Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers distribution of retail propane and sales & service of gas fireplaces, log sets & space heaters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rutland Bottle Gas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rutland Bottle Gas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 17, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1947 in OH Business incorporated 01/14/2005 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Grate, Owner Mr. Butch Carper, Plant Manager Mr. William "Bill" Coy, General Manager Mr. Anthony D. Grate, VP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Butch Carper, Plant Manager
Principal: Mr. David Grate, Owner
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Fireplace Equipment - Retail

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday & Sunday emergency deliveries only.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rutland Bottle Gas, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 177 N Plains Rd

    The Plains, OH 45780 (800) 382-5657

  • 282 Main St

    Rutland, OH 45775 (800) 837-8217

  • PO Box 250

    Rutland, OH 45775


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 20, 2014 I had 297.9 gallons of propane put into the 500 gal. tank at a cost of $3,7990. Then the next fall I switched to another propane company and asked on Nov. 24, 204 to have Rutland tank removed. Finally April 6, 2015 two men came and removed tank, told me probably contained 18%, they would measure when they drained. April 7, 2015 I was told it had held 18% April 24, 2015 check for $196.57 which equals to 18% of 500 = 90 gallons 90 x 3,7990 = 342.00. I was told they charge 30 cents per gallon to haul and drain = $27. They wanted to charge me $120 for two gauges and six cement pads in question (I don't know the taxes). So they so much as admit they owed me over $.340. Butch C***** on Oct. 19, 2015 said when he picked up two gauges and six cement pads that "they had really dropped the ball with" me and I should "get a full refund", but now he says NOT 18%. But he kept telling me that the company men "oh they may lie" and that is what is he doing.

Desired Settlement: Although I had considered charging rent for Nov. 24, 2014 until April 16, 2015 for the tank sitting in my yard AND charging for the grass seed, dirt and hard labor to repair my yard EVERY TIME their trucks came onto my property, I would be satisfied with being paid what they owe me $105.

Business Response: We apologize for the misunderstands. We sent a check for 196.57 as *** had stated.  She sent it back.  The tank did have 18%.  We then sent another check on 10/16/15 for the full amount owed to her.  It was cashed and signed by *** on 11/2/16.  With that I thought it was settled.  

Consumer Response:

I am writing in response to your letter of January 13th and

January 20th pertaining to complaint ID ******** against Rutland

Bottle Gas . Mr ****** now says when they removed their tank from
my property it contained 18% (of a 500 gallon tank].

I do not know why they did not pump out the entire 90 gallons
that I had paid $3.799 for on February 2, 2014. I do know for a fact
that if you do the math, you will see I am owed over $105.

As my letter of January 15, 2016 states PLEASE add the
expenses they put on me but that Mr. ****** had said they would
dismiss because as he told me "they really dropped the ball with"
me. He didn't mention that I should be paid for their tank sitting in
my yard for months, abandoned, or for all the repairs I had to do to
my yard because everytime their drivers cut ruts through the grass,
which they never offered to repair or even acknowledged.
The fact is, they were going to charge me $27.00 for draining the 90
gallons -30 cents a gallon (THERE AGAIN IS THAT 90 GALLONS ),
$120. for the two gauges and six cement pads Mr ****** came to
my house and picked up himself and $196.57 the check they had
sent me and I sent back.
    $343.57   Total they owed me
    -237.07    The check they sent me
   $ tax on the difference

I don't know how Mr. ****** or the general manager, Mr.
William C** can sleep at night. I know all this is affecting my
health. P-L-E-A-S-E help me.


Business Response: To whom it may concern,

***'s tank was on 18%.  However gauges are not 100% accurate.  Our meters on our trucks our 100% accurate.  When we pump out a tank, we pump out the exact amount that was left in the tank.  If you look at the gauge on the tank it will have in writing " do not use for filling".  I hope this clears things up.

I apologize again for the misunderstanding!

Rutland Bottle Gas  

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday February 11th I placed an order to have propane deliver because my tank was at 18%! Come Tuesday February 17th my tank was at 7% and I called rutland and the lady I talked to said she would let the driver know! Come wednesday February 18th around 3:30 pm I called rutland and the same woman said she would try to get ahold of the delivery driver. She put me on hold, then got back on the line and said she left him a message. Wednesday night around 8pm I still had no propane delivery and my tank was now at around 3%. So I called the emergency phone number! The guy who answered told me to eaither move, make other arrangements or go and get kerosene heaters! He was very rude and unprofessional! Come Thursday February 19th around 7:40am I called rutland and talked to a guy who said my propane would be delivered today! Around 1pm the same guy called me back and said he can not get ahold of the delivery driver! Then around 2:30 pm my wife called rutland and talked to a woman who said he was just leaving Logan ohio ... We have a 5month old baby, 2 cats, and a dog! Every single person I have talked to from rutland has no idea what is going on or when propane will be delived! This has been the coldest week of the year! This has also been the worst experience with any business that I have ever had!

Desired Settlement: I want my propane that I ordered and I would like a letter of apology from the company and a phone call from the ceo or manager!

Business Response: To Whom it may concern,

We are always concerned and troubled when a complaint has been issued on us. We strive to do our best to make timely deliveries to our customers. In this situation Joe's driveway was in terrible shape. We tried 3 times to get him gas. The 1st attempt was unsuccessful when our driver (******) went and found his drive to be un-plowed  and icy. The same for the second attempt. *** had been driving in and out of his drive with his 4x4 but had not plowed it yet. He wanted us to fill from the neighbors drive, however we could not because of our delivery hose was just to short. On the 3rd attempt our driver asked if *** could spread some sand that the previous owner had left and maybe shovel some snow while our driver put the chains on his truck. That attempt worked and *** got his gas.

We apologize for the inconvenience to *** and his family. We feel that we went above and beyond the call of duty to get him his gas.

***** ******
Rutland Bottle Gas 

Consumer Response: I should have received a phone call on the first attempt to deliver the gas! When I ordered, your company had 3 sunny clear days with no snow on the ground! The driver told me he didn't get my order until a week later! I'm thankful that ****** the driver was nice and delivered it! However, I ordered 200 gallons of propane and 400 gallons was delivered! I ordered 200 gallons because that's all I can afford! When I explained this to saundra on the phone she exclaimed that it must be paid for! Rutland Bottle Gas customer service is horrible! What about the emergency call I made to them and the person on the line told me to make other arrangements, told me to move, or to stay somewhere else! Not a good business! ! 

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

We are very sorry that this situation is on going.

We are in the business to deliver propane to our customers.

What it sounds like happened is that when we have numerous people out of gas, it sometimes is difficult to get to all of them as quick as they would like. When we were able to get to Joe's the weather had turned sour and his drive was in horrible shape. As for the gentleman on the emergency line.....I spoke to him and his response was that he understood *** was out and we couldn't get into his drive so he was suggesting to him (because he said his young child was cold) that he should make other arrangements so they could stay warm until we were able to get down his drive. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

3/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rutland Gas Service has very poor service, and the owner refuses to take care of customers.We were renting two tanks from Rutland with propane. There is a regulator between the tanks to let you know when tanks run low to order more propane. The regulator didn't work. we watched the regulator for days, looking to see it change color to indicate tank getting low. it never changed.In December 2014, one week before Christmas, the tanks ran propane, and the regulator still showed tanks had propane. We called Rutland and let them know we needed propane because the tanks were empty, and the regulator showed incorrect. We heat and cook by propane, and needed propane.After speaking with a female employee on the phone, (I believe her name was *****), who wouldn't remedy the problem, we than spoke to the owner. he said we had to wait a week until the his truck made our route, and refused to help us .... this is's cold, and we need heat, as well as need to cook. He ask me if I had propane tanks of my own to fill. I told him that if I had my own tanks, I wouldn't need him and told him to just come and take his tanks back. I got my own tanks and have them filled elsewhere. I no longer need Rutland if they cannot be depended on.The problem now is, after calling them and telling them , fore or five times to pick up their tanks, and refund us my deposit, they refuse to get them, and we've gotten no refund. There is a charge if you have their tanks and don't have them filled... so what they are doing is refusing to pick up their tanks, so they can charge us for not having them filled, therefore keeping our deposit. we want them to simply get their tanks and give us our refund

Desired Settlement: We want Rutland gas service to come and remove their tanks from out property, and refund us our deposit money...approx. $150.00

Business Response: BBB called business to follow up on this complaint and spoke to **** ***, GM, who said they have personnel going into the Logan area today, and they will pick up the tanks at that time.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Rutland Bottle Gas, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart