BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Whempy's Corp.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Whempy's Corp.

Phone: (614) 888-6670 Fax: (614) 888-6650 View Additional Phone Numbers 6969 Worthington Galena Rd Ste P, Worthington, OH 43085 http://www.whempys.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers chimney cleaning and repair services and also educates 
customers on how to properly maintain their chimneys in a safe and efficient manner. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Whempy's Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whempy's Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Whempy's Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 06, 1980 Business started: 04/01/1980 Business started locally: 04/01/1980 Business incorporated: 08/26/1981 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David L. Reed, President Mr. Eugene Reed, Office Manager Ms. Kathleen Reed, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David L. Reed, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Eugene Reed, Office Manager
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Chimney Sweeper Duct Cleaning Chimney Lining Materials Chimney Builders & Repair Fireplace Equipment - Retail

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover and Amex.
Alternate Business Names
Whempy's Chimney Sweep & Duct Cleaning

Additional Locations

  • 6969 Worthington Galena Rd Ste P

    Worthington, OH 43085 (614) 267-8399 (614) 863-1757 (614) 275-4900 (614) 888-6670

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 267-8399(Phone)
  • (614) 275-4900(Phone)
  • (614) 863-1757(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Whempy's was supposed to repair damage to our chimney. The first time they came out, from what I understand the damage on the outside was repaired, but pieces of brick were left all across our roof and our yard. We contacted them and they said they would be back out to clan them up. They never came and so we cleaned it up ourselves. After their service our chimney was still leaking water into our house when it rained. We contacted them about this issue and they told us we had to schedule a time when we were home so they could enter the house. My wife took off of work and sat waiting only to catch a serviceman as he was leaving our driveway. He never entered the house, and said he repaired some cracks he saw on the outside of the house, he never even looked at where the leak was occurring. I contacted Whempy's to discuss the issue with a manager, I was told one was not available, but my information would be given to a manager to return the call the next day. That was last week and I still have not received a call from a manager.

Desired Settlement: We would like our refund of the $800 paid for the service.

Business Response: Mailed him a check for $800.00  6-3-2013.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continues to call me after I've asked repeatly to be taken off their phone list.

Desired Settlement: stop calling me.... do not call me ever!

Business Response: ****** ******'s Phone # and address has been removed from are calling list. I would like to apologize to Mr.****** for any inconvenience these calls may have caused him. He is still a valued customer. If in the future he needs any work gone feel free to call.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been promised a refund of $140 and waiver of estimate fee in repeated calls since December. No refund has been received. I asked for an estimate for chimney repair, signed a contract, and paid a deposit of $140. No repair has been completed. I was promised refund of my $140 and waiver of their estimate fee ($75) in repeated calls since December. I have not received a check. The calls make promises but they do not deliver.

Desired Settlement: Refund my deposit and send me a check for $140.

Business Response: Whempy's notified BBB via phone call from ******, that on March 14, 2012 work was completed for Mr. ******.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Whempy's finally completed the work which was contracted for in October 2011.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1