Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers propane gas and fuel oil for home heat and delivers gasoline and diesel to businesses and farmers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Co-Alliance LLP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Co-Alliance LLP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Co-Alliance LLP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999
Business Management
Mr. John Graham, CFO Mr. Chuck Boyd, Loc Energy Div Man Ms. Ruth Duncan, HR Mr. Merv Ketton, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Ruth Duncan, HR
Principal: Mr. John Graham, CFO
Business Category

Gas - Propane

Alternate Business Names
Co- Alliance Co-Alliance Atlanta Agronomy

Additional Locations

  • 25915 State Route 207

    New Holland, OH 43145 (740) 986-2291

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5250 E. US Hwy 36, Building 1000

    Avon, IN 46123 (269) 695-6823 (800) 525-0272

  • 975 Malinda St

    Zanesville, OH 43701 (740) 452-9348

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2014 Delivery Issues
5/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never had co alliance as a propane company yet I cannot seem to resolve a billing error.

Desired Settlement: Quit billing me!

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau of Central Ohio

RE: Complaint #******* Filed By ***** ******

Dear BBB:

In response to the above referenced Complaint, Co-Alliance, LLP (“Co-Alliance”) believes the charges are legitimate. According to our records:

1.      **** & ***** ****** (“******”) were customers of SCI Propane, LLC (“SCI”).

2.      In early 2013 SCI and Co-Alliance came to an agreement whereby Co-Alliance would purchase assets of SCI. Prior to that time Co-Alliance was already providing some services to SCI customers.

3.      On or about May 22, 2013 SCI and Co-Alliance mailed a joint letter to SCI customers informing them of the impending change. See attached Exhibit “A”.

4.      On May 28, 2013 Co-Alliance, LLP purchased the assets of SCI.

5.      When Co-Alliance sent its first statements to prior SCI customers, a notification was inserted with the statements. See attached Exhibit “B”.

6.      After the SCI purchase, Co-Alliance went to the ****** location and read the tank to determine how many gallons of fuel it contained. At that time the tank contained 425 gallons. Co-Alliance billed the ****** account for $704.41 (425 gallons x $1.5490 per gallon + $46.08 sales tax).

7.      When ****** requested that Co-Alliance pick up the tank, Co-Alliance pumped out the fuel which remained, which at that time was 385 gallons. Co-Alliance credited $638.11 to the ****** account for the fuel pumped out (385 gallons x $1.5490 per gallon + $41.74 sales tax).

8.      Between the initial tank reading and the time Co-Alliance pumped out the fuel ****** used 40 gallons of the fuel or $66.30 of fuel. (40 gallons x $1.5490 per gallon + $4.34 sales tax).

9.      When Co-Alliance purchased the assets of SCI, which included SCI’s accounts receivables, there was a $2.32 balance on the ****** account.

10.  Monthly finance charges were also added to the account in the amount of $49.48 since the account balance was not paid by the due date.

11.  The fuel used (66.30) plus the existing balance ($2.32) plus the finance charges ($49.48) left a balance of $118.10 on the ****** account.

12.  Since there seemed to be a misunderstanding regarding the tank pickup Co-Alliance credited the finance charges back to the ****** account leaving a balance of $68.62 to be paid by ******.

Considering the above evidence Co-Alliance asserts that ****** owes Co-Alliance $66.30 (the 40 gallons of fuel used) plus $2.32 which was on the ****** account at the time of Co-Alliance’s purchase of the SCI assets, for a total of $68.62.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

 

3/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer is calling in regards to to propane prices. The consumer states that she has propane through Coalliance Propane and is she is being charged high prices. The consumer states that the prices are around $5 a gallon and it was $2.50 a gallon.

Desired Settlement: The consumer wants us to be aware of this and the prices to be dropped back to normal cost.

Business Response:

Co-Alliance is a 100% farmer-owned cooperative headquartered in Avon, Indiana, but also serves farmers and several thousand propane customers in Ohio.  We recognize the hardship the 2014 propane crisis has placed on consumers.  However, we also deny any allegations of price-gouging on the part of our company.   Co-Alliance’s retail prices have reflected increased costs to obtain propane during the crisis and the elevated prices from propane wholesalers.  During the crisis, our drivers have been travelling as far as Kansas and Texas to source propane in order to insure adequate supply for our 17,000 propane customers across Ohio, Indiana and Michigan.  To date, because of the extraordinary efforts of our employees, we have reached our primary goal of keeping our entire propane customer group warm through this very harsh winter.  

 The propane shortage has required difficult choices which have impacted our customers such as:

1.      Asking customers to conserve their use of propane including the State of Indiana which voluntarily agreed to switch their vehicles from propane to other fuels and requesting customers to switch to alternative heat sources when available;

2.      Making the decision to limit residential fuel deliveries to 150 gallons conserving inventories to insure all customers are kept warm;

3.      Requesting customers not request their tanks be filled until they were under 20% full;

4.      Sending our drivers on cross-country trips to source propane from Kansas, Texas and Mississippi greatly increasing delivery costs;

5.      Buying propane at elevated prices from propane wholesalers to insure adequate supply;

6.      Increasing retail propane prices in correlation to wholesale propane prices.

 

While Co-Alliance understands the frustration Ms ****  has expressed, our Company denies any allegation of price-gouging.  The price the consumer was charged reflected the market price for propane during the height of the propane crisis. Co-Alliance has maintained normal pre-propane shortage margins. Our average daily cost of propane during this time period has been in alignment with average statewide propane pricing. Our retail pricing is in correlation with increased propane wholesale pricing. The conditions which are driving increases in propane pricing are in no way within Co-Alliance’s control. Although Co-Alliance recognizes as the supplier to the consumer’s home, our company is the most visible source to voice frustrations about price increases, it is our belief that if price gouging is to be investigated it needs to occur further up the propane supply-chain.  Propane pricing has decreased since this complaint was made as the wholesale pricing in the marketplace has also decreased.

 Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns or need any additional information to close the Complaints referenced above.  Our company has voluntarily met with Indiana Governor Mike Pence’s office as well as the Indiana Attorney General’s office regarding the 2014 propane crisis.  If you would like to discuss the matter with us further, we would be happy to talk with you in person or by phone.