BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Capital Recovery Systems, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

CRS is a third party government debt collection and customer service organization.  Primary customers are local courts with traffic violations and misdemeanor criminal fines being the debt type they collect.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital Recovery Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capital Recovery Systems, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capital Recovery Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 08, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1997 in OH Business started locally: 11/01/1997 Business incorporated: 11/01/1997 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Craig Klein, President Mr. John E DiAlbert, Compliance Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John E DiAlbert, Compliance Manager
Principal: Mr. Craig Klein, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Method(s) of Payment
Check By Phone, Credit Card, Check, Western Union, ACH debit of account, Mail In, Walk Up
Alternate Business Names
CRS
Industry Tips
Credit - BBB General Statement For All Debt, Credit TOBs

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    630 Market Street

    Steubenville, OH 43952

  • 750 Cross Pointe Rd Ste S

    Gahanna, OH 43230

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 693-6835(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Description: The consumer has been receiving calls from someone at ###-###-#### collecting on a debt for someone that she does not know. The consumer was given the reference number of #########. The company is calling for ***** **********. The consumer is on the do not call registry and has been longer than 31 days.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution: The consumer wants the calls to stop.

Business Response:

   Hi. My name is **** ******** and I am the ********** ******* for Capital Recovery Systems (CRS). CRS is a debt collection agency. I reviewed your complaint and did a thorough investigation.

   We do have an account involving the name and reference number  you mention.

   In your complaint you state that phone number ###-###-#### belongs to you and that you have been receiving phone calls at that number from our office that involve someone else; someone that you don't know; and that you would like for the calls from our office to stop.

   It looks like your concern has already been resolved. Here's the history of this case based upon my investigation:

9/23/13 - We received this case from our client.

9/25/13 -  the case information as provided by our client was input into our data base.

9/25/13 - we telephoned a different phone number that was provided by our client only to find out that the number was an incorrect number. That phone number was removed from the case.

10/16/13 - an associate did a search on the debtor named in the account and found 2 possible phone numbers associated with that debtor. The information in the account was updated with those 2 numbers. One of those phone numbers was ###-###-####.

10/26/13 - a telephone call was made to ###-###-#### @ 12:07 pm and there was no answer.

11/1/13 - same as above; call to ###-###-#### and no answer. This call made at 11:56 am.

11/8/13 - call to ###-###-#### @ 12:23 pm; this time answering machine received the call.

11/14/13 - last phone call to ###-###-#### made at 3:26 pm. This time the phone was answered and an unidentified person informed us that this was wrong number.

11/14/13 - phone number ###-###-#### was removed form this account at 3:30 pm.

   As soon as we were made aware that we were calling an incorrect number that number was removed from our records. As mentined above, it appears that *** ********** concern was resolved before she filed this complaint. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to *** **********.

   I will be glad to discuss this matter further. Give me a call (###-###-####) or write me a note ******** if I can provide any additional information. Our goal is to comply with all laws and regulations; respect the feelings of all consumers; and resolve all issues to the mutual satisfaction of all interested parties. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We keep receiving automated calls from this number, twice a day, every few days. This has been going on for several months. There is never a person on the line, but the message says that the call is concerning a "very important business matter" and to call them back. There is no reference to a company name, nor do they direct the message to any person. The fact that the company is never identified and they never ask for a specific person tells me that this is not a legitimate company. I am NOT going to call back a mysterious number like this because I feel this will encourage them to keep calling. I saw online that this is a collection agency. No one in our household has outstanding debts, nor have we received any notice of such by mail. Therefore, we have no business with this company and they are violating the Do Not Call list.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to stop harassing us by calling continuously. We are on the Do Not Call list. If they think they have legitimate business with someone in our household, they need to notify us in a legitimate way by identifying themselves and sending a copy of their claim via USPS. There needs to be some enforcement of Do Not Call and collections laws so that companies such as this one are not able to continuously violate the law without consequence.

Business Response:

Hi *** ********

   My name is **** ********. I am the ********** ******* for Capital Recovery Systems. Our company is a debt collection agency. Your phone number, ###-###-####, is associated with an account in our system. I reviewed the account and discovered that we are attempting to reach an individual other than yourself. I have removed your number from this account so that we do not continue to dial it while we are attempting to resolve your concerns related to this complaint. I need to confirm with you that the individual we are attempting to locate is not associated with your phone number and is not a resident at the address (* **** ***** ***** ******* ** *****) associated with this phone number. If you and I can accomplish that then I can arrange to have your phone number and address deleted from the account which will stop future communication attempts by our office. I attempted to telephone you to discuss this but was only able to reach your voicemail. I left a message identifying myself and the reason for the call and asked that you call me back to get this resolved. The number I left was ###-###-####. Please give me a call. It will be my pleasure to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Thank you.

**** **** ** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been receiving calls and letters from Capital Recovery Systems trying collect for traffic violation that Supposedely happened in April of 1992. The second letter had a copy of ticket (Violation) written 22 years ago! I talked to a representative from Capital and someone from the **** ***** in ********** ******* letting them know I'd never been in that area and never received a ticket. The copy I received not only doesn't have my signature, it has the wrong drivers license number on it. I confirmed with the DMV in ******** that the license number was not mine. Capital representative on one of my calls thought it was strange that she'd just got off a call with a gentleman with the same issue? It's not the 227.50 it's the principal. I've lived at the same address for 30 years, had the same phone number and 22 years later I get disturbing letters threating actions against me.

Desired Settlement: Stop calls and letters as I feel I'm being harrassed!

Business Response:

Hi *** *******. My name is **** ******** and I am the compliance manager for Capital Recovery Systems. I will be addressing your concerns regarding this matter. I have read your complaint and understand your concerns. You said our office mailed you a copy of the ticket in question which is a good thing. That's what we're supposed to do when a person disputes the alleged obligation. I haven't seen the ticket myself since it was mailed to you. Last Friday, the 18th, I requested our client, the ********** **** *****, email me another copy. However, I haven't received it yet. In the meantime I've done the next best thing. I went to the court's website and printed off a copy of the Court's docket regarding this matter. A copy of the docket is attached for your review.

First of all I want you to know that the ********** **** ***** is our client and it palced this case with our office for collection on 8/20/13. We have placed a "Hold" on this account and put it in "disputed" status so that no calls or letters will be directed to you while we are trying to figure out what's going on here.

I want to get to the bottom of this with you. We could simply tell you that we are closing this account and returning it to the court but I don't think that solves your problem. You are saying that this ticket doesn't belong to you and you want your name cleared from any association with it. I will try to help you accomplish that.

I have a few observations that I don't yet have the answers to. You say that the license number on the ticket wasn't yours and that you have confirmed that with the DMV; Do you have anything in writing that you can share with me that indicates your license number back then was different from the license number on the ticket? The docket indicates that the person given the ticket was white, 6' tall and weighed 185 lbs; are these identifiers different from you? What about the address on the ticket? You say that you have lived at that address for over 30 years? How do you explain your correct address being on the ticket if it wasn't you who was operating the vehicle? The violation indicates an alleged violation of improperly transporting hazardous materials which to me seems to imply that a commercial vehicle was being operated by a person with a commercial drivers license. Back then where you a commercial vehicle operator with a commercial drivers license? What about your date of birth and SS#? Is this information on the ticket and if so, does it match yours?

Please provide the answers to these questions if you don't mind. Keep in mind that you are not required to supply this information but this is the type of information the court would want in order to convince it that this citation doesn't involve you.

If you prefer, in lieu of providing information you can ask me to close this account and return it to the Court and I will. This course of action will prevent us from further communicating with you about this ticket but you will still have to deal with the court. Us closing the case on our end will not make the alleged obligation go away.

Let me know how you would prefer to handle this. Thanks and have a great day.

Consumer Response:

I am currently trying to work with Capitol to resolve issue. I have not received a resolution to my complaint!

Regards,
**** *******


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are calling me about someone else, not me tha does not live with me, anymore.

Desired Settlement: I am on the do not call, but that does not seem to stop calls. I need them to stop calling me. I can't help them.

Business Response: I couldn't locate an account with the information provided. Attempted to contact complainant at telephone number provided but had no luck. I then sent her an email at the address she provided asking her to call me so that we could try to get additional information from her that would help me locate an account. This is a copy of the email I sent:                 Hello, my name is **** ******** and I am the Compliance Manager at ******* ******** *******. This message is for ******* ****** regarding her complaint against our company that she filed with the BBB last night.  I attempted to contact you to discuss your concerns but when I dialed the telephone number you provided I received the following automated message: “The number you have dialed is unallocated”.                  Since you also provided an email address I thought I would attempt to contact you this way. Based on your complaint it appears that your home phone number has been inaccurately listed in one of our accounts. If we can identify that account I will gladly remove your number to prevent any future communications from our office. The problem I have is your number (###-###-####) is now showing up in our system.                    I need you to contact me so that we can discuss your situation further in an attempt to help me with locating an account so that any information inaccurately relating to you can be removed.                    I apologize for any inconvenience this is causing you. Our goal is to resolve your concern to your satisfaction.                    Please call me toll free at ###-###-#### and ask for **** ********. It will be my pleasure to be of assistance. Thank you.   I won't be able to  assist her with her concerns unless I can speak with her. I hope she calls.  

Consumer Response: My NAME is :****** ******. This company is calling for some who does not live at my house. I do not want to keep getting calls. It bothers me and our seven month old great-granddaughter. That response you got is stupid. Yes, they do not have me in their records because I don't owe anybody they are connected with. If I get more calls I will again contact the Ohio AG. Thanks

































Business Response: I understand your frustation and sincerely want to do everything I possibly can to accomodate you.  Let's go through this again. As I understand it, your complaint is that your house telephone or mobile phone is receiving calls from our office and you want them to stop because you believe the individual we are attempting to contact is not you and/or is not someone who resides with you. This situation is not unusual. It happens from time to time.    The only telephone number you provided to me is ###-###-####. This specific phone number is not in our system. If this number is not in our system then we can't dial it. With this in mind, is it possible that the number you're complaining about us calling is different from the number you provided? If so then please provide that phone number. I need the phone number associated with the phone that is receiving calls from our office. Hopefully the different number will help me locate a case associated with that number. Once I locate a case I can then remove the telephone number from the case which will prevent you from receiving future calls from our office    I want to help you but you need to help me accomplish that. Thanks for your anticipated cooperation. You can feel free to contact me personally at ###-###-#### or at *********@caprecsys.com.  

Consumer Response: I don't know where he is getting I gave a phone number  ####-###-####. Not mine. I just don't need somebody calling me looking for somebody else.. If I ghet more calls, I will go back to Ohio AG.
































Business Response: I don't understand. This is the Consumer's latest response:     "I am rejecting this response because:    I don't know where he is getting I gave a phone number  ####-###-####. Not mine. I just don't need somebody calling me     looking    for    somebody else.. If I ghet more calls, I will go back to Ohio AG." I received the phone number ###-###-#### from the consumer. That's the number he listed as his daytime phone number when he filed the complaint. As previously mentioned, if he is receiving calls from our office and would like for those calls to stop he would need to provide me with the phone number associated with the phone that is receiving calls from us. If I can locate an account/s with that number then I can delete the phone number from our system. This would guarantee that his phone would not receive a call from us. I've used all of the information that the consumer provided and could not locate an account. I can't do anything if I can't locate an account. I can guarantee no calls would come from this office if the consumer would just provide the phone number. I will do whatever it takes to satisfy the consumer. Let me know if there's anything else I can do.      

Consumer Response:
First.....My Name is ****** ******, The number they are calling is my home phone(###-###-####) that is on the DO NOT CALL list.. They are still calling.....





















Business Response:

Mr. ******, thank you so much for providing the name correction and the telephone number of ###-###-####. I was able to locate this number in one of the accounts in our system. We had it associated with your address but under a different person's name. The name is probably associated with the person you said no longer lives there. I removed both the phone number and the address from this account so you will no longer receive telephone calls and/or mail from our office as it relates to this account. I'm glad we were able to get to the bottom of this. Please call if you have questions and/or otherwise would like to discuss this matter. Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention and thank you for cooperating in the processs of getting it cleared up.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been receiving phone calls from this company for at least the last 6 months. There are multiple "**** *******"s and the one they keep calling me about....is not me! We have discussed and they assured me that I was not the "**** *******" they were seeking to collect from and assured me that they would remove my phone number and my address from their system or mark it so as not to call me again. They leave messages on my answering machine and on occasion my wife has taken the calls when she is home. The last call was this month on the 17th at 8:09am. We were told that yet again they "would remove our phone number" as we were not the "**** *******" they were seeking. In todays mail ( 20 April 13) I received a letter from Capital Recovery Systems with the Creditor being ******* County Municiple Court-Account Number ********** ( yet again ) asking for $328.38 to be submitted to them "it is very important that you call this office to resolve this matter. Failure to respond to this notice can result in serious consequences as ordered by the Court". My wife called but the office was closed. She did leave a message to have them call her and again told them they do not have the correct person, that we just spoke with them again on the 17th of this month. How many times do we need to respond to this company? WE ARE NOT WHO THEY ARE LOOKING FOR. I filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission again...the Attorney General of the State of Ohio. Can you please make this business stop calling me and sending me letters when they know I AM NOT WHO THEY ARE LOOKING FOR. I would think that the ******* County Municiple court would have the correct imformation for this individual...and we are not it. Any help you can give will be appreicated.

Desired Settlement: Have them remove our name and address from their files..flag our name and address as "not the **** ******* we are looking for". STOP CALLING AND SENDING LETTERS TO US..when they know we are not the individual for which they are looking.

Business Response: We have removed any and all information regarding Mr. *******.  Our last Customer Service Representative placed the account in an incorrect status which caused the account to go back through our normal work standards.  The account was properly documented and indicated that we were reaching the wrong **** *******.  I have personally seen to it that the account has been taken care of and no additional calls or letters will be received by Mr. *******.  Please know there was no intent to contact the wrong **** *******.  It does us no good to contact someone that is not the correct defendant.  It is time consuming, expensive and counter productive to what we are trying to accomplish on behalf of our clients.Please extend my apologies to Mr. *******.  If he would like to discuss this with me personally I can be reached at ###-###-#### which is my direct office number or ###-###-#### which is my mobile.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Until the next time they call me or send me a letter!





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been paying off court fines with Capital Recovery Systems, account no. ******, since the fall of 2011. By September of this year, according to the statements I had been receiving. I had paid down the fines to the point where I could ask ********* Municipal Court to reinstated my Driver's license. As you can see by the enclosed statements, in August, I owed $803.18. On September 7, I owed the same. I'm guessing the $15.50 payment hadn't been posted yet. On the 7th, I sent another $9.26. Sometime after the 7th. I contacted the Court. Between September 7th and 24th, my fine increased by over $200 despite my paying on it. Since then, with each payment, I have requested a complete statement, as per enclosed letter. The statements I have requested have not been forthcoming. Could you help me? I thank you in advance for your consideration. 

Desired Settlement: Since then, with each payment, I have requested a complete statement, as per enclosed letter. The statements I have requested have not been forthcoming. Could you help me?

Business Response: I have attached what we call a "fact sheet".  It is used to document each action on an account.  It is a hard coded file where NO CHANGES can be made once the case is documented.  They are offical public records when collecting a behalf of our court clients.  I have attached the fact sheet.  It will show all payments made, all actions taken on the case and notes of each conversation with Mr.******.  As you can see we sent him the payment record on two seperate occasions.   


I verified with the court today, that the current outstanding balance on his 3 remaining cases is $970.05.  The attached fact sheet was generated on 12-14.  So th Mr. ****** has paid the other 4 cases in full.  If he calls the court they will tell him he has a higher balance than he actually has.  That his wwhere the confusion comes in.  ********* Municipal Court requires that we remit collections once per week.  Sometimes they do not post that money immediately to the account unless it is a paid in full payment.  It can take them up to 5 days to post the money we send them.  Mr ****** obviously called the court for a balance prior to them posting the money we remitted on his behalf.

I hope this response clears up Mr. ******s concerns.  If he would like to speak to me directly I can be reached at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####.  Thank you for taking the time to review and mediate this dispute.

Consumer Response:

After receiving the requested paper work discussed in our last communication, I have discovered
the root of my problems with Capital Recovery Systems are previously undisclosed "costs". As
you may notice from the enclosed statement, no costs were charged on the first four cases.
This leaves the last 3 cases. I have highlighted them on you on the copies enclosed. They are:
TRD0706966
TRD080624A
TRD 080624B
Not being an Accountant, this is a little strange to me, so please bear with me. It appears that the
first listing on the enclosed 8/20 statement is for ************, as it is the highest. As you can
see, at that time, was listed at $489.53.The second listing, I believe, is for **********, was for
$313.65. On the billing, there is no mention of a 3rd case with an outstanding balance. The total
on the 8/20 bill is $803.18.
However, with the new costs, the 12/21 statement lists ******* as $444.77, ******** as
$509.60 and *** ******** reappears with a balance of $23.61. Total of this bill, with
payments is $978.18. Payments are supposed to bring bills down.
In closing, I will allow you and Capital do the whys and wherefores on this, but I should not be
forced to pay for their error. I thank you in advance for to kind consideration.








BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently discovered that Capital Recovery reports collection account on my Credit report.I have contacted Capital Recovery twice and asked for the verification of the account. Have never got any respond. Please help make Capital Recovery to provide the verification documents, or remove account from the negative reporting.

Desired Settlement: Please help make Capital Recovery to provide the verification documents, or remove account from the negative reporting.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. ******s complaint.  I appreciate the time you will spend reviewing informaitonj from both Mr. ****** and myself.

We recieved a letter from Mr. ****** on 7-12-10 requesting verification of debt. That same day at 2:22 PM we mailed him that verification obtained from the City of Columbus Division of Public Utilities.  However, the address on his complaint is a **** ***** address but the address we have on file is a ***** ****** address in Columbus.  We never did get the verification we sent out returned as undeliverable.

If Mr. ****** would like to discuss this matter I would be happy to take his call.  My direct line is ###-###-####.  In the interim, I have suppressed any data being reported to his credit file.  

If the BBB would like records showing the documentation as to how, when and where the verification was sent please advise and I can send a PDF of the account history.  In the meantime, I would like to help Mr. ****** in any way we can.

***** ** *****
President, CRS
###-###-#### Direct Office Line
###-###-#### Mobile Line
******@caprecsys.com
www.caprecsys.com



 

Business Response: Please find attached all actions on Mr. ******'s account.  The amounts owed are for outstanding water bills owed to *** **** ** ********. Mr. ****** may feel free to call me on my Direct Line if he wishes to discuss the matter.



***** *****
President, CRS
###-###-#### Direct Line

Consumer Response: Collection Company presented some kind of print out from unknown system.


I asked for original bill from the original creditor with the explanation of the charges, as it requires by law.

I have no idea what exactly they trying to collect for. For what original account? For what time? When it happen? Where is the agreement which states that I am obligated to pay that particular amount?

I demand Collection Company to remove this unverified line from my report. 

Regards,





























Business Response: Please find attached an accounting of the debt incurred by Mr. ****** to the **** ** ******** Public Utilities dept. This is also our reply to his request for proof of  debt.  As noted in an earlier response we sent him this same information in July of 2010.  Contractual obligation is by virtue of ******** City code therefore there is no agreement or contract he signed to provide water service to his properties.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began receiving calls from CRS in Mid June 2012 regarding an auto loan with ****. The vehicle was repoed almost 5 years ago. The representative was polite and offered me a settlement amount of $4800 from the original amount of over $11000. I explained to her that I did not have $4800 to send but was interested in resolving the debt. She explained that she could set up a payment of $686 per month for 7 months. I told her that I was unable to pay that amount. I told her I would be willing to pay $400 per month but wanted to get the settlement amount in writing, so this issue doesn't come up later with a balance. She stated that she would only send a letter if I secured a payment by phone. I told her that I'm aware of my rights to receive something in writing regarding the debt or the settlement offered. She again refused to send anything without securing a payment by phone. I did not want to begin payment on the debt without protecting myself with the amount that was offered. I think that this company used their control over my credit and the threat of garnishment to attempt to get payment. On July 9 2012 I received a call from an unknown number that left a message saying he was Mr. Wallace, Lead Investigator for the company and needs to hear from me within 24 hours to show that he tried to contact me before filing the garnsihment. I still have yet to receive anything regarding the settlement amount offered. I did not refuse to pay the debt I just wanted some help with the amount they were asking, as well as, a letter with the settlement amount.

Desired Settlement: Remove from garnishment and allow me to pay the debt as I planned to do. Send the amount owed in writing for my records.

Business Response: I hope this email finds you well. I just briefly reviewed the complaint and fortunately for us, the consumer has given you incorrect information as to the agency collecting the debt. We have never had **** as a client nor have we ever collected on deficiency balances of repossessed automobiles. We do only state and local govt. collections

There is another Capital Recovery Systems out of **********, MA. On quite a few occasions consumers have been confused and mixed us up with them. When I get back to the office I will forward you their contact information. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been repeatedly contacted not only for a debt I do not owe, but for a debt that this company has previously admitted I do not owe. Since 2009 I have been contacted multiple times by Capital Recovery Systems for an alleged outstanding bill to the ********************************** for ambulatory service. They purported that I did not live in the City at the time of the incident and was therefore not entitled to free, post-insurance, ambulance services. After providing proof of my address via license and pay stub for the appropriate date (which they actually had incorrect by several years, in addition to the incorrect STATE for my address) they admitted I should not have been invoiced for the bill. For some odd reason, the issue was brought up again in 2010. Once the correction was pointed out, they said I had been contacted by mistake and would remove my name from their system. They are now contacting me a third time. The number indicated as a reference on the mailings I have received is *****. My original BBB Complaint Case # was ********. I am tired of this issue resurfacing, only to be blamed on "human error."

Desired Settlement: I want to be PERMANENTLY removed from Capital Recovery Systems' database and to have proper instruction and paperwork provided to the ****************. I am sending a copy of all records and correspondence I have retained from these incidents to the Ohio Attorney General's Office. Based on the sheer number of times I have been contacted, I am not convinced this company engages in ethical, or even legal, practices.

Business Response: Ms. ******* never produced the required documentation to prove her city of ******** ressidency. We had the account on an indefenant hold and were told by our client, the city of ******** to proceed with collection. Because Ms. ******* says she submitted proper documentation does not mean she did. At the time of service her ID indicated an address other than the city of ********. We simply reoponed the case at our clients insistance. As far as Ms. *******'s questioning of our integrity, operating within the law and our ethics let me provide our most recent allocades from the State of ********** Association of Courts, a division of their Supreme Court. During a bidding process, we were informed that CRS had the most remarkable record they have ever seen or recorded relative to complaints, adverse litigation, law suits and sanctions. They indicated to us in reveiwing over 1500 debt collection companies over the past several years they had never come across one that had not been sanctioned, sued, fined, or had a consent order placed against them. In short, the ** Association of Courts indicated that CRS had the most remarkable record of any collection agency they have ever reviewed. We would never jeopardize that record for a $114.00 account. As a resolution, I have added Ms.*******'s name to our exception module which would prevent her name from ever appearing in our data base. I will also attach a copy of the closure report to our client.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Attached please find copies of the documents requested, provided, and accepted by CRS in 2009 and 2010. Also attached you will find documentation of the previous promise to close the account. BBB note: After further response from the Business. Consumer states: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will, however, hold on to copies of all of this in the event it needs to be reopened again. Thanks for your help, BBB!

Business Response: From: *********** (mailto:****************.com) Sent: Monday, April 30, 2012 1:49 PM To: **************** Subject: FW: Account closure ********, See email from the city below. Hope this clears it up for Ms. *******. ***** From: ***************** (mailto:*************************.com) Sent: Monday, April 30, 2012 1:47 PM To: *********** Subject: RE: Account closure We have the account written off on our end, not sure how it turned back up, but the patient was a Columbus resident at the time so the account never should have been sent to you. ***************** - Fire/EMS Supervisor *******, Inc. - Outcomes Matter From: *********** (mailto:****************.com) Sent: Monday, April 30, 2012 12:54 PM To: *************************.com Cc: **************** Subject: Account closure ******, I am returning the attached account. We closed this some time back and it reappeared. The patient had Columbus residency (proof also attached), and the insurance paid the allowable amount (proof attached). Please call if you have any questions or need any additional information. ***** ***** ******** President, Capital Recovery Systems, Inc

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/4/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1