Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

White Castle System, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (614) 228-5781 Fax: (614) 461-4033 View Additional Phone Numbers 555 W Goodale St, Columbus, OH 43215 http://www.whitecastle.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This restaurant features hamburgers and cheeseburgers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that White Castle System, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for White Castle System, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on White Castle System, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1921 Business started locally: 01/01/1921 Business incorporated 10/31/1934 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edgar W Ingram III, President Ms. Dana Browning, Corp Relations Administrator Ms. Suzette Henderson, Customer Service Mr. Jamie Richardson, VP Ms. Erin Shannon, Corp Relations Manager Ms. Heather Ward, Senior Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Suzette Henderson, Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Edgar W Ingram III, President
Business Category

Foods - Carry Out Restaurants Caterers

Alternate Business Names
PSB Company White Castle Distributing, LLC White Castle Indiana LLC White Castle International Co. White Castle Kentucky LLC White Castle Management Co. White Castle Michigan LLC White Castle Purchasing Co.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

White Castle System, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 555 W Goodale St

    Columbus, OH 43215 (614) 228-5781 (614) 559-2684 (614) 559-2459 (800) 843-2728

  • PO Box 1498

    Columbus, OH 43216

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON FEB 23, 2014 AT 12:05:18 HOURS MY SALES RECEIPT NUMBER******** AND TEAM MEMEBER#1 04 REGISTER #1. THIS WAS A CARRY-OUT ORDER, BUT MY WIFE WAS IN THE STORE TO PICK IT UP. IT WAS NOT A DRIVE THROUGH PICK-UP. THE FOODS WAS OLD AND ALL DRIED UP. THE TEAM MEMBER FAKED LIKE SHE WAS MAKING UP A NEW ORDER, BUT SHE THEN PUT THE OLD FOOD THAT SITTING AROUND FROM WHO KNOWS HOW LONG. DO TO ME AND MY WIFE HEALTH ISSUES WE NEEDED THAT FOOD. SHE HAD JUST GOT OFF OF WORK. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE FOR US. DONOT TREAT YOUR CUSTOMERS LIKE THIS. MY MONEY IS HARD EARNED.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY MONEY REFUNDED TO ME ASAP.

Business Response:  I am getting in contact with Mr. ****** as we speak.  WE ave left a voice mail message but I will email him as the address he provided.  He requested a refund with no refund amount or the locaiton of the restautant.  I will requested this from him and will refund the customer once this information is received. Thank you,  

Consumer Response: This issue from early this year. My visit to the White Castle store. Which the results was that the issue me a gift card for bad food. So I when in the store trying to use the gift card. The gift card did not work. My letter to them DTD 24August2014 explains what happen at the store on Henderson Road. To settle this complaint for good. I would like me twenty dollars back in cash. They refused to contact me about my second complaint to them. It's been weeks nothing from the White Castle brand. 

Business Response:

I phoned Mr. ****** at 4:20pm but received voice mail. I left my office extension and cell phone. Based on my response from Greg and Connie I do not believe his letter has been answered.  The consumers concerns were shared with the Powell Management Team to address.  Additionally since he has not been contacted the Regional Manager is now pursuing contact with the consumer. As of this evening she has not received a reply to the voice mail left.

 

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sun 09/06/15 , I placed an online order (#****) which I pre paid ( PayPal Payment 8.49 Ref: *****************) to White Castle 100017 at 846 EMPIRE BLVD BROOKLYN, NY 11213 (718) 756-3377. This order was available for pick up at 03:48 AM, I arrived at 03:50 AM and found that all the doors were locked so I when to the drive thru window and asked for my order stating that I had already paid for it. The manager ( Dwight ) told me that he could not give me my order because he would get into trouble for doing so without me being in a car. I then informed him of the number of cars with customers waiting to place orders that led away from the store and into the street. He restated that I had to be in a car. I then got in my car and joined the long line to get my order.(Approx 25 Min.) When I arrived at the window I was informed by him that he had cancelled my order. I asked him why he would do that when he told me to go get in my car to receive my order. He stated that he thought that I had left the restaurant when he told me I had to be in a car.I asked how we could resolve this as this was a pre paid order and I didn't bring any cash. I tried to use my credit card again but now there were not enough funds to complete the purchase. I left with nothing but hunger and frustration.

Desired Settlement: An Explanation as to why I could not receive this order and any compensation for the time and trouble due to this situation. As of today ( 9/9/15) I have not received a refund.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


We are responding to complaint number ******** which was submitted by ***** ***** on 9/10/2015.  

******* *****, White Castle's District Supervisor has been in contact with Mr. ***** on a few occasions.  He is actually talking to him this afternoon and hopefully we will have a complete resolution.  We will confirm that for you shortly.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Corporate Relations Administrator

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my daughter go to White Castle #92 to get food for me and my wife, the restaurant happens to be the one my daughter is a manager of. (it was her off day) and my daughter order 4 sausage, egg and cheese and numerous other things. The manager on duty, ***** **********, rang the order up wrong, my daughter unknowing and made me 4 sausage, egg and cheese on toast. though this was wrong i was not upset until my daughter came home and i attempted to eat the food and the bread with not toasted. my wife called to the castle twice and complained about the bread and the manager on shift, Ms. ********** got attitude with her over the phone stating, she made the order herself and that she was not going to replace it, i then called her back explained the same thing and she refused to replace it. I then went up to the castle to resolve the issue and ***** was rude and unprofessional still refused to replace my order even after seeing the actually product itself and admitting it was wrong. so also threatened to call the police on me which was very much uncalled for. my wife ans i will probably NEVER return to this castle because of her lack of customer service.

Desired Settlement: no specific

Business Response: I wanted to let you know the progress of this complaint.  I have spoken with our Regional Director, *** ** *****, and he has made several attempts to contact Mr. ***** and Mr. ***** has not responded yet.  I am checking with **** ******* to see how she would like to continue working on helping resolve Mr. *****'s complaint amicably.I will let you know what **** decides to do.  Thank you, 

1/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday, Dec 14th 2014 I went into White Castle in BaySide NY for dinner. I also wanted to purchase 3 $10 gift cards. The advertisment in the store and on their website stated you would receive a $5 bonus card "with the purchase of $25 in gift cards" When I inquired about the bonus card I was informed that the $25 had to be on one card. I stated that the advertisment said "gift cards" not "gift card". My plea went ignored. On Monday, Dec 15th, I sent an email to White Castle explaining the situation. Today, Dec 17th, I received a call from their customer service representative. She stated that she had checked with corporate and the store was indeed correct. I informed her that the advertisement explicitly stated "gift cards". She said there was nothing that could be done. I then informed her that White Castle had lost 4 long time customers. Although $5 is not a huge sum, I feel this deception to the public is an outrage.

Desired Settlement: I would expect a phone call from a Senior Customer Service representative and White Castle to honor their advertising commitment to me and the public

Business Response: Good Morning,

We apologize that we have not responded until now.  This customer issue has been resolved.  
Sincerely, 
**** ********
Corp. Relations Administrator


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on White Castle System, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart