Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information provided by the company about its business products: What is Utility Shield? Utility Shield is a service agreement that provides repair or replacement of the essential, hard-working utility lines and systems throughout your home.  Utility Shield is a Manchester Group product. Who is The Manchester Group? The Manchester Group is part of IGS Energy - a privately held energy products and services company. The Manchester Group has entered into agreements with utility providers to offer customers the option to include Utility Shield charges on their monthly utility bills. The Manchester Group is not your utility provider. Utility Shield Overview - Utility Shield's utility line protection plans provide repair or replacement service if a protected line leaks or fails due to normal wear and tear or inherent defects in material or craftsmanship.  Utility Shield's system protection plans provide repair due to failure caused by normal wear and tear. You will receive protection only for the eligible lines and/or protected systems which you have enrolled, and only if the plan fees have been paid according to the service agreement. Utility Shield only provides service to failed lines or systems which fail due to a covered cause. Other limitations and exclusions apply. Please read your entire service agreement. Eligibility - You must own and be responsible for the single family dwelling, planned unit development, or mobile home to which the protected lines are attached. Further, you must be responsible for the upkeep of all the protected lines and/or protected systems. Participants certify that there are no pre-existing conditions affecting their utility lines or systems. All protected lines and protected systems must be attached to or located in a single family home owned by you, and for outside protection, you must own the land upon which your single family home is located.  All protected lines and protected systems must have been installed by a licensed contractor according to the applicable building code, and they must be in use and in good working order, without any leaks or failures at the time of your enrollment. By enrolling, you agree that you understand that you are purchasing a service agreement and not an insurance policy. Also, you certify that there are no pre-existing conditions affecting your utility lines or systems. Further, you agree that you understand and agree that lines or systems with pre-existing conditions are not eligible for protection under Utility Shield. Prior removal of material from your sewer line is deemed a pre-existing condition.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Manchester Group, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Manchester Group, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on The Manchester Group, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2006 in OH Business incorporated 02/15/2006 in OH
Type of Entity

Domestic Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Mr. Bill Thomas, President Mr. Doug Austin, Co-owner Mr. Jason Moore, CEO of The Manchester Group Mrs. Monica Scharschmidt, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Scott White, Co-owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Monica Scharschmidt, Customer Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. Bill Thomas, President
Business Category

Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies

Products & Services

The Manchester Group, LLC sells the following brand(s): IGS Energy Home Services, Manchester Group, UtilityShield

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Personal check, debit card, or auto withdrawal.
Alternate Business Names
IGS Energy Home Services Utility Shield
Additional Information

This company offers service agreements, not insurance. Protection for utility lines is for the repair or replacement of: inside electric lines, inside gas lines, inside water lines, inside sewer lines, outside water supply lines from the street to your home or from your home to the well, outside sewer lines that go to the city sewer or septic tank. Protection for systems repair include: HVAC systems (air conditioner, furnace, heat pump, boiler) and water heater that are not operating properly due to normal wear and tear. 

Additional Information

According to the Office of the Ohio Consumer's Counsel, these consumer warranties are also called line insurance. Line insurance is a program to help consumer's cover the cost of repairs to utility lines that run to or inside a home. For more information on line insurance, consumers may wish to contact the OCC at http://www.pickocc.org choose utility questions and select their tip sheet called "The Facts About Utility Line Insurance" at http://www.pickocc.org/publications/consumer_protection/Facts_About_Utility_Line_Insurance.pdf


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Manchester Group, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6100 Emerald Pkwy

    Dublin, OH 43016 (800) 581-8729 (888) 544-4541 (877) 216-3447 (877) 275-8197 (844) 843-4131 (844) 296-7764 (888) 995-0992 (877) 275-8197

  • PO Box 9052

    Dublin, OH 43017

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 19th, I called to file a claim for my AC unit not working, was 80 degrees in my house. The tech came out the next day to look at the unit. Find what he thought was the issue, it was addressed, and unit worked ok for a couple of day. Then I had to call them again on July 24 for the unit making a very loud noise and not working again. Tech came out noticed that a part was bad and replaced it, also noticed the blower motor was not working properly, had a bad smell to it, and was going out. He called Manchester Group to ask permission to change it out, they refused this repair and told us we had to wait till it went out. The tech fixed the one part they authorized and left. Even after fixing the one part and leaving the broken blower motor, the house began to have a "burning smell," there was a very loud noise every time the blower motor would try to kick on, it was also not working at it's best abilities which caused the house to get up to 80 degrees again. Having three children, I could not allow them to stay in the house the night of the 19th because of the heat and the fact the company allowed a fire hazard go unfixed. This caused us to have to get a hotel for the night. The next day when I returned to the house to check on it, I noticed the blower motor had stopped working all together, our Unit had been trying to run all night, which caused our outside AC unit to freeze over. I had to call another claim in and wait around while a tech was dispatched and visited our house. I don't understand why the company would not go with the techs recommendation to prevent a bigger issue because I am sure the company would not have paid my insurance deductible if the fire hazard had caught my house on fire.

Desired Settlement: Would like a reimbursement for my hotel and time I had to spend on three different occasions to meet with a tech to resolve an issue that could have been handled during one visit.

Business Response: Our Home protection service agreement became effective for the ****** household on February 21, 2015. After 5 months of coverage, the initial service call was received, afterhours on July 19, 2015 wherein the technician found the blower was running, filter was dirty and outdoor unit was running. At that time, Mr. ****** opted to wait on repair and consider the recommended options provided by the technician. The second service call occurred on July 24, 2015 and the technician found that the capacitor was bad and replaced it. At the time the fan motor was still operational so it was not covered under our service agreement. The third service call occurred on July 27, 2015 and the technician found that the fan motor has failed and repair was necessary to remedy the failure and replaced it, under our service agreement. Please provide a copy of your hotel receipt, we will consider it for possible reimbursement. Thank you for the opportunity to address this complaint. Thank you,

Consumer Response:

I do not accept the fact the company is ok with leaving a failing part, even after the tech recommended replacement.  It is unacceptable to be to pay for a service and when it is needed, they try to get by with paying as little as possible.  I was put out of my house for a night, had to pay for a hotel in-order to protect my family from a fire hazard.  I don't understand how a company can put money over clients safety.

Business Response: Thank you. We will honor your request for hotel reimbursement. It takes 7-10 business days for the check to be processed, after which the reimbursement check will be mailed to the address on file. Thank you,

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased,through my local water utility,an insurance plan that covered my water heater. The contract states that the water heater in my home would be fully covered up to and including replacement up to $750. My unit malfunctioned and is only operating at half capacity. I contacted the Manchester group and they referred me to a local plumbing contractor who looked at the unit and said a replacement was needed. The representative of Manchester contacted me by phone while the repairman was at the scene. She stated that they do not cover replacements under any circumstances and said because the drain valve was broken that they would not cover the repair. This is a lame technicality. My unit was in good working order and I did not sign up for coverage just to get them to get me a new one. The unit was working perfectly for some time before the breakdown. This company is obviously selling "snake oil",as it were, insurance plans and wants to collect money from customers but looks for any excuse they can to not pay out. At the very least, I want all the $3.95 per month charges refunded to me as either an account credit or a check mailed to me. They have clearly not lived up to the terms of the contract and a complete refund of all monthly fees will make me whole again. I want the public to know what kind of unsavory charlatans the Manchester group really is.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund of all payments made to the Manchester group through my water company.

Business Response:

Our records show the customer enrolled in our water heater protection plan on April 18, 2014, which coverage became effective May 3, 2014. The customer canceled the plan on March 18, 2015.

Per the customer’s call of March 17, 2015, he advised that the hot water was not lasting as long as normal, but is working; hasn’t failed. We provided several contractor numbers for the customer to contact. The customer called ARS and their technician advised us that the water heater unit is approximately 11 years old and there is damage to the drain valve caused by animals chewing the valve. I have attached a copy of our service agreement which discloses 1) this plan covers the cost of repair necessary to remedy a failure of your residential water heater and 2) failure is defined as meaning your water heater is not operating due to normal wear and tear and 3) the additional benefit for this system protection plan applies to claims made after 12 months of continuous enrollment.

The customer did not file a claim and canceled service. We were unable to cover repair to the water heater under our service agreement as we find the damage to the water heater, caused by animals chewing the drain valve, is not deemed “normal wear and tear”.

Thank you for the opportunity to address this complaint.

 

Business Response:

Our records show the customer enrolled in our water heater protection plan on April 18, 2014, which coverage became effective May 3, 2014. The customer canceled the plan on March 18, 2015.

Per the customer’s call of March 17, 2015, he advised that the hot water was not lasting as long as normal, but is working; hasn’t failed. We provided several contractor numbers for the customer to contact. The customer called ARS and their technician advised us that the water heater unit is approximately 11 years old and there is damage to the drain valve caused by animals chewing the valve. I have attached a copy of our service agreement which discloses 1) this plan covers the cost of repair necessary to remedy a failure of your residential water heater and 2) failure is defined as meaning your water heater is not operating due to normal wear and tear and 3) the additional benefit for this system protection plan applies to claims made after 12 months of continuous enrollment.

The customer did not file a claim and canceled service. We were unable to cover repair to the water heater under our service agreement as we find the damage to the water heater, caused by animals chewing the drain valve, is not deemed “normal wear and tear”.

Thank you for the opportunity to address this complaint.

 

Consumer Response: The matter has been resolved.  

Consumer Response: The matter has been resolved.  

3/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: IGS Energy came to my door in October 2014 & said they could lower my gas energy bill to $18.00. Sounded good & lady had me sign papers. She did not give me copy. IGS Energy started service in I believe December 2014. Their billing is $63 to $50.00 a month PLUS now ******** ********** gas bills for about $40-43 a month. When I called ******** ********** Gas they told me ******** ********** Gas is not associated with IGS Energy. ******** ********** Gas is paid for the pipes under street homes & meters. IGS Energy is paid for the gas used. No one told me this--only that IGS Energy would be lower cost than ******** ********** Gas.

Desired Settlement: Comply with the representative the IGS Energy sent door to door in Oct 2014. Need IGS Energy cancelled and that I owe them no money. They misrepresented.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns.

 

After careful review and consideration of your complaint inquiry, we contacted our third party marketer and they advised that the sales agent is no longer employed. They have made a business decision to refund you by check. You can reach ******* with the third party marketer at ###-###-####.

 

Our records show that the account cancelled effective 3/17/15.

 

Thank you,

**** *****

Compliance Coordinator

9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB, After a highly unpleasant experience with the Manchester Group, I instructed ***** to CANCEL service effective 11 APR 14 and subsequently replaced them with another Home Warranty Company on 21 APR 14. I never heard back from them, nor did I call back understanding I had washed my hands of them. What I was not immediately aware of is they were still billing me though ****** without authorization to do so. This flew under the radar as it was a $19.95 monthly charge couched well under page 2 of my ******* bill. UNTIL they got greedy and double billed me $39.90 in the September bill when ******* created a new billing format and it stood out like a sore thumb. I then promptly contacted the Manchester Group on 8 SEP 14 and spoke to one who identified himself as *** who stated he would investigate and phone me back in 24-48 hours. He phoned back, leaving me a voicemail on 9 SEP 14 and stated he had "reviewed the tapes", and found my CLEAR instruction to cancel was not clear during my conversation with ****** who was very rude and unprofessional, helping my decision to cancel. I then phoned him back same date and provided facts, including the fact that I had replaced them with another Home warranty Company by 21 APR 14; something any prudent person would properly interpret. I then gave *** through the end of the day of 9 SEP 14 for any reasonable offer in compromise before proceeding with the complaint and resolution process. As is typical, I did not hear from them.

Desired Settlement: Billing adjustment due and owing since April 2014 of $19.95 times 4 months for the total of $79.80

Business Response:

 

       

The protection plan was purchased on December 10, 2013. The customer was denied a claim in April of 2014. After a thorough review of the account and upon reviewing call recordings, we find that the customer first requested to cancel our services on September 8, 2014. The cancellation was processed in a timely manner.

The account was invoiced by the utility company, *******, which reflected our monthly protection plan charges of $19.95. Upon processing the cancellation we found that remittance of our charges were behind. The account invoiced with our charges for 9 months, from December 2013 through August 2014. 7 payments were received on January 16; February 18; March 17; April 7; May 21; June 19 and July 16, 2014. Our August charges were cancel rebilled by ******* when payment was not remitted, in full or within the five day grace period. 

While we have no record of the customer’s intent to cancel prior to September, in order to resolve the complaint inquiry filed with the BBB, we have made the business decision to make the cancellation request retroactive back to May. The refund will be split: $39.90 will reflect as a ******* statement credit (refunding the months of July & August); and $39.90 will be mailed directly to Mr. ****s via check (refunding the months of May & June). Check processing takes 7-10 business days.    

Business Response:

 

       

The protection plan was purchased on December 10, 2013. The customer was denied a claim in April of 2014. After a thorough review of the account and upon reviewing call recordings, we find that the customer first requested to cancel our services on September 8, 2014. The cancellation was processed in a timely manner.

The account was invoiced by the utility company, *******, which reflected our monthly protection plan charges of $19.95. Upon processing the cancellation we found that remittance of our charges were behind. The account invoiced with our charges for 9 months, from December 2013 through August 2014. 7 payments were received on January 16; February 18; March 17; April 7; May 21; June 19 and July 16, 2014. Our August charges were cancel rebilled by ******* when payment was not remitted, in full or within the five day grace period. 

While we have no record of the customer’s intent to cancel prior to September, in order to resolve the complaint inquiry filed with the BBB, we have made the business decision to make the cancellation request retroactive back to May. The refund will be split: $39.90 will reflect as a ******* statement credit (refunding the months of July & August); and $39.90 will be mailed directly to Mr. ****s via check (refunding the months of May & June). Check processing takes 7-10 business days.    

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Electrician contracted left the insulation in my attic pushed to edges of attic and didn't clean it back up like it was.

Desired Settlement: Have someone come out & fix it.  I have cancelled my contract with the company as I feel like they don't see that their contracted employees are doing a good job.

Business Response:

On January 22nd, 2014 we responded to a request to add a connection box in *** ******* attic. The disputed amount is the amount we paid to our contractor for their service. The customer did noy pay the contractor anything. Per our service agreement (which is attached), on page 7, under What is Not Covered? , 4th bulletin down reads "Cosmetic finish work (e.g., paint, wallpaper) or restoration to the affected area (e.g., sheetrock, tile). Our company will access the area for repair, but unfortunately we do not do any restoration. The contractor stated there was an 18" layer of insulation and then additional under that. He did have to move some insulation aside to add the connection box to a joist, all while on his belly because of the tight quarters. His whole body was covered in insulation and he tried the best he could to remove what he could from himself before climbing back down. The contractor we sent out was an electrician and not an insulation expert. *** ***** called us back on 4-4-14 regarding another question and at that time and advised us she never wanted that particular contractor back to her home.  At this time there is nothing additional The Manchester Group will do.

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We joined ******* ****** to have our house covered since it is an older home and we don't know everything that might be wrong with it. We filed two claims and had repairs done with them and we thought things were going great. Then out of the blue we get a letter of cancellation. We contacted them and spoke to ****** ************. She stated that she was the one that made the decision to cancel the policy and refused to give any more imformation other than it was based on the experiences of the contractors and call center. She gave attitude and stated that if we wanted to know anymore that we would need to get in contact with their legal department. We haven't had any problems with either contractors. I offered to help both service teams that came by. The election and I laughed and joked around and there was no problems. The plumbers didn't seem to have any problems either. We have paid them on time. When we spoke to the person that sold us the policy we asked specifically would your company cancel us if there was to many claims done. She said no. It didn't matter how many claims that we filed there would not be a problem. After speaking to the Manchester Group legal department we were told that the Manchester Group had paid out thousands of dollars on this policy and that they were cancelling because we had had to many claims on too new of a policy. Both ****** and the guy from the legal department cut me off, showed attitude, and tried speaking while I was speaking.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to reinstate our policy and back up what I was told they would do, which was not cancel for too many claims.

Business Response: I have attached the repsonse and service agreement.  Thank You

11/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Utility Shield to cancel the service on 6/5/2013. I informed the CSR that I could no longer afford the service and that I am on a fixed income. He said that I would no longer be charged for the service effective 6/5/13 and would be covered until 6/30/13 and that there will not be any further charges. My July bill from ******** ***** still had the charges of $14.95 on it. ******** ***** refused to credit my bill for 14.95 and so did Utility Shield. This is a healthy issue because I can not afford healthy food choices. $14.95 might not mean much to you but it means the difference of protein or no protein given that I am on a fixed income.

Desired Settlement: Credit my ******** ***** bill of $14.95

Business Response:

The customer contacted our office 6-5-13 to cancel coverage, and was advised that no NEW charges would be sent to ********.  We sent our charge of $14.95 to ******** on 6-1-13.  ******** doesn't necessarily bill at the same time we send our charges to them.  They accepted the $14.95 charge on 6-21-13 and the customer saw that charge on her next bill, again this is the charge we sent to them on 6-1-13.  We do not have access to when they bill each customer, but we didn't send them any NEW charges.  The representative explained what took place and why the charge showed on her current bill, unfortunately the customer hung up on the representative before we could offer refunding the $14.95 as a courtesy (we even tried to call the customer back).  

We are unable to place the $14.95 credit back on the *******'s bill, but we will mail the customer a check for $14.95, which can take up to 30 days. 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on The Manchester Group, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart