BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Rhino Chimney Service, LLC ?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chimney sweeping; dryer vent cleaning; chimney inspections; chimney repair and maintenance; chimney caps; chimney liners and dampers; glass doors; stoves, fireplaces, inserts, gas logs; sales, service & installation. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rhino Chimney Service, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rhino Chimney Service, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rhino Chimney Service, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 12, 2014 Business started: 05/28/2008 in OH Business incorporated: 05/28/2008 in OH
Type of Entity

DOMESTIC LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY

Business Management
Mr. Eric D. Haldeman, Owner Mr. Bob Looney, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric D. Haldeman, Owner
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Chimney Sweeper Chimney Cleaning Equipment & Supplies Chimney Lining Materials Chimneys - Prefabricated Chimney Builders & Repair Tuck Pointing Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Stoves - Wood, Coal

Products & Services

Rhino Chimney Service, LLC sells the following brand(s): Empire, Hampton, Monessen, Most major brands available, Rais, Rasmussen, Regency, RLH, Simpson Dura-Vent, Skytech, Thermo-Rite, Valor

Rhino Chimney Service, LLC offers the following product(s): Chimney Liners, Dampers, Fireplace remote controls, Fireplaces (wood, gas, pellet), Gas logs, Glass Doors, Inserts (wood, gas, pellet), Most all things chimney & fireplace related, Stoves (wood, gas, pellet)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Cards
Alternate Business Names
Rhino Chimney Service

Additional Locations

  • 601 Crystal Ave

    Mount Vernon, OH 43050 (740) 397-7773

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (740) 397-7741 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 11, 2014 I called for emergency chimney cleaning service as the chimney pipe was clogged with creosote. The cleaning team attempted to clean the chimney pipe and did get the pipe opened for use. However, when cleaning, they broke the seal of the pipe where it went into the attic portion of the chimney ("ceiling support box). This was actually noted on their "Chimney Service" report They also stated to the property tenant that they did not have a ladder with them nor the materials necessary to repair the pipe so that the stove would be usable. The whole point of having the chimney cleaned was to make it usable! I had to call another chimney repairman to fix the seal. After discussing this with the repairman, we decided to install a new chimney pipe from the stove to the "ceiling support box". In taking down the old pipe, it was noted that, while the pipe was cleaned sufficiently to use, the pipe was anything but clean! And it was left unusable. I have asked **** at Rhino to remove the "emergency charges" from our bill without success. The whole purpose of having Rhino come clean the pipe was to be able to use the stove. His comment was that he cleaned the pipe and that was the extent of the services he was hired to perform. He did not guarentee that the stove would be usable after he cleaned it. Their cleaning process broke the pipe loose from the ceiling support box. They did not fix what was broke and left the job without a solution nor a fix of the stove pipe to bring it back to use. Rhino has cleaned our stove pipe in the past (last cleaning 6-24-13). I am disappointed that they are not responsive to removing the bill for services that were not completed to our satisfaction. They left the stove and pipe unusable and the pipe in disrepair.

Desired Settlement: credit the service charge for the 2-11-14 emergency service call and send a "no charge" billing for this "service call"

Business Response: Mr. ****** called our office on February 10th, 2014 stating his chimney was blocked and there was creosote dripping from the ceiling where the connector pipe entered the ceiling (known as the ceiling support box).  At that time, he was offered a critical service call for February 11, 2014 in the amount of $357.17 plus tax.  He accepted.  Our job was to "sweep" the chimney and remove the blockage, not clean it.  We did NOT make any guarantee his system would be code compliant (therefore "usable" in the opinion of Rhino Chimney Service) after our service was completed.  On February 11, 2014 we DID sweep the chimney, and removed the vast majority of creosote from the stove, connector pipe and chimney - including the blockage.  Did we get every bit of creosote out?  Of course not - this is an impossible task without removing and replacing the entire system.  The chimney brush that we inserted into the stove and ran through the connector pipe, and into the chimney was seen by both my associate AND Mr. ******' tenant, at the top of the chimney in the cap.  Obviously proving that the 8" semi-flexible brush was indeed, pushed through the ENTIRE 6" connector pipe and chimney.  We did NOT break any "seal" on any portion of the system.  Had the chimney and connector pipe been installed correctly, there would have been no creosote dripping from the ceiling support box (or connector, or chimney, or ceiling) in the first place.  We noted on our inspection report that the connector pipe was loose and falling out of ceiling support box).  We did NOT state on our inspection report that any "seal" was broken, or that we broke anything, as indicated in Mr. ******' complaint.  His statement "However, when cleaning, they broke the seal of the pipe where it went into the attic portion of the chimney ("ceiling support box). This was actually noted on their "Chimney Service" report" is 100% FALSE!  I would be more than happy to provide this inspection report, or Mr. ****** may, as I have sent it to him (per his request on 5/5/2014) along with the previous inspections reports.  Never did we state that "replacing the pipe" (as Mr. ****** noted) would make the system "usable".  JUST replacing the pipe would still not make it a code compliant system, therefore not a "usable" system in the opinion of Rhino Chimney Service.  

We did NOT state that we didn't have a ladder on our truck.  We carry seven ladders on our truck at most all times, ranging from 5' to 38'.  Due to the height of the ceiling above the stove, did we have the
"perfect" ladder to complete the repairs? Probably not.  However, we do not carry replacement chimney and connector pipe on our truck so carrying such a ladder would be a waste of valuable space on our truck. We DID tell the tenant that we we're unable to make the repairs at that time, and he was advised to discontinue use of the stove and chimney until EVERYTHING notes as "unsatisfactory" on our inspection report was corrected, and the system was reevaluated.  We tell EVERY customer to discontinue use of the system when we find things that are unsatisfactory for safety reasons.  However, many customers choose to continue use of their systems, against our recommendations.  Mr. ****** and his tenant chose to continue use of this system, against our recommendations of previous inspection reports dated 6/24/2013 & 12/23/2010 (a copy of these inspection reports can also be provided).  As for the stove being "usable", the chimney and connector pipe was opened up on our visit of 2/11/2014.  We can not control what type of system our customers burn a fire in, we can only educate and inform, and allow the customer to make their own decisions.  We do not recommend building a fire in the middle of the dining room table, but it is
certainly "usable" by Mr. ******' description. 

In response to Mr. ******' comment about us leaving the job without a solution to the problem, this is also false.  I discussed with Mr. ******' tenant that the solution to this particular problem.  That solution would be to remove the existing connector pipe, and possibly the chimney (that had been improperly installed), and basically, start from scratch.  I did not give Mr. ******' tenant any quote, or estimate on what this would cost to complete.  It is our opinion, that this type of information be discussed with the home owner ONLY.  I made several attempts to call Mr. ****** to discuss his options for repair, but never received a return phone call, therefore, Mr. ****** was never given any information from us other than the written inspection report.  He he returned my phone calls, he would have been much more informed of the situation, and the potential costs of repairs.

Mr. ****** is correct in the fact that we did not fix what was broken, however, it wasn't something that we broke.  It was "broken" (improperly installed) from day one.  I am sorry that Mr. ****** is disappointed in
the service we provided, but we provided the same service we had twice previously.  The difference this time was that the improper installation of the system had begun to fail.  Not when we were there, but prior to our arrival, evident by creosote dripping from the ceiling support box and down on to the top of the stove.  Mr. ****** stated "The whole purpose of having Rhino come clean the pipe was to be able to use the stove.".  The stove was "usable" by Mr. ******' definition, just not by ours.  Had he wanted repairs on his system (that were recommended in years past), we would have been more than happy to discuss those repairs with him (and the costs associated with such repairs) prior to our arrival on 2/11/2014.  Mr. ****** stated he had a blockage, which he did.  We stated we would sweep the chimney and remove the blockage, which we did.  We have held up our end of the bargain, all we ask is for Mr. ****** to hold up his end of the bargain by making his payment as agreed upon.  

If Mr. ****** were to take his vehicle to the mechanic, asking for an oil change, would he expect his mechanic to replace the warn out brakes, bald tires, and rusted out muffler all for $29.95?  I think not.  What he
WOULD expect is for his mechanic to change the oil and inform him of the other problems found during the oil change.  And maybe even an estimate for new tires, brakes and a muffler.  Is the car "usable" with bald tires, worn out brakes and a rusted out muffler?  Sure it is, but I bet it isn't recommended.  That doesn't stop Mr. ****** from driving it out of the mechanics garage and into the roadway in poor condition.  Mr. ****** has been informed and advised.  What he chooses to do with that information is up to him.  

Mr. ****** has been sent 3 statements and an additional letter stating we would really like to be paid for our services.  Per our company policy, Mr. ****** is scheduled to be sent our "final notice" letter on/about
June 1st.  This letter states that we will be pursuing further actions against him if we don't receive payment within 10 days.  We have full intentions of continuing with this effort.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Rhino Chimney in sept 2013 to give me an estimate to install a woodburning stove. I was never told that there would be a $52.55 service/trip charge.We decided to go with another company since the bid from Rhino Chimney was so much higher that the 2 other bids i had in my hand. Rhino Chimney was the only company to charge a service/trip charge. I recieved a bill in the mail about a month or so later from Rhino Chimney for this service/trip charge. I did not pay the bill because, i didnt go with Rhino Chimney and thought it was just an error. I recieved a couple more bills in the following months. Still i didnt pay it because I didnt go with Rhino. Once i got a call from a bill collector,i decided to call Rhino. I spoke with *** ******, who had no clue about the bill or what is was for. After explaining the situation he finaly found some notes in the system. He said yea i see $52.55 for the trip charge and then there is a $26.00 charge but he didnt have any idea of what is was for. I asked *** ****** why the person that came out to do the estimate collect the trip charge then. He again had no idea. So I told him to find out and let me know.*** ****** called me back about a week later and said the bill has gone to collection and its out of our hands. I asked again what the $26.00 was for and he said he didnt have any idea, the bill is in collections and it out of our hands now.Very poor business practices. I wont be calling Rhino Chimney for any future repairs to my wood stove.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this bill removed from the collection company. I would like to know what the 26.00 is for.

Business Response: Mr. ******* contacted us on 8/19/2013 concerning us installing a wood stove he had acquired, along with new chimney components that he would have to purchase.  Mr. ******* was, in fact told of the $49.00 consultation fee that we charged for this type of service.  On 9/3/2013 we went to his home to look the situation over.  We took notes and told Mr. *******  we would contact him in the coming days and provide him with an exact price quote to complete the job.  Mr ******* offered (on 9/3/2013) to pay the consultation fee, to which we replied that it is our company policy that if we are awarded the job, the consultation fee is waived, and he would have 30 days from the date of the proposal to accept the proposal.  If we didn't hear from him or he went with another company, we would send the invoice for the $49.00 (plus tax) and he could mail us the payment.  It is a much easier practice to invoice later than to credit an account.  We called Mr. ******* on 9/7/2013 and also mailed the proposal to him.  We never heard from Mr. ******* regarding the proposal and mailed him an invoice and another copy of the proposal on/about 9/28/2013 stating his 30 day time period was about to expire and that the $49.00 consultation fee was due if the proposal was not accepted.  Still hearing nothing from Mr. ******r, we sent him statements on/about the first of every month including an additional letter with the statements on 12/1/2013.  On/about 1/1/2014 we sent him another statement with a letter stating this would be the final statement and he was given 10 days to respond or he would be turned into a collection agency.  We still didn't hear from Mr. *******.  Due to an extremely heavy workload, Mr. ******** information wasn't actually turned into the collection agency until 2/1/2014, 3+ weeks after his deadline had passed.  Mr. ******* has requested to know the nature of the $26.00 fee.  That is the fee that Rhino Chimney Service is charged to place the account into collections.  Mr. *******'s balance of $84.64 is comprised of $52.55 ($49.00 plus sales tax) for the consultation, $26.00 for the collection fee, and the remainder is service charges on the unpaid balance.  Had Mr. ******* contacted us after one of the five statements or two letters, this would have never gotten this far.  As for Mr. ******* not being given much information upon him finally calling us, it is our company policy that once accounts are turned into the collection agency, to let them deal with the consumer. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved