Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Favret Company

Phone: (614) 488-5211 Fax: (614) 487-4538 1296 Dublin Rd, Columbus, OH 43215 http://www.favret.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Favret Company offers heating and cooling services to residential and commercial customers in Central Ohio.  Services include installation, repair, servicing and emergency repair of your indoor comfort system as well as duct cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Favret Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Favret Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on The Favret Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1941 Business started: 01/01/1924 in OH Business incorporated 06/11/1932 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board - The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) licenses Commercial Contractors for the following trades: Electrical, HVAC, Hydronics, Plumbing, and Refrigeration.
6606 Tussing Rd, PO Box 4009, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
https://elicense4-secure.com.ohio.gov/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-3493
dic.ocilb@com.stae.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark E. Favret, President Mr. Matt Favret Mr. Philip Favret, Vice President Mr. William E. Favret, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark E. Favret, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Duct & Duct Fittings Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Favret Heating and Air Conditioning Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Favret Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1296 Dublin Rd

    Columbus, OH 43215 (614) 488-5211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used Favret for more than a year without issue. As part of that ongoing relationship, I purchased a "Residential Heating and Cooling Agreement" which stated, among other things, "All parts are discounted 10%" and that I would receive "priority status" on service response. My HVAC stopped working over a week ago, and I called Favret to investigate. The first service technician came out, and told us that the issue was "big" and that he would have the salesperson call to discuss options for repair and replacement. According to Jim C**********, the sales person, he highly discouraged repair of the unit, and instead felt that we should replace it. He went on to say that they could not just replace the rooftop unit, but because it connected to the furnace, I would also need to replace the furnace inside my condo at a cost of nearly $7,000. When he provided an estimate, there was no break out of parts and labor, and the "service contract" discount was very small. The process of getting information was incredibly difficult because Favret sends pdfs that can only be viewed on a computer (not a smart phone, iPad, etc) and thus I could only review the estimates while at my desk, which further slowed the process. Over the next several days, I attempted to get more information about options as well as to establish a little more transparency in pricing (labor rates, parts costs, etc), and the more questions I asked, the more the pricing and the advice appeared to change. Mr. C********** kept telling me that they couldn't break this out and that I absolutely should not replace just the compressor (which was a repair well under $3,000), but instead, replace the entire unit both inside and out, and that I should do it quickly because of the lack of dependability of the auxiliary heat source. He told me what he was pricing was an IDENTICAL unit to what I had, except I have since discovered that I currently have a 3 ton unit and what was being priced was a 2.5 ton unit. After several days with barely functioning heat, I continued to try to work with Favret and did not put the work out to bid because I had a service contract that ensured a 10% discount, and I figured that with that discount, no other company would likely be able to do better. The high pressure approach that Favret used indicated that I should not use the "backup" heat much, and that I should hurry up and sign a service contract with them to get my new unit installed. He made me feel like I did not know anything, and instead of answering my questions, he talked in circles and tried to make me feel like an idiot. I was uncomfortable due to the lack of transparency in pricing, and I continued to ask if I was receiving a discount on all parts as stated in the services contract. Finally, on Wednesday evening (Feb 10), I spoke with Mr. C********** again who told me that I would be able to schedule the install on Friday the 12th as long as I signed the contract on Thursday, he confirmed that there would be no crane needed based on the onsite visit already completed, and that they could for sure get it done in a single day because they were sending more individuals to work. I continued to feel tremendous pressure to sign the contract for the higher end replacement and that anything else would come with dire consequences to my home. Mr. C********** told me that the services tech felt that the work could be done without a crane, and he stated that if I'd like to call someone about getting a larger discount (what was estimated still appeared to be nowhere near 10%). On Thursday a.m., I called the sales manager. I explained to him that I'd like to have a little more transparency in my pricing (a basic understanding of hourly rate and parts costs so that I could understand what I was getting) and that I wanted to be sure that I received my 10% discount as was contracted (the service contract required a payment of $265 when entered into in June of 2015). The sales manager acted like I was an idiot, and said that I should have somehow known that they view "install services" differently than "repair services" while the contract does not differentiate any such thing. I shared that when I purchased the sales contract, I was told that it would apply to all services and all parts purchases. The sales manager continued to insist there was a difference, and I explained to him that this is not how the sales contract was presented, AND that customers cannot be expected to understand the details of their internal operations and the fact that there are two "divisions" in their business when they hold themselves out as a single service provider to the public. He said he'd look into pricing, and did return with a slightly higher discount. I was ready to move on the replacement of the system, and called Mr. C********** back immediately. Mr. C**********, who had been slow throughout the process, returned my call an hour or so later and informed me that they were not able to do the work on Friday as he had previously promised because "there are four other sales people and they had filled the Friday and even all Monday slots." They offered me a slot the following Tuesday, which was nearly 2 weeks from the original issue - certainly not "priority status" as contracted. I was very upset because I had spent 5 business days trying to get my HVAC replaced, had relied on a service contract and service relationship and thus had not bid out my job, had been sitting in my home terrified that the "auxiliary backup heat" was going to blow in the extreme temperatures because it was indicated to me that it wouldn't last long and that it shouldn't be set at a normal heat temperature, and now I was being told that the Friday appointment time that I was promised was no longer available. At that point, I asked around and got the name of another HVAC provider who immediately came out, told me the proper size of my unit (not the wrong size that Favret quoted and assured me was IDENTICAL), shared that there was "absolutely no reason" to replace anything beyond the compressor because the rest of the unit looked brand new and, due to it's location, was barely used by my unit, and told me that virtually everything that Favret said about my furnace, etc. was misleading - I assume to push me into quickly purchasing a new HVAC and furnace. The estimate provided was well below $3,000 all in. My boyfriend then contacted Favret on Friday the 12th, upset with their misleading practices as well as their refusal to honor the service agreement. The owner of Favret blamed me for all of the issues in a very sexist fashion, told him that the contract did not require Favret to break out parts and labor, and they purposefully do not do that and would never do that (we assume because the rates are not at market level). My boyfriend asked what the purpose of buying the services contract would be, and the owner did not provide a response. He also shared that they never had any intention of providing the services on Friday the 12th, that they would never be out in the cold and asked him if he "wanted to be out in the cold." It is my opinion that they never intended to do the repair on Friday and they promised such only to continue the high pressure/rush to get me to sign a services contract filled with unnecessary and excessive charges. The owner went on to say said he "didn't care" if we filed a complaint with the BBB and encouraged us to do that. If the owner doesn't care about service, it can be assumed that no one does. Their tactics are not transparent in terms of price, they substantially exaggerate the repairs needed to increase their sales, create a false sense of urgency to get customers to quickly sign contracts that offer no details about the specifics of the repairs, and when they are questioned, they blame the customer and insinuate that women cannot understand the complexity of the services they offer.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my service contract amount $265 because Favret did not honor the terms of the agreement. I would also like to warn other customers about their high pressure practices, pricing dishonesty, and offensive remarks about women.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when a customer feels that we failed to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them. I’ve reviewed this complaint with our associates that were involved with your services and proposed sales for new equipment.

Our Service Agreements are based on performing maintenance and servicing of a customer’s heating and air conditioning equipment. The Sales of new equipment is handled totally separate. The two are totally different Agreements and based on Ohio Law.

Your home or condominium’s heat pump is located in a very difficult location as you are aware by mentioning the use of crane to remove and set the new unit. We were trying to avoid the use of a crane since the expense of one in your installation would have been very expensive. The proposed working on your heating and air conditioning system posed some extra expenditure to do this professionally and safely. This complicated the sales effort and scheduling of the removal of the old equipment and your installation of the new equipment for your condominium.

I reviewed your complaint with our associates and the conversations you had with them. I know about the multiple conversations concerning your request for the multiple proposals to replace the equipment. My conjecture is they took the time to explain about our services and our pricing in great length.

I will concede a concession in your situation due to your history and the use of your Service Agreement. You have already used over half of your Service Agreement. You used two of the two service calls under the Agreement. I know you had the heat pump repaired by another contractor and that voids your Agreement with us. The resolution offer of $132.50 will be half of what you paid us over eight months ago for the one year Agreement. We will issue a check to you for this amount once this is settled.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

Mark Favret

President

Consumer Response:

A well written form letter does not begin to address the issues with this company.  I take issue with a number of statements in the response which are deliberately misleading and inaccurate.

1.  The service agreement does not differentiate between services and installation.  Services are services and the statements do not contain defined terms that limit such.  When the agreement was sold to me, installation discounts were used as an example of savings, further indicating that the agreement and its associated discount was intended to cover any service provided by Favret.  I relied on this when I purchased the agreement in the first place, and Favret did not live up to its end of the bargain either on discount or priority service.  This deliberately mislead me and others who have signed such agreement.  Without a transparent discount, there is no value to purchasing such agreement - it does't save money on "checkups" and basically just allows Favret to collect money upfront for services that later do not meet expectations.  

2.  I was told EXPRESSLY that the location of my unit had been evaluated by Favret personnel, and a crane would not be needed.  Any other position was never presented or discussed, nor was this a legitimate reason for the delays and/or lack of compliance with the services agreement.

3.  No one was willing and/or able to explain any of the repairs in any level of detail AND there was no willingness to provide transparent pricing or even articulate the portion of the estimate attributable to parts or labor.  There was a great deal of pressure to sign a contract for an entirely new system right away because allegedly the auxiliary system that was heating my house was not able to support my heating needs.  These statements were misleading and created a false sense of urgency which I believe was intended to scare me into purchasing more than what I actually needed and stop asking questions.  

4.  I have not had the heat pump repaired by another vendor and have not voided any agreement.  Once I got a competing estimate and did due diligence with providers who were willing and able to provide complete information on options, I now understand that I can wait to have this repair done when the weather is warmer and it is convenient for me and I am able to use the auxiliary equipment for as long as I need.  

5.  This was not simply a poor customer service experience.   I relied on a service contract, experienced excessive pressure to purchase thousands of dollars of equipment that I do not need without explanation or transparency.  Out of fear and exhaustion from the process, I was ready to sign the contract and was then told that it would be several days before the work would be done (after I was assured the work would be done the next day, complete with confirmations that no crane was needed and that it would be done in a single day since the expected date of services would be a Friday).  By approaching the situation in this fashion, I was backed into a corner regarding the repairs because it is difficult to have things done over a weekend by another provider.

I restate my original demand here which is more than fair for the horrendous and offensive experience and the time spent being unduly pressured to purchase an entirely new HVAC.

Business Response:

 RE: Second response to the Ms. ******** ******* complaint to the Better Business Bureau on 2/15/2016 #********

Dear Ms. ***** *****:

My response to your complaint is the truth and was nothing more than stating what took place. Our associates were not falsely representing our services. This all took several days and many conversations about this work, about our discounts, and explanation after explanation from different conversation with different associates saying the same thing to you. We even had a phone conversation with someone representing themselves as your husband that was very hostile to everyone here. That surely did not help matters. I will apologize to you for what you felt we let you down in meeting your expectation of our services.

All the different conversations everyone from here had with you were straightforward and not trying to pressure you into a decision. We quoted several options trying to tailor each to your needs. We responded to each of your questions in a timely manner and gave you the multiple quotations from all the conversations.

Our Service Maintenance Agreement is a significant cost saving when compared to our regular service rates. In your case it saved you over three hundred dollars if you were to be charged our regular service rates for the two service calls. Your Maintenance Agreement saved you money. You also received priority service and we worked with you to make these calls fit your schedule by arriving on our first call in the morning.

I was told you were selling this condo and you were expressing how upset you were to have to invest in this repair before selling it. That is very understandable and we were trying to lower that cost to you with every quote. We even talked to our supplier and asked them for help to lower the cost on the equipment. That effort was then passed on in one of our quotes to you. It was apparent from all the conversation about this work it was about the price. The request for transparency with our pricing was about you wanting a lower selling price. You never agreed to our work nor signed anything to that affect.

My offer for a concession in your situation is still on the table to resolve this. You have already used over half of your Service Maintenance Agreement. You used two of the two service calls under the Maintenance Agreement. The resolution offer of $132.50 paid to you is half of what you paid us over eight months ago for the one year Maintenance Agreement. We will issue a check to you for this amount once this is settled.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and again we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

Mark Favret

President

2/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Favret heating & cooling has several concerns they refuse to address with me. 1) They mailed to me two falsified invoices with a "due" amount after I signed it with no "due" amount. I have the pink original to prove it. 2) They didn't provide an estimate per state law for said above due amount. I have the pink original to prove it. 3) They billed me $250 for a loaner Thermostat which they've taken back. 4) They billed me several hundred dollars for maintenance under warranty as they had to re-do installation work that was causing water to leak into the furnace. I paid Favret several thousand dollars for a new A/C & Furnace 2 years ago plus I pay them for annual maintenance. 5) They won't call me to take care of the problem....I've made call after call to the person in charge of these problems.....he tried to call me back once and we missed each other and since then will not return phone calls

Desired Settlement: Credit the $690.75 in invoices they've sent for I was not given an estimate per state law and they edited the invoices after I signed them. I have copies of both the orginal pink copy with no amount due and no estimate + they mailed to me falsified copies after I signed them.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when a customer feels that we failed to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them. I’ve reviewed this complaint with the technicians that were involved with your service as well as with our Service Manager.

We did sell and install a new furnace and air conditioning system 10/1/2013 to the *****’s. That equipment has a warranty. The other equipment at the ****’s home is not covered by a warranty or a Service Agreement.

There has been a series of service calls at the *****’s home going back to November 2, 2013 that concerned work on a thermostat that our company did not sell them nor installed for the *****s’. Since that first call most of the services done at the *****’s home have not been on the furnace or the new air conditioner but on their thermostat or on a humidifier, both are not covered by a warranty or by a Service Agreement if they fail. The work we did on the furnace was covered by their warranty and the *****’s were not invoiced for that repair. The *****’s were invoiced for working on their thermostat problem.

It’s apparent that some miscommunication has occurred along with the repairs made and work recommended about their failed thermostat. The *****’s were made aware that their thermostat was defective on the first service call on November 2, 2013. Their thermostat has caused the dispute in the center of this complaint. Our repairs are not in dispute nor are our warranty or Service Agreement. These two service components did add to the discussion on the job as to what will be covered or not covered under these two Contracts. This is why the invoices were sent out from our office after they were reviewed for a warranty or covered by the Service Agreements. It was understood this would take place since our Technicians were being told it was covered by the *****’s and our office was explaining it would have to be reviewed. This is our explanation for sending the *****’s an invoice after the repairs were completed.

I will concede a concession in your situation due to your history with us. The resolution of $690.75 will be shown as a reduction on your account and the two invoices will be termed no further charges.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

Mark Favret

President

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had Favret Heating and Cooling provide service to our business for many years. Recently, the temperature in the office seemed colder than normal, and we also noted several wall outlets were not working. This was a problem since the staff were unable to continue using the portable plug-in heaters they had been using in lieu of raising the thermostat setting to save money. We therefore had an electrician come out who simply reset a tripped circuit breaker - which wasn't visibly tripped but required the use of the electrician's meter to determine this due to the design of the circuit breaker. The dead outlets of course began working again after this, but the temperature in the office remained cold. I am not typically at this office, but when I went there to further investigate, I noted the temperature displayed by the thermostat was significantly lower than the thermostat setting. We then contacted Favret, who immediately came out and they reported to us that what had happened was that their technician who had been to our office the previous week had forgotten to turn on the gas to our furnace (outdoor temperatures for the past week have been between 3 and 19 degrees; fortunately our business is on the top floor of our office building so we have benefitted from heat rising from the businesses below us); they turned the gas back on at no charge. We contacted Favret today to see whether - as a "show of good faith" but to also compensate us for the cost of the electrician's visit and the increased electricity we used by running portable heaters and also by the furnace fan running much more than normal in an unsuccessful attempt to raise the temperature in the office - they would consider granting us a credit for the amount charged by the electrician ($124) to our next bill for our maintenance agreement with Favret. However, John, the Service Manager, declined to do this, indicating his opinion that this request is not reasonable. I offered to send him a copy of the electrician's bill as documentation, but he declined.

Desired Settlement: We feel the $124 credit we are requesting is a very small amount; this complaint is not really so much about the money, but more about the inconvenience to our employees, and customers. We are concerned by Favret's unwillingness to consider this request despite our loyalty demonstrated by the many years we have had them provide us with service not only at this business, but also at our home (which I mentioned to John).

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when a customer feels that we failed to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them. I’ve reviewed this complaint with the technicians that were involved with your service as well as with our Service Manager. I sincerely apologize to you for the mistake our technician made when servicing your furnace on 1/7/2016.

As you stated the weather was cold. I would assume this was not any colder than past winter conditions. I want to ask why you did not call us sooner and request service because you were experiencing a problem with your thermostat or with your heating before 1/18/2016. The use of the space heater(s) possibly would not have been needed and then possibly the electrician would not have been called out. I will not go into the issue of how the circuit breaker got tripped and how the circuit was over loaded.

In general, our policy for the customer’s request to cover another company’s work has always been with a negative response for an array of logical reasons.

I will concede a concession in your situation due to your history with us. The $124 will be shown as a reduction on your next renewal of our Service Agreement.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

 

Mark Favret

President

5/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used Favret for years and recieved good service in the past but this is no longer true. I called them on the morning of May 7th to check my air conditioner that is not blowing cold air. In the past I have been able to get a tech out on the same day due to my long term relationship with Favret but was told that no one could come until today, May 8th. I agreed and we set up a time for after 4p. I was called at 5p and told that I was "next in line" for a tech and he would arrive by 6:30. I waited and waited. Until 9:30p. I called Favret and spoke with "******". She was polite but said that she had no information about orders or appointments or addresses or phone numbers, just that she could take a complaint and call an ermergency tech. 30 minute later the emergency tech called. He would not give his name and asked me no questions about my problem or what needed to be done. He immediately said that he "could not put a big ladder up to work on the air conditioner in the dark" so would not come. (My address results in some techs doing this so I was obviously "vetted" in terms of location.) When I explained that he didn't need to put up a big ladder, which is true, he replied that he had 15 other emergency calls that he had to fix before he could get to me but he would "try". Favret is more expensive that most other companies but, in the past, the quality of their service warranted the cost. Sadly, I have recieved no service for 2 days, no explanation and no resolve. .

Desired Settlement: I would like this to be a registered complaint against Favret that is posted to the BBB website for Central Ohio.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved with your service work at **** ***** Dr.

I reviewed this with our service dispatcher and our Service Manager when I read this on Monday morning. After we had several lengthy conversations over your failed service request it came down to a few different things that happened. I can point my finger at several situation that caused this situation but it all comes down to we dropped the call for your Friday afternoon service request. I sincerely apologize to you for this situation. On behalf of our service dispatcher they had every well intention to meet that promise on Friday and had a technician dispatched to your home as promised. The problems occurred after the call was given out and we are looking into that problem.

On Saturday the dispatcher talked with you and again we were ready to send a technician out that day but there was a problem with the proper ladder to gain access to your roof. On Monday 5/11/15, as our conversation continued with you, we are scheduled again to complete this service.

The report back from our service technician on what he found was a problem at the unit on your roof. The problem was in no way related to our work from three years ago. It appears another contractor must have been involved and left this issue.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention. 

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.  I appreciate the straightforward acknowledgement by Favret that they dropped the ball during this problem.  The people I spoke with over several days were professional and apologetic.  It took a lot of my time and frustration to get this resolved.  It also took more frustration to get a price adjustment for the problems, but Favret finally agreed that an adjustment was warranted.

Favrett has been my "go to" company for years and for more than one property I own.  I am still considering whether I shall continue this relationship in the future.

At no time did I believe or suggest that this issue with my air conditioner was a problem resulting from former service provided by Favret.  The problem was also not a result of any other company doing faulty service on my unit.  Someone disconnected it by mistake, probably by working on a nearby unit.  So it was a very easy fix.  All it took was for someone to show up and do it.

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A technician from Favret was called out to check on an A/C unit that was not blowing cold air. My tenant stated that the air coming from the vents was warm. Favret charges $140 for the first 30 minutes on site and an additional $40/15 minutes thereafter. With these rates, I would expect that the issue would be identified within the first 30 minutes. The technician was on site for nearly 3 hours and did not bother to notify me that it was going to take more than 30 minutes to resolve the issue. I was billed $370 for the visit. Once my tenant arrived home later that day, the air conditioning unit was still blowing out warm air so the technician did not fix the issue. The invoice stated that the blower was disconnected and upon reconnecting the blower, cold air was blowing again. This directly conflicts with what the tenant stated multiple times that there was warm air blowing from the vents. Upon further investigation of Favret on the BBB site, it seems there has been another situation involving Favret that have the same characteristics of this scenario. I called another company to look at the issue. They found nothing that needed to be fixed. The second companies description of service stated that they tightened up some connections (which is what the first technician from Favret should have already done) and the unit was working again.

Desired Settlement: I believe the company has a responsibility to give notice that the work/time needed is going to take more than the first 30 minutes that is expected. To take my credit card number first before any work is done and to spend 3 hours on a job that does not fix the issue is absurd. Then, to charge for the time spent on an unresolved issue is unethical.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know. We’re sorry that Mr. ***** received service that prompted him to contact you with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused him. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them immediately. I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved with Mr. ***** and his tenant’s service work on the **** ** address.

I have done some research into this and your history and it appears Mr. ***** did pay us for our work. This is the only service call we have done for him at this address. I have also discussed this service with our Service Manager **** ***** and his phone conversation with Mr. *****. Mr. ***** supplied us with the other heating and air conditioning company service invoice after talking to our Service Manager. The comparison of the two is significant in analyzing the complaint. First comparison was easy to see in the difficulty both had just getting to this unit and time spent doing the trouble shooting and then repair. The unit is in a very unusual area or small crawl space with duct work and plumbing in front of it with no other access to it. The time spent removing this is what raised the time spent to just gain access to this unit. Once a technician has made his way through this it was not that difficult to diagnose and make repairs. Then putting this all back takes time as well.

Your complaint is based on the pricing of our labor charges. If Mr. ***** would have been present at the time with our service technician at his rental property he would understand why the invoice came to this amount. Your tenant was there and did sign off the work performed.

Mr. ***** never called us to let us know that he had further issues with this unit after we were there. Mr. ***** made this decision to call another company out to follow our service. Our Service Manager explained to Mr. ***** about our labor warranty and that the second service call if totally related to the first call within so many days would be at no charge for it if we ran the service call. This is why our Service Manager asked for a copy of the other service company to be able to compare the two services. The two services do appear to be similar when reading the copy of the other company’s work.

Settlement concession:
I will offer a concession as a resolution to this issue of reducing our labor charge and refund Mr. *****. I will refund Mr. ***** $214.00 in our review based on the other company’s work and expense charged on it. A check will be issued and mailed to Mr. ***** next week. We generally do not warrant our work if another company has been involved for very obvious reasons. And this obviously ends our responsibility for a warranty. 

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

3/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: COMPLAINT: DECEPTIVE AND MISLEADING ADVERTISING/PRICING -- FAVRET SERVICE CONTRACTS GUARANTEE A 10% PARTS DISCOUNT BUT IN REALITY FAVRET CHARGED A 113% MARK UP “AFTER” DISCOUNT. FAVRET ORIGINALLY TRIED TO CHARGE ME $1,455 (MINUS THE 10% DISCOUNT) FOR A PART WITH A MANUFACTURER’S SUGGESTED LIST PRICE OF ONLY $612. IN EFFECT, FAVRET’S 10% DISCOUNT ACTUALLY AMOUNTED TO A 113% MARKUP OVER MANUFACTURER’S SUGGESTED LIST PRICE! Manufacturer List Price $ 612.00. Favret price $1,455.00. Favret price minus 10% discount $1300.50. Favret Mark up “before” discount $843.00. 138% Mark up over list price. Favret Mark up “after” discount $688.50. 113% Mark up over list price. Does a 113% mark up over manufacturer’s suggested list price sound like a 10% discount to you? When I complained Favret dropped the price down to $945. But that was still a 70% mark up above manufacturer’s suggested list price and a 135% mark up over Favret’s actual cost. Make no mistake. I called ***** Corporate headquarters directly to confirm the official list price. And Favret confirmed their cost was $402. Favret’s Service Contract states in writing: “All parts are discounted 10%.” An ordinary, reasonable person would assume the service discount applies to “suggested list”, not an artificial 138% mark up. I asked Favret to honor the manufacturer’s official list price but they insisted on inventing their own artificial prices. What makes matters worse is the generosity I’ve shown Favret in the past. The previous year a Favret employee doing repairs on my business accidentally put a hole in my roof just before a weekend downpour. He also managed to rip out our gutter with his ladder. Our office was flooded over the weekend and I lost a full day’s work due to clean up and repairs. I never charged Favret for my time. And because the gutters were old I didn’t charge Favret for the gutter repairs. I even prorated the damage to the carpet. The value of my time and my building’s repairs were “many” times greater than the amount in dispute. But in spite of my past generosity Favret would not honor manufacturer prices. I was guaranteed a 10% discount in writing. In reality I was hit with a significant mark up over suggested list price. Even with the additional discount, Favret marked the price up 70% before giving me a 10% discount. This is deceptive and misleading. FAVRET REVISED PRICING: Manufacturer List Price $ 612.00. Favret’s 2nd price $1,039.50. Favret’s 2nd price minus 10% discount $ 945.00. Favret Mark up “before” discount $427.50. 70% Mark up over list price. The price for this part should have been about $400.00 lower ($550.80, not $945.00). And this does not address the other parts on the invoice that were presumably marked up a full 138%.

Desired Settlement: Favret’s invoice should base the 10% discount on the manufacturer’s suggested list prices for “ALL” repair parts – circuit board kit, flame sensor and gas valve. Please refund the difference.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved with Mr. ****’s service work on ******* ***** plus his work we did at his work the *********** **********.

Mr. **** used our services at his office a little over a year ago and we did incur a property damage issue from a leaking rubber roof and old failing storm gutters. We paid for all the work need to correct the damage issue at that time and at the time it was settled immediately without question on Mr. ****’s part. It appears Mr. **** feels it was not settled. He gave us another invoice recently to offset his invoice at his home.

I have done some research into this and the ***** Company does not have a suggest list for retail pricing on their parts. Nor do they set wholesale price to all the contractors buying from their wholesale distributors. The ***** Company does not set retail pricing nor does any other wholesaler manufacturer dictate retail pricing to any contractor. Every Business has their own individual business directives to cover their business expenses and so on. Today’s business expenses are an increasing list and hefty amount that continues to climb.

Your dispute is based on the arbitrary notion of a set retail pricing in our industry. We are a retailer not a wholesaler. We have a warranty to back-up our work and that has a cost to it plus other operational expenses go into our pricing. Our costs were greater than what was in the complaint. Our margins are in line with our industry. Your Service Agreement reduced this repair very significantly covering all the labor and discounts beyond the normal for the parts. We settled all the property damage problems quickly over one year ago for your business. The impression we have from you then is it was settled without question.

Settlement concession: I will offer a concession as a resolution to this issue. I will return your payment of the Service Agreement of $255.00 and cancel it. This is actual brings our cost in this matter down to reflect as a 0% on a profit considering cost of labor. This will then clear your account and agreements involved with us.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Consumer Response:

I spoke with a senior service technician at **** ******* *** ******* who has over 25 years experience. He told me that based on his experience, Favret’s mark up on this circuit board was on the high end. Go online and you will find the circuit board for $1,000.00 less than Favret’s $1,455.00 price. 

But rather than argue this point further it is probably best to compromise and accept Favret’s offer to cancel the service contract and refund the difference.
















1/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thank you for hearing this complaint. I have a service contract with this company that includes free service calls and I would have to pay for all parts for my Heating and Cooling system. I gladly paid for the service up front in April of 2013. They sent a Service tech to my home in April to check out my AC and Furnance and everything checked out fine. Recently during a historic Artic Vortex, my furnance stopped working. I called my insurance company (because I also have insurance on all my appliances through a National Home Warranty Service)and because all companies they use were swamped, they told me to call anyone to come out and fix the furnace. I chose Favret. They sent a Service Tech out and he deemed the Furnance completely unserviceable and surmised that we needed a New Furnance as this one was unsafe to operate. He fixed the furnance (new igniter), but decided to turn it off in -6 degrees tempertures. I begged him to contact my Insurance company to explain what was wrong with the furnance so they could make arrangements to get us a new furnance (he kept refusing saying that was my job- obviously I am not a HVAC tech and could not explain what was wrong with my furnance. He said he would call them but charge my family to talk on the phone. Utimately they charged us $120 for making a phone call and they did not follow up with the insurance company to explain how much it would cost to fix. We had to call in another company who deemed the furnance fine and here we are several weeks later and the furnace has been working great. I am not why a company sells you a Service Contract, refuses to work with insurance companies to remedy issues, but yet still charges you $120 for making a fruitless phone call with no follow up. I have paid the bil, but have lost all trust in confidence in this company, who at all cost was more interested in selling me a new furnace (even willing to let my pipes freeze), but when they found out they had to talk to a warranty company refused to talk?

Desired Settlement: I think an explaination is warranted as they have refused to comprimise with my family while I think trying to exploit us during a very vulnerable time (Artic Vortex). If a new furnace was needed why would they not explain that to the insurance company so we could have gotten a new one? I would have only had to pay $100 for a new furnance (my deductable) but ended up paying $120 for them to make a fruitless phone call and refusing to follow up with needed facts?

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our complaint. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible service, and when they feel that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we always review them and I’ve reviewed this complaint with several others that were involved in the service call for Mr. ****** on January 2, 2014.

I have done some research into this and the history and it appears Mr. ****** did pay us for our work. I have also discussed your service history with the ******* ******* **** ***** and your phone conversation with him. I apologize for any problems our company caused in this repair.

Your complaint is based on two issues. The first one is on the furnace failure in your vacant home. You called for service we responded immediately that same day. We found the initial problem of a failed part and replaced it. Once the furnace was up and running the furnace indicated another problem. This problem is a failed heat exchanger on a 20 year old furnace. This can be a rather large repair and a very expensive one. If left as it was and the furnace operating it might cause a health risk. This was all discussed with you. We then discussed this with your Home Warranty representatives with several conversations discussing several alternatives. Your second issue is on a purposed business model of falsely diagnosing a failed furnace and then trying to sell a furnace. Our technician involved with this repair never had this intent. Our Company has never operated any scam what so ever. Your invoice was based on the part used and the extra time spent on the phone with your insurance company. The Service Agreement does cover labor repairs expense. It does not cover the parts for repairs or for a service tech extensive time on the phone on hold where he could be out repairing another customer’s furnace.

Settlement concession: I will offer a concession as a resolution to this issue and reimburse Mr. ****** the service labor charge he paid of $108.00. We will mail a check out for this amount. The part is chargeable and you were given a discount as noted on your invoice.

Our customer’s patronage is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation of quality service.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Sincerely,

**** ******

*********

Consumer Response:

Thank you for the response. The part about not paying was not true as you processed my Master Card payment of $184. Sorry it had to go this far, but I fail to understand how it was easier to charge me $120 for a phone call? We greatly appreciate the concerns for Safety and have had the furnance fully inspected by another company with the following information and testing conducted:

Below is the other company's response verbatim:

 I arrived and found no problems with Furnance. Customer had another company out that said heat exchanger was cracked. Removed burners and checked all cells. No cracks were seen at this time. Very little rusting in heat exchanger. Ran a combustion test which was normal 387* Fluegas, 81.2% eff, 60.8% excess air, 6.95% co2, 8.5% 02. There is not ambient carbon monixide and no monixide in supply air. Carbon minoxide (sic) levels in flue are in the normal range at 15 ppm air free and 9ppm. Blower motor and inducer motor have normal amp readings. Found no problems with the Furnance at this time.

Below is the Favret response verbatim:

Found HSI bad, replaced HSI, unit then fixed. Also found cracked Heat exchanger. Also flex Gas line in Burner Comp, and draft motor pulling High Amps and could fail.Shut off gas and elec to furnance. Unit not safe to run. Do not use Furnance. Unit needs to be replaced.

I personally watched the other company conduct all test and he was there much longer than Favret. As you can see they offered much more detail and the inspection seemed to be more precise. When I called your company back, I was more than willing to pay for services rendered, but asked the question about why I was charged $120 for the Service Call? I was in a Service agreement with your company which should cover Service charges- which was also paid to your company in advance in April-...the response I got back was that the tech had to call the Insurance Company and he was going to charge me for the time on the phone.

I just want it to be known, that I have had a Warranty with *** (a national home warranty company) for over 8 years and a new furnance would have only cost us the deductible- $100. I have had several homes in the past and I have had a Furnance replaced by this warranty company at another property? So, bottom line...the $120 phone call charge was more than what a new furnace would have cost me if your team would have been able to make the case that the furnance really needed to be replaced? So from my vantage point, look at your team's response and the other company's response and you decide for your self? If my safety was really in question, how could you not have made the seemingly compelling case for a new furnance, but still chage me $120 for a phone call that yielded no results other than us having to call someone else? 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******





















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on The Favret Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart