BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of OUAC, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

OUAC, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (614) 791-0000 Fax: (614) 791-0053 6215 Enterprise Ct., Dublin, OH 43016 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.onceuponachildcolumbus.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that OUAC, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for OUAC, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on OUAC, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 21, 1999 Business started: 10/20/1985 Business started locally: 10/20/1985
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lynn Blum, President Mr. Benjamin Blum, Treasurer Mr. Dennis Blum, VP Mr. Michael Mills, Operations Manager Ms. Sue Riley, Director of Operations/HR
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lynn Blum, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sue Riley, Director of Operations/HR
Business Category

Clothes - Consignment & Resale Furniture - Used Thrift Shops Toys - Retail Womens Apparel - Retail Baby Accessories & Services Recycling - Computers & Other Electronics Baby Carriages & Strollers Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Clothes Mentor GadgetEase Once Upon A Child Once Upon A Mom Plato's Closet Ubberhaus

Additional Locations

  • 1385 StoneRidge Lane

    Gahanna, OH 43230 (614) 337-0200

  • 2011 Henderson Rd

    Columbus, OH 43220

  • 2011 W Henderson Rd

    Upper Arlington, OH 43220 (614) 583-8888

  • 2087 State Route 256 Ste C

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 552-5050

  • 2087 State Route 256 Ste K

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 552-3333

  • 2195 Stringtown Rd

    Columbus, OH 43213 (614) 277-9662

  • 2221 Stringtown Road

    Grove City, OH 43123 (614) 875-9000

  • 3658 Main Street

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 876-6060

  • 399 S State St

    Westerville, OH 43081

  • 571 S State St

    Westerville, OH 43081 (614) 882-1818

  • 5760 Frantz Rd

    Dublin, OH 43016 (614) 761-8888

  • 5777 Frantz Rd

    Dublin, OH 43016

  • 6026-28 E. Main Street

    Columbus, OH 43213 (614) 863-9777

  • 6215 Enterprise Ct.

    Dublin, OH 43016 (614) 791-0000

  • 7410 Sawmill Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235 (614) 760-7283 (614) 760-1440

  • 7444 Sawmill Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235

  • 7450 Sawmill Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235 (614) 764-7700

  • 7454 Sawmill Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235 (614) 791-3900

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From the Hilliard, Ohio location, I purchased a queen bed and the bed contained bed bugs. On February 23, 2013, I purchased a queen size sleigh bed (headboard, footboard, and side rails) from the Hilliard, OH New Uses store (3658 Main St Hilliard, OH 43026). The headboard and footboard had large water stains, and the insides of the side rails were dirty an contained animal fur. Since the price was only $45.00, I figured it was still a good bargain. I was sure there was a product to clean the water stains and a little soap and water would clean the side rails. I brought the bed home and put it together. I cleaned the headboard, footboard, and the outside of the side rails. I put the mattress on the bed and started using it the next day, which was a Sunday.

The following Wednesday morning, I noticed red spots on my arm that became horribly ichy. When a couple days past and I kept having red patches/bumps on other parts of my right arm and a few on my left arm, I thought maybe I had gotten something from our cats. One of my cats scratched their chin and ears often. I was concerned she had mites. I took both cats to the vet (****** ***) in Dublin, OH) and the vet inspected them for ring worm, fleas, ticks, and mites. Neither cat had any of those problems. The cat that itched often was diagnosed with chin acme and allergies. The vet recommended I change the type of food bowl and use unscented cat litter. My cat's scratching stopped but I continued to have bumps and itchy red patches on my arms and feet.

I went to a dermatologist, around Mid-March, and the doctor diagnosed me with hives. A few days later I found out I was pregnant and thought maybe the hives started as part of my pregnancy. The dermatologist and my obstetric doctor confirmed that pregnancy hormones can cause hives. I was informed to take ****** to stop the itch. That didn't prevent me from still getting the bumps, however. Around the end of March and beginning of April, one of the bed rails broke. So, I removed the mattress from the bed and placed it on the floor in a spare bedroom. I slept on the mattress for a few days. The "hives" continued and started to get worse.

One night, I was about to go to sleep and was listening to music on my phone. I cut the light off and lay on my stomach near the front edge of the bed. While I was listening to music, I noticed something crawling up the side of my bed, from the bottom (floor) to the top. I immediately turned the light on and noticed a small bug, which I had never seen before. The bug started running back down and went under the bed. I panicked and called my husband, who had been sleep on the couch (don't ask why). He came upstairs and I yelled that I think I just say a bed bug. He stood the mattress up and we found two bugs, one a full adult and a small baby bed bug. We contacted our landlord and they sent an exterminator out a few days later to inspect our townhome. They confirmed we had bed bugs on the mattress and bed frame only. They did not see bed bugs anywhere else in the house. We threw away the queen bed and mattress.

Our townhome was treated for bed bugs and the exterminator said that since the itching started shortly after purchasing the bed and since the only place the bed bugs were was on the bed and mattress, it's highly likely the bugs came with the bed. He informed us how to check for bed bugs on used beds but said there are a lot of places bed bugs can hide in wooden frames. I called the New Uses store and informed the store manager of the issue and that I was unhappy. I said that I did not expect my money back but wanted to mention that they need to do a better job treating furniture for bed bugs before selling it. He asserted that they treat everything that the sell for bed bugs before it goes on the floor and said that there was no way I purchased the bed from his store. He wouldn't believe a word I said until I brought in a receipt showing that I purchased the bed.

Desired Settlement: A refund and reimbursement for us paying for an exterminator would be ideal. However, I really want the business to do a better job inspecting and treating furniture. I was a frequent shopper of New Uses. I loved the store! Before this happened, I sold things and bought things from the store. I'm sad that this happened, because I don't feel comfortable buying ANYTHING from the store now. If nothing gets done about this, if I don't receive even an apology, I'm posting a comment on the business' F

Consumer Response:

There has been confusion between myself and the business with regards to the "jurisdiction" of this complaint. The business listed in the complaint is an individual New Uses franchise store located in Minnetonka, Minnesota. However, the actual complaint that I have is with the New Uses franchise store located in Hilliard, Ohio.
I would like my compliant to be addressed by the New Uses corporate office in Wayzata, Minnesota with regards to one of its retail stores, the one in Hilliard, OH. Per the New Uses website, the Franchise Headquarters is located at:
 
1907 Wayzata Blvd, Suite 210
Wayzata, MN 55305.
The actual store that I experienced a problem with is located at:
3658 Main St
Hilliard, OH 43026
Since the Hilliard, OH store has not handled my product issue properly, I want the complaint handled by the corporate office. However, I did not see a BBB listing for the corporate office. The only listing I found was for the Minnetonka, Minnesota franchise store, which I THOUGHT was the address to the corporate office. I realized that this was not the case when the Minnesota store manager contacted me wondering why the complaint was filed with their store when the issue happened in Ohio. The store manager said that the complaint should be resolved by either the Hilliard store or the Headquarters. 
In today's response, it appears the complaint is still incorrectly being sent to the Minnetonka, Minnesota franchise store. Before realizing that the complaint was not against their store location, the store agreed to give me a refund. However, I do not feel they should give me a refund or reimburse me, because the issue did not happen with their store and they are not the corporate headquarter office. I am also unsure if they would still be willing to give me a refund for a transaction that did not happen at their store or a store owned by them.
Please advise on how I can get this complaint sent to the New Uses, LLC Franchise Headquarters office.
 
 

Consumer Response:

Please disregard my last email, because a person from the Headquarter office contacted me today.
 

Business Response: We have already been contacted regarding this complaint from the BBB of Minnesota and North Dakota. I responded to the claim.  Case#********. I have contacted the customer and left a message. Miss ***** has not returned my call. We are happy to reimburse Miss ***** not only for the exterminator but also for the bed she purchased. Please advise on how you would like me to proceed. Thank you,

Consumer Response: The business has stated that they have tried contacting me, that they have left a voicemail, and that I have not responded. However, I have not received a voicemail from the business, and my caller Id shows no calls from the business. The business can contact me Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM Eastern Time at my office number ###-###-####. Otherwise, I can be reach at my home phone ###-###-####. I would be happy with their response, once I have spoken to them about receiving reimbursement.

Business Response: This complaint was already settled with the customer

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took clothing to OUAC on Tuesday, January 8 and was told that there would be a wait for processing. I informed the sales associate that I was not able to wait and she told me that it was fine for me to return another day. I returned on Monday, January 14 - the next time that I was in the vicinity of the store - and was told that they had decided to pass on all of the items (which is fine) and that my items had been donated (which is not so fine). OUAC chose not to buy the clothing, effectively maintaining my ownership of the items, and yet chose to donate them without my consent.

Desired Settlement: Replacement value is subjective, since OUAC chose not to purchase, but I do not feel alright about being left empty-handed. I feel that their decision to donate was made too quickly - less than a week from drop-off, and that some compensation is due, as well as consideration of a change in policy.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

Thank you for contacting our company and giving us the opportunity to not only apologize to our customer but also to compensate for the lost items that were donated.

We would be happy to issue a Gift card to the customer to compensate for the clothing that was donated.

If the customer would like to contact me I would be happy to resolve the situation.

Thank you in advance,


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This store buys back clothes/items for resale. I've sold items to them roughly 30x over the last 10 yrs, and I know that this store takes about 3 days to check items brought in for resale. I know this b/c when I stop in after 2-3 days, most of the time they still aren't finished checking my items. I know other people who say the same thing. Sometimes this store will call to advise that items are done b/c of delays. I didn't expect anything different on Thurs, 10/11/12, when I brought my laundry basket of items to this store to be considered for resale. I didn't have any reason to believe the process would be different than my usual expectations. As usual, I signed a receipt stating the store had the right to donate the items by the end of the next day following their evaluation. But again, their evaluation sometimes takes days. I waited a few days as usual before returning to check on the status. When I arrived Wed. 10/17/12, I discovered that my laundry basket and my rejected items were missing. The cashier said that the store gives 24 hours for customers to pick up items, and that the donation truck came on Friday, 10/12/12. That means I would have had less than 24 hours to pick up my items, which is in contradiction to the receipt which says customers have until the end of the next day following the evaluation. After I brought this to the cashier's attention, the cashier changed her story and said that the donation truck was there on Monday. She couldn't verify it. I pointed out that I have until the end of the day following the evaluation to pick up my items, and asked her when the evaluation took place, which she could not verify either. Regardless of the time deadline provided by the receipt, I have been a customer of theirs for 10 years, and have NEVER returned in less than 5-6 days to pick up my items. And I've never had my basket and rejected items thrown away. These items were valuable, and I would like the store to pay for them. The store offered to provide me w/ a laundry basket.

Desired Settlement: I would like to the store to provide me with $50 to replace my laundry basket and other good quality items that belonged to me including a Halloween costume, 3 other Gap sweatshirts, and Ohio State sweatshirt, and other clothes.

Business Response:

I called****** ***** at approx 2:45pm on November 6th 2012.

I left a Voice mail letting her know we would be happy to compensate her in the amount of $50.00.

I left my name and phone number and asked her to return my call, additionally that I would try and contact her later today.

Thank you,

***** *****

Director of Operations

OUAC Inc,

************ *** ***

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

Regards,

****** *****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i went into the platos closet location on 256 friday january 13th to sell some items such as a zero exposure winter coat, black peep toe hills,and two dress casual shirts. the total that platos was giving me is 11.00 for cash not to mention a dress from the black and white store easton. they said the coat would be more if the sleaves were not a little dirty. so i took the coat back and washed it perfectly clean. the associates gathered together and determined a ****** and said 5.50 the coat was in imaculate condition. this time they priced the coat for less than when it was cleaned. i sold the coat called the henderson road store, spoke to the assistant manager and she said that it should have been alot more and that coat is a known item in their store. so i feel that they are making up prices they were angry because i did not sale my coat the first time and i was questioning their judgement.

Desired Settlement: refund and evaluate their buys for thier customers items

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns regarding our buying process. We would be more than happy to issue you with a refund. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to resolve the issue.

Consumer Response: I have contacted Platos closet and they are not working with me to resolve this issue.

Business Response: Mr ***** did contact me on Monday, January 23, 2012. After discussing the situation with him, I informed Mr. ***** that I would contact the store and research the issue and would follow-up with him on the same day.I did follow up with Mr ***** later on the same day and offered to compensate him with a monetary amount to which he agreed. Mr ***** visited our store later on the same day and was given his compensation. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1