This business is not BBB accredited.

Uptown Apparel Company

Phone: (740) 281-0050 Fax: (740) 281-0116 1640 N 21st St, Newark, OH 43055 View Additional Email Addresses http://uptownapparelco.com ! Uptown Apparel Company is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Uptown Apparel Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 13, 2012 Business started: 09/12/2011 in 0 Business started locally: 09/12/2011 Business incorporated 08/25/2011 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian T. Jurden, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian T. Jurden, Owner
Business Category

Embroidery Garments - Printing & Lettering Sportswear - Retail Clothing - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Uptown Apparel Company, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1640 N 21st St

    Newark, OH 43055

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November I placed, and paid for in full, an order for approx. 12 hats to be embroidered. They were to be picked up within two weeks. I was told that would be a problem. It was very important this date was meet b/c these were hats to be given away to my customers during gun/deer season. That date come and gone and not even a phone call to say my order wasn't going to be ready. I have made approx. 15 phone calls to both the owners cell phone and the store number to check on my order. After 4 times of driving to the store I did finally get some of my hats about 1 month later - only to see they had ordered the wrong hats. This shouldn't have happened b/c I gave them the order numbers.

Another month or more went by and several more attempts to check on them, they finally had a couple more done - but had the colors backwards! It has been almost 6 months and I still do not have all of my order. (I live about 26 Miles north of this company - not just a quick trip around the block)I am so upset with the way my business has been treated by this owner. I've placed and received previous orders with them and had wonderful service, and great looking work. I understand they have had some employee turn over but this does not justify why this is happening. It's to bad the owner feels its ok to hide behind the one way mirror and not answer his phone because I'm sure he would get a ear full - or just maybe he could have settled an easy situation. Never Again!

Desired Settlement: I want my hats mailed to me b/c I've already spend enough money, gas and mileage on my vehicle to check on these hats. Better customer service by the owner is a must! Meet with your clients and stop letting your daughter take the complaints.

Business Response:

The hat was finished today and mailed out to the customer, also including 6 extra hats for her delay in delivery.  Also included is a gas card for her many trips to pick up her orders.  When the customer comes in the next time I will be the only person to work with her.

Not an excuse, but I had a few employees that were not the best performers and I have taken care of all the problems.  This was my mistake that I did not catch this sooner.  I am taking care of all production, scheduling of all jobs since the first of this year.  There will not be any delays now or in the future.   When the customer comes in to place another order, I will give her order to her at no charge, up to $100.00.  I hope this will rectify the situation with this customer and hope for a long business relationship with them.  Again I want to apologize for any and all problems myself or any of my staff has caused you.

Thank you,

***** ******

Uptown Apparel Company

Consumer Response:

I did receive the hats that he said he sent - thank you! I'm sorry it took writing a letter to the Better Business to get the matter resolved - but I was left with no other choice!

But as far as a gas card that was mentioned - Nope haven't seen one. Not sure if he was mailing it separate or if it was supposed to be in the box with the hats - but we didn't receive it.



Regards,
***** *****