BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Glass Doctor?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Glass Doctor

Phone: (614) 367-9830 Fax: (614) 367-9840 View Additional Phone Numbers 6475 E Main St , Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 http://www.glassdoctor.com/columbus View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Window and Door Glass Replacement, Shower and Tub Enclosures, Glass Mirrors and Tabletops, Patio Tables, Commercial Storefronts and Doors, All Auto Glass Repair and Replacement

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glass Doctor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Glass Doctor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Glass Doctor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 15, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1967 in OH Business started locally: 12/01/2012 Business incorporated: 03/12/1990 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Repair
77 S High St Fl 16, Columbus OH 43215
http://collisionboard.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: (614) 995-0714
mike.greene@exchange.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation Glass Doctor is a Franchise business of Franchisor The Dwyer Group dba The Glass Doctor

Business Management
Mr. Matt Kelly, Owner/Manager Ms. Jennifer Gardner, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Gardner, Marketing Manager
Principal: Mr. Matt Kelly, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Glass - Plate and Window Glass - Repair Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Glass, Mirror & Screen Companies Glass Board - Up Service Glaziers Table Tops Mirrors Shower Doors & Enclosures

Products & Services

Glass Doctor sells the following brand(s): Basco, ClearChoice, Western Reflections

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, checks and cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
All products and workmanship guaranteed.  Warrantees vary based on product.
Auto Glass carries a lifetime nationwide warranty against leaks and whistles and a 12 month breakage guarantee, even for road hazard damage.
Alternate Business Names
Service Convenience Inc.
Business Management

In December 2012 Matt Kelley purchase the assets but not the liabilities of the Glass Doctor location(s) in Central OH previously operated by Timothy Billman.

BBB maintains a separate business review on the prior ownership at http://www.bbb.org/centralohio/business-reviews/auto-repair-windshield-glass-shops/glass-doctor-of-columbus-under-the-ownership-of-timothy-billman-out-of-business-in-reynoldsburg-oh-37002424?bluerefx=1

Mr. Kelley also owns and operates Glass Doctor location(s) in the Cleveland area and BBB maintains a separate business review which is available at http://www.bbb.org/cleveland/business-reviews/auto-repair-windshield-glass-shops/glass-doctor-in-cleveland-oh-18000741



Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. These agencies may include:Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Collision Repair Registration37 West Broad St., Suite 880, Columbus OH 43215 http://www.collisionboard.ohio.govPhone Number:
(614) 995-0714Fax Number: 614-995-0717 mike.greene@crb.state.oh.us


Additional Locations

  • 6475 E Main St

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 367-9830

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 426-2432(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the company about a windshield replacement (mine was cracked beyond repair) and was given an oral quote of $398 and change. I was not present when service was completed and paid for (my wife paid the invoice). I found the invoice to be $489.13 When I called, the same person who gave me the quote answered this call and his name was ***** He looked through the paperwork and found all in order. Further research attributed the difference to an oversize piece of repair material. Because I failed to get a written estimate, I have nothing to prove this, however, I think the BBB ought to know for future reference. In the end, I can do nothing due to the above lack of written estimate. Their failure to give me a correct quote is not my fault. At the very least, there should have been an a corrected quote give and an opportunity to turn down or accept the job. I don't believe any of this was intentional, but rather an honest mistake, however, a quote is a quote and when it changes,l it ought to be honored or at least re-quoted. My final invoice shows the above mentioned oversize part and lists it as "1 oversized part - misc.auto" I don't even know what it was.

Desired Settlement: A check for the difference of $489.13 and $398.50. (the 50 cents being half way on the dollar as I do not know what the "and change" was.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication on this quote.  We will gladly refund $91.00 for the amount of the oversized part plus tax.  We never intentionally charge more than was quoted without clear communication and ok from our customers.  We will mail a check to the address on file.

Consumer Response:  As of today's mail, I have not yet received any communication from the merchant.  It has been 12 days now.


 

Business Response:

I sincerely apologize for the delay.  I have been informed that the check was mailed on 6/19.

 

Consumer Response: I have received the check.  Thank you for your help with this problem.


 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a crack in my front windshield of my 2008 GMC Acadia. My insurance company sent me to Glass Doctor to have it replaced. Shortly after I noticed moisture in vehicle, I called them and they denied fault, I then began noticing water leaking in vehicle behind the glove box, they again denied fault and stated that it must be the drain hose from sunroof that it couldn't be the window. They agreed to look at it and found a small leak and allegedly repaired it at the bottom of the windshield on the passenger side. After I picked back up my vehicle I noticed even more water on the passenger floor that had over the next day and a half due to heavy rains, soaked my floor, floor mat and went into the back seat putting close to 1 1/2 inches of water in my battery compartment (which sits behind my passenger seat). At this point I had to replace my battery which cost over $100. I then had a mechanic look at it and they stated it was not the sunroof it was the window. I contacted Glass Doctor again and was unsuccessful in even having phone calls answered or returned. Their own technician had came to my house to evaluate and said it was not the window from what he could see but that he had recommended that it be removed and replaced but the owner (****) had said he was not replacing it. I contacted my insurance agent and he also got nowhere with trying to communicate with them. He stated that he has left messages with no answers. Since they would not be cooperative and I now have major electrical damage due to the leak I have had another glass company look at it and they found the leak and had to replace the windshield due to improper installation from the Glass Doctor. I now have to begin to figure out all of the damage that this has caused my vehicle beginning with a fuse box that was flooded out and has shorted. This company has not stood behind their work. Their negligence has caused a lot of damage to my vehicle. The electrical damage is extensive and the smell from the mildew and mold in the carpet is appalling. I am having to pay the costs out of pocket to fix my vehicle and will then have to take the matters to court to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Glass Doctor to reimburse me for the costs that I have incurred thus far relating to the issue. I would also like them to cover all future costs related to the damage that the water leak has cause including the carpet damage and all electrical issues.

Business Response: On 11/26/13, we installed a windshield in the customer’s vehicle. On or about 12/16/13, the customer called, stating that “the inside of her windshield was freezing up with ice”. On 12/16/13, our technician inspected the installation, found a small gap in the sealant at the bottom of the windshield, and sealed the gap. This small a gap could not be the source of this much water – especially in a sitting vehicle.    

 At this time, we recommended that the sunroof be inspected. The customer had told us of pre-existing leakage issue at the top of the windshield that occurred sometime prior to the customer purchasing the vehicle. Given this information, staining on the headliner, and the location of the sunroof, this seemed like the most likely source of entry.  

 Following this inspection, the customer called our office, stated that the leak was continuing on the floor and we scheduled an appointment for 12/24/13. The office spoke with the technician, who asked if the customer had the sunroof checked. The customer had not yet done this, so we again recommended that course of action to the customer.  

 The customer brought her car to a body shop. On 1/14/14, I spoke with ***** at the body shop where the vehicle had been inspected. My notes are below:  

 “mk 1/14 I spoke with ***** (cell #614-595-5985). They tested the roof system and no leak. They then ran a hose over the windshield and a great deal of water ran onto the floor boards - he thinks passenger side. I told him that amount of water coming in the bottom of a windshield in a stationary vehicle is almost impossible given the angle of the windshield and gravity. He understood. They didn't check out any possible source of leakage under the windshield cowl or below. Our next course of action is to bring a compressor so that we can foam/pressure test. I can't remember a time when this type of leak turned out to be the windshield.”  

On 1/17/14, our technician performed an air test on the windshield. His note is below:   “foam tested nothing found 1/17/14 #103”  

 All diagnostics point to another source for this leakage, rather than the windshield. The amount of water, location (lower in the passenger cabin), fact that it occurs when the vehicle is sitting, lack of any air noise or wind whistle while driving, and no gaps in our sealant as documented by air test – all point to the leakage issue being elsewhere. The most likely entry point is below the cowl on the headwall between the engine and passenger compartments. When we last had contact with the customer on 1/17/14, we recommended the customer have this area tested.  

 Throughout this ordeal, we have been responsive and responsible in addressing the customer’s concerns. We have documented that the water coming into the customer’s car is not coming in through the windshield. 

Consumer Response: There is some incorrect information stated in the response and I have documentation showing that it was the improperly installed window.  The window has since been fixed by another party and is now not leaking anymore.  When It sat outside overnight at my work on a night that got into negative degree weather and snowed I did have ice on outside of vehicle but not on inside at all as previously noted before window replacement. 

 
The following information is incorrect:  At no time did I ever state that there was previous water damage to my vehicle.  The technician that came to my home the first time I called stated that he thought there was due to headliner discoloration and that he thought it was from the sunroof at which time he did not inspect nor fix any leak.  The leak was "fixed" at a later date in their shop where I dropped it off about a week or two later.  I had the car inspected and was told it was the windshield on the 30th of December not in mid January as my documents will show.  When the window installers from ******** auto glass removed the windshield that was placed by glass doctor they allowed me to take pictures of the area and also stated that it needed to be replaced due to improper installation.  Throughout this whole ordeal I have not had the cooperation of the glass doctor.  I even got my car insurance agent, **** ******, ******** Insurance, Grove City, Ohio,  involved and he said he was treated the same way and that he recommended that I file a complaint with the Attorney General which led me to where I am now.  
 
I am sending copies of all of my documentation (including battery replacement, fuse box replacement, window replacement and rental invoices as well as pictures after old window was removed that show where the water was coming in) and also I still have to have the car's carpet cleaned as it has a mildew odor.  Also at this time the fuse box being replaced (which I physically have the old fuse box that shows damage and was full of water) seems to have fixed the electrical problems but there could be more in the future as water does not stand in one place.

Business Response: Although we still dispute that we are at fault, we will reimburse customer. We need from customer a final amount with receipts showing damages and dates.  Once confirmed, we will send a release to the customer. Customer will need to sign and return. We will issue check upon receipt of signed release.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Attached are the documents I provided previously that are receipts for costs that I have incurred during this incident and the dates are located on the receipts.  I hope this is satisfactory as to the amounts and the dates.  At this time the odor in the car is minimal but I am unsure of what the smell will be like when the heat of summer hits it in the upcoming months.  So, I do not have a receipt for that cost nor do I have an estimate at this time.





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/11/2013 ***** **** *********** broke a double pane window while delivering furniture to my home. ***** **** *********** contacted Glass Doctor to come out emergently to secure my home and place an order for a replacment window. ******, service technician came within the hour to do the securment work and advised us that the replacement window would take 10 days. I called Glass Doctor 9 days into the order to check the status of the window, only to be advised that the window would not take 10 days but 2-3 weeks, due to a change in manufacturer. On 5/31, now approaching the 2-3 week deadline, I once again called to check the status of the window, only to be told that now the window would take 3-5 weeks. At this time, I spoke with ****, manager and this is what she informed me. Now 6 weeks post accident, I still do not have a replacement window. My husband, finally was able to get delivery confirmation for 6/24 between 0830-1030 and called this day to confirm. *****, customer service, confirmed delivery. At 1115 that day, we once again called about the delivery, only to be told the window was not in and it would now be delivered on Monday 7/1. My husband and I have left several messages with ****, manager and ****, owner only to not have calls returned, at some point this situation was left to ******, service technician to handle. At this point I called *******, owner of ***** **** *********** to inform of this BBB complaint. He also called and was told that the serivce was closed 6/19, leading him to believe that the window was taken care of. All I have gotten is the run around with this company, no phone calls and no expedited services. My home is left unsecure due to this window, not to mention my home is currently listed for sale with no interested because of a boarded up window. Customer Service with this company is horrible, turn around time for repair is less than desirable. I would like to see how Glass Doctor would handle this situation if they were in my shoes.

Desired Settlement: Short of installing my window, there is nothing that the Glass Doctor can do to resolve this situation. I truly to not understand how this company operates with such horrible customer service and turn around time

Business Response:

The customer is absolutely right that this order took an extraordinarily long time to complete. There were issues between our office and the window manufacturer that caused the delays. The situation was further aggravated by our customer service staff failing to keep the customer informed as we encountered and overcame these obstacles. The job was completed on July 1, 2013.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: if you google glass doctor in columbus ohio thier website says "We Beat Any Advertise Price by 10%. Fast Mobile Service ###-###-####."called them with a quote from another company and they said no they will not lower thier price to that or beat it.

Desired Settlement: them to honor thier word and and do the work that they claim for the price matching and beating any competitor by 10%.

Business Response:

This issue has since been resolved with the customer - to the point where we have already done the job! My understanding is that the customer is withdrawing this complaint.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While fixing a small dent in my windshield, The Glass Doctor technician cut and chipped the inside UV filter with a razor. I was never made aware that the technician would be working on the inside of my vehicle; services were not clearly defined or explained. I tried to resolve this with them, and they refused to fix/repair the UV filter damage.

Desired Settlement: I feel that it is The Glass Doctor's responsibility to fix the damaged UV filter at their expense.

Business Response: My understanding is that this issue has since been resolved by the insurance company. Please let me know if we need to do anything further.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 






















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1