Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Columbus Finance Inc

Phone: (614) 236-8541 Fax: (614) 236-5590 3050 E Main St, Columbus, OH 43209 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.columbusfinance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto loans and financing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Columbus Finance Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Columbus Finance Inc include:

  • 15 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Columbus Finance Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Columbus Finance Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1962 Business started: 07/01/1960 Business started locally: 07/01/1960 Business incorporated 10/14/1975 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Financial Institutions
77 S High St 21ST Fl, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.com.ohio.gov/fiin/
Phone Number: (614) 728-8400
webdfi@dfi.com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Zurhorst, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ken Zurhorst, Vice President
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Loans

Alternate Business Names
CFI CFI, Columbus Finance, Inc. CFI, Columbus Mortgage Inc. Columbus Finance Mortgage Inc. Columbus Mortgage Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Columbus Finance Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3050 E Main St

    Columbus, OH 43209 (614) 236-8541

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a call in regards to my loan account for being 21 days past due, called them back spoke with the cashier whom said the payment takes 24/48 hrs to post. She transferred me **** who was very unprofessional and said he blocked me on the website to prevent me from making my payments online and that I could not have made my online payment. I attempted to explain to him that yes I did make the payment at 450am 5/22 for the amount of $305.23 and have a confirmation of my payment. He continued to be very nasty on the line with me and demanded the confirmation number and said he was repossessing my vehicle. He was screaming and yelling Into the phone like he was outraged and I was lying about making my car payment as promised, with the late fee attached which the gentlemen I spoke to the prior week told me to pay which was $20.00. After the **** hung up on me screaming at me I called the number back and spoke with ****** in new loans and explained the matter of what had transpired with **** on the telephone, while on the phone he was calling me back again but did not leave a message. Within 3 minutes my phone was ringing a 3 time and I answered and it was **** again telling me "I confirmed your web Payment but I'm telling you right now your due on the 1st on the 2nd I'm repossessing your vehicle every month on that Day if I don't have your money!" And hung up one again. I don't understand why anyone would need to be this nasty , very personal and unprofessional to anyone for any reason at anytime. Why he would call and continue to call and continue to threaten and be so unprofessional is completely upsetting to me.

Desired Settlement: I want to know why a company would allow such unprofessional behavior and allow someone that disrespectful and threating to work within someone's personal information? He not only threatened me he continued to keep calling me to Harras me while I was trying to speak with someone who wasn't vindictive nasty and mean while being very unprofessional. I want to know how this matter is going to be handled as I don't won't other people being Harras by this young man that was very rude to me today. This was. A professional call and felt as if I was being Harrasing and threaten, called a lair and being threaten.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent letter regarding ******* ******.  We have reviewed complaint ********.  Our response is below.

1) The loan documents that the customer signed has very specific language about default.  An account is in default if it is not paid by its due date.  We were attempting to collect a debt in default.  

2) There was a system glitch that prevented the collector from correctly accessing the data that would have shown that the customer had indeed made the payment online.  This issue has been addressed.    

3) There are standards for employee interactions with customers. This specific interaction will be thoroughly investigated and dealt with internally.

We value ******* ****** as a customer and we are sorry that the customer had an unsatisfactory experience.  It is our hope that she abides by her contractual agreement and pays on time going forward.   

Consumer Response: I don't feel the issue was address properly this person that contacted me was very unprofessional and rude and had stocker prone behavior, who as a business representative to call/ contact someone repeatedly & called me and threaten me within a 10 minute manner, over & over. I want to know how this matter is handled and how they presume to handle this matter. He had access to my private personal information and continued to call and Harrasing and threaten me.  They indicated they were collecting a debt in the fair debt collection act laws this man violated that law in the manner of the threats that were not made true & the harassment and threats. 

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE WITH THIS COMPANY WAS THEIR COMMUNICATION AND THE WAY THAT THE FINANCE MANAGER ****** TALK TO ME THE ASSOCIATE WAS REAL RUDE ON MY VOICE MAIL , WHEN YOU CALL A PERSON TO COMMUNICATE WITH THEM YOU DO NOT BE DISRESPECTFUL AND RUDE ON THEIR VOICEMAIL AND ON THE TELEPHONE THE FINANCE MANAGER ****** WAS VERY DIRESPECTFUL IN HOW HE TALK TO ME AND COMMUNICATED OVER THE PHONE AND YES IT WAS OVER A LATE CAR PAYMENT THAT WAS DUE ON THE 12TH OF FEBRUARY, I WORK IN THE HEALTH CARE FIELD SO I KNOW ALL ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND I WOULD NEVER TALK TO ONE OF MY PATIENTS LIKE THIS COMPANY TALKED TO ME THIS COMPANY DOES NOT HAVE ANY GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ALL AS A CUSTOMER I STILL HAVE RIGHTS AND ALSO I STILL DESERVE TO BE TREATED LIKE A GOOD HARD WORKING CITZEN LIKE I AM AND GIVE RESPECT WHERE RESPECT IS DUE.

Business Response:

 

Dear *********,

Thank you for your recent letter regarding ******* *******. We have reviewed
complaint ********. Our response is below.

1) The loan documents that the customer signed has very specific language about
default. An account is in default if it is not paid by its due date. *** ****** is
attempting to collect a debt in default. He was not making a customer service
call. All collection activity was conducted within the letter of Ohio law.

2) This loan was opened on 11/12/2014. The customer has paid us on two
occasions, 12/18/2014 and 3/3/2015 both of these payments were paid after the
due date.

3) The customer promised to pay on 02/27/2015. The customer broke this promise.

4) On 3/2/2015 the customer stated "Good luck finding your car".

5) We will be monitoring this account very closely going forward.

We trust this detailed account of the facts clarifies the history of this loan. It is our hope
that ******* ******* elects to abide by her contractual agreement and pay on time
going forward.

Consumer Response:

the reason why I did not accept this response is because the first payment I made I made two payments for December and one for January so I did not owe them another payment until February the 12th which I was 16 days late on the February payment the whole blow up about this is the representative was very rude and disrespectful with me and that was his first time talking to me and I still have the message that he left on my phone all I asked was for an apology on how he talked to me on the phone I feel that's wrong when you have a position that you are suppose to up hold and you talk to someone like they are nothing on the phone I felt very disrespected as a person and a client ,are we perfect no we are not but at the same time where does the respect lye at no one should be talk to like the man marten did we he called me, so its ok for the rep to talk to anyone any kind of way without respect I am very disappointed at this.

12/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to make a payment, but was short. So I didn't send the check. I tried to make good on my payment and set up a payment arrangement, late but still full amount. ****** from Columbus Finance was so abrute and rude. He hung the phone up on me more than once. My brother tried to call and pay or make an arrangement and he hung up on my brother. He gave me one hour on a car loan for 348.59, or he would repo the car. I was very scared of this individual. He basically called me a loser for not paying on time. Situations had come up and all my payments where due at the same time. ****** told me it was my fault, that I can't manage my money wisely. I was nine days late, now I might lose my job and have to quit nursing school if he takes my car away. I'm so depressed, he wont' even take my calls now, and when he does he hangs up on me. This is not good business and terrible way to treat someone who is working full time and going to school and trying to make it work.

Desired Settlement: I would love to just make a late payment, and get caught up and work on getting all my payments in on time. I need help. Please

Business Response:

********* *** ******** ********* **** **********

Thank you for your recent letter regarding **** ****** Unfortunately, this account is in default and the very first payment (due 12/06/2014) has not been received.  Collection calls are often uncomfortable for people and can be viewed as an unpleasant experience.  The purpose of these calls are solely to obtain payment on loans in default so that the customer can again be in good standing with us and continue with possession of the loan collateral.  Collection calls are always made within the letter of Ohio law.  Regarding the customers brother calling, due to consumer privacy laws, we are unable to discuss certain account details with anyone but the signer(s) on the loan.  He is not a signer.  He later called our collection department back and apologized for his behavior which we will elect not to discuss further at this time.  In detail, we have attempted to work with **** ***** on two occasions.  She has broken both promises.  On 12/11/2014 the customer claimed to have mailed a check, then promised to bring the payment in the next morning.  That promise was broken.  On 12/15/2014 the customer promised to come in and put the payment in our drop box.  She again failed to do so.  As of today, 12/18/2014, the account is still in default.  It is our hope that the customer elects to honor her contractual agreement, resolve this issue immediately, and pay by the due date posted on her contract and coupon book in the future. 

It is also our opinion that this complaint is meritless and should be stricken from the BBB.

11/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a current Customer and would not recommend anyone to this company. They treat you like you are nothing and the management is very disrespectful. Whenever you request information such as (owner) they refuse. I went to the location to talk with the Manager after he was yelling at me on the phone and hung up on me. I was respectful at first and then he decides to over talk to me while I was talking. I got upset and the Manager of the company did not but responds the same way as the worker. The Account Manager **** promised I could do a deferment and come to find out **** is no longer with the company. The Manager would not honor that arrangement and forced me to make payment ASAP or they would pick my car up. A car that is almost paid off. The Manager called the police on me when they were disrespectful and was yelling in my face. They sent me a letter that I am no longer allowed in the building. I refuse to pay company money when I cannot come in and make payment. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE. I am not getting a money order and putting it in the drop box because of some lazy, disrespectful, rude, management. I will file a law suit for discrimination and seek legal assistance to move remaining balance to a new company or somehow seek for the car to be paid off.

Desired Settlement: Apology in writing, and access to pay monthly payments, or I will seek legal assistance!!!!

Business Response:

********* *** ********  *********  **** ********** 

Thank you for your recent letter regarding ******* ********.  Columbus Finance takes the safety and security of its employees very seriously. Under the direction of the ******** Police Department on 5/16/2014, *** ******** will be arrested if he attempts to enter our office at **** ** **** ******.  *** ******** has numerous options for making his loan payment including U.S. Mail, after hours drop box, and online at columbusfinance.com. Columbus Finance considers this a Police matter not a BBB matter and will not hesitate to contact the *** should further incidents occur.   

 

Consumer Response:

*** ****** ** ** ******** **** ****** ** * ****** *** **** **** ** * ****** *** *** *** ********* *** ********* ** ** ****** ** ******** **** ********* **** ** ****** **************** ********* 
 I did not create an unsafe environment inside Columbus Finance office.  This issue was created by ****** and his Manager for their disrespectful actions and harassment that was displayed.   I would like to request the officer’s information and police department information, so my attorney can speak with them directly and so I can also speak with the *** directly on my behalf and not Columbus Finance.

Regards,
******* ********

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I bought our through Columbus Finance in 2011. They are a heaven sent, at the time we did not have the best of credit but our car was on it's last leg. Columbus finance has helped me when I lost my job back in 2012 and when my husband had his MS flare ups and was out of work they worked with me. I have always made a payment either my full paymnent on time or a couple days late. I always called **** and told her whne or how I will give her the money. I always communicated. Thank God I have been blessed with a job and I can make my payments. I have made my payments online or I would call ****. This month has been a little hectic,I am adjusting to having my insurance being taking out and other things from when I started. I called Columbus Finance on 5/30/14 I spoke to a gentleman who was really nice I forget his name and told me I could pay the interest payment of $10.34 by this weekend. I was informed the **** had left the company. She was a very sweet person,I wish her the best of luck. Anywho,I was overly appreciative, that weekend turned out to be a little hectic dealing with family issues and etc. that it honestly slipped my mind. I received a phone call on 6/3/13 at my job from ****** in collections,I have never spoken to him before. I have not spoken to **** in a while since I was paying my bills online for the past 4 months. As soon as he called and identified himself to me I immediately realized i hate forgot to make my payment. this will be the first time I just didn't pay my bill. He went immediately into a collection person mode,He imformed me that he cannot accept the extended payment. We need to take care of this now!! I said I am really sorry ,it slipped my mind I had some issues over the weekend. He replied "How many times did you get in and out of your car this weekend?" I then asked what does that have to do with anything. He then went on to say "How can you forget something so little?" I then said "Why are you being so rude?" He then elevated his voice and said "I'M BEING MEAN?? I'M BEING MEAN??" I said yes, you are and it is not nessasary at all. He then said "I am just saying I would remember how many I got in and out of my vehicle" I then said "On that note i am done speaking to, you have a good day" I then hung up on him. I was not going to argue with him. If he looked at my account I made my payments. ontime late whatever they were paid. I understadnd that this location is not in the better of neighborhood and an urban envirorment so he probably does get alot of ignorant people that argue so maybe he had his wall up very high for me or that is how he does business. For this to be my first time involving myself with him he did not represent Columbu Finance in the best of light. I am not ignorant, uneducated,argumentive or a sell out. I am married with two kids. I work full time and I do my best to pay all our bills. With my husband not working right now and in therapy it is a tad bit hard especially if you get an unexpected bill. I am an honest person. Once again I am not bashing CFI not at all they do a good service to ****. I am concerned with the person you hired to replace ****. He needs to act a little bit better to people then when the table change you change with it. I was not rude at the beginning. I am almost done paying my loan off and I never had it repo'd. Maybe I am wrong and that is how you are supposed to act.

Desired Settlement: I honestly just want an apology from ******. this maybe the way he goes about his job. I have worked in an collection agency before I was not rude unless they took me there. We are good people who made an honest mistake. That is not how you talk to someone who did not show you any attitude. I deserve and apology. Written-email or call me. I love columbus Finance,they are a major blessing to my family,but thius is the first time that they have made me upset. You need to throughly check your candidates for hire sometimes it is not all about the number of degrees or years of service. Sometimes you have to choice with your heart. I guess I will see which side you are on once I get a response. have a good day

Business Response:

Dear **** **********,


Our review and investigation of case ######9 is complete.  We have noted specific concerns regarding this complaint.

- We do not have record of a customer under the name that you submitted.

We request that it be removed from our records with the BBB.

Consumer Response:

It is under my husbands name ****** ******* 04 Buick rainier. That is why you probably can not find it. Now you may proceed with the complaint. Acct. #####

Thank you
Regards,

******* ****** 

Business Response:

Dear **** ***********

Now that we have complete and accurate account information, we were able to review and investigate case ####.  We have noted specific concerns regarding this complaint.

- This loan is in default.
- *** ****** is the Collection Department Manager. He is attempting to collect a debt.
- On 5/30/2014 at 12:02pm, ******* spoke to a Collections Representative due to the account being in default.  In order to attempt to help the customer, who claimed a hardship (customer claimed she was the only debtor employed at the time) the Collections Representative offered a loan extension as long as it was paid over the weekend.  The customer only had to pay $10.34 compared to their normal $259.75 payment.  This was offered as a customer service as an attempt to help the customer out of default and is in no way standard practice.
- This promise to pay was broken.
- On 6/3/2014 at 12:14pm, *** ****** spoke to ******* regarding her defaulted loan.  The account had been forwarded to Management due to the level of default.  Since the promise from the previous weekend was broken, the offer for loan extension was taken off the table. *** ****** conducted his conversation within the letter of the law.  Again, he is attempting to collect a debt on a loan in serious default.
- To date, 6/10/2014, we have still not received payment.  We are left with no alternative but to consider all available remedies if this account is not brought up to date immediately.

We value every customer at Columbus Finance. But can only offer the services we offer if customers are responsible with their contractual obligations. It is our hope that the customer(s) elect to bring their account current and pay on time as they agreed to in their loan contract.

Consumer Response: ***** ******* ****** ***********************************  ***** ******** **** *** **** **** ** *** ************************************ ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** *** ** ******* **** ** ******* ** **** ********* *
That is just fine,they gave us another person to talk with from now on. So they must of realized he is too rude.
 
Thank You 

4/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is for a repo that is currently showing on my Credit report. I received financing for a car loan thru Columbus finance in June 2010. In September 2011 i was having financial issues due to family members being hospitalized. My car payment was due each month on the 28th. I spoke with my account manager ***** who advised me that it was okay to pay my car payment late. He gave me an extension for a few weeks. ***** advised me that as long as i made the payment before my next due date on October 28th 2011 then my car would not be repossessed. ***** advised me that cars are up for repossession when they are 30 days past due. My car loan never reached 30 days past due.

 2 weeks into October 2011 the manager called my phone at approx. 440 pm while i was on my way home from work and demanded that i make my car payment that day. i explained the situation to the manager that my dad was sick and dying from cancer and that he was supposed to make the payment for me . My dad had been heavily medicated and forgot to make the payment. I also advised the manager of the arrangement that i had with *****. The manager then says he’s not concerned with my dad or with the arrangements that i had made with ***** and that if I didn’t get my payment in by 500 pm he would repo my car. At that time i explained to the manager that i am 30 mins away and i can’t make it by 500 but i can drop a payment in the overnight box. The manager then hung up.

At 1 am the next morning there was a tow truck outside taking my car. When i contacted the company the next day the manager demanded that i pay 1400 to get my car back. He said that it was the payment that was missed plus 2 more payments going forward and the charge for towing. The manager said that i have 30 days to retrieve my car or it would be sold at an auction. The second week of November 2011 is when i went to get my car. The manager already had my car cleaned out and at an auction where i had to retrieve it from and all of my belongings where on a completely different side of town where i had to pick them up from. I feel that the manage didn’t follow company policy and that i was treated unfairly

Desired Settlement: At this point i think the only right thing to do would be to remove the negative reporting from my credit report and reimburse me for for the towing fees

Business Response: ******** ******* ********* *** ******* ********* **** **********

Thank you for your recent letter regarding ******* *****. We have reviewed complaint
########. Our response is below.

1) The loan documents that the customer signed has very specific language about
default. An account is in default if it is not paid by its due date. ***** is a
collection department employee and is well versed on that fact.

2) On 11/30/2011 customer was offered an extension due to financial hardship.
This was an accommodation, not a requirement, that we offered to attempt to
help a customer in default. The customer promised to pay the extension amount
by 12/2/2011. This promise was broken. The payment was not received until
12/12/2011 yet we still chose to accept it. Again, this was our attempt to assist.
This payment paid the account to 11/28/2011.

3) No payment was received for the December payment due. On 1/16/2011, after
still not receiving payment, the account was put out for repossession of collateral
due to default.

4) On 1/28/2012, the customer redeemed the collateral.

5) On 3/13/2014, the account was paid off.

6) All procedures were followed in a normal and lawful fashion. We in fact went
above and beyond to attempt to assist this customer. It is disappointing to see
that the customer would then complain after all we have done to help.
We trust this detailed account of the facts clarifies the history of this account.

Consumer Response:

The cashier has stated  on more than one occassion cars are not repossessed unless the payment is 30 days or more past due. My car payment loan has never been more than 30 days past due . I was advised by ***** that there would only be a late fee and as long as i got my payment in before 30days there would be no repossession.

When i went into the office to pay my car payment in january 2014 the cashier at that time stated that cars dont get repossessed unless the loan is 30 days past due as well.

Yes there was a financial hardship due to family illness but that doesnt give anyone the right  to make the situation worse by lying. When i spoke with ***** after the car was repossessed ***** even stated that he knew what was going on and that we already had arrangements set up on the account he is unsure why the manager repossessed my car.

Are the calls recorded because from my understanding ***** is no longer with the company so how are we to get the correct info. Because the response that was given is not the correct response

Regards,
******* *****

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in may of 2013 I financed and purchase a car with Columbus finance thru west side auto group. upon going thru the financing process and signing my documentation with the lady in the loan closing dept . I informed her the check engine light had been on and she advised me by law that they cannot finance a car with the check engine light on and told me to take the car back to the lot and have them fix the issues that are causing this, but continued with the process of signing and filing paper work to close the deal.

I proceed back to the lot and nothing was done about the matter I was informed after following up with them that it was ok and I had a warranty it would cover the issue. now due to the check engine light being on and countless repairs I have fallen behind on 2 months of car payments and they are pushing for a repossession with no offer of help. the warranty they sold me with the car does not cover pre existing issue so I have been stuck with the cost of replacing tire rods alternator transmission and engine blocks repairs on my own and on top of that make a car payment of 253.00 a month. as a consumer I do not feel this is right and for the last almost two years I have been trying to work with them they choose not to work with me.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a payment offset to cover the two months(February and March) that I been and a credit for the month of April making my next payment be due in May of 2014.

Business Response: ********* *** ******* ********* **** **********
Thank you for your recent letter regarding ****** *******. We have reviewed complaint
###### Our response is below,

1) Columbus Finance / Mortgage does not sell cars. If the customer has a
complaint about her automobile, she should direct that complaint to the
dealership where she purchased the vehicle.

2)The customer did a direct loan with us to pay for the vehicle that she purchased
from a dealership. It is our practice to protect our interest as well as the
customers and ask the customer if the vehicle is running ok prior to loan closing.
We are not obligated to ask the customer about the running condition of the
vehicle that they have purchased. On occasion, a customer states that there is
an existing issue with the vehicle. If this was the case here, we would have given
the customer friendly advice to take up the issue with the dealer if they haven't
already, prior to signing their loan documents.

3) Obviously, the customer chose to sign the loan documents on 5/3/2012.

4) The account has been in default on numerous occasions to date and is currently
in default as of 3/20/2013.

****** ******* has an obligation to pay her account on time. She agreed to this
obligation when she took out this loan to pay for her automobile. It is our hope that the
customer chooses to pay her loan as agreed going forward.

Consumer Response: the statements provided by Columbus finance are false statements and they as a business do not wish to hold up there part in the wrong doing they are being to harass me and do not want to own up to there wrong doing. I have stated my case and I contacted the lot from which I purchased the car from but the salesman  asked me why I informed them that the check engine light was on. never was the matter addressed or was I followed up with after the matter . As far as my loan being in default it has to be reported to the credit bureau not one have I been reported for a late payment on my credit report by them. I have attached a copy to proof that to is a lie!  Columbus finance know they are unethical business and they do not wish to own up for their wrong doing!

Regards,
****** *******






























11/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel like the financial Manger and loan officer ****, with Columbus finance is atorting money from me, I may have pay my car notes late sometimes, but majority of the time I pay it on time, then the lady **** had me paying all these crazy amounts in last few months, when my car note is only 250 a month. I been asking them for my paperwork, I sign. In my madza 6 loan agreement. They been rude, they been threatening to repo my car, I pay them so much money,

then my car gets in a accident, my car was total out by **** ****, 9/18/2013, car note was current at time, the ****** ****** and ***** from **** **** insurance call Columbus Finance several times, to get letter of guarantee to pay my car loan off. They refused to sent paperwork, wish I had rent a car longer, using my own money, they messing my credit up and blocking me from get another car, my girlfriend lawyer call them as well, tColumbus finance have not been cooperating with me, **** ****, and Lawyer. Columbus Finance been charging me for expired warranty and outrages interested charges. I feel that, I been pay loan off but they will not release me. I have my receipts, payment history, and pay out amout. I need something to happen with this company messing over consumers.

Desired Settlement: I want my rental car $300 and $3200 **** **** check, cause I feel like I been pay my car off

Business Response: Thank you for your recent letter regarding ********** ******.  It is difficult to ascertain the meaning of the complaint.  However, we will make every effort to respond fully. 1) This account has a history of default.  Default can result in repossession.  That is not a threat, it is a fact.  The customer is required to pay by the due date on their contract. 2) On 8/7/2013, Mrs. ****** received personal consultation regarding her payment history. During that meeting, she was offered an extension payment in effort to assist her in bringing her account up to date. 3) On 8/27/2013 she was again offered an extension payment in effort to help her bring her account up to date.  These offers are not the sign of a company being rude. Rather, this is a sign of a company going above and beyond in effort to assist her. 4) On 9/26/2013, Columbus Finance was notified by the customer of an accident. 5) On 9/30/2013, **** **** Insurance contacted Columbus Finance and requested a Letter of Guaranty (LOG). 6) The LOG and supporting documents were faxed to **** **** by Columbus Finance on 10/1/2013.  We have the confirmation of receipt from **** ****. 7) On 10/17/2013 after Mrs. ****** called stating that **** **** did not have the LOG, we called the adjuster and left a voice mail message requesting a return call.  We have not received any further contact from **** **** to date.  This complaint is the first we have heard about this matter since 10/17.  It is not uncommon for insurance companies to take this amount of time to contact a lender. 8) Customers Desired Settlement: We have no control over **** **** or their check.  Additionally, rental car coverage is an insurance product. Mrs. ****** should inquire about rental car coverage with **** ****.     Currently, this loan is again in default.  The account is now 28 days past due.  The customer should refer to her contract paperwork that she was given at loan closing.  She is required to pay her account by the due date until such time as it is paid off.  This is regardless of the current condition of the collateral.  Perhaps Mrs. ****** should direct her dispute to the proper party. As it appears in this case, **** ****.      

Consumer Response: This company is lying and I have the proof that I pay my payments on majority of the time, I do admit a couple times I may been late, but never in default status. I took my accountability for my actions, the accident happen on 9/18/13 , The car note was in current status when it happen, think about it, if you count back 28 days that Columbus Finance Company,now in default again, so they say. Think about it, it make sense that I call **** with Columbus Finance let her know about the car was in an accident,  she say pay out was alease 3200, the 9/19/2013, and  I call several times, where I gave her all insurance information,  **** **** ****** ****** told Columbus Finance,  the car was total out and that was how much the car was worth, **** **** would write a check out to them, , all he need is the letter of guarantee,  (LOG), he claim he never received it, even till today, 10/23/2013, Columbus finance refused to. I was up front and fair with this company,  till I felt that this is a bad finance company.  They practice bad businesses,  their manger ****** gave me the run around, lawyer, and **** ****. When I told them that I have lawyer to investigate in their poor businesses pratice, they been playing around with my credit, I just want this company to give **** **** the LOG so I can move on with my life, this is a lesson learn that, their are people that are on the wrong path of businesses,  I do not feel safe as consumer with the ideal that I can be mess over with a selfish company, I kept my running record as well of dates call logs, recorded calls, and conversation between Columbus Finance and **** ****, that is why I am sure about this one. Columbus Finances yall are super wrong about. Note if u did send it once, what is wrong with u trying other times, u see that they do not have it. ****** ****** and the Salvage Manger, and several adjusters have their proof as well, stop dragging this out, yall are very rude, uncooperative,  and selfish, and greedy. Take the settlement,  release me, we never have to do busines again,,  I just want to move on, as fall as in the rental that is your fault to, since the car was total out, they stop paying on rental, I want my rental reimbursement for that. Take responsibility and accountability for your actions Columbus Finance































Consumer Response: Will u please share Letter of Guarantee and support documents with me & BBB. Attorney General. **** **** say the contact yall several times with ****** *****, and several adjusters. Yall are fully aware of how serious this is, where I still renting a car with my own money. Yall messing up my credit, and yall (word here  is not clear to BBB) my check for taxes on a new car I had 30 days. Please release LOG & cause I have Gap insurance. I just want my life back, get **** **** what needed. I need copies of follow copies: my warranty, gap insurance, initial financial paperwork sign me. 

11/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my vehicle in the middle of December. I then moved to ********* ** on December 26th. I did NOT hide that I would be moving. I filed to get my registration back in, I believe it was January with AAA. They informed me I needed to have my title transferred from an Ohio title to an PA title. So I then filed out the paper work. Columbus Finance would not release my title to AAA or ****DOT. AAA and ****DOT both have never encountered a problem like this. ****DOTS lawyers were even dumb founded at what to do. Columbus Finance said I was not allowed to move out of the area. I have never heard of buying a car and you cant move. It is now October and they still wont release it. They said they have no proof of my job or anything but yet they have called me at work multiple times. I got a ticket for driving my van with bad registration and that was my fault. I have a son and if they want me to pay them I need to be able to get to work. I am at a lose at what to do. I have been fighting with these people for months and nothing has happened. I even contacted the ** state representative. After contacting the Representative the Fiance company told me they made some changes to their policies and to refile the paperwork for the title. I did and still they argue with me. I am fed up with having to fight for my van to become legal. If I am going to keep having problems they can have the van and I want my loan cancelled. I will just get a new one. I have used fiance companies before and never have I had all these problems.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to be able to make my van legal without all the problems. Or they can just come get it and cancel my loan.

Business Response: Thank you for your recent letter regarding ********* ********.  Our response is below. We have noted specific concerns. 

1)     We have been in contact with the ************ AAA and/or DOT on this matter since 03/08/2013. 

2)     In order to release title to another state, we require verifiable home address, phone, and insurance coverage equal to coverage as described in the loan
contract.  ********* ******** is not willing to provide these items.  We have made numerous attempts to collect this information. 

3)     This account is currently in default.  It has been in default numerous times since its opening on 12/06/2012.

Our interest in the loan collateral is at risk.  We are unable to verify a permanent residence, phone, or insurance coverage.  It is our hope that the customer elects to remedy this situation immediately.     

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a car loan with this company for 3 years. In that time I was not 1 day late for any payment. I paid off my car at the beginning of August, 2013. By the end of September, 2013, I had not received my car title from the loan company. I called them and was told by ***** ****** that they mailed the title on Sep, 5 2013. It is now Oct 1,2013, and I have not have not received the title. I have seen no proof that indeed the title was mailed. The manager(*** ********)was very rude to me when I called, and told me it was my problem. I believe that since they were holding my title until the loan was paid in full, it is their responsibility to ensure the title is returned to me. In order for me to get another title, I have to go to a state title office and pay an additional $15 for a replacement title. I don't think I should be expected to incur and additional fee due to their obvious carelessness. You would think a loan company would want return business from someone who pays their loans on time and in full. This loan manager has shown that he doesn't care at all about his customers.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this, I would like the loan company to acquire a replacement title or at the very least, reimburse me for the cost of me having to spend my time and money to replace the title.

Business Response: Our review and investigation of complaint #******* is complete.  We have noted specific concerns regarding this complaint. -    Our records indicate that several items in the complaint are not factual.   -    Mrs. ******’s loan was paid off on 08/06/2013 via personal check.  The title was sent for processing after the customary hold for funds clearance on 08/27/2013.  The title was processed by the Franklin County Clerk’s office on 09/05/2013 releasing our lien on the vehicle.  Our office then mailed the title to the customers address on the same day.  Our guideline for processing titles on loans paid off via non-guaranteed funds is 30 days.  This loan fell within those guidelines. -    On 09/30/2013 at approximately 10am, Mrs. ****** telephoned and spoke to *** in our office. (Not ***** and not on the 1st as she claims. ***** has never talked to this customer).  At this time, *** confirmed to the customer that the title was mailed to her on 09/05/2013.  *** confirmed that the address was correct and advised the customer that possibly the post office lost the mail or it was inadvertently discarded upon receipt as junk mail.  *** attempted to advise the customer on the fact that since we no longer hold a lien on the title, we are unable to gain replacement for her.  *** then attempted to advise the customer on how to gain a replacement title.  Mrs. ****** was not satisfied with *** and requested to speak to me.  She was transferred to me directly and I then attempted to counsel the customer on the exact same topics.  At no time was I rude and I’m disappointed to read that statement from the customer.  In fact, the customer accused me of lying by saying that she doubts we ever mailed her title.  She then became rude and actually hung up on me before I could continue. -    On 10/01/2013 at approximately 10am, a person who identified himself as the joint signer on this loan, a Mr. **** ******, called in a spoke to *****.  He was advised in the exact same fashion as *** and I when we previously spoke with Mrs. ******.  Mr. ****** was also treated in a kind, courteous, tone.  He then told ***** that he was just going to file a complaint with the BBB.  Again, ***** never spoke to Mrs. ******. -    It is our position that this complaint should be directed to the US Postal Service as we have documented record of our due diligence in this process.  Or, perhaps the envelope was delivered and destroyed with the assumption that it was junk mail. Columbus Finance Inc. no longer holds a lien on the title and cannot legally replace it.  If the ******’s would like to be reimbursed for their time and money to replace the title, perhaps they will elect to direct their complaint to the correct party.

9/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a car loan through Columbus Finance for about two years.I have never had a problem making my payment until recently.I am a subcontractor and a single mother with four small children,this month i had a problem with one of my checks not coming on time this caused a check to bounce with them.As soon as i knew this had happened i made every attempt to contact them and let them know i was already aware of this and wanted to get a clean payment into them,no one ever contacted me until they realized the check had not cleared. At this point a gentleman named ****** contacted me from collections and would not allow me to say anything he never even asked if he was speaking with the correct person on the account,and he specifically told me i could not make a payment to him by money order or debit card and he would not accept payment unless it was brought directly to his office that same day and if i did not he would repo my car.The payment was not even close to thirty days late,i kindly informed him that i could not leave work to bring the payment at that moment he then asked if my job was more important than my car,long story short i left my job because i could not have my car taken from me with four babies and made the payment i have felt threatened by this gentleman and will pay my car off and hope to never deal with columbus finance again!

Desired Settlement: I would like this gentleman repremanded for his behavior and an apology on behalf of columbus finance.

Business Response: The original complaint and our response is attached.   Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.   Thank you for your recent letter regarding Danielle Raver (Acct: *********). Unfortunately, this account was in default and has been in default status with accumulating late fees each month for the last several months.  In addition, a check was recently returned for non-sufficient funds. (The payment due 8/10/2013 was made late on 8/23/2013. That check was returned on 9/3/2013 NSF).  Collection calls are often uncomfortable for people and can be an unpleasant experience.  The purpose of these calls are solely to obtain payment on loans in default so that the customer can again be in good standing with us and continue with possession of the loan collateral. It is our hope that the customer elects to honor her contractual agreement and pay by the due date posted on her contract and coupon book in the future.   

8/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file this complaint with all concerned and interested parties.

(1.) I feel that I was taken advantage of when an unnecessary fee 1686.00 was added to the loan. *** ******** suggested that wew should have additional cover prior to receiving the loan.

(2.) I never received any checks from Columbus Finance or any of it's affiliates. The Federal Disclosure form is incorrect.

(3.) I would like to know what the balance is remaining after making payments every month. (find) samples of receits enclosed. Which only show interest applied to (30) days. And principal paid for (30) days.

(4.) We would obviously like to pay off this loan asap. We were told that the interest based on the principle was locked in and that additional payments would not be accepted.

(5.) After (3) three attempts, the service contract was fi....ly (BBB note: text is whited out on consumer's letter) cancelled. (see note enclose). Only covered 18 months to begin with (still have not received a refund for the remaining coverage. (18) months carried through (54) months. The entire length of the loan.

(6.) I would like a full refund $1686.00 (rebate) for a service that was never provided or used. 

(7.) The entire loan should be re-written - re-financed.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund $1686.00 (rebate) for a service that was never provided or used.  The entire loan should be re-written - re-financed.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of complaint##### We have already addressed and resolved this complaint on 7/15/2013 with the customer directly.  A copy for your records is attached minus customer sensitive financial documents.  Please advise if we may be of further assistance.

Kind regards,
*** ********
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Dear **** ********,
We are in receipt of your letter dated 7/10/2013. Please be assured that your complaint is of the
highest priority and we have thoroughly investigated each item. We have attached a copy of
your letter for your reference and will respond below with matching numerals.

1. The $1686.00 is not a fee. It was the price of the vehicle service contract that you elected
to purchase at the time of loan closing and subsequently financed in your loan. During
your loan closing with us, this check was sent to **********. A copy of your signed
contract with ********** is enclosed. A copy of your signed acknowledgement of add-on
products and services is also enclosed.

2. The checks you received during the loan closing were then used to pay for the items that
you purchased. The purpose of your loan was to pay ******* *** ***** $10115.00 for the
car that you purchased and ********** $1686.00 for the service contract that you
purchased. The Federal Disclosure Statement is correct.

3. We will be happy to advise you of your balance at any time. Simply ask. Our receipts do
not show a loan balance.

4. As disclosed in your contract documents, this is a pre-computed interest loan. Please see
the partial copy of the Promissory Note and Federal Disclosure Statement that you sent us
in your 07/10/2013 letter to us. Review paragraph three for information on interest rebate
for prepayment in full. You may repay this loan in whole or in part at any time.
Complete copies of your contract documents that were given to you on 06/12/2012 after
your signatures are enclosed, including vehicle description.

5. We are in receipt of one warranty cancellation request. The postmark of that request was
04/15/2013. Your request was received by us on 04/16/2013 and the process began upon
receipt. Contact attempts were made by us on both 04/16/2013 and 04/17/2013. We were
able to gain contact with you on 04/17/2013. The information ********** requires to
process your request was sent to us by you via fax on 04/17/2013 as copied in the
information that you sent us in your 07/10/2013 letter. On 07/11/2013, upon receiving
your letter, we verified with ********** that your cancellation was in process. We also
verified with ********** that your cancellation date was 04/17/2013.  Please see the
********** documents that you sent us in your 04/15/2013 letter. Find the fourth
paragraph that you highlighted for us titled Refunds.  Please find the eighth line.  It
advises that: "If a lien is outstanding against the described Vehicle and/or this Service
Contract itself, any cancellation of refunds will be made payable to the Lienholder".
When we receive the cancellation refund from *********** those funds will be paid against
your debt to us reducing the amount you owe. The refund is not paid to you directly. We
have enclosed an additional copy, along with complete copies of the 04/15/2013
cancellation request that you sent us, for your review.

6. As disclosed in the ********** documents that you signed, you will receive a pro-rata
refund, less a $35 cancellation fee. ********** has indicated that your net refund amount
will be $567.91. This product is a retail product. Our retail profit is also calculated prorata
and is added to the total pro-rata refund. However, as a customer service to you. We
have included our full retail profit of $300.00 to take your total net refund $867.91.
This will be applied to your loan when it is received from **********.

7. Be assured that all policies and procedures were followed not only with your loan, but
also your request for ********** cancellation. Please keep in mind that you will be
responsible for all repair of this vehicle going forward (See item 3 in your Security
Agreement). A copy is enclosed. We trust that we have addressed all of your concerns
and welcome you to contact us directly with any further issues. Before you elect to look
into re-writing or re-financing your loan, please make sure that it makes financial sense
for you. If you elect to re-write re-finance with us, we will be glad to take your
application and investigate how we may help.
Kind regards,
*** ********
Columbus Finance Inc.

Consumer Response: This complaint has not been addressed or resolved.

1.  The 1686.00 service contract that we were co-erced into signing was added to the loan and inflated the monthly payments plus 22.0983% interest.  This service was never activated or used; we were persuaded to believe it was part of the loan.

2. We never recieved any checks during the loan closing. We gave a check to the ******* *** ***** $5,000 down payment. See item #1, #3. We did not receive directly 10115.00. A check was ot paid to ***** ******** for 1686.00
The Federal Disclosure Statement is incorrect.

3. I request to have a loan balance printed out, each time a payment is made. to accurately keep a written record of the principle and interest payments.

4. The customer is not required to purchase or finance any add-on product or service as a condition for financing. The service contract is not a warranty and was asked to deleted in writing to Kim Richardson months earlier than 4/15/13.  She refused written request.

5. We have maintained repairs with the *** automobile dealer. and maintain full coverage insurance vehicle protection.

We are seriously considering to refinance the correct loan amount.

5/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 04 cavalier in june of 2012 off of ***** and began to finance with Columbus Finance located at **** **** **** ****** ******** ** *****. First all of this people were so nice, then I had to have my payments moved to the middle of the month, which I was contacted all the time by this company saying my payments were over 10 days late all the time(my payments weren't late they just messed paper work up on moving my payments to a different date), which to this day they are still contacting me regarding this).I went in at this office on Nov.16th 2012 to make a payment off of my visa, the lady swiped my card, the payment went through and was taken off of my card in the amount of 161.79, Jan the cashier gave me a receipt for this payment. ***** **** called me 3 days later and told me he had to refund that payment to my visa because the cashier swiped it off the wrong terminal, he told me to call him and call that payment in as soon it would be on my card, the payment never appeared and I an continuously being harassed by this man(***** ****), by mail, he calls everyday and talks like I did something wrong, he called me on Dec. 20th wanting my car, when I spoke to him, I explained to him again what was going on, he already knew what was going on with that nov. payment, he then talked to me disrespectful and told me "here I will say it slower for you, if we don't get our payments I am coming to get the car, is that slow enough for you, did you understand that" those were his words. I was late on my Dec. payment because he kept telling me I needed to make a double payment for nov and dec and I only could afford one, he let me make the one payment, then he send a man out here that didn't tell me his name the following saturday. ***** **** just had called and wants his dec payment that we agreed on putting in the nightbox, I pay these people, I get harassed and talked to in a bad way, I can never get a hold of any of these people really and no one ever calls me back.I have chest pains from it

Desired Settlement: Columbus Finance just really needs to stop the harassment towards me, and the disrespectfulness towards me. I have receipts & printouts of these payments they say they are not getting. My stress level is so high that it irritates my heart condition and causes chest pains. I want them to stop harassing me about the payment they say they didn't get(they did get it)& they need to just forget about that nov payment,they stressed me out so bad I got shingles. I would not recommend this place at all.

Business Response: ***** plans to come in today 2/15/2013.  We have offered to assist any way we can.  The customer has a dispute with her credit card company.  We believe that we have resolved any issue the customer has with us.  In addition, we plan to assist the customer in effort to bring her account up to date at her request.

Consumer Response:




I want to reopen this case, I filed on this company in the past of 2013 concerning my car. I have had continuous billing issues with this company since day one. The lady **** took my payment last nov. in the amount of 161.79 for my car payment, ***** **** told me he refunded me the 161.79, the payment never went back on my visa card, I showed bank statements and this company still harassed me, threatened me with giving them the payment, ** ******* the collection man harassed me and named called me, mocked me, and made fun of me several times over the phone. No one in that office was willing to help me like they have stated in my other complaint I filled out Pryor to this one. 

In march of 2013 ***** ***** was contacting me wanting me to trade the car in on something else, I was holding out on my march payment because of this and I left a total of 4 messages to columbus finance about this, I never got a phone call, no mail, no one came at my home to discuss my car and on april 4th 2013 they came and got it(repo), the tow truck dragged my car from my lot and scrapped the tires and other parts(I have pictures). I called them and talked to ** ******* and he mocked me and made fun of me, my voice and was very argumental with me, he treated me like dirt. They want 681 dollars by the 24th of april or they are going to sell my car. I am wanting to reopen this case if possible. I also ask them more then 7 times for financial responsibility on my car and ** ******* in collections said they do NOT do that, that they do not and will not provide me with these documents, it made me wonder if the payment I did make that they said I didn't is on there



I would like to have what I paid on my car since the beginning of last june and that including my down payment of 1700,or my car and one paynent. I would like to go forward with anything I can do about him talking to me and discriminating me over the phone several times, all times *** ******* was on speaking phone and I have my children witness the way he treated me. this company has taken a toll on my health, I have missed work and had to leave a few times sick.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent letter regarding ***** ******.  Our original response on 2/14/2013 was: “Also, ***** has an appointment to meet with a representative here at CFI tomorrow to receive any other information she needs to help her resolve her dispute with her credit card company.”  Unfortunately, ***** ****** never showed up for that appointment on 02/15/2013. CFI has done everything we can to help this customer.  We have no control over her issue with her credit card company.

Currently, the loan collateral has been repossessed due to default.  The account is now 61 days past due.  It is our hope that ***** ****** redeems and elects to pay her account on time as she agreed in her contract with us.    

Consumer Response: No one at columbus finance sent me anything regarding an appointment to come in to talk with them at all, my car was repoed at the beginning of april so how is this relevant. I faxed ********* from the BBB a copy of my letter Columbus Finance sent me regarding 681 dollars to redeem my car, I am willing to work with Columbus Finance regarding my car if they would help me get and keep my car at this point. I am asking to pay the 681 as said on paper and wanting the remainder to be added to the price of the car. The copy states that anymore fees outside of 681 will be added to the price of the car for a longer period. I have until friday the 26 to come up with 842 dollars, I don't have that kind of money working and taking care of a special needs child, and I need my car for my children, I am asking for an extension past Friday the 26th due to a disastrous past fax I sent and for some reason messed up and asking to pay what is said to be paid to redeem my car of 681 dollars. If Columbus Finance helps me I would appreciate it,  just want this resolved and be able to drive again, especially for emergencies and work

Regards,

***** ******





























Business Response:

As an amendment to the response below: The collection manager reached out to this customer again yesterday afternoon.  *** ****** advised ***** ****ks that we would accept the old redemption amount of $681.16 that she advised she was prepared to pay in the letter that you presented to us.  She advised *** ****** that she does not have the $681.16 that she claimed to have in her complaint.

As we stated below, she is now due for another payment.  Our offer of allowing the customer to redeem for $681.16 does not mean that she does not have a payment due.  ***** ****ks will still be currently due for 161.79 and any subsequent payments by her due date. This offer expires at 5:00 PM 04/30/2013.

Please note that our acceptance of payment past the due date of your account does not waive our right to declare your account in default and invoke any and all remedies should a future payment be made late.  Strict adherence to your payment due date is required, regardless of how many times we have previously accepted late payment.

Thank You.


-----Original Message-----


We are in receipt of your letter dated Friday, April 26th regarding ID ******* ******.  We have no idea why ***** **** continues to contact the BBB as we have gone above and beyond all requirements to assist this customer.  We have been in contact with ***** ****ks on 04/22/13 at 11:49.  She agreed to be here on Friday, 04/26/13 to redeem.  She never showed up. In effort to assist again, we extended her time to redeem until 05/02/13. Please request that ***** ****ks contact us directly at ###-###-#### or **** to redeem the collateral.  This is a normal course of business and does not require assistance from the BBB.

To fully update you, the $681.16 to redeem was due by 04/24/2013.  The account is now 73 days past due and yet another payment is due on the account.  The $842.95 reflects that payment due of $161.79.

We have done everything possible to assist ***** ****.  This is the second appointment that she has had with us that she did not appear for.

Kind regards,

Columbus Finance Inc.

Consumer Response: Columbus Finance rarely returned my phone calls, the dates are all wrong that they have submitted and it is not just a regular repo or late charges that happened, I have tried to work something out with ******* many times, *** ******** never responded to any of my calls or messages. When the 681 was worked out I had no idea because ****** told me NO Pryor to any decision  that was made when I was not notified, upon calling him he gave me til the next day. It might appear that This manager and this company did all they could to help me keep my car but really they did most everything against me to take it. The way I was treated by ****** was un believable and I didn't even get an apology not once. I work hard for my money and I ask many times if they would adjust my payments, if they would work with me and I have gotten harassed since nov 2012 by this company, and I feel no one has done really anything about the payment they said I owed when I had proof they never refunded it back on my visa, this was the very first problem and caused my payments to go into default



























12/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received notice from ******.com that Columbus Finance has reported this vehicle was a repo in July, 2012. This is NOT true, and this vehicle was paid in fully on July 2nd, 2012. My credit score dropped by 100 points because of this information. ***** **** stated it would take 2-3 weeks for us to receive the title in the mail. Weve called multiple times (they never call back) because I have not received the title; I received this alert saying its not been paid and has been listed as a repo. I called the Franklin County Title company this morning, August 6th,2012 and they said there is still a lien on my title and its not been released yet. Columbus Finance also owes me money back, because I had GAP insurance and paid the vehicle off early, theyve yet to give me the monies owed and/or the company information to contact if they are not the ones who owe the monies to me. Weve also never received anything showing that it was paid in full, and theyve always denied us any type of paper work showing it was paid in full. It has been paid, and has cleared the bank account over a month ago. Its always been paid on time; the truck was NOT repoed in July like they are stating either.

Desired Settlement: I want this correct on my credit report, as it dropepd by 100 points. I also want my title to the truck lifted, and my money that they owe me.

Consumer Response:

There was nothing on my credit report from the repo in April, as my credit has been pulled multiple times from my home buying experience, which was final in May. If there would have been a repo on there, I would have not received my home loan; my credit score would have dropped.  ******.com is not a credit reporting agency; they monitor all 3 of my credit reports and alert me when something changes.  The repo on my credit report was reported 6/1/12. I am thankful for the release of the title, today, August 30th, 2012 almost 60 days later.



Regards,

Andria Mckinniss


Note: The text of your complaint may be publicly posted on the BBB web site (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may edit your complaint to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language.