Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Levy & Associates, LLC

Phone: (614) 898-5200 Fax: (614) 898-5230 4645 Executive Dr, Columbus, OH 43220

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This firm states they are a creditor's rights law firm.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Levy & Associates, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Levy & Associates, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 21
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 23

Additional Complaint Information

BBB can report and pursue general customer service and billing disputes for legal services not involving underlying competency issues. This includes an attorney, lawyer or law firm acting as a collection agent or a debt collector. It has long been our BBB policy to refer inquiries and complaints about the competency of legal services providers to the Bar Association or the Court. If you would like a a background report on an attorney, lawyer or law firm, you may contact the Bar Association in the community or state in where he or she is located. For attorneys located in Columbus, OH, you may call the Columbus Bar Association at 614-221-4112 or If the attorney is located in Ohio, you may wish to check with the Ohio State Bar Association at 614-487-2050 or Or the Attorney Registration Desk of the Supreme Court of Ohio at (614) 387-9320 or As for complaints concerning the competency of legal services, you may contact either the Disciplinary Council of the Ohio Supreme Court at (614) 461-0256 or: Clients' Security Fund Supreme Court of Ohio 65 South Front Street, 5th Floor Columbus, Ohio 43215-3431 Phone: 614.387.9390 or 800.231.1680 Fax: 614.387.9399 E-mail:

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Levy & Associates, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Supreme Court of Ohio
65 S Front St, Columbus OH 43215
Phone Number: (614) 387-9000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Yale R Levy, Owner Ms. Leighann K. Poplaski Mr. Kenneth Santuzzi, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Yale R Levy, Owner
Business Category

Collection Agencies Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Attorneys & Lawyers - Collections Law

Industry Tips
Attorneys Lawyers Legal Services Complaints Credit - BBB General Statement For All Debt, Credit TOBs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Levy & Associates, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4645 Executive Dr

    Columbus, OH 43220 (614) 898-5200


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


On June 1st we settlement on a debt that was going to been placed as wage garnishment. I was told by **** that as soon as I paid they would send the proper paper work to his employer . After it was paid on June 1st she proceeded to tell me that I had to wait for the payment to post . Called June 2nd , called June 3rd told it was sent both times but was not because his employer never received it then on June 5th was told waiting for it to be signed was on hold with supervisor told doing at that time I was waiting on phone but still no fax to employer .... I have been told numerous times this was taken care of and lied to everyday. His employer advised us to contact legal aid or attorney.... So meantime his wage was garnished for no reason because it was paid ... Now it could happen again... His employers hands are tied and I am playing games with this company... If not settle Monday June 8th when I call the 10th I will pursue further action .


The person is me **** ****** that they are coming after.

Desired Settlement: I want my letter faxed to employer yesterday

Business Response: In reviewing our account notes, the consumer is correct. The settlement payment was received in our office on June 1, 2015. All payments we receive have a three day hold and then to ensure the funds clear and are not returned before the garnishment releases are prepared. The garnishment release printed on June 4, 2015, was faxed to *** ******'s place of employment on June 5, 2015. The consumer called in again on June 8, 2015, and stated that a signature was missing and requested it be faxed to the place of employment again. Per the consumer’s request, the release was faxed again on June 8, 2015. The release was also submitted to the court for filing. In addition, a satisfaction of the judgment was also printed and mailed to the court on June 9, 2015. The consumer is welcome to contact our office with any additional questions at ###-###-####.

5/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was hit with a garnishment of my bank account for one hundred and thirty eight dollars. No big deal at first so I called them and they said they would take out $100 per month from my bank account,I agreed. Instead of taking $100 out per month they waited four months and filed for another garnishment. This time they took fourteen hundred and fourteen dollars, that wasn't even my money. The guys name was ***** he said he was in charge ,some type of manager. Please do not trust these people as I did! I did want to settle this matter but now I will keep changing bank accounts so they don't get any more of my hard earned money. I also explained that I had just had open heart surgery and was very low on money which is why they made it for $100 per month, or not since thay just screwed me over.

Desired Settlement: Refund my fourteen hundred and fourteen dollars and stick to the payment plan that you guys came up with.

Business Response: With respect to the consumer's allegations, Levy and Associates did speak to the consumer on September 29, 2014 and an payment arrangement of $100 per month with the first payment due October 24, 2014 was reached. A letter was sent to the consumer to sign and return with his banking information to authorize automatic payments to be deducted from his checking account on a monthly basis. On October 23, 2014, we received the authorization letter back signed by the consumer but the banking information was left blank and the consumer wrote a note for us to call him to obtain the banking information. We called the consumer on October 27, 2014 and there was no answer. We called on November 4, 2014 and the consumer was not in. We called on December 5, 2014 and consumer was not in and a final call on December 9, 2014 and the consumer was not in. As a result of the consumer not making the required payments per the payment arrangement, we proceeded with the bank garnishment. We are willing to work with the consumer to get this matter resolved. If the consumer Is willing to catch up the four missed payments from October thru January, for a total of $400, and stay current according to the original payment arrangement, we will refund the money from the bank garnishment. As of today, we have not yet received the garnishment funds from the court. The consumer may contact our office at ###-###-#### to discuss a resolution of this matter. Thank you!

Consumer Response: none of this is true I have never received a phone call from anyone at Levi & Associates. And I just called there again to find out that only ***** can help me. ***** is the person who messed this up in the first place. They say all these times they called that I was not in, funny what do you mean by not in this is my business phone. Have you heard of leaving a message? 

***** ******

12/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted this office twice now to have a garnishment removed from my wages since the judgement has been fulfilled. I can't get them to stop the garnishment even though they know it has been fulfilled because the first time they sent a refund of the over payment after I called and my attorney called. Last week when I was paid they took out another garnishment. This was an old credit card billed that I personally never was notified of a court judgement or garnishment was filed at an address and county that I hadn't lived in for 20 yrs but unfortunately my sister had signed for the certified letters and I was never given the letters. When I found out about the garnishment I tried to work out so they wouldn't garnish my wages and they wouldn't agree to anything even after I hired at an attorney but at this point and time I have fulfilled the judgement want my money that has been paid over refunded. Want the garnishment stopped and want my credit report to reflect the fact the judgement has been taken care of. Would like for Ohio to start dealing with these type of collection tactics the way other states have. By investigating and shutting them down. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement: I want my money refunded , garnishment stopped, and my credit report to reflect this judgement has been settled. I want documentation from these people stating that this issue has been taken care of. I have also contacted the attorney generals office and asked that they launch an investigation into the company.

Business Response:

On Wednesday July 2, 2014, we received and posted the garnishment payment which paid/over paid the balance at approximately 3:30 PM.  (The overpayment kicks off a process in our system to start the refund / satisfaction process the next business day.)  However, due to the holiday weekend, we worked half day on July 3rd and did not start to process to refund the overpayment and satisfaction until the next business day, which was MONDAY JULY 7th.   Also on July 7th, the consumer called to inquire about the garnishment and status of the judgment.  The consumer is represented by counsel in this legal matter; The consumer confirmed that she was still represented by the attorney.  We advised her that due to the ethical rules and the FDCPA we are required to communicate with her attorney.   

On July 7th and on July 8th the Garnishment Release and Notice of Satisfaction of Judgment were prepared and sent to the Court, respectively.    On July 8th we sent the consumer's refund check to her.  Additionally, we contacted the consumer's attorney on July 10th to advise him of the steps we had taken with respect to the Court. 

Based on the consumer's complaint, it is clear her employer has not received / not processed the Garnishment release from the Court because she indicates they withheld funds from a subsequent paycheck.  Following her phone call to our office yesterday, we contacted her attorney and left a message for him to call us to discuss.  We have not yet heard back from him.   Additionally, we have not received a signed entry from the Court with respect to the release / satisfaction of the judgment.

We understand that the consumer is frustrated by the process between her employer, the court, our law firm and her attorney.  The process does not always move as quickly as all parties would like/prefer and this can result in items crossing in the mail and/or being delayed.  We believe that the Court is moving as quickly as is possible; hopefully the entry will be signed by the Court soon if it has not already been signed and entered.  (We have not furnished information to the credit reporting agencies so there is nothing for us to update, so to speak, other than the notification of satisfaction which we have sent to the Court.  Upon entry of the Notice of Satisfaction, the Court will show this judgment as satisfied.   

This afternoon, in order to expedite notice to her employer, we faxed a copy of the release/satisfaction that we sent to the Court last week to her employer; as stated we do not YET have the signed entry from the Judge/court.  I have attached a copy of our fax to her employer. 

In terms of the garnishment check her employer has sent to the Court, we will process the refund after our receipt of said funds from the Court if the Court does not release them to her directly.  (Note: if the funds are sent to us, our refund to her will occur as soon as is practicable; this usually occurs in one - two business days after receipt from the court.)  If the consumer would like us to be able to discuss this with her when she calls us, we will need to have permission from her attorney to do so.  Otherwise we will continue to communicate with her through her counsel.


7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a period of time in 2007-2008 I was unemployed and acquired some credit card debt. I was unable to pay this debt in a timely fashion which resulted in a civil court judgment being entered against me by Levy and Associates on behalf of ******* ***. In April of 2014 Levy and Associates requested to garnish my wages in order to pay off this debt. In June of 2014 the garnishment was paid in full and my employer sent them the proper paperwork. My wife, ***** *******, and I have been in contact with Levy & Associates since mid June 2014 requesting the Satisfaction of Judgment paperwork to be filed in ********* ********* *****. We were told numerous times that they were waiting for funds to be sent to them from the court. The clerk of court's office continued to tell us that the checks had been sent. Finally, on July 8, 2014 the representative at extension 220 at Levy & Associates stated that all the paper work had been sent to the court and my case with them was closed. ********* ***** did not receive any paperwork until July 15. On July 15, my wife drove to the court to pick of the Satisfaction of Judgment paperwork but found out that Levy and Associates never filed it. What was filed with the court was actually a Satisfaction of Garnishment. This paperwork does not release me from the judgment or allow me to remove the item from my credit report. Furthermore, until they file the release of judgment paperwork, interest continues to be assessed at the court on the case. The clerk of court's office states repeatedly that the satisfaction of judgment was never filed, while the representative of Levy and Associates continues to state that it was sent to the court. I paid the garnishment in full and satisfied their conditions to settle this debt. I am in the process of obtaining a home loan and I cannot close on my loan until I receive the Satisfaction of Judgment paperwork. NOT the Satisfaction of Garnishment, which is what was sent to the court.

Desired Settlement: I respectfully demand that Levy and Associates file the proper paperwork with ********* ********* *****, civil case number######. The proper paperwork being a Satisfaction of Judgment. I also request that a copy of this paperwork be mailed to my home. I also request that Levy and Associates take care of the interest that has been continuing to be added to my case at the court, even though I have paid this amount in full. The docket may be found here: *********************************************

Business Response:

We want to respond as quickly as possible so we will make this brief in the interest of getting the information to the consumer as quickly as possible.

Levy & Associates LLC mailed the paperwork to release both the  garnishment and the judgment to the Court on the 7th and 8th of July.    The Court posted them to their file on the 14th and 16th.   Both items have been filed with the Court and, in fact, the satisfaction of judgment appears to be available on the Court's website according to the July 16th note on the Court's docket.   I believe the consumer should be able to print the satisfaction from the hyperlink on the court's docket.  Unfortunately we are waiting for a mailed entry from the Court and do not yet have the signed entry. THIS COMMUNICATION IS FROM A DEBT COLLECTOR.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID #######, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
It appears the problem is/was a processing delay on the part of the court, and a miscommunication between the attorney office

Regards,  ******** ********

4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer wanted to get a complaint filed against the supplier. The supplier is calling in regards to a debt that his son owes. The consumer has told them multiple times they do not have the right person. They continue to call to try and collect. The consumer son is a Jr.

Desired Settlement: The consumer wants the calls to stop.

Business Response: I have searched our records and cannot find an account in the name of "******* ******" nor can I find the telephone number provided by the complainant in our system of telephone numbers we have on files.    Does he know an approximate day and time of the most recent call? At what telephone number did he receive the calls?  Is his son's name ******* ****** also or does he go by another name? Is that who the caller asked to speak to?   I will need more information to determine whether we made the calls and then to stop them.

3/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried multiple times to settle a collection with Levy & Associates, who is working on behalf of ******* *********** ** *** and have received no correspondence since originally writing them on April 29, 2013.I wrote letters to ******* *********** (to the same address listed on the BBB website) on the following dates:April 2013July 2013December 2013The most recent letter sent was USPS certified with confirmed delivery. The response card shows that it was received and signed for by a D. Rand on December 20, 2013.All of these letters have been in attempt to settle a debt. I have received no response or any other correspondence from Levy & Associates since the letter was received by them on December 20th. Since I have tried multiple times to contact them and received no response, I have no choice but to file a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Levy & Associates to respond to my letters and assist in resolving my debt, since it has been almost a year since I first attempted to contact them.

Business Response:

We apologize for our delay in responding to the consumer's complaint and for the confusion surrounding this account.  This account was closed in our office and was returned to the client last year after we learned that the consumer had moved from ******** to ********.  At this point we can only speculate but believe that may have been the reason we did not respond upon receipt of the earlier communication from the consumer.  

We followed up with the client and they have indicated that we should instruct the consumer to call the creditor toll free at  ###-###-#### in order to discuss payment / payoff options.  

Thank you. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID #####, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

********* ******

12/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Levy & Associates submitted documents to my employer that were NOT LEGAL. There is NO court order to garnish my wages. There has never been a court order to garnish my wages. There is NO court order to garnish my wages period! I have never stood before a judge in my life. I cannot be sued under Ohio State Law.Levy & Associates have sent people to my house with documents that were NOT LEGAL. Levy and Associates have harassed me constantly with phone calls. Levy and Associates have mailed documents to me that were NOT LEGAL. These documents were sent via the United States Postal Service.Levy & Associates is a collections agency that uses "Unfair Practices."

Desired Settlement: I have contacted my employer - ********* *** **** ****** ******* *********** **** ***** ###-###-#### or ###-###-#### about this matter.They have not contacted me. I want reimbursement. I want reimbursement of ALL money taken out of my paycheck. Levy & Associates is taking money out of my paycheck that is not legitimate and not legal. The Federal and State payroll taxes coming out of my paycheck are being shorted. The IRS is not getting their full and equal share.

Business Response:

**** ******* ***** ********* *********** **** ************ ********* ************** ******* ** *********************** **** ** ********
Dear *** *******

We are in receipt of your CFPB, BBB and ACA Complaints. We have reviewed your files in our office and will attempt to address each allegation. Levy & Associates has been hired/retained to represent the current creditor (********* *********** **** *** ) in the collection of the judgment in ***** Municipal Court, Case No. ######.

You have indicated that Levy & Associates is impersonating an attorney or official. **** ** **** has been a member of the Ohio State Bar since 1995 and is in good standing with the Supreme Court of Ohio. *** **** is not impersonating an attorney or other official.

You indicated in your Better Business Bureau complaint that Levy & Associates has harassed you with phone calls. We reviewed this file and show that we have made a few unsuccessful attempts to contact you over the past several months. There was one unsuccessful call on July 30, 2013 and two unsuccessful calls in August in which we could not reach you and there was no voice mail set up so that we could leave a message. There was another call attempted on November 12, 2013 with the same result.

You stated that Levy & Associates did not have a legal court order to garnish you wages and that there has never been a legal court order to do so. In fact, our records and the ***** Municipal Court records indicate this judgment is in place in their Court. With respect to the above referenced matter, I have attached a copy of the Certificate of Judgment, the Order of Assignment, along with the Garnishment paperwork filed with the ***** Municipal Court. There has been previous activity on this file, including a garnishment in 2011 and a Deposition under Rule 69 in 2011.

You have indicated that Levy & Associates sent people to your house with papers and we have not done so. The paperwork we have attached from earlier this year also includes our instructions to serve the Motion for Garnishment via mail, not in person. We  did not request a process server, nor a sheriff, nor any other person deliver them to you personally. Based on the Court’s docket record, it appears the 2013 garnishment paperwork was issued via mail.

You have stated that you cannot be sued under Ohio law and that you believe the garnishment is not legal. In order to assist you and to resolve your complaint, it would be helpful to know on what grounds you believe these documents are not legal; upon our review the judgment and garnishment are in order and legal.

We are interested in working with you to resolve your concerns and hope that the information we have provided clarifies the status of the underlying judgment, the nature of the documents we filed with the Court and the documents we filed with your employer for the garnishment. If you have more questions or wish to discuss this with our firm, please contact our office at ###-###-#### Ext ###.

Please note: this communication is from a debt collector.

12/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has hit me up for the same debt multiple times. I have paid what they said would be a settlement and now they are suing me. I am scared they are gouging me. My father has even paid and confirmed that that would be the last payment and now they are coming after me again.

Desired Settlement: I want them to leave me alone.

Business Response:

We apologize for the slight delay in responding to this complaint; we had reached out to our client to work through a resolution.  This took a few days longer to complete than we had anticipated . 

We reviewed *** ****'s account / case.  Essentially, *** **** has paid $1,600.00 on this account to date to Levy & Associates.  The history with our firm goes back to 2006 on this account when the account was placed with an original balance placed of $1228.39 plus interest, which was accruing. 

We commenced the suit process on or about September 19, 2006.  On or about September 27, 2006 we agreed on an arrangement with *** **** to pay $200.00 per month for nine months with a final payment of $20.00 on a balance of $1820.00, which included the balance and the interest.  The first payment of $200.00 was posted on October 9, 2006.  There was no payment in November 2006 and then a partial payment of $150.00 was made on December 7. 2006.   We proceeded with our Motion for Default Judgment due to the broken payment arrangement; a hearing was scheduled for February 16, 2007.   The Court entered Judgment against *** **** on February 16, 2007.  

We then had communications with *** **** and agreed that we would vacate the judgment and enter into an Agreed Judgment with *** **** based on a payment arrangement which required $200.00 payments starting February 16, 2007 and continuing each month by the 16th of each and every month until the entire balance plus interest and court costs were paid in full.  We  received a payment of $200.00 on February 13, 2007 and another payment of $200.00 on February 20, 2007; then a partial payment on March 29, 2007 for $150.00.   The next payment we received was on June 26, 2007 for $150.00 and then the next payment was three months late on September 28, 2007 for $300.00.   After that we received  partial payments of $50.00 on January 30, 2008, March 13, 2008, and April 30, 2008.  We worked with *** **** over that time period; his payments were not made under the terms of our agreements in terms of total amount to be paid or timeliness of the payments themselves.  However, we understood that he was having financial difficulties and we were trying to work with him on resolving the balance. 

Ultimately, we did not receive the total amount agreed upon and did not receive any more payments after 2008, despite attempts to re-establish contact and payments with *** **** via phone.   The judgment became dormant due to judicial/legal inactivity to enforce the judgment.  We recently moved to revive the judgment and to attempt to collect the remaining amount owed on the debt. While we do not agree that the $1,600.00 *** **** paid over the years actually paid the balance as previously agreed (which was at least the $1820.00 agreed upon at the outset in September 2006), our client has agreed, nonetheless, to consider this account/case settled for less than the full balance based on the payments made to date in order that we may have a resolution to *** ****'s account.  As such, we will file the appropriate documents with the Court within the next two weeks. 

If *** **** has any questions he may contact me at ###-###-#### Ext ###.

Please note: this communication is from a debt collector.

10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer is calling in regards to a letter from Levy & Associates stating she owed $5,674.35. The consumer sent this amount in check form to the supplier. The supplier sent the check back stating that she owed interest and fees. The supplier sent a proof of the debt of $5,674.35.

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like the supplier to accept the check for the amount of $5674.35.

Business Response: We are in receipt of Ms. ******'s Better Business Bureau complaint and have reviewed her account.  Our records indicate that we received a payment from her in the amount of $5,674.35 which was marked with an endorsement for ‘Paid in Full.”  We have filed suit on behalf of our client and thus had added court costs of and interest.  As such, we considered the payment a “settlement” for less than current full balance and had communicated such to Ms. ******.    Upon receipt of the BBB complaint, we reached out to our client to discuss Ms. ******'s request.  We apologize for our delay in responding but we were communicating with our client about Ms. ******'s request.  We have since communicated with our client and spoken with Ms. ******; we have worked out a mutually acceptable payment term to resolve the account per Ms. ******'s request.    If Ms. ****** has any additional questions, concerns or needs an update on the status of her account, she may contact us directly and we will assist her.  

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Levy & Associates has repeatedly contacted me regarding the debt of a ******* ** *****. This is not me. After confirming this information they will again make the same attempt in six months to a year

Desired Settlement: They need to stop contacting me.

Business Response:

Dear Sir or Madam--

We are in receipt of *** ******* ** ****** complaint regarding the confusion of his contact information with that of a person with a similar name.  We have reviewed the file in question and determined that we removed the ###-###-#### telephone number in July 2011 from the file in question at the request of *** *****, who had indicated we had reached the wrong William Mayes. We located the correct number but in December 2012 we received notice that that number was no longer valid.  We attempted to locate another number and a third party service provided the ###-###-#### number to us as a contact for the file in June 2013.  

Typically, our current program controls would prevent a number which previously  had been flagged as a wrong number from being returned and/or called on that file again.    Essentially, we have processes in place to prevent these sorts of error at a system level;  we are reviewing them again to make certain they are working as expected.  We are still working to determine the root cause that allowed this mistake to happen and apologize for the error.    

In an effort to prevent this from happening to *** ***** again, we have placed the file in question in a hold status / queue so that we will not make any calls on the file.  Once again, we apologize for the error.  If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Ext ###at our office.

Levy & Associates LLC


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* *****

9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have sent 3 letters to Levy & Associates requesting a debt validation and that they contact me only through written communication. Today, July 15 2013, they violated my request and called my home at 1:09 PM. In addition, they have not provided me to debt validation information I requested in a letter dated April 13, 2013.

Desired Settlement: Stop the direct calls to my home and any other telephone numbers in addition to providing the information I requested to validate the debt.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the BBB Complaint # ******.  We have placed the account in a cease and desist status on our system.  We received a request for validation on April 23, 2013 and requested documents from our client to validate the debt shortly thereafter.  We received a second request from the consumer on or about June 17 2013 and contacted our client to check the status of the request.  Based on the fact that the consumer had moved out of state, our client instructed us to close the account.  

At the beginning of July we received an electronic communication from the consumer indicating she wanted to discuss payment arrangements and would contact us within a few days.  We reopened the account in our system but the account was not placed in a status that would prevent calls due to a mistake on the part of the person reopening the account in the system.  Despite procedures designed to prevent this kind of mistake, the human error resulted in the calls being made to the consumer.  We have corrected the error and apologize for the inconvenience.  The consumer will not receive any more calls. 

Consumer Response: I still do not have the items indicated above.

Business Response: We have mailed the account documents to the consumer.  Additionally, Consumer filed two CFPB complaints to which we have responded as well.  We respectfully request that we close the BBB complaint as this is also being worked through the CFPB's channels.

8/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer has a judgment against her for a debt that is owed. There was a lien put on her vehicle and advised her that she needs to keep the maintenance. The consumer's car is under her name, but it stated that vehicles are exempt. The judgment was put on by Levy and Associates. They are calling the consumer non-stop threatening her. They told the consumer they were going to send a sheriff to collect all her personal belongings that have value.

Desired Settlement: The consumer wants the supplier to collect the right way and if her car is not allowed to be connected to this debt she wants the lien removed.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of *** ********** complaint and have reviewed the account in question.  I believe the source of confusion may have started last October.  She called Levy and Associates twice last October, following a Notice she received  from the firm.  In the first October call she indicated she owed money on the car and was having financial difficulties.  During the second call, our Rep had asked if she had received service of the Writ of Execution from the Sheriff.  She indicated she had not received that paperwork yet but that she still owed on the car loan and she was unable to pay more than the $50 per month previously discussed.   

Levy and Associates never a placed a lien on *** ********** vehicle. In fact, the Writ of Execution action was dismissed on or about July 10, 2013.  I have attached the dismissal of the Writ of Execution for *** ********** records.  (Please note that the underlying judgment is still in place.) After having reviewed the account notes and calls available, including the calls from last October and a few others, we cannot corroborate her allegations with respect to frequency of calls made to her by Levy and Associates nor any statements being made to her about having a Sheriff collecting her personal belongings or a need for her to maintain the vehicle.

We have blocked *** ********** number so it will not be called in connection with this judgment by Levy and Associates.  If *** ******** has any questions or needs more clarification about this, she may call Levy and Associates at ###-###-#### and ask for Extension ####  We will be happy to help.  We apologize for any confusion and want her to know the Writ, which is now dismissed, did not place a lien on her vehicle's title. 

8/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint:  The consumer is calling in regards to debt that she does not owe. The consumer has, in writing, disputed the debt. The supplier, Levy & Associates, is harassing the consumer about this debt for ********* *********. The consumer has been dealing with this issue since 11/2012. There is a judgment against her for $2800.00. atty:yes Police Report:yes

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like to have this matter cleared up and no further obligation to this supplier.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of *** ********* complaint.  In a conversation with one of our managers, *** ******* indicated this was the result of Identity Theft from several years ago.  Pursuant to their conversation and *** ********* concerns, we mailed a Identity Theft Affidavit / Packet to her about two weeks ago.  Once we have her completed ID Theft Affidavit, we will provide that to our client and investigate further.  We have placed the account in a cease and desist status, so we will not follow up with *** ******* via phone or mail, per her request.   If she has questions, needs to have the ID Theft affidavit mailed to her again or would like to email or fax it to us, she may contact us and we will assist her with this.  

Also, *** ******* indicates she has an attorney.  If she has their information and provides it to us, we will direct any communications to her attorney, of course, and seek to bring this to a resolution. 

3/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have POA over my mother along with my brother. We feel that this needs to be handled by the BBB. ******* got a notice from Levy & Associates on Saturday December 29, 2012 which is a collection agency. And are handling account xxxxxxxxxxxx8398 for Fifth Third Bank in the amount of $14,824.86 which she doesn't know what it is for. ******* has dementia and get confused very easily. Tried to contact Levy & Associates, LLC. by phone and they were very rude. *** at Levy & Associates,LLC asked if ******* was here with me and before I could give any kind of answer she asked if I had POA. I said yes hold on ***, then hung up not getting anything resolved. ******* along with the dementia can't understand what anyone is saying to her so my brother and I handle everything for her.

Desired Settlement: ******* before this notice from Levy & Associates, LLC never got anything before this one on Dec.29,2012. This is the first notice that we know of. So what we would like to see happen is to write this notice off in the amount of $14,824.86. ******* is on very limited income and don't know what this bill is for. None of us have ever seen this kind of bill in this amount before this. Thank You 

Business Response:

This response is in reference to a Consumer Complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau against Levy & Associates, LLC ("Levy") on January 2, 2013, by Complainants. Complainants filed said Complaint on behalf of their Mother ("Consumer"), upon whom Complainants have a Power of Attorney. Levy initially responded to the Consumer Complaint by stating that it is in the process of investigating the Complaint and could not substantiate the claims at that time. Levy also advised that in order to discuss this matter with a third party, Levy will need to have a copy of the Power of Attorney showing that the Complainants have authority to discuss such matters or otherwise act on behalf of Consumer. Levy further provided that it was more than happy to work with Complainants and Consumer to reach an amicable resolution of this matter.

Complainants rejected the response submitted to the Better Business Bureau by Levy, and provided a copy of the Power of Attorney to the Better Business Bureau, which has been forwarded to Levy. Subsequent to the receipt of Consumer’s Complaint, Levy has investigated this matter. Levy is a comprehensive collection law firm. As such, Levy serves as counsel for numerous creditors that are owed money; including, but not limited to, Fifth Third Bank, in the collection of unpaid accounts. Consumer’s account was placed with Levy by Fifth Third Bank on December 17, 2012 due Consumer’s default of an auto loan (Account No. XXXXX8398; account origination date: December 5, 2008), in the principal amount of $9,370.02 plus accrued interest. Said account continues to accrue interest at a rate of 13.50% per annum.

On or about December 17, 2012, Levy, as Counsel for Fifth Third Bank, forwarded Fifth Third Bank’s First Demand letter to Consumer. This letter advised Consumer to contact Levy, in writing, within thirty (30) days to dispute the claim. Levy did not receive any such request from Consumer, nor Complainants, seeking validation of said debt until it received the Consumer Complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau on or about January 2, 2013.

In regards to Complainants’ desired settlement, Consumer’s account was previously charged off by Fifth Third Bank in the amount of $9,370.02 on or about September 18, 2009. Despite said debt being charged off, Fifth Third Bank may continue to pursue collection efforts in regards to Consumer’s account, and it has elected to do so. Further, Levy is NOT the owner of Consumer’s account; rather, it merely represents Firth Third Bank in the collection of Consumer’s account as its attorney. As to Consumer’s claim that he/ she was treated rudely by a Levy representative, Levy has no record of any Levy representative communicating with Consumer, Complainants, or any other individual in regards to the account at issue. Levy strongly maintains that it strives to treat all people with the highest levels of dignity and respect in the collection of debts owed to its clients and to resolve all matters in a fair and amicable manner. Levy is more than willing to work with Consumer and Complainants in order to reach a payment plan that is acceptable and viable for Consumer. Consumer and/ or Complainants (as Levy has received a copy of the Power of Attorney) may contact Levy to make such arrangements should he/ she desire to do so.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because ******* ******* is an elderly woman in failing health. Her income is non-collectible...which was discussed with 5/3 bank at the time the vehicle was turned in. The family is not obligated to pay her debts. All money she has coming in each month is used up to pay for her living expenses as well as her health care needs. It was our understanding, at the time the vehicle was turned in, that 5/3 bank was charging off the debt without attempting any further collection efforts. As a reminder to 5/3 bank, they did write a loan to an elderly woman with the obvious knowledge that her income would be non-collectible if she failed to pay her loan. As far as I'm concerned that is the bank's risk of loss and they need to accept their mistake and charge off the debt.

Business Response: Levy is more than willing to work with Consumer and Complainants in order to reach a payment plan that is acceptable and viable for Consumer. Consumer and/ or Complainants (as Levy has received a copy of the Power of Attorney) may contact Levy to make such arrangements should he/ she desire to do so.

Consumer Response:

I am going to simply put it in plain English to Levy & Associates that holds the account for the loan from 5/3 bank for ******* *******. The bank, 5/3 bank, wrote a loan to an elderly person...knowing that her income was non-collectible at the time the loan was taken out. She is in a nursing home and in failing health. She is an 85 year old woman. I, along with ********* family, do not have responsibility to her debt. Therefore, this is my final answer to this. I am rapidly growing annoyed with Levy & Associates & their pure IGNORANCE in regard to this dept. As far as I am concerned that is too bad! They can hold the debt and stare it all they want as far as I am concerned. ******* is non-collectible and the family is NOT responsible for this debt. There is NO other choice but for 5/3 to write off the debt...END OF DISCUSSION! I will not continue a debate about this any further! Any further contact from Levy & Associates can be placed in writing and will be dealt with accordingly. There will be NO payment arrangements made! I can understand if this is the end of the BBB's role in this dispute; however, my answer remains the same.

3/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A credit card of mine was placed into collections for nonpayment due to personal reasons- a move, a previous lay-off, student loan debt, medical issues, etc. Levy and Associates purchased the debt and began calling me nonstop up to 25 times a day and left extremely threatening messages; they made it sound like this debt was life or death. Levy and Associates called the school that I teach at several times a day as well, EVEN after they were asked to STOP calling school; this was humiliating. It is IMPOSSIBLE for teachers to take phone calls while teaching. I eventually had to call them and tell them myself to quit calling my employer. Upon that conversation, I was threatened even more and told that if I did not settle this debt my wages would be garnished. So, I settled for $1,400 and made an immediate $300 payment over the phone- this was on February 7, 2012. I signed up to pay $100 a month (including the month that I paid the $300) on the 15th of every month for 10 months. It is now March of 2013 and Levy and Associates is still taking out $100 on the 15th of every month. I have emailed them and called them to discuss this matter. I have documented every phone call, printed out every statement, every letter, etc. I never heard a response from the emails. Supposedly the gentleman handling my case no longer works for the company. The other individuals I have spoken with have no clue what I am talking about and just argue that I still owe them money. When I ask to speak to the manager or a different individual, no one is available and no one ever calls me back. I have paid Levy and Associates $300 more than I owe them and after March 15th, it will be $400 more than I owe them. I do not have an extra $100 laying around every month AND I would have NEVER agreed to this settlement if I would have known that they would continue to withdraw money from my account EVEN AFTER I paid them all that was due.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $300 that I have over paid.

Business Response:


This response is in reference to a Consumer Complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau against Levy & Associates, LLC ("Levy") on March 1, 2013, by Complainant. Complainant’s Complaint lists multiple allegations against Levy, including: (1) Levy & Associates purchased Complainant’s debt and began calling Complainant multiple times a day (up to 25 times per day), leaving threatening messages; (2) Complainant settled his/her debt for $1,400; (3) when Complainant telephoned Levy and requested to discuss this matter with a manager, no manger was available nor did they call Complainant back; and (4) Complainant has paid Levy & Associates $300 more than what was owed for this debt. Consumer’s desired settlement of this matter: "I would like a refund of the $300 that I have over paid."

Upon receipt of Complainant’s Complaint, Levy & Associates reviewed its system records and notes in regards to this matter. It is Levy & Associates desire to resolve the Complainant’s allegation to consumer’s satisfaction and to address the facts and merits of each allegation. Accordingly, in an attempt to clearly respond to each allegation in its entirety, Levy & Associates will respond to each separately and in the same order set forth in Complainant’s Complaint

Complainant’s first allegation is that Levy & Associates purchased Consumer’s debt and began calling Consumer multiple times per day, leaving threatening messages. Levy & Associates does not purchase debts nor does its owners or management purchase debts on their behalf. Levy & Associates is a collection law firm and as such, it serves as counsel for numerous creditors that are owed money including creditors that may from time to time purchase debt such as Consumer’s account.

Complainant also claims that Levy & Associates repeatedly called Complainant multiple times per day, leaving threatening messages, and refused to allow Complainant to discuss this matter with a manger. Levy & Associates has reviewed its phone and system records and it has no record of any such events transpiring. According to Levy & Associates records the Complainant’s account was placed with Levy & Associates for collection in January, 2012. After it was placed, the account was called a number of times but never more than one time per day and never were threatening messages left for the Complainant. Specifically, an employee of Levy & Associates first called Complainant on January 26, 2012, leaving a message for Complainant. Complainant returned the call to Levy & Associates that very same day and advised the account manager that he/ she would like to resolve the obligation. The Levy & Associates employee informed Complainant that a payment plan could be entered into; however, a down payment would be needed. On February 6, 2012, Levy & Associates called Complainant and left a message and Complainant returned the telephone call on February 7, 2012. During said telephone call, Complainant agreed to make a down payment and make monthly payments thereafter until the debt was paid in full. Levy & Associates then sent a letter to the Consumer spelling out the exact terms of the settlement and the Consumer’s signed the letter and returned it to Levy & Associates. Thereafter, levy & Associates received the agreed to down payment as well as the monthly payments.

Complainant’s second allegation is that he/ she settled this matter for $1,400 and has paid $300 more than that owed to Levy for this debt. According to Levy & Associates records this is not accurate. As stated above, Consumer’s statement is in direct contravention of the letter that Levy & Associates prepared and the Consumer signed in which she agreed to pay the balance in full. According to the letter, Complainant agreed to make one down payment of $300 and make monthly payments thereafter in the amount of $100 until account paid in full. No agreement was made nor does Levy & Associates’ records indicate that the parties agreed to settle this matter for $1,400. 00 as Complainant represents in his/ her complaint. Complainant must have been mistaken about settling the account for $1,400.00

Finally, according to Levy & Associates’ records Complainant has made payments on this debt in the amount of $1,500.00. As of March 11, 2013, Complainant’s remaining account balance is $211.51. For this reason, Complainant cannot be "refunded" $300, as he/ she has not overpaid this account and money is still owed to Levy & Associates’ client.

Levy would be happy to discuss this matter with Complainant further should he/ she desire to do so.

2/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I work at the ****'s In Willoughby. On 11/8/2012 I received an email from ****'s corporate stating that they had received an order to garnish my wages. I printed a copy of the email it says that the Payee is ********** Municipal Court. And the additional contact is ********* Acquisitions XVI,LLC c/o Atty **** *. Levy. I called ********* and asked to speak to Mr. Levy and was told by the woman I was speaking to that naturally I could not speak to him. I asked what this garnishment was about. I was told that there had been a judgement against me in 2004. She said that there was a loan application with my signature on it. I have only had 2 loans under my name 1 was for a car which I paid in full and the other was for a mobile home through ***** *****. I asked why I had not received any notification on this I was told that all notices had been sent to 5872 ***** Road in Madison. I have not lived there in 18 years. I went to the court house and was told that they had nothing to do with this they were just collecting for ********* that ********* had picked up an old debt that had gone dormant. I called ********* back talked to a different woman who told me that they had no paperwork on this. When I informed her about what the other woman had said she had no answer. I also asked why they figured out where I work but not where I live. 

Desired Settlement: I just wanted to know what this is from but can not get any answers. If this is from the mobile home that loan had been forgiven and I paid the taxes that I owed for a forgiven debt. I have already had 4 payments taken out of my check. I have tried to look up the original case number but it does not show up either Lake or Ashtabula Counties. I sent for my credit score from TransUnion and this 3,859.38 debt is not there. I called TransUnion and was told that it would definitely be on the report. I just want to find out what this is for.If this for the mobile home than it has already been taken care of. It is looking like I am being scammed I even tried to call ********* at the Chicago office that was listed but the 800 number will not go through. Any help that you could give me would be appreciated. If I owe this then I want to pay. If not I do not have almost 4,000 that I can just give away. Thank you

Business Response:    This response is in reference to a Consumer Complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau by Complainant. The Complainant states that he/she is filing the Consumer Complaint because he/she wants to know what the debt is for. Levy & Associates has investigated the Consumer Complaint. The result of said investigation determined that the debt originated from a credit card account that the Complainant had with ********* Bank, Account number ending in ****, that a complaint was filed against the Complainant in the *********** Municipal Court on or about September 22, 2003, that the Complainant was served with the complaint by ordinary mail or November 12, 2003, that the Complainant did not file an answer to the complaint filed against him/her and that a judgment was entered against the Complainant on January 16, 2004. The judgment was revived by the court, after going dormant, on August 14, 2012. As a result of the judgment being obtained on January 16, 2004, and being revived on August 14, 2012, a garnishment was instituted to recover this judgment on or about October 25, 2012. In order to reach an amicable resolution, Levy & Associates is more than willing to work with Complainant on this matter. The Complainant may contact Levy to discuss the matter in question should he/she desire to do so.

12/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A ******* from Levy & Associates has been calling my house looking for someone who has the same last name as me. I have told them I do not know this person and cannot help them locate them. I have also told them I am on the do not call list and want to be placed on their internal do not call list, yet, I still receive these calls. I do not owe them, or anyone else for that matter any money and wish they would stop harassing me. I will make a formal complaint to the DNC if I receive another call.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling me!

Business Response:

This response is in reference to an Original Consumer Complaint (" Consumer Complaint") filed with the Better Business Bureau on or about October 16, 2012 (BBB Complaint ID #*******). Levy & Associates, LLC ("Levy") is responding late to this Consumer Complaint because it did not receive the Consumer Complaint until November 20, 2012. This Consumer Complaint alleges that Levy continues to call Consumer for collection purposes, despite Consumer not being the individual Levy is attempting to contact. Consumer further claims that she has notified Levy that she is not the individual Levy is attempting to contact, nor does she know said individual. Consumer’s desired outcome and resolution of this matter is for the telephone calls from Levy to Consumer to stop immediately.

Upon receipt of Consumer’s Complaint, Levy searched its system and records for the phone number of Consumer and confirmed it to be linked to an account that did not belong to Consumer. Levy immediately noted in the account that it was to no longer attempt to contact the actual party in question at the Consumer’s telephone number. Levy then removed Consumer’s telephone contact information from its system records and notes as to said account. Additionally, Consumer’s telephone number has been placed on Levy & Associates, LLC’s "Do Not Call" list.

Levy apologizes for the inconvenience; Levy wholly anticipates that removing Consumer’s phone number from its system and records will promptly resolve this matter.