Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jillian's Formalwear

Phone: (740) 450-7766 2347 Maple Ave, Zanesville, OH 43701 http://jilliansformalwear.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jillian's Formalwear meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jillian's Formalwear include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jillian's Formalwear
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 25, 2007 Business started: 12/01/2004 Business started locally: 12/01/2004 Business incorporated 10/15/2004 in OH
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Jill Jones, Co-Owner Ms. Gail Garland, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jill Jones, Co-Owner
Business Category

Formal Wear Tuxedo Sales & Rentals Bridal & Millinery Supplies Bridal Shops Wedding Supplies & Services

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 6:00 AM
T: 10:00 AM - 6:00 AM
W: 10:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Th: 10:00 AM - 6:00 AM
F: 10:00 AM - 6:00 AM
S: 10:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Sunday's by appointment
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Debit Card
Alternate Business Names
Jillian's, Ltd.

Additional Locations

  • 2347 Maple Ave

    Zanesville, OH 43701 (740) 450-7766

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off, my wedding is in 5 days and two of my bridesmaids do not have dresses. We originally ordered 5 bridesmaids dresses many months ago. When we received the phone call saying they were in, we rushed to go get them; only to be disappointed. Two out of five dresses were ordered in the wrong size. The girls have made 6 trips from coshocton to zanesville, attempting to get the dresses. Here we are, 5 days away, and they still do not fit! Jillian's has been very rude and is not willing to help us out with the situation. After numerous complaints and phone calls; they did agree to pay for the alterations to fix THIER mistake. However, after all the alterations, the dresses are not anywhere near the $180 spent on them. Jillian's manager/owner will not even recognize that this was their mistake when the dresses will not even zip over the girls ribs! The managers hide in the back overtime we come in to avoid the confrontation. The bottom line is, this company has terrible customer service and I would not recommend them to anyone! We simply want some money back to make up for the mistake.. We are now stuck with dresses that look horrible from all the alterations and they will not give us anything to make up for their mistake.

Desired Settlement: We would like AT LEAST $50 back off of each dress to make up for THEIR mistake and to make up for all the stress and hassle that they have put everyone through.

Business Response:

We ordered 5 bridesmaid dresses for the ***** party.   When the dresses came in, two of the dresses were too small.    These dresses were measured several months prior to being ordered due to a bridesmaid procrastination of paying the 50% deposit required before ordering.   In ordering dresses, they must be ordered at the same time due to dye lot changes in colors.   This was explained to the customer.   At the time of ordering each girl signed a Bridesmaid Contract stating that the size and color ordered were agreeable to them.   The contract also states that alterations will probably be necessary as the dresses are made for 5’8” women and hemming is usually always required.   Also bust sizes did not match hip sizes, so therefore they may need taken in or let out.   I have signatures on all contracts.   Due to the procrastination of the bridesmaid, these dresses had to have a $10 rush put on them in order to arrive on time.  The mother of the bride came in and paid for these rushes.  The day that ***** , one of the bridesmaids, came in and tried on her dress, it was hard to zip and the top would not zip at all.    One of my employees remeasured her and her hips had increased by 3”.   The person that originally measured ***** has worked for me for 3 years and is accurate in her sizing.   We do not try to make issues of measurement changes due to weight gain or loss, so when I saw her I told her we would take care of the seamstress letting the dress out so that it would zip.   I did this without being asked to voluntarily.   She would be responsible for the hemming.   

My husband just recently passed away, so I have not been in the store much during busy hours.   This bride and bridesmaid made several untrue statements on face book about the situation and stated I was in the back hiding out.   I was not even in the store the times they came back in to meet with the seamstress.

I do not have a seamstress in house, but I do allow one woman to use the store on Thursdays and Saturdays for fittings.   

****** *****, her mother, and the two bridesmaids in question came to my store for a meeting with me.   In the meeting, I agreed to pay for the alteration charges (which I will be charged for), reimbursed the mother the $40 for rush fees, gave ***** 50% cash on her dress against her unpaid balance, which was to be paid before alterations, and gave the other bridesmaid $50 back.

I am done with this issue.   I find it discouraging that small businesses are being forced into situations because of social media and the ability to ruin someone’s business, even though the statements were not true and I have signed paperwork.  

I have been in business for twelve years (12) and have not had one complaint filed against me because I am easy to get along with, always looking for a solution and keeping my customers happy.   

The girls received their dresses before the wedding and wore them.   No alteration fees, no rush charges, and money returned.

I am done with this party.