Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

OUAC, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (614) 791-0000 Fax: (614) 791-0053 View Additional Phone Numbers 6215 Enterprise Ct, Dublin, OH 43016 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.clothesmentor.com/columbus View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that OUAC, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for OUAC, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on OUAC, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 1999 Business started: 10/20/1985 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Benjamin Blum, Treasurer Mr. Dennis Blum, VP Ms. Lynn Blum, President Ms. Sue Riley, Director of Operations/HR
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sue Riley, Director of Operations/HR
Business Category

Clothes - Consignment & Resale Furniture - Used Thrift Shops Toys - Retail Womens Apparel - Retail Baby Accessories & Services Recycling - Computers & Other Electronics Baby Carriages & Strollers Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail

Method(s) of Payment
Major Credit Cards & Cash. No Checks.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Varies by concept.
Alternate Business Names
Clothes Mentor GadgetEase Once Upon A Child Once Upon A Mom Plato's Closet

Additional Locations

  • 1385 Stoneridge Dr

    Gahanna, OH 43230 (614) 337-0200

  • 2011 Henderson Rd

    Columbus, OH 43220

  • 2011 Henderson Rd

    Upper Arlngtn, OH 43220 (614) 583-8888

  • 2087 State Route 256 Ste C

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 552-5050

  • 2087 State Route 256 Ste K

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 552-3333

  • 2195 Stringtown Rd

    Grove City, OH 43123 (614) 277-9662

  • 2221 Stringtown Rd

    Grove City, OH 43123 (614) 875-9000

  • 3658 Main St

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 876-6060

  • 399 S State St

    Westerville, OH 43081

  • 571 S State St

    Westerville, OH 43081 (614) 882-1818

  • 5760 Frantz Rd

    Dublin, OH 43016 (614) 761-8888

  • 5777 Frantz Rd

    Dublin, OH 43017

  • 6026 E Main St # 28

    Columbus, OH 43213 (614) 863-9777

  • 6215 Enterprise Ct

    Dublin, OH 43016 (614) 791-0000

  • 7410 Sawmill Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235 (614) 760-7283 (614) 760-1440

  • 7444 Sawmill Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235

  • 7450 Sawmill Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235 (614) 764-7700

  • 7454 Sawmill Rd

    Columbus, OH 43235 (614) 791-3900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to use a coupon which clearly states, "one per customer", tried to state coupon was one per family, treated a smart shopper as someone committing a crime, store workers were whispering and pointing and giving dirty looks! Worst customer service EVER! Nasty rude judgemental horrible people! Writing my PHD paper on social attitudes on coupon policy and societal discrimination! Thanks ladies for continuing my education while you showed a lack of yours!

Desired Settlement: And an apology from the rude workers. Maybe some retraining of customer service skills.

Business Response: Mr ********,

I am contacting you in regards to the terrible service you received at our Sawmill location.
I cannot apologize enough for the absolutely awful service you received. I was appalled that the employees would treat you in that manner and make you feel the way you did.
I immediately informed the District Manager and Store Manager of the situation and directed both of them investigate who was working on the day of your visit.
I truly apprieciate you taking the time to let us know of the poor customer service you received.
It has given us the opportunity to reevaluate how we can better improve our customer service and communication not just at the Sawmill location but also at all our stores.
If you would allow me to send you a gift card in the hopes that you will give us another chance to earn your buisness I would be very appreciative.
 I hope you accept our sincere apologies again for the awful service you received.
Sincerely,
Susan R****
Ouac, Inc.

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From the Hilliard, Ohio location, I purchased a queen bed and the bed contained bed bugs. On February 23, 2013, I purchased a queen size sleigh bed (headboard, footboard, and side rails) from the Hilliard, OH New Uses store (3658 Main St Hilliard, OH 43026). The headboard and footboard had large water stains, and the insides of the side rails were dirty an contained animal fur. Since the price was only $45.00, I figured it was still a good bargain. I was sure there was a product to clean the water stains and a little soap and water would clean the side rails. I brought the bed home and put it together. I cleaned the headboard, footboard, and the outside of the side rails. I put the mattress on the bed and started using it the next day, which was a Sunday.

The following Wednesday morning, I noticed red spots on my arm that became horribly ichy. When a couple days past and I kept having red patches/bumps on other parts of my right arm and a few on my left arm, I thought maybe I had gotten something from our cats. One of my cats scratched their chin and ears often. I was concerned she had mites. I took both cats to the vet (****** ***) in Dublin, OH) and the vet inspected them for ring worm, fleas, ticks, and mites. Neither cat had any of those problems. The cat that itched often was diagnosed with chin acme and allergies. The vet recommended I change the type of food bowl and use unscented cat litter. My cat's scratching stopped but I continued to have bumps and itchy red patches on my arms and feet.

I went to a dermatologist, around Mid-March, and the doctor diagnosed me with hives. A few days later I found out I was pregnant and thought maybe the hives started as part of my pregnancy. The dermatologist and my obstetric doctor confirmed that pregnancy hormones can cause hives. I was informed to take ****** to stop the itch. That didn't prevent me from still getting the bumps, however. Around the end of March and beginning of April, one of the bed rails broke. So, I removed the mattress from the bed and placed it on the floor in a spare bedroom. I slept on the mattress for a few days. The "hives" continued and started to get worse.

One night, I was about to go to sleep and was listening to music on my phone. I cut the light off and lay on my stomach near the front edge of the bed. While I was listening to music, I noticed something crawling up the side of my bed, from the bottom (floor) to the top. I immediately turned the light on and noticed a small bug, which I had never seen before. The bug started running back down and went under the bed. I panicked and called my husband, who had been sleep on the couch (don't ask why). He came upstairs and I yelled that I think I just say a bed bug. He stood the mattress up and we found two bugs, one a full adult and a small baby bed bug. We contacted our landlord and they sent an exterminator out a few days later to inspect our townhome. They confirmed we had bed bugs on the mattress and bed frame only. They did not see bed bugs anywhere else in the house. We threw away the queen bed and mattress.

Our townhome was treated for bed bugs and the exterminator said that since the itching started shortly after purchasing the bed and since the only place the bed bugs were was on the bed and mattress, it's highly likely the bugs came with the bed. He informed us how to check for bed bugs on used beds but said there are a lot of places bed bugs can hide in wooden frames. I called the New Uses store and informed the store manager of the issue and that I was unhappy. I said that I did not expect my money back but wanted to mention that they need to do a better job treating furniture for bed bugs before selling it. He asserted that they treat everything that the sell for bed bugs before it goes on the floor and said that there was no way I purchased the bed from his store. He wouldn't believe a word I said until I brought in a receipt showing that I purchased the bed.

Desired Settlement: A refund and reimbursement for us paying for an exterminator would be ideal. However, I really want the business to do a better job inspecting and treating furniture. I was a frequent shopper of New Uses. I loved the store! Before this happened, I sold things and bought things from the store. I'm sad that this happened, because I don't feel comfortable buying ANYTHING from the store now. If nothing gets done about this, if I don't receive even an apology, I'm posting a comment on the business' F

Consumer Response:

There has been confusion between myself and the business with regards to the "jurisdiction" of this complaint. The business listed in the complaint is an individual New Uses franchise store located in Minnetonka, Minnesota. However, the actual complaint that I have is with the New Uses franchise store located in Hilliard, Ohio.
I would like my compliant to be addressed by the New Uses corporate office in Wayzata, Minnesota with regards to one of its retail stores, the one in Hilliard, OH. Per the New Uses website, the Franchise Headquarters is located at:
 
1907 Wayzata Blvd, Suite 210
Wayzata, MN 55305.
The actual store that I experienced a problem with is located at:
3658 Main St
Hilliard, OH 43026
Since the Hilliard, OH store has not handled my product issue properly, I want the complaint handled by the corporate office. However, I did not see a BBB listing for the corporate office. The only listing I found was for the Minnetonka, Minnesota franchise store, which I THOUGHT was the address to the corporate office. I realized that this was not the case when the Minnesota store manager contacted me wondering why the complaint was filed with their store when the issue happened in Ohio. The store manager said that the complaint should be resolved by either the Hilliard store or the Headquarters. 
In today's response, it appears the complaint is still incorrectly being sent to the Minnetonka, Minnesota franchise store. Before realizing that the complaint was not against their store location, the store agreed to give me a refund. However, I do not feel they should give me a refund or reimburse me, because the issue did not happen with their store and they are not the corporate headquarter office. I am also unsure if they would still be willing to give me a refund for a transaction that did not happen at their store or a store owned by them.
Please advise on how I can get this complaint sent to the New Uses, LLC Franchise Headquarters office.
 
 

Consumer Response:

Please disregard my last email, because a person from the Headquarter office contacted me today.
 

Business Response: We have already been contacted regarding this complaint from the BBB of Minnesota and North Dakota. I responded to the claim.  Case#********. I have contacted the customer and left a message. Miss ***** has not returned my call. We are happy to reimburse Miss ***** not only for the exterminator but also for the bed she purchased. Please advise on how you would like me to proceed. Thank you,

Consumer Response: The business has stated that they have tried contacting me, that they have left a voicemail, and that I have not responded. However, I have not received a voicemail from the business, and my caller Id shows no calls from the business. The business can contact me Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM Eastern Time at my office number ###-###-####. Otherwise, I can be reach at my home phone ###-###-####. I would be happy with their response, once I have spoken to them about receiving reimbursement.

Business Response: This complaint was already settled with the customer

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.






















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on OUAC, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)