BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of CHC Service Co., Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CHC Service Co., Inc.

Phone: (614) 833-9085 Fax: (614) 833-2788 960 W Walnut St, Canal Winchester, OH 43110 http://www.chcser.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

HVAC sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CHC Service Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CHC Service Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CHC Service Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 16, 1999 Business started: 09/01/1989 in OH Business started locally: 09/01/1989 Business under new ownership as of: 11/01/2012 Business incorporated: 12/26/1990 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board - The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) licenses Commercial Contractors for the following trades: Electrical, HVAC, Hydronics, Plumbing, and Refrigeration.
6606 Tussing Rd, PO Box 4009, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
https://elicense4-secure.com.ohio.gov/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-3493
dic.ocilb@com.stae.oh.us

Columbus Building & Development Services
757 Carolyn Ave, Columbus OH 43224
http://bzs.columbus.gov
Phone Number: (614) 645-7433

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carl Hatfield, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carl Hatfield, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 960 W Walnut St

    Canal Winchester, OH 43110 (614) 833-9085

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The week of 05/06/2013 3 trips to my house to fix my air conditioner and I was told 3 weeks later on 05/30 the 4th trip that it was fixed. I had the air on the rest of that day and then turned it off that night. On the evening of 06/11 I turned the air back on, when I came home on the 12th it was not cooling.I was told since there was 3 weeks in between my 3rd to 4th appointment that it was holding and he "inadvertently fixed it". CHC put this unit in years ago and evidently I now need a new unit. I have no trust in CHC. I want a full refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response: BBB called business to follow up on complaint and spoke to **** ********, owner, who responded verbally. He said the consumer called and left a message. He called her back but she never returned his call. He would still like to go out and see what the problem is if she will just call him.

Consumer Response: I am requesting a full refund.   

 
I received no phone call from Mr. ******** as he stated.  If Mr. ******** called he chose not to leave a message because I would have called him back.  I waited 24 hours from my original complaint call to CHC before I filed the complaint with BBB.    I also tried 2 additional times to get the unit to work and it will not go below 86 degrees.  On my complaint call I was irate because I was expecting a cool house and that did not happen.     It is not right knowing I was upset when I called and now he is putting back on me to call him.  Mr. ******** had an opportunity to contact me and come out for a 5th time and fix my unit but he chose not to do that. 
 
CHC serviced the unit in 2012 and filled it then with Freon.  I was told if it runs out to call and they would do a leak search.  It was out with in a month and they were told this information.  I understand it was a chance in 2012 to give it a try but not in 2013   I waited until the beginning of the season 2013 to have them come out.  And the rest is in the original complaint filed.  I do not understand why on trip 2 a course of action was not given at that time.  I gave Mr. ********'s company my full trust, his company installed the unit 12 years ago and I never considered calling another company for repairs.  The only reason the Freon was filled was because CHC told me the problem was fixed.  Mr. ******** and CHC have no interest in correcting their error otherwise he would have left me a message to call him.
 
I  have had 2 other companies out for estimates about 2 weeks after my complaint call.  I have attached the estimates.    I will be sending a signed contract to the one company.
 
Other than a refund I have no interest in doing business with Mr. ******** or his companies.  
 

Consumer Response: Refund amount $400 cost of the Freon put into the air conditioner unit.

 
The air conditioner is 13 years, there is no warranty. 
 
Attached is my receipt from CHC 08/02/2012 showing CHC was here and put Freon in the unit.  The only reason Freon went into the unit this year was because the CHC technician stated the leak was fixed.
 
2012 year they added 1.5 lbs of R22 this year 2013 they put in 5 lbs,  CHC were the experts and they had my service record.
 
Thank you,

Business Response: ****** ******* called us on the night of June 12th, 2013 and left a message on our answering machine.  I called her the next morning and left her a message.  I never received a call back.  After a few days I called again and left a message and once again no call back.  We were never given the opportunity to see what the problem was and on the proposal from ******* Heating and Cooling they do not state why they were replacing the system.  Due to these circumstances I do not feel we owe ****** ******* any refund.    

Consumer Response: Requesting $400 

 
I received no message returning my phone call, let alone 2 messages.  I filed the complaint with the Better Business Bureau because CHC was not communicating with me.   From the time I filed the complaint I thought maybe now CHC would call me, but nothing.  It was about 2 weeks after my complaint was filed before I contacted other heating & cooling companies.  
 
CHC did not fix the unit as their expert technician stated.  CHC made no contact with me after I left them a message that the unit was not working. 
 
****** *******t















Business Response: We do not wish to have a bad relationship with a past customer.  At this time we would like to offer ****** *******t a $200 refund even though we were not given the opportunity to fix the problem.



Consumer Response: Reject $200 offer             Request $400 Refund
 
1.  There was a 3 week time frame from the leak test, which is normally 24 to 48 hours to determine if the leak was found. It was extended by the CHC technicians request.  It was 3 weeks because I needed to wait until I was off work again.  On that 4th appointment I was told the leak was found and fixed.  I was also told because it was 3 weeks from the test had it not held he (the technician) would have been talking to me about a new unit.    I think 4 appointments does show I am a patient person.  
 
2. If Mr. ******** of CHC would have called me back, I know I was upset when I left the message because I was covered in poison ivy and I expected to come home to a cool house and that was not the case, I would still be doing business with his company today.  I was disappointed 24 hours later when I came home from work and had no message from CHC.
 
3.  In Mr. ********'s first response he stated "the consumer called and left a message and he called her back and she never returned his call phone call."  - Noted  - It went from Mr. ******** making 1 call to now later making 2 calls.  I also noted that Mr. ******** named ******* in a response when I never stated who I signed with.  
 
4.  $400 is the requested amount and I will not accept anything less.    CHC had the appointment times with me, had  the same seasoned technician at my home each time.  CHC chose not to respond to a distraught consumer.  
 
Thank you,





Consumer Response: It has been 1 month since with no reply from CHC.  What is the time frame for a company to respond?  Will the case be closed with no resolution?
 
Thank you,
****** *******

Business Response:

Even though I do not feel we were at fault with the service provided to ****** *******t, I have decided to refund her the $400 she has requested.  I will approve this check to be issued this Friday, 9/6/13.

Thank You