Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Wise Choice Propane LLC

Phone: (740) 393-1300 13280 Wooster Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers propane sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wise Choice Propane LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Wise Choice Propane LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2007 Business started: 06/01/2005 Business started locally: 06/01/2005
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tom Dudley, President Ms. Susan Hogg, Owner Mr. Bob Wise, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Dudley, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Hogg, Owner
Business Category

Gas - Propane

Service Area
Knox * Licking * Franklin * Morrow * Richland * Ashland * Delaware counties in Ohio.
Additional Information

Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Wise Choice Propane LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    13280 Wooster Rd

    Mount Vernon, OH 43050 (740) 393-1300


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My issue all began in the beginning of Jan 2014. My propane was running low and I had called in to have the tank filled, I was told by *** that unless the tank was under 25% no fills would be happening because of the shortage and when my tank got to that point to call back in. However this is not what happened. 4 weeks later without my authorization my tank was filled for $4.70 a gallon. Almost $3 more than what I was normally charged. When I called the next day *** said that I had called in and ordered the propane. I then reminded her of our previous phone call and said that I never called back in saying my tank was under 25%. She then informed me that I was put on a list. I however had never been told I was put on this list and my tank was filled without my knowledge leaving my family with a balance of $700.00. Throughout this confrontation on the phone she was very rude and unprofessional and refused to help in anyway, even though we had asked for our tank to be drained of what was delivered. She even attempted to say that we were on a contract and until we called in we had been on contract. This however is not true I have never once received the contracted price of propane in the 3 years we have been with them, and a contract does not become void because of a phone call. My husband has asked numerous times for proof of a contract and copies of our receipts and nothing has been provided. The following day my father in law got a hold of the owner who admitted the mistake but refused to come drain the tank. I have since made a payment of $150 in the early spring. I have explained to this company that we never ordered this service and we are a family with only one income. At this point *** said to me in a very unprofessional tone, "your other bills can wait we will not." This past week she called my husband saying that they had been calling numerous times, when they have not called once. She said that we needed to pay something. We then got a letter in the mail, however it was for someone else's account, when my husband called in she explained that we had 5 days to pay it or we would be turned into collections and the only way to make that go away was to make a payment of $25. I called in two days in a row with no answer to make that payment. Then this past Tuesday 06/17/14 a man showed up to lock down our tank and said we were being turned into collections and that $75 was going to be charged to our account because of it being locked. The driver finally got a hold of *** and my husband made the $25 payment. Before the driver left he informed my husband that we are not the only ones this has happened to and that the owner is at a loss of what to do. When I logged into our bank account it showed 2 charges of $25. I immediately called in to get this resolved and she screamed "Oh really! Well I will look at in the morning" and hung up without even taking my name or account information. This issue has been drawn out long enough and we are sick of it. We told them months ago to come drain the tank and they refused. The owner has even admitted that they made a mistake. The only resolve that has been offered to us was a credit of $100, and we explained we could not pay it if they could just work with us, and now they want to send us into collections and wont help us resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I want my account credited for the service I also want a complete refund of what I have paid to them $200 (1 payment of $150, and the 2 payments of $25 that have been charged to my bank account) I want my tank taken and my services terminated, without being charged a $50 drain fee of my tank for a service I did not order.

Business Response: We would have never had an issue with this account, if payments would have been made every month.  The gas was ordered on the 30th of January, at that time, we were experiencing a propane shortage and the customer would have been told that we were getting all tanks that were lower then 25% first to try to keep everyone going.  Mr. ****** gas was delivered on the 15th of Feb. at the price per gallon of 3.50.  A payment was made in March, and then nothing till we arrived to lock the tank off on the 17th of June.  At this time, our service tech informed Mr. ****** that he would wave the 75.00 charge, but that the tank had to be locked off.  We only have a 30 day charge, we have given plenty of time since February to have the bill paid.  At this time, the only options, Mr. ****** has is to pay the bill in full in a timely manner or have the tank picked up.   Thank you

Consumer Response:

I never ordered the propane to begin with. I have been back and forth for months with this business. The purchase price was not what is stated. I was charged 4.70 and then after a talk with the owner the he lowered the price which only brought our balance down $100 and also in the conversation the owner stated that a mistake had been made. Our tank never went below 25% it was sitting at 45% when they came to fill it up, which is exactly how much is in their now. This is very shaddy considering around the same time there were other complaints from people who had ran out of propane and were not getting filled, yet mine was filled when I had a half filled tank. Every time I have called to have this issue resolved the lady who answers the phone is very mean and nasty. I do not understand how I am expected to pay for a service that I did not order. I also would like to know how if I was supposedly under a "contract" why I was charged such an outrageous price and then all of sudden I am no longer under contract. This issue needs resolved now or further action will be taken against this business. 

Business Response: I am not sure what more can be said, the only contract Mr. ****** has is our tank contract, which has nothing to do with price guarantee ! Once again, I am sorry if there has been any confusion between the customer and us, as the company!  I can only move forward, and the options are still in the customers hand with please pay the bill in a timely manner or have it picked up! Thank you

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However this is only satisfactory after driving over an hour to the business, and it was not until I talked to someone other than the rude *** who answers the phone, was I told if my tank was taken then I did not owe anything. I have more than gladly ended business with this company and will never be coming back. 

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a credit of over $180.00. I called the first week of January and every week for three weeks following. Each week they said they would send a check to me but I have yet to receive it. Besides not receiving my credit on the account, the lady who answers the phone is rude and unprofessional no matter how nice I was when inquiring about the credit on my account.

Desired Settlement: Refund the credit owed to me on my account.

Business Response:

We will send a check out for their credit that they have left on their account that came from the State of Ohio Department of Development.  I answer the phone, also and have not ever talked to this customer on this issue, we will mail out the check on the 21st of February.  Sorry for any problems that they have had in receiving their check

thank you

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
However, I would like the record here to indicate that *** HAS in fact spoken to my wife three times (three weeks in a row) and was told since the beginning of January that the check would come. The unprofessional nature of this company should be noted as a warning to those considering using their service. Additionally, the check was issued from the government to help us pay our heating expenses, not to sit in this company's bank account for the last two years and have to fight to receive the credit back. I accept the refund of our credit and was all we wanted from the beginning of January when we first contacted the company about our credit. If the check is not received we will be back in touch with the BBB.


***** *******

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Wise Choice Propane Sept. 10,2013 when we sold our home in ******, Ohio. We informed them that they would need to pickup their propane tank and give us a refund for the remaining propane. The gage showed around 50% left when we moved out in Sept. which would mean around $300.00 refund. They picked the tank up in October. I called them the last week of October and was told that we would get our check as soon as they received more printed checks that they had ordered. I called the beginning of November and was told that they would send my refund out on Friday. I called again the end of Nov., beginning of Dec.,end of Dec.,beginning of Jan. all with the promise that I would be getting my refund at the end of that week. When I called them January 21 I informed them if I didn't get my refund by Friday,January 24th I would report them to Ohio Attoney General, BBB and 6 on your side. I was told (by Dee,the office worker) to do "Whatever floats your boat". As of today I still haven't been refunded for the propane(that they probley have already sold!) Is there anyway you can please help us get our refund. Thank you in advance for your help in this matter. **** *****

Desired Settlement: We would like our refund check for around $300.00.ASAP

Business Response:

This is an unfortunate over site by the office, It is true that we have been out of checks.  We do have them now at this time and I will send out the refund today.  I do apologize for the inconvenience,

Thank you


Wise Choice Propane

Consumer Response:

From: **** ***** [] 
Sent: Sunday, February 09, 2014 9:21 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Central Ohio in regards to your complaint #******9. 

Dear Sirs.
Thank you for helping us to get this matter resolved. We did receive a check from wise choice propane this weekend. I disagree with Susan about this being a oversight. I was calling them every two weeks for four months. They knew that they owed us money. I hope this will stay on the records in hope to warn other consumers.
**** *****


1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted a price on a full tank of propane. It was agreed upon to pay half at order time and half within 30 days. They called within a week wanting last payment. After they took first payment they told us the price had been raised and we needed to pay the extra amount immediately. We also have a consistent problem with delivery time taking too long. They are unable to give an estimated date and will say they will get to us when they get to us.

Desired Settlement: I want the original agreed upon price. I would like to be given an estimated delivery date in the future.

Business Response:

At this time, we aren't giving anyone fills, due to the allocation in the state of Ohio.  We are trying to get all of our customers in a timely manner in these such harsh weather conditions.  The ***** were charged 2.39 a gallons which is way below cost and they do have credit on their account for another 200 gals. They are a COD account, so gas must be paid for before delivery.   They called on the 7th of January to the 17th.  I looked back at the 3 past order and deliver dates, they are:  11-26-13 to 12-04-13, 02-25-13 to 02-27-13, and 12-13-12 to 12-18-12.  Our usual delivery schedule is within 10 working days.  So, I feel we have done our part.

At this time, they have asked for their money back, and we have done so.

Thank you


Consumer Response: Wise choice propane agreed to complete my request. Thank you for your time.

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Wise Choice Propane at the week of July 2nd, 2013 to cancel propane service and told them the tank was at approximately 60%. They said they would send a refund for the propane minus $50.00 for having to pump it out due to the large amount of propane left. But due to the weather (rain) they were not able to pick up the tank yet. I told them I would call when the ground was suitable for their trucks and I could be there. Wise Choice came the week of July 16th and picked up the tank without letting me know or leaving a receipt. I gave them a month to process the refund and called the first time on August 27th. The woman I spoke to said it should have been sent out but hadn't and the person who does that will be there Friday and send it out then. I waited another week for the refund and called the 2nd time on September 9th. Was told again that it wasn't sent out and would be sent on Friday when the person who processes refunds comes in. After waiting a few days after Friday the 13th, I called the 3rd time on Wednesday September 18th. I was told again that it hadn't been sent out yet and would be processed on Friday and be sent out. At this time I believe it is common practice to avoid sending out refunds that are due customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund of the approx. 60% propane minus the $50.00 pump fee immediately.

Business Response: It is our practice, that we do write our checks on Friday's only.  I do apologize, that we didn't get the refund out in a more timely manner.  There isn't much to be said on this subject, when someone calls in and wants a tank picked up, we work them into our schedule, we don't give a day or a time, because we do have things that come up that will take priority over a pick up.  We will get Melissa's check printed and mailed out today, for her inconvenience.

Thank you

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  If refund is not received case will be reopened.  The issue is not in regard to tank pick up but refund.  Wise Choice had 2 months of Fridays to cut a check and chose not to do so.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct we moved from **** ****** ** ********* **** *****. I contacted *** at Wise and advised that we were moving and to pickup propane tank. I advised that the tank was a little over 40% full. I called every 2 weeks and keeped being told it was to wet. In May they finally picked up tank as I continued to call and bug ***. On June 6 2013 I called again about refund. *** said the picked up tank and the refund was setting on her desk. Today June 14 2013 I called again and ask to speak to ****** ******would not take my call but *** said they would send it sometime.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund for the propane the took back.

Business Response: I am not aware of any calls, in October.  But if a customer calls for a service, we are very prompt.  If they call and say it is to wet to get a tank.  We will not go untill another call is made.  The call came in on May 6th, and we got the tank on May 8th.  I was unable to come to the phone, when they called on Friday.  I was leaving for the day.  I did write the check and mailed it on Friday.   I don't see how I can do anything else for this customer at this time.  Thank you Susan

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I did receive my refund on Tuesday. I was unhappy that they would say I did not call until May when *** knows I called every 2 weeks from Oct 1st and was put off. They also admit they picked it up in May and still had not sent refund which the withheld $50.00 from until I notified BBB.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *********