BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Quality Air Heating & Air Conditioning?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Quality Air Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (614) 262-1818 Fax: (614) 262-0934 4060 Indianola Ave, Columbus, OH 43214 https://www.facebook.com/qualityaircolumbus View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation & repair of heating & cooling units.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality Air Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Air Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Air Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 29, 1983 Business started: 06/01/1983 in OH Business started locally: 06/01/1983 Business incorporated: 02/27/1989 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board - The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) licenses Commercial Contractors for the following trades: Electrical, HVAC, Hydronics, Plumbing, and Refrigeration.
6606 Tussing Rd, PO Box 4009, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
https://elicense4-secure.com.ohio.gov/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-3493
dic.ocilb@com.stae.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas M. Kusan, President Mr. Nicholas Kusan, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Nicholas Kusan, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Thomas M. Kusan, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Kusan & Hollern Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TO: Better Business Bureau. Att: Complaint Dept. FROM: Jefffrey P. Sherman RE: Customer Complaint against Quality Air Heating and Cooling (also known as Quality Air Heating and Air Conditioning. Inc.) DATE: July 6,2012 Summary of Complaint The sales representative for Quality Air Heating and Air Conditioning. Inc. failed to recommend the properly-sized heating and air conditioning unit. I relied upon the sales representative's recommendations: hence, I purchased a replacement heating and air conditioning system which is unable to cool the house. Detailed Complaint In November. 2010 the sales representative for Quality Air Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc. visited my house (at my request) and we discussed my wanting to purchase a replacement furnace and air conditioner. I emphatically told him that the current system's cubic feet per minute ("CFM") air flow was inadequate (that is, the blower motor was woefully inadequate). I told the sales representative how important adequate CFM was to me. Based upon his recommendations and his price, I purchased from Quality Air Heating and Air Conditioning. Inc., and that company installed. the HVAC unit he recommended. Approximately one month (mid-December. 2010) I first used the furnace. The CFM was woefully inadequate. The next morning I called the president of the company to discuss with him my unhappiness. He assured me that all would be fine in summer, 2011 (when I would first use the air conditioning). Well, nothing was fine when I used the AC in May, 2011. A technician visited my house two times (May 19 and May 31) and concluded that ". . . the system is working properly." Because at that time I uanted to be accommodating, I made several modifications to my home: - I shut off the basement vents. - I shut off the vent to one of the bedrooms. - I installed three ceiling fans. I should not have had to do any of the above modifications. but I begrudgingly did so. On July 4, 2012 in the AM the temperature in my house was 78 degrees. I set the thermostat to 78 degrees, but the temperature in the house rose to 81 degrees. During the day I visited a friend's house whose inside temperature was 76 degrees. That house's insulation is significantly inferior to my house's insulation. and the AC unit at that house is more than ten years old. it was then that I realized that Quality Air Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc. failed to properly "size" the necessary HVAC system I needed --especially because I told the sales representative how concerned I was regarding adequate CFM.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, I would like all my money returned, and Quality Air Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc. can take back the AC and furnace. However, I realize that a compromise is more likely (although I have already "compromised" by making all the modifications listed on page 1). So, I am willing to accept the following: I shall pay the difference between what I have already paid and what is reasonably necessary to be paid for the proper-sized HVAC system which will provide the same amount of CFM as at my friend's house.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installation of AC completed 6/11Furnace6/12. AC has not worked appropiately since evening of install.I called the after hours service the gentlemen blew me off and said if they would be going back next they had not finished.However,the technician when asked at my home said yes the ac is done.6/12 Technicians arrived I expressed my concern they called the sales repe.**** ******* which called me and said I had doors open(notso)it was not going to work.Icalled again6/13 they finally sent someone on the 3rd day.AC specs where not correct,technician adjusted specs and that helped for sometime. We then continue to have AC issues not working correctly.Friday 6/15 Sales Rep called my husband and said he wanted to come over which we allowed. I informed him that the installers change the water setting an we were lucky that our son was startled by the cold water and not scorched with hot. They also moved something else that caused the dishwasher not to work(which my husband had to fix).He then used a device to check that the unit was cooling and said everything was fine to call if any issues.On that evening of 6/15 we continued to have issues something was still not right so I did call several times after being told I could with no reponse.Thanks to our friends we were able to stay out of the home Sunday and Monday. Which I also explained to Mr. ******* that it was our wedding anniversary and hoped we would not have further issues.Tuesday 6/19requested to please have someone come out this was unexceptable for such a large investment,and a family with an asthmatic an infant and a four year old.I explained I had been wheezing and I also expressed that I would start my complaint with BBB because of lack of service,no real rectification to the matter and faulty product.They managed to send someonethatday at3p.m.He concluded thermostat was faulty and was replaced.6/20Called************7:21noanswer, called answering service 8:48 ****** said he would have someone come 10:43pm nothing.New Thermostat is doingsam

Desired Settlement: I would like for the request made 6/12 to Quality Air of removal of equipment to be completed with no damage to my property and supervised or completed by a Senior Technician. I would like any pending transactions as claims Mr.******* to not be processed. I ask that anywork done to this point be at no cost when we equipment is removed. I want no further calls or ties to Quality Air and its representatives in no way form upon completion.

Business Response: Occasionally we are unable to satisfy a customer needs,this being the case with the *******'s. We will take out the complete hvac system,which is both the furnace and air conditioning today--6/20/12. No money has exchanged hands, so we area all even. Note--. Quality Air receives hundreds of satisfaction letters from residential customers on a yearly bases .Sorry, we  can't resolve their issuses. Please advise.

Consumer Response:

The issues arrose with the companies inability to asses what our home needed by following; proper proceedures, providing a reliable working unit, and providing simple customer service ethics. No manual J was conducted to determine proper sizing, yet more tonage was the first offer made after complaint was made.( We asked repeatedly if we had proper tonage) While the problem was  indicated as "thier issues" in this response , this is exactly how we were treated ; calls not returned  and no real resolution unitl contacting the BBB. Please note that Quality Air removed thier items on 6/21/12 completed by 11:20 a.m. with no paperwork to specify what was done.

We were also left without our old AC/Furnace units and while there was no money exchanged they have profitted from our old units and scraps. We ask for the comparable amount for both units to cover the additional cost we have encountered during this process; food , taking time from work hours and alternate accomidations. Again, while it is stated as "thier issue" the company should take responsibility. Though the company has noted to have "hundreds of satisfaction letters" I have never had to make a claim to the BBB.  This is not a case of a "bad consumer" it has been the inability of the company to provide basic and essential customer service that has caused this situation.

 





















BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1