BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of The Favret Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Favret Company offers heating and cooling services to residential and commercial customers in Central Ohio.  Services include installation, repair, servicing and emergency repair of your indoor comfort system as well as duct cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Favret Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Favret Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on The Favret Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1941 Business started: 01/01/1924 Business started locally: 01/01/1924
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board - The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) licenses Commercial Contractors for the following trades: Electrical, HVAC, Hydronics, Plumbing, and Refrigeration.
6606 Tussing Rd, PO Box 4009, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
https://elicense4-secure.com.ohio.gov/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-3493
dic.ocilb@com.stae.oh.us

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Mark E. Favret, President Mr. Matt Favret Mr. Philip Favret, Vice President Mr. William E. Favret, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark E. Favret, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Duct & Duct Fittings Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Favret Heating and Air Conditioning Company

Additional Locations

  • 1296 Dublin Rd

    Columbus, OH 43215 (614) 488-5211

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A technician from Favret was called out to check on an A/C unit that was not blowing cold air. My tenant stated that the air coming from the vents was warm. Favret charges $140 for the first 30 minutes on site and an additional $40/15 minutes thereafter. With these rates, I would expect that the issue would be identified within the first 30 minutes. The technician was on site for nearly 3 hours and did not bother to notify me that it was going to take more than 30 minutes to resolve the issue. I was billed $370 for the visit. Once my tenant arrived home later that day, the air conditioning unit was still blowing out warm air so the technician did not fix the issue. The invoice stated that the blower was disconnected and upon reconnecting the blower, cold air was blowing again. This directly conflicts with what the tenant stated multiple times that there was warm air blowing from the vents. Upon further investigation of Favret on the BBB site, it seems there has been another situation involving Favret that have the same characteristics of this scenario. I called another company to look at the issue. They found nothing that needed to be fixed. The second companies description of service stated that they tightened up some connections (which is what the first technician from Favret should have already done) and the unit was working again.

Desired Settlement: I believe the company has a responsibility to give notice that the work/time needed is going to take more than the first 30 minutes that is expected. To take my credit card number first before any work is done and to spend 3 hours on a job that does not fix the issue is absurd. Then, to charge for the time spent on an unresolved issue is unethical.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know. We’re sorry that Mr. ***** received service that prompted him to contact you with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused him. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them immediately. I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved with Mr. ***** and his tenant’s service work on the **** ** address.

I have done some research into this and your history and it appears Mr. ***** did pay us for our work. This is the only service call we have done for him at this address. I have also discussed this service with our Service Manager **** ***** and his phone conversation with Mr. *****. Mr. ***** supplied us with the other heating and air conditioning company service invoice after talking to our Service Manager. The comparison of the two is significant in analyzing the complaint. First comparison was easy to see in the difficulty both had just getting to this unit and time spent doing the trouble shooting and then repair. The unit is in a very unusual area or small crawl space with duct work and plumbing in front of it with no other access to it. The time spent removing this is what raised the time spent to just gain access to this unit. Once a technician has made his way through this it was not that difficult to diagnose and make repairs. Then putting this all back takes time as well.

Your complaint is based on the pricing of our labor charges. If Mr. ***** would have been present at the time with our service technician at his rental property he would understand why the invoice came to this amount. Your tenant was there and did sign off the work performed.

Mr. ***** never called us to let us know that he had further issues with this unit after we were there. Mr. ***** made this decision to call another company out to follow our service. Our Service Manager explained to Mr. ***** about our labor warranty and that the second service call if totally related to the first call within so many days would be at no charge for it if we ran the service call. This is why our Service Manager asked for a copy of the other service company to be able to compare the two services. The two services do appear to be similar when reading the copy of the other company’s work.

Settlement concession:
I will offer a concession as a resolution to this issue of reducing our labor charge and refund Mr. *****. I will refund Mr. ***** $214.00 in our review based on the other company’s work and expense charged on it. A check will be issued and mailed to Mr. ***** next week. We generally do not warrant our work if another company has been involved for very obvious reasons. And this obviously ends our responsibility for a warranty. 

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

3/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: COMPLAINT: DECEPTIVE AND MISLEADING ADVERTISING/PRICING -- FAVRET SERVICE CONTRACTS GUARANTEE A 10% PARTS DISCOUNT BUT IN REALITY FAVRET CHARGED A 113% MARK UP “AFTER” DISCOUNT. FAVRET ORIGINALLY TRIED TO CHARGE ME $1,455 (MINUS THE 10% DISCOUNT) FOR A PART WITH A MANUFACTURER’S SUGGESTED LIST PRICE OF ONLY $612. IN EFFECT, FAVRET’S 10% DISCOUNT ACTUALLY AMOUNTED TO A 113% MARKUP OVER MANUFACTURER’S SUGGESTED LIST PRICE! Manufacturer List Price $ 612.00. Favret price $1,455.00. Favret price minus 10% discount $1300.50. Favret Mark up “before” discount $843.00. 138% Mark up over list price. Favret Mark up “after” discount $688.50. 113% Mark up over list price. Does a 113% mark up over manufacturer’s suggested list price sound like a 10% discount to you? When I complained Favret dropped the price down to $945. But that was still a 70% mark up above manufacturer’s suggested list price and a 135% mark up over Favret’s actual cost. Make no mistake. I called ***** Corporate headquarters directly to confirm the official list price. And Favret confirmed their cost was $402. Favret’s Service Contract states in writing: “All parts are discounted 10%.” An ordinary, reasonable person would assume the service discount applies to “suggested list”, not an artificial 138% mark up. I asked Favret to honor the manufacturer’s official list price but they insisted on inventing their own artificial prices. What makes matters worse is the generosity I’ve shown Favret in the past. The previous year a Favret employee doing repairs on my business accidentally put a hole in my roof just before a weekend downpour. He also managed to rip out our gutter with his ladder. Our office was flooded over the weekend and I lost a full day’s work due to clean up and repairs. I never charged Favret for my time. And because the gutters were old I didn’t charge Favret for the gutter repairs. I even prorated the damage to the carpet. The value of my time and my building’s repairs were “many” times greater than the amount in dispute. But in spite of my past generosity Favret would not honor manufacturer prices. I was guaranteed a 10% discount in writing. In reality I was hit with a significant mark up over suggested list price. Even with the additional discount, Favret marked the price up 70% before giving me a 10% discount. This is deceptive and misleading. FAVRET REVISED PRICING: Manufacturer List Price $ 612.00. Favret’s 2nd price $1,039.50. Favret’s 2nd price minus 10% discount $ 945.00. Favret Mark up “before” discount $427.50. 70% Mark up over list price. The price for this part should have been about $400.00 lower ($550.80, not $945.00). And this does not address the other parts on the invoice that were presumably marked up a full 138%.

Desired Settlement: Favret’s invoice should base the 10% discount on the manufacturer’s suggested list prices for “ALL” repair parts – circuit board kit, flame sensor and gas valve. Please refund the difference.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved with Mr. ****’s service work on ******* ***** plus his work we did at his work the *********** **********.

Mr. **** used our services at his office a little over a year ago and we did incur a property damage issue from a leaking rubber roof and old failing storm gutters. We paid for all the work need to correct the damage issue at that time and at the time it was settled immediately without question on Mr. ****’s part. It appears Mr. **** feels it was not settled. He gave us another invoice recently to offset his invoice at his home.

I have done some research into this and the ***** Company does not have a suggest list for retail pricing on their parts. Nor do they set wholesale price to all the contractors buying from their wholesale distributors. The ***** Company does not set retail pricing nor does any other wholesaler manufacturer dictate retail pricing to any contractor. Every Business has their own individual business directives to cover their business expenses and so on. Today’s business expenses are an increasing list and hefty amount that continues to climb.

Your dispute is based on the arbitrary notion of a set retail pricing in our industry. We are a retailer not a wholesaler. We have a warranty to back-up our work and that has a cost to it plus other operational expenses go into our pricing. Our costs were greater than what was in the complaint. Our margins are in line with our industry. Your Service Agreement reduced this repair very significantly covering all the labor and discounts beyond the normal for the parts. We settled all the property damage problems quickly over one year ago for your business. The impression we have from you then is it was settled without question.

Settlement concession: I will offer a concession as a resolution to this issue. I will return your payment of the Service Agreement of $255.00 and cancel it. This is actual brings our cost in this matter down to reflect as a 0% on a profit considering cost of labor. This will then clear your account and agreements involved with us.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Consumer Response:

I spoke with a senior service technician at **** ******* *** ******* who has over 25 years experience. He told me that based on his experience, Favret’s mark up on this circuit board was on the high end. Go online and you will find the circuit board for $1,000.00 less than Favret’s $1,455.00 price. 

But rather than argue this point further it is probably best to compromise and accept Favret’s offer to cancel the service contract and refund the difference.
















1/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thank you for hearing this complaint. I have a service contract with this company that includes free service calls and I would have to pay for all parts for my Heating and Cooling system. I gladly paid for the service up front in April of 2013. They sent a Service tech to my home in April to check out my AC and Furnance and everything checked out fine. Recently during a historic Artic Vortex, my furnance stopped working. I called my insurance company (because I also have insurance on all my appliances through a National Home Warranty Service)and because all companies they use were swamped, they told me to call anyone to come out and fix the furnace. I chose Favret. They sent a Service Tech out and he deemed the Furnance completely unserviceable and surmised that we needed a New Furnance as this one was unsafe to operate. He fixed the furnance (new igniter), but decided to turn it off in -6 degrees tempertures. I begged him to contact my Insurance company to explain what was wrong with the furnance so they could make arrangements to get us a new furnance (he kept refusing saying that was my job- obviously I am not a HVAC tech and could not explain what was wrong with my furnance. He said he would call them but charge my family to talk on the phone. Utimately they charged us $120 for making a phone call and they did not follow up with the insurance company to explain how much it would cost to fix. We had to call in another company who deemed the furnance fine and here we are several weeks later and the furnace has been working great. I am not why a company sells you a Service Contract, refuses to work with insurance companies to remedy issues, but yet still charges you $120 for making a fruitless phone call with no follow up. I have paid the bil, but have lost all trust in confidence in this company, who at all cost was more interested in selling me a new furnace (even willing to let my pipes freeze), but when they found out they had to talk to a warranty company refused to talk?

Desired Settlement: I think an explaination is warranted as they have refused to comprimise with my family while I think trying to exploit us during a very vulnerable time (Artic Vortex). If a new furnace was needed why would they not explain that to the insurance company so we could have gotten a new one? I would have only had to pay $100 for a new furnance (my deductable) but ended up paying $120 for them to make a fruitless phone call and refusing to follow up with needed facts?

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved in the service call for Mr. ****** on January 2, 2014.

I have done some research into this and the history and it appears Mr. ****** did pay us for our work. I have also discussed your service history with the ******* ******* **** ***** and your phone conversation with him. I apologize for any problems our company caused in this repair.

Your complaint is based on two issues. The first one is on the furnace failure in your vacant home. You called for service we responded immediately that same day. We found the initial problem of a failed part and replaced it. Once the furnace was up and running the furnace indicated another problem. This problem is a failed heat exchanger on a 20 year old furnace. This can be a rather large repair and a very expensive one. If left as it was and the furnace operating it might cause a health risk. This was all discussed with you. We then discussed this with your Home Warranty representatives with several conversations discussing several alternatives. Your second issue is on a purposed business model of falsely diagnosing a failed furnace and then trying to sell a furnace. Our technician involved with this repair never had this intent. Our Company has never operated any scam what so ever. Your invoice was based on the part used and the extra time spent on the phone with your insurance company. The Service Agreement does cover labor repairs expense. It does not cover the parts for repairs or for a service tech extensive time on the phone on hold where he could be out repairing another customer’s furnace.

Settlement concession: I will offer a concession as a resolution to this issue and reimburse Mr. ****** the service labor charge he paid of $108.00. We will mail a check out for this amount. The part is chargeable and you were given a discount as noted on your invoice.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

**** ******

*********

Consumer Response:

Thank you for the response. The part about not paying was not true as you processed my Master Card payment of $184. Sorry it had to go this far, but I fail to understand how it was easier to charge me $120 for a phone call? We greatly appreciate the concerns for Safety and have had the furnance fully inspected by another company with the following information and testing conducted:

Below is the other company's response verbatim:

 I arrived and found no problems with Furnance. Customer had another company out that said heat exchanger was cracked. Removed burners and checked all cells. No cracks were seen at this time. Very little rusting in heat exchanger. Ran a combustion test which was normal 387* Fluegas, 81.2% eff, 60.8% excess air, 6.95% co2, 8.5% 02. There is not ambient carbon monixide and no monixide in supply air. Carbon minoxide (sic) levels in flue are in the normal range at 15 ppm air free and 9ppm. Blower motor and inducer motor have normal amp readings. Found no problems with the Furnance at this time.

Below is the Favret response verbatim:

Found HSI bad, replaced HSI, unit then fixed. Also found cracked Heat exchanger. Also flex Gas line in Burner Comp, and draft motor pulling High Amps and could fail.Shut off gas and elec to furnance. Unit not safe to run. Do not use Furnance. Unit needs to be replaced.

I personally watched the other company conduct all test and he was there much longer than Favret. As you can see they offered much more detail and the inspection seemed to be more precise. When I called your company back, I was more than willing to pay for services rendered, but asked the question about why I was charged $120 for the Service Call? I was in a Service agreement with your company which should cover Service charges- which was also paid to your company in advance in April-...the response I got back was that the tech had to call the Insurance Company and he was going to charge me for the time on the phone.

I just want it to be known, that I have had a Warranty with *** (a national home warranty company) for over 8 years and a new furnance would have only cost us the deductible- $100. I have had several homes in the past and I have had a Furnance replaced by this warranty company at another property? So, bottom line...the $120 phone call charge was more than what a new furnace would have cost me if your team would have been able to make the case that the furnance really needed to be replaced? So from my vantage point, look at your team's response and the other company's response and you decide for your self? If my safety was really in question, how could you not have made the seemingly compelling case for a new furnance, but still chage me $120 for a phone call that yielded no results other than us having to call someone else? 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******




















9/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called your company around October 2012 for service on my rental property at **** ********* Road, Columbus, Ohio 43220. A guy spent about 1.5 hrs just changing a piece of wire connected to the breaker and charged me more than 160 dollars. He told me that warranty covered 30 month labor. A few days later, the tenant called me about the furnace problem again. I called your company and asked the lady who answered the phone whether it would be in warranty for the service. She said yes. Another guy came and found a sequencer was bad. I was not told how much it was and a new sequencer was put on. A few days later, the tenant called me again that something was wrong with the furnace. I called your company again and a guy came and told me a breaker was bad and thermostat was not controlling on Tuesday night. The guy told me it would take three days to order a new one and I told him to go ahead to order one. Then on Friday, I called your company again asking about whether a new breaker has arrived yet. I was told that no breaker had been ordered. I was really upset since the tenant had been no heat for three days. I called your company several times that day and asked to order a new one right away. Finally, the breaker was ordered and was put it on. I never received the bill in 2012 and I thought it was in warranty until an auditor called me and I gave him my address for him to send the bill. Again I did not receive a bill from your company until one day in January **** in your company called me and left a very threatening message to hire a lawyer and sue me for nonpayment. I called **** right back and asking him to send the bill to my fax. Next day, I got the fax and the bill was more than 600 dollars. I called service manager, **** ******. I told him that I was not happy about your company's service and I had some friend to check the furnace early in January. My friend told me that the sequencer is still bad and someone from Favret disconnected the wire to the third heating coil.

Desired Settlement: Please have someone in your company to connect the wire to the third heating element and fix furnace problems or refund what I had paid since the problem has not been fixed.

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service,
and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it's important for us to know.

We're sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any
inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in
a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and I've
reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved with your tenant's service work on *********
road.

I sincerely apologize if you felt you were treated rudely in anyway concerning these repairs and the collection of
payment for them.

I have done some research into this and your history and it appears you did pay us for our work. I have also
discussed your service history with the Service Manager **** ***** and with the last service technician. I asked
our Service Manager to contact you today and explain that we want to back-up our work at no charge to you.
Our work and any parts we used we will guarantee. We need to inspect them plus the furnace again for proper
operation since that is part of your request in a resolution to your complaint. The third electrical heating bank 
was not wired in before our work according to our last service technician. If it is something we missed or did not 
complete properly during our work we will take the necessary steps to correct it.

When Mr. ***** spoke with you today to see if we could arrange that follow-up service call you explained you
had some knowledgeable friend replace the sequencer and he made further repairs. You explained this was done 
in January before writing this complaint.  You made no contact with us about this. You explained to Mr. ***** how
this other individual made all the repairs and your desired settlement has been resolved before I could respond.

Settlement concession: Since this work has been done by another person after our work and you say it's resolved
I see no other solution redeemable or warranty required at this time.

Out customer's patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:Favret did not fix heating problems.  First time I called Favlet company, which sent a very inexperienced person to the property.  He told me that the wire was rusty and just changed a single wire, charging me more than 160 dollars.  The technician Favlet sent saw I was fixing the stove and talked me where I should buy a part to the stove, which I was not interested in since the technician charged me the time he stayed in the property.  He was supposed to fix the furnace, not hang in the property.  I was not happy about his work and I paid him anyway.  He did not find a real problem and told me I had warranty for 30 days.  Then the same problems happened again, they came back to fix the electric furnace on Nov. 5 and Nov. 13, which was within 30 days.  They still charged me $267.50 and $376.00 respectively on both visits.  Still, they had not fixed the problems.  If they could warrant all their workmanship, they should not charged me any dimes for subsequent visits.  After November 2012, we kept having same problems on the heating.  I have changed two sequencers and two circuit controls and asked friends, ******* heating and cooling, and ******* *** heating and cooling to fix it.  I have incurred more than $717.05 plus my time driving to ***** heating and cooling to get the sequencers and circuit breakers.  Attached please find the receipts.  They are not good and honest business people.  The last time in November, they told me that the circuit break was bad and wanted to change it.  I asked them to buy one right away and replace it.  They did not order the circuit breaker for three days and the house had been no heat for more than three days.  I called Favlet on the fourth day, I remember it was Friday, the lady on the phone told me Favlet had not placed the order yet.   What kind of this reputable company it is? How could they treat customers like this?  We totally do not trust them anymore.  Even though they offered to fix their problems that they could not fix it before, we could not afford them back to our property to mess up our heating and cooling system.  If they warrant their workmanship, they should not charge us the subsequent visit.  Even worst, Favlet's favorite employee **** called me and  threatened to sue me if I did not pay $645.64 for the service charge on November which they did not fix anything.  The last time ******* *** heating and cooling *** ***** came, he found problems that Favret had messed up.  We asked the service manager to talk to ******* *** to get more information on this and *** may explain the problems better than I do.  Therefore, I respectfully asked Favlet returned all the money I paid to them in an amount excess $800.

Regards,

***** ***






























Business Response:

May 6, 2013

BBB of Central Ohio

1169 Dublin road

Columbus, OH 43215

***** ***** *****

Dispute resolution

RE: Case ID *******, Mr. ***** ***, **** ******** road, Columbus, OH *****, work done at **** ********* road.



Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

This is a time line of events when we got started with this repair. It was the last week of October and the first week in November 2012 when we did our work on Mr. ***** rental apartment’s furnace. It was mid-February we received your notice from the BBB about our work. That is over 90 days later. We did not receive a service complaint till then. Once we did receive the complaint we acted immediately and our Service Manager called Mr. *** to follow-up on these issues he raised in his original complaint. Our Service Manager was ready to send out a service technician at no charge to do a diagnosis on his furnace. At that time Mr. *** told our Service Manager he had a family member do some further repairs to it and replaced another sequencer and it was working alright. This took place before February 20, 2013 because afterwards I responded to his complaint.

All the attached copies Mr. *** has provided with his complaint are dated after my first response on February 20, 2013 such as on February 22, 23 and 25, 2013. The furnace failed remarkably after receiving my response.

Then Mr. *** called our Service Manager on February 22, 2013 and sent a fax with a copy of a dated receipt for that same day for two sequencers from another heating company. This is an over the counter receipt. And Mr. *** must have had his friend do this work as well. Then on February 27, 2013 Mr. *** called our Service Manager and explained he had the furnace worked on again by now a third or fourth person/company. Mr. *** faxed over his invoices dated February 23 and 25, 2013 that have descriptions of his work and parts used. These invoices total $653.00. Mr. *** had three other companies/individuals work on this furnace after receiving my response.

This furnace is 15 plus years old per the equipment information and we have not been involved in maintaining it. The heat pump is six years old and no request was done by the owner to do maintenance per our records.

First and foremost our work is warranted for 30 days. The parts we use are warranted by the manufacturer for their limited time warranty for defects.

We backed up our warranty by not charging Mr. *** for subsequent service calls after the first call and then made service charge adjustments by reducing our invoices for the parts used and work repairing the furnace. Any delays in our work were due to the parts not being available and not from us not ordering them on time.

The Favret Company cannot be responsible for all these other individuals working on it especially when our work was completed over 90 days prior to his original complaint and the warranty was for 60 days. We would be willing and capable to repair our work and extend a warranty on it if we were ask to and had our technicians working on it. Our technician did not create this problem or make it a larger one.

Our assessment of the work we did to this furnace was not in total related to the work done by the third or fourth company’s work. It was probably needed and it goes beyond what we did. If it was related to our work then a portion of Mr. ***’s request of a reimbursement might be considered. The second person’s work we have nothing to base it on other than he has a copy of a counter receipt for a sequencer and no description of work performed for our review. To address this in the concession leaves too much in doubt to its use and Mr. *** had to call a third company afterwards.

Settlement concession: Since Mr. *** was not happy with the results of our first service call on October 27, 2012 I will give him back his money for this service invoice of $160.50. Our following service repairs have been discounted.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

**** ******

*********

Consumer Response:  

Nice to talk to you over the phone today.  Thanks for your time and patience.  I really appreciated.   I would like to settle with the Favret company for $643.50, which were the charge on Nov. 5 and Nov. 13.  The heating and cooling system was installed by Favret and maintained by Favret over the years.  The Favret should have the ability to fix their own heating and cooling system first time the technician came to the house.  However, the technician the Favret sent was not capable in diagnozing and fixing the problems.  The subsequent visits should be covered by their warranties.  Even after Nov. 5th and Nov. 13's visits, Favret still could not fix the problem existed.  That was the reason we had to bring other parties to fix it.  We had lost faith in asking Favret company to fix the problems they created, such as wiring.  Please let me know if you have any questions.
 
Thanks,

Business Response:

June 17, 2013

BBB of Central Ohio

1169 Dublin road

Columbus, OH 43215

***** ***** *****

Dispute resolution

RE: Case ID 9406960, Mr. ***** ***, **** ******** road, Columbus, OH *****, work done at **** ********* road.

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

This is now the third attempted to reply to his complaint and I have already included an accurate time line to our work for him. He now thinks we installed the furnace and we did not install it. Mr. *** mentioned we maintained his furnace over the years and the truth is we did not worked on it until the first call in October and that was for a no heat. That furnace is over 15 years old and we know it was not maintained or serviced regularly, at the least by our company.

We were never aware that his furnace was in need of further repair until the complaint was filed in February, over 90 days after we completed the repair. We spoke to him in January in making a collection call because he was late in paying us and he told us things were fine now and he paid us in late January. The furnace was working fine when we were completed. Then Mr. *** makes his complaint to the BBB in early February. After my first response in February is when Mr. *** has the furnace worked on by several different individuals.

All the attached copies Mr. *** has provided with his complaint are from three other companies and dated after my first response on February 20, 2013, such as on February 22, 23 and 25, 2013. The furnace failed remarkably after receiving my response to the complaint he filed. The furnace was not in need of repair when he filed his complaint.

First and foremost our work is warranted for 30 days. I have reviewed the warranty implications and we have backed that condition. We do not guarantee or cover another company’s work. The parts we use are warranted by the manufacturer for their limited time warranty for defects.

Our technician did not create this problem or make it a larger one. We are more than capable of repairing this furnace. The problem in the furnace is due to the age and multiple failures. Then the problem is when comparing other individuals making different repairs to it, similar to ours but not the same.

Settlement concession: Mr. *** filed a complaint with his credit card company that he used to pay us disputing our work and is waiting that settlement review response. This is in the bank’s processes now. We filed our response to this dispute and we are waiting to read the response from his bank.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

**** ******

*********

Consumer Response: Thanks for your help in resolving our complaint.  I have read Mr. ****** reply and completely disagree with what he said.  We want Favret to refund $645.64 since services performed at 11/5 and 11/13 were covered by 30-day warranty and did not fix the problems.
 
First and formost, from the sticker near the furnace, there is a service record from Favret company.  Mr. Favret mentioned that they had never worked on it until the first call in October last year.  This is simply not ture.  The service record has shown that among the service they did before october was that technician No. *** from Favret installed heat pump and coil on June 30, 2006 .  And I called the handyman who requested services from Favret and also confirmed the services performed by Favret over a long period of time.   
 
The reason I called Favret because Favret serviced the furnace before and I found the number on the sticker near Furnace.  And I saw a lot of Favret trucks on the street and I heard good things about Favret heating and cooling.  We purchased the property around Sept. 2012 and Favret used to service the furnace on the property we bought and must have known the furnace well.  I don't know why Favret denied that they ever worked on our furnace.  Anyway, this is another example that Favret did not have a good record of service. I called Favret last year and to my disappointment, the technician showed up 1.5 hr late.  I was going to cancell his service and changed to next day because I had other arrangement, the technician told me that I had to pay more if I called service next day which was Sunday.  Then the guy finally came to the house, and simply just replaced a wire and spent quite a bit time talking with me how to fix my stove oven.   Again he charged me on hourly basis and really did not want to talk about my oven.   For simple wire replacement, he charged me over $160 for more than one hour work.  And he told me that he warranted for 30 day labor and parts.  He did not record the service on the service record near the furnice, of course.  Within 30 days, the furnace was needing to be fixed again for the same reason on Nov. 5, 2012, and again on Nov. 13, 2012.  It seemed like they could not find what the real problems were.  On Nov. 13, 2012, Tuesday, the tech from Favret called me after visiting my property and told me that he had to order a new control for the furnace.  I immediately asked him to order a new one right away.  He told me that it would take three days until the ordered part would arrive in.  
 
I asked him whether we could get it earlier since it was pretty chilly during evenings.  He said the Friday would be best he could do.  Anyway, we waited on Tuesday night, Wednesday night, and Thursday without heat and finally Friday came and we called Favret.  Sure enough Favret forgot to order the part.  We were really upset and called them several times on that day and they finaly ordered one from local store and installed it.  Several days later, the furnace had same problems again and we decided not to get help from Favret  because we had the very bad experience with Favret and even though we thought it was still covered by warrany.  I had friends to help to fix the furnace over a period of time, then ******* and ******* *** when our friend left country.  
 
One day I got a message from **** from Favret and thretening to sue me and take my property away if I did not pay Favret $645.64.  I was shocked and surprised.  Before **** called me, we never received any invoice or anything from Favret about incurred charges on Nov. 5 and Nov. 13.  I thought it would be covered by warranty.  They have sent the invoice to previous owner of the house.  I called **** right away and asked him to fax the invoice to me.  We paid the charge the sam day we got faxed invoice under the fear that Favret would take our property away.  
 
I called back Favret and had a chance to talk to service manager ****.  **** told me that my furnace needed a special control that would be expensive and take several days to receive one.  That was the reason it took them three days to get it.  That was really BS.  The control they ordered was defective and I took the control they ordered and drove to ***** heating and Cooling at ********* ***., bought the same control at the same day.  Favret simply forgot to order the part on Tuesday night and tried to cover it up.  
******* ***** that I hired from ******* *** told me that my furnace does not need a control and our air handler of the furnace was wired incorrectly.  *** offered to explain it to Favret.  When I talked to Favret service manager ****, who arrogantly refused to do that.  A overall experience with Favret was really really bad and I wanted to warn everyone who wants to use Favret service and be aware of that. Because I paid $645.64 to Favret under duress and I want a refund.  Services on Nov. 5 and 13 should be a part of warranty and should not be charged to me.
 
Thanks,

*****

Business Response:

September 24, 2013

BBB of Central Ohio

1169 Dublin road

Columbus, OH 43215

***** ***** *****

Dispute resolution

RE: Case ID *******, Mr. ***** ***, **** ******** road, Columbus, OH *****, work done at **** ********* road.


Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

This is the fourth response to his complaint. I explained our position on February 20, 2013, May 6, 2013 and on June 17, 2013. In all of our responses to Mr. ***’s complaint we have stated the basic truth. That’s why I have placed a time line to all our dealing with Mr. *** as to better understand what took place and when.

Mr. *** was delinquent in paying us and we had to contact him and request payment. Even then he did not mention that the furnace was failing to heat.

We were never aware that his furnace was in need of further repair until after the complaint was filed with the BBB in late February, over 90 days after we completed the repair. We called him and offered to diagnose it free of charge and he refused. He had called someone else in the family to come and make repairs.

The furnace was not in need of repair when he filed his complaint. He did not refute our work until he was confronted to pay us for our work in late January. His issue was then more about the amount than the work. We did not charge him for all our service calls and made reductions reflecting previous service calls, and warrantying work that was related.

First and foremost our work is warranted for 30 days. I have reviewed the warranty implications and we have backed that condition. We do not guarantee or cover another company’s work. The parts we use are warranted by the manufacturer for their limited time warranty for defects.

Our technician did not create this problem or make it a larger one. We are more than capable of repairing this furnace. The problem in the furnace is due to the age and multiple failures. Then the other problem is when comparing other individuals making different statement and repairs to it, and not the same as our work.

Settlement: In June Mr. *** filed a complaint with his credit card company that he used to pay us disputing our work. In my June response about this ongoing complaint we were awaiting the Bank’s review. The response from the Bank’s review agreed with our position and documentation. Mr. *** is wrong on several accounts and his request for his payment returned to him is wrong as well. If Mr. *** was correct there would be no dispute from our end.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

**** ******

*********

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 6-17-13, favret repairman says ac fan motor is bad and compressor is going out. favret would call me for the price of a new unit the next day. I received a 2nd opinion from another hvac company. Not only does the fan motor work but the 2nd company could find nothing wrong with the compressor. favret repairman on 6-17-13 sabotaged motor by cutting the wires, instead of directly disconnecting the fan motor, and stealing the nuts that hold the motor to the top of the ac cage. He did this to make it more difficult for me to get a second opinion. 2nd company was able to fix these issues and get my ac up and running using the very same motor favret repairman claimed was bad, despite favrets unethical business practices and outright theft.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the $391.50 that was scammed from me and an apology from the owner of the company.

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know. We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others staff that were involved with Mr. *****’s service call for an air conditioning not cooling. I have asked our Service Manager **** ***** to look into this complaint immediately once we received it. I asked him to pull our technician and our invoices for his stated work for evaluation. Mr. ***** called Mr. ***** this morning, June 18, 2013, to review with Mr. ***** what his view of things. Mr. ***** is going to send us a faxed copy of the other company’s invoice for review and comparison. I assure you we are not out to scam anyone and will not tolerate an employee as you described here “despite Favret unethical business practices and outright theft”. I can only presume on our previous services to Mr. ***** home that we did a proper service on his system. Mr. *****’s complaint is one we don’t take lightly. Our team express our sincerely apologies for any problems arising from this mistake our technician made or his inability to properly repair you system when it had failed you. Settlement concession: Once we had all the information from our technician and from the other company’s service invoice it is apparent the unit needs repaired further or replaced since it is a 17 year old air conditioner system. I will have our office send you back your full amount for our service call immediately.   Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and again we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service. Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***, the salesperson, sold me a state of the art ******** central air system for nearly $13,000. He promised installation would be completed in no later than 1.5 days. Thus far, it's been 3 days and not even close to completion. 1st of all, the Infinity system wasn't even in Columbus the day of installation! Then, ****, the older man, showed up, unannounced. Then **** told me he broke the safety. He came back to setup the Infinity controller, during which he poked a hole through the drywall in the pantry. ***, the salesperson, promised to fix and have not heard back. Then, 1-2 days after turning on the system (AC works but heater is NOT connected), the system leaked all over the garage floor and ruined the garage ceiling and I don't know what else in the attic. In other words, perhaps thousands of dollars in damage. Come to find out, the AC in the attic had no safety and was not even leveled, hence the water damage. No word from the salesperson and Favret wants to send the same person to fix the AC - the same one who created the damage. This is entirely unacceptable. Lastly, thus far a total of 4 days (3 installation plus 1 day of on-call person temporarily leveling the system), has been when my 33-year-old husband was hospitalized for 22 days for sepsis and emergency open heart surgery, of which *** the salesperson was aware. I thought I'd hired a company to remove stress from my home, not add to it and then add stress in the form of extensive damage. Lastly, per instructions of ********* Hospital, my husband cannot be in 80-plus degree air due to his surgery. In other words, Favret may be threatening the health of my husband due to severe incompetence.

Desired Settlement: I want the entire system set up, to perfection, by May 31, 2013. I also want any and all water damage fixed by May 31, 2013. Same for the hole in the drywall and any other damage created that has not been foreseen. I wamt a refund/discount on the labor/******** system as well. I want a warranty at least twice the amount of what is currently provided.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others staff that were involved with Mrs. *******’s new equipment purchase and installation work.

I have done some research into the history. I have asked our Service Manager **** ***** to inspect the water damage in your garage attic and the hole in your pantry ceiling. We intended to expedite all of our work and will do so to finish it now. I want his report as to what is the damage. The hole in the ceiling looks to be minor and we can repair it from Mrs. *******’s photos she sent us. I told him to go over the installation and operation of your new equipment for quality assurances for both of us.

Mrs *******’s complaint is one we don’t take lightly. I and our team express our thanks for buying from us and sincerely apologize for any problems arising from this installation.

Settlement concession: Mrs. *******’s request to have all issues resolved immediately is understandable and we have completed them. Mrs. *******’s request for extending the warranty is complicated when it involves a manufacturer’s warranty and I cannot extend it. The warranty is at the maximum available to us now. As a reference we will have this filed in her hard fill as well as in the computer history, if there is a need to discuss a warranty condition at some later date. We incurred added expense with delays on scheduling and from the aftermath of another contractor disrupting the wiring we installed. We had to correct it to complete our work.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and again we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

 

1/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a Maintenance service contract customer of your company for several years. I have an agreement for the Oil furnace and Air conditioning unit at my home at 9522 ********* **** Rd., Johnstown, Ohio 43031. My last service experience with Favret in October and November 2012 was entirely unacceptable. Your technician came and told me I needed a lot of new parts. As the possibiity of cold weather was eminent, I made several status calls to your office which were never returned. I finally got another service facility to check things out and the furnace was up and running in short order. I called your office and finally reached someone and asked them to cancel my contract and return my money. That person said she would have to speak with a manager. I have not received a response call or a refund of my service contract money. Its more than 60 days without a response from your company. Why? With the first visit by the technician for an inspection and he did something to cause soot in the furnace room. The technician had no clean up supplies and resorted to using toilet paper to attempt cleanup. In summary, I want a return of the money of the unused portion of my service contract. I also paid another service bill Invoice ****** from your company for $42.70. All of my documentation is enclosed. May I hear from you soon? Im asking the BBB to intercede also to get the issue resolved. Remember, SERVICE SELLS! Truly yours, 

Desired Settlement: In summary, I want a return of the money of the unused portion of my service contract. I also paid another service bill Invoice ****** from your company for $42.70.

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know. We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and with this case I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved. I sincerely apologize to you for us dropping the ball on this. I have done some research into this and your history and it appears we sent you a check on 1/4/2013 for $86.00. This amount is not a full settlement. I have an additional amount of $187.00 to settle your request to cancel and refund the unused portion of your service agreement. Your request for the refunding the service call is another matter. That amount is strictly for the maintenance parts required for your annual maintenance for an oil furnace. We discounted that amount as well per your agreement. That amount does not cover any payment for our services. Again I apologize for not following up on our work and I am looking into this as to why this happened. Your refund is in processing as of 1/8/2013 and it will be mailed out to you with this letter. Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service. Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention. Sincerely,  

1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My furnance stopped working in October contacted The Favret Company to check to see what the problem was and to fix the problem they charged me over $400.00 for that call then two months later furnance stopped working again they came out and charged me another $429.00 because they stated the motor went bad. The first time they came out it was for another part. I contacted this company because when the first diagnoise was completed it they should of detected a problem with the motor.I spoke with a company rep who rudely told me if I didn't like it they can come and take the part out. This rep (**** I believe) stated that when they were there in October there was not indiciation that the motor was going bad. This rep was very unprofessional and rude. My family has done business with this company for well over 10 years and this is the first ime we have complained and to get treated that way is totally unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: willing to pay for the part but not the additional service fees, the cost of the part $250.00 additional fees made the total bill $429.50

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know. We’re sorry that Ms. ***** received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and with this case I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved. When I checked our customer history for Ms. ***** and this address it shows a very limited experience or history. The 2012 history for service calls shows one on 10/10/2012 and then a second service call over two months later on 12/22/2012. The first call in October was for their 22 year old furnace had stopped heating. Our technician replaced a gas valve and found nothing else wrong. On the second call, on a Saturday 12/22/12, the customer requested another service call for the furnace not heating. Our technician met the owner and our technician told him that the blower motor had failed and it was not related to our work we did in October. The owner said to our technician to repair it and then left the premises. The motor must have been working for the two plus months after the repair in October. The two calls are replacing two different parts that failed two plus months apart in their rather old furnace. We often warranty our work beyond our normal terms as stated on the invoice if it was the same repair and or it was due to poor craftsmanship or a same part failure. This second servicing was for a different part and not related to the gas valve and it can fail without any indication as to when and if it will fail. The first call warranty does not cover work we did not perform, only work we did perform. Customer’s Desired Settlement: willing to pay for the part but not the additional service fees, the cost of the part $250.00 additional fees made the total bill $429.50 Your request above for a concession to resolve this dispute I can work with you to reduce this invoice. To start off the parts total is $269.00 and the labor is $160.50. I will reduce the labor charge to $77.00 and add that with the parts it reduces the total. It is now $346.00. This concession is a credit of $83.50 off the original amount of $429.50. The labor amount is for the time to install the new motor and this would have been that same amount in October if it had failed then with the gas valve. I have removed any additional service fees as you requested above. I’ll make one other suggestion and that is this furnace is old and it will continue to have more failures. It is now indicating this and it is time to have it replaced before it starts failing again and creating more expense to maintain it. Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service. Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention. Sincerely, **** ****** President

8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Favret Heating and Cooling technician came to my residence 7/3/12 to service my Carrier geothermal air conditioner, completely misdiagnosed the problem, and possibly caused damage to my system by over charging it with refrigerant. The technician was at my house for a total of an hour, of which fifteen minutes was spent in his van looking for a volt meter he left at the previous job. 

After letting him use my volt meter to do his work he spent the rest of his time looking for a system fault, for which he could not find, and eventually determined that the system was a pound low on refrigerant and had a slow leak. Ten minutes after leaving my air conditioner was functioning the same way as before the technician arrived, and I felt as if I was scammed out of $189.00.      

Upon discussing my problem with another company in a five minute phone conversation I was told to try to clean out the condensate drain line, which turned out to be the problem all along. After repairing the unit myself I decided to contact Favret on 7/5/12 to setup an appointment for a technician to return 7/6/12 and check to make sure I had the proper charge on my system. 

On 7/6/12 before the technician arrived I decided to contact Favret to express my concerns about my service experience to a supervisor. The service manager was on vacation so I spoke to **** ******. I told him I was able to repair the unit myself and asked if he could please send out another technician to determine if my unit was functioning properly, I really didn't want to deal with the same technician. After explaining the situation he voluntarily agreed to refund my $189.00 that I had spent on the previous service call but said he would not send another technician out to check to make sure my unit was functioning properly. He said, "there are only a few trained technicians in central Ohio qualified to work on geothermal systems, and good luck finding one to come out and service my unit in the future". This is extremely poor customer service

Desired Settlement: First, I would like the BBB to make sure that I properly receive the $189.00 refund I was promised. Next, I would like my experience with this company to be used as a future reference when consumers are trying to decide who to use for their home heating and cooling service provider. I made every attempt to resolve this matter with Favret, and even suggested once everything was functioning properly I would be interested in an annual service contract, but they kicked me to the curb.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that Mr. ******* received service that prompted him to contact you with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused him. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and with this case I’ve reviewed this complaint.

On Friday morning 7/6/2012 our dispatcher talked to Mr. ******* about the scheduled service call to his home that day. Mr. ******* then expressed his complaint concerning our previous service call on 7/3/2012, our only service call to his home. Our dispatcher then gave the information about the complaint to me so I could call him back immediately. When our conversation started Mr. ******* clearly expressed his dissatisfaction with the previous service technician and repeatedly explained how he, Mr. ******* fixed the system, a Geo-Thermal Heat Pump, and how we did not meet his expectations. I then apologized to him and offered immediately to give him a refund of his money back for the entire service call. I explained I had to find his invoice to be able to render the credit to his account. He continued to question our ability to service his equipment. I explained our technician is certified and trained but possibly not for his system. Mr. ******* explained how he was able to repair it and how he has friends in the HVAC service business that could fix it. I expressed to him that it was in his and our best interest for him to find another servicer to work on a Geo Thermal system since he was so appalled with our last call. That a Geo Thermal heat pump unit requires a service technician trained to service this system. Since this is the one and only service call we performed at his home and we did not install the system and he expressed his ability to work on the system and fix it and he had friends that could work on it I explained it would be best we discontinue our work for him.

His full refund is in processing as of 7/9/2012 and is a credit on his credit card that he used to pay us.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting that expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention and his request for a settlement has been met.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: I believe the business did not give an accurate account of what really happened.  When I initially contacted the company with my complaint I felt like **** was only half hearing what I was trying to tell him.  Initially I contacted the Favret company looking for advice on how to proceed with further service on my furnace.  I asked for no refund and was just trying to get a different technician to come out because I wasn't sure the first technician knew what he was doing when it came to geo systems.  I told **** that I believed I might have been able to fix the unit myself by performing a basic task that was suggested to me by the company that installed the furnace, which I was asked to call by his company to help determine whether the furnace might still be under warranty.  It is at this point where I believe **** began to get angry with me because he said even though he thought his first technician "really missed the ball" on this one he would not send one of his other qualified technicians out to make sure the system was functioning properly, a service I was willing to pay for to give me peace of mind.  I told **** I was concerned that since the first technician misdiagnosed the problem, he may have actually done more harm than good by adding refrigerant that was not needed.  I told **** that I had discussed this possibility with two guys I know, who used to work in the heating and cooling industry, and they had told me that adding refrigerant when not needed could cause damage to a compressor.  At no time did I say I had friends that could work on my system, otherwise I would have never called Favret.  Also, at no time did **** ever apologize or show any concern for the concerns I was raising about the level of service I experienced with the Favret company.  The bottom line is that I tried to maintain a relationship with Favret, and even expressed interest in an annual service contract once we ironed out the current problem, but as I said before I was kicked to the curb by the Favret company.  In his response **** seems to make a point of saying there was only one service call made to my residence.  That was by his choice not mine.  This is the worst customer service experience I have ever had, especially when dealing with the president of a company.  There was no effort made in anyway to keep me as a customer.


Once I receive my refund I will consider this complaint administratively resolved and expect no further correspondence from the business.  





























8/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Favret performed maintenance on my home air conditioner. After maintenance was performed the Favret rep at our house convinced my wife to sign up for an agreement for the cost of $241 for future maintenance services (which were not originally requested in the sales call), evidenced by attached receipt. The total price charged to my wife on the day Favret visited my home was $323.80, which included the maintenance service performed that day, and the maintenance service contract for future services. When I called to rescind the future maintenance services agreement on the next business day I was told I would only receive $33 in refund for the rescinded agreement. Favret claims my total charges for the maintenance services provided to me on the day of the original visit was $290 and the service agreement charge (for future services) was only for $33, even though I have a receipt for the maintenance agreement which says I was charged $241 for the future maintenance services. First, Favret did not provide my wife notice of her 3 day right to rescind the future maintenance services agreement or a notice of cancellation form required under the Ohio Home Solicitation Act (ORC 1345.22). ORC 1345.21(6) specifically says that Home Sales Solicitation Act applies to the sale of "additional goods and services" offered by the seller even though the buyer initiated the request that the seller visit the house to perform the original services. ORC 1345.28 states that failure to comply with the Home Sales Solicitation Act is a deceptive act or practice in violation of the Ohio Consumer Sales Practices Act (O.R.C. 1345.02 et. seq.)Second, claiming that the value of the maintenance services agreement was only $33 (and only offering to refund $33 after the agreement was rescinded) even though I have a receipt that specifically says the agreement was for $241 is a deceptive act or practice in violation of the Ohio Consumer Sales Practices Act.

Desired Settlement: While I realized that I have recourse against Favret for the above stated violations of Ohio law at the Ohio Attorney General's office, I would prefer to settle this dispute without resorting to legal action. I am willing to pay Favret $57.80 which equals $323.80 (the original charge) minus $241 (maintenance agreement charge) minus $25 (for cancelled check fee incurred from cancelling the original payment). If my check has been cashed by Favret, I request that I receive a refund of $266.

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.We’re sorry that you received this dispute that prompted *** ***** to contact you with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused *** *****. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we’ve notified the proper department of your complaint.First thing I noticed in my assessment was this is the one and only service call we have performed for the White’s at this address. When **** ***** placed the service call on 6.29.2012 we quoted her our service rates and proceeded to schedule this service call on 7.6.2012. Our certified technician serviced the air conditioner with her approval on 7.6.2012. At the time of the service call our technician and **** ***** had a conversation about our service agreements for maintenance on the furnace and air conditioner that commenced with her agreeing to purchase one. The service call for that day would be included into the amount of the service agreement and **** ***** understood all that when evaluating the service agreement. **** ***** paid the service agreement amount plus for the parts used that day. On 7.9.2012 *** *****s calls our office and requests that the service agreement be canceled and we agreed. We then explained he owes for the service call. *** ***** argued that he wanted his money back and refused to discuss it. We said we would give that payment back on the basis that we felt he owed for the services we did on 7.6.2012. *** ***** did not agree to pay the amount and then hung up. *** ***** put a stop payment on the check before calling us. There has not been any payment made for our service call by ***. And *** ***** and they owe the amount of $285.00 for this service call. We have explained this to *** ***** since he stopped payment on the check. This action caused us to incur an expense from our bank for processing his bad check. *** *****’s desired resolution has no basis in fact and he owes us for our work. The ******* called us for service and we gave them our service rates and scheduled a call several days ahead. **** ***** made the decision when offered at the time of the service call to purchase the service agreement. *** ***** requested the service agreement be canceled days later. That was done with no disagreement or dispute on our part. *** ***** stopped his payment for that day’s work including the service agreement before calling us. The Favret Company requests payment of $285.00 from *** ***** for the work we quoted and performed on 7.6.2012. Our desired resolution: Please pay us for our work in the amount of $285.00 and we will waive the bank charges you caused us of $33.00. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.************** ***************

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The untruths with Favret's response are numerous.  First, Favret DID NOT quote my wife hourly rates on the phone.  Further, nowhere in writing (on its website or otherwise) did Favret list its hourly rates.   Ohio Consumer Sales Practices Act rules OAC 109:4-3-05 states that “at the time of the initial face to face contact and prior to the commencement of any repair or service” a company must provide a form notifying the consumer of its right to a written estimate.  The form also must contain a place for the consumer’s initials to either 1) acknowledge the written estimate provided or 2) waive the rights to a written estimate.  Favret neither provided my wife with a written estimate, nor notified her of her rights to a written estimate.  The only written documents provided to my wife were a receipt after the services were provided and a form describing the maintenance services agreement (MSA Form).  The MSA Form clearly states the MSA is for services provided IN THE FUTURE and the cost of the MSA is $241.  The receipt given to my wife also clearly states the cost of the MSA is $241.  After I lawfully rescinded the MSA as was my right under the Ohio Home Sales Solicitation Act, Favret then claimed that the cost of the MSA was only $33 and the cost of the maintenance services provided at my house was $290.  To put this in prospective, Favret is claiming that the TWO future maintenance visits to my house under the MSA costs roughly 1/9 of ONE maintenance service trip Favret actually provided. This is despite the fact that Favret did not disclose its hourly rates to my wife in writing or otherwise, and Favret did not provide my wife the written estimate acknowledgement form or the notice of cancellation form as required by Ohio Consumer protection laws.  Finally, I did not stop payment on the check until AFTER calling Favret, and Favret’s representative ******* notified me that he would be cashing the check, despite my notice of disputed charges.  On that call ******* HUNG UP ON ME while I was trying to explain to him my concerns.My initial offer stands. Also, if Favret agrees to this offer, I will agree to not file a complaint at the Ohio Attorney General’s Consumer Protection division for failure to provide the required disclosures under Ohio law including a written estimate form and notice of cancellation form (see OAC 109:4-3-05 and RC 1345.23).  I suspect that the Ohio Attorney General will have interest in these issues as it is likely that this is not the only instance Favret has utilized these unlawful business practices.   

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.*** ******* response to our side of the transaction is all second hand since he was not there nor was he involved in this transaction. *** ***** is accusing the Favret Company of deceiving our customer with illegal business practices. *** ***** also has twisted the story to his own fabrication to fit his complaint to avoid paying us for our quoted service work. The facts are what were stated in the first response we posted and nothing more or less. *** ****** have not paid us for our work. *** ******* math is not based on fact and *** ***** purposely did not pay the Favret Company. **** ***** was verbally quoted twice, over the phone and in person, our service rates. This can be clearly established. There has not been any payment made for our service call by **** And *** ***** and they owe the amount of $285.00 for this service call. We have explained this to *** ***** since he stopped payment on the check. This action caused us to incur an expense from our bank for processing his bad check. *** ******* desired resolution has no basis in fact and he owes us for our work. *** ******* dispute is based solely on Ohio Consumer’s Law and we clearly did follow that using a verbal quote. *** ***** does not have a complaint on our work quality or other such issues. This appears to be something *** ***** is all too familiar with by quoting parts of this ordinance. *** ***** now appears he wants the service call for free. The Favret Company has not broken any laws nor do we have a prior relationship with the ******* at this address annulling the specter of some other responsibility. Our desired resolution: At this time the perception of this falsely raised issue about our company and the cost to pursue this legally in the courts is something to be considered. The expense of a legal argument is not what the Favret Company desires and this appears to be headed in that direction. The cost to go further legally will exceed this amount we are trying to collect and it makes little sense to pursue. The Favret Company will concede and not pursue the collecting process of this invoice at this time.Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

First, I am not sure what Mr. Favret point is by saying my account of the transaction is second hand, as Mr. Favret has had to rely on his air conditioning man and call center rep to get his version of the "facts."  Second, I did send a check to Favret for the undisputed amount, and Favret sent the check back to me.  I cannot force Favret  to cash my check, and obviously Favret has made the business decision not to do so.  Third, if I thought for a second my wife agreed to pay $285 for the maintenance service visit, I would have paid that amount.  I have had a number of service professionals perform service at my house and I have never disputed, nor failed to pay, any of the charges. However, all of the other service providers that have visited my house have given me a written quote (in accordance with Ohio law) and Favret did not.    It is absolutely incorrect to claim I am just trying to get out of paying for the service and in fact I did try to remit payment to Farvret, which Favret rejected, as I noted above.  I just refuse to pay a charge that I did not agree to, and was calculated by Favret after the fact with no basis in the services actually provided.  Finally, and probably most importantly, Mr. Favret is correct that this is a legal dispute; but the law exists for a reason.  The law requires a written quote form to avoid situations such as this where there is a payment dispute.  If the Favret company had followed the law, there would be no dispute as to the amount owed.


As long as Favret does not pursue further collections against me, I will not bring claims against Favret to the Ohio Attorney General for failure to provide proper disclosures.  And *** ****** is correct, I do not have any complaint about the services actually provided at my house.  My complaint is with Favret's inaccurate charges, and how Favret subsequently misrepresented what has happened during this payment dispute.  I hope Favret is able to learn something from this dispute, and will change its business practices to provide the required disclosures to customers going forward. 






























3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "There was no estimate provided before work on the furnace was performed. Billed for work which was neither approved nor performed. Billed for a gas leak which never existed. This is a situation in which an 88 year old, non-English speaking man was taken advantage of due to his situation." NOTE: This paperwork was completed with the assistance of myself, his daughter. My name is (****). I may be reached at (****).

Desired Settlement: "Have made payments of $205.00 which is final. It includes $130.00 service charge and $90.00 for filters, also includes $25 rebate."

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when a customer feels that it fails to meet their expectations, it's important for us to know. We're sorry that (****) received service that prompted him to contact you with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that the experience has caused him. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we've reviewed this issue with the proper department of your complaint. In our review it is important to mention this is the only time (****) has used our company's services. It was very apparent to our technician that (****) has had several other HVAC contractors previously in his home. It is our business practice to explain our service rates when the customer places the request for service with our customer service representative. Once this is done then the call is registered on our work schedule. (****) asked about a discount at the time of placing the service call and our customer service representative made note of this and responded by giving him one. He was told at the time we expect payment in full when we complete the service call. We have our service Dispatcher then call the customer before sending a technician to their home. If there was a question about our services rates there were several occasions to make that concern better known beforehand. If the customer cannot fluently understand the English language I questioned what was not understood of our conversation and I question why he did not have assistance with an interpreter to avoid this situation. Our technician reviewed our service rates with the customer before he made repairs. (****) did not stop our technician from proceeding with servicing and doing maintenance to the furnace and his humidifier. The gas leak was a minor issue of the servicing. Our service technician tried to communicate what was needed before and while performing his work. Upon our technician asking (****) to initial and or signing our invoice he disputed knowing anything about our services or service rates. He refused signing our invoice. Our technician then called our office from the customer's home inquiring to what was quoted to (****) and our notes were clear and they included a discount. (****)refused to pay our technician and was asked to leave his home without payment. To receive the discount you must pay the technician when he completes his work, not several days later and especially when not paying the invoice in full. He was given a copy of the invoice before our technician left his home. We received a partial payment several days later. We then mailed several statements of the remaining amount owed without a reply or complaint from (****). We tried contacting him by phone as to why he paid the partial amount and he explained to our office manager he felt he did not want to pay us anything more. We then sent his information over to our attorney and he sent letters to resolve this. We have yet to receive a reply. We then filed a small claims court hearing for this to be resolved. After receiving this notice to appear in court next month (****) filed his complaint with Ohio Attorney General's office. In conclusion to our review, my assessment is our company did act properly and gave a professional service but it appears (****) felt our service rates were over whelming. In this particular situation and due to a dispute in the facts, I will make a concession and drop our remaining service charge and credit his account.(****) will not owe anything further to our company. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service