BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Federal Adjustment Bureau, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The firm offers debt collection and credit reporting to businesses and landlords.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Federal Adjustment Bureau, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Federal Adjustment Bureau, Inc. include:

  • 18 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Federal Adjustment Bureau, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Federal Adjustment Bureau, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1943 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1943
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. E. Marlene Mahoney, President Ms. Stephanie D. Furst, Comptroller Mr. James D Smith, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. E. Marlene Mahoney, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies Credit Reporting Agencies

Alternate Business Names
FABCO
Industry Tips
Credit - BBB General Statement For All Debt, Credit TOBs Credit - Understanding Your Credit Report - BBBTips

Additional Locations

  • 4640 Executive Dr

    Columbus, OH 43220 (614) 737-5705

  • PO Box 20850

    Columbus, OH 43220

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 737-5705(Phone)
  • (800) 669-5010(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: N notices were ever reiceved by us, From ****** **** ***. or Fabco till now. Trying to collect on a debt that dose not exsist. We moved from ****** ***** ***. May 1st 2014 free & clear. Nothing was owed. But they kept our $99.00 deposit. ****** ******/The owners in ********** gave a stupid reason fro holding deposit. ------------------------------------------------ 9/2/14 To Whom It May Concern: (Fabco) This is a forma letter of dispute against a debt that dose not exsit. You can't collect on a debt that dose not exist. There has been no notice of any debt owed. We moved from ****** **** ****'s May 1st 2014, Rent was payed in full every month for one year $200.00 pet deposit plus a 99.00 move in deposit was payed. Apt. had septic problems, water and humane fical on bathroom floor, plus black mold on wall behind toilet, which i had to clean. When we moved Apt. was 100% spotless cleaned the way it should be. May 5th 2014 called ****** ****** about the 99.00 deposit he said we would recieve a letter and deposit within 30 days. We recieved nothing. made several phone calls with no action. ****** **** needs to get thier act together, because, we have been gone four months, and they still harasse us. They have several complaints against them plus they harrsment we recieved from other tenants cause by the girls in the office. Plus the harrsment from the girls themselves. We owe them or anyone else nothing. We also have five wittness to prove my apt. was perfect when we left. Yours truly ***** ******

Desired Settlement: To dispute debt no owed to them. We are not going to be scamed out of something we do not owe!

Business Response:

***** & ***** ****** owe 8 days rent to fulfill a 30 day notice, this equals $153.28 and after the $99.00 security deposit is applied a balance of $54.28 remains open.  Our client, ****** ****, received their notice to vacate 04-08-14, to vacate 05-01-14.  To vacate on 05-01-14 notice was due 04-01-14 according to the lease.  No forwarding address was provided for our client to send the Security Deposit Itemization Form so it was sent to the rented address.  We obtained their new address from the post office after mailing a letter to the rented address.  Attached is a copy of their lease Agreement and Security Deposit Itemization Form.  The $54.28 debt is valid and to resolve this matter full payment is required

Consumer Response: Dear ********* ***********

***** and I did everything by the book & Lease. ****** ****** was at fault.

We had a meeting with ****** ******, Jan. 2013 about transfering to an upper apt. he said he would get on it right away.

Feb. I asked ****** about the apt. he said he was working on it, from then on a least 3-4 times a month I would ask ****** same thing every time I'm working on it this went on thru Mar. Then he said he would have one ready close to April 1st, he knew I had health problems, C.O.P.D. So he told us we could start moving things  buy April 1st so I would not have to rush. April 1st I asked ****** if he was ready, he said I'm working on it. I said look ****** we heard it for months now. I have to turn my 30 day notice in April 1st. He said don't worry about it. Finally we had enough that's why our 30 day notice was turned in on April 8th. He was just leading us on, on purpose. That's not good mangment. Our rent was payed for the whole month of April. We left May 1st. We are not paying eight days of rent for May, when we were not there.

Dear ********* **********,

We were not on the property May 1st - May 8th. We don't owe any rent for these days. ****** was told back the last week of March. If he didn't have an upper apt. we would be moving. About the 3rd week of May we were driving by. The apt had already been rented. We saw people moving in. There is only four apt. in the building. Ours was on the bottom floor. They already rented it, their not losing anything. They need to just drop this matter. It dosen't exsist.

Sincerely,
**** ******

P.S. I also talked to ****** ****** on the phone May 5th about the deposit, he said we would recieve a letter with the deposit in 30 days. He could have asked me for the address, but he didn't.

If ****** ****** had no intentions of putting us in an upper apt. he should have let us know before April 1st so I could turn in my 30 day notice.

Also we had a fordwarding address, all he had to do was use our old address, we recieved all our mail, this seems like another excuse for not contacting us, noone else had problems with our address. He got 299.00 out of us, so I think it's done.

Sincerely yours,

*** * **** ******

555.00 April 1st 13 Rent
200.00 Pet Dep.
 99.00 Move In Dep.
854.00 Total

We owe nothing

P.S. One thing we have learned from this *** ****** dose not put anything in writing. Also between then and owners in ********** they can't tell the truth, I called owners, several times leaving messages, and my phone no. No one ever returned my calls. But the supervisor swears she called me and left messages on my phone (not true) my phone (works).

Work orders not completed back the first of June, put a work order in for kitchen window, locked can't open, right side lock broke.

July 9th when storm came in called the office at 4:45 p.m. to report my shed was damaged. But no one answered, because the elec. was out. Sat. July 13th went to office, Tabby said she got my message about the shed, so I asked her when somebody could look at it. She said she would put in a work order. July 22nd, still no one has looked at the shed. My stuff is getting wet from the rain, can't bring it inside, because I don't want the apt to smell.

12/19/13 "Damage to shed was finally fixed" but not our stuff we lost. "This is nothing compared to what" we lived and put up with.

Regards,

***** * ***** ******

Business Response: **** ****** rejection does not change our position. Mr. & Mrs. ****** did not provide a full 30 days notice so 8 days rent is owed.   The charges of $54.28 stand; however, we have indicated the account as highly disputed and no further collection efforts will be made.  Our client, ****** ****, will retain the security deposit.  We consider the matter closed.

Consumer Response: Consumer contacted BBB accepting business response and acknowledging matter is resolved.

6/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well let me start by stating that i am being charged for something that was settled in a court appearance after the fact the unit was not being occupied due to me being in jail.My girlfriend moved the things out and turned in keys and during the court appearance it was agreed upon that I WOULD NOT have to deal with this situation. Fabco who is representing ****** * ********** have everything all wrong there charging me for months that was all ready settled in court and outragous fees. Even what is on the lease is less than what they charged me in the bill they sent me pls assist me and help with this matter the trash bills was crazy the carpet bill was crazy i wasnt even there.Thank you ****** ********

Desired Settlement: For this credit debt to be deleted from all three credit bureaus and permanatly removed thank you.

Business Response:

We received a letter dated 03-04-14 from ****** ******* disputing the charges & requesting validation.   A letter of validation was sent 03-18-14.  ****** ******* called & spoke with my assistant, ***** *****, 03-20-14 & explained he was incarcerated & his girlfriend moved his personal belongings out.  He ended the call by saying he would figure out what to do and callback.  On 04-21-14 we had to send a follow up letter as we had not heard from ****** *******.  The complaint is the first we've heard about this debt being resolved in court and a search of the ******** County Municipal Court website had record of an eviction being filed and dismissed, but no resolution was reached regarding unpaid charges.  The debt has been validated & it is our opinion owed by *** *******.  A request to remove this from Experian will not be made.

Consumer Response: These charges are not facts I have the lease and charges lease and charges dosent add up 

Regards,
****** *******

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired FABCO to collect a debt from a previous renter. I was in contact with a *** *****, my last conversation with her was to take my renters to court to collect the 8k they owe me, I agreed to the 50% of recover. It's been over a year and I have not heard back from *** ***** or FABCO about my case, I have sent e-mails stating if I have not heard back from them regarding the status of my case, I would look to hire someone else. I assumed that would get a reply, but has failed. I under the impression that FABCO is not in the business to make money. I had to do most to the work for *** ***** as to location of employment and current address location in order to take them to court. Even though doing a simple credit check would have provided the same results. So me agreeing to pay 50% of recovery to FABCO is over inflated!

Desired Settlement: Either take my renters to court or return all information I have provided so that I can give to another collection agency that will do the work (without me doing the work for them) or recover money due, Also requesting a fast court hearing and proof of filing to the courts. I would also like a reason as to why my inquires were ignored and an agreement to only 20% of recover for payment since they had this case over 2 years with any results. I want a judgment on the defendants and payment.

Business Response: ******* ****** submitted a collection account against 4 renters who shared one of her units.  The account was sent to us in 10-11 and there was a problem with our scanning so we requested the paperwork be resubmitted to us 02-12, which we never received.  She did contact our office requesting we sue; however, we had no employment information on two and the others needed better employment to garnish their wages.  This was discussed with *** ******.  All 4 accounts have been closed so *** ****** may pursue the debt with a different agency. The information submitted to the credit report will be removed since the accounts are no longer being collected by FABCO.

Consumer Response:

They are lying,  They recieved my documnents more than twice.  First time when I opened the collection and then again 6 months later around April 2012(via Fax)  when ** ****** called me to tell me that they had a systems issue and they lost all of my documents,  and again on 8/23/2012(Doc Scan Via-e-mail) when I called to follow-up in June or July  2012 to follow up and she stated she never received the fax.   I followed up with *** ****** to make sure she recieved them and she confirmed that she did.   When I last spoke to her I told her where Jake Brush was working and still working as of today,   She told she would start the paper work to take him to court, and I never heard from her again.   I was never told this file was closed and that they are no longer working on it. 

Please see the attached proof of e-mails.
Regards,
******* ******

3/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer states that a collection agency that is attempting to collect for an apartment that consumer and wife never lived at. The actual renter was a ******* ****** **** *******. The company is Fabco. Consumer's wife never co-signed for this apartment and neither did consumer. The spouse to ******* is ***** ******** ***** ******. The collection agency wants to make consumer and wife responsible for this debt. Initially the debt was $8,000.00, but now they are asking for $5403.20. The apartment was rented back in 2008. Consumer and wife only knew these people from a church. Consumer no longer has the address to the responsible party. Consumer sent supplier the address of how to reach the renters. The renters were evicted from the apartments. ****** listed ****** and consumer's wife (********* ***** as a reference Consumer has been speaking to a *** ******. Supplier can also be reached at ###########. *** ****** is asking for consumer's social security

Desired Settlement: Consumer wants supplier to cease any collection action against his wife.

Business Response: FABCO has closed the account against ********* *****  Although she signed an application to be the guarantor for ******* ****** **** ******* and ***** ******** ***** ****** (her daughter and son-in-law) the lease agreement was not signed by ********* *****  A request to delete the trade line from Experian will be submitted. 

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have asked Fabco to please furnish proof of debt for items they are stating that I owe. I have been told no by more than on individual and that I needed to send in a notarized page with my name both printed and signed five times, the alphabet, and my numbers. I am not really sure what this has to do with sending validation of debt. If you are reporting this to my credit and it is in dispute, per the FTC, if a consumer request validation of debt of an item that is in dispute you are required to furnish these items. I took the liberty of contacting the apartments that they stated I owed to. They all confirmed that though they had my name in their system my social and other information was no consistent and therefore not my debt. ******** informed me that she was going to call them and confirm this which helps but does not resolve the problem. Calling to confirm with a company is not a valid way of validating debt to a consumer. I would like proper debt validation immediately.

Desired Settlement: I would like Fabco to Immediately send me validation of all my debts that they are saying I owe. For the apartments I would like the full original application including My full name, Social, address, with the date clearly showing at the top and any other pertinent information including a full signed lease. If you cannot provide these items for debt you are claiming that I owe, I would like every last one of these items removed from my credit report and would like an itemized letter confirming.

Business Response: We provided full validation of all 6 open collections we hold against ******** ****** 10-29-13.  There are slight variations in some of the information; however, Ms. ****** has not provided documentation requested to assist in determining if all debts belong to her.  A copy of our letter with out all of the enclosures is attached for review.  Once we have received all of the information we requested in our letter from ******** ******, we will be able to move forward with our investigation.

11/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FABCO is attempting to collect on a purposed debt for an Apartment community. I have spoken with various representatives numerous times and noted that the amount and time frames represented were not correct. I was not living at the apartment after my lease ended. I sent a debt validation letter requesting a detailed listing of the supposed charges on July 3rd. They returned a copy of my lease that began 12/29/06 and ended 1/31/08.

Yet they are proposing that I owe an additional 3 months (after lease ended) of rent w/water, and over $1100 in cleaning charges! Which is absolutely absurd due to the when I returned the keys to the apartment manager the apartment had not been damaged. During the validation time frame they were still attempting to collect on the debt. They are reporting this inaccurate information to the credit bureau's and have been unhelpful in reaching a resolution when speaking to them by phone. They continue to want to set up payment arrangements without acknowledging the inaccuracies. I am interested in putting this whole fiasco behind me. And cannot do so due to FABCO's current policies.

Desired Settlement: Accept the $729.00 I acknowledge I owe and remove the item from the three credit bureau's with no reinserting after the agreement.

Business Response: We apologize for not responding sooner; our client, *** ****, had to determine if a computer file was available because all paper files were destroyed in a fire.  The computer shows ****** ******** moved out of 4***** ****** *** April 10, 2008, with over three months delinquent rent. *** ********'s charges have been reduced to rent through her move-out date minus her security deposit since we cannot produce inspection sheets to document the charges.  Her new balance owed is $1,990.00.  We must decline the $729.00 settlement offer, but once the $1,990.00 is paid we will remove the item from her credit.  Please request *** ******** contact the Collection Manager, *** *****, at ###-###-#### or his assistant, ***** *****, at ###-###-#### to discuss payment of the debt.

11/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer has a complaint against Fabco. He paid off a debt with his landlord that was sent to their collection agency. The original creditor informed Fabco that the debt was paid for, but they continue to send him letters.

Desired Settlement: He wants them to stop contacting him.

Business Response: ***** ****** did pay $50.00 of the $356.99 owed to our client, ****** **** leaving a balance of $306.99.  Neither *** ****** or our client have record of any additional payments.  Our client has verified he still owes $306.99. 

11/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is very unprofessional I do not owe any money to this company or its client. They put this account on my credit without my knowledge and never has sent any correspondence into relation to this account. My next step is to obtain legal counsel to sue this company for damages. Account#####

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to delete this account out of there system and from my credit reports.

Business Response: We have received each of ***** *******'s letters; however, he wrote cease and desist.  When an individual requests we cease and desist we code the account as disputed and do not reply per the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.  Should *** ******* request complete validation of the debt we would respond accordingly.

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ******* ********** Bureau and I have been in contact, and I agreed to settle with them.Upon requesting a receipt to prove settlement, they strongly refused any such proof of payment; the FABCO employee I spoke with insisted I rely only on an automated phone call to check whether or not they considered the debt paid.This, in addition to reading previous complaints against them on the BBB website, has led me to question the legitimacy of their business practice, as well as where they get their numbers from to levy a claim against me.

Desired Settlement: Proper explanation and proof of source of debt. Receipt to prove payment of debt is absolutely necessary.

Business Response: We have no account on **** ******* and we do not collect on student loans.  Obviously has the wrong agency.  Our official name is FABCO and were fka ******* ********** Bureau, Inc.  There is an agency in WI with a similar name ******* ********** Company at ###-###-####.  She needs to see what agency contacted her.


4/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted shortly after arriving home from deployment (May 2011) by FABCO about a debt they were collecting from when I lived at ****** ***** Apts from 9/08-1/09. The charges against me were not accurate so I've asked several times for any proof of why the fees were assessed and why the cost was so much. After my phone conversations nothing was accomplished, so I took to written correspondence and eventually retained a lawyer. I deny the charges of rent for most of the period they are collecting because a new tenant moved in w/in 2 months & deny the cleaning and repair charges because teh apt was left in excellent condition after only 4 months of occupancy.

Desired Settlement: Waive debt & remove from credit report as I have been trying to resolve this for over 2 years and have even made settlement offers, yet they have never provided any proof. Note: Tenant law is misrepresented in the reply letter from FABCO.

Business Response: ******* ***** lease a unit from our client, ****** *****, from 08-09-08 to 08-31-09.  After he vacated prior to the lease term expiration, a new tenant moved in 05-01-09.  He is being billed for March and April 2009 rent and other miscellaneous charges.  At this time we will waive all charges except for rent, give him full credit of the security deposit, and accept $1,152.00 as full payment of the debt.  This is considerably less than the $1,500.00 ******* ***** offered as settlement on June 28, 2012.  Once payment has been received and fully processed we will request Experian remove the trade line from his credit history.

Consumer Response: As we have discussed in the past, ***** ******** has included past due rent in his bankrupty filing.  This would leave me to owe my half of the outstanding rent.  at 726 per month x 1/2= $363 per month.  For two months March and April the total would be $726. From this total subtract the 300 deposit bringing it to $426.  Furthermore, my counter offer will reflect the $250 legal retainer fee I was forced to incurr regarding this matter, paid 10/10/2012.  At this time I offer $176 to clear the debt provided all negative remarks and history be removed from all reporting credit agencies.  With regards to the comparison of my previous offer of $1500, that goes back to the first conversation I had with **** ****, account collector around the timeframe of June 2011.  That offer was made in hopes of avoiding a long drawn out process, stress, and legal fees. Obviously, these circumstances were not avoided, but more importantly the offer was rescinded when it was not accepted durng that initial conversation. The June 2012 date is not accurate, it has been nearly 2 years since that offer was made.  It is still my intent to resolve this matter in a fair way, however I continue to refuse to pay for false charges and fees that have no basis, as well as my former roommate's half of the rent which has been included in his filing of bankruptcy.  I hope to hear back soon as to your decision/ response.



Regards,

Jeffrey Cipro






























Consumer Response:

To whom it may concern,

I am sorry for the delay as I have been waiting for response from my lawyer about sending any correspondence or documents they have on file.  Unfortunately, they have not yet responded to my emails so I will attach the only correspondence I have between them and FABCO, the company with whom the complaint is filed against.  I have also requested a copy of the lease and any move in/move outinspection from ****** *****, but they will not send me a copy.  These documents in particular especially the move out inspection and any evidence of charges, receipts, etc. I have requested several times over the past 2 years from both the collection agency FABCO and ****** ***** Apartments to no avail.  Both agencies have been uncooperative in providing any evidence of these charges that I dispute.  Feel free to contact me via phone at ###-###-#### or email at ******@gmail.com

Thank you for your time,

 

Business Response: The FDCPA prevents us from discussing the account with anyone other than ******* *****'s attorney.  It is obvious from his last response an attorney is still involved. Further correspondence can only be directed to the attorney until we receive a letter from the attorney stating he no longer represents ******* ***** in this matter.

2/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fabco is failing to update credit bureaus of paid debt and failing to send proof to me and mortgage lender as well.

Desired Settlement: Update paid in full debt to creit agencies.

12/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company fabco in columbus ohio sent us a very informal piece of paper that just said my fiances old apartment complex on it and a number around $1,500 dollars. No discription just that we owe this amount of money and we should pay it no questions asked or they report us to a credit bureau. When we have no clue what these charges are for and we ask for something explaining them or proof that we actually owe this, they call and harass her at work. We have no agreement to pay this money to anyone nothing stateing we owe it, but we ask for proof befor we pay and we just get slapped in the face and still are expected to pay it. I'm in military training out of state, what are we supposed to do? Are we supposed to let them falsely report to a credit bureau, send them money without knowing anything about it, let them continue to harass my fianc at work? Just do whatever they please? Or can I just get proof of these charges and we'll take it up with the original company if they are real.

Desired Settlement: The matter to be dropped. We had no information partaning to these charges until this letter no agreement to pay them, and no contracts stateing anything about charges. We've been away from that complex for 7-8 months and nothing has come up until now.

Business Response: ****** ******* does not have an account with our company; therefore, we will not address his complaint.  Had he been his fiance's attorney or husband we would have been able to discuss the account; however, this was not the case.  Should she write or call requesting the information, we will respond directly to her.  

11/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a current collection with a former apartment complex. I attempted to dispute this with both FABCO as well as the ******** County court system in regards to the amount due. I still feel that it is unfair, but I currently owe for the former apartment complex. When I contacted FABCO in regards to this, I was advised that as long as I made the payment arrangement with them on the dates that I provided, then the account would not be placed on my credit. Unfortunately, it has been reported to ******** and not the other two credit bureau agencies. I feel that it is an unfair practice to do so and was advised by FABCO that they do reported as derrogatory. I feel that if I have continuously made a payment in regards to this debt after disputing the claim, then I feel that it is an obligation for FABCO to keep their word especially if you are keeping yours. I mailed in my payments on the 15th of the month and the last day of the month. I have disputed this account several times since then. As long as I am making the payments and contacting the collection agency that it was made and to advise the mailing time, then it should not be reported to the credit bureau as promised in the beginning. That is all that I am requesting for.

Desired Settlement: I want to have the account removed from my credit report especially if I have continued making the payments and willing to settle the account despite the circumstances. I was told that it would not be reported, but that was not the case.

Business Response: We have reviewed the notes on ***** *****' account and there is no indication she was told the trade line would be held from her credit report.  In an effort of cooperation, once her ******** ** *** **** debt is paid in full we agree to delete both ******** ** *** **** and ****** **** Apartments trade lines from ********.  It may take 30-90 days from the request date and should the information appear on any other credit-reporting agency ***** ***** will have to make direct contact.

7/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Description:
She was calling about an eviction that she had filed on her last year by FABCO and took them to court
and got it dismissed because she had never lived there but her daughter did and since they could not
get anything from her they went after the MOM. That is why it was dismissed. The address in question
was **** ******* **** ********* ** 
******** ***** ******----###-###-####
Now it is on her credit and she cannot get it off.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution:
She wants this off her credit report and as she has given them a copy of the dismissal and they knew it
had been dismissed.

Business Response:

We searched of our eviction database and found no filing of  from ******* ******* therefore, we are unaware of the entry she is referencing.  FABCO does not place evictions on credit reports; we only report evictions when one of our clients screens a prospective tenant or an individual pulls a copy of their rental report.

7/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fabco collecting improperly on a collection that has been included in Bankruptcy, after notification CO. still reported improper info to Credit bureau ON April 5th 2012 I received notice that Fabco (Federal Collection Bureau INC. Was collecting on a debt that was included in my personal bankruptcy in 2007-08. The file # is ********, Re: ***** **** Properties, LLC in the amount of $8899.68. On or about the 16th of April I spoke with a **** **** around 9 am Eastern standard time, regarding the collection. I informed Mr. **** that FABCO was collection on a debt that of which was included in a chapter 7 Bankruptcy in 2007. He applogized and assured me that he would remove the collection and update all parties including the credit bureaus if they had been notified. As of May 7th 2012 I have received nothing showing this collection is closed and I was notified by my Credit monitoring service that a Negative collection has been reported to the credit bureau's. When I log into my credit monitoring account I did in fact see that Fabco has reported negative information to my credit report. This is not in compliance with the Fair credit reporting act of 1978 and Fabco (****) has not completed what he led me to believe he would. My exact concerns are in fact what happened. Fabco Still reported the improper collection to my credit bureau. Fabco was notified in April that his was included in a bankruptcy and I was informed that it would not hit my credit and that all records would be updated.

Desired Settlement: Update the credit bureau with in 30 days or as the law states. Send me a letter acknowledging this has been removed and that all bureau's, collecting party etc... has been notified.

Business Response: The debt in question was not 100% resolved under the individuals Chapter 7.

The lease was signed 11-09-07 with an effective date of 12-1-07 and the Chapter 7 was not filed until 11-27-07.

He & his wife cannot be held to the terms of the lease, but are responsible for all other charges. Since the bankruptcy has been discharged we will be sending him a balance letter with the new amount due and requesting the credit bureau correct the amount of debt listed. Should he wish to receive detailed information he will have to contact our office.

Consumer Response: The amount included in the Bankrupcy was $14,000. I have the paper work from the BK attorney and would be more than happy to let my attorney deal with them. The final discharge date was not until January of 2008.

Business Response: On June 1, 2012, the ***** **** Properties debt update was transmitted to ********.  Once ******** processes the update the account will show resolved under Chapter 7 Bankruptcy.  The balance owed prior to the bankruptcy discharge will reflect $4249.68.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:  No matter the amount you cannot collect.  I have spoken to my Bankruptcy attorney and he has clearly explained that his is not collectable and we will re-open and file on the new amount.  Not to mention the unethical business practices of the Fed adjustment bureau collection company.  Which has clearly not been addressed thus far.  Its their problem not mine.  FABCO purchased an old debt that was included in a bk. 

Regards,































4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on 3/27/12 to inquire about my account and documents I was waiting to be sent. I spoke to ********** and she was VERY rude. I was professional never once did I raise my voice. I was unable to talk without her cutting me off. I felt very disrespected. I understand they are a collection agency, but I'm calling to pay my bill not to hide from it. She seemed as if she did not want to be there, or she doesn't enjoy her job and she wanted to share her misery with anyone who calls.

Desired Settlement: All I want are more professional and friendly people to deal with when I call about my account. I dont think thats too much to ask for.

Business Response: Our apologies if Ms.****** felt disrespected, this is 100% discouraged by our company. We will have the Collection Supervisor, ****** be her representative and he can be reached at (***) XXX-XXXX. It is requested she contact Mr. ****** at her earliest convenience.

2/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided to rent my house because I could not sell it. My realtor referred me to the Fabco Group website to do credit checks on prospective tenants. I printed out the application, signed and returned it with a check for $25.00 on October 24th. The approval process for me to screen tenants was supposed to take 3-5 days. On November 4th I received a message on my answering machine from "****" saying I had to be a business or realtor to do credit checks and have an "office inspection." Who has an office inspection? I returned the call and said obviously this wasn't for me and they should just return my money. Without credit checks their service was useless to me. On November 11th I called again and said I expected to hear from them and to have my money returned. (****) called me back on the 13th and assured me the money would be sent first thing Monday the 14th. It has now been two more weeks without hearing from them or receiving my money. I would like the $25.00 to be returned immediately. Their web site either does not specify the requirements or certainly does not make them clear. They have a lot of my personal information and I have nothing.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Immediate refund of $25.00

Business Response: (****) said she personally put the check into the mail back to her. She suggests that she check with her bank. wanted ot join the service for tenanat screenings. when she learned she would have to go through an office inspection she said forget it. the check was never deposited and her membership paperwork has been shredded.