Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Window and Door Glass Replacement, Shower and Tub Enclosures, Glass Mirrors and Tabletops, Patio Tables, Commercial Storefronts and Doors, All Auto Glass Repair and Replacement


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glass Doctor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Glass Doctor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Glass Doctor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1967 in OH Business started locally: 12/01/2012 Business incorporated 03/12/1990 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Repair
77 S High St Fl 16, Columbus OH 43215
http://collisionboard.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: (614) 995-0714
mike.greene@exchange.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation Principal The Dwyer Group dba The Glass Doctor

Business Management
Mr. Matt Kelly, Owner/Manager Ms. Jennifer Gardner, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Kelly, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Glass - Plate and Window Glass - Repair Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Glass, Mirror & Screen Companies Glass Board - Up Service Glaziers Table Tops Mirrors Shower Doors & Enclosures

Products & Services

Glass Doctor sells the following brand(s): Basco, ClearChoice, Western Reflections

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, checks and cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
All products and workmanship guaranteed.  Warrantees vary based on product.
Auto Glass carries a lifetime nationwide warranty against leaks and whistles and a 12 month breakage guarantee, even for road hazard damage.
Alternate Business Names
Service Convenience Inc.
Business Management

In December 2012 Matt Kelley purchase the assets but not the liabilities of the Glass Doctor location(s) in Central OH previously operated by Timothy Billman.

BBB maintains a separate business review on the prior ownership at http://www.bbb.org/centralohio/business-reviews/auto-repair-windshield-glass-shops/glass-doctor-of-columbus-under-the-ownership-of-timothy-billman-out-of-business-in-reynoldsburg-oh-37002424?bluerefx=1

Mr. Kelley also owns and operates Glass Doctor location(s) in the Cleveland area and BBB maintains a separate business review which is available at http://www.bbb.org/cleveland/business-reviews/auto-repair-windshield-glass-shops/glass-doctor-in-cleveland-oh-18000741



Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. These agencies may include:Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Collision Repair Registration37 West Broad St., Suite 880, Columbus OH 43215 http://www.collisionboard.ohio.govPhone Number:
(614) 995-0714Fax Number: 614-995-0717 mike.greene@crb.state.oh.us


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Glass Doctor has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6475 E Main St

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 367-9830

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had the windshield replaced in my car, and it was not installed properly.The window leaks, they came out twice to "fix it" and it still leaks. Now they don't show up when they say and they do not return calls.All I want is this fixed and if they can then give me and my insurance company our money back so I can take somewhere that is honest and reliable.Please help me.

Desired Settlement: All I want is this fixed and if they can then give me and my insurance company our money back so I can take somewhere that is honest and reliable.Please help me.

Business Response: I'm sorry for the issue our customer is having with this windshield installation. Since installation on We have been out once to reseal the gap in the seal and this has not rectified the problem. We have a complete re-installation of the glass scheduled with the customer for Friday, March 6.

Business Response: I'm sorry for the issue our customer is having with this windshield installation. Since installation on We have been out once to reseal the gap in the seal and this has not rectified the problem. We have a complete re-installation of the glass scheduled with the customer for Friday, March 6.

Business Response: The windshield re-installation was completed on Monday, March 9th.

Business Response: The windshield re-installation was completed on Monday, March 9th.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 

2/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son, ****** and I co-own and share expenses for *** ******* **** Ave. Columbus, Ohio where Glass Doctor installed the sliding glass doors. We individually pay for certain items and then settle between ourselves. ****** handled the initial replacement of the sliding doors. When one of the doors they installed shattered, ****** was working in places where he couldn’t always send and receive phone calls. We agreed that I would handle the glass replacement. Neither of us currently live in the house. When the Glass Doctor employee, ****, arrived at the house, I briefed him on ****** not being available, gave him my name and phone number and told him to contact me to arrange replacing the glass. As I looked at the glass, It looked like the shattering was radiating from inside the metal trim on the side near the top of the glass about 7 feet above the ground. On Work Order **********, **** wrote, “POSSIBLE WARRANTY WILL DETERMINE AT INSTALL…” He also wrote, “CALL WHEN ON THE WAY.” Glass Doctor Did not call me, as I instructed them but continued to call my son, ******. I stayed in Columbus on August 6 to open the house when Glass Doctor came. They called my son’s voice mail to notify him that an employee had called in sick and they needed to reschedule. Because ****** couldn’t use his phone at the time, I didn’t get notified until mid-day. I called Glass Doctor and rescheduled for August 9.. At 8:20 Am on August 9, I called ****’s cell phone to let him know I was working near to the house and could be there with a 20 minute notice. **** said it would be around 11:30- 12 before he was there. At 10:07 I got a call from my son explaining that Glass Doctor was at the house. Not wanting to hold them up, my son told **** how to get into the house. When I arrived the work was basically done. **** already had the glass loaded in his truck with the defect down. He did not want to take the glass out of the rack. I wrote directly to the company and got a response which basically duplicated the response from ****. They said we got a good deal on the original price, because we got the military discount. My son used his military status to negotiate the price. It wasn’t anything he created it was something they offered which made their price competitive with other vendors. The only thing I can figure is that Glass Doctor is saying is if a customer gets a military discount, there is no warranty. It took me going through this process, observing how **** rushed to the house to be there ahead of me and have the glass already loaded in the rack to realize that Glass Doctor wasn’t doing a warranty replacement regardless of how the glass broke. If they would been forthright and told me from the beginning that they were just not doing a warranty repair under any circumstances, I could have called someone else. But they didn’t, instead they wrote possible warranty repair, we stayed with them and didn’t learn until the end that no warranty repair was possible. 

Desired Settlement: Refund the payment for what should have been a warranty repair.

Consumer Response: Attached is a copy of Work Order ********** dated June 30, 2014
Glass Doctor states that ******, my son, was to be contacted.  Note that the work order lists ###-###-#### as the cell phone number.  That is my cell number.  I gave Glass Doctor my name as contact person on June 30, in the creation of that work order.  Note also that the work order says “CALL CELL # CUSTOMER NEEDS 1 HR TO MEET TECH.”  All calls after July 30 were made to my son, at his phone despite being told that my son could not always answer the phone.  Glass Doctor never followed those instructions.  They have NEVER called my cell phone, even after I called ****’s cell phone from my cell on the morning the glass was actually replaced, to let him know I could be there with a 20 minute notice.  They also did not give the notice requested on the work order, but called ****** after they had arrived to replace the glass.  
 
There had been an earlier scheduled replacement date.  On that date, I waited at the house for hours, until my son was able to get to his phone and text me that Glass Doctor was trying to reschedule.  They called my son and left a voice mail, rather that calling me, as their work order instructed.  I do not believe this is accidental miscommunication.
 
If the glass would have had the markings, indicating a rock strike as **** ***** indicated in his letter, I have no doubt **** would have gleefully shown me the proof.  The facts: that he never called me, that he never called ****** until he had arrived at the house, and the fact that he quickly removed the glass and loaded it with defect down, all indicate a pattern of deceit.  **** did not take the glass out of the rack and show the bottom side of the glass.  After the work was finished and I had paid for the replacement glass, **** called my son and told him that he couldn’t really tell what had caused the glass to shatter because too much of the glass had broken from the frame.
 
Mr. ***** has undoubtedly seen enough broken glass where he can describe the text book case of glass broken by a stone.  He was not describing the broken glass removed from our house.  I saw that glass.  I was the person who removed the shattered glass, before it fell to the ground, being careful not to remove any glass from the frame, as **** instructed.  If that glass fell from the frame, as **** described in his call to my son, it did so in conjunction with removing the glass from the frame.
 
It is impossible for me to imagine all this miscommunication is unintentional.  I stand by my original premise: Glass Doctor was not doing a warranty replacement, regardless of the cause of the break.


Business Response: I am sorry for the delayed response on this matter. We will be changing our email address in your system to prevent this delay in the future.  
 
I have attached the work order that is in our computer system for this job, **********, schedule date of 8/9/14. The only phone number shown is ###-###-####. 
 
There has been absolutely no attempt to mislead or have purposeful miscommunication. With multiple people being involved at both our and the customer end, communication issues sometimes occur. This would appear to be the case here.
 
There is no "text book case" for this situation, all we have is visual observation of the radiating cracks leading from a likely impact location - and the amount of glass damaged at that point.  Although it is difficult or sometimes impossible to identify the cause of tempered glass breakage, these visual observations indicate that a small projectile impacted the glass. The glass was broken subsequent to our original installation. There was nothing present at the time of this replacement that would cause this to be a warrantee situation. 
 
We did provide the customer with the discounted (multiple installation) price for this work in deference to the earlier job.
 
 


Consumer Response: It doesn’t surprise me that Mr. ***** cannot find a copy of the repair order I submitted, I was probably supposed to lose my copy, too.  I affirm to the BBB and Glass Doctor that I verbally submitted the information that ended up on that form, but I did not create, modify or deface the actual form in any manner.  That form is exactly as I received it from ****, the person who inspected the broken glass and eventually replaced it.  The fact that the form disappeared even explains why I didn’t get a call back about the glass that was supposed to be in Cleveland.  After not hearing back from Glass Doctor, I had to call in again.  I suspect the date on Mr. *****’s work order matches the date when I made that phone call.
 
Mr. ***** doesn’t mention showing the form to his employee and asking about why the information never made it into Glass Doctor’s computer system.  He also doesn’t mention the unsolicited Phone Call his employee made to my son, after the glass had been paid for the second time, to explain that too much of the glass had been broken out and he really couldn’t tell the cause of the break.  My son’s statement does not have to be hearsay information.  I can get a statement from him, but I would like to know what **** told Mr. ***** about that conversation?
 
Mr. *****’s statement that Glass Doctor called the phone number specified in the work order is true only if he can choose which work order he wants to work from and disregards the one he doesn’t.  There are notes on the work order, which refer to our conversation on how Glass Doctor’s employee and I would peal back the rubber and examine the glass t its edge together during the replacement, and then determine the cause of the break, together.  After writing that and knowing that my son would not be available, **** continued to call him.  On the last trip, when he knew it would take a little while for me to get there,  he insured that I was “out of the loop” by calling my son after Glass Doctor had already arrived at the house.
 
I really don’t intend to be hard on Glass Doctor’s employee.  I believe he is exhibiting all the behaviors of a glass repair employee who has been placed between a rock and a hard place.  Glass Doctor advertises that their work is warranted.  I suspect that there is a de facto policy something like, “We don’t make any money fixing broken glass for free, no exceptions.”  If that is true then it is the employee who is caught in the middle.  The work order disappearing, talking about joint inspection of the break and then making sure it wouldn’t happen, circumventing the customer, calling in sick on the date the glass is supposed to be replaced, not following through with a work order; are all behaviors an observer would expect in such a situation.  Mr. ***** writes, “There has been absolutely no attempt to mislead or have purposeful miscommunication”, I don’t see how there hasn’t.
 
I think it is time for Mr. ***** to come clean and warrant the glass as he advertises.

Business Response:

Good news. We found the original copy of the work order executed on August 9, 2014. The order shows only one phone number (###-###-####). It has the customer's signature.

 

Our warranty covers our workmanship and the insulating seal. It does not cover glass breakage. In this case, the glass was broken subsequent to our installation - apparently by impact from some type of projectile. Tempered glass spider cracks and breaks into thousands of pieces when impacted. Unless the projectile is imbedded in the glass or lying nearby, the cause of breakage is a matter of guesswork.

 

I am sorry that our customer perceives any type of attempt to mislead - this is simply not the case. And, I'm more sorry that he had to replace the glass again so soon after it was initially replaced. However, this is clearly not a warranty situation.

1/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our living room window was shattered by a tree in a wind event before Thanksgiving. The Glass Doctor was the only company that had an available appointment that week, and came out on Friday, November 28 to take measurements for the window. At the time of the phone call, my husband was stated an order time of 7 - 10 days for the glass to be manufactured, and then a few more days to schedule an appointment to install the glass. When the technician arrived, he told me it would be 2 - 3 weeks. It is now a full month since the order has been placed, and we have yet to receive our glass. My husband called at three weeks and was informed they would call him once the window arrived. Another week went by without word, and I phoned. The gentleman I spoke with assured me he would check on the status of the order and phone me back with further information. To date I have received no phone call, our main floor window is boarded up and makes me very nervous for the safety of our family.

Desired Settlement: A deposit of 50% of the cost was required at the time of ordering, otherwise I would cancel my order and take my business elsewhere. I really want my glass replaced so my family can stay warm and safe, and I feel that the quoted price should be adjusted for the inconvenience and aggravation the Glass Doctor has caused.

Business Response:

I'm sorry for the delay on this job. We have one of the pieces of glass, but the second piece was delayed at the factory. And then, the factory was closed for an extended shutdown over the holidays. We expect the second piece this week and have contacted the customer via voicemail and email to schedule installation next week.

 

We will discuss possible discount when we next talk with the customer.

Business Response:

I'm sorry for the delay on this job. We have one of the pieces of glass, but the second piece was delayed at the factory. And then, the factory was closed for an extended shutdown over the holidays. We expect the second piece this week and have contacted the customer via voicemail and email to schedule installation next week.

 

We will discuss possible discount when we next talk with the customer.

12/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is a failure to replace the front windshield on my vehicle which has a life time warranty according to my invoice; AND FAILURE TO RESPOND TO PHONE CALLS AND REQUEST FOR ASSISTANCE. I began calling and speaking with representatives at this glass doctor location since 11/12/14. I have followed up several times including speaking with ***** ************ and **** ****** ******* on 11/15/14. I was told they could not locate my information in their system due to my account being under the old management team which has since been purchased by **** ******. On 11/17/14 I faxed over my invoice/receipt that was provided to me 12/30/2009 the date of original service. I followed back up AGAIN on 11/19/14 in which ***** had me on hold for over 6 minutes and finally came back to the phone indicated **** had received my fax and will follow up. I have since called several times requesting to speak with either ****a or **** and each time they are always UNAVAILABLE (in meeting). I was informed again on 11/24/14 by ***** ******** that she will give my information to both ****, ***, and a dispatcher to call me. No surprise, no one has reached out to set the appointment to replace the windshield. I did call and if I needed a repair I can get an appointment same day... INTERESTING THEY MAKE APPOINTMENTS QUICKLY TO TAKE MONEY BUT NOT TO HONOR WARRANTY.

Desired Settlement: I want my windshield replaced and done correctly this time. ASAP

Business Response:

This matter has been fully taken care of.

We purchased this franchise area in December, 2012. The only issue that slowed up our response to our customer was that her job was done by the previous franchisee. We have been honoring warranty for the previous owner, but have no information about those completed jobs. Once we received a copy of the customer's work order in our Reynoldsburg office, we scheduled and completed the warranty work promptly.

 

Business Response:

This matter has been fully taken care of.

We purchased this franchise area in December, 2012. The only issue that slowed up our response to our customer was that her job was done by the previous franchisee. We have been honoring warranty for the previous owner, but have no information about those completed jobs. Once we received a copy of the customer's work order in our Reynoldsburg office, we scheduled and completed the warranty work promptly.

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the company about a windshield replacement (mine was cracked beyond repair) and was given an oral quote of $398 and change. I was not present when service was completed and paid for (my wife paid the invoice). I found the invoice to be $489.13 When I called, the same person who gave me the quote answered this call and his name was ***** He looked through the paperwork and found all in order. Further research attributed the difference to an oversize piece of repair material. Because I failed to get a written estimate, I have nothing to prove this, however, I think the BBB ought to know for future reference. In the end, I can do nothing due to the above lack of written estimate. Their failure to give me a correct quote is not my fault. At the very least, there should have been an a corrected quote give and an opportunity to turn down or accept the job. I don't believe any of this was intentional, but rather an honest mistake, however, a quote is a quote and when it changes,l it ought to be honored or at least re-quoted. My final invoice shows the above mentioned oversize part and lists it as "1 oversized part - misc.auto" I don't even know what it was.

Desired Settlement: A check for the difference of $489.13 and $398.50. (the 50 cents being half way on the dollar as I do not know what the "and change" was.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication on this quote.  We will gladly refund $91.00 for the amount of the oversized part plus tax.  We never intentionally charge more than was quoted without clear communication and ok from our customers.  We will mail a check to the address on file.

Consumer Response:  As of today's mail, I have not yet received any communication from the merchant.  It has been 12 days now.


 

Business Response:

I sincerely apologize for the delay.  I have been informed that the check was mailed on 6/19.

 

Consumer Response: I have received the check.  Thank you for your help with this problem.


 

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a crack in my front windshield of my 2008 GMC Acadia. My insurance company sent me to Glass Doctor to have it replaced. Shortly after I noticed moisture in vehicle, I called them and they denied fault, I then began noticing water leaking in vehicle behind the glove box, they again denied fault and stated that it must be the drain hose from sunroof that it couldn't be the window. They agreed to look at it and found a small leak and allegedly repaired it at the bottom of the windshield on the passenger side. After I picked back up my vehicle I noticed even more water on the passenger floor that had over the next day and a half due to heavy rains, soaked my floor, floor mat and went into the back seat putting close to 1 1/2 inches of water in my battery compartment (which sits behind my passenger seat). At this point I had to replace my battery which cost over $100. I then had a mechanic look at it and they stated it was not the sunroof it was the window. I contacted Glass Doctor again and was unsuccessful in even having phone calls answered or returned. Their own technician had came to my house to evaluate and said it was not the window from what he could see but that he had recommended that it be removed and replaced but the owner (****) had said he was not replacing it. I contacted my insurance agent and he also got nowhere with trying to communicate with them. He stated that he has left messages with no answers. Since they would not be cooperative and I now have major electrical damage due to the leak I have had another glass company look at it and they found the leak and had to replace the windshield due to improper installation from the Glass Doctor. I now have to begin to figure out all of the damage that this has caused my vehicle beginning with a fuse box that was flooded out and has shorted. This company has not stood behind their work. Their negligence has caused a lot of damage to my vehicle. The electrical damage is extensive and the smell from the mildew and mold in the carpet is appalling. I am having to pay the costs out of pocket to fix my vehicle and will then have to take the matters to court to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Glass Doctor to reimburse me for the costs that I have incurred thus far relating to the issue. I would also like them to cover all future costs related to the damage that the water leak has cause including the carpet damage and all electrical issues.

Business Response: On 11/26/13, we installed a windshield in the customer’s vehicle. On or about 12/16/13, the customer called, stating that “the inside of her windshield was freezing up with ice”. On 12/16/13, our technician inspected the installation, found a small gap in the sealant at the bottom of the windshield, and sealed the gap. This small a gap could not be the source of this much water – especially in a sitting vehicle.    

 At this time, we recommended that the sunroof be inspected. The customer had told us of pre-existing leakage issue at the top of the windshield that occurred sometime prior to the customer purchasing the vehicle. Given this information, staining on the headliner, and the location of the sunroof, this seemed like the most likely source of entry.  

 Following this inspection, the customer called our office, stated that the leak was continuing on the floor and we scheduled an appointment for 12/24/13. The office spoke with the technician, who asked if the customer had the sunroof checked. The customer had not yet done this, so we again recommended that course of action to the customer.  

 The customer brought her car to a body shop. On 1/14/14, I spoke with ***** at the body shop where the vehicle had been inspected. My notes are below:  

 “mk 1/14 I spoke with ***** (cell #614-595-5985). They tested the roof system and no leak. They then ran a hose over the windshield and a great deal of water ran onto the floor boards - he thinks passenger side. I told him that amount of water coming in the bottom of a windshield in a stationary vehicle is almost impossible given the angle of the windshield and gravity. He understood. They didn't check out any possible source of leakage under the windshield cowl or below. Our next course of action is to bring a compressor so that we can foam/pressure test. I can't remember a time when this type of leak turned out to be the windshield.”  

On 1/17/14, our technician performed an air test on the windshield. His note is below:   “foam tested nothing found 1/17/14 #103”  

 All diagnostics point to another source for this leakage, rather than the windshield. The amount of water, location (lower in the passenger cabin), fact that it occurs when the vehicle is sitting, lack of any air noise or wind whistle while driving, and no gaps in our sealant as documented by air test – all point to the leakage issue being elsewhere. The most likely entry point is below the cowl on the headwall between the engine and passenger compartments. When we last had contact with the customer on 1/17/14, we recommended the customer have this area tested.  

 Throughout this ordeal, we have been responsive and responsible in addressing the customer’s concerns. We have documented that the water coming into the customer’s car is not coming in through the windshield. 

Consumer Response: There is some incorrect information stated in the response and I have documentation showing that it was the improperly installed window.  The window has since been fixed by another party and is now not leaking anymore.  When It sat outside overnight at my work on a night that got into negative degree weather and snowed I did have ice on outside of vehicle but not on inside at all as previously noted before window replacement. 

 
The following information is incorrect:  At no time did I ever state that there was previous water damage to my vehicle.  The technician that came to my home the first time I called stated that he thought there was due to headliner discoloration and that he thought it was from the sunroof at which time he did not inspect nor fix any leak.  The leak was "fixed" at a later date in their shop where I dropped it off about a week or two later.  I had the car inspected and was told it was the windshield on the 30th of December not in mid January as my documents will show.  When the window installers from ******** auto glass removed the windshield that was placed by glass doctor they allowed me to take pictures of the area and also stated that it needed to be replaced due to improper installation.  Throughout this whole ordeal I have not had the cooperation of the glass doctor.  I even got my car insurance agent, **** ******, ******** Insurance, Grove City, Ohio,  involved and he said he was treated the same way and that he recommended that I file a complaint with the Attorney General which led me to where I am now.  
 
I am sending copies of all of my documentation (including battery replacement, fuse box replacement, window replacement and rental invoices as well as pictures after old window was removed that show where the water was coming in) and also I still have to have the car's carpet cleaned as it has a mildew odor.  Also at this time the fuse box being replaced (which I physically have the old fuse box that shows damage and was full of water) seems to have fixed the electrical problems but there could be more in the future as water does not stand in one place.

Business Response: Although we still dispute that we are at fault, we will reimburse customer. We need from customer a final amount with receipts showing damages and dates.  Once confirmed, we will send a release to the customer. Customer will need to sign and return. We will issue check upon receipt of signed release.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Attached are the documents I provided previously that are receipts for costs that I have incurred during this incident and the dates are located on the receipts.  I hope this is satisfactory as to the amounts and the dates.  At this time the odor in the car is minimal but I am unsure of what the smell will be like when the heat of summer hits it in the upcoming months.  So, I do not have a receipt for that cost nor do I have an estimate at this time.





















7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/11/2013 ***** **** *********** broke a double pane window while delivering furniture to my home. ***** **** *********** contacted Glass Doctor to come out emergently to secure my home and place an order for a replacment window. ******, service technician came within the hour to do the securment work and advised us that the replacement window would take 10 days. I called Glass Doctor 9 days into the order to check the status of the window, only to be advised that the window would not take 10 days but 2-3 weeks, due to a change in manufacturer. On 5/31, now approaching the 2-3 week deadline, I once again called to check the status of the window, only to be told that now the window would take 3-5 weeks. At this time, I spoke with ****, manager and this is what she informed me. Now 6 weeks post accident, I still do not have a replacement window. My husband, finally was able to get delivery confirmation for 6/24 between 0830-1030 and called this day to confirm. *****, customer service, confirmed delivery. At 1115 that day, we once again called about the delivery, only to be told the window was not in and it would now be delivered on Monday 7/1. My husband and I have left several messages with ****, manager and ****, owner only to not have calls returned, at some point this situation was left to ******, service technician to handle. At this point I called *******, owner of ***** **** *********** to inform of this BBB complaint. He also called and was told that the serivce was closed 6/19, leading him to believe that the window was taken care of. All I have gotten is the run around with this company, no phone calls and no expedited services. My home is left unsecure due to this window, not to mention my home is currently listed for sale with no interested because of a boarded up window. Customer Service with this company is horrible, turn around time for repair is less than desirable. I would like to see how Glass Doctor would handle this situation if they were in my shoes.

Desired Settlement: Short of installing my window, there is nothing that the Glass Doctor can do to resolve this situation. I truly to not understand how this company operates with such horrible customer service and turn around time

Business Response:

The customer is absolutely right that this order took an extraordinarily long time to complete. There were issues between our office and the window manufacturer that caused the delays. The situation was further aggravated by our customer service staff failing to keep the customer informed as we encountered and overcame these obstacles. The job was completed on July 1, 2013.

4/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: if you google glass doctor in columbus ohio thier website says "We Beat Any Advertise Price by 10%. Fast Mobile Service ###-###-####."called them with a quote from another company and they said no they will not lower thier price to that or beat it.

Desired Settlement: them to honor thier word and and do the work that they claim for the price matching and beating any competitor by 10%.

Business Response:

This issue has since been resolved with the customer - to the point where we have already done the job! My understanding is that the customer is withdrawing this complaint.

 

3/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While fixing a small dent in my windshield, The Glass Doctor technician cut and chipped the inside UV filter with a razor. I was never made aware that the technician would be working on the inside of my vehicle; services were not clearly defined or explained. I tried to resolve this with them, and they refused to fix/repair the UV filter damage.

Desired Settlement: I feel that it is The Glass Doctor's responsibility to fix the damaged UV filter at their expense.

Business Response: My understanding is that this issue has since been resolved by the insurance company. Please let me know if we need to do anything further.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.