BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of White Castle System, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This restaurant features hamburgers and cheeseburgers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that White Castle System, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for White Castle System, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on White Castle System, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1921 Business started locally: 01/01/1921 Business incorporated: 10/31/1934 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edgar W Ingram III, President Ms. Dana Browning, Corp Relations Administrator Ms. Suzette Henderson, Customer Service Mr. Jamie Richardson, VP Ms. Erin Shannon, Corp Relations Manager Ms. Heather Ward, Senior Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Suzette Henderson, Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Edgar W Ingram III, President
Business Category

Foods - Carry Out Restaurants Caterers

Alternate Business Names
PSB Company White Castle Distributing, LLC White Castle Indiana LLC White Castle International Co. White Castle Kentucky LLC White Castle Management Co. White Castle Michigan LLC White Castle Purchasing Co.

Additional Locations

  • 555 W Goodale St

    Columbus, OH 43215 (614) 228-5781 (614) 559-2684 (614) 559-2459 (800) 843-2728

  • PO Box 1498

    Columbus, OH 43216

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 559-2459(Phone)
  • (614) 559-2684(Phone)
  • (800) 843-2728(Phone)
  • (614) 559-2598 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON FEB 23, 2014 AT 12:05:18 HOURS MY SALES RECEIPT NUMBER******** AND TEAM MEMEBER#1 04 REGISTER #1. THIS WAS A CARRY-OUT ORDER, BUT MY WIFE WAS IN THE STORE TO PICK IT UP. IT WAS NOT A DRIVE THROUGH PICK-UP. THE FOODS WAS OLD AND ALL DRIED UP. THE TEAM MEMBER FAKED LIKE SHE WAS MAKING UP A NEW ORDER, BUT SHE THEN PUT THE OLD FOOD THAT SITTING AROUND FROM WHO KNOWS HOW LONG. DO TO ME AND MY WIFE HEALTH ISSUES WE NEEDED THAT FOOD. SHE HAD JUST GOT OFF OF WORK. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE FOR US. DONOT TREAT YOUR CUSTOMERS LIKE THIS. MY MONEY IS HARD EARNED.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY MONEY REFUNDED TO ME ASAP.

Consumer Response: here is the proof.   i would like me refund or a gift certificate.

Business Response:  I am getting in contact with Mr. ****** as we speak.  WE ave left a voice mail message but I will email him as the address he provided.  He requested a refund with no refund amount or the locaiton of the restautant.  I will requested this from him and will refund the customer once this information is received. Thank you,  

Consumer Response: This issue from early this year. My visit to the White Castle store. Which the results was that the issue me a gift card for bad food. So I when in the store trying to use the gift card. The gift card did not work. My letter to them DTD 24August2014 explains what happen at the store on Henderson Road. To settle this complaint for good. I would like me twenty dollars back in cash. They refused to contact me about my second complaint to them. It's been weeks nothing from the White Castle brand. 

Business Response: We are looking into the complaint from ***** ****** and our Columbus Regional office will send him $20.00 to resolve the issue along with a letter of apology.  We have looked up the date the gift card was activated and according to our records it was active the date Mr. ****** used it, but a problem must have occurred at the restaurant.   Thank you so much.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The card never worked. I tried to use it twice. I had to pay for the meal with my bankcard. This is a problem somewhere and it is not me.  I do not know whom use this card.I have my bank statement showing I paid for it with my own funds. 

9/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for the Craver Nation website, won a contest for a $500 ****** ***** gift card, and the company has ignored requests to award it. I signed up for the Craver Nation website (Profile Name: ***) and entered the "Crave Up Your Space" photo contest, which ran from May 15, 2012 to May 28, 2012. Upon conclusion of the contest period, my photo had received the most votes and per the rules, won the contest (and its prize of a $500 Office Depot gift card). According to the contest's rules, I should've been contacted "on or around May 29, 2012" about my winnings, but it has yet to happen. Since May 30th, I've sent several emails in an effort to figure out what's going on: one email through the contact form on the Craver Nation website; another to a Craver Nation email address hosted by ********* *********** (which I received via their response to an unrelated prior inquiry); and another two to the Gmail address of the "White Castle Social Team" (which I finally received after voicing my concern to the White Castle Twitter profile no less than five times). All have been ignored. Just for the record: it's quite frustrating (as a loyal, HUGE fan of the brand) having my pleas for customer service blown off, then moments later, seeing White Castle exchange tweets with someone who alleges to have had a dream where they exploded after eating too many burgers. At first, I was only concerned that maybe the company was having problems reaching me, but now I can't help but wonder if the whole Craver Nation marketing campaign is simply fraudulent. I've yet to hear news of anybody being acknowledged as a winner/receiving a prize for any of the various giveaways and contests promoted on the site. I also recently placed a call to 1-800-THE-CRAVE and voiced my issue to a representative, who told me that he'd have someone contact me. But considering the way communication has gone thus far, I won't hold my breath. Hopefully the BBB can help us resolve this matter quickly.

Desired Settlement: I dont mind turning over rights to my contest image or signing a publicity release in general, but I cant sign this particular one. Not for $500 in office supplies.As I alluded to in one of my emails, its probably unlikely that the company would do anything malicious as a result of me signing the release, but Im simply not comfortable with having my signature attached to something like this.TranslateDesired SettlementDue to the irrelevant nature of this portion of the release (and the fact that the release, overall, looks like something that was thrown together as a mere formality), I asked the rep who sent it to me if there was any chance it could be modified to remove the stipulations regarding my likeness. No response yet after a week. A simple Yes, No or Maybe, Ill check wouldve been fine. I just want a fair prize-claim process, my $500 ****** ***** gift card, and fairness for other consumers.

Business Response: This customer’s complaint has been satisfied.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.



















7/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The package that I bought sure was not white castle hamburger as I remember them. When I use to buy them back in the 1930 and 1940's. They had more then an 1/2 oz of meat in them and some onions on them. On the package it said 9.5 oz, it must have included the package also. There was not more then 3 oz in the whole package, only 1/2 oz of meat for each bun. The meat was so thin that I could see the bun under the meat. There was 3 or 4 holes in the meat! There was no onion on the meat!"

Desired Settlement: Consumer did not specify settlement desired.

Business Response: -Had the chance to speak with Mr. ******
-He shared his concerns that our meat patty is thinner today than what he remembered in 1947, when he moved from Ohio to California, Mr. ****** is also concerned that there are 5 holes in the product.
-Mr. ****** shared that he is 92 years old – he does not believe the product he bought in the grocery store recently tastes like what he remembers when he used to buy the product in the restaurants.
-I shared with Mr. ****** that we added 5 holes to the meat patty in 1954 as a way to speed the cooking process and to allow the steam / aroma of the cooking method to permeate the bun.
-Mr. ****** asked that I confirm the product description of 9.5 oz. on our packaging is accurate.  I assured him it is.
-Mr. ****** asked if we could send him a coupon for free products given the trouble and time he has taken to share his concerns.
-I have sent via U.S. Mail a coupon for $5 off a 6 pack of frozen hamburgers or cheeseburgers.  (we don’t use “free” per se, but this should cover the cost, or large % of it upon redemption.)
 
Hope this is a satisfactory resolution.
 

6/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for the Craver Nation website, won a contest for a $500 Office Depot gift card, and the company has ignored requests to award it. I signed up for the Craver Nation website (Profile Name: ****) and entered the "Crave Up Your Space" photo contest, which ran from May 15, 2012 to May 28, 2012. Upon conclusion of the contest period, my photo had received the most votes and per the rules, won the contest (and its prize of a $500 Office Depot gift card). According to the contest's rules, I should've been contacted "on or around May 29, 2012" about my winnings, but it has yet to happen. Since May 30th, I've sent several emails in an effort to figure out what's going on: one email through the contact form on the Craver Nation website; another to a Craver Nation email address hosted by **** Advertising (which I received via their response to an unrelated prior inquiry); and another two to the Gmail address of the "White Castle Social Team" (which I finally received after voicing my concern to the White Castle Twitter profile no less than five times). All have been ignored. Just for the record: it's quite frustrating (as a loyal, HUGE fan of the brand) having my pleas for customer service blown off, then moments later, seeing White Castle exchange tweets with someone who alleges to have had a dream where they exploded after eating too many burgers. At first, I was only concerned that maybe the company was having problems reaching me, but now I can't help but wonder if the whole Craver Nation marketing campaign is simply fraudulent. I've yet to hear news of anybody being acknowledged as a winner/receiving a prize for any of the various giveaways and contests promoted on the site. I also recently placed a call to 1-800-THE-CRAVE and voiced my issue to a representative, who told me that he'd have someone contact me. But considering the way communication has gone thus far, I won't hold my breath. Hopefully the BBB can help us resolve this matter quickly.

Desired Settlement: I'd be satisfied with just receiving my $500 Office Depot gift card. But if possible, I'd also like to be emailed winner's lists for the Craver Nation Sweepstakes, as well as for the various Craver Nation Challenges that have concluded to date.

Consumer Response: This doesn't appear to be an issue any longer. I finally got a response from the business shortly after filing the dispute, and things are currently progressing. For the time being, feel free to close this dispute. Thanks.