Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

EIS offers collection of deceased debt and specialty recovery functions for creditors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Estate Information Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Estate Information Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 21
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Estate Information Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 13, 2002 Business started: 07/13/2000 in OH Business incorporated 07/13/2000 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Pickens, President/COO Mr. Andrew C Hall Esq., Legal Compliance Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Andrew C Hall Esq., Legal Compliance Officer
Principal: Mr. John Pickens, President/COO
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
EISI
Additional Information

From the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), the nation's consumer protection agency comes teh following tips called, "Paying the Debts of a Deceased Relative: Who Is Responsible?" After a relative dies, the last thing grieving family members want are calls from debt collectors asking them to pay a loved one's debts. As a rule, those debts are paid from the deceased person's estate. Family members typically are not obligated to pay the debts of a deceased relative from their own assets. What's more, family members - and all consumers - are protected by the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), which prohibits debt collectors from using abusive, unfair, or deceptive practices to try to collect a debt. Under the FDCPA, a debt collector is someone who regularly collects debts owed to others. This includes collection agencies, lawyers who collect debts on a regular basis, and companies that buy delinquent debts and then try to collect them. Does a debt go away when the debtor dies? No. The estate of the deceased person owes the debt. If there isn't enough money in the estate to cover the debt, it typically goes unpaid. But there are exceptions to this rule. You may be responsible for the debt if you: co-signed the obligation; live in a community property state, such as California; are the deceased person's spouse and state law requires you to pay a particular type of debt, like some health care expenses; or were legally responsible for resolving the estate and didn't comply with certain state probate laws. If you have questions about whether you are legally obligated to pay a deceased person's debts from your own assets, talk to a lawyer. Who has the authority to pay the deceased person's debt out of his or her assets? The person named in a will who is responsible for settling a deceased person's affairs is called the executor. If there is no will, the court may appoint an administrator, personal representative, or universal successor, and give them the authority to settle the affairs. In some states, others (or other people) may have that authority, even if they haven't been formally appointed by the court. Whom may a debt collector talk to about a deceased person's debt? Under the FDCPA, collectors can contact and discuss the deceased person's debts with that person's spouse, parent(s) (if the deceased was a minor child), guardian, executor, or administrator. Also, the FTC permits collectors to contact any other person authorized to pay debts with assets from the deceased person's estate. Debt collectors may not discuss the debts of deceased persons with anyone else. If a debt collector contacts a deceased person's relative, what can they talk about? Collectors are allowed to contact third parties (such as a relative) to get the name, address, and telephone number of the deceased person's spouse, executor, administrator, or other person authorized to pay the deceased's debts. Collectors usually are permitted to contact such third parties only once to get this information. The main exception is if a collector reasonably believes the information provided initially was inaccurate or incomplete, and that the third party now has more accurate or complete information. But, collectors cannot say anything about the debt to the third party. Even if I am authorized to pay a deceased person's debt, can I stop a debt collector from contacting me about the debt? Yes. To exercise this right, you must send a letter to the collector stating that you do not want the collector to contact you again. A telephone call is not enough. Make a copy of your letter for your files, send the original by certified mail, and pay for a "return receipt" so you can document what the collector received and when. Once the collector gets your letter, he cannot contact you again except to confirm that there will be no further contact or that he or the creditor plans to take a specific action, like filing a lawsuit to collect the debt. Keep in mind that even if you stop collectors from communicating with you, you are still responsible for the debt. For Complaints and More Information Report any problems you have with a debt collector to your state Attorney General's office at naag.org and the Federal Trade Commission at ftccomplaintassistant.gov. Many states have their own debt collection laws that are different from the federal FDCPA. Your Attorney General's office can help you determine your rights under your state's law.

Industry Tips
Credit - BBB General Statement For All Debt, Credit TOBs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Estate Information Services, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3435 Stelzer Rd Ste 320

    Columbus, OH 43219

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
5/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On two occasions I have received telephone calls from your office regarding an outstanding balance with ******** *******, in the name of my husband who died in October of last year. On both of those occasions I have informed your representative that not only is nothing owed, but the account we had with ******** ******* is closed. Thereafter, upon receiving two notices regarding this issue from you in the mail, I contacted ******** *******. They verified that nothing is owed and the account is closed. They suggested that this could possibly be a fraud. Please do not contact me again.

Desired Settlement: Please do not contact me again.

Business Response:

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception.

EIS provides deceased debt collection services for our clients throughout the United States. In this particular instance, on January 19, 2016, our client placed an account that had been held by the late *** *********. When the account was placed, we did not know whether a probate estate had been opened, and if so, who was serving as the executor. We sent our standard location letter asking that we be informed of any estate information. As a result of that letter, Mrs. ********* called our office on January 22, 2016. On the call she did identify herself as the proper party for EIS to speak with regarding her late husband’s business affairs. She stated that she believed the account had been paid, but that she would check her records and let us know. At no time did she state there was any fraud involved. On January 22, 2016, we mailed an initial communication letter to Mrs. ********* because the FDCPA requires that we do so within five (5) days of speaking to her regarding the debt. The letter clearly states that she is not personally liable for the debt, and that only her late husband’s estate is liable. She was also told this on the telephone during the previously mentioned telephone call.

The complainant’s version of the facts of this matter differs from EIS’s. Regardless, the matter has been closed in our office, as well as at our client. Mrs. ********* will receive no further communication regarding this account. EIS apologizes for any confusion Mrs. ********* experienced, but we did nothing wrong in this matter.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

12/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** from Estate Information Services ###-###-####/Caller ID PH# ###-###-#### keeps calling for my deceased Uncle. First off I have nothing to do with him besides being related by blood. He is my deceased Uncle who unfortunately passed away in 1999. I am not sure why they are calling me, I am his niece. Today they went too far and called my son. My son unfortunately suffered a severe traumatic brain injury along with other injuries and many surgeries in 2013. He is still in recovery and doesn't need someone calling his personal cell phone number. I am not sure how they even got that!!! I am a blood relative, I don't and can't handle anything legally for my deceased Uncle. Besides that fact, I loved him very much and this is very hurtful to have these emotions stirred up at a time in my life where I am dealing with my own personal issues. He passed away over 15 years ago!!!

Desired Settlement: I don't want to receive anymore phone calls from this company. That includes myself and my son!! I would hope that this company would be held more accountable and not allowed to harass individuals that have nothing to do with the deceased person!! Please advise!!

Business Response:

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced 
matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. 

EIS provides deceased debt collection services for our clients throughout the United States. On May 18, 
2015, our client placed an account in the name of **** *********, who had been reported to our client as 
deceased. We did not know the date of death, only that the death had been reported. Sometimes, when an 
account is placed, we know the name and contact information of the person who is handling the final 
affairs for the deceased. In those instances, we make contact with that person. Frequently, however, we 
do not have any information regarding whether a probate estate has been opened, and/or who is handling 
the final affairs. When this occurs, as with this matter, we research telephone numbers to determine 
individuals who may have information regarding the estate or who is handling final affairs. Two of the 
numbers we identified apparently belonged to the Complainant and her son. We certainly had no idea 
about the condition of the Complainant’s son, nor could we possibly know. The calls were made in good 
faith efforts to obtain information. At no time did we ever state or imply that the Complainant or her son 
was liable for any account balance. Except in very limited circumstances, none of which appear to apply 
here, no one is personally liable for another’s debts. 

EIS apologizes for any inconvenience and/or misunderstanding the Complainant has experienced. We 
have coded the account so that Ms. ****** will receive no further communication from us. 

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to 
contact me. 

Very truly yours, 

****** ** **** 
***** ********** *******

6/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My ****** *** loans were turned over to debt collectors Estate Information Services (EIS Collections). ****** *** had them offer me a reduced interest rate program that required me to pay $1000.00 up front, then 3 payments of $115.00, and then my $115.00 payments for the remainder of my loans would only have 1% interest until paid in full as long as I did not miss any payments. After I paid the $1000.00 and the 3 $115.00 payments they still continued to charge regular interest for 6 more months instead of the 1%. I called EIS and they advised it would be corrected and the $378.62 would be applied to my principle. That was a year ago and still hasn't been done and now they are taking the wrong interest out again and late fees. I called EIS again with no results. Please help me they are not adhering to the contract I signed with them. Thanks You

Desired Settlement: I am hoping if you contact them they will actually credit the $378.62 of interest they owe me for last year and the $59.48 from last month for the interest and the late fee. I signed a valid contract with EIS on be half of ****** *** and they should be obligated to follow it. Thank You

Business Response:

****** *********** ********* ***  *** *** ***********  **** *** **** ************* ** *****  **** ******** ****  ***** ********  ***********************  ********* ** ****  ****

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. 

A review of this matter indicates that *** ***** has two (2) student loans. She did enter our client’s Reduced Interest Program (“RIP”) as she states in her complaint. However, due to a system error on our part, only one of the loans was entered into the RIP. As a result, her payment was only applied to the one loan and not both. We have contacted our client and are working with them to make the proper adjustments to reflect the correct balances for both loans. 

On behalf of EIS, let me apologize for the inconvenience that *** ***** may have experienced. We are working hard to correct the problem and will be in contact with her once we have done so. 

Thank you for your attention to, and cooperation in, this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. 

Very truly yours, 
****** ** **** 
****** ** ***** ***** ****** ****** 
***** ********** ******* 

Consumer Response:

They are not abiding by the terms of the loan repayment agreement I entered into with them to payback my student loans. I have a copy of the agreement if you need it I can fax it. This issue is over a year old and they keep saying they are working on it but have done nothing. Please help me.

I want then to fix the problem and apply all of the overcharged interest to my principal like it should have been.

Business Response:

Dear *** ***********

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLCYs ("EIS") response to the above-referenced
matter. I apologize for our delayed response. We were awaiting information from our client and I was
out of the office last week at a seminar. We strive to respond to complaints timely.

Back in September 2014 when this complaint first arose, EIS indicated that the problem was being fixed.
We did fix an issue internally and referred the matter to our client, where the majority of the corrective
action needed to occur. *** ***** was very patient during this process. We believed that the situation
had been addressed and corrected. It was not until this second complaint came in that we realized that
work had not been completed to correct the problem. Our client assures us that the issue was corrected
two (2) weeks ago, but that it might be another two weeks or more before *** ***** sees the changes
appear. This is due to processes regarding billing cycles. EIS addressed *** *****'s concerns
immediately. However, we should have been more diligent in following up with our client to ensure that
promised actions were taken to fix the problem. EIS accepts responsibility for not being more proactive,
and we again apologize for the inconvenience that *** ***** may have experienced. If by May 1,201 5,
*** ***** has not seen the correction on letters sent, she may contact me directly.

Thank you for your attention to, and cooperation in, this matter. Should you have any questions, please
do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,
** ** ****** * ***** ***** ****** ******
***** ********** *******

Consumer Response:  They have not resolved anything their client ******* is still charging me interest they say I owe because EIS did not add both loans to the program I entered into with them for the reduced interest.  I can fax you a copy of *******'s response that shows they are still charging me interest for the loan EIS forgot to add to the program.  They say they are working on this but do not call me back and I am still being penalized for their mistake.  If you read the agreement I mailed you it states after my one time payment of $1000.00 and 3 consecutive payment of $115.00 I would only be charged .01% interest for both of my loans for the remainder of the loan.  That was the agreement but that is not what they are doing.    Please do not close this out until this is resolved.  Thanks

Regards,
******** *****

Business Response:

EIS stands by the response we made last month.  This matter rests with our client.  We did report this matter to the client when it was first brought to our attention, and we have been waiting for them to fix it.  As stated previously, if *** ***** has not seen resolution by may 1, I ask her to contact me personally, and I will contact the client myself on her behalf.  Thank you.

****** ***** ***** ********** *******

Consumer Response:

EIS made the mistake and is doing nothing and ******* advised they are not going to abide by the contract I signed with EIS.  Am I wasting my time filing this with the BBB because it seems like we are getting no where even though I have provided you proof they are not abiding by the contract I entered into with them.   They advise you they are doing something and they are not I am still being charged more interest than the contract states and you can verify that so why don't you call them out on that?  This has been going on too long and the BBB was established to make businesses accountable to consumers so please help me!!!!!  

Regards,
******** *****

Business Response:

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. We were again waiting on a response from our client. Information has been received.

First, I want to state that I personally spoke with Ms. ***** in early May. I honestly explained to her what our system was showing and I asked her to provide us with information to document what she was seeing from her side that was not correct. I told her that we wanted to resolve the problem. Her response was to again contact the BBB, and, in essence, accuse me of lying to her. EIS has always worked in good faith to try to resolve this issue. Regardless, ******* has provided us with information, and we are in a position to hopefully explain the current state of this matter.

The original problem was caused when the second of Ms. *****’s loans was not properly enrolled in the reduced interest program. In March 2015, that problem was resolved, and the enrollment was backdated to June 1, 2012, the date the first loan was enrolled. From the date of enrollment to August 2014, all of Ms. *****’s payments were being applied to the first loan; the second loan was not receiving any payments at all due to the way it was set up in the system. Whether this was caused by EIS or our client, it does not matter. It was not handled properly, and we can certainly understand Ms. *****’s frustration.

Starting in August 2014, Ms. *****’s monthly payments were successfully split between the two loans. In February 2015, two adjustments were made to the second loan - $745.22 in interest was removed, and $267.56 was removed from principal. Ms. ***** is still responsible for paying the interest on the second loan that accrued prior to enrollment in the reduced interest program. The adjustment for interest referenced above was made to reflect the amount of accrued interest as of June 1, 2012. The payment “split” for the second loan will continue to apply to interest until the interest accrued prior to June 1, 2012 is paid. After that time, payments will be applied to principal, as it is with the first loan. I have attached documentation that ******* provided.

Thank you for your attention to, and cooperation in, this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.Very truly yours,

****** ** ***** ***** ****** ****** ***** ********** *******

5/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been calling my son's phone numerous times a day looking for a dead relative. They continue to call, and leave rude messages on my son's voicemail, after continued emails to stop contacting.

Desired Settlement: For them to stop contacting me and my 14 year old son, for someone we do not or have never associated with.

Business Response:

Dear *** **********:

As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. I apologize for the slight delay
in our response.

EIS manages accounts for our clients when the primary cardholder dies. In this particular matter, we received an
account that had belonged to the late ***** *** ****. When an account is placed at our office, sometimes we know
that a probate estate has been opened for the deceased person, and who is serving as the personal representative.
Often times, though, we do not know this information. In such cases, we have to conduct research to determine who
may be a likely person who could provide the necessary information. In this matter, we had no information
regarding whether an estate had been opened, and if so, who was serving as the representative. Through skip
tracing, we identified the complainant as a person who would likely be able to provide us with the correct
information. We called three (3) different telephone numbers we believed the complainant had in order to obtain
estate information. We left messages indicating we were looking for the person handling the final affairs of ***** *** ****.

Nothing about the messages was rude or harassing in any way. We left messages at the number ending in
5025 on February 24, March 19, and April 14. We left messages at the number ending in **** on March 19 and
April 14. We left a message at the number ending in **** on April 14. No other messages were left. We did call
the number ending in **** on April 14, but there was no voicemail for that number.

If the complainant does not have any information regarding the late ***** *** ****, it would have been simple for
her to call us and tell us that. In her complaint, she claims to have sent us multiple emails asking us to stop
contacting her. EIS has not received any communication from the complainant, verbally or in writing.

EIS apologizes for any inconvenience the complainant experienced. We have marked all the numbers we called as
do not contact, and the complainant will not receive any additional calls from EIS. We will continue to monitor
the probate court records, and if an estate is opened for ***** *** ****, we will file a claim on behalf of our client.
Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ** ****
***** ********** *******

3/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They call, say I should stay on if I am me, I do, then I am asked to press 1, I do, it hangs up. They call again, so I just hung up acting like it was not me. They call again, I do not push any buttons, it says to hold, it hangs up. I sent them a letter to remove me from there call list twice over the last 4 months. Today, I get another call, same out come.

Desired Settlement: Remove me from your call list. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS FAKE COMPANY

Business Response:

Dear *** ***********

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception.

After investigating the complainant’s allegations, we found that on two (2) occasions, there was a malfunction with our telephone dialer that caused it to not act the way it was supposed to. Calls can be programmed in different manners, and in this case, when the recipient of the call pressed “1” as instructed, it (the call) was supposed to connect to a live person. That did not occur in *** *******’s case on two different days. We have fixed the problem, and it should not happen again.

*** ******* has asked us to remove him from our “call list”. We are not a telemarketing company. EIS is a debt collection agency and *** *******’s account was placed here for collection. Nevertheless, we will cease calls to him as requested. In addition, he claims to have contacted us twice by letter asking the calls to stop. We have received no correspondence from him whatsoever. In the complaint, he states he spoke with us on July 25, 2014. That is not possible, since we did not receive the account until October 30, 2014. In addition, in his complaint, *** ******* advises “DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS FAKE COMPANY.” This statement is false and is defamatory. There is nothing “fake” about EIS. We have been in business for many years. In addition, we sent the complainant a letter advising him the account had been placed at EIS, so he knew or should have known we are a real business.

If *** ******* is interested in resolving the matter, he can contact us. We will not contact him again. However, ignoring the situation will not make it go away.
Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ** ***** ***** ****** ******
***** ********** *******

Consumer Response:  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. They do not mention what debt is due or for what real company I might owe as I have never done business with this company that I personally deem as fake and dishonest and this response is generic. As I was answering, why didn't they just have a real human call me instead of the machine they know is not working?  I do appreciate a response and I am not sure how there phone system can be in error for so long without them fixing it

Regards,
***** *******

2/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Estate Information Services (EIS) has been calling me about a debt I owe ********. I agreed during a telephone conversation on 1/21/2015, taped by EIS that I pay $200 on 1/26/2015 with the balance to be paid by 2/28/2015. I processed a $200 payment through *** **** on 1/23/2015. On 1/25, I received a letter from EIS requesting me to authorize their making withdrawals from my bank account which I DID NOT GIVE. Notwithstanding keeping my end of the agreement and acting in a timely fashion, EIS raided my bank account, without (1) a court order and (2) without my authorization to EIS withdrawing funds. This is my bank account (and the only bank account I have) in which my social security benefits are deposited directly. Social security benefits are protected by federal law. Even courts my not garnish such funds.EIS broke the agreement we had and broke the law.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the moneys illegally withdrawn.Public apology in a visible spot on their website for acting in an illegal fashion.

Business Response:

Dear *** ***********

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. I apologize for the slight delay in our response.

The issue in this matter was one of complete misunderstanding between EIS and *** ********. He called into our office and made arrangements to settle an account that had been placed here for collection. He indicated he wanted to pay by check, with the first payment on January 26, 2015, and the balance to be paid by February 26, 2015. *** ******** provided his account information, routing number, and confirmed the amount of the payment and payment date. EIS reasonably believed *** ******** was authorizing an electronic check; otherwise, we would have not asked for his account information to take the payment. Based on the information we had, EIS processed an electronic payment, and sent an authorization form to *** ******** to obtain his written consent to process the February payment electronically. Clearly, it was *** ********’s intent to mail a paper check, which he did do, on or about the same day. We then received this complaint stating that EIS had taken funds from his account without consent.

EIS apologizes for any inconvenience the complainant experienced. We in no way intentionally acted improperly. We mistakenly believed *** ******** wanted to pay electronically, and we believed he understood that fact. On the call, another collector came on the line and verified all the information *** ******** had provided, and confirmed with him that the payment was going to be dated for that day and we provided a confirmation number. Perhaps we should have done a better job of ensuring *** ******** understood the planned transaction. We have attempted to reach *** ******** by telephone several times this week to inform him that we are returning his funds, but we have been unable to reach him. The electronic payment we received was retuned for insufficient funds, but the paper check he sent was processed. Therefore, we cannot reverse the electronic payment and will be sending him a paper check to refund the $200 he sent in, plus an additional $38.50 for the overdraft charge he apparently incurred. EIS has been in business for several years, in large part because we act ethically and responsibly. We would never knowingly take money from someone’s account without consent. In this case, we honestly believed that consent had been given, and a reasonable person listening to the call recording would likely concur.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you or *** ******** have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ** ****
****** ** ****, ***** ****** ******
***** ********** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
***** ********

12/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father passed away in September and Estate Information Services was assigned to handle his credit card account with **** **** which was issued by ********. When I notified **** **** that he passed away I informed them that I was handling the estate and all contact about the estate should be made to me. Not only has Estate Information Services called my mother about this, but after she spoke with them another agent from their offices contacted my mother's best friend asking her if she knew who was the person handling my father's estate, a violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). This company is reprehensible and I recommend that if you are looking for estate collection services, you look elsewhere as this company is not above violating the law.

Desired Settlement: I want a written apology issued to my mother and her friend. I want the letter to contain what disciplinary actions were taken against the agent assigned to the account. I also want $250 paid to both my mother and her friend. If I do not receive this letter within 30 days of this complaint report I will file suit in Small Claims Court against Estate Information Services seeking $1,000 they are liable for this violation of the FDCPA. I will also be contacting both CitiBank and Home Depot to let them know that this vendor has unethical business practices. My father had several credit cards when he died and I have dealt with several estate collection agencies.

Business Response:

******** *** **** ********* *********** ******** ********** ******* **** ****** ******** ****** **** ****** *** ********* ** ******** ********* ** *** ******** ************ ***** ****** *** ********* *** ********** *** ***

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. I do want to apologize for the delay in our response. I respond to all complaints, and I was out of town at a conference when we received the complaint. Upon my return, we had a client audit which took some time to prepare.EIS provides deceased debt collection services for our clients throughout the United States. In this particular instance, on November 4, 2014, our client placed an account that had been held by the late ******* ******. Sometimes, when we receive an account, we know if a probate estate has been opened, and if so, who is handling the probate estate for the deceased. In those cases, we contact that person directly. Other times, though, we do not have such information, and are required to research contacts who might have information regarding the person who is handling the estate. In this instance, we did not know the identity of the estate representative. We called a couple of different telephone numbers that we believed would lead us to the identity of the proper party. One number we called we believed to belong to the deceased’s surviving spouse. The number actually belonged to an unidentified female friend of the spouse, which we discovered later. The friend attempted to obtain information about the account, but because the friend was not confirmed as the proper party, our agent explained that we could not disclose any details, and that we were looking for the person handling the estate. Subsequently, we did receive a call from the surviving spouse who indicated she was handling matters. She was upset that we were discussing the matter with her friend, but we explained that we did not disclose any details of the account or even that a balance existed. Unless and until we reasonably believe we are speaking with the right party we cannot and do not disclose any information about the account. This is for the protection of the deceased.Despite the Complainant’s allegations, EIS did not violate the FDCPA. In fact, we followed the letter of the law. The Complainant’s lack of understanding of the FDCPA does not mean we violated the law. Regardless, EIS apologizes for any inconvenience and/or misunderstanding the Complainant has experienced. We do understand that an estate will not be opened for the deceased and have notated our file accordingly. There will be no further contact with the family in this matter.
Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Very truly yours

******* ** **** ****** ** ***** ***** ****** ******
***** ********** *******


11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This collection agency is trying to collect money from my late father, ****** ** ****** **, who passed away on July 30, 2014. I ask what the matter was about and they did not want to tell me, nor did they want to explain to me what debts they are trying to collect from me as I am not the one in charge of handling personal and financial matters for my late father.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this company to not contact me about financial or billing matters for my late father as I am not the person in charge of his estate! I also feel like they should not be harassing me about these matters even after I tell them so!

Business Response:

******** *** **** ********* *********** ******** ********** ******* **** ****** ******** ****** **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** *** ********* ** *** ******** ************ ******* **************** *** ********* *** ****** **** 

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception.

EIS provides deceased debt collection services for our clients throughout the United States. In this particular instance, on September 12, 2014, our client placed an account that had been held by the late ****** ******. Sometimes, when we receive an account, we know if a probate estate has been opened, and if so, who is handling the probate estate for the deceased. In those cases, we contact that person directly. Other times, though, we do not have such information, and are required to research contacts that might have information regarding the person who is handling the estate. In this instance, we did not know the identity of the estate representative. We called a couple of different telephone numbers that we believed would lead us to the identity of the proper party. Subsequently, we did speak with the Complainant in an attempt to find out who was handling *** ******’s estate. The Complainant was upset because we did not provide any details regarding the matter. This was because the complainant herself informed us she was not the person handling estate matters. Unless and until we reasonably believe we are speaking with the right party we cannot and do not disclose any information about a particular account. This is for the protection of the deceased.

EIS apologizes for any inconvenience and/or misunderstanding the Complainant has experienced. We do understand that the Complainant is not the correct party in this matter and she will receive no further communication from us. If she does know who is handling her father’s estate, we would appreciate knowing that so we can contact that person.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ** **** ****** ** ***** ***** ****** ******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ####, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  My late father, ****** ****** ** did not have a designated trustee to handle his financial affairs as he did not have any money left to designate to family, thank you.
Regards,
******* ****************

10/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My patents passed away in 2010, The debt this company is trying to collect on was for Capitol One for my parents it was handled through the US Bankruptcy Court over two years ago, This company was advised by my attorney to not contact me as of a federal stay but since that notice from my attorney they have since sent me three letters now to settle on something in which has already been settled.

Desired Settlement: This company needs to contact Capitol One and take it up with them, Their debt was discharged in the US Bankruptcy Court.

Business Response:

****** *********** ********* ***  **** *** **** ************* ** ***** **** ***** ***** ********  ****** ***** ********  **** ***** ********  ********************  ****** *** ****  *****

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. 

EIS provides deceased debt collection services for our clients throughout the United States. In this particular instance, our client placed an account with us that had been held by the late **** ** ***. On June 19, 2012, we received a call from *** ***’s son ******* ***, the complainant here. During that call, ******* *** informed us that the account we had been attempting to collect was included in a bankruptcy and had been discharged. The account should have been coded in our system to reflect that fact. Unfortunately, the agent handling the matter then did not properly code the account, which resulted in additional letters being sent periodically to the complainant. We have corrected the problem, and ******* *** will receive no further communication from us regarding this matter. 

EIS apologizes for any inconvenience the complainant has experienced. 

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. 

Very truly yours, 
****** ** **** 
******************

8/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been making payments through this agency for almost two years now. I originally agreed to make a $1,000.00 down payment to be enrolled in their "reduced interest rate program", which I paid. From there, I have been making monthly payments that are automatically withdrawn from my account each month. I have NEVER received a billing statement from this agency. I only receive a letter each month reminding me they are making the deduction from my account, but no further information... no remaining balances, payments applied, interest and other fees applied, no verification of the reduced interest rate and that it it being applied and calculated correctly, nothing. I find it unethical for any business or agency to collect money from a debtor and not provide a statement regularly outlining payments received, how they were applied, fees charged and balances due. I have paid 1000's of dollars to this agency to attempt to somewhat salvage my credit report from further damage, yet have no idea where I stand with regard to remaining balances, interest rates, etc. I am required every 6 months to renew my automatic payments, and each 6 months I verbalize my request to receive statements, to which I have yet to receive a response and the documentation I have requested. I have submitted email requests as well, all of which are ignored. The only documentation I have regarding this debt are my bank statements, a "reduced interest program" contract (with no verification or documentation that this rate was actually reduced as agreed) and monthly letters reminding me my bank account will be charged.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive monthly statements, each and every month detailing my account, including payments made, how they were applied, interest and other fees charged to my account (including the rate), balance due, dates, account numbers, etc.

Business Response:

****** *********** ********* *** *** *** *********** **** *** **** ************* ** ***** **** *** **** ********* *********** ******** ********** ******* **** ****** ******** ****** **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** *** **** 
Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception.

After review of this matter, *** ****** is at least partially correct in the statements she makes in the complaint. She has been making payments on a series of five (5) student loans. It is also true that EIS has not provided her with any formal billing statements. However, prior to each payment that is made, EIS has sent a letter informing her of the date on which the payment will be deducted from her bank account. These letters are required pursuant to the provisions of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (“FDCPA”). Each of those letters reflects a balance less than the previous month’s letter, which demonstrates that her payments are being applied to the outstanding balance. Nevertheless, we recognize and appreciate her frustration in not receiving more information and have made changes to our system to correct that. By now, *** ****** should have received a payment history showing the application of her payments to the loan balances. Going forward, we will continue to provide this information.

EIS apologizes for the frustration the complainant has experienced and we are committed to satisfying her. Thank you for your attention to, and cooperation in, this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,
****** ** ******** ********** *******

Consumer Response:

While I appreciate the payment history, I still have not received all of the information I requested. The payment history provided contains no information or indication of how my payments are applied each month, what the interest rate is on the account, or how interest is calculated, applied and charged each month. Being that I should be on a "reduced interest rate" program, I think it completely reasonable to want documentation to verify that my account, including interest and any other fees, is being handled and charged accurately.
 
I've included examples of what was provided to me. I don't consider this an "itemized" statement with a running ledger balance, interest fees, billing periods, etc. Also, the verification of debt doesn't indicate if this is the original balance or the current balance, and does not provide any supportive documentation as to the amounts of the debt from the primary/original account. 
Regards,
****** ******

Business Response:

My apologies for the late response.  I was on vacation from July 18 thru July 25.  My understanding is that management at EIS Collections that handle Sallie Mae accounts has been in contact with *** ****** and explained that we are waiting on information from our client.  I am told that *** ****** is satisfied with this and understands that once we receive the information from ****** **** we will provide it to her.  If I am mistaken in this regard, please kindly let me know.  Thank you.

****** ***** ***** ********** *******

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have two private student loans with Sallie Mae that I have been trying to settle for quite some time now. I am currently off work due to a disability and will not return to work until possibly September 2014. I have been off work since 3/14/2014 but have still been trying to handle these private loans. The private loans with Sallie Mae were charged off in 2009 while I was unemployed and unable to pay anything on the account. Since the charge off, I filed bankruptcy (discharged 7/30/2012). I knew that I could not discharge student loan debt and thought that the debt would go back to Sallie Mae. I contacted Sallie Mae and they confirmed that a company by the name of ********** *********** **** was handling the loan. This company was now handling the loan and that all payment plans and settlements should be done through this company. The company had no limitations as to what the settlements can be. Since the debt was charged off and insurance has already been collected to cover Sallie Mae's loss, at this point any money I pay is just extra. I made payment arrangements with ********** *********** **** My contact at ********** *********** **** was ***** *****. I made a settlement for one account and paid $1500 dollars via automatic withdrawals from my checking account. That account, loan number ############## with original amount being $1476.00, should show paid off with settlement. Neither Sallie Mae nor EIS has a record of this settlement and are not showing it paid. At some point, ********** transferred the account back to Sallie Mae and Sallie Mae transferred it EIS. Representatives from Estate Information Services called me and I tried to explain the situation to them, but they kept referring me back to Sallie Mae and Sallie Mae kept referring me back to EIS. I was finally able to work out a payment plan with EIS for my second account which was another Signature Loan (original amount 8770, loan number #######), of which I have currently paid with $1832.76. They have offered me settlements which I could neither afford or were for too much money to be a settlement. Sallie Mae is also not reporting the payment plan with EIS. So on my credit report, it shows that I am not paying Sallie Mae at all and that I am behind on payments which is not true. I think that EIS is just trying to hustle me out of some more money because Sallie Mae does not stand to win anything from their tactics.

Desired Settlement: I would like EIS and Sallie Mae Servicing to report my loan number ######### as paid in full/settlement and to send me a letter stating that this was done and that I have a zero balance on this account. For the second loan, since I am not working, I would like them to consider that loan ###########) as paid in full/settlement also. If this is not possible, I would like to suggest a settlement of $2552.24 that would be paid by December 21, 2014. Since I do not get paid in the summer and I am currently on medical leave, I will not be able to set up regular monthly payments. I would also like for them to release my cosigner, ******** *******, from the loans. She has asked them to and they said that they could not but the Sallie Mae representative said that they could. She is 70 years old and not working. They call and harass her and there is nothing that she can do but call me. Sallie Mae says that they just need to fill out a cosigner release form and that would take care of that.

Business Response: ****** *********** ********* *** *** *** *********** **** *** **** ************* ** ***** ****** ******** ***** *** ******* ******* *** **** ***** ***** ********  ****** ***** ******** **** ***** ******** *********************** 
Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. Due to issues with the email address to which complaints are normally sent, EIS received the complaint instead via regular mail. We received the complaint on Friday June 14, 2014. Those issues are now resolved, and going forward, there should not be any problems receiving complaints via email. EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception.

I have reviewed this matter, and I have to confess that I am not sure about what the consumer is complaining. She has had numerous contacts with our office, with the latest one occurring earlier this month. EIS has gone above and beyond in attempting to work with *** ****** to resolve her debt. However, each time she makes an agreement, it is broken because we do not receive scheduled payments.

In January 2014, *** ****** was on a payment plan whereby she was supposed to pay $834.88 per month. This was a plan she agreed to; it was not forced upon her. On or about January 30, her scheduled payment failed due to lack of finds in her bank account. Over the course of February 2014, our agents attempted several times to contact *** ****** about the January failed payment, but we were not able to speak with her until February 25, at which time she advised she could not pay February or make up the January returned payment. On or about March 3, we spoke with *** ******, and she advised that she could not make payments of $834 a month. Our agent worked with her on the phone to come up with a plan that according to *** ****** herself she could afford. The new plan was for recurring monthly payments in the amount of $160, with a down payment of $997, post-dated to March 27, 2014. The first of the recurring payments was scheduled for April 28. On March 5, we emailed to her at her request the authorization required by federal law that she needed to sign and return in order for EIS to legally process the recurring payments and the post-dated down payment. On March 24, EIS left a message for *** ****** informing her that we had not received the signed authorization, and would not be able to process the payments without it. On March 25, EIS received verbal authorization from *** ****** to proceed with the March 27 payment, and she stated that she would return the written authorization. The March 27 payment did process normally, and EIS received payment.

On April 18, we sent a letter to *** ****** reminding her that we would be processing the payment on April 28, as is required by the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (“FDCPA”). Having still not received the written authorization for the recurring payments, EIS cancelled the April 28 payment on April 25. Later that day, *** ****** gave verbal authority for EIS to process the April 28 payment. That payment failed due to lack of sufficient funds in the bank account to be debited.

EIS then contacted the co-borrower on the account and informed her that each payment plan that the primary borrowed had agreed to had been broken. On April 30, *** ****** called in and left a message, claiming she was returning a call we had made to her (we had not). After two other attempted return calls, we spoke with her on May 2, received verbal authority to re-process the April 28 payment, and did in fact recover those funds. However, EIS had still not received the written authorization to process future payments.

On May 9, *** ****** called in and asked our agent whether she could get a deferment on the student loan. Our agent informed her that a deferment was not possible, since her loan was a private loan. *** ****** then asked if EIS was able to more positively reflect her credit history regarding the student loan. Our agent correctly and accurately informed *** ****** that all inquiries regarding credit reporting needed to be directed to Sallie Mae (now known as Navient). EIS does not credit report any matters for any clients.

EIS sent the payment reminder letter on May 17 regarding the May 26 scheduled payment. On May 22, we called *** ****** and left a message reminding for her to return our call. EIS was forced to cancel the scheduled May 26 payment on May 23 because we had not received the written authorization originally sent in March. On June 17, EIS mailed the required payment reminder letter regarding the payment scheduled for June 27. There have been no other communications with *** ******.

*** ****** apparently believes that the co-borrower on the loan, who is equally liable, should be removed from the note. She claims that someone at Sallie Mae informed her that she could get a “co-borrower release”. While this is technically true, it seems that *** ****** does not understand what that really means. Navient does offer a program known as the co-borrower release. However, this requires the co-borrower to pay a settlement on the account equaling at least 40% of the unpaid balance. At that time, the co-borrower will be released from any further liability for the loan. Navient will not release a co-borrower simply because someone asks.

EIS needs to know *** ******’s intentions regarding her payment arrangement. The May payment is past due, and we have yet to receive the written authorization for recurring payments. If that authorization is not received in our office by June 26, the June 27 payment will be cancelled, and so will all future scheduled payments. EIS did nothing wrong in this matter, and we have repeated tried to work with *** ******. While it appears she may be having difficulty paying her student loan, it does not equate to any bad acts on our part. We remain willing and able to assist her if she is willing to cooperate.
Thank you for your attention to, and cooperation in, this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,
****** ** ****
***** ********** *******

Consumer Response: The main reason that I filed the complaint against this company is validated by the response of their representative. As I said in my complaint, the company is refusing to give me a plan that I can stick too. When I make a suggestion about a plan, they refuse it. So I am not sure what their representative wants me to do. I am not sure what he did not understand from my complaint letter. It was clear and plain American English. They have never contacted me concerning my account. I found out that they were handling the account from Sallie Mae. I contacted them myself because I had never heard from them. I did not get any correspondence until after I called them. I set up payment plan with a young lady that is no longer with the company in December. The payment was set up with my debit card. I made my first payment on December 30. I did forget to send in the written authorization, however, **** ***** called me and asked if it was okay to withdraw the January payment. I told him yes, but was unaware at the time that the debit card that was used expired in January. So the account was not returned for insufficient funds. It did not go through because of the expired card not because of insufficient funds. I have copy of the checking account which clearly shows that the funds were there. I called **** ***** when I realized the issue and gave him the new expiration date. A security breach was made in February and the same bank canceled the new card and sent me another card with a new expiration date. Again, I called **** ***** with the change. On 3/27/2014, I paid $997.88 to make up for the mixed payment in January and February. The payment was lower due to a change in the agreement.  The agreement to make the payment lower was due to the fact that I informed *** ***** that I was no longer working. At the end of April, **** ***** called as usual and asked if he could pull the payment. I agreed and the payment of $160 was pulled on 5/5/2014. My co-signer was called the very next day and told that I had broken the agreement. I sent her a copy of the bank statements showing the payments made. I immediately called EIS and spoke to another representative because **** ***** was out of the office for several days. The agent saw that the payment had been made and apologized for the mix up. She informed me that because the withdrawal agreement had not been signed that even though I was making my payments, it appeared as if I were not. Verbal authorization did not show up in the system.  After this mix-up is when I decided to just contact the Better Business Bureau to see if I could get assistance with this matter.

 
**** ***** offered me a settlement of $5000 on three different occasions. As I said in my complaint letter, I have to date paid $1992.76. I am willing to pay the remainder of the settlement, however, I cannot do it in monthly payments. This is the reason why I requested that I be given to the end of the year, 12/31/2014, to pay the balance of 3007.24.  The representative wanted to know what my intentions were, however, my intentions were clearly stated in the complaint letter. I am not how he missed it or if he just wanted to ignore what was stated in the letter. I spoke with ******** ***** in the Office of the Customer Advocate at Sallie Mae and she said that there was no limit to the agreement that could be made with EIS. Sallie Mae would except whatever settlement that they made. She honored an agreement made with a different company called Convergent that was handling the loan before EIS. Like EIS, the company did not report the settlement to Sallie Mae. After she investigated, she honored the settlement for a different loan and told me to work with EIS on a settlement for this one. EIS, however, is being uncooperative. I am not working and am not really sure what their representative that responded to my complaint wants me to do. I have already paid $1992.76 and actually they could allow that amount to be the settlement and we could move on. But, I was trying to be fair an offered to try to come up with the rest of the settlement that they offered as listed above. I cannot pull blood from a turnip, so I really have no more to offer. I have stated my attentions to the company directly and in my Better Business Complaint. I am not sure what other information their representative wants.

Regards,
***** ******

Business Response:

EIS is uncertain what else we can do to satisfy *** ******.      In our previous response, I indicated that if she wanted to contact us again, we would come up with another plan that she can meet.  Our company does not do deferments for private student loans.  We also stand by the previous comments regarding our efforts to work with *** ******.  We did not force any settlement plan upon her; she agreed to a couple of different plans and was unable to honor either one.  We certainly understand that she may have some financial difficulties, but that does not mean that EIS somehow did something wrong.  We have no desire to make settlement plans that consumer's cannot afford.  If *** ****** is interested in resolving this matter, I again invite her to contact our office and let us know the amount she honestly believes she can afford to pay each month.  Other than that, there is not much else we can do for her.  Thank you.

****** *****
***** ********** *******

Consumer Response:

After contacting business, they refuse to come up with a plan that I can afford as stated by their representative in his/her response to BBB complaint.
Regards,
***** ******

4/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company continues to claim that my ex-husband's estate owes $962.44 to Citibank, NA, although they received an inventory of the estate on 3/17/14 showing that it was bankrupt (I have proof of delivery). I received copies of an estate claim from them dated 4/1/14, which was 2 weeks after they received the inventory they requested. When I spoke to a representative, I was told they had not received the court forms I had mailed to them and was told I shouldn't have bothered to even open an estate if it was bankrupt (it is Colorado Law if real property is involved). She also asked me what I would be doing with my ex-husband's house (underwater mortgage), which was completely inappropriate. I then received a letter dated 4/14/14 requesting the estate inventory again. I then called and was told that they did receive the "preliminary" inventory to which I told the representative that it was not a preliminary, but final inventory. At this point she implied that there were hidden assets, and once they were found I should send the final inventory. I told her, yet again, that there were no other assets. She still insisted that they could not consider the matter closed.

Desired Settlement: Close the above matter, and train your employees not to provide legal or financial advice.

Business Response:

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced 
matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. 
 
EIS provides deceased debt collection services for our clients throughout the United States. In this 
particular instance, on January 15, 2014, our client placed an account that had been held by the late 
****** ****. We understand that the complainant is serving as Executor of Mr. ****’s probate estate. 
On April 1, 2014, one of our agents spoke with the Complainant about resolving the unpaid balance on 
the account. The Complainant indicated that she had previously sent a copy of the estate inventory 
showing that the estate was insolvent. Our agent stated that we had not received the documents. In 
actuality, we had in fact received them. The mailing from the Complainant was coded into the system as 
“Notice to Creditors”, but our agent did not look at the document. If she had, she would have seen that in 
addition to the Notice of Creditors, the mailing also included the inventory. 
 
On behalf of EIS, please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience that the Complainant experienced. 
The agent has been counseled regarding this matter, and will be retrained on proper procedures such as 
thoroughly checking mail related to an account. On April 16, 2014, we did set the account as “closed 
insolvent”, and will return it to Citibank. The complainant will receive no further communication from 
this office regarding this matter. 
 
Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to 
contact me. 


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10019146, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.




















3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a military retiree, unable to work due to severe COPD. This company is harassing me regarding a loan which was secured nine years ago, and which is about to be discharged by the bankruptcy which I filed. I have already informed Estate Information Services (EIS) of my bankruptcy case number, as well as the name and phone number of the attorney handling it, and asked that they stop contacting me. The monies from this loan were dispersed directly to the unscrupulous company which breached their contract with me, went out of business, and then filed bankruptcy. I have already proven to the bankruptcy court, through my attorney, that the loan in question does not meet the legal criteria of a student loan, and the court has agreed. EIS is claiming that SLM Financial (the original lender)has hired them to collect this account. In fact, SLM Financial has long since washed their hands of this matter. They sold the loan to a law firm/collection agency, who has informed my attorney that they do not intend to pursue the matter. Apparently, that law firm has sold the loan again, this time to EIS.

Desired Settlement: I want Estate Information Services, LLC, including any of their affiliates, to immediately cease and desist from communicating with me forever.

Business Response:

 

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. I also want to apologize for the extended delay in our response. We had to obtain information from our client to respond, and there was a delay in us obtaining that information.

Sallie Mae placed with us for collection *** ****’s student loan account. After *** **** received his general discharge in a Chapter 7 bankruptcy, Sallie Mae directed us to resume collection activity, since student loans are generally not discharged in a bankruptcy. After receiving the general discharge, *** **** petitioned the Court to have the student loan included as part of the general discharge due to hardship. Sallie Mae, through its lawyers, agreed to this and the subsequently, the Court put on an Order that included the student loan in the discharge.

It is at this stage where the error occurred. For whatever reason, the department at Sallie Mae that places accounts for collection did not receive notice that the loan has been included in the discharge after the fact. On behalf of both Sallie Mae and EIS, I wish to apologize to *** **** for the error, and for any inconvenience he may have endured. Sallie Mae does indeed recognize that the loan has been discharged, and the same has been noted in their system. *** **** will receive no further communication regarding this matter from either Sallie Mae or EIS.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 Very truly yours,

****** ** ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ##### and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

10/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: EIS Collections recently contacted regarding a debt that has been included in a bankruptcy as also stated on credit report to date.I have advised EIS Collections of this matter but they are determined to collect debt even though I am on permanent disability and filed Chapter 7 bankruptcy since debt was accured.I have been receiving harassing phones calls everyday for the last week starting on 10/07/2013 and also mail stating same information

Desired Settlement: I would like a settlement amount of $8,000 dollars for harassment threw phone and mail and also for this debt to be updated threw the credit agencies showing good standing or as it was included in bankruptcy.

Business Response:

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception. I also want to apologize for the delay in our response. I was on my way out of the office when we received the Complaint, and I was away for a week.

Sallie Mae placed with us for collection three (3) student loans that belong to the Complainant. While we are aware that the Complainant received a General Discharge as a result of her Chapter 7 filing, the accounts that Sallie Mae places with us are of the type that are generally not dischargeable without a hardship discharge. We are unaware that any such hardship was awarded. Regardless, we have marked these accounts as “do not contact”. The Complainant will not receive any additional communication from us.

I do need to clear up some inaccuracies as accounted in the Complaint. EIS has not harassed the Complaint in any way, nor have we called her every day as she stated. Our records indicate that we called or spoke with her on six (6) occasions since September 30, 2013, the day the accounts were placed: once on Oct 1, twice on Oct 7, twice on Oct 9, and once today. Two of those were inbound calls from the Complainant. We also sent 3 exact letters (one for each account) all dated the same day. In no way was this harassing conduct. Nevertheless, we apologize for any misunderstandings that the Complainant had.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ** *****

8/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an attorney licensed to practice law in the State of *****. In May 2013, the Court appointed me as Attorney Ad Litem to represent the unknown heirs of a decedent in a Determination of Heirship proceeding. The Heirship proceeding was combined with and Application for Appointment of Independent Administrator. Both applications are currently proceeding, but have not yet been heard by the Court. In early June 2013, I started to receive harassing phone calls from Estate Information Services, LLC. I explained more than once that I was the Attorney Ad Litem in the Heirship proceeding, that I had nothing to do with the appointment of the Independent Administrator, and that they needed to contact the attorney of record. This morning, I received another phone call. I explained all of this again. The man on the phone insisted first that I was the attorney of record according to the docket sheet. I told him I was not. He then switched his story and said that the docket sheet showed me as the Executor of the estate. I told him that I was not. If he knew anything at all about probate estates, which he should know given the name of this company, he would know that an intestate's estate does not ever have an Executor since there is no Will. He then proceeded to talk over me, to insist that I was the Executor, and to argue with me. He told me that the docket sheet revealed this. I told him again that I was not the Executor and he proceeded to talk over me again, implying that I was either lying to him or I was too stupid to know that the Court had appointed me Executor. I do not tolerate this type of patronizing, disrespectful behavior from anyone -- especially from someone who apparently is too ignorant to read a docket sheet properly and/or too lazy to check the docket sheet more carefully to ascertain that he was mistaken. I ended up hanging up on him because of his disrespectful attitude. This type of behavior and lack of respect is unprofessional on his part.

Desired Settlement: I want a written apology from the company apologizing that someone there failed to read the docket sheet properly, that the company continued to harass me with phone calls after I advised them of my role, and for the insulting, unprofessional, and disrespectful manner of the person who called me today. I want the company to take the time to read the docket sheet properly and contact the attorney of record and to not contact me again on this matter.

Business Response:

Please allow this to serve as Estate Information Services, LLC’s (“EIS”) response to the above-referenced matter. As you are aware, EIS takes all complaints seriously, and this matter is no exception.

EIS provides deceased debt collection services for our clients throughout the United States. In this particular instance, ******** placed with us an account belonging to the late ****** *****. On or about June 26, 2013, our agent placed a call to ***** ******, believing her to be handling the estate. Whether our agent entered information into our system incorrectly, or whether *** *******s information was included at placement, I cannot tell. Regardless on June 26, our agent called *** ****** to ask her about the estate. *** ****** was very short with our agent, said she wasn’t handling the estate and had nothing to say, and hung up before our agent could ask any additional clarifying questions. Our agent should have updated the account history notes, but he did not do so. On July 31, 2013, we again called *** ******. Contrary to what she states in her complaint, it was *** ****** who immediately started yelling at our agent. Our agent did not speak in a condescending tone, nor was he ever disrespectful to *** ******. The agent involved, who is relatively new, has received additional training on the importance of updating account information.

*** ******’s contact information has been removed from the system, and she will receive no further communications from us. We regret that she was called a second time.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ** ***** **** ****** ******

 

Consumer Response: it contains inaccurate information and it does not address the issue that the representative essentially called me a liar.  He kept insisting that I was either the attorney of record or the Executor of the estate.  This was the third call from this group, not the second call.  On the first call I explained the entire situation.  On the second call, I again explained the situation and requested that they contact the attorney of record.  Since I had no information about the pending estate administration, it was impossible for them to help me.  Finally, on the third call, I did not "immediately begin  yelling" at the representative.  I did raise my voice to him after he persisted in talking over me, refused to accept what I had to say about my role with the estate, and essentially called me a liar.  This is pure and simple harassment.  It does not matter where the mistake listing me was made, it was made and then no one -- after three attempts on my part to inform them of the actual situation -- corrected it.  One final thing -- the response did not have my correct name.  It appears that the mistakes that this company makes are inherent throughout its organization, since the ***** ***** ******* could not spell. I applaud the company for giving the representative "further training."   Perhaps they can also teach him not to basically accuse people of lying and not to talk over people.

Regards,

***** *******

















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Estate Information Services, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart