BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Litter Quality Propane?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Litter Quality Propane

Additional Locations

Phone: (740) 773-2196 Fax: (740) 773-9230 View Additional Phone Numbers 524 Eastern Ave, Chillicothe, OH 45601 http://www.litterpropane.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Litter Quality Propane meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Litter Quality Propane include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Litter Quality Propane
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 10, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1932 Business started locally: 01/01/1932
Business Management
Ms. Natalie Creed, Vice President Ms. Natalie Creed, Vice President Ms. Angie Hart, Office Manager Mr. Matt Litter, Operations Mgr. Mr. Matt Litter, President Mr. Robert W. Litter, Vice President / Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Angie Hart, Office Manager
Business Category

Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 524 Eastern Ave

    Chillicothe, OH 45601

  • PO Box 297

    Chillicothe, OH 45601

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 773-2196(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am seeking guidance concerning a recent incident in which propane was delivered to my home by Litter Quality Propane. I received a delivery of propane from Litter Quality Propane (Litters) on February 11, 2013. At the time of delivery I received a Bill of Sale for the amount of $55.03 for the propane which was delivered on that date.Several weeks after paying my bill; for the amount of $55.03 online, I received another bill stating I owed an additional $498.28. I then contacted Litters via a letter and a copy of the Bill of Sale I received asking them to clarify the bill in the amount of $498.28, the following was their response: Received: April 1, 2013*******,The delivery you had on February 11, 2013 was for 198.5 gallons. The driver had mistakenly punched in your price as .2591/gallon. Your price should be 2.591, we are very sorry for the inconvenience that this might of caused you. Your actual amount due from that fill was $550.31 which you have paid $55.03 so all that is due now is $495.28. Thank you and we do apologize again for the mistake. If you have any questions feel free to give us a call at ********.Thank you ***** *****Customer Service RepresentativeLitter Quality PropaneI then responded with the following: Sent: April 11, 2013:I received a Bill of Sale for the propane which was delivered on February 11, 2013 for the amount of $55.03, which I paid online. I do not feel I should be required to pay any more for this propane delivery other than the amount shown on the Bill of Sale.Thank you I did not receive a response and therefore sent the following e-mail: Sent: April 14, 2013I have contacted the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio and the better Business Bureau to request guidance as to if I am required to pay this price after receiving a bill of Sale for a different amount. I am also asking for an inquiry as I have received a bill with added fees, and a letter informing me I will be turned over to collections and have my tank locked out for failure to pay my account. Thank youI am still waiting on a response from Litters. Can you please help me?Thank you

Desired Settlement: I do not feel I should pay more than the amount for the bill of sale I received when the propane was delivered. I do not feel I should pay the administrative and/or late fees which have been added on to my account.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:   Thank you for contacting us regarding the delivery to our customer on February 11, 2013.   At the time of delivery, February 11, 2013, the amount of liquid propane delivered was tallied by a delivery person and input into a computer and a receipt was printed.   During this delivery, the delivery person, in error, placed the decimal point of the per gallon rate in the incorrect position when entering the information into the computer. Thus, the receipt printed out the delivery ticket with the amount due of $55.03. This price was incorrect and significantly lower than the amount due of $550.31. Moreover, this was also significantly lower than his deliveries within the past year of $504.23 and $532.30 for comparable amounts of gallons delivered.   Once this error was discovered during our billing cycle, the customer was promptly informed and given his accurate amount due.  The statement, dated February 28, 2013, which was 17 days after the delivery, was mailed to the customer.  We have made several attempts to reach our customer as follows: email sent to our customer on March 27, 2013 asking our customer to contact us to discuss the billing error; email sent to our customer on April 1, 2013 with an explanation of the details regarding the error made on the delivery ticket; a letter sent via US Mail dated April 10, 2013 attempting to collect the balance due and again asking him to contact us regarding the amount due;  a letter sent via US Mail dated April 15, 2013 again explaining the details of the error on the delivery ticket and asking our customer to contact us to review his concerns; and finally a letter sent via US Mail dated April 30, 2013 again explaining the details of the error on the delivery ticket and asking our customer to contact us to review his concerns.   Our customer recently requested that we pick up his tank and cancel his service. His tank was picked up on May 31, 2013 and he was credited for the remaining propane in his tank.   Our customer is currently past due. We have been and still are willing to work with the him but our customer has yet to contact us during business hours concerning any type of payment or compromise to the situation.

Consumer Response: Litter Propane has continued to add Administration fees to my account, charged me to remove to return to propane, and tank. I have tried to pay them, it is difficult to come up with $555.00 when your bill is only for $55.00. I made a partial payment of $250.00 and now Litter Propane has sent me a bill for $320.00. I had my tank removed as I no longer want to deal with this Company. Through no fault of mine I have had fees, and charges added to my account to the point I simply had the tank removed.  I am willing to set up a payment plan IF they will remove all current fees not directly related to the original amount and do not continue to add fees while I am trying to pay off this bill. Regards, Patrick Cottrill

Business Response: As stated before, we are more than happy to work with this customer.  We have continuously asked for the customer to contact us to resolve the situation. We have already removed all fees from his account including pick up fees and late payment fees. The remaining amount due is $134.87. This is the original amount due of $550.31 less the payment of $55.03 made by the customer on 2/25/13 and a $360.41 credit for gas, which is based on the correct amount per gallon times the number of gallons in the tank at time of removal. The customer has indicated in his response, that he made a “partial payment of $250.00” To date we have not received this payment. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience the billing error has caused to the customer. We are sorry to have lost his business and wish that we could have talked to with him so that we could have worked together on a resolution. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract was ended by Litter Propane without prior contact with me and on false pretences. In October of 2011 I contacted Litter Propane in regards to getting a smaller tank placed at my residence due to the lack of propane usage. I was told they did not have any smaller tanks available. They informed me on this phone call that they were billing me for $50.00 for tank rental because I had not had a fill for more than a year. I explained that I did not need a tank this large and the previous owners placed the 500 lb tank on the property. Litter said they would waive the $50 fee because they did not have a smaller tank available. In January Litter came to my residence and removed the tank without prior notice to me that they were going to remove the tank. I was still under contract with them and because I was still under contract they billed me an additional $250. for terminating the contract. I never told them to terminate the contract or to remove the tank. Not once did I ever receive a phone call saying I still owed the $50 tank fee that I had previously been told was waived. I do not see how I can be charged for early termination of the contract when I did not end the contract.

Desired Settlement: Litter Propane needs to stop trying to collect the $250.00 early termination fee and Clear my account of this charge.

Business Response: On 11/4/09 Ms. ****** signed a 3 year tank lease with Litter Quality Propane. In the 3 year tank lease the customer has agreed to pay early contract cancellation and removal fees as stated in #12 and #10 of lease. Ms. ****** also agreed to purchase a minimum number of gallons each year or pay a tank rental fee as stated in #6 of tank lease. On 12/12/11 customer called in regarding the $50.00 tank rental fee. The tank rental fee was assessed because the minimum usage requirements were not met. During that conversation we offered to downsize her to a smaller tank and waive tank rental fee but she declined to do so due to the price increase on the smaller tank. Customer stated she would pay tank rental fee and leave tank on location until 3 year tank lease expired. On 1/10/12 and 1/20/12 past due letters for tank rent were mailed to her residence with no response. On 2/7/12 a letter was mailed stating past due tank rent must be paid by 2/21/12 or tank would be picked up. After no response from customer an order was placed to pick up the tank on 2/24/12. Tank was picked up 2/28/12. She was charged a $50.00 tank removal fee as stated in #10 of tank lease and a $200.00 contract cancellation fee as stated in #12 of tank lease. At that time the $50.00 tank rental fee and all late charges were removed leaving her owing a balance of $250.00; $200.00 for the contract cancellation fee and $50.00 for the removal fee. Once these charges went past due she was mailed past due letters on 4/10/12 and 4/20/12, again with no response. On 5/7/12 a letter was sent stating that the past due balance must be paid by 5/21/12 or the account would be turned over to collections. After sending 5 letters with no response customer did call when she received the collection letter. She stated that she had not received any of the prior letters. She was upset that there was no phone call made informing her the tank was going to be picked up but we advised her in writing on 2/7/12 that the tank would be removed if the past due rental fee was not paid by 2/21/12. She then informed us that she would be contacting the BBB. While speaking to Ms. ****** she became very upset and it was not possible to resolve this issue. Litter Propane is willing to remove the $200.00 contract cancellation fee if customer agrees to pay the $50.00 removal fee.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes I agree to the $50 tank Rent and Litter removing the $200 removal fee. I will send payment by the end of this week 5/18/12 in the amount of $50.00 Thank you!

Business Response:

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled service with Litter Propane in july, 2011 and advised the company of the change to a new provider. In spetmber, 2011 I called the company and advised them to pick-up the tank and refund the credit balance of $256.73, they said there will be a $50.00 pump-out fee, fine just deduct the fee and refund the balance. After more than 1/2 dozen calls to Litter, they have made no atempt to pick up the tank or refund the credit. Last week, I called and told the company representative if they didn't complete the pick-up and refund this week I will file in Small Claims court in chillicothe, the rep said" Well, do what you gotta' do!" This level of service is part of the reason i cancelled, the other part is they raised their budget payment to $364.00 per month while other companies were offering a budget payment of $243.00 based upon the same useage.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to pick-up their tank and refund my credit of $256.73

Business Response: The customers tank has been removed and a check request has been submitted for payment of any funds owed the customer. Customer should receive payment within 10 to 14 business days.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1