown.hilton.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company states that they are a  full-service hotel featuring 532 guest rooms and suites featuring 23,000 sf of meeting space, Gallerie Bar & Bistro, Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, indoor pool,  fitness center, valet parking and other amenities. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hilton Columbus Downtown meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hilton Columbus Downtown include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hilton Columbus Downtown
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 2013 Business started: 10/19/2012 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1919 Business incorporated 09/20/2012 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of State Fire Marshal
8895 E Main St, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/fire
Phone Number: (614) 752-8200
websfm@com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Franchisee Principal Hilton Hotels Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christian Coffin, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christian Coffin, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels Wedding Consultants Event Planners Event Planners - Corporate Banquet Facilities Restaurants

Products & Services

Hilton Columbus Downtown sells the following brand(s): Hilton

Hilton Columbus Downtown offers the following product(s): Banquet facilities and meeting space, Hotel rooms, Restaurant

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards and cash. 
Refund and Exchange Policy
Not applicable. 
Alternate Business Names
Franklin County Convention Facilities Authority Hilton Management, LLC
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to book a one night stay at the Hilton Columbus Downtown for Sat. 19 of September 2015. When the reservation specialist was checking rates, I inquired about special rates for military service members. She had the regular rate at $219.00 and the military rate was $219.60! Yes, the military rate was more expensive that the regular rate. I asked why, she replied that we are required to pay for the breakfast that we would receive. My wife and I do not eat breakfast and asked her if we could skip the breakfast for the better rate and they said that we couldn't. They were unwilling to work with us on the rate of this room and my wife and I find is absurd that we should pay more money because we have served in the armed forces.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Store Credit If they see fit, I would like a night stay at a substantial discount. If they are still not willing to work with us, then we won't be staying at and hilton or hilton affiliated hotels again.

Business Response:

I spoke to Mr. ********* directly on 9/17 at 12:15pm. Hilton Columbus Downtown does offer a Military Discount on both room-only and package rates.  Unfortunately, this was not clear in the reservation system so the central reservation office, to whom the guest was speaking, could only locate the package rate resulting in the confusion.  The room-only rate was listed under "Government" and did not clearly identify it as being available for the Military.  Having identified the issue, we have clarified the rates in the system so that future callers will be offered a discount on both a room-only and packages.   I explained the situation and extended a special discounted rate of $99/night on a date of his convenience (he had already booked elsewhere for the night of 9/19.)  Mr. ********* seemed appreciative of my response/explanation, the special rate and having taken responsibility for the problem.  I believe the matter has been satisfactorily resolved. 

Below is the follow-up email I sent to Mr. *********:

 

From: ********* ******
Sent: Friday, September 18, 2015 12:33 PM
To: 'J**********************
Cc: ********* ******
Subject: Hilton Columbus Downtown

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today.  Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are constantly striving to approve upon our product and services. 

I sincerely apologize for the difficulties you experienced when booking your reservation.  We are honored to offer a Military discount off both a room-only as well as a package that includes breakfast.  Unfortunately, the two rates were not identified well in the reservation system.  So, when the central reservation office with whom you were speaking searched the rates, she could only locate the package rate and not the room-only rate resulting in the confusion.  The central reservation office, not located on property, is only able to work off the information loaded into the system, which in this case, was not clear.  As General Manager, I accept full responsibility for this error and appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that it could be corrected. 

By way of apology for the frustration and inconvenience you encountered, I would like to extend a very special rate of $99/night (or 65% discount off best available rate, whichever is the greater discount) on a date of your convenience, based on availability.  Please reach out to me directly and I will handle the reservation personally.  While I realize this will not erase the experience, I hope it represents our concern for your satisfaction and appreciation for having brought the problem to our attention. 

Again, my apologies for the problem.  We look forward to welcoming you to the Hilton Columbus Downtown in the near future and regain your trust and confidence. 

********* ******  I  General Manager

HILTON COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN

t: +1 *** *** ****  I  m: +1 *** *** ****  I  f: +1 *** *** ****  

401 North High Street  I  Columbus OH 43215  I  USA


12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to check in at hotel and our room was only 57.33 because we had the family and friends price. So the guy that was checking us in swipe my card for 60.00 dollars which declined on the Hilton's side but it went though on my end. So he says well we need another 35.00 dollars just incase you damage or take anything. So I say ok I will go add another 35 dollars to the prepaid master card I was using . So he swipe it again and it declined on the Hilton and went through on my credit card end so I was charge 95.00 total when my discount was 57.33 so why would I be charge 95.00 ???? I called the manager I talk to said she WAS just going to take it as a lost on her side because she said she never had it happen before. I was put though aggravation on my our anniversary I travel up there to have a good time not to be over charged for something .. I want a 95.00 refund my card number **** **** **** **** 07/17 security code ***. If they want to call to hear the charges that were charges by the Hilton * *** *** **** ******** **** !! I want a full refund. Just very upset

Desired Settlement: Refund!!! Not only. Refund the 1st room wasn't even clean we had to be moved to a cleaner room.

Business Response: The attached email and documentation was sent directly to Ms. **** in response to the complaint.  In short, Ms. **** was accurately charged for the room, tax and parking as quoted in the reservation confirmation.  Upon check-in, as is standard policy across the industry and was fully explained, a credit card approval or cash deposit is required to cover the room, tax and any potential incidental charges.  This is only an approval and not an actual charge.  Upon check-out, the actual charge is posted to the account.  In this case, there was a problem with her pre-paid credit card.  First, there was insufficient funds and then the credit card system was not communicating with the hotel system.  Eventually, the front desk manager was able to resolve the matter with the credit card company directly.  The problem was actually with the credit card company, not the hotel.  The manager put a lot of time and effort into resolving the matter with the credit card company and the guest was aware and satisfied/understanding upon departure.  The actual charges posted to the account are correct.  In researching the complaint, it also became evident that the guest was staying under a fraudulent rate.  The heavily discounted rate of $49 is available to team members of Hilton Worldwide only.  The reservation was booked under a ***** ******** who apparently gave it to Ms. **** which is against company policy.  The normal rate on the 7th would be $229 or $179 for a Friends/Family rate for which she may have been eligble.  Normally, we would charge the guest the differential.  Under the circumstances, I have waived the additional charges but will not provide any further discounts or rebates particularly since the charges are correct and the problem was with the credit card company, not the hotel.  The issue has also been reported to the employer of the team member that booked the reservation originally.