BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of AC Lens?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

AC Lens is an online retailer of contact lenses, eyeglasses, reading glasses, and other eye care products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AC Lens meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AC Lens include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on AC Lens
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 08, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1996 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 04/15/1998 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Optical Dispensers Board
77 S. High St 16th Fl, Columbus OH 43266
http://optical.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (614) 466-9707
odb@odb.ohio.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter M. Clarkson, President Ms. Beth Cale Mr. Phil Ditrich Mr. Robert Drumm, Director of Marketing Mr. Randy Fisher, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter M. Clarkson, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Fisher, General Manager
Business Category

Contact Lenses Sunglasses Eyeglass Suppliers Internet Shopping

Products & Services

AC Lens sells the following brand(s): Acuvue, Air Optix, Bausch & Lomb, Biofinity, Foster Grant, Hello Kitty, Many more, Oakley, Proclear, Ralph Lauren, Ray-Ban

AC Lens offers the following product(s): Allergy Relief, Computer Glasses, Contact Lenses, Designer Eyeglass Frames, Eye Drops, Gaming Glasses, Many More, Prescription Eyeglasses, Reading Glasses, Sunglasses

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, PayPal Credit, and more
Refund and Exchange Policy
Refunds and exchanges vary by site but typically you will receive a 90 day no questions asked guarantee on any order. See the various sites for more details.          
Alternate Business Names
Arlington Contact Lens Service, Inc. DiscountContactLenses.com DiscountGlasses.com Frame Boutique
Business Management

The principals of this firm, Peter Clarkson and Phil Dietrich are principals of PCPD, Inc and Baseball Rampage. BBB maintains separate report on those companies.


Additional Locations

  • 4265 Diplomacy Dr

    Columbus, OH 43228 (614) 921-9833 (614) 921-9894 (614) 921-2552

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 921-2552(Phone)
  • (614) 921-9892(Phone)
  • (614) 921-9894(Phone)
  • (866) 885-7972(Phone)
  • (877) 346-0917(Phone)
  • (888) 248-5367(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today I accessed your website to order contacts for my kids. I selected the lenses I needed (1-Day Acuvue Moist for Astigmatism) in a quantity of 12 boxes. I added these to my shopping cart and the price reflected was $23.76 per box; $142.56 for 6 boxes for right eye and $142.56 for 6 boxes of the left eye. I also ordered 2 boxes of toric lenses for another family member at $45.01 per box and my order subtotal showed as $375.14 with free shipping. Not soon after submitting my order I received an email confirming my order for a total amount charged to my credit card of $504.02. STUNNED I quickly reviewed the order in the email and sure enough I was now being charged $34.50 per box of the Acuvue lenses. I immediately called customer service and spoke to a gentleman that could tell me no more than that is the price of the lenses…. we are never allowed to charge less than this per the manufacturer and he could not help me! I have a few issues with this… I am pretty sure what they have done is illegal! You cannot present one price through the checkout process only to change that price later and charge my credit card. That is basically stealing as I did not authorize a change of $504.02. To add insult to injury the agent was not telling me the truth as I placed an order for the same lenses on 1/17/2014 and paid $25.95 per box.. He LIED!

Desired Settlement: Stop the deceptive tactics. Show the accurate price prior to charging the customer and if a mistake is made you should honor that advertised price anyway.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding the price change that affected your contact lens order. We are very sorry for the confusion and dissatisfaction this caused you. The manufacturer of the 1-Day Acuvue Moist for Astigmatism lenses made a unilateral price increase on most of their lenses. This means that all doctor’s offices and online retailers are now required to sell the contact lenses at the minimum price provided by the manufacturer. During your ordering process, the lens prices were updated, which is why your cart initially listed one price, and the email confirmation you received listed another. We are very sorry to hear that our representative did not seek out management guidance to reset the pricing prior to the change.

Our records indicate that after we received an email from you expressing your dissatisfaction with the pricing, one of our Customer Service Supervisors contacted you to explain the situation and advised you that we would be happy to sell your contact lenses for the price you were originally quoted. Per the supervisor, you indicated that you did not wish to proceed with the 1-Day Acuvue lenses, and would cease doing business with our company.

It was never our intention to deceive you, and truly value your business. Again, due to a timing issue with updating our lens prices to meet the manufacturer requirements, your order was unfortunately affected by this change. We will happy to set up another for you, if that is what you would like to do.

Thank you,
***** ****** 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID #### and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered both eye contacts and eye drops online on April 1st, and soon got a confirmation e-mail saying my order was placed and on the way shipping out. I waited for 3 weeks, nothing happened. So, I contacted their customer service and was told that the products have been mailed out and asked me to check with local post office. 1-2 days after, they emailed me by saying that both of my products haven't been delivered due to one of my orders was out of stock. I was urgently in need of my eye contacts, its technically a health issue since I can not see anything clearly without my eye contacts. So therefore, I required for a quick shipping method but they insisted to do the First-Class post office Mail which usually takes 14-21 days shipping overseas. They later mailed out my eye contacts separately while waiting for my other order to arrive in the warehouse. 2-3 weeks after, which was May 9, I still didn't receive my product, so I asked for a refund. They never got back to me ever since. And, I still haven't got my eye contacts. By the way, they already charged my bank on April 25. Their action actually involves in late delivery of products, failure to respond to customers requests, failure to honor their policy regarding refund etc...

Business Response:

Thank you for the correspondence related to a recent experience you had with our office. We are very sorry to hear of your experience with placing your most recent order. We strive to ensure our customer’s receive the highest quality service, and based on your feedback, we did not meet your expectations with this order.  

I have reviewed your order, and it appears your order was initially delayed due to back-order delays with receiving one of your products. This is in no way passing the responsibility off, as we understand we did not perform our due diligence in notifying you of any additional delays.

Your order, ########## was shipped on 4/24/2014, via International First Class Mail. According to tracking number ##############, your package is currently being held for the following reason:

“Addressee cannot be located- Item being held, addressee being notified” 5/12/2014

Your second order containing eye drops appears to have been delivered on 5/12/2014 according to USPS. The tracking number associated with this order is #############

Again, we are very sorry to hear of your experience. We have issued a courtesy discount to your order in the amount of $39.70, which is 15% off your order total. If you experience any problems retrieving the order currently being held at your local postal service, please let us know.

We hope that this resolution meets your satisfaction.

***** ******

Consumer Response:

I really appreciate ******** ******'s 15% discount offer which is $39.70 on my next order.   But the point is, I did NOT receive my product which costs me $238.75+ 14.95 shipping charge, $253.7 in total ( the amount of the money has been taken from my bank account on April 25)
I went to the post office today with the tracking number, unfortunately, they couldn't give me any information about the parcel since I didn't have the arrive of letter usually left by the carriers,and they advised me to contact the sender.    As we all know that the mail is being held somewhere for following reason- " Addressee cannot be located- Item being held, addressee being notified."     I have no idea where my parcel is!!  Whatever has happened during the process of delivery, I don't think that it is supposed to be customers' responsibility or fault as long as the destination is written correctly.  It's part of the business along with fulfillment, shipping initiatives etc which the enterprises deal with.

As shown on attached files, you can see that I placed the order on April 1st, and today is May 15, it has been over 6 weeks since I ordered it online, and I still don't have my eye contacts.   I emailed the customer service twice within a week for help, still haven't heard anything back from them.
I've ordered the items from the company several times in the past two years even though I don't live in US at the moment, I work overseas.    I'm still being a loyal customer.   It's a trust between me and the company. 

Honestly, it is being very frustrating living without eye contacts which bothers me in everyday life, in the meaning time, was completely ignored by the customer service team, and had to run to the post office twice( today and on April 24) on my lunch break.

I'd sincerely like to either get a refund which is $253.7 or have the company kindly re-send my products and have it arrive faster.   I'm moving to ***** in exact 10 days.   Hope I can receive a reasonable answer and don't lose my hope in A/C Lens due to the accident.

Thank you for your understanding, 
Best regards,

Business Response:

Thank you for your response to our email! We apologize for the delay in getting back with you. According to the tracking information listed on your order, you have refused the shipment and it is in route to our facility. I have issued a refund in full to your method of payment. Please allow 7-10 business days for this credit to reflect in your account.

We would also like to say that we are very sorry that you did not receive your order, and for the delay in getting a response to your inquiry. We can assure you this is not our typical level of service.

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance to you.

Thank you,

***** ******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ######, and they eventually agree to send me a refund so i should be receiving a full amount in 7-10days.    Thank you very very much for helping me out regarding it.      Better Business Bureaus does a wonderful job, and rebuilds my confidence in US marketplace.
 
Regards,
**** **

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Company posted a charge of $344.58 CDN on my MasterCard account on 22.Jan.2014. I have never done business of any kind with AC Lens. I disputed this charge with my Card Company and it was reversed pending their investigation. They informed me that another attempt was made the next day but because my card was now overlimit it did not post. Now another charge of $343.14 CDN has been posted as filed on 27.Jan.2014 after I brought my balance down. The card is now overlimit rendering it useless to me. Someone at this company is putting charges on my MasterCard account without authority and without there being any business with me. Of course I am dealing with the Card Provider but my concern is that AC Lens has acquired my account number illegally and is using it to process unauthorized charges.

Desired Settlement: 1. Cease and desist from any further charges.2. Remove any information relating to my MasterCard account from their system or database.3. Inform MasterCard that I have not authorized any charges, nor have I engaged in any business dealings with AC Lens4. Provide me with a written letter outlining their mistake and the steps being taken to insure that it is never repeated.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent correspondence to our office. We take matters of this nature very serious, and hope to resolve this to your satisfaction quickly. Since you were not the person who placed the order, we need to confirm that we have located the correct order(s), and are unable to do that using your name. Can you please provide us with the last four digits of the credit card that was used in this transaction(s)?

Once we have this information, we can begin to determine which order(s) your card may have been used on.

Thank you,

***** ****** 

Consumer Response: No problem. Thanks for re-opening the case.
The last 4 digits of the credit card in question are: ####
I must emphasize again that I never did business with this company and if my card was used it was without my permission and most likely fraudulent.
Thanks.

Business Response:

Thank you for the information you provided. On 1/28/2014, we received a chargeback dispute related to Order Number ####### in the amount of $300.89 and Order Number ########### in the amount of $301.60, both paid for with credit card ending in ######. We provided the bank with the information they requested, and received notification that both purchases appeared valid, and the bank closed both chargebacks in our favor. Our company takes matters of this nature seriously, and suggests you contact your financial institution to determine what steps you need to have them complete another investigation into this matter. Again, we are very sorry to hear of your experience and will be happy to assist with getting this problem resolved.

Consumer Response: Regardless of what may appear valid, I emphasize strongly that I have never done business with this company. I have never ordered anything from them EVER! On the two orders mentioned, what was the product or service supplied? I never received any such product or service. Who did they ship these products to? They should be supplying this information so that it can be clearly shown to them that I am not their customer and never was. This whole situation appears fraudulent and is extremely frustrating. The company clearly needs to provide detailed information.

Regards,
****** ******

Business Response:

***** ***** ****** ******************************* ***** ******** *** *** **** **** ** *** ******************************* ******** *** ********* ********  ********** 

It was a pleasure speaking with you today in reference to your internal case number #####. As I mentioned in our conversation, the customer had two orders listed under his credit card. The first order was dated 1/22/2014 in the amount of $288.60, and the second was dated 1/23/2014 in the amount of $286.65. According to the documentation on the orders, we received chargeback disputes for both orders dated 2/6/2014. We provided the information requested to the cardholders issuing bank, and both chargebacks were reversed, and our accounts credited. 

On 3/11/2014, we received the order dated 1/22/2014 in our warehouse as return. On 4/3/2014, we received the second order dated 1/23/2014 in our warehouse. At the point both returns were received, we issued a credit to the cardholders account. On May 2, 2014, we received notification that the credits were rejected due to the cardholders accounts being closed. If the customer can provide us with a valid mailing address, we will be happy to request a check be sent to them. 

Please let us know how the customer would like to proceed.

Thank you,

***** ****** ********** ********
** **** **** ********* ***** ********* **** ***** ******************
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Once again for the record............ I do not care what account these people have with regards to this situation but I have NEVER done business with them, I NEVER placed these orders, and as such NEVER returned anything to them.  I HAD TO have Mastercard close the card account under their recommendation specifically because this company continued to post charges that had NOTHING to do with me and thus the credit card account was compromised. This caused me a great deal of trouble as you can well imagine as I have had this Mastercard account for a number of years. Clearly someone else ordered and returned these items although it seems odd to me that such a long period of time passed between 'shipping' the product and having it 'returned'. I still believe that this was a fraudulent transaction. Certainly if this company feels compelled to send me money by way of compensating me for all the trouble I went through then by all means, however I do not believe that is going to happen.

Regards,
****** ******

Consumer Response: ****** ****** ** ******* * *** *** *** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair of glasses for my .... daughter on AClens.com.Transaction itself was pretty smooth.When the product arrived, my daughter pointed out that one of the lenses was stick out and was annoying her. I look at the glasses carefully and notice that one lens is not manufacture/installed correctly. Ultimately, one of the lenses is not cut correctly so that one lens sits outside of the frame.I contact customer service and all they tell me is that I can have it fixed only if I send it back. It will take 2+ weeks for my daughter to get her glasses back. Since she can't have a down time for that long, I ask if I can have it repaired locally and have them credit me for the charges. They refuse to make any other efforts but to go through 2+ week repair process.Since it is their failure for quality control, they should also accommodate so that my daughter's glasses can be fixed.It seems that all service reps are advised to do this despite the situation.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot accept my method of resolution which is to have it repaired locally and have them credit me for the repair charges, I would like to return the glasses and receive full refund, including S&H.I would rather not deal with them at all after a resolution is reached.

Business Response:

Thank you for your communication regarding *** ****’s. We, at AC Lens, take matters of this nature very serious, and hope that we have reached a satisfactory outcome. I personally contacted *** ****'s regarding his dissatisfaction with our company. I have issued a refund of $25.00, which was the cost he incurred from taking his daughter's glasses to a local Optical center. Additionally, we will be sending a replacement pair of glasses along with return postage. *** ****’s can expect to receive his daughter’s replacement glasses on Friday June 14, 2013.

We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication regarding his glasses, and hope that he will give us another opportunity in the future. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** **** ****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a past customer of ***********************, I received an email advertising "up to 25%" off my specific lens (O2Optix) until 4/1/13. When I checked online and also called, the max discount available on O2Optix was 10% ($22.46/ box).

Desired Settlement: Give me the 25% off pricing ($18.71/ box) and quit sending deceptive offers

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent correspondence to our company. We take matters of this nature seriously, and hope to resolve your concern.

We can assure you our email campaign was not intended to mislead our customers, and apologize if you felt it had. As a courtesy to you, we will be happy to honor the price of $18.71 per box. Please contact our customer service department and we will be happy to set up an order for you.

Sincerely,

***** ******   

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered contact from their website discountcontactlenses.com on 9/18/12 (order #*********) and my bank account was immediately charged the $64.85 cost. When they were unable to fill my order I cancelled the order and requested a refund and have yet to receive it. They said they "released the hold on my funds" with my bank and now it is up to my bank to creidt my account. I spoke with my bank a few times and they have no idea what this company is are talking about. I also forwarded the bank's contact info to the customer service rep I was working with and asked they they resolve this issue directky with the bank themselves, it seems to me if you can take someone's money without any issues you should also be able to refund it without any issues. They took $64.85 out of my back account over a month ago and I want it returned ASAP.

Desired Settlement: I want the $64.85 i was charged refunded to me ASAP.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent correspondence to our company. We take concerns of this nature very serious, and hope to have a satisfactory resolution for the customer.

According to our records, our company initially placed an authorization hold in the amount of $64.85 on September 18, 2012. Since we were unable to proceed with the customer’s order, the authorization hold was voided. Our records indicate the authorization void was completed on September 21, 2012.

On October 3, 2012, the customer emailed our company indicating the authorization hold had not been removed. Our customer service team was advised to fax a letter – Attn. *******, requesting the authorization hold be removed, and a release request was faxed to ###-###-#### on October 5, 2012 at 7:21 p.m. EST.

We are very sorry to hear that this authorization has not been removed. If the customer would like to fax us a recent copy of their bank statement showing this pending transaction, we would be happy to reach out to their financial institution a second time. It is uncommon that an authorization hold would remain pending through the cardholders account, and we would be happy to assist in getting this resolved as quickly as possible.  

Please let us know how the customer would like to proceed.

Thank you,


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed the below order on June 24th, and received it on June 29th. The Discount Contact Lenses's website showed an "after rebate" price that reflected a $25 rebate on my purchase. I have a screen shot of my transaction and an Acuvue rebate form that they sent with the order. The Discount Contact Lense website's rebate explains that you need to complete and mail in the form. That is not true. It is now done online which is fine. The terms & conditions said that the rebate applied to purchases by June 30th, and rebate form submissions received by July 31st. However, when I attempted to submit my rebate online - the rebate that `hooked' my purchase at their site the online form was not even offered. There is no rebate shown at their rebate site for my Acuvue Moist 6 month supply purchase. I have sent three inquiries to the Discount Contact Lense customer service email address - including the screen shots and a crystal clear explanation of my problem, but they do not even respond to my inquires: Order Number: *********Order Date: 6/24/2012Bill to: ***** ************** ********* ************* ******** ****Ship to: ***** ************** ********* ************* ******** Shipping Method: Regular GroundProducts: 1-DAY ACUVUE MOIST 90 Pack (Right) $53.06 * 2 = $106.121-DAY ACUVUE MOIST 90 Pack (Left) $53.06 * 2 = $106.12Acuvue 2012 Acuvue Rebate $0.00/ea. * 1 = $0.00_______________Total: $212.24Shipping: $0.00Sales Tax: $0.00_______________Grand Total: $212.24

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the $25 rebate that was advertised at Discount Contact Lense's website, specifically included in the online price that their website advertises, and they even provided the approprite online rebate form. I suspect that their rebate expired and their website was not changed to reflect the expiration. That is not my problem - it is their problem. I would settle for a $25 future purchase credit with an apology.

Business Response: Thank you for your inquiry. We are very sorry to hear of this customer’s experience, and take matters of this nature very seriously. I have checked through our email archives and could only locate one email from this customer dated 7/2/2012 at 4:22 p.m. EST, and a response sent from our company on 7/2/2012 at 5:21 p.m. EST. The email we received indicated the customer did not receive the rebate with his order. One of our customer service agents responded with instructions on how to obtain the rebate directly from Acuvue.com, as we felt this would be more convenient for the customer. I will forward this portion of the complaint on to our IT department for review to ensure we are promptly receiving customer inquiries.

I visited www.acuvue.com/rebates shortly after receiving the complaint, and although the rebate does not show in the current list on their main screen, once the customer begins to fill out the rebate information, it will give him the option for the rebate he needs.

 Once the customer visits www.acuvue.com/rebates, he will select the option “Submit a rebate”. The site will direct him to enter “Patient Information” and click continueThe site will direct him to enter “Eye doctor information” and click continueThe site will direct him to “Select your rebate”. The rebate he is seeking is in the first section of the page, and states “$25 Current Wearer Rebate with purchase of 4 boxes (90 count size).Once selected, he will be instructed to enter the “Date of Purchase”, along with his specific lens parameters. Once this information has been completed, he will click continue, and enter the “Wearing information”.

The site will then give the option to edit or print the rebate form.

 At that point, the rebate information has been submitted and will take approximately 6-8 weeks to be received. The customer will need to submit the appropriate documentation to Acuvue per the instructions on their website.

If for any reason the customer is unable to obtain the rebate, please let us know. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused.

Thank you,

 ***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales person (****) represented that there was a $50 Manufacturer's Rebate available for this order. I specifically asked the sales person if the order had the $50 Acuvue Oasys contacts rebate is my son was an "existing user" of Acuvue Oasys contact lenses. She said yes specifically. When I received the order I discovered that the rebate for exixting users was $25 and ONLY if my son had a recent eye exam prescription. The Eye exam was Never mentioned. This resulted in a $50 misrepresentation by the sales person. When I called about this to complain (talked to ****). I was told that it was explained on their website even though I ordered by phone. She then put me on hold to a customer service answering machine.

Desired Settlement: They need to refund me the $50 as my son is out of the country and I do not have time to reorder from a reputable vendor before he needs these contacts.

Business Response: Thank you for your recent correspondence to our company! As you know, we take matters of this nature very seriously at AC Lens. The manufacturer rebate is provided on behalf of the manufacturer of the contact lenses. We feel confident that the information provided through our website provides our customers with updated information regarding the policies and procedures for the rebate. We are very sorry to hear that Mr. (****) was advised otherwise by one of our call center agents. As a one-time courtesy to Mr. (****), we will issue a credit of $50.00, the amount of the rebate. Please extend our sincerest apologies to Mr. (****) for any confusion or hassle this may have caused him. Sincerely, (****) General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: overcharged for contact lens order. I ordered 4 boxes of contact lenses from AC Lens. They shipped me 4 boxes. I have a receipt for 4 boxes and a receipt showing a charge of $169.02. They charged me for 8 boxes of contact lenses ($338.04) through ****** instant payments.

Desired Settlement: I need a refund of $169.02

Consumer Response: Consumer indicated they have heard from the company and the company resolved their complaint

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered specialty contact lenses and no where under the description does their website say that the contacts don't come in prescription strength I ordered specialty contacts for the halloween holiday from AC lens and when I recieved them they were 0.0 prescription strength. I was required to have them contact my eye doctor to retrieve my prescription stength, at which time I was completely under the impression that they would apply my prescription to my order, because why would they need it otherwise. I currently wear contact lenses averyday and can't see without them. I called the customer service center at AC Lens and was told that there are NO refunds or Exchanges on seasonal products and they refused to assist me. My date of purchase was on 10/12/11 and the item number is WR22291906 for product named "New Moon". I paid via credit card. I feel as though they completely misrepresented this product on their website because no where under the product description does it say these contacts DO NOT come in prescription strength. I even had to update my contact lense prescription before completing my order because it had just expired, thus spending money on my co-pay and also 60 dollars on the contact lenses and they refuse to return/exchange the item.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be issued a refund or for them to allow me to order a pair of the holiday colored contacts that actually come in prescription strength.

Business Response: Thank you for this information. We consistently strive to ensure our customers are completely satisfied with our products and services. She contacted our call center concerned that we sent the incorrect power in the contact lenses she ordered. The lenses she selected were only available in "Plano" power, carrying no prescription strength. When placing the order, she was unable to select anything other than "0.00" for both eyes. She complained this was misleading. She indicated that even though she was unable to select prescription strength, she assumed our company would enter the powers once we received them from her doctor's office. We contacted her doctor, who indicated that she did wear prescription strength lenses, but, would approve this order for "Plano", or no prescription. I spoke with her on Thursday October 20th, 2011. I advised her we understood her concerns, and our goal was to ensure our customers were satisfied throughout their ordering process. I offered her a free replacement order in another pair of contact lenses that was offered in her prescription strength. In addition, I advised her she could keep the first set of lenses we sent her. I believe this complaint was filed prior to my discussion with the customer, however, if she has additional concerns, we would happy to assist her. Thank you!

Consumer Response: I would like to cancel my complaint. The company provided me with an exchange for my product and actually ended up being quite helpful! I sincerely appreciate them taking the time to assist me and not just treat me like a number.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.