BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Suburban Propane?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

View BBB Rating for Suburban Propane's headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Retail propane sales to residential, commercial, and agricultrial customers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Suburban Propane meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Suburban Propane. BBB Serving New Jersey has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Suburban Propane.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 23, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1946 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Hays, Market Manager, Dayton/Co Mr. Jeff Shively, Branch Manager Mr. Kevin Miller, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Hays, Market Manager, Dayton/Co
Principal: Mr. Jeff Shively, Branch Manager
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Natural Gas Companies Fireplace Equipment - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Inergy Propane LLC Inergy Propane Ohio Division

Additional Locations

  • 1889 Logan Lancaster Rd SE

    Lancaster, OH 43130

  • 2759 McKinley Ave

    Columbus, OH 43204 (614) 485-0460 (614) 487-6400 (800) 247-0263

  • 4371 Broadway

    Grove City, OH 43123

  • 8040 Newark Rd

    Mount Vernon, OH 43050

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 485-0460(Phone)
  • (614) 875-6351(Phone)
  • (740) 392-6986(Phone)
  • (740) 654-7973(Phone)
  • (800) 247-0263(Phone)
  • (866) 379-3430(Phone)
  • (614) 875-8892 (Fax)
  • (740) 397-3431 (Fax)
  • (740) 654-1210 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer purchased propane from Suburban Propane in the fall for $3.13/gallon. The consumer purchased propane on January 29, 2014, and she paid $5.20/gallon.

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like the supplier to lower the price or provide a partial refund.

Business Response: I first would like to thank you for choosing Suburban Propane as your choice of suppliers for all your propane needs. Customers, today have many choices when choosing a supplier and want peace of mind knowing they have chosen a safe and reliable company to keep their family warm while protecting assets. At Suburban Propane we know relationships are built on trust - and following through on commitments instills integrity, helping to solidify long term relationships. Propane costs nationwide have increased sharply over the past several months due to historically high demand, low inventories and supply system constraints. And while Suburban Propane’s primary goal is to have product to keep customers warm, when forced to find and transport product other than locally, expenses rise excessively, and cost passed on to consumers. The alternative is not to have product to deliver, leaving customers in the cold. A review of the delivery made to the property at 3946 ****** Street, Granville, Ohio on January 29, 2014, was conducted to verify that the correct “rate per gallon” was assessed. Based on rates for January 29, 2014, customer annual consumption and margin, pricing perimeters were correct and not inflated for any other reason other than Suburban’s replacement cost. The good news is that prices have been on the decline and are expected to continue helping to ease the hardships this winter has had on consumers. Again, thank you, for allowing Suburban Propane to service your propane needs. While prices still are high, it is comforting to know, that while some Suppliers did not have product, Suburban had the foresight to be in front of the supply situation and secured adequate supplies of propane to meet all of our customers’ needs.   Thank you  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We feel that Mt Vernon gas over charged us for our propane. We paid 3.96 a gallon and for $997.82 only received 45% propane. We are going to have to purchase again in a few weeks and we should have gotten a full take of propane at that price

Desired Settlement: Make this price gouging stop

Business Response: Recently, propane supply and pricing have been in the news due to low supply and higher market rates nationwide, Nationwide, propane market rates are increasing rapidly. One reason is due to the increased winter demand. Another reason is the extra cost of transporting propane to regions of the country that need it most, due to periodic shutdowns of several key pipelines. This has required retailers to use alternate, more costly ways to transport fuels to their facilities. As a national supplier wlth operations in 41 states, Suburban Propane has many resources at our disposal. We are transporting propane from long-distance sources, and will continue to employ innovative methods to help keep our customers safe and warm. And, while wholesale propane prices are not within our control, we wlll do everything we can to help minimize the impact on customers. I will personally, contact ***** *****, who filed the complalnt and attempt to come to a resolution that will be acceptable to both customer and Suburban Propane. Customers, today have many cholces when choosing a supplier and want peace of mind knowing they have chosen a safe and reliable company to keep their family warm while protecting assets. At Suburban Propane in Mt Vernon, we know relationships are built on trust - and following through on commitments instills Integrity, helping to solidify long term relationships. Thank you  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2010-2011 We thought we were on a budget $110 a month & price per gallon was set. At no time did they charge correct amount. Would not adjust bills. Our problem with Ohio Gas began in October 2010. They over charged us $466.14 on pricing last season. They also brought an unexpected propane delivery amounting to $728.78 that we would not need until the fall 2011 heating season. Ohio Gas sent us a seasonal agreement late summer 2010. The agreement stated that if we wanted the budget program we'd pay $110.00 a month. LP gas price for up to 400 gallons would be $2.599 per gallon until March 31st, 2011. Of course we wanted this so began paying $110.00 in September. We thought we were on a budget & price was set so we never looked at the price per gallon when they filled the tank in October. Well come January when they filled our tank (219.50 gallons) they charged us $3.899 per gallon. $855.83 should have been $570.48 ($285.35 diff). Huge difference!! We took a long hard look at the bill, and then pulled out the October bill. When they filled our tank in October (172 Gallons) they charged us $2.899 per gallon. $498.63 should have been $447.03 ($51.60 diff). When I called about the price they said we had not returned the seasonal agreement. We'd paid the budget of $110 per month Sept, Oct, Nov, Dec and Jan. We thought it was understood we wanted the seasonal plan. We thought agreement was returned to them but they claimed that was not possible. They would not adjust any pricing. The monthly payment then jumped to $285 per month. We simply couldn't afford that. We began sending $175 a month even though we disagree with the price. At this time we decided that when we ran out of gas we were done with them. After the January fill we were 8.5 gallons short of 400 gallons. Our normal usage is 400 gallons per year. We didn't need over priced gas sitting in the tank all summer. In fact keeping to the seasonal contract and previous usage they should not have come out again. March 2011 they came out again and filled the tank. They added (230.70 gallons) and charged us $3.159 per gallon. Billing us $728.78 which should have been $599.59 ($129.19 diff). They knew we were not happy with the January bill and were struggling to make the payments. I called again and they said the agreement price was only good through March 31st and they would not reduce our bill. November 15th we finally paid them in full deducting the annual tank rental fee. We plan to use the remaining gas and get another company. None of the LP gas companies we've contacted has been over $3.00 a gallon. December 12th 2011 Ohio Gas came out and filled our tank (125.2 gallons) charging us $3.699 a gallon or ($463.11.) The national price per gallon on December 12th for the state of Ohio was $2.857 per gallon. We are willing to pay that price ($357.70). I emailed them Dec 17 regarding the overpriced gas invoice. Their total invoice due was 504.99. We sent a $100 payment in January. We got a letter from a collection agency Feb 2nd, 2012 saying we owe them $537.56. We don't have that kind of money so we will pay them in payments as we have done since we opened an account with them. I may have to call *************, the ********************* or hire an attorney. Last season at no time did they charge us what the seasonal price was supposed to be. And now they've sent us to a collection agency! They should have refunded us what they over charged us last year $466.14. They need to reduce the current invoice to the national average. When the tank is empty we'll call them to come get it.

Desired Settlement: They should refund us what they over charged us last year $466.14. Also they need to reduce the current invoice to the national average. When the tank is empty we'll call them to come get it.

Business Response: We received a letter from ************ on 1/30/12.I have spoken with Mrs ****** about her concerns, and have agreed to rebill the last delivery made on 11/30/2011 at 2.85 per gallon. We delivered the gas because the account was set up to be automaticly filled when we were in the area, and we have a signed automatic fill agreement on file. We have since changed the account to will call and we will not deliver any more propane unless it is authorized by Mrs ******. In reponse to Mrs ****** other complaint about 2010/2011 deliveries. We did not receive the contract in time that would have locked in her price for last season. We sent the contract to Mrs ****** on 9/1/2010 with 72 hours to return from the time the contract was received. We received the contract on 10/20/2010 after the program ended. We could not honor the price and could not offer another contract because the program had ended. At this time we could lock in a better price for next years deliveries if interested. We would be willing to work with Mrs ****** on price for any other deliveries needed this season. Thank you, ************ Branch Manager Ohio Gas of Columbus

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer changed propane companies in October. She went to one company charging $389 a gallon and other one was charging $225 a gallon. She is complaining because both her and mother law was with ohio gas and was switching. They called in October 5th, to tell them they were no longer going to be customers. Consumers tank is on 40% and mother in law is on about 15%. Tanks are both still sitting there and consumer has asked them repeatedly when they are going to pick up tanks because they owe consumers money. Mother in law is on the HEAP program and they told her that the money was going to have to go back to HEAP. The business tells consumer that they're priority is getting gas to customers first, but it has been three months.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution: Want them to come pick up the tanks and get the money they are owed.

Business Response: Ohio Gas removed the tank on 1/20/2012 and the refund will be rushed to the customer within 4 weeks. Sorry for any confusion or delay. The customer was notified by phone on 1/19/2012 about the tank removal and refund. Again, I apologize for any delay or inconvience. Thank you,

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The original complaint was for 2 tanks. Ohio Gas picked up one tank on 1/20/12 but not both. The truck they brought could have removed both tanks, but did not take the second tank.

Business Response: The second tank was removed on 1/24/2012 and both refunds will be processed. The customer should receive the refund with 4 to 6 weeks. sorry for any confusion with the tank removals. Thanks,

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a bill dated 10/31/11 on 11/4/11 and on 11/05/11 made payment. On 11/14/11 received collection notice dated 11/9/11. On 11/15/11 contacted ***** at the Mt. Vernon office and expressed my dislike of the situation. She informed me that the payment had posted to my account and it was paid in full. When I asked why I received a collection notice before the payment had a chance to post, her only response was that the notices are sent out automatically. I find this to be in poor taste and a bad business practice. I feel they should have to have some sort of check in place to avoid harassing customers in this manner. We have always had good payment history with them and always paid our bill in full. Sometimes we have even been paid ahead, and now after years of being good customers, this is the treatment we get.

Desired Settlement: I feel they should have to have some sort of check in place to stop the computer from "automatically" sending collection notices to people who do not deserve them. This is harassment and should not be allowed to continue. It is comparable to a form of bullying. There should be a way to "program the automatic computer" to keep this from occurring

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: Matt Gienger Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ******************************** It appears that this was an error, and notice should not have been sent to Mr (****). This was an "In house" notice and was not sent or reported to the credit bureau. I will follow up with Mr (****) and aplogize for our error. Matt Genger - Branch Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/18/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have for the last 14 years had to purchase my propane from Ohio Gas. For the last 3 years our has been excess of $3 a gallon. I called the beginning of October (which is when they said they would have a lock in price) it was $2.999 I called today and they are charging us $3.449. They have raised our price .45 a gallon in just 3 weeks time. They know this is our only source of heat. A man that lives not to far from us also has there service and they are only charging him $2.299 a gallon. Something needs to be done or we will go without heat. We do not have $1200 just laying around. Our money is very tight just like everybody else is. Could you please help us.I feel they are gouging us cause they know we have to have gas for the winter. Last winter when I called and it was $3.999 a gallon I threw a fit and they lowered our price to $3.499. We cannot afford that. My husband is retired on disability and I only work part time.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution: Someone has to stop them. PLEASE HELP ME.They tell me the price is high because we don't purchase enough. We can't afford to purchase much because the price is so high.

Business Response: In response to the BBB letter dated November 2, 2011 to Ohio Gas referencing the OAG complaint #736431 from (****), I offer the following: * The customer's annual usage over the past 7 years has been: o '04-'05 heating season 814 gallons o '05-'06 heating season 360 gallons o '06-'07 heating season 200 gallons o '07-'08 heating season 200 gallons o '08-'09 heating season 240 gallons o '09-'10 heating season 304 gallons o '10-'11 heating season 132 gallons * In addressing Ms. (****)'s complaint about the price she was charged, she was charged our going market rate for those deliveries the past 7 heating seasons of: o '04-'05 heating season $1.699-$1.899 per gallon o '05-'06 heating season $2.149-$2.399 per gallon o '06-'07 heating season $2.44 per gallon o '07-'08 heating season $2.99 per gallon o '08-'09 heating season $2.499 per gallon o '09-'10 heating season $1.999 per gallon o '10-'11 heating season $3.499 per gallon * The propane market is competitive and we believe Ohio Gas' pricing is competitive. Since propane is a commodity, national and world pressures influences the price of propane dependent on the timing a customer wants to place an order. Again, we believe Ohio Gas has always been competitive with other retail companies. * Ohio Gas is willing to discuss how Ms. (****) might be able to save some cost by fixing a contract for a heating season's worth of propane. Normally we contract with our customers in the July-September time frame. There is a cost to contracting, but the customer will know how much they will be paying for a certain volume of propane all season. She is welcomed to me, (****), the Branch Manager in Columbus to discuss that program at 614-(****). lf I can be of further service in addressing this complaint, please feel free to contact me. (****) Ohio Gas Branch Manager Columbus, OH 614-(****)

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1